Happy Chinese New Year

1. #1 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 2 February 2011 - 3:27 pm

Wishing all a Prosperous and Happy Chinese New Year.. All through the coming year, may all of us be blessed with good health, happiness and good fortune…

2. #2 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 2 February 2011 - 4:47 pm

Wishing all decent minded Malaysian a Happy Chinese New Year.May god bless all of us with glory and fair journey in our lives.May the rabbit nibble off all the evil roots that’s been left behind.Take care and drive home carefully with the good days to be spent with family..

3. #3 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 2 February 2011 - 5:18 pm

mahathir blamed the chinese and indians for practicing their cultural way of life and using their languages and national integration became impossible. i think not all chinese are well educated enough to speak malay, just like the 99% of malay who were not capable of speaking chinese. in fact, many old chinese were poorly educated enough to speak mandarin, but using the dialect learned from their parents/grandparents.

this is a culture of some one and we should respect them and it is their rights to do so as a human being. we don’t want the culture of certain groups of people to disappear from history (like the lost of certain iban/dayak and aboriginal culture after christianity came in that banned their practice). malaysia does not want to have a bad name being accused of killing the culture of certain group of people.

one of our friends came back from america for new year. their family is very well educated. according to him, in america, the well educated first and second generations chinese speak mandarin at home, while they are also fluent in english. for the less educated chinese, they speak dialects most of the time and many lived in the china towns. in california alone, there are many communities that are predominantly chinese, koreans, spanish, black, …. the whole towns can have the streets and shops full of koreans, chinese,.. this sounds similar to our situation in malaysia. yet america can be a great nation of immigrants and we are not boleh in this sense?

• #4 by cemerlang on Thursday, 3 February 2011 - 12:35 am

He forgot to mention the Babas and Nyonyas. We can dress the same. We can speak the same. We can be the same. Except for one thing. The truth I believe in.

4. #5 by monsterball on Wednesday, 2 February 2011 - 6:34 pm

Chinese New Year is a must event for Chinese reunion dinner and family get together..from far and near…all return to eat a meal together for love and affections to each other.
    It is also an event for children to ask forgiveness from parents.
    It is solemn and noble event throughout centuries.
    And on this day….I thank Lim Kit Siang for his blog that gave me so much joy to visit and put out my thoughts.
    And to all my Chinese friends…a very Happy and Prosperous New Year.

• #6 by cemerlang on Thursday, 3 February 2011 - 12:41 am

Modern generation does not see it as a necessity to continue the tradition. Some come back for reunion yes but with old wounds and still argueing and quarreling at the reunion table. Love ? It is questionable. I think it is for sentiments sake like you remember the good old days when things were innocently good, genuinely good. Then you go through life and it makes you think and wonder. Like the advert in the t.v. The grandad has to make a big ang pow so that they will spend more time with him. It makes one think, really think.

5. #7 by Loh on Wednesday, 2 February 2011 - 9:19 pm

///KUALA LUMPUR, Feb 1 — Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad criticised his own party today, saying Umno no longer stood for the struggle of the Malays.
    The former Umno president said the party struggle now was only about contracts, APs and licences.

He stressed that the party must return to its roots and help unite a divided Malay community.///–MalaysianInsider

From the statement alone one might think that corruption began after Mamakthir left office. He intended it to mislead. But only those from Mars would not know that he started the leglied corruption when APs were used to enrich people of Mamakthir’s choice who included his sons.

The Malay community has been diversified with Mamaks taking over political control which comes with economic power.

6. #8 by Loh on Wednesday, 2 February 2011 - 9:32 pm

///KUALA LUMPUR, Feb 1 — Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad told Malaysians today to admit that the country belonged to the Malays and accept the culture and language of the dominant community.
    The former prime minister said that country’s forefathers gave the Chinese and Indians citizenship because they expected the communities to respect Malay sovereignty.

“This country belongs to the Malay race. Peninsular Malaysia was known as Tanah Melayu but this cannot be said because it will be considered racist.///–MalaysianInsider

Najib should respond to confirm whether he agrees with Mamakthir and how Mamakthir’s statement square with his 1Malaysia slogan. Mamakthir tried to give condition now as to why the leaders of the three communities agreed to work together to free Malays from being British colony. The so-called social contract agreed to by people before independence was for Malays to be placed in the special position, for 15 years and subject to review, as provided in article 153. There was no nebulous concept of Malay sovereignty other than national sovereignty. The term Melayu does not include Mamaks which was included under article 160. When Melayu is no longer pure, so the term tanah Melayu has lost its meaning, as that land cannot be claimed by people who are not pure Malays.

• #9 by cemerlang on Thursday, 3 February 2011 - 12:47 am

When did we all have IC ? Back those days, Malays, Chineses, Indians, Ibans, Kadazans, Orang Ulus, Orang Aslis did not have IC. How can one claim to have the overall sovereignty ?

7. #10 by Loh on Wednesday, 2 February 2011 - 9:56 pm

///The country’s longest-serving PM has admitted that Malaysia’s growth was slower compared with Singapore’s, but alleged it was due to Putrajaya ensuring all races had slices of the country’s economic pie.

The former prime minister said: “If we do not think deeply about the future of our community then there is a possibility that we can become [like] the Singaporean Malays and have no power.”///–MalaysianInsider

See the creative answer to cover up corruption in the country. Yes people get slices of cakes or crumbs and UMNOputas share the surplus 888 billion ringgit that have gone overseas.

Mamakthir still considers elective offices as power acquired rather than responsibility to voters. He still thinks about how politics reward the family like powers-that-be in the Middle East, like Egypt, Tunisia , Jordan and Syria. Guess how he would answer how he was deceived by Dr. Lim Leong Sik when LLS did not remind him that it was mamakthir who decided on the price of land in PKFZ rather than to have the land acquired based on existing law on government acquisition for official use. That is an example of Malay having the political power to benefit another Malay. Moreover the beneficiary was a Malay wannable.

8. #11 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 2 February 2011 - 10:53 pm

Supposed to be wishing Happy Chinese New year,we end up again with this infamous serpent.I am wondering how could his old body spare parts can continuously producing so much venoms to immobilized us.Since he is kerala dei,we whack him first and spare the intoxicated ones to work with hand in hand and love each other as truly Malaysian.Can we do that?

9. #12 by cemerlang on Thursday, 3 February 2011 - 12:31 am

Kiong Hee Fak Cai
    Ang pau gia lai

10. #13 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 February 2011 - 9:48 am

11. #14 by tak tahan on Thursday, 3 February 2011 - 10:45 am

A Lek:Thank you thank you for the big ang pau.Kamsiah lu A keat.

12. #15 by monsterball on Thursday, 3 February 2011 - 10:43 pm

During the gathering for a Chinese New Year reunion dinner..my 5 grown up children who are all married…except one…do behave like small children arguing and quarreling ..like getting something off their chests kept for so long.
    They do insults each other too….but all are just talks and no plate throwing or fists fights.
    To me…it is OK….as long as it does not bring over the the Chinese New Year Day proper.
    I used to leave them and bring all my grand children…to show them my collections of toys and clowns….more than 350 pieces and they all are actually waiting for me to do that…with battery toys moving …thrilling all.
    Then all my 5 children are gambling laughing and teasing each other.
    I hope I can prove “cemerlang” wrong…as Chinese New Year reunion dinner…is such a powerful Chinese tradition.
    Having said that…I do agree that few of the said Chinese traditions are not important or to be followed strictly.
    I have seen a multi millionaire dies a pauper and only few immediate ones are mourning …wearing black….while some have dozens wearing black to claim relationship…and be in the good books of the living children…as he died a very rich man.
    Yesterday was a tiring and terrible day and night for me..as always.