Ismail takes over from Musa as new IGP

Deputy IGP Ismail Omar 2b new IGP as Musa Hassan’s contract will not be extended 3rd time. Will Musa b apptd Ambassador to nearby country?
09/01/2010 06:06 PM

Congrats 2new IGP.DAP/PR prepared 2fully co-operate 2introduce democratic policing n create efficient, professional world-class police force
09/01/2010 06:12 PM

Ismail takes over from Musa as new IGP
By Asrul Hadi Abdullah Sani
| The Malaysian Insider
September 01, 2010

KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 1 – Tan Sri Ismail Omar will replace Tan Sri Musa Hassan as the country’s new Inspector-General of Police, Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein announced today.

Ismail, who is currently the deputy IGP, will assume his new post on September 13.

Musa, who had his contract extended twice, leaves under a cloud as he had come into office with a Mr Clean reputation but now leaves amid allegations of wrongdoing.

The police force under Musa is also seen now as ineffective and demoralised.

More to come

—-

No third extension for IGP Musa

Inspector-General of Police Musa Hassan has not been given a third extension and will be replaced by his deputy Ismail Omar (right).

According to a SMS alert by Utusan Malaysia, the matter was announced by Home Minister Hishammuddin Hussein today.

This has put to rest months of speculation about Musa’s future, as his contract is slated to expire on Sept 12.

Musa, 59, reached retirement age in 2007 but had his tenure extended twice, much to the chagrin of the opposition and human rights activists.

[More to follow]

1. #1 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 1 September 2010 - 7:03 pm

Don’t think will see much different. Look at kassim the macc guy. only talk big no action. they will ensure they hire a lapdog for umno to play with. Sit Ismail, sit… Good xxxx ( we will see)

2. #2 by lorry_driver_malaysia on Wednesday, 1 September 2010 - 7:47 pm

No different la.. As long this country is still under UMNO, the police force will be ineffective and demoralised.

3. #3 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 1 September 2010 - 8:03 pm

Will d new IGP carry out his duties WITHOUT FEAR or FAVOR, n bring back dignity 2 PDRM?
    Or will PDRM still remain a branch/serf of UmnoB/BN?

4. #4 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 1 September 2010 - 8:07 pm

Why the top jobs all gone to the bumiputra? there is no 1malaysia in the police force??

5. #5 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 1 September 2010 - 8:55 pm

Ismail could well be a Musa clone!

It is pretty obvious that when BN assigned the IGP post to Ismail, they made double sure that he can also do what Musa did (rounding up peaceful protesters, setting up road blocks at Parliament area, arresting the Opposition etc).

Alright, we shall see if Ismail is “friendlier” to the Opposition than Musa.

6. #6 by Bunch of Suckers on Wednesday, 1 September 2010 - 9:02 pm

What? I expect the worst! In Bolehland, every replacement is orchestrated by our racist UMNO to hang and hold on power to cheat and intimidate or whatever they intended…

Look at those old retired High Court Judges, the racist UMNO replaced with UMNO Judges to play UMNO drums and sing or dance UMNO tunes…

The only solution to have restore our Prides to be the top-3 in Asian economies is to eradicate this racist UMNO & BN! My fella Malaysian, vote PR as to wipe & kick those suckers out of the Putrajava… We have kick their asses damn hard…

Bunch of racist suckers never know their mistakes & limited powers

7. #7 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 1 September 2010 - 9:31 pm

Yes, I would think Musa would be a good enough ambassador to Zimbabwe where he can play golf with Mugabe. Birds of a feather, you know.

The new IGP – well, let’s see some of his first moves. You don’t damn a tree before you see its fruits-lah even though we kinda know its genetic makeup. Still, there is what we know to be “natural selection” where better traits survive to pass on its character to future generations.

So, Tan Sri Ismail, prove your mettle – transparency, integrity, courage.

As for Musa, just a parting word – good riddance to bad rubbish.

8. #8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 1 September 2010 - 9:34 pm

Now who should be the new Dy IGP?

Should be the Ramli fella, 3rd in command before his suspension, shouldn’t it?

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 1 September 2010 - 9:54 pm

‘Will Musa b apptd Ambassador to nearby country?’

Myanmar would be nice. Nepal even. Maybe Laos.

10. #10 by negarawan on Wednesday, 1 September 2010 - 10:40 pm

What’s the big deal? Nothing will change in PDRM. It is still subservient to UMNO’s political ambitions. As far as the public is concerned, PDRM is an inefficient and ineffective force, despite all the salary and manpower increases. Take for instance fireworks control. Every night we continue to hear powerful fireworks everywhere until the wee hours of the morning. It just amuses me when I think that every firework blast I hear represents a smack in the face of PDRM! Just simply incompetent and non-productive!

11. #11 by DAP man on Wednesday, 1 September 2010 - 10:44 pm

Only an idiot will believe a major transformation for the better is going to take place in the police force.
    They are all from the same cesspool.
    Looking back, give me one example of a new man taking over an institution and brought about a major transformation or improvement.
    NONE.
    Look at MACC, EC, PDRM, Judiciary, AG chambers etc. NONE.
    All of them are UMNO lapdogs.

12. #12 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 1 September 2010 - 11:13 pm

Musa going to be made an ambassador. Is this the way to churn out UMNO’s Yes men? See how they reward retiring public servants with golden handshake contracts that worth millions. I thought they already have their handsome retirement pension right?

Is this Ismail just another UMNO’s ‘yes man’ ? Your guess is as good as mine.

Make sure Pakatan Rakyat don’t carry such practice when they are in Putrajaya.

13. #13 by passerby on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 12:10 am

I will believe if the new IGP will arrest the real killer of Altatuya and the murderer of Teoh Beng Hock.

Maybe I’m going a bit too far, why not just say he will investigate into all these death without fear.

14. #14 by ekompute on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 2:20 am

Same soup, different bowl. I don’t expect anything different from a candidate chosen by UMNO.

15. #15 by ekompute on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 2:24 am

QUOTE: Musa, 59, reached retirement age in 2007 but had his tenure extended twice, much to the chagrin of the opposition and human rights activists.

Musa must be thinking that his tenure will be extended up to three times but this turn of events does mean that UMNO is preparing for the next general election. The longer UMNO waits, the surer it is going to lose.

16. #16 by boh-liao on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 3:31 am

Right now, there r many happenings which r all considered as noise n distractions
    PR shld not be distracted by them
    FOCUS on d real issue –
    WIN d NEXT GE n REPLACE UmnoB/BN at both state n fed levels
    PR shld get their acts together
    Get over n b consistent with d hudud issue
    Voters r fed up with PR’s flip flop over d hudud issue
    Get good quality n principled candidates
    Kick out PR politicians who hv d self-enriching mentality of UmnoB/BNputras
    D next GE, starting with Sarawak state election, is MAKE or BREAK
    53 years under BN – too long, CHANGE we MUST
    Get new voters, educate voters
    Just do it! Nak! Just duit! Tak nak!

17. #17 by wanderer on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 8:13 am

YB LKS, ARE YOU ORGANIZING A FAREWELL DINNER FOR THIS “GREAT ” TWO TERM IGP IN HIS HONOR?….SO THAT, WE COULD ALL SHOWER OUR PRAISES OF EFFICIENCY ON THIS DECORATED COP NOBODY WANTS!

18. #18 by dagen on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 8:15 am

Yeah they will still treat the people as some toy and pray pray.

19. #19 by Thor on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 8:23 am

Even if we’re to change the whole police force, it won’t do any good.
    Who is in charged?
    The Home ministry, of course.
    Even if the police dare to act on certain case, the final outcome lies in the hands of the AG and the judges.
    So, why all the false hope?
    There’s no hope when Umno is in control!

20. #20 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 8:45 am

The first acid test is how Ismail Omar replacing Musa Hassan as the country’s new Inspector-General of Police, will direct the police to act – fairly or unfairly-in relation to investigations of youthful rapper Wee Meng Chee (‘NameWee’) for sedition.

Is there anything really seditious in what NameWee rapped in lyrics of the song “Nah”?

Now Umno Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin (KJ) zoomed in on one line in the song in Malay which reads: “You tak baca? Siapa buat Malaysia kaya?” (Don’t you know? Who made Malaysia prosperous?)

KJ said that that line was racist in nature because it was an overt insinuation that Malays played a minor role in Malaysia’s economic growth. “The implication (here is) that the Chinese are the reason for Malaysia’s prosperity and as such Malays like Siti Inshah have no business asking the Chinese to ‘return’ to China”, he added….
    [Reference Malaysiakini’s report “KJ nails down contentious line in Namewee’s song” Sept 1]. How disingenuous to ignore how a young man Namewee got that idea!

What did former premier Tun Dr Mahathir (“TDM”) say – over and over again like a broken record being played – whenever he wanted to justify the NEP and why Malay Malaysians still need it?

Arguing that Bumiputera property holdings was only 15 per cent while the rest are held by non-Bumiputeras – and urban property is worth more than rural property – TDM once gazed down from his office high up in Petronas Twin Tower at the highway overpasses, building facades of Kuala Lumpur and was reported to have remarked that most of the buildings in the country were owned by Chinese Malaysians; the well-known shopping centres in Malaysia were owned by the Chinese who controlled all the cities and major towns in peninsular Malaysia, as well as Sabah and Sarawak – that if all the Chinese-owned buildings in Kuala Lumpur were lifted from the map, only the buildings in Kampung Baru, a Malay area, would remain in the city!

So what is KJ talking about when it is Baba NEP who repeatedly declare what Namewee allegedly insinuated? Indirectly what Namewee allegedly insinuated buttresses Bapa NEP’s justification of the NEP’s raison de etre, and it seems odd that people will propose that young man Namewee be held to account for being seditious in confirming what his UMNO elders said.

Ismail Omar should think about this: is this investigation -beginning with 3 hours of grilling – fair?

21. #21 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 9:00 am

Of course what TDM did not bring to light is to pierce the corporate and proxy veil where buildings, shopping complexes and companies and even gaming companies can be owned by non bumiputras as proxies and frontman (as shown officially in public records) for behind the scenes capitalist bumiputras who pull all strings, in control, from behind!

Without the bumi’s lobbying from behind, leveraging on their privileged status and often on political connections if not power, how does one get valuable land alienated to companies and individuals for development or licences tyo do certain lucrative businesses?

The controlling bumi can in protection of themselves always hold pre-executed transfer forms, keep custody of the share certificates of these front man if not his pre-signed kletter of resignation as director, get power of attorney or trust deeds from the front man etc.

This is done all the time.

22. #22 by boh-liao on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 9:15 am

In M’sia, it’s charade
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tkVKKiAeOjw&feature=related
    On d facade of many businesses, nonbumi
    Dig inside d core, UmnoB or royalties who own d licences n r directors
    Corrupt MMK n his super-rich kids know d charade

23. #23 by boh-liao on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 9:26 am

Oredi IO vowed 2 give his best 2 improve d police force n take it 2 greater heights
    Greater heights. Apa erti itu? Scarry!

24. #24 by rahmanwang on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 10:00 am

Boh-liao, Greater heights means when police force torture witness the pain will be greater lah.

25. #25 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 10:06 am

//take it 2 greater heights
    Greater heights. Apa erti itu? Scarry!///bohliao

greater heights means, if u have less than 2000rm in your bank account, means you are suffering from depression. instead of the 14th floor, now you can fly down from 24th floor. and suicide note will be found later inside your ‘where the sun don’t shine’. ya, scarry.

26. #26 by Comrade on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 10:19 am

Hi, Thor (#19). Agree with you.

There’s no hope when Umno is in control
    Liberal BN voters, please do your role
    Ensure that at the coming S’wak & General polls
    DAP/PKR/PAS will achieve their goal

27. #27 by haneasme on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 10:52 am

Bro,
    talked about racism, most of yr loyalists supporters who penned their comment are racists. Why must the word MALAY being raise and raise again without fail.
    The so call Namewee another idiot, who ever think that guy is so Malaysian, go thru’ the line NEGARAKUKU that being sing by him. it is not a racist then that guy who think so must be stupid.
    Bro,
    Your politics create a division among Malaysians, because u and yr friends are power crazy of capturing PutraJaya.
    I KNOW MY COMMENTS WILL NOT BE PUBLISH AND CENSORED BY YOUR MODERATORS CAUZE THE COMMENT DID NOT SUPPORT U BUT KUTUK U KUAT KUAT. BET U THESE COMMENT WILL NEVER BE RELEASE ON YR BLOG.

28. #28 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 11:18 am

By the way didn’t TDM once say that the Chinese also paid 90% of the taxes, and if true that he said that, what does that ‘insinuate’?

29. #29 by dagen on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 11:27 am

“Its was a great success.”

I can almost hear umno proclaiming on the appointment of the new igp.

“the police force will be the best in the world.”

Typical isnt it. Declaring success before any work was done.

30. #30 by dagen on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 11:35 am

“take to greater heights” means the police will attempt to out do macc. So anytime now a witness in police custody will jump from a window located on floor which is higher than that which beng hock jumped from.

cintanegara, found your missing rambutan? Did you ask kassim?

31. #31 by dcasey on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 11:39 am

Now the acronym for the Inspector-General of Police is the IGP. These three alphabets when placed differently will also have different meanings. Now then let us wait and see how this new guy would like these three alphabets be placed before him. We all know how these three alphabets stood for in Musang’s case right?

32. #32 by dagen on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 11:47 am

Malaysia Today, today, 2 Sept 2010:

“By Lau Chee Kin

The typical Merdeka Eve night started with an urge to watch the fireworks celebration in KLCC ended up in a racist attack by a group of teenagers. So, me and a friend of mine thought of a good solution to avoid the traffic jam in that area by walking from the office in Jalan Imbi through Pavillion, to Jalan Kia Peng through Convention Center to KLCC.

Sounds like an ideal plan as the path is a frequent walkway and is even advertised in Pavillion as ‘Bridge to KLCC’. (Just to note that we didnt go into any dark alley)

At 10.15pm, we started walking towards Pavillion, stopped to get a drink at Starbucks and proceeded ahead. As we walk, we came across people from various races and foreign tourists along the way.

On Jalan Kia Peng, we walked past Novotel Hotel, Hakka Restaurant, Menara HLA and was reaching the junction of Jalan Pinang when a group of about 10 teenage Malay youngsters walking from the opposite direction. They looked like typical youths, giggling and talking to each other.

As we walked past them, suddenly one of them turned around and started to make a flying kick to my friend. Noticing the ‘fun’ he is having, his other friends started to do the same to me. It was so sudden and all I was thinking at the moment was, “What the hell did we do to them?”

Both of us ended up kneeling on the ground for a moment before more kicks and punches came flying in. Even though both of us had our tripod strapped across our shoulder, we were too shocked to react to it. Eventually one punch landed right on my right forehead and I started to bleed profusely. Seeing that they eventually stopped and walked away.WALKED AWAY, damn it. They were not even afraid to run but just WALKED AWAY like winning a game or something.The last thing I remember hearing from one of them was “Baliklah ke negara asal”.

Imagine hearing this statement on Merdeka Eve.

I knew I was bleeding but I didnt know how bad. I could feel the right side of my head swollen and wet but I did not try to look at myself through a mirror. My friend also suffered bruises on the body and face. By that time there were more people walking around us but they did not stop to see what was wrong. I don’t blame them, it was a poorly lit area just in front of Menara Pinang. We recovered and continued walking towards the Convention Center. The guards were symphatetic to let us in to use the washroom to clean up. It was then I saw my bloody face.

I did not take a picture of myself then as it is not my intention to send a horror message. This is not a message of sympathy. It’s a account of a random person walking on a street.

Eventually after cleaning up, we walked back to the Police Booth in Pavillion to relate the incident. The response from the officer: “This cannot happen, we have all our men on the streets” (Well, not on the street we got beaten up …)

Apparently informing the police booth stationed in a public area is NOT MAKING A POLICE REPORT. WTF? Apparently we have to go to a Hospital, get some treatment and make a complain/report at the police counter there. I would be dead by then, ain’t I?

Is this how the police maintained that they have improved street crimes? By not noting down petty crimes like gang bang which did not result into hospitalization? Would we be taken seriously if only we landed in the hospital?

What we did was, we went back to the office, rested til this morning, went to a nearby clinic to get some bandages and medic.What else to do? I can’t identify my assailants, and my wounds are not death-threatening.

If I had not wanted to celebrate Independence Day, would I walk or drive to the venue?

If I was not thirsty would I stop for 5 mins to get my drink and missed them completely?

If I had held my tripod as a defensive weapon earlier, would I save myself or get more beating instead?

If I’m not Chinese, would I get the same ‘treatment’?

All I want to say in the end is …
    Forward this to your friends (so that they will be careful on the streets)
    Forward this to your ‘friendly police’ (so that they know the procedure is wrong)
    Forward this to any politician/newspaper (so that he/she can be the champion for highlighting this to the government)?

UPDATE:

It was not my intention as attention seeking whore. I’m merely highlighting that it could happen to anyone at anywhere when you least expected.

It is wrong to say that we are all patriotic and everyone is following the 1Malaysia concept of togetherness when the roots (our teens) are out portraying the opposite.

This is not political. People messaging to say if we change government or vote for the other party this will not happen.I don’t believe so.

This ‘low crime rate’ statistic is ridiculous when all these ‘reports’ at Police Booths are unrecorded. What is the function of all these booths being setup all around housing area, public area, etc if these reports must be done at the main police station?

Went to Dang Wangi for an official report of the incident. 15mins to get the report written. The was assigned to an Inspector In-Charge who is still at the old office at Stadium Merdeka. (DangWangi station just moved and the officers are between places) Waited for an hour and got more questions asked. Had pictures of our injuries taken, and was informed that they had some suspects caught for a different beating. I dont think we can identify them as it was dark.”

“Nah” Something for you Mr IGP.

33. #33 by wanderer on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 2:37 pm

Another snake that surfaces from the same snake hole could not be any different. Cosmetic changes perhaps,
    don’t expect the birth of a new Royal Police Force!!!

34. #34 by boh-liao on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 9:10 pm

IO very grateful 2 NR n HH 4 giving him a chance 2 b IGP, even though he is almost 58
    Now he can retire with a higher pension
    As NR said: I kasih U what U want, U kasih I what I want, OK?

35. #35 by ktteokt on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 10:28 pm

It’s the same old stinking sh*t in the same old stinking sh*tpot!!!

36. #36 by good coolie on Thursday, 2 September 2010 - 11:07 pm

The new fellow has been throughly trained by the old fellow, by the new fellow’s own admission! There will be continuity.