Tenang by-election: Attempt to transfer husband for failing to ‘control wife’

By Kuek Ser Kuang Keng | MalaysiaKini

The Johor Education Department has attempted to transfer the husband of PAS’ Tenang candidate Normala Sudirman from Tenang to Johor Bahru on the ground that he cannot “control his wife”.

he sudden directive, which orders Normala’s husband Makrof Abd Mutalib to relocate to Johor Bahru within 24 hours, was however retracted after the couple (left) protested.

“The headmaster said it was because I can’t control my wife, referring to her political participation in PAS,” said Makrof Abd Mutalib, who has been teaching in a school in Tenang for the past 13 years.

Met at a PAS event to announce its candidate last night, Makrof told Malaysiakini that he received the transfer notice a few days ago when it was heavily speculated that his wife could contest the Jan 30 by-election for the state seat.

Makrof said the transfer notice did not state a reason.

“We confronted the district education department. Normala had resigned (as a teacher). (We told them) they should not act like this (and that) if they did not retract it, we would take it to the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission or call a press conference. They then retracted it,” said Makrof.

Normala, who was a teacher in nearby Segamat, had tendered her resignation recently to become a full-time party worker.

According to Makrof, the transfer notice was a form of discrimination against teachers whose family members are supportive of the opposition.

Johor PAS information chief Mazlan Aliman said the department’s directive was politically motivated.

Education Dept director caught on video

Last week, Johor Education Department director Markom Giran was caught on video, openly canvassing for support for BN among teachers in Tenang.

A video footage uploaded on YouTube shows him pleading to the teachers present “to help the government win the by-election”.

Markom told the teachers to organise motivational programmes for their students, after which they would be required to meet with the parents of the students to identify whether they are supporters of BN or the opposition.

He said 15 schools in the Tenang constituency and the Education Department plan to organise motivational programme for pupils where all teachers would meet with the parents.

“In meeting the parents and the house occupants, you shall classify them based on four colours – green, blue, grey and white. Green is for hardcore opposition, blue for BN.

“For ‘grey’ (fence-sitters), we want you to inform us so that we can try to change them to ‘blue’,” he said.

A police report on Markom’s campaigning has been lodged by Johor PAS deputy commissioner Dzulkefly Ahmad.

Nominations are set for Jan 22 for the by-election caused by the death of BN Sulaiman Taha who died on Dec 17. Polling will take place on Jan 30.

1. #1 by boh-liao on Monday, 17 January 2011 - 1:10 pm

NR: Read my lips, under 1M’sia, semua equal, fairly treated, no need to worry 1
    Looks like Tenang tak tenang, lots of underhanded currents stirred up by UmnoB/BN
    Meet the parents? Wonder how many Fockers will b there?

2. #2 by k1980 on Monday, 17 January 2011 - 1:12 pm

This report should be forwarded to Hilary Clinton who has recently praised Malaysia as a model democracy. And after reading this, Bill Clinton will bash up his wife with his samsu bottle for being a loud-mouthed idiot.

3. #3 by sheriff singh on Monday, 17 January 2011 - 1:29 pm

It confirms that BN’s tentacles reach everywhere, are everywhere.

When PR takes over Putrajaya, will it be able to find, control or eliminate these tentacles? Will it be able to rule?

4. #4 by Godfather on Monday, 17 January 2011 - 1:33 pm

The entire civil service has been brainwashed to act for BN, and those who show extraordinary initiative like Markom will have a bright future ahead of them.

The Deputy DG’s post in the Ministry of Education awaits Markom. We just hope that he continues to p!ss off the rakyat through his high-handed actions.

5. #5 by Godfather on Monday, 17 January 2011 - 1:34 pm

Sheriff: Threaten to cut off the tentacles, and the body will fall in line. Better still, cut off the tentacles of some hardcore BN supporters and make it a lesson for the rest.

6. #6 by sheriff singh on Monday, 17 January 2011 - 1:45 pm

Easier said than can be done. There are going to be alot of ‘sleepers’ and ‘trojans’ waiting to strike when the time is right.

7. #7 by Godfather on Monday, 17 January 2011 - 1:53 pm

There are equally a number of sleepers and trojans for PR, but these are more from the junior ranks. These people will applaud when we transfer Markom to the education office in Belaga, Sarawak interior.

8. #8 by boh-liao on Monday, 17 January 2011 - 2:20 pm

Markom Giran will get a special autographed XXX sized Victoria’s Secret lingerie fr d 1st ladi as reward n incentif, later after her tour of duties n jiak hong overseas, now busy lah

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Monday, 17 January 2011 - 2:48 pm

You speaking in stereo or is that an echo?

10. #10 by yhsiew on Monday, 17 January 2011 - 2:57 pm

///Markom told the teachers to organise motivational programmes for their students, after which they would be required to meet with the parents of the students to identify whether they are supporters of BN or the opposition.///

How sad it is to see politics being brought into schools which are supposed to be “holy sancturies” for the pursuit of knowledge. Being desperate for power, BN is determined to “invade” schools to reach out to students’ parents in order to achieve its evil end.

11. #11 by tak tahan on Monday, 17 January 2011 - 4:32 pm

General Election: Attempt to transfer husband for failing to ‘control wife’

The People Of All Unified Department has attempted to transfer the husband of Umno’s First Lady representative Loh Si Mah from Putrajaya to Zimbabwe on the ground that he cannot “control his wife”.

12. #12 by dagen on Monday, 17 January 2011 - 5:10 pm

Jeeeb ooooh jib.
    Jaga jaga ya.
    Pls control your wife ya.

13. #13 by Cinapek on Tuesday, 18 January 2011 - 12:49 am

Malaysian democracy is a sham. It is democratic in form only and certainly not in spirit or intention.
    People like Markom should be immediately removed from his position if Najib is sincere in his 1Malaysia sloganeering. I do not expect Muhyuddin to act given his track record(or the lack of it) with the two racist principals earlier. Markom’s actions are dangerous because it is not only amounting to manipulating young minds but are also poisoning their minds.

If he wants to play politics, he should resign and stand for election like the PAS candidate if he (Markom) has any balls. And Najib, it is people like Markom and their actions that are driving the nails into the coffins of your Talent Corp. No amount of ETP, GTP, NKRA and all those crap are going to convince talented Malaysians to return home if they know their children will be subjected to the evil manipulations of sickos such as Markom.

14. #14 by sudala on Tuesday, 18 January 2011 - 3:04 am

You think the Polis will do anything about the report lodged against the State Education Director, even though there is ample evidence? Nothing will happen, my friend, he may even get promoted to Putrajaya since he is so diligent to make sure BN wins at all costs in the by-election.

The Royal Msian Polis operates at the beck and call of the PM’s Office. Why do we expect them to move without the PMO’s OK? Just a thought…

15. #15 by AhPek on Tuesday, 18 January 2011 - 12:05 pm

Winning the election is much easier than changing UMNO civil service to the People’s civil service! It would take more than 2 wins or 3 wins for such transformation to happen.

16. #16 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 18 January 2011 - 11:12 pm

And Najib, it is people like Markom and their actions that are driving the nails into the coffins of your Talent Corp. by chinapek

Najis is already in the coffin,only his soul is roaming as who we are seeing daily.He is talking rubbish and obviously split-personally talking back to back his soul and mortal body.To the left malay;ketuanan melayu,lawan sampai mampoi To the right non-malays audience,1Malaysia,wo men i chia ren,wanekum sir.