MIC Youth secretary C. Sivarrajah misleads public with false information to warp no-racial-quota education loans by Selangor State Government into a racial issue

by Teresa Kok
Selangor State Senior EXCO and Member of Parliament for Seputeh
27 November 2010

MIC Youth Secretary C. Sivarrajah has copied MCA central committee member Ti Lian Ker to warp my good intentioned effort to openly encourage students from all races to apply for Selangor State Government’s no-racial-quota education loans into a ploy to mislead the public about how students of Indian background have supposedly been marginalized.

The fact is that in 2010, Selangor offered the education loan to 28 students of Indian background and not only 4 as Sivarrajah claims. In his quest to be a “hero”, he has resorted to deflating the true number of Selangor’s positive efforts by 7 times!

Furthermore, the total number of education loans offered by Selangor in 2010 is 525 and not the trumped up 4000 figure provided.

I reiterate that the Selangor State Government education loan has no racial quota imposed. All students are judged based on their academic merit and family household income.

The number of students who apply for and accept the Selangor educations loans is not high because they also have the option of applying for and accepting Perbadanan Tabung Pendidikan Tinggi Nasional (PTPTN) loads which offer far larger sums.

It is thus disgraceful of Sivarrajah to twist Selangor’s education loan which assists students regardless of their skin colour into a racial issue to attack Selangor Pakatan Rakyat.

If Sivarrajah and MIC was genuinely concerned for Indian students, they would object to Public Service Department scholarships’ racial quotas instead of silently ignoring it.

This episode shows that Sivarrajah and MIC is still trapped in an outdated race-based paradigm of their own creation and cannot see beyond their own narrow political interests while remaining blind and indifferent to the genuine needs of all Malaysians as a whole.

(The correct figures are actually 12 out of 525 recipients of Selangor education loan in 2010, and not 4000 as NKKhoo had mistakenly thought at the time. Original false info came from statement by MCA’s Ti Lian Ker. The full statistics can be seen on Teresa’s blog.

(Unfortunately, various newspapers and politicians have knowingly or unknowingly picked up the 4000 number and been using it to criticise Teresa.)

1. #1 by boh-liao on Saturday, 27 November 2010 - 6:43 pm

What’s new? UmnoB/MCA/MIC/Gerakan/BN always use fear, lies, n racial & religious hatred 2 divide n rule, n they succeed in getting rural n urban voters 2 believe in them
    Selangor PR cannot remain silent n passive when dealing with BN
    B transparent, credible, n solid – publicise d facts

2. #2 by tak tahan on Saturday, 27 November 2010 - 8:48 pm

Aiyah,why are they so cheap and bankrupt idea one hah?Retarded or what?Even a child can think of a better creative idea lah.Teresa,offer these nuts the loan to upgrate their jamban tissue certificates to something ..whatever lah to save malaysia face from further disgrace.

3. #3 by born in Malaya on Saturday, 27 November 2010 - 10:49 pm

No name nkkhoo, MCA and MIC like what we said earlier are helping UMNOs to split the non-Malay votes, and happyly made us second class citizen in Malaysia. All non-malays are treated as second class citizen by UMNO since 1969 and during all this time, MCA and MIC are there side by side with UMNO and they are unable to do anything to change this injustice. We have wasted more than enough time on MCA and MIC. Just vote for PKR.

4. #4 by yhsiew on Sunday, 28 November 2010 - 1:22 am

It is ever so convenient for unlearned errant politicians to play the racial and religion card to gain political mileage in multiracial Malaysia.

5. #5 by monsterball on Sunday, 28 November 2010 - 5:51 am

MIC have supported race politics …enhancing it to the maximum by Samy Vellu from Mahathir’s 22 years up to now…cashing in the Indians weakness..exactly like Mahathir and produces so many half past sixes and fanatics..by fooling all with temples and Indian schools for votes and succeeded…just as MCA succeeded too.
    All declare champions of their race and one by one …you can see the results…following leadership by examples.

Reading what Teresa Kok have revealed does not surprises Malaysians at all.
    What is nice to know is that PKR governing Selangor have guys to expose half truth…lies and nonsense churned out by BN to bring down a new government that one like me living in Selangor is enjoying much better living conditions than before…although once awhile you have the familiar nonsense in courts and dealing with Federal government on matters they control completely.
    MIC Sevarrajah is a typical low class politician that cares nothing about people…except to find ways and means to hold on to his position by doing what MIC are good at…creating trouble from nothing.
    The problem lies is …how many voters believe in him and how much more do believe in Teresa Kok.

6. #6 by waterfrontcoolie on Sunday, 28 November 2010 - 6:42 am

This MIC youth guy like all his predecessors will only keep all Indians’ quota in his pocket and keep misleading his community. Just check the number of them retiring in huge bungalows for themselves and their families. They will always champion through lip-services, they will cry in the press of the poor Indians but will never lift a finger to help. Just like UMNO, they in reality like to keep the Indians tied down to the present condition of ignorant and do their biding whenever it convenient them. This reminded me of those demonstrations that used to occur in Bangladesh when an American official ” predicted” that they would be one to my friend. ” How would you know?”. ” Just wait and see!”. Sure enough the mob came and “demonstrated” in large number right in front of my friend’s office. Lokking out of his window, he could see them as part of the “normal” blokes found daily in Dhakka streets but on that day they were demonstrating for their “rights”. Then all a sudden, the “Organizer” appeared and shouted” Idiots not this building! the other building!”. Off they went. SO as far as BN is concerned this is the sole modus operandi to survive: telling half truth for the consumption of its ignorant community.
    Lately, you heard claims that MCA has financed the sgifting of a Chinese school to a new hosuing estate to a tune of of $4 million with the major portion from MCA?? my foot, if they have sincerely transfer the fund from the treasury in toto to the project, we should all thank them; of in truth the rpoject will be up-marked by 50%!. In this resepct, MCA and MIC do not have the opportunity like UMNO to increase it by 500%! To me , financial help should be given to those who are poor. Period. If MCA wanted to tell the truth, why can’t the Wee bloke, as the deputy of Education tell the truth on the distribution of scholarship nationwide? And those “Chinese” who did get them invariably are intelligent enough to be member of the MCA ellites, allowing to enter Varsities based on equivalent results of the Bumis!
    After enriching the Bumi contractors on the over-priced Little India in Brickfield, I just hope the average Indians are not hoodwinked but my gut feeling is they will as , well what can we say? It is in the DNA!

7. #7 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 28 November 2010 - 9:09 am

It is sheer folly, contradiction and hypocrisy for a nation to claim an aspiration for a shared future of all its citizens based on inter-community harmony and national unity and yet, by political culture of communal parties and politics, have its politicians continually encourage inter-communal competition, rivalry and antagonisms by interpreting just about every issue along lines of “us versus them”, “our quotas and their quotas” bumi and non bumi classifications based on considerations of race or religion for garnering votes.

It is a classic case of saying one thing and doing the opposite other and yet in complete denial of this glaring contradiction for more than ½ a century, hope in vain the country can remain united to progress in spite of this communal method of approach to politics.

8. #8 by Cinapek on Sunday, 28 November 2010 - 10:33 am

It disgusts me to continually see such examples of blatant displays of facts twisting by HP6 political minions just to gain some cheap political mileage. I wonder which end of their anatomy are their brains located – if there were any to start with.

Can’t these people see that the days of pulling the wool over the eyes of the rakyat are over and stop indulging in such stupid stunts? It merely serves to expose their stupidity and desperation. Can’t they see the damage they are doing to their people and party if that is what they are trying to champion? We respect politicians who can deliver factual arguments for the betterment of the public – not brainless dolts who shoot off their mouths without thinking or checking their facts. I hate to admit it but subconciously I will have contempt for him and the party he represents (and also the puppet masters UMNO) because of his cheap stunts. When they are caught with their pants down whatever they are trying to pull off becomes counter productive and does more damage than good.

Just because the MCA has come out with a statement (and he should have evaluated this carefully first) it does not mean that the MIC must also jump on the bandwagon because two wrongs do not make a right. He should have checked his facts first and keep his trap shut if the MCA statement is incorrect.

9. #9 by k1980 on Sunday, 28 November 2010 - 11:04 am

You mark my words, MIC Youth secretary C. Sivarrajah will be getting a datukship soon as well as umno’s approval to contest in the 13 GE. Even if he is defeated, he will be appointed a senator and made a deputy minister. As Ahmad Zahid says, such “patriotic” kakai botois are a rarity here.

10. #10 by ekompute on Sunday, 28 November 2010 - 4:24 pm

Well, we should forgive MIC Youth Secretary C. Sivarrajah because he is the MIC Youth Secretary. And you know what MIC is…

11. #11 by monsterball on Sunday, 28 November 2010 - 8:28 pm

Maybe…MIC means Make Indians Crazy.
    Or maybe…Mahathir Indian Congress
    OR…Malaysia Indians Cowsai.
    Who knows what MIC means.

12. #12 by boh-liao on Monday, 29 November 2010 - 1:03 am

A woman teacher, assigned 2 a school in Lukut as chief invigilator 4 d SPM examination, told some students b4 d examination 2 “return 2 China n India
    Did C. Sivarrajah hv d balls 2 condemn her?

13. #13 by undertaker888 on Monday, 29 November 2010 - 7:55 am

A MIC Indian and a snake in the garden. Which one will you whack first?

14. #14 by monsterball on Monday, 29 November 2010 - 4:15 pm

This is dedicated to Mahathir and hope he remembers well.
    Tunku once said…”I went to London without much money except what I had received from poor UMNO members who threw whatever they had from the balcony of the meeting hall….and the balance from the sale of my house in Penang”

15. #15 by monsterball on Monday, 29 November 2010 - 4:34 pm

And for the rest of you…
    Samy Vellu said….”A woman may be pretty but after 50 years..she would not be pretty”
    Ng Yen Yen said…”Put on more lipstick and try not to put on weight”
    And Confucius said…”Man is the Representative of Heaven and is the supreme over all things.Woman yields obedience to the institutions of man and help to carry on his principles”
    Now you know who plan to C4ed Mongo model and why Najib dare to swear in mosque.. he is innocent.
    CHEERS!!