Seeing the back of Musa: An answer to a prayer

By Tunku Abdul Aziz

I hardly ever receive presents because, I suppose, I rarely ever give any. I do not even bother to celebrate my own birthday; it comes and goes completely unnoticed. When on the odd occasion I do receive a present for delivering an anti-corruption and ethical governance speech, I treasure it even though it is just another Royal Selangor pewter plate, to clutter my already-cluttered sitting room, collecting dust, to the annoyance of my long-suffering wife.

The present I am now writing about is infinitely more precious, a bountiful God’s munificent blessings in answer to a nation’s desperate prayer. The prayer, in short, beseeches God the Almighty to give Hishammuddin Hussein, our often “not all there” Minister of Home Affairs, the courage and wisdom to put Musa Hassan out to pasture, not so much as a normal and inevitable consequence of the ravages of time, but, in this case, his unethical baggage had grown too large for the nation to ignore. That must surely weigh heavily against his fitness for continued employment.

In an ethically more demanding society, which ours, I fear, is not, he would never have been allowed to darken the portal of Bukit Aman, let alone occupy the office of the Inspector-General of Police, a position of trust. Musa should never have been appointed the nation’s top dog in the first place, especially after his remarkable stellar performance in the infamous earlier Anwar Ibrahim trial, appearing complete with his pathetic stock in trade or prop in the shape of a decidedly grubby mattress, for the entire world to see.

It was in the course of this trial that he showed the full extent of his brilliant professional approach to policing which led an irreverent friend of mine to describe both Musa and Augustine Paul, and may his soul rest in peace, as “the lowest form of human life.” I apologise on behalf of my friend to the amoebas of this world. Musa displayed the agility of someone who knew exactly which side of the bread was buttered and he served Mahathir Mohamad’s evil purpose well. Quick promotions followed as a reward.

There is a sense of blessed relief permeating the atmosphere; even the police, I am told, are celebrating the departure of the man who has brought them into disrepute. Musa became the first IGP, since the post was held by Claude Fenner, to be publicly denounced in a court of law in Sabah as an “unreliable witness.” But then he was merely reverting to type and following in the footsteps of a long line of corrupt predecessors who are now luxuriating in the lap of their ill-gotten riches.

From my years of observation of the PDRM, there have only been three IGPs who were clean and seen to be free of corruption, namely the late Claude Fenner, Abdul Rahman Hashim who died under tragic circumstances in the service of the nation, and the best of them all, Mohamed Hanif Omar who is enormously disappointed to see his years of work destroyed under a succession of disreputable men. Hanif remains the quintessential officer and gentleman, an iconic figure symbolising the golden age of the Royal Malaysia Police.

While the nation rejoices in seeing the back of Musa as he gets on his bicycle to ride into the sunset of ignominy, his shadowy successor’s opening expression of gratitude to his soon departing superior sent shivers down the spine. He said, “I have been well trained by Musa. I am honoured to succeed him.” The last thing we want after the Musa years is a Musa-cloned successor. If continuing in the Musa policing model is all Ismail Omar can bring to the table, then woe betide this nation that has so far waited in vain for a human rights-based police culture.

Let Musa’s deftly cultivated culture of impunity be replaced by one espousing honour, dignity, respect, responsibility, transparency and accountability for actions taken to protect life and property. The new IGP would do well to be his own man and exorcise the dubious and unethical practices that Musa believed to be his great gift to this nation. We deserve better.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Sunday, 5 September 2010 - 11:18 am

The black sheep is removed at last!

2. #2 by Thor on Sunday, 5 September 2010 - 11:49 am

If we need to see Musa Hassan out, we also need to see Hisaputin out!
    And if we need to see Hisaputin out, we also need to see Jib and Moo out.
    In actual fact, we need to see everyone in Umno out, if we’re to rid our country of every menace.
    Let’s not be happy when Musa is out ‘cos the real cause of problem is not Musa but the one who “created” him.
    Just like the MACC, these “frankenstein” have to act real bad, as to prove their loyalty to their master for rewards.
    If Tungku Abdul Aziz had done his prayers, I bet it’s just a whisper to god’s ear and god would not have understand him fully well.
    We need to get rid of the “root”, if we’re to get rid of the tree and we need to rid the bacteria, if we need to get rid of the virus.
    So, to Tungku Abdul Aziz!
    Please do your prayer once again and say it loud and clear this time, would you!

3. #3 by tunglang on Sunday, 5 September 2010 - 12:13 pm

Tried LOC, Dettol, Magiclean, Super Saga Bleach, Utkarsh Steel Wire Brush, Bosch Electric Scraper, sputum & finger nails scratch, salt & vinegar, and 100% alcohol; nearly gave up removing a stubborn filth and stain of PDRM.
    But finally, the wonders of the power of prayer for this beloved nation – answered by an all-seeing, loving God.

4. #4 by cseng on Sunday, 5 September 2010 - 12:30 pm

We knew he is not fitting the job responsibity. But, it takes the God to anwer, after so much of praying, only then, Musa is off.

What can we expect for TBH? praying to God is not enough to have an effect? It is difficult even for Gods, in M’sia.

5. #5 by k1980 on Sunday, 5 September 2010 - 12:39 pm

We also need to see the backs of Chua SL, Sammi and Koh TK.

Already Gerakan members are calling for an EGM to topple Penang’s Teng.

6. #6 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 5 September 2010 - 1:03 pm

Tunku, I share your sentiments.

Thanks to Tun (wow!) Mahathir, the civil service has no small numbers of uncivil maggots, the likes of Musa.

It will be a long, arduous climb for Malaysia up the slippery slopes of excellence. But for every step Malaysia takes, the world will strive to take 2 steps forward. So it will be a challenge all this next decade, even if Malaysia and PR does all things right in the next GE. Don’t talk about BN – they deserve to be hurled into the dumps of history where maggots fester and swoon over each other!

7. #7 by Thor on Sunday, 5 September 2010 - 1:15 pm

Tungku Abdul Aziz had prayed for Musa Hassan to be “booted” out and Moo might be praying hard that Jib will vacate his PM post this Christmas.
    I pray that YB Kit will hit a lamp post whenever he’s out walking in the dark ( just a joke!), and Saiful might be praying for Anwar to be jailed till 99.
    If everything could happen just by only prayers, this world will be totally insane.
    My, My, what a godly world!!!

8. #8 by tunglang on Sunday, 5 September 2010 - 3:39 pm

Don’t underestimate the Power of Prayers.
    Or misunderstood prayers as not every kind of prayers gets answered. God is no fool.
    So don’t ridicule Him or call His name in vain!

Unless your ego (like Stephen Hawking’s) is bigger than God.
    Like Lucifer, always in angst devoid of Hope for Good, Hope for Humanity.

9. #9 by frankyapp on Sunday, 5 September 2010 - 4:09 pm

God is no respector of man. All prayers will be answer by God in his own way. God knows what a person wants or thinks even before he prays. Hence please don’t play play with the Almighty. If a person is not sincere,he/she may prays a thousand times a day,his/her prayer will never be answered. On the contrary,if a person of faith and he/she sincerely prays,his/her prayer/wish would be answered immediately by GOD. For example if you accidentally step on a person foot,you immediately say sorry to the guy.the guy responded saying it’s okay,you instantly receive a kind of a happy relief hence when you pray sincerely,you too would be able to receiving such kind of feeling and it makes you a happy person. This’s one of many ways God answered your prayer.

10. #10 by Raja Chulan on Sunday, 5 September 2010 - 5:10 pm

We will only be free Malaysians when Mahathir stops interfearing in our lives.

11. #11 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 5 September 2010 - 6:56 pm

We had 1Musa who tried to hang himself in Shah Alam court at trial of TBH.

Now this outgoing IGP should perhaps try jumping out of the window with a mattress beneath it. And, for posterity, he should film it for Youtube. Guarantee you there will be a million hits!

After all, Malaysian civil service is so full of court jesters.

12. #12 by haneasme on Sunday, 5 September 2010 - 7:35 pm

bro aziz,

U kalau nak tahu, hanif omar le diktator dalam polis, berapa banyak polis dibuang kerja. Bila lawan dalam mahkamah kerajaan kalah,

Haniff corrupt free what a laugh…… bagi arahan pegawai/anggota polis tak kira ugama tidak boleh beli 4D, tapi bila pencen jadi director tempat judi hehehe

Tak boleh kahwin dua, kalau kahwin buang kerja, tapi bila pencen rumour kata haniff omar ?????????

13. #13 by rahmanwang on Sunday, 5 September 2010 - 7:47 pm

Kahwin 2 salah ke?

14. #14 by House Victim on Monday, 6 September 2010 - 12:06 am

One cock dies One Cock crows!
    These are not cocks in the morning
    but only crows when their Master roars with wealth and power.
    Sun and Moon are not their concern.
    Digging Worms no more
    but feeding with sweat and blood of the ordinary people,
    in the cock Farm of U-N-M-O!!

15. #15 by dagen on Monday, 6 September 2010 - 9:37 am

“While the nation rejoices in seeing the back of Musa as he gets on his bicycle to ride into the sunset of ignominy …”

You sure about dat tunku? Going by umno’s practice manual he would soon be heading certain GLC.

16. #16 by haneasme on Monday, 6 September 2010 - 12:30 pm

rahmanwang,

u should refer that to haniff omar, zaman dia sapa kahwin dua habis kena xxxxxxxxx

17. #17 by tuahpekkong on Monday, 6 September 2010 - 3:17 pm

Corruption is so deeply entrenched in our society that it has become a norm. Righteousness has become an anomaly. This may help to explain why over the past few years, several ‘mid-size fish’ have been prosecuted by the MACC but the number of convicted ones are disproportionate.

18. #18 by haneasme on Monday, 6 September 2010 - 6:06 pm

Bro,

u cakap RASUAH, KAKITANGAN KERAJAAN MAKAN RASUAH GOOD CHARGED THEM IN COURT TETAPI KITA CHARGE JUGA PEMBERI-PEMBERI RASUAH ….. AGAK AGAK KUMPULAN OR ETNIK MANA YANG DOK BERI RASUAH UNTUK MELINCINKAN PERNIAGAAN MEREKA????????

19. #19 by haneasme on Monday, 6 September 2010 - 6:08 pm

Bro,

RASUAH MELIBATKAN DUAAAAAAA PIHAK, KALAU ETNIK TU TAK BERI KAKITANGAN KERAJAAN TAKUT NAK MINTA. INI TERANG TERANG OFFER………….. AMBIL AJE LE

20. #20 by williamtan on Monday, 6 September 2010 - 8:42 pm

Hanaesme, Apa u cakap sikit betul. Kena caj dua pihak, yg beri dan yg terima, tapi yg terima kena hukuman 2 kali ganda kerana dia lakukam dua kesalahan, pertama tak tangkap pemberi rasuah dan kedua menerima rasuah.