Malaysian as top Singaporean student for third consecutive year should be important agenda of Cabinet meeting tomorrow

A Malaysian as top Singapore student for the third consecutive year should be important agenda of the Cabinet meeting tomorrow if the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak is serious about the New Economic Model and the Economic Transformation Programme to give top priority to retain and attract talents to catalyse Malaysia’s economic transformation.

In Singapore’s GCE ‘O’ Level examinations results yesterday, a Malaysian, 16-year-old Chia Pei Yun, was the topscorer with 10A1s from the school-leaving examination.

Chia, from Kuala Lumpur, completed a hattrick for Malaysians and also her school, Convent CHIJ St. Nicholas Girls’ School after following the footsteps of Selangor girls Lai Kai Rou and Haw Sue Sern.

Chia is a former student of Kuen Cheng Girls’ School in Kuala Lumpur.

The Cabinet tomorrow should be reminded of the dire warnings of the New Economic Model last March, which said:

“We are not developing talent and what we have is leaving. The human capital situation in Malaysia is reaching a critical stage. The rate of outward migration of skilled Malaysians is rising rapidly.”

“Globalisation has created a fierce competition for talent, forcing companies and government to recognize that people are the most valuable assets. To compete on a regional and global scale, Malaysia must retain and attract talent. Malaysia must be seen by its people and others as a land of equal opportunity to earn a good living and provide a secure, happy life for each individual and family.”

The case of Malaysian students topping the Singapore schools for the third consecutive year is a sombre warning that despite all the glib talk and sloganeering about 1Malaysia, GTP and ETP, brain-drain of the best and brightest Malaysians have proceeded at a even faster pace than the past.

Unless the Cabinet is prepared to come out with a commensurate response, even the formation of a Talent Corporation will not be meaningful in checking brain drain to retain and attract the best human capital in the country, the most important pre-condition to save Malaysia from bankruptcy in 2019.

1. #1 by Godfather on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 3:38 pm

What sombre warning ? We have thousands upon thousands of students having more As than this lone Singaporean kid. Pssssst, Kit, wanna bet that this year’s SPM results will be the best ever with thousands more success stories than this ?

The English have a saying “Horses for courses” which means that you train or “educate” your horse depending on what you want it to do. If it is to haul rambutans, just sell the horse for a donkey. If it is to go into the civil service, just make sure the horse can walk. If it is to go into medical service, just make sure it can trot.

Ask cintanegara, and he will tell you “no big deal”. He’s squatting under the rambutan tree and watching his donkeys haul his fruits. Let’s not watch or he’ll report to Utusan.

2. #2 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 4:02 pm

Najis and cabinet ministers are more serious about how much they can make $$$ before they are booted out in the next GE.The art of making $$$ is what they call TALENT in bolehland.Unfortunately they don’t part away few tricks to cintanegara cause they know he is already contented with his only favourite diet.CSL also knows that and unnoticedly giggling to himself.Boloh lah lia..say CSL

3. #3 by PoliticoKat on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 4:16 pm

Is there even a point of doing this?

These people can’t be shamed. You can’t appeal to nationalistic pride to motivate them to move. Many probably with Muhyiddin when he reiterated that he was Malay first and Malaysian second.

This achievement was done by a non-malay. Why should they care? Worse yet this feat was done in a Christian missionary school. Even speak of CHIJ would damage ones islamic credentials. As Najib aids have suggested when coming close to non-muslim symbols.

I would bet that if an Malaysian Indian won the Nobel prize for physics… the news wouldn’t even make the headlines. It might be reported as an internet article, with many fallacious facts added in.

4. #4 by dagen on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 4:34 pm

Remember KIT. Never mention any of these words in the presence of Jib: “Convent” and “Jesus”.

You see jib is just far too pure and clean a muslim (jenis umno that is) that he cannot be exposed to such “filthy” words at all. If you do so you would surely have his men scuttling all over to cover either his ears or your mouth, which ever is the more expedient in the circumstances.

So just stick to the abbreviation “CHIJ” when you raise this issue in parliament.

5. #5 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 4:43 pm

congratulation! how much is the student going to get from the government for making a name for boleh?

does this mean that our 3M system worked well? the one that DAP was strongly against in the 70’s.

a success in the high level means a strong foundation at the lower level. the conclusion is boleh education system is EXCELLENT. no wonder we can have so many thousands of 9As or 10As during SPM (laugh).

6. #6 by limkamput on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 4:50 pm

Aiyoo yo yo, we are still fighting over how “A”s. And we are still undecided which language to go, am I right? Don’t worry, nincompoops, in a few years may be Mandarin would be the lingua franca of Asia and Singapore will be the first one to be competent in it. Godfather, there are only so many donkeys we can have lah, beyond that there will be no more rambutan trees.

7. #7 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 4:53 pm

I don’t think the Cabinet will spend one second debating this.
    In order for Malaysia to stop the continuous brain drain, we need people like the PAGE activists to run the Education Department.

8. #8 by burn on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 4:59 pm

waste of time to debate over it!
    it is of no importance to them, since they prefer producing more clowns than A’s…

9. #9 by limkamput on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 5:09 pm

Seriously, we never inculcate tenant, we actually stifle it. Why? It is simple; if those at the top now are half baked nincompoops, how can they ever allow people smarter than them to thrive. It is oxymoron. Like so many reform proposals being tossed around, they will never happen. They can marginalize and sack themselves, can they? We have this nincompoop from Shell and we think he is a semi-god. I tell you, this transformation thing is really getting out of hand. This fellow alone will turn Malaysia into Greece. If everything needs this nincompoop from Shell, may I know what are all the ministers, IGP, AG, DG, and Secretaries General for?

10. #10 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 5:11 pm

There is also another top student fr 1M’sia: Tan Ruo Ming fr JB @ Pasir Ris Sec School
    Visit http://myepaper.mypaper.sg/ebook/web_php/System/Zoom_In/Zoom_In_Page.html
    Another si mata sempit n pendatang, no loss lah 2 NR, UmnoB/BN

11. #11 by Mohammad Shahrul on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 5:20 pm

Assalamualaikum (peace upon you in Arabic) and hai to all the brothers,
    (Godfather, k1980, wanderer, dagen, undertaker888, boh-liao, yhsiew,
    tak tahan, waterfrontcoolie and others)

Firstly, I want to congratulate Miss Chia Pei Yun, who was the topscorer
    with 10A1s from the school-leaving examination in Singapore… Im happy
    as a Malaysian and wish you luck… Our government should has something
    ought to be concerned about her as she is doing well… I hope Mr Kit
    Siang can propose to the cabinet to explore any budget incentives for
    her and other schools to improve graduation rates or further their
    study, not just increase enrollment… We have to help also to make sure
    bright students from poor backgrounds feel able to go to university
    in spite of the potentially huge bill no matter what is their race or
    religion but as long as they are Malaysian, they deserve it… The
    government must change… As an engineer, I feel sad if we have so much
    brain drains to other countries while even Malaysia needs them… The
    ministry’s policy also must not being too idiot-oriented which
    applying the “import here, import there” specialist from outsiders
    and might paying them triple from the local power (our students, our
    future graduates, already working) where the government is ignoring
    them for currently… A lot of job and economic opportunities can be
    created in Malaysia actually but it depends on how the government to
    utilize the recources and hey, our students also are including as
    our resources…

– Mohammad Shahrul –

p/s: Gosh, as I said before, this government of UMNO must change. Have
    to change. Claiming themselves to be muslim leaders of the multiracial
    country led by UMNO but doing some crazy things pulling the string from
    behind is unacceptable. Claiming lead by example through the Holy
    Quran while being contradictly racist is unacceptable. As a muslim,
    most of our prophets are Israeli – Ibrahim (Abraham in Bible), Ishak
    (Isaac in Bible), Musa (Moses in Bible), Isa (Jesus in Bible) and
    aalll of other prophets which aaalll of UMNO leaders pronounce their
    name during our pray, or our Friday speech. All of them are Israeli by race
    but loved by us and still – those UMNO leaders are behaving
    contradictly towards their own Chinese and Indian brothers.
    So pathetic!!! Cant stand it anymore!!!

12. #12 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 5:22 pm

Who said 1M’sia’s education system NO STANDARD? Moooooooo ……..
    M’sia-educated students hot commodities oh ………
    http://www.zaobao.com.sg/sp/sp110111_032.shtml

13. #13 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 5:58 pm

Actually Chia Pei Yun got 11 A1, n another classmate, also fr M’sia, got 10 A1
    http://www.zaobao.com.sg/sp/sp110111_033.shtml
    D little red dot welcomes M’sian students with open arms + ASEAN scholarships

14. #14 by sotong on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 6:16 pm

Our country do not value people with skills and talents to create permanent, satisfying and rewarding value added jobs….even Malays are looking for better opportunity elsewhere.

You have lots of graduates. What are you going to do with them? You can’t just simply create jobs like the government departments without considering costs.

You need to lay a proper foundation and environment decades ago….I think it is too late.

15. #15 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 6:17 pm

Do u think Jib andf Moo prefer the D’s and E’s to be around?

16. #16 by cintanegara on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 7:07 pm

Did she apply for Scholarship? Did the Government reject her application? If the answer is NO, then why should anyone believe that the policy is unfair? it is her personal choice to study abroad…There are many young and talented Non Malays working in the GLC…holding key positions and earning handsome salaries… the policy to ensure that everyone is treated equally, regardless of their race, colour, descent, religion, etc

BTW, I couldn’t stop laughing reading “Mohammad Shahrul”’s comment…We knew the ethnic group he belongs to…

• #17 by ChinNA on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 8:15 pm

Absolutely great points raised about the fairness of policy but this off topic. Also you have not provided a shred of evidence or personal experience to back your claims of equality and fairness. It is easy to make a claim, please justify it.

The issue is ‘brain drain”. Why does Malaysian talents leave the country?

Apart from fairness of policy, these are my other reasons, with examples of personal experience. I am sure they are not an isolated case.

Let me list some of those that I know:

1. Unfairness of scholarship – I applied for and was rejected for a local scholarship. My MALAY friends who are nowhere near my achievements be it education or activities but having the same financial situation were offered scholarship to UK and US. My Chinese friends of the same educational achievements were denied places to study in Form Six.

Explain this ‘fairness’ to me. I cannot understand it.

Then for university assignment, I was given a general degree course in UPM while my Malay friends who were much less educationally capable than me were offered scholarships to US and UK. Then next tier of Malay students who did get scholarships, got offered the best courses for medicine and engineering at MU.

Explain this ‘fairness’ and ‘equality’ to me. I cannot understand it.

2. No Perceived Value: I have known of significant number of MALAY Malaysian friends in NUS who got good offers from Malaysian universities too. They chose NUS.

Explain this to me “Why is there a lack of perceived value of Malaysian education?”, even by the Malays.

I could go on with many other reasons but I would like to hear your response and experiences. Perhaps I am wrong.

Thank you.

17. #18 by negarawan on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 7:35 pm

UMNO and their crony speaker Pandikar Amin tak Mulia will not allow this discussion in parliament. This is an insult to their ketuanan melayu policy, and a slap in the face for MCA and MIC for their utter failure in nurturing bright Chinese and Indian students in their home land.

18. #19 by Thor on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 7:43 pm

Apa itu “A”, asked Moo!
    We don’t need to have lots of “A” here.
    Just look around our country.
    Not much “A” but still can be professional doctors, lawyers and quite recently, SS as well.
    How about our one famous lawyer who showed the court how to strangle oneself?
    What’s so excited about “A”!!!

19. #20 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 8:38 pm

While our politicians were busy fighting over which race should get what over the years, a smart Lee Kuan Yew quietly turned Malaysia into a human resource bank for his country. The government should review the NEP and not let other countries take advantage of its inherent weaknesses.

20. #21 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 9:19 pm

here’s how we get a basketload of “A”s.

Siapakah perdana menteri pertama malaysia?
    A. Oscar the Octopus
    B. Jimmy Carter
    C. Tunku Abdul Rahman
    D. Lionel Messi

namakan ibukota Estonia.
    A. Kuala lumpur
    B. Tallinn
    C. Ipoh
    D. Seremban

you get the idea…

• #22 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 10:59 pm

Are you the teachers implying that Tunku Abdul Rahman is as lembik as an octopus or is a white man ? For a stupid student, he will get the answer correct also. Reason is the Perdana menteri must be a human being. So an octopus is out since it is an undersea creature. The Perdana menteri of Malaysia must be a Malaysian, most probably a Malay if the student guesses. So it cannot be someone with a western or foreign name. So B and D are out. This leaves the one and only C which is correct. Now who is the stupider one ? The educator who sets the question. Is this a sedekah question ? Just so that you have an additional mark ? If this is a real case, you make everyone look so stupid. Do you have to stupidize everyone ? If teachers are stupid, then their end products can be thrown into the lubang jamban.

21. #23 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 9:32 pm

Nice one ChinNa.Unfortunately cintanegara has been playing too much guli(marble) under the shade of rambutan tree.Talk without fact and figure is what his specialty or Talent.He should try monsterball’s recomended Chinese kum(oranges) to prevent overdue mouth diarrhea.As I said before rambutan itself does not have sufficient nutrient for his brain.What to expect from him and his likes.He is spotting red eye-Ang Bhah Chiu

22. #24 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 9:50 pm

continuous questions from #21

Namakan pokok yang buah ia berbulu dan mirip namanya di suatu tempat di perkarangan Ibukota Perak,Ipoh

A.Tanjung Rambutan
    B.Rambutan
    C.Ah mou tan
    D.cintanegara

Di lubang mana sepatutnya disi barang buangan?

A.Lubang Jamban
    B.Lubang semen
    C.Lubang Saifu
    D.Lubang S
    ubang

23. #25 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 9:58 pm

They wouldn’t bother because she is NOT one of their kind!!!!!!

24. #26 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 10:01 pm

Is uncle Lim proposing Lee Kwan Yew to have a cabinet meeting in order to single out Malaysians in Singaporean schools?

Singapore is not worrying that the standard of its students are deteriorating, so why should we worry that our students are getting smarter?

25. #27 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 10:17 pm

Najis will propose super railway train(SRT) to accomodate braindrain to Singapore from Bolehland.Budget will be disclose before mid year.So uncle Lim,prepare for that at tomorrow meeting in Parliment.Najis is planning for 11th consecutive years before 2019.

26. #28 by monsterball on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 10:51 pm

cintanegara …why should her parents wast time and efforts.. to apply scholarship to a double standard and racist Govt.?
    We have seen it all….know it all…and yet you want to try luck to fool us with this line of talk?
    Mohammad Shahrul shamed you so much…as he is a sincere Muslim Malaysian and you cannot stand the sight of that?
    He is pricking your conscience hard….like Najib is suffering now?
    yea..support Najib .by saying ..you will sacrifice and cut your rambutan tree and make sticks of fire to get ready burn houses.
    You dare to offer that sacrifice to Najib?

27. #29 by Godfather on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 11:14 pm

cintanegara:

Let’s smoke a joint under your rambutan tree. OK, I undertake that I shall not covet the fruits…

Some basic facts of life in Bolehland:

The education system is meant only for donkeys, and is run by a bunch of old donkeys, including the minister who can’t string a proper sentence in English. That’s why Hishamuddin puts his children in Alice Smith school.

The teachers who are donkeys can only teach other donkeys and can’t differentiate between a donkey and a racehorse. Our thoroughbred kids know that from primary school, so the good ones are quickly identified by foreign governments and welcomed to their meritocratic education systems. You know what an Asean scholarship means ? It’s not the free boarding, or free tuition, or monthly allowance. It’s the freedom to mix with the best and the brightest, and to open your mind in a meritocratic environment where the sky is truly the limit.

You see donkeys being identified as racehorses by the very people who are only skilled at training donkeys. They enter thoroughbred races and get whipped by the opposition. Nobody wants to sponsor races here, so the government pumps in obscene sums of money to attract foreign racehorses to race here. They call it the Malaysia RaceCup. Even then, mediocre foreign racehorses beat our donkeys draped in racehorse attire. Once in a blue moon, a fluke happens, and a local donkey wins a race, and Najib declares a holiday in honour of that donkey. The trainer of the winning donkey gets a datukship.

One last word for Limkamput who kept saying that we will run out of donkeys. You need not worry – the government has a plan to keep importing donkeys from Indonesia, Southern Thailand, Mindanao, and even the Middle East. We have an excellent track record in nurturing donkeys.

28. #30 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 11:26 pm

If we consider long term secenario, indeed Monsterball is right, why should her parent takes the trouble to apply for a scholarship? Say, she is given one, likely to be a local U. then on graduation, she is again handicapped for having to work for the gomen for a couple of years where she faces antheer round of second best option for promotion. All such obstacles will make her less productive and add to her frustration.
    In the little DOT, only results count if you can’t make it, you are unlucky to have better peers! well, at least you know you have better and more talented peers. Yes, there they prefer to take risks with one with grey matter; chances are they will have it right! since, we have all gone through this so often, may i suggest that we all try to be star-gazers, let’s predict what could happen in the next 10 years??
    By the way, the AXED CM of Penang is still babbling about LGE who has proven beyond doubt that he [LGE] is far more capable than him within 2 years; with all the budget surpluses. What evidence does he still need? KTK? Can you just shut-up! I don’t think you will ever have a chance to stand for the next election!

29. #31 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 11 January 2011 - 11:48 pm

Cintanegara,where are you?As usual like oxymoron umnob,just keep quiet when you are out of facts and figures to back u up.Why don’t offer urself for khairy to talk cock with any persons you think suitable since khairy is not even minister or someone in the top 100 oxfarting graduates to confront Anwar in open debate on finance issue.You talk better cock than those cock talker..i supposed.

30. #32 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 12:05 am

Muhyiddin is fiddling in the uS while the education system burns.

And he says our results are better in 2010 than ever before.

Of course, he is talking cock (male chicken).

31. #33 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 12:08 am

Aiyah monsterball,just think of you in case you’re sleeping or exercising your d.c.k and balls.Anyway i do not want to interrupt.Very nice pieces of you and waterfrontcoolie.Taroh him kau kau lah.Ridiculing all in this blog included his type while pretending to read al-quoran under rambutan tree while fantasizing the fruits will be sweet and juicy with some prays.He will get consternation without listening to your what.. cantonese oranges.He will not berak like saifu for more than two days.CSL will penetrate his pingpong ball hole to ease him.No worry ya.

32. #34 by chongteh on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 12:41 am

Why look so far south to see the effect of the brain drain? In our own backyard is a pool of more than 200,000 bankrupts who have been treated worse than criminals. Granted some of these bankrupts are hopeless cases but there are also thousands of them who could succeed as businessmen or good employees if given a second chance. Barisan doesn’t seem to understand that “failure is the first step to success” and during the past few decades it has done nothing to revamp the Bankruptcy Act which is so out of touch with reality.

In the UK and Australia, bankrupts are automatically discharged after a certain period and they can rejoin society as useful citizens, thus minimizing a wastage of human resource.

If I were in Pakatan Rakyat I’d look into this problem of “internal brain drain” and see how it can abolish the existing Bankruptcy Act and replace it with more dynamic and effective laws. Go to the bankrupts, seek their views.

33. #35 by monsterball on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 12:44 am

Yes tak tahga.. my balls and stick need execrcises to…hahahahahahaha
    Thank you waterfrontcollie confirming I am right.
    This is serious subject and I need to be 100% right…and not comment to mislead Malaysians.
    You detailed explanations should open eyes of young readers.
    And Godfather..what a smart joker you are..putting facts into jokes…and not easy to talk like that too.
    To you all…GOODNIGHT and God bless.
    PS: I take the good hint…”tak tahan” wants me to shut up and go to sleep…..hahahahahahaha
    But if cintanegara suddenly appear and talk nonsense again….I promise “tak tahan”.. .I will taroh him kuat kuat..which I am sure Godfather and waterfrontcooler will do so..if I missed the opportunity.
    Yes…cintanegara is a toy to me.
    There are many important subjects we need to discuss and not be distracted.
    Migration and human rights are great subjects to talk about.
    Migrations is a more complicated subject…which I said enough….yet seems..not enough.
    Previously….I exposed how Police go about their corruptions..but today…the style and art are totally different from yesteryears…which needs us to me more alert and expose them.
    GOODNIGHT …my friends.

34. #36 by monsterball on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 12:46 am

Sorry la…”tak tahan”…your nick spelt wrongly..because my balls and stick need rest……hahahahahaha

35. #37 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 12:56 am

What if i left too and who will take care of my parents?That’s why i say, let the individual to decide his own fate to suit him the most.I’m flexible and not bound to any circumstances but like monsterball,i do have some responsibility to care of and it’s my duty to claim the right for my family but not myself.We are here to firght like LKS but…

36. #38 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 12:59 am

The BN Govt is aleardy shifting the goalpost to try to give more advantage to bumi students. How else can you explain making History a compulsory subject but load it with Islamic civilisation topics? They will use this as an excuse to disproportionately award scholarships again.

Believe me, it won’t work. Soon the non bumi students will master this as well just to do well in exams as they have done for BM. Moo and Co. will need to move the goalpost aa\gain soon.

37. #39 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 1:12 am

//Did she apply for Scholarship? Did the Government reject her application? If the answer is NO, then why should anyone believe that the policy is unfair? // – cintanegara.

She did not apply for government scholarship. But why do you think she did not apply? Surely, Mr. cintanegara, you know the reason or you want to pretend not to know?

For the past 40 years or so applications for government assistance by non- Malays who Malays like you prefer to call si kaki botol and si mata sepet have been turned down. Remember there were many outstanding students who could not even get a place in higher institutions of learning? Or you want to choose to forget?

This top Malaysian student knows too well that being she could never get a scholarship from racist UNMOB-controlled policies. cintanegara, you and I or any Malaysian for that matter cannot blame her for her lack of faith in our government because of its biased policies and unfair system.

The thing is that she need not worry about scholarship because a brilliant student like her will be ‘snatched’ by any country except Bolehland which already have TOO MANY Scholars better than her-scoring 15A1 and 17A. With vast improvements in our education standard under Tan Sri Moo Hee Din, we can expect a 30% increase of Top Scorers!!!!!

Singapore very kiasu. Heard it already offered this Malaysian student long before she sat for the Examination. cintanegara, we Malaysians cannot blame Singapore, can we? It needs human resources to build up the country unlike us. We have everything including minyak kelapa, minyak sawit, minyak tanah, minyak mentah ( if fact, in access that we have to give away 2 oil wells to Brunei ) and even ‘orang minyak’ you can say.

Jokes aside, congratulations to Chia Pei Yun. May you move on to greater heights and have a successful career in Singapore.

38. #40 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 1:19 am

LKS is still fighting for all malaysian’s rights but in actual fact he should have joined BN long time ago for $$$ but for you guys to argue emigration here and there with us ala LKS, pls come up with sensible senses.LKS is here to guide us from braindrain and pls support him if you can.We know in instinc what’s here and there for our future.No need to go further.

39. #41 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 1:36 am

Haiyoh monsterball,

When i want you to sleep?Don’t put words in my mouth like saiful hole that can acommodate any sizes but still can not berak for two days.Your cantonese kam(oranges) can work or not?Where are you?Pretending about to sleep and say good night is not like you at all.Why?Well,good night and sleep soundly and comment well tomorrow ok?

40. #42 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 1:58 am

Not that we want to encourage our bright sons to migrate. But who can deny that it would be foolish to place their future in a country run by this UMNOB led government? To ask these youngsters to stay put to serve the nation would be selfish of us. But until the whole infrastructure and system is put right, who in his/her right frame of mind knowing he/she can have a better future, would risk throwing it away? Love for our country is always there; but love for self and family cannot be compromised. Those who tell me they love their country and are prepared to go hungry although they are given a choice are hypocrites. And those who claim to be patriots but keep plundering the nation’s wealth are not only bigger hypocrites. They are TRAITORS!

41. #43 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 4:35 am

Singapore = Smartland

Malaysia = Bodohland

42. #44 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 7:18 am

It is not right to compare Malaysia and other countries because Malaysia is Malaysia who places importance on power and money. She could not be bothered if the best people are leaving because she only wants her own people to secure her position in her country. By securing herself using her less than best people in the country, she will not be successful in the long run. That is why she wants the private companies to help out because she knows that on her own, she could not do much but with the private’s help, she could shine kind of. And for that favour, it is not free. Malaysia is not bodoh or stupid. She is trying to be cunning except people are slowing see through her tactics. If those questions are real and not made up for sensationalization, then the students are taught to be robots. Siapakah Perdana Menteri Malaysia dalam tahun 1957 ? a. Tunku Abdul Rahman b. Tun Abdul Razak c. Tun Hussein Onn d. Tun H.S. Lee. Come on. Give a bit of pride to Malaysia. Let the students do critical intelligent thinking. Not rubbish questions. Not rubbish answers. Teachers, it is a sin to make your children stupid.

43. #45 by monsterball on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 7:23 am

I fully understand what Taxidriver is saying…but I wonder does he understand what is migration and seeking jobs elsewhere…due to circumstances beyond many control.
    Migration means given up totally Malaysian citizenship.
    Seeking jobs elsewhere and still is a Malaysian citizen…is not migration.
    No body is asking Taxidriver to have his family go hungry…for the love of the country.
    Please do not be too dramatic or illogical.
    What I am saying…we must fight for our rights and never give up.
    UMNO B does not own the country…and right now..after 12th GE..I am surprised Taxidriver have not gain one ounce of confidence that a change in Govt. is real..and everyone should stay united ..especially the minority Chinese.
    If you want to throw UMNO B out..this is the best chance..and therefore…talks of migrations or seeking better jobs elsewhere should be put on hold …after 13h GE.
    Lets not be impractical and dramatic.
    Thousands of jobs are available in Malaysia..and they are mostly from commercial firms…seeking for the best candidates.
    Staying put in Malaysia are not hypocrites nor idiots.
    Everyone knows how terrible the Govt. is and getting worst….but some cannot translate that into a warfare …which actually is without guns and cannons.
    We are actually at war with a band of robbers and thieves…for decades and suffer in silence…until new hopes are clearly seen by the 12th GE.
    All I hope is the minorities shop talking selfishly until 13th GE is completed.
    If the result does not give you hope…then run as far as you want.
    22% Chinese stay back have so many reasons…but if Taxidriver family will go hungry by staying in Malaysia…he should not waste one day and go elsewhere to fill his family stomachs….or get all his children leave Malaysia to eat and be alive.
    A dead minority due to starvation is really stupid to be one..just because he love the country more than his life?
    That’s real stupid.
    We are the largest and most powerful minority in Malaysia.
    It was from 32% ..down to 22% now..due to migrations and mostly due to population explosion by the Muslims encouraged by the Govt..to give birth as many as they can.
    Things have change now.
    Muslim family want quality up bringing …and no more quantity…and that also worries the Satanic Govt we are having.
    I am fully aware the way I talk…few will disagree and that’s natural.
    Why not we all pack an run away..and solve the “problem”…once and for all?
    Why comment to fight Najib and at the back of your mind…have no confidence to win?

44. #46 by monsterball on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 7:41 am

In war..it is.. killed or to be killed.
    No such thing as shooting your enemy and planning to run like a deserter.
    That’s worst than selfishly thinking about the family.
    The point is…are we at war with traitors …robbers and thieves..or is it a fantasy?
    Sure…..outwardly…it looks like ..they have all the guns and we have nothing.
    Don’t let that fool you.
    Even Najib is afraid and not thinking to have 13th GE in September instead of March..to go along with Sarawak and Sabah elections.
    Whatever it is…never in the history of Malaysia….have millions of Malaysians waiting to change the Govt.
    Think like.. minorities at war.. and win the battle united and strong.
    Go and study all the victories from minorities against Dictatorship and corrupted Govt…all over SEA…leaving Malaysia and Vietnam the last one.

45. #47 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 7:54 am

Talent Corporation will fail to stop brain drain let alone wooing back Malaysian professionals working overseas to serve in their home country.

The government has adopted the wrong strategies to stop brain drain although in reality it knows where the problem lies. The government must have the political will and courage to reform unfair policies which give rise to brain drain in spite of opposition from extremist groups.

46. #48 by monsterball on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 8:08 am

hhhhmmmmmm…migration….family come first.
    DAP politicians.. all stupid…go to jail for ungrateful minorities…and.to free Malaysians..only to know…their sacrifices not inspiring.
    Anwar and few more…all can be multi millionaires if they think of their family first….and not doing that…must be real real stupid Malaysians.
    Yes…so many newly elected PR parliamentarians can turncoat and be millionaire.
    Why are they so stupid…never think of their families?

47. #49 by monsterball on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 8:13 am

The day the Govt have political will to do all things right will be the day..Najib is digging his own grave to bury himself.
    We know it will never happen.

48. #50 by monsterball on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 8:46 am

I think many Malaysian Chinese still think China is their real country.
    They still think..they are migrating race….without realizing…so many overseas Chinese envy them to be Malaysians.
    Yes…Chinese is undoubtedly…a very selfish race..with more than 14 clans….with a history to envy or look down another.
    They gave their clans Associations…so powerful in the past…now all dying…a very good sign that shows…young Malaysian Chinese are not clannish as their fathers.
    Go to China and see how will the Govt. treat you… as Chinese or as a Malaysians.
    And if you declare you are a Chinese…they will spit at your face..when your passport shows you are a Malaysian…and treat you as an imposture.

49. #51 by Loh on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 10:02 am

///Chia is a former student of Kuen Cheng Girls’ School in Kuala Lumpur.///-Kit

Kuen Cheng Girls’ school is not national school. Vernacular schools produce students with good results to show. Is that why some among UMNOputras are eager to close them. Mamakthir said that Chinese should forgo Chinese schools. Is it not his aim to weaken Chinese, after the non-Malay enfeebling policy has been working towards that end.

The Defense Minister might say that Malaysians accepting scholarships from other countries are not patriotic. He would further claim that since vernacular schools produce unpatriotic students they should be closed.

The Cabinet would produce no decision that would be beneficial to non-Malays because Najib is an opportunist. I hope they do not focus on this issue.

50. #52 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 10:07 am

Luckily, Chia Pei Yun did not take her SPM here, cos she might not get all A1 or at best she might b 1 of d thousands with all A1, typical of all public exams here, low standard

51. #53 by Thor on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 10:22 am

We’ve an angkasawan who took a joy ride on a russian rocket to space.
    We have a rempit who could graduate from oxford within a few months.
    We have a lawyer who could outbeat Mr. Bean and many more to come so what’s the big deal?
    Brain drain are no important to us.
    What we do need are those with “longkang” brains!

52. #54 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 11:27 am

Again..all the comments posted by DAP hardcore supporters…reminds me of the Fox and the Grapes story….one of the popular Aesop’s fables…When a policy doesn’t seem to favor them… that doesn’t mean it’s unjust…right?

53. #55 by monsterball on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 12:12 pm

hhhmmm…Here we talk serious stuffs and there cintanegara quoting Std.One..”Fox & Grapes” fable.
    Why can’t he give us a Koranic quotation…like and “eye for and eye”…or… ” He who speaks with a fork tongue will have his tongue cut off” spoken…. by non other…Chief Crazy Horse.
    cintanegara always quote Std One fables…and that shows what kind of a brain he has.
    He said….”When a policy doesn’t seem to favor….that doesn’t mean it’s unjust..right?”
    WOW!!…what fantastic brain he has.
    hi cintanegara…how about the Govt. policies to keep stealing from Malaysians and applying double standards. Are they just or unjust?
    I simply cannot believe a supporter of crooks can come here to teach honest people….which he concluded …”DAP pro hardcore supporters” that is totally not true.
    We are supporters of keDAILan….PAS and DAP…under the banner of Pekatan Rakyat..you idiot.
    You are supporter of one party in BN ….UMNO B only…which makes you the real sickening low class racist ..shoe shine boy,
    A person with no morals nor principles in life…trying to teach us morals?
    What kind of a brain you have…cintanegara?
    Can you really understand truths and lies?

54. #56 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 12:13 pm

Hai cinta my ass,dont’t you read or aware what RPK calls your kind..Bodoh Sombong with self denial.Great pretender and talk cock with no fact and figure.You are not invited here so step out as we also remind ourself not to step in your rambutan boundary.Didn’t you learn this manner in your culture?Bersopan santun sikit lah.

55. #57 by Mohammad Shahrul on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 12:20 pm

Why do when I read most previoust comments, all
    trying to relate cintanegara with rambutan..? Was
    this kind of an insult to the Malay or what? Im sorry,
    I just cant get it… To read aaalll of the comments
    since 3-4 months ago, surely no time… Everbody’s
    trying to earn the living working the whole day…

56. #58 by monsterball on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 12:40 pm

No Mohammad Shahrul……only to cintanegara…and not to all Malays….and if you ask me what does it mean…and if I explain…sure to get my comment deleted.
    I leave it to the originator of that coined words to explain.
    So long it has been. I also do not know…who started calling cintanegara with his rambutan tree.
    And since cintanegara have such a thick skin face…he simply love his rambutan tree….you bet.

57. #59 by monsterball on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 1:02 pm

Mohammad..If I am not mistaken…I recalled cintanegara said he owns a rambutan tree…and commentators started to say his has black rambutan ….not red..this and that.
    And all use their imaginations..to describe his rambutan tree.
    For me…the tree has two black hairy peanut size rambutans….that is useless and cannot be eaten.
    What others say..varies in their thoughts and ONLY for cintangera only.
    I hope my memory is correct.

58. #60 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 1:43 pm

Hai Mohammad Shahrul,

There is no intention at all to insult malay but if you reverse back and read his comments and compare with yours,you can justify his lowly racist mentality which is his aim to insult not only all the bloggers here but all decent malaysians included you,my dear.

59. #61 by Godfather on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 2:09 pm

Ah, now we have another fluke donkey who thinks he is a racehorse by quoting Aesop….

This donkey actually told us he had a rambutan tree. He didn’t exactly own it, as it was growing on no man’s land, and he claimed he nurtured it, and when it was bearing fruit, some pendatangs came and claimed part of the fruit. If you ask Utusan, or Ibrahim Katak, they will say the same thing – “they” came first, and pendatangs came later and tried to take away a piece of the pie. They will also say that the pendatangs cannot look at the rambutan tree – it will cause them to be nervous.

The rambutan story is now staple diet in this blog, especially when the donkey in racehorse attire speaks.

60. #62 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 7:18 pm

Hey…hey…hey…monsterball!!! Were not you too quick to shoot from your hip? From your post #43, I am of the view that you have carried my comment ”out of context”

Firstly, when I mentioned ”our sons” I meant our bright Malaysian youngsters, not my own sons as like to put it. That was a general comment.

Having said all, monsterball, I admire your strong fighting spirit. If only there were more Malaysians like you we would not be in this sorry state. There would not be 22 years for Mahathir.

Secondly, it is to my understanding that quite a number who migrated or left the country to work elsewhere are forced by circumstances. Some have aged parents and siblings who are dependent on them, and if Malaysia cannot offer them good jobs with reasonably good pay that will allow them to put sufficient food on the table, they are free to choose to stay put or take up better paying jobs outside Malaysia or even migrate to have a better future. If forced by circumstances to make such decisions, then monsterball, tak tahan, Taxidriver, Jeffery, limkamput and…….. should respect their decisions instead of being selfish to ask them to neglect their own family members for country’s sake. It would be insane for one to do otherwise. Honestly, much as i love my own country, I would make the same decision to leave. For, what is love for country when there is no love of one’s own family. You cannot separate the two.

Lastly, my earlier comment was more targeted at the present day UMNOB government. The message I want to drive home is that not all professionals who work in foreign countries willingly. Many are reluctant to leave thereby, leaving their loved ones and friends. They do not have a choice. Najib should take note and deal with Malaysia’s brain- drain problems with urgency and sincerity failing which, the country will become another failed state on the world map.

61. #63 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 7:21 pm

oops! 3rd paragraph should be the last paragraph. Mistake regretted.

62. #64 by monsterball on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 12:36 am

Taxidriver…noted your reply and thoughts.
    Please leave me out from your list to migrate.
    To me…there is always a choice and nobody is going to chase me out of my house or country.
    Over my dead body they may succeed but my children and relations will think exactly like me.
    So if I read you thoughts out of context…this to let you know…in is in every Malaysian Chinese minds..how they wish to think and act…if pushed to the wall….with the help of MCA.
    We will never run nor fear crooks.

63. #65 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 2:07 pm

// We will never run or fear crooks//- monsterball

Good to know I have a comarade like you. Unfortunately, people like you fall under the minority group. So sad.

Just to let you know, monsterball, I keep telling people that for a healthy democracy to thrive, we cannot give BN abosulute power; we need a strong opposition to provide check and balance. My dream to see a Two-Party Parliamentary is about to come true.

I am no quitter, monsterball. Why should I quit or why would I quit after chasing after that ‘DREAM’ for over 35 years now. Then there was no internet and I had to help opposition parties canvass for votes during election times, telling voters Mahathir’s policies benefitted only the upper class and would ruin the nation in the long term. Many friends say my prediction has come true. This is my consolation.

Lest I be seen as a bragger, I will not go further except to tell you that you love your country and so do I which is why I am putting on hold my citizenship application of a foreign country until a better government take over. This I do for the sake of my relatives, Chinese, Malay and Indian friends.

So you see I do not have the list of would- be migrators you talk about. Tell it to somebody else. To those who want to migrate or to work outside Malaysia, I respect their decision. I will say nothing.

64. #66 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 2:19 pm

correction: ‘bragger’ ( 2nd last para ) shuold be braggart