Perak DAP leaders, branches, members and supporters should rally behind Ngeh and Kula

On Sunday morning, I had sent the following sms to Perak DAP State Chairman, Ngeh Koo Ham and Perak DAP Deputy State Chairman M. Kulasegeran:

“Lets face it. What happened last 36 hrs have caused enormous damage to DAP leaders involved, DAP, PR – only question is who suffer more damage – which is utter madness. Its massive ‘lose-lose’ formula without any redeeming ‘win-win’ element at all. Public opprobrium all round. Nobody can hold head high. Decisive action needed.”

Ngeh and Kula have since issued apologies for the Perak DAP leadership crisis and have pledged to resolve party differences internally.

I urge all Perak DAP leaders, branches, members and supporters to rally behind Ngeh and Kula on an unity ticket to restore the Pakatan Rakyat government in Perak and to help Pakatan Rakyat to take over Putrajaya in the next general elections.

I am reminded of two quotations about the lessons of history:

“That men do not learn very much from the lessons of history is the most important of all the lessons of history.” – Aldous Huxley

“Those who cannot learn from history are doomed to repeat it.” – George Santayana

Perak DAP leaders, branches and members must remember these quotations and prove that they are not only mindful of them but would not repeat the Perak DAP history where because party disunity, Perak DAP suffered the worst electoral setback in the 1995 general elections – reduced to only one State Assembly seat after winning four Parliamentary and 13 State Assembly seats in the 1990 general elections.

DAP Perak leaders, branches and members should fully embrace the unity formula in Perak so that DAP Perak can play its full role in ensuring that DAP and Pakatan Rakyat “write history” in the state in the next general elections – which is the expectation and aspiration of all Perakians and Malaysians who want to see a new beginning for Malaysia after more than half-a-century of misrule.

1. #1 by Godfather on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 3:23 pm

Even Heeheehee laughed at the madness, and tried to justify her multi-million ringgit great leap. Stop this “one step forward, two steps back” actions – and the warning applies to PKR too.

2. #2 by Jamesy on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 4:41 pm

The internal infighting and bickering in the Perak DAP will only cause the DAP votes to go to BN. The public perception here is simple – that if you cannot work together, how else can we give you the mandate the govern?

Even sympathy votes such as the Perak power-grab episode by BN would be forgotten and that Hee Yit Fong jumped to the other side is justified!?

3. #3 by donng55 on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 4:41 pm

We fully share RPK’s frustrations about PR. Do what you had promised to do, especially local election and asset declaration. DAP Penang must take the lead.

4. #4 by lcclck on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 4:45 pm

Propose that ALL leaders learn to respect each other, leaders are to serve and ensure all followers are convinced that leaders are for all, not just showing emotions, allowing the unhappy team members to scream and shout.. It takes both leaders and followers to love each other so that the party can be strong and united.
    No point saying sorry but with little sincerity to repent and rectify the errors made.
    Resignations can never solve issues, and good leaders to win back followers with humility. Two cents worth of points…

5. #5 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 4:48 pm

Please watch out for UMNO’s sent troopers imposting as DAP supporters to stir up a big mess in IPOH for Ngeh & Kula. Don’t fall into their cunning trap!

6. #6 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 4:50 pm

STUPID Kula Ngeh! Fighting for power and position. Have you lost your focus? Do you know why rakyat voted you in in 12th GE? Wake -up [deleted] and what rakyat want you to do. The whole DAP party better stop your in-fighting and serve your bosses’ aim with humility to overthrow UMNOB/BN come 13th GE.

If position and power is what you idiots are after, what makes you different from UMNOB Malays, MCA Chinese and MIC Indians? NO good reason to kick them out and replace them with equally greedy people like you all.

Now you better listen good or we rakyat [deleted]

7. #7 by DAP man on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 5:03 pm

My heart aches when I see DAP leaders fighting like kids. They should remember that we are facing a formidable enemy in the form of BN. How the hell are we to safe this country if e start fighting among oursleves.
    Are you fighting for personal glory or for the country?

8. #8 by penang lim on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 5:12 pm

stay focus DAP – there should be not be internal fighting – any disputes should be solved internally and discreetly – not blown out – bad publicity – please remember the enemy is the ruling party – nobody else

9. #9 by Dipoh Bous on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 6:46 pm

…perhaps this is what DAP / PR is all about, after all.

…why do I hv the feeling that the dream to putrajaya is just that : a dream !

…pls prove that I m wrong…

10. #10 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 8:14 pm

Sometimes we have to check ourselves. What are we really after ?

11. #11 by wanderer on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 8:51 pm

DAP leaders if you do not behave responsibly and unselfishly, we electorate will not hesitate to kick the whole lot of you self-serving politicians to hell!
    We did not vote you mud heads into power to make a fool of us….think!

12. #12 by perampok cinta1 on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 8:59 pm

What happened with Perak’s DAP leaders was a good example of problems and issues within the Pakatan Rakyat. The clash between its leaders (DAP in Perak) should not be happening as DAP and PR always talked about how unstable the BN government is. If DAP couldn’t even solve their own internal mess, it will make it a lot harder to settle some outstanding issues between DAP & PAS.
    PAS on the other hand should really be cautious with DAP. If DAP leaders have the nerve to bring down some of their own just to be in power, think about what they will do to PAS leaders in the future should the power to govern reside with them.
    Just a thought for the PR.

13. #13 by vsp on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 10:53 pm

For the longest time I can remember about DAP is that of the propensity of its leaders to draw daggers among themselves. Every time the party takes one step forwards, it would inevitably regress three steps backwards. Let’s face the truth: warlordism is the perennial bane of DAP and this disease have never been tackled successfully in the past. In fact, warlordism in DAP predates even the warlordism in UMNO. Warlordism is thriving well in Selangor and Perak. The Ngeh-Nga clan in Perak and the Ronnie Liu clique in Selangor are the most notorious factions of warlordism in DAP. Until and unless DAP get rid of warlordism, it will not differentiate itself from the blatant warlordism in UMNO. If the PK has leaders with this mentality, woe to the people if the PK becomes the federal government. If they cannot cope with their vices now, what will happen if they capture real power?: with the ISA and all the other obnoxious laws still in the books, imagine what monsters they would become. So being forewarned is forearmed.

14. #14 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 11:34 pm

Nice to know LKS also read Aldous Huxley, Brave New World is my favorite of all. Indeed, the sudden outburst by Kula and how Ngeh reacted was immature to say the least. Worst of all both also egoistic and I am losing confidence in Perak DAP.

15. #15 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 11:40 pm

Oi Ngeh and Kula, you [Deleted]!

16. #16 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 11:51 pm

“Ngeh and Kula have since issued apologies for the Perak DAP leadership crisis and have pledged to resolve party differences internally.”

Sure, sure. And cows can fly.

They will both live to quarrel another day. If not they, somebody else.

17. #17 by cemerlang on Thursday, 7 October 2010 - 12:47 am

Singapore is Singapore today because of her strong leaders. We are observing to see if PAP remains strong. As the years go by, veteran leaders step down and new leaders go up with different ways of governing the country. The younger generation will have a different way of thinking. Their intelligence network might be good but there will come a day when new or different thoughts come in. The veteran leaders of Singapore have done a very good job. We can admire their governance undoubtedly. Will the new up and coming leaders may be not from PAP do an even better job ? Similarly in China. Strong leaders emerged because of corrupt practises during the times of Emperors and Empresses. Does this system of governance ensure their strength ? Or may be one fine day, majority will want a democratic system of governance. Will it be good for the country ?

18. #18 by boh-liao on Thursday, 7 October 2010 - 1:38 am

It boils down 2 d fact dat many politicians here hv no class n r egoistic n power mad
    They think they r big shots n bosses, forgeting very quickly dat voters r bosses
    There r too many such characters even in DAP (Penang, Perak, n Selangor)
    Sick of them n eventually voters will kick them out too

19. #19 by dawsheng on Thursday, 7 October 2010 - 2:13 am

Singapore is Singapore today because of her strong leaders. – cemerlang

What is so great about Singapore?

20. #20 by Cinapek on Thursday, 7 October 2010 - 2:23 am

YB KIt, you said “…Decisive action needed.”

Precisely. The why did you and LGE not take this decisive action before the shit hit the ceiling fan? Obviously such problems do not happen overnight. I cannot believe the top DAP leadership is unaware of this tension all along. If they are aware then it is a dereliction of duty not to have taken proactive actions to defuse it.

There is no smoke without fire. In all fairness to the cousins, until and unless we have the whole truth we cannot judge them. But isn’t it a coincidence that first it was rumoured that Foong Poh Kwan wanted to step down because on problems with the cousins? Next was Hee though what she did was utterly disgusting. Now it is Kula. Too much of a coincidence. If there is persistent problem there the top DAP leadership should chopped that problem off or it will surface again.

21. #21 by cemerlang on Thursday, 7 October 2010 - 6:48 am

What’s so great is the many Malaysians found there for whatever purposes. If the Reform Party is voted in, Singapore will collapse and it sounds like if Pakatan Rakyat is voted in, Malaysia will suffer a bad impact.

22. #22 by cintanegara on Thursday, 7 October 2010 - 9:13 am

For the first time in ages, I totally agree with you guys. The rakyat knows very well who is the power crazy. Therefore, we must reject these fake ‘leaders’ in the next GE.

23. #23 by boh-liao on Friday, 8 October 2010 - 6:55 pm

Let “Si Mata Sepet” n “Si Kaki Botol” fight it out
    Let DAP implode, starting in Perak