Wife of Taib’s son seeks share of RM400 mil

Hafiz Yatim & S Pathmawathy
Mar 9, 11

The estranged first wife of corporate figure Mahmud Abu Bekir Taib, son of the long-time Sarawak chief minister, is seeking RM300 million of assets which the couple had amassed together in their 19 years of marriage, as well as RM100 million in compensation.

Shahnaz A Majid, who is singer Sheila Majid’s sister, filed the divorce papers at the Kuala Lumpur Syariah High Court last month.

The reasons for the divorce are irreconcilable differences and not having sex (nafkah batin) since 2001.

Her divorce case was called for mention today. However, Abu Bekir (right) was not present.

The court has fixed March 24 for mention of the divorce case, as well as March 15 for mention over her application for mutaah (compensation) and division of joint assets.

She claimed Abu Bekir, who is deputy group chairman of Cahaya Mata Sarawak, began to show changes in 1994, which continued later in 1999, behaving aggressively by assaulting her and shouting abuse.

The couple were married on Jan 9, 1992 and have one son, Raden Murya, 17.

Shahnaz claimed that since 1999, her husband rarely came home and could not be advised, was difficult to contact and was very sociable with other women.

Abu Bekir, she claimed, did not treat her fairly after a marrying a widowed Russian national.

Assets listed

Shahnaz claims the couple own property in residences in many places, thousands of hectares in Sarawak, and land in Bukit Tunku in Kuala Lumpur.

They also have seven luxury cars that include Lamborghini, Ferrari, Bentley and Maserati marques.

Their joint assets include shares in 15 different companies including Cahaya Mata Sarawak and Sarawak Cable Bhd.

The couple also possess assets in the form of savings, Employees Provident Fund, and Amanah Saham Bumiputera units.

However, detailed information on the assets will be presented during the hearing.

Shahnaz is claiming RM300 million in the joint assets accrued during marriage, which she is entitled to.

She also wants her husband to submit the original land titles to the court or her representatives.

Otherwise, she sought that all the assets be sold and she be entitled to half the value of the proceeds.

Shahnaz is represented by lawyer Mohd Rafie Shafie, who said they have not been able to serve the summons on Abu Bekir last month.

“Our representatives could not gain access to the defendant’s house near Sri Hartamas here,” said Rafie.

Therefore, Rafie said they have applied for a court order to send a registered summons to Abu Bekir.

1. #1 by hallo on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 1:11 pm

Wah, so much money.

MayI know is he inherited the wealth from his ancestor?

How this person earned so much money?

Please anyone ask him to tell us so we may also get rich too.

• #2 by cemerlang on Saturday, 12 March 2011 - 6:05 pm

His ancestors are fellow Sarawakians. Monkeys see, monkeys do.

2. #3 by Godfather on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 1:35 pm

The Sarawakians deserve to be pillaged in this manner. They complain about being left behind, they complain about lack of electricity, treated water, telecommunications, etc etc but come election time, they sell their vote for RM 100.

All we can do is shake our heads.

3. #5 by k1980 on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 1:59 pm

All we can do is shake our heads.

All except cintanegara. He’s shaking his rambutans with glee

4. #6 by k1980 on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 2:04 pm

RM400 million….. Daphne iking’s hubby could not even get RM1 from his divorce

5. #7 by tak tahan on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 3:03 pm

400 million in ringgit,what the heck can this meager sum in order to sustain Princess Shahnaz.Go for 400 billion la moron.

6. #8 by Loh on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 3:25 pm

Taib’s daughter must have evidence that Taib’s son is worth more than 800 million ringgit. What is the source of income? If they were from Taib, then the CM of Sarawak is unusually rich to have accumulated that amount from his less than 30,000 ringgit salary as CM for 30 years.

Yet MACC was involved in investigating 2,400 ringgit worth of flags, which resulted in the death of the witness.

Mamakthir went through the process of getting the Lord President sacked, together with 5 Supreme Court judges dismissed, just to sooth the anger of the late Sultan of Johor who received a letter of complaint about the noise emitted from the renovation of the palace. Was Mamakthir feudalistic-ally loyal to the King as to bow to his wishes? But if Mamakthir is that loyal, how come he insulted the rulers through constitutional amendments. If what he said was true Mamakthir shows that he was not able to recognize the order of importance on matter relating to governance. That perception pales in comparison to his interest to sack Saleh Abas so that UMNO established in 1946 had no chance of revival. Yet it was important to him that he had to establish that he was not an illegitimate Prime Minister after 1987.

Mamakthir discussed with his informants about criminal activities of his cabinet members, such as sexual activities of Anwar, corrupt practices of Daim Zainuddin, and certainly about many more other persons not mentioned in his memoir. Do we believe that he did not keep records and evidence about such criminal-suspects’ activities? Only Anwar was charged but not the others. But he would use it if necessary. Is that why people are obedient to him? That was residual evidence, not residual power.

7. #9 by setu on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 4:13 pm

wow, asking price RM 400 million, it means the son is worth many many times more ?, maybe say 10 times more, RM 4 billion.
    It means, the father, the family, the relatives . . .
    are worth hundreds hundreds times more ?, RM 40 billion, RM 400 billion.

who said there are lack of BILLIONAIRES AROUND
    this billionLand.

what is RM 50/= or RM 100/= for one vote.?chicken feed.

Pornthip wants bodyguard . .
    what u think the perception is of this bolehland ?
    semua boleh.

8. #10 by TOKKU on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 4:14 pm

I personally think it’s DISGUSTING, UNETHICAL & ILL MANNERED to discuss about people’s marriage/divorce. So what if it’s 400 million or even 400 billion?

I wonder is Lim Kit Siang & his fellow comrades in Pakatan Rakyat running out of CONSTRUCTIVE topics to discuss other than to talk about this fella’s divorce & that fella’s divorce??? Kit Siang might as well discuss about Daphne Iking slutty divorce instead, right? Afterall, Daphne look much prettier & sexier than the so-called Sheila Majid’s sister.

Come ‘on, Kit Siang!!! Better buck-up & get voted out in the next G.E. Pakatan Rakyat is losing every by-election of late & can’t you see this is a DANGER?

“Wake up”

9. #11 by dagen on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 4:29 pm

So what was reported online earlier on has now been shown to be correct!

10. #12 by artemisios on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 4:41 pm

helo TOKKU,
    PR didn’t dig this issue out of Taib’s bedroom, boy. It’s in the news. I repeat. It’s in the news. faham?

“So what if it’s 400M or 400B”???

you ask “so what”?

THOSE MONEY COULD HAVE BEEN STOLEN FROM SARWAKIANS! That’s what.

You’re completely incapable of seeing the big picture. It doesn’t matter who needs to wake up. You need to GROW UP first.

• #13 by TOKKU on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 4:49 pm

Aiyoh artemmisios, I think you are JEALOUS lah. Why jealous ar??? Cos’ you don’t have 400 million lor.

Well, you can now try to ‘HIT ON’ Shahnaz Majid since he’s now divorced & might have 400 million. However, do look yaself in the mirror & if you have a SLOTH face….hmm, then pls. think twice. Buat apa nak malu sendiri kan?

Good luck!

11. #14 by TOKKU on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 4:53 pm

• #15 by artemisios on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 5:19 pm

tokku,
      A few minutes ago you were full of morals – saying it’s “disgusting, unethical & ill-mannered to discuss someone’s divorce”

LISTEN TO YOURSELF NOW. Read your own subsequent comments again.

You’re shaming yourself. Perhaps you’re already used to it. What a shame. What a tokku.

12. #16 by TOKKU on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 5:25 pm

Aiyoh artemisios….it’s OK lah. Don’t be too hard on yaself. Having a SLOTH face doesn’t mean you cannot win over SHAHNAZ MAJID’s heart.

There’s always miracle but tough though.

Jangan merajuk wei….hehehehehehehe

13. #17 by TOKKU on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 5:35 pm

14. #18 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 5:44 pm

Sarawakians should not be fooled anymore.Imagine the corrupted Pehmo’s daughter in law can ask for 400 million or maybe more from his son as divorce compensation.It is time to chuck this bloody sucker out of Sarawak now.Yet we still have stupid fellow in this blog who offers support to the 30 year old dictator.

15. #19 by dagen on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 6:22 pm

Yes Tokku. Continue to anger the people here. Drive them mad. Make them boil. That way perhaps they may one day vote umno again. Way to go boy!

CIAU.

And errr BAI.

16. #20 by Godfather on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 7:34 pm

Eh, we got ourselves a new rambutan tree owner on this blog, and he is using all sorts of swear words that the Administrator doesn’t even pick up.

17. #21 by tak tahan on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 7:49 pm

Tokku,lets go to chedet blog.There is where you guys belong.I’ll entertain you very much once we are there.By the way you remind me of tok ku ku or sleepy face.

18. #22 by artemisios on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 8:41 pm

a typical umno goon,
    i had no idea he was so easy…

lil tokku tried to appear like an adult in the beginning, but give him the slightest tickle & he’s having an emotional meltdown, cursing & yelling empty insults.

a group of thieves with same kind of mentality like Tokku want to govern our beloved nation for another term…. well…

19. #23 by wanderer on Thursday, 10 March 2011 - 9:31 pm

How very true as the old saying goes, “A chip from the old block”. This is the Creator way of seeing an “empire” crumbles slowly with their own doing! God works in a mystery way…Crime Does Not Pay!

20. #24 by raven77 on Friday, 11 March 2011 - 12:44 am

What was Shahnaz doing marrying into such an evil family……really dont think she deserves anything….

She should go pisau cukur someone else…

The right persons to ask for the 400 million are the Penans / Sarawakians..

21. #25 by tak tahan on Friday, 11 March 2011 - 1:28 am

She deserves to be tokku’s ideal goldmine.That’s why he was distracting us here and now i think he is courting her after forgetting us as his new friends.Tokku(Zzzz..) must stay awake intermittently to follow her trace while distracting us here.Mentioned few hundreds millions,tokku cannot afford to tokku and must tahan tokku to forcely stretch open his eye to peep inside here and drop by uninivited or intentionally to keep us away from his most sought-after bride to be multi-millionaire but a season slut..

22. #26 by monsterball on Friday, 11 March 2011 - 2:51 am

I recalled a heat plaster name “tokku”.. now not saleable.
    “Tokku” in this post is feeling lonely and need attentions.
    Read all his messages…..and you can feel a cracko is talking.
    His mind is not steady..and reminds me of some leaders in UMNO B.
    The fightening part is…each time a pro UMNO B commentator comments..he/she is talking weird and crazy.
    This is the good student of mamak ..now lot in the woods.
    The beauty of it all…is…he/she does not know ..he/she is a wacko.

23. #27 by Godfather on Friday, 11 March 2011 - 9:21 am

I think tokku is Zahid….who proudly proclaimed that UMNO will defend its president “to the death”. A real weirdo who doesn’t understand the principle of accountability. If he did, all the multi-billion ringgit defence contracts would not have been awarded on a “negotiated” basis.

24. #28 by Ray on Friday, 11 March 2011 - 10:54 am

Money cannot buy dignity and honor….Problem of all mankind and the Root causes for Taibs families life Miserables indeed by his Aspiration of Corruption Obssess….being Sarawak richest tycoon..NO longer any Honor as CMinister PBB leader toady all this were indeed vanity of vanities…easy come monies but can loose all within few minutes in the casino
    ..as a young kid born into a malanau family and raise by his uncle AR Yakob…..
    Humanity is turning worst in this age….young man and women spend lavishly on material wealth thro easy bank credit payments..goosh!

• #29 by cemerlang on Sunday, 13 March 2011 - 3:50 pm

Nobody tells the people to continue to live in the days of Tuans, Puans and hambas. They choose to continue this traditional way of governance. The days of Sultans and all the Hangs. It is the people who voted and the people should be conscious of what they are doing. They do not mind and they do not care that their hard earned sweat and tears money are given to this already rich and famous people. They think that they should continue to supply these people with everything. Doesn’t this remind you of once upon a time in the days of history ? Who is actually sleeping and dreaming ? Not the ones you all screamed about. You should set your alarm clock even louder so that the people will wake up from their slumber.