Utusan told to stop obsession with Teo’s attire

by Aidila Razak
Jan 1, 2011

Women organisation representatives today slammed parties who have attacked Serdang MP Teo Nie Ching for wearing “tight clothes” at an aerobics event organised by a mosque earlier this month.

According to Empower executive director Maria Chin Abdullah, the attention on her clothing was evidence of gender discrimination against female elected representatives.

“This is a sad pattern. We see this even in election campaigns where female candidates are subjected to personal attacks about how they dress and who they associate with.

“This happened in the case of (Seputeh MP) Teresa Kok, (Bukit Lanjan assemblyperson) Elizabeth Wong, and (Batu Gajah MP) Fong Po Kuan, who has had to sustain racist remarks in Parliament,” said Chin when contacted.

On Thursday, Malay daily Utusan Malaysia reported on its front page that Teo was “creating trouble again” by dressing in tight clothing while participating in an aerobics session in the car park of a mosque in her constituency.

The mosque committee had invited the MP to participate in the event, which was part of their Maal Hijrah celebrations.

Teo had attended event dressed in track pants and a white tee shirt.

‘Why target Teo?

Women’s Aid Organisation president Meera Samanther concurred with Chin, and asked why Teo (below) has been a regular target for such remarks.

The Serdang MP first came under Utusan’s keen eye when they front-paged her wearing a “tight kebaya” and not covering her hair when she attended a surau event last August.

“Why target her? Is it because she is female, vocal and in a position of power?

“We are disappointed with such remarks but I would tell Teo that there will always be people who are unhappy, and she should ignore them and continue with her work,” said Samanther.

Both women’s rights activists also pointed out that Teo had attended the event as an invited guest of the mosque committee, whose members had no problems with her attire.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 9:46 pm

Utusan’s attack on Serdang MP Teo Nie Ching for wearing “tight clothes” will result in reduced non-Malay votes for BN in GE 13. It is very clear that BN is not interested in garnering non-Malay votes. Maybe they think non-Malay votes are not important to them since non-Malays make up only 35% of the population.

The silence from MCA and Gerakan confirms that they have no say in the BN coalition. They are compelled to nod their heads in whatever BN does.

2. #2 by Taxidriver on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 10:06 pm

UM should first ask the government to ban local Malay movies and female singers because many are dressed to show their curvaceous bodies. Personally, though, I am against such move because I enjoy the sight of these beautiful creatures although I feel that quite a number of them should do something to reduce their weight.

3. #3 by negarawan on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 11:36 pm

Why is UMNO harassing opposition MPs who are serious and sincere about serving their constituents? UMNO MPs and ministers are a bunch of corrupted criminals, murderers, rapists. UM editor and reporters should keep themselves busy and useful writing about UMNO crimes and scandals. Then they can probably make some money and increase circulation.

4. #4 by monsterball on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 11:44 pm

They have nothing else to talk bad about the Oppositions.
    Even Najib’s New Year speech to Malaysians must talk bad about DAP.
    What a low class PM he is.
    If you view the photos of Teo Nie Ching…wearing track suits to exercise….nothing to complaint about in the whole wide world….except in Malaysia.
    So sad…our country is filled with sick racists religious Islamic fanatics.

5. #5 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 12:44 am

For a change, Utusan should go interview the Indonesian ambassador for a statement on an alleged rape by a Malayisan Minister.

Now that’s BIG NEWS!

Not Teo Nie Ching doing aerobics. Hey, Utusan, millions of Malysians do aerobics everyday-lah. If u report everyone doing aerobics, ahhh…kan uUtusan bodoh sangat!

Go find the rapist Minister. name him and shame him.

6. #6 by tak tahan on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 12:52 am

This pharisees always trying to find fault over trivial things according to their shallow ethic codes but keep mum when those ministers rape their maids.Beh tahan!!Hello..pls taroh them kau kau lah.These sinful people are just thinking you are the fool that keep on forgiving them.

7. #7 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 2:21 am

New Code of Dressing for all Utusan Melayu staff effective 1st January 2011.

For men: Dress like Arabs.

For women: Dress in burqa, head to toe; pitch black colour.

For rainbow ‘happy’ people: Take your pick. Elton John style preferred.

8. #8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 7:20 am

Hello Editor Utusan,

Looks like u know nutting (nuts) about investigative journalism. Look! Someone else has beaten you to the scoop. Check this out!

http://malaysiansmustknowthetruth.blogspot.com/2010/12/robengah-picture-of-indon-maid-raped-by.html

Now I undersratstand why some ministers want to curb the internet and pass laws to stop the free flow of information. Rats! The Cabinet is raided by Raits.

Holy Cow, if the minister doesn’t start suing the blogger quickly, we are all going to think he did it! Did he or didn’t he? Tenaganita , Migrant Care? Any statement to make? Many good blogs will give you the space for your statement that will reach millions.

9. #9 by boh-liao on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 7:58 am

Teo NC better jaga, don’t go too near 2 Lies when dressed in her tight clothes, he cannot tahan 1 U know, got permanent head damage lah

10. #10 by k1980 on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 10:42 am

Every morning in schools, thousands upon thousands of schoolgirls are doing P.E. dressed in “tight clothes” like Teo. Utusan should tell jakim to arrest them for indecent exposure.

11. #11 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 11:24 am

///Now I understand why some ministers want to curb the internet and pass laws to stop the free flow of information/// -#8

ENDANGERED HORNBILL – good one!

12. #12 by Taxidriver on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 3:12 pm

I still cannot bring myself to believe that a well educated man holding a Phd and a ministerial post would commit such shameless crime like raping his maid unless he is an animal ( NATANG ) I hope he will do something fast to clear his good name; sue all those who spread the malicious rumours about him. He should go see our pious and no nonsense PM to seek his advice on the next course of action to take.

13. #13 by Taxidriver on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 3:35 pm

DAHULU kerana nak syok-syok sekejap KINI semuanya terbongkar mengakibatkan nama engkau busuk macam tahi ayam SELAMA-LAMANYA.

Apakah semua otak pemimpin-pemimpin UMNOB sama sahaja? Bukanlah sesuatu yang luarbiasa kalau bangsa Melayu dan negara di pandang rendah sebad perbuatan-perbuatan pemimpin Melayu UMNOB. Ptui! Bodoh engkau semua.

14. #14 by dagen on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 4:44 pm

Stupid. Umno. Fools. Idiots. Bums. Utusan. Oh they can all be rolled off the tongue in one go.

15. #15 by boh-liao on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 6:23 pm

Loh Si Mah also works out like dat mah, Y UM reporters n editors no get sexcited 1?

16. #16 by Voter get Voters campaign for PR on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 9:32 pm

Hope all of us can make this your New Year Resolution ,
    which is make sure you get at least one person to
    vote for PR — the more the merrier. And if every one of us can convince
    just one family member, neighbour, friend, office colleague — and again the
    more the merrier too, to do the same then half the battle is won.Just
    through your efforts alone we shall have A BETTER Malaysia for ALL
    Malaysians*.

17. #17 by cemerlang on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 10:32 pm

Muslim women are jealous of non Muslim women who show their aurat and their sexy bodies. Jealousy is a sin because it is a negative feeling, a negative emotion and is enough to create hell.

18. #18 by Cinapek on Monday, 3 January 2011 - 11:15 am

Fat Mama looked into the mirror and ask, “mirror, mirror on the wall, who looks best in Tshirt and pants” , while dressed in a T shirt and track pants.

Mirror answered, “Certainly not you, she is” and showed a picture of YB Tie dressed in T shirt and track pants doing aerobics in the mosque compound. In a rage, Fat Mama picks up the phone and calls UM to do something about it. The rest is history.

19. #19 by cemerlang on Monday, 3 January 2011 - 5:16 pm

If only wives, girlfriends can be more sexy, know what will happen or what will not happen ?