Guan Eng calls BN hypocrites in non-Muslim portfolio flap

By Debra Chong
February 21, 2011

GEORGE TOWN, Feb 21 — Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng today accused the Barisan Nasional (BN) coalition of double standards for rejecting the state’s new non-Muslim affairs portfolio while endorsing the same in Perak.

Lim, who is also DAP secretary-general, appeared taken aback by the verbal attacks from his political foes — particularly Gerakan chief Tan Sri Koh Tsu Koon — following his government’s decision to set up a portfolio to complement the existing one for Muslims in the state.

He said the state believed the initiative would “promote civilisational dialogue, interaction and understanding” among followers of different creeds as all religions talk about peace.

He pointed out that the BN-led state government in Perak also has a similar portfolio to care for followers of religions other than Islam, which is headed by Datuk Mah Hang Soon, according to the silver state’s official website.

Mah refused to comment on his portfolio when contacted by The Malaysian Insider this evening, saying he was in the middle of a discussion.

(Mah’s portfolio is described on the Perak State government website as “Pengerusi Jawatankuasa Kesihatan, Kerajaan Tempatan, Hal Ehwal Pengguna, Alam Sekitar, Pengangkutan dan Hal Ehwal Bukan Islam)

Lim then questioned why Penang was being singled out and accused of having a racial agenda.

“What’s wrong with setting up this portfolio? It’s not wrong if BN sets up one but it’s wrong if PR does it?” an annoyed Lim asked at a news conference here today.

He said he was responding to criticism from several parties yesterday, including Koh and International Trade And Industry Deputy Minister Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir , but stressed that he was not replying to former prime minister, Penang-born Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, whom he noted was retired from the government.

Koh, who was the island state’s chief minister for 13 years before being toppled in the landmark 2008 general election, had called the new non-Muslim interfaith portfolio a publicity stunt.

“This is deliberately being used as an extremist and racial issue to incite fights among the different religions,” Lim said.

Defending the new portfolio today, he said: “Everyone knows it has nothing to do with the status of Islam as the official religion.”

“Mukhriz said I insulted Islam… if so, then Zambry is equally guilty or more so, because he is a Muslim,” he continued, drawing Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Zambry Abd Kadir into the fray.

“That’s why we did not include Islam, because we did not want to be accused of disrespecting Islam. But this also cannot… if so, then where’s the freedom of religion?” he added, sounding exasperated.

He warned that the BN front, especially its leaders from Umno, was “playing with fire” and claimed they were ready to put everything on the line, including the religious fundamental rights safeguarded by the Federal Constitution.

Lim, who is also heading the state interfaith panel, explained that it was working on two levels — the first involved the state lawmakers, and the second would include religious representatives and other non-governmental organisation members.

He said the panel had yet to meet and would do so only after getting feedback from the rest of the assemblymen on problems they faced within certain districts, but did not elaborate.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 22 February 2011 - 9:29 am

Well done Guan Eng.

Timid people like Koh are not fit to lead the Chinese community.

2. #2 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 22 February 2011 - 9:34 am

No worry, an outsider like John Mallot will speak out 4 us M’sians 2 remind d world d unprincipled DOUBLE STANDARD practised by UmnoB n their poodles

3. #3 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 22 February 2011 - 9:54 am

Nothing surprise from the ostrich koh Tsu koon who always bury his head inside the sand and take out his head and run thru the back door the moment he senses something amiss or critical situation.The same goes to the dummy international domestic and kampong minister who at the swing of his daddy’s magic wand become poisonous religious adviser.

4. #4 by dagen on Tuesday, 22 February 2011 - 10:30 am

Sorry diversion.

Papan nuclear waste dump site:

Mahathir: “In Malaysia, we do have nuclear waste which perhaps the public is not aware of . . .” “It is not radioactive but it is not good to handle. We had to bury it in Perak, deep in the ground… But the place is still not safe, and we have almost one square mile that is dangerous.” (Star Online – 15 May 2010)

Lies and deception. “Nuclear waste”. “Not radioactive”. But still “not good to handle”. It had to be buried “deep in the ground” in papan, perak. The disposal site (i.e. papan) is “still not safe” and “is dangerous”.

What is he saying? Nuclear waste, safe or not safe? Safe? Good. Lets move umno’s HQ to papan then. The whole sq mile dr mamak mentioned can be umno’s wonderland.

And cintanegara can plant his rambutan trees there. Wow. Radioactive rambutan fruits huh. Think about that. And after eating it one would glow in the dark. I am begining to love the possibilities. If only I am an umnoputra like cintanegara.

5. #5 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 22 February 2011 - 12:09 pm

boh hood koon is good at attacking his own kind la, just like the chow kow tee. when it comes to perkosa and umno, boh hood koon will transform to pondan koon. and sit by the corner, tucking his tail.

dont worry LGE, the more those hypocrites give you problems, the more we will vote for you. it means that you are a thorn to these idiots. and we like it.

we dont care a hoot about those goons making noise. the more empty noise they make, the more they will look ridiculous.

mookriz is speaking from his butthole just like his mamak dad. and it stinks. it is chemically active, not dangerous but not good to inhale. and need to be buried in papan. cant tell you the location bcos the police wont let me.

6. #6 by baochingtian on Tuesday, 22 February 2011 - 12:33 pm

KTK, as an ex-CM, u r such a disappointment to your home state. The locals have been saying karma, don’t u believe one? Dont hit out a good cause for self interest.
    When a muslim questions the no. of chinese and hindu temples built, it was alright but it’ll be ISA if it were from a non-muslim. Is this tolerance and inclusiveness, Mr PM?
    PEnang opposition is really really desperate and feel threatened by the good governance of the state govt and hence always resort to some bizarre behaviour.

7. #7 by k1980 on Tuesday, 22 February 2011 - 1:01 pm

Dr KTK is

A. A(h) Koon who is not a loh koon (medical doc)
    B. A hypocrite
    C. A senator (without being elected)
    D. A minister (despite losing in the GE)
    E. All of the above

Now you know where his salary comes from

8. #8 by baochingtian on Tuesday, 22 February 2011 - 2:00 pm

Knowing the might of the big boss, Mah refused to give comment. Even with his portfolio well displayed in the state official website, he dared not come forward to announce to the public what’s his portfolio in the state. How can Mah serve the rakyat then without them knowing what Mah’s job functions and responsibilities are. Is this another gaji buta???

9. #9 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 22 February 2011 - 2:58 pm

KTK boh time 2 bother abt dis lah, boh chap lor
    He busy practising his praying mantis kungfu mah n planning his 70th birthday in 2019 – contacting his kindergarten, primary school, secondary school, 6th form, univ mates 2 pay big fat tributes 2 him, mayb build a phal\lic statue (with no hood) of him up at d peak of Pg Hill (mayb KIT as guest of honor may unveil it)

10. #10 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 22 February 2011 - 5:42 pm

KTK,CSL and all the running dogs,read what you are told in the interlok and think carefully if you still have some dignity left in you.

http://malaysiansmustknowthetruth.blogspot.com/2011/02/interlok-chinese-immigrants-came-here.html