Will Muhyiddin return to Treasury his salaries and allowances as Federal Minister for past 15 years so as not to be associated with forbidden money?

Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and Umno Ministers should decide at the Cabinet meeting tomorrow whether they will return their salaries and allowances to Treasury as they do not want to be associated with gambling money.

Ten days ago on September 25, Bernama carried the following report:

MUAR, Saturday 25 September 2010 (Bernama) — Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin has called on Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng to answer allegations made by Umno Youth on the state government’s financial source to fund its poverty eradication programmes.

Muhyiddin said Muslims would not want to be associated should gambling money were used for the programmes.

“We want an answer from Lim. If the money is from a forbidden source, Muslims will have no part in it,” he told reporters after launching a Pagoh education excellence programme at the Dewan Sri Pekembar, here.

Muhyiddin was asked on a news report today quoting Umno Youth as claiming that funds from gambling activities were used to finance poverty eradication programmes in Penang.

In line with Muhyiddin’s declaration that Muslims do not want to be associated with money from “a forbidden source”, the Deputy Prime Minister should set an example and declare that he will not only return his salary and allowances to Treasury, but will return all his salaries and allowances as Federal Minister for the past 15 years since 1995.

Muhyiddin’s past Cabinet portfolios were Minister of Youth and Sports (1995–1999), Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs (1999–2004), Minister of Agriculture (2004–2008) and Minister of International Trade and Industry (2008–2009) before becoming deputy prime minister and education minister in April 2009.
Can Muhyiddin compute and declare how much salaries and allowances he would have to return to the Treasury as Federal Minister in the past 15 years because they come from the Federal Government Consolidated Fund which includes gambling tax.

In the recent June meeting of Parliament, DAP MP for Rasah Anthony Loke had asked the Prime Minister-cum-Finance Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak whether revenue from gambling was separated from the Consolidated Fund; the mechanism to manage the gambling revenue; its uses and what percentage was channelled to deal with social woes resulting from gambling activities.

This was Najib’s reply:

“At this time, revenue from gambling activities are categorized as government revenue. Based on Article 97 of the Federal Constitution and Financial Procedure Act 1957 (revised in 1972) all taxation or revenue received by the federal government will be credited into the Consolidated Fund.

“The Consolidated Fund comprises three main accounts, the Consolidated Account, the Consolidated Trust Account and the Consolidated Loans Account.

“All revenue from payment of taxes are put into the Consolidated Account like all other government revenue and is used for purposes of management spending and national development.”

In reply to another question from Loke, the Deputy Finance Minister Senator Awang Adek disclosed that the gambling tax collected by the Barisan Nasional federal government last year amounted to RM2.3 billion, and that the figure included taxes from the casino in Genting Highlands and from revenue of numbers forecasting such as Magnum and Sports Toto.

As Muhyiddin said that Muslims do not want to be associated with money from “a forbidden source”, and part of the expenditure for national management and development including paying the salaries and allowances of Cabinet Ministers is sourced from gambling revenue, the Deputy Prime Minister must be consistent and return all his salaries and allowances as Cabinet Minister going back to 15 years to the Treasury.

It is most unfortunate that instead of advising Penang Umno not to resort to irresponsible politicking, as falsely accusing the Penang government of using gambling money to pay RM100 annually to senior citizens in the state aged above 60 years, Muhyiddin acted in a most irresponsible manner in aiding and abetting Penang UMNO’s “political desperado” tactics.

1. #1 by SENGLANG on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 1:41 pm

Going by the UMNO logic, Malaysia Treasury should have separate accounts for all taxes that are from gambling business/non halal business that shall included include the late LIM Go Tong’ taxes who was one the highest tax payer. All development and funding out of this account shall be for the benefits for all but those UMNO GUYS who feel not comfortable can opt out of it. Like scholarship should separately identify the sources of funding ie from haram source or halal sources but those feel not comfortable can opt out of it . Let do it know so that there will not be confusion in future

2. #2 by rahmanwang on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 1:43 pm

Hello, muhiddin’s salary is to pay his maids. His real “salary” comes from his commission on the deals he makes!

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 1:46 pm

Actually Muhiyiddin pay from govt is so small compared to what he has stolen. He can actually do it. Goes to show, even when its painless, they would not be consistent and chose to be hypocritical for such a marginal amount. How can you trust people who won’t give up marginal things to stick to a principle? Everything also they want. Is it a wonder he is Malay first? He actually is himself first, second and last.

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 1:47 pm

I have some ringgit notes in my hands.

How does one tell whether these are totally halal or haram money?

I am pretty sure that these notes went through many different transactions before coming into my hands.

Maybe we should have two types of money. One “For Muslims Only” (as per recommended by the government for some books and events) and “For Muslims Only”. Even then, one will not be sure that the notes can be 100% certified clean or unclean.

I am told smoking is not encouraged or even banned in some communities. So money derived from this source including taxes will also become illegal and unclean.

Where does this all end.

UMNO is desperate and is employing dangerous tactics without much thought. It will surely bring a lot of uneasiness among the various communities, Muslim and non-Muslim alike.

Muhyiddin is bungling over and over again over the past 2 years or so on almost every issue. Think what it will be like if he ever, ever, become Prime Minister. One really do not know his philosophy about governing a country. That’s why RAHMAN must signal the end of BN and UMNO.

5. #5 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 2:04 pm

Mahathir declared that Malaysia is a Muslim country over a decade ago. So Mahathir as a good Muslim must also return all ‘haram’ money, to set a good example.

And he can ask Daim to do the same. And everybody else including those from the Religious Departments who oversee religious affairs and matters.

And Reezal too must not collect any ‘haram’ money, salaries and allowances if he is ‘uncomfortable’ about it. But then he is well known for his ‘passions’.

6. #6 by SGPR on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 2:05 pm

MOO should go…

7. #7 by Godfather on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 2:11 pm

Just goes to show the quality of the DPM that we have. He is not actually racist, as his nominees are all Chinese, but he is a political opportunist and one who will do just about anything to “kill” his opponents. Really low class. An indictment of the state of leadership in Bolehland.

8. #8 by DAP man on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 2:14 pm

Muhyiddin is the de-facto leader of Perkasa. He is anti non-Malay and a racist in every sense of the world. He is a shame to his office.
    He is no the DPM of Malays!

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 2:14 pm

Muhyiddin’s money is actually very clean.

He washes them in his washing machines everyday using the strongest detergents.

Some he send to the dhobi.

Some to the ex-Minister and current MP who owns the laundry shops. That’s why UMNO’s money is very clean. They have been properly laundered using the latest technology and innovations.

It fully complies with Najib’s 1Malaysia standards.

10. #10 by Dipoh Bous on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 2:23 pm

…since the penangites are the ones who started the trend, let all the muslim civil servants there return their remunerations they received thus far.

…after that, than all other muslims through out malaysia follow suit.

…that would surely create a nice win-win situation for all malaysians. LOL

BTW, those directors (in all the so-called unclean sources) should follow suit too.

WHAT a great country malaysia would be….

11. #11 by isahbiazhar on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 3:28 pm

The Malays or Muslims have been using the halal /haram money from the time of British till today.It is a joke that suddenly the Malays/Muslims have started looking at money as halal and haram.A money is a money and it has no label to it.It get circulated from a prostitute to an Imam in the mosque.Even islamic banking had been a failure in many countries just because halal products do not give good returns.Any product produced in Malaysia will have the haram product or byproduct in it. As such if the government wants to have a separate account it will have no money even to build mosques or give wages to the religious department.I think when the Penang poor returned the money they have been badly advised.No state government in Malaysia can get 100% halal money because it will be tainted by the haram money.Even in Islam the question of haram/halal had baffled scholars that they stick to the basic ideas.The money we receive for our products from overseas are about 80% haram and before we become the laughing stock of the world we should put an end to this.We had declared Yoga as haram and we were laughed at from Indonesia to Iran.Our politicians have to be sent back to school and learn basic economics; there aren’t any topics on haram/halal economics!

12. #12 by dagen on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 3:38 pm

Dear Deen,

I understand that as a good muslim you cannot be associated with haram money like gobermen revenue collected from gambling, alcohol and other forbidden stuffs.

That also means, following your declaration, that you would be giving up all of your salaries etc for fear that they are or could be tainted with money from haram sources.

Can I suggest that you just hand all of them (those haram money) to me? I desperately need them.

Thank you.

13. #13 by dagen on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 3:44 pm

“It get circulated from a prostitute to an Imam” isahbaizar

Whoooa.

DAP, this is a mighty cannon for you people to counter-fire the silly issue umno is kicking up.

14. #14 by son of perpaduan on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 3:48 pm

Mahathir should the first one to return back this duit haram.

15. #15 by the reds on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 4:24 pm

Moo: “Mana boleh, gaji saya adalah hasil daripada titik peluh saya.”

16. #16 by kpt99 on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 4:28 pm

CSR programmes organised by Magnum,Toto,Genting and nightclubs should not involve muslims cos it is haram

17. #17 by Ray on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 5:18 pm

UMNO cultured creatures rather Aggressive Moo moodim Needless to dream to be the next PM..if its yours .. you must demostrates these attributes …still moo and moo dream on forever !
    But its too Unfortunately as your face ,actions and daily public nonsense utterances absolutely depicts your personal characters. MOO moo>>you are a Geniune human with a skull of Low EQ IQ =kampong jaguh lacks very much as compared to ordinary accountants-engineers or writers bloggers here in .
    Why is it so easy yery for umnoists becoming a MP>> becos of Moron UMNOists Lawlessness; crony favourtism; Race Biased policies ;practised bigotry and Umno leaderships weakness mechanism …What Umnoists upheld is Lawlessness Constitution instead.
    Moron Moo …you can only qualify to be a kurang Ajar man…sorry lah
    “”Learn to respect others before you can gain repect.””All men are born EQUAL and all human races have values …Treasure and cherish them for your allah sake…not Gila gilallah.””

Try and learn from these Humble PR leaders who hv got leadership substances and quality partners teamwork regardless of race creed and religion.

18. #18 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 5:21 pm

Would Moo dare to swear on the Quran that he has not received any haram $$$$$ when he was the Mentri Besar of Johore.

Or would he rather sembelih kepala ayam and swear his hands are clean?

19. #19 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 5:45 pm

When other countries are working hard to find ways and means to make themselves competitive, here we have the very top leaders wasting their time talking C..K about issue if some of the money in circulation is haram or otherwise. then ban all gambling which was originally used as a mean to collect charity for the very poor then the Great Statesman piratized to his cronies, in whose Name?? Now we say all those money is haram, and sadly the very poor and the mentally handicapped accept it as the truth. If one were to think about it, it only proves after all the last 50 plus years, all the resources injected into the educational system had come to nought! A good part of the population has brains which has stopped functioning. by their noses, they are being led in circles. So do we expect a developed society by 2020???, maybe like our brothers in the Middle East, we would be “developed” by then, but based on ringgit and sen, but surely not by any imagination, based on the ability to discern truth from reality, a characteristics of most developed and matured society. Without such sandiwara will plague the nation for another generation or two. We can all wait.

20. #20 by dagen on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 6:16 pm

Dear deen,

While you are still hot on the issue, I would like to raise another similar matter for you to solve. You see perhaps a common cure can be found for two problems.

Pork eaters, alcohol drinkers and other non-muslims do share and breath the same air as muslims. Surely, air expelled from the chest of those pork eaters, alcohol drinkers and non-muslims must be unclean and therefore unsuitable for muslims.

The point is, according to teachings of islam-jenis-umno (short: Islam-ju) the rights of umnoputras take absolute precedent over the rest of us esp those of us who are non-muslims. Should we stop breathing? Or should we just inhale but not exhale?

Concerned malaysian who does not eat rambutans.

21. #21 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 6:19 pm

As time is running out to win back lost ground ideas also run dry, at last stupidity ran over.

22. #22 by Loh on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 6:42 pm

///Muhyiddin said Muslims would not want to be associated should gambling money were used for the programmes.///

If Muhyiddin were to depend on government salaries and allowance to be what he is, he wouldn’t be there. So, it is no big deal for him to return those petty cash. But greedy as they are, it would be over their dead bodies for them to return that money even though they were sure as ever that the money put into government consolidated funds were non-halal. Well, may be it is because they are sure that the moony they received from government came from non-halal sources that they chose to save up whatever they received from government to earn non-halal interest at the bank. So they had no choice but to find alternate sources of funds to live luxurious life for the family. Yet we do not appreciate that UMNOputras out of love for the religion did not expose the federal government. Since Penang state government falls under Pakatan Rakyat, they were forced to tell the truth. Great Muslims first and Malay second Muhyiddin, or was it another way since it was only beneficial to be Malay first rather than Muslim first?

23. #23 by sotong on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 6:42 pm

For decades our country dynamic entrepreneurs were largely kept out of the major development. Only well connected are given contracts.

The private sector was excellent….but you only have to go to the government office to see it is on a different planet – corruption and go-slow and no one is prepared to make decision in case they get into trouble unless there is something to benefit them.

24. #24 by tuahpekkong on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 8:42 pm

Uncle Lim, I think you have been too magnanimous with Muhyiddin. Prior to becoming a minister, he had served as deputy minister and Johor’s Menteri Besar. All his salaries and allowances that he has received over the years should be returned to the Treasury. But alas, this won’t make a dent in his financial resources. I think his original intention of tarnishing the Penang state government’s image will eventually boomerang on him instead.

25. #25 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 5 October 2010 - 11:16 pm

Its a big joke BN chooses to make this an issue against PR.
    Can you believe man of this calibre can be our nation’s DEPUTY PRIME MINISTER? Now we understand why FDI is not coming in.

26. #26 by passerby on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 12:28 am

I think all money coming from a non-muslim is haram since all their activities are not “clean” in the first place. They eat and sell pork, they gamble and they charge high profit on their products. How can money touched by the dirty infidels be cleaned?

In order not to offend our muslim friends, I suggest all non-muslims should stamp the words “duit haram” on all the notes in their possession. This way no muslim will be offended and it will be in line with the Minister’s order.

27. #27 by pwcheng on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 4:55 am

UMNO is just desparate and in overdrive to exploit religion to combat its dirty images which all Malaysians know except those dirty, greedy, corrupted, obtuse UMNOian.

MR MOO is consistent with his hare brain rhetoric and we shall leave him at that so that he can destroy UMNo without him knowing it.
    We must thank him for that.

28. #28 by Loh on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 8:09 am

To help the government ensure tax money are not haram and can be utilized by Muslims, citizens should refrained from paying income taxes if they think that their money are not clean. That would spare Malays the anxiety when Malays partake in services provided by the government.

There are 1.2 million Malay civil servants and together with their families there are 8 million Malays who live on government pay. Muhyiddin should settle this big issue before being bothered by the 100 ringgit given to Malay seniors in Penang. They could probably wait until the haram issue is settled before using it.

29. #29 by dagen on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 8:55 am

“RAHSIA” “RAHSIA” “RAHSIA” “RAHSIA”

Dear Mr deen the Hon DPM,

In view of Loh’s remark above (#28) I propose that the umno gobermen outsource tax collection from non-halal/haram sources to me. And one more thing. Can the umno gobermen’s lawyers somehow insert a profit guarantee clause. This is very very important. (You see, I hv five wives in five different countries and everyone of them wants a ferrari, a seaside villa and yatch.)

My proposal is supported by Dr mamak.

I await your speedy approval.

Thank you.

dagen

“RAHSIA” “RAHSIA” “RAHSIA” “RAHSIA”

30. #30 by phiew on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 10:36 am

Alternatively, PM could have 2 Finance Ministers (Muslim & non-Muslim) taking charge of halal and non-halal taxes collected to ensure that subsequent development projects are appropriately & fairly implemented over Muslim & non-Muslim areas respectively.

31. #31 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 11:46 am

Muhyiddin said : …” Muslims would not want to be associated should gambling money were used for the programmes…”

This guy’s thought process is pathetic to say the least. He is unable to see beyond his nose and incapable of thinking through an issue before putting his own foot in his mouth time and again. This is what the Chinese describes as “putting worms into your own backside”

He is so obsessed with trying to put down the Opposition that he seizes on the flimsiest issues and makes comments without thinking and then realises too late the shit he threw into the wind has hit his own face. I shudder to think he is one heartbeat away from the No 1 seat. There must be parties with vested interest who could not wait for him to take over as PM (not that the present one is any better) as it will be like taking candy away from a kid.

My heart bleeds for Malaysia!!!

32. #32 by k1980 on Wednesday, 6 October 2010 - 11:51 am

//Muhyiddin said Muslims would not want to be associated should gambling money were used for the programmes.//

Cut the crap. deen. Just admit you want to bring down the Penang state govt by all means at your disposal.

33. #33 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 7 October 2010 - 4:22 pm

//This is what the Chinese describes as ”putting worms into your own backsides// – Cinapek

Did you mean Moo Hee Din is using his little johnny to knock his own pig head?

34. #34 by johnnypok on Friday, 8 October 2010 - 7:17 am

Don’t waste time with retarded idiots. Use your energy to help others. Eventually all the permanently-handicapped idiots will become extinct. It is impossible for them to reverse the situation of becoming extinct … thanks to the ‘excellent’ policy of spoon-feeding … and thanks to their elected HP6 leaders.