Broadband Shock to Most Malaysians

Letters
By Ganesh

Yet again, Malaysians are misled with false promises. For months there was so much hype to the Government’s initiative to provide cheaper, affordable and yet very fast broadband.

Yesterday, it came as a shock to Malaysians that the so called affordable and fast broadband service starts at RM149 and ranges up to RM249. To many Malaysians, this sum is a huge commitment. Many were expecting prices from RM50 onwards.

To make matters worse, the Star reported today that in Singapore, one could get 1Gbps for RM200. Mind you, RM200 to a Singaporean is small money. Don’t just convert, see the GDP per capita. Most Singaporeans are earning 5 times more than Malaysians as Malaysia has one of the lowest GDP per capita in the region.

Thus RM200 for a 1Gbps line is small change to a Singaporean. But our mere 5Mbps at RM149 is big money to the average Malaysian. To some, its money to feed the whole family for a whole week.

Clearly the government has no idea about the purchasing power of Malaysians and the low remuneration the average Malaysian earns and the very shocking fact that the average person’s pay packet is not in proportion to the cost of living in Malaysia.

In comparison, the 6Mbps broadband in Singapore (Singtel) with unlimited downloads is S$30 per month and the 15Mbps broadband with unlimited downloads is going for S$62.

The mobile broadband with a free USB stick and with speeds of 1.2Mbps is S$14 per month with a 30GB allowance.

Again, please be reminded Singaporeans earn far more than the average Malaysian does and yet their broadband is much cheaper. In 2009 Singapore’s GDP (nominal) per capita was $35,000 whilst Malaysia was $8,000

Refer http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_GDP_(nominal)_per_capita
So, with our purchasing power so low, how can the average person afford RM$149?

Was the government ever sincere about giving affordable Internet to the public? I wonder. If it owns huge amounts of shares in the company that is providing the new High Speed Broadband service, isn’t that a conflict of interest?

1. #1 by PRU13 on Friday, 26 March 2010 - 7:52 pm

i’m shocked as well.

Will there be anything positive from the NEM …?!

BN boleh.

2. #2 by Joker on Friday, 26 March 2010 - 8:02 pm

could it be the cost of buying bandwidth and infrastructure are the same? For instant, it is cheaper for Singapore to buy bandwidth and infrastructure from because of their strong currency.

Just wondering.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Friday, 26 March 2010 - 8:05 pm

///So, with our purchasing power so low, how can the average person afford RM$149?///

The impractical overpriced high speed broadband will die as a “white elephant.”

4. #4 by kpt99 on Friday, 26 March 2010 - 8:17 pm

The bottom line of TM is still PROFITS. I have no choice of other internet services in area where i am staying except to subscribe streamyx of 1 megabit, but the speed that i get is only 100 mbps for years.From a reliable information,the service suppose to be for only 100 subscribers has now gone up to 500,thus has to be shared and very slow.Do you deserve to pay the amount of RM 88 per month for 100 mbps instead of 1000 mbps which is only 10 %.

5. #5 by -ec- on Friday, 26 March 2010 - 8:50 pm

the telecom industry should be fully liberalized. we are paying the premium for monopoly and oligopoly of selected telecom companies.

6. #6 by yhsiew on Friday, 26 March 2010 - 8:59 pm

The controversial high speed broadband project was implemented with the aim to enrich UMNO cronies. That was why Anwar said if Pakatan Rakyat came to power, he would dismantle the project.

7. #7 by GreenBug on Friday, 26 March 2010 - 9:38 pm

And according to Dato Zaid Ibrahim in an exclusive interview with another online news portal, the reason why Petronas denied having made a huge oil find of one of the biggest oil fields in the world is simple because the BN government does not want the public to know of this find and not to know of the total revenue of Petronas so that no one will ever know how much the BN government squanders and robs from Petronas.

8. #8 by GreenBug on Friday, 26 March 2010 - 9:41 pm

For a country so proud to have laid the fibre optic lines underground more a decade ago and for a country boasting of the MultiMedia Superhighway Corridor (MSC) and to pay 4 times for use of HSBB more than Singaporean, its really a shame. Even paying RM88 for my Streamyx running at 54Mbps which drops off most of the time, its really a shame. So much for condemning our neighbor as a little red dot…

9. #9 by Ramesh Laxman on Friday, 26 March 2010 - 9:44 pm

YB Lim,
    The first lesson in Malaysian Politics is that you never compare us Malaysian with Singapore – a country run by rejects from Malaysia!!!1

10. #10 by Jong on Friday, 26 March 2010 - 10:00 pm

By “affordable” to the average Malaysian, I had expected it to be RM30 for 5Mbps – that’s fair figure.
    TM after decades of monopoly biz, should stop squeezing and sponging on Malaysians; it should instead be paying back – a a social responsibility and obligation to benefit those in the rural countryside, interior of Sabah and Sarawak.

11. #11 by fed-up on Friday, 26 March 2010 - 10:35 pm

Frankly, there is nothing to be shocked of anymore. It’s like petrol, we give you Ron 95 at a cheaper price……huh! Where is the cheaper price? Now another Broadband scam. What’s new?

12. #12 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 26 March 2010 - 10:41 pm

I started to get sick with Pakatan. All these nonsense happened. You can no longer trust any one in your party. Today they are your fighting mates, they would switch and be your enemies tomorrow. The interest of these people is also MONEY.

Coming to by-election, racist politics surfaced with the Indian fraction asking to file an Indian candidate, etc. I wonder what is the difference, if any, between Pakatan Rakyat and BN?

The politics is based on racism, no matter it is BN or Pakatan. I could only smell that the politics is dirty.

13. #13 by psingh on Friday, 26 March 2010 - 10:55 pm

Actually the Broadband in Singapore is very much more cheaper than the above figures.

Singapore’s M1 gives 5Mbps for SG$25.20 and 15Mbps for SG$42.90.

Maybe Kit, you can add this in the above entry cause the quoted SG$62 is far more expensive than SG$42.90 for the 15Mbps line

http://www.m1.com.sg/M1/site/M1Corp/menuitem.e2f30a2a1a1860b609b422103f2000a0/?vgnextoid=b1248167a78ba110VgnVCM100000695a230aRCRD&vgnextfmt=pdate:1003261838

14. #14 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 26 March 2010 - 11:37 pm

This is similar to Astro’s HD TV; investment rm$200 million, switch $20 per mth, one million households if all switch over,collection would be rm$240 a year!! This monopolistic situation MUST change. More operators should be encouraged.
    With regard to TM’s broadband, I thought the Gomen subsidized part of the infrastructure programme??

15. #15 by kpt99 on Friday, 26 March 2010 - 11:39 pm

YB Lim,can you please question TNB why is it the names of 354 candidates selected for interviews for Biasiswa Yayasan Tenaga Nasional Program Luar Negara,2010 not published in the list.Instead of revealing the successful candidates names,TNB uses only IC number.Why is TNB so secretic and confidential with the scholarships ?.Where is the transparency ?.Example of the list: Programm’s Kod, IC.Number,Tarikh, Hari, Masa.You can refer to yayasan .tnb.com.my/sam/oversea list.pdf.HOPEFULLY YOU CAN VOICE THIS IN PARLIMENT on Monday Thank you.

16. #16 by frankyapp on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 12:28 am

Most people in the interior parts of Sabah and Sarawak could not even afford a decent two meals a day ,let alone paying RM 149 per month on HSBB. Come on Umno/Bn government,be realistic okay when introducing thing for the people.

17. #17 by bing on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 12:59 am

tak paham betul lah.. apa pengumuman istimewa utk org luar bandar… tak kan april fool kot…

18. #18 by boh-liao on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 5:16 am

Not expensive lah, RM149 is cheap cheap 2 UmnoB/BNputras, who r used 2 248 or 168
    Don’t like it, nevermind, vote 4 PR in d coming buy election in Selangor

19. #19 by boh-liao on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 5:22 am

Actually, UmnoB/BNputras no like more ppl 2 hv access 2 broadband
    Esp ppl in rural places – hv broadband means they become educated n enlightened
    UmnoB/BNputras got exposed n cannot continue 2 lie n play divisive racial politics
    How? No good lah 2 UmnoB/BNputras, so no cheap access 2 broadband by d masses

20. #20 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 8:21 am

Ganesh misses the point. The broadband offering of Singapore is largely a private enterprise – any help is highly indirect. HSBB cost is subsidised by half by the government – don’t believe any other argument because its all manipulation of financing. Yet the cost is lower. Even accounting the fact Singapore is small (Klang Valley is not big either even though Malaysia is and its just Klang Valley right now)

The only equivalent is Korea where the broadband roleout was subsidized but the speed offered is 10X what is being offered here.

This whole thing is turning out as the critics charged it was going to be. TM is using subsidies to make money of those who can afford broadband anyway. Its liking giving subsidies for the purchase of Proton Perdana or rather subsidizing the manufacture of Proton Perdana and no other luxury car is allowed to be sold. That makes no sense whatsoever..

From the start, the subsidies should have been at the user end – where its demanded on a per user basis and the more rural, the more subsidies. This way makes no sense whatsover..

21. #21 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 8:25 am

One other point.

HSBB go the core why the NEP makes no sense – we have basically an expensive program that don’t benefit rural Malays and only the elite Malays can take advantage to drive the difference in income and opportunities even further.

The worst part is the rural Malays don’t get it they are getting screwed…

22. #22 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 9:17 am

Aiyah, BN tak boleh.

BN tak boleh.

BN memang tak boleh!

23. #23 by dagen on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 9:46 am

Typical jibby’s approach. Give us something which really is not that useful or genuine. We orso got high-speed broadband ma. Dat’s the objective. We orso got ma, never mind if the speed is not really high compared with really high-speed ones.

Bet cintanegara is now weeping and feeling really proud that “Kami pun ada high-speed broadband.”

Jib Jib Boleh

24. #24 by SENGLANG on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 10:11 am

For all those express their shocks mean that they are still dreaming about Malaysia and for this they have paying high hope on TM. we must understand despite listing status . TM is very much operating under the old minds with all those staffs that you can see drinking teh tarik at 10 am and only works as they like.

Any way, we shall not expect much from the government to offer so call affordable high speed, we are still much much to catch up.

Our earning is diminishing by the days and the costs of living is rocketing high. We will be worst in years to come. One thing for sure the BN has wasting all the moneys because of rampants corruptions.

For those who shocks more shocks will come along the way. We can only shiok shiok sendiri

25. #25 by k1980 on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 10:33 am

Jib’s says: ” You cannot compare apples with oranges.”

In this case, the apple and the orange have both been colonized by the British. Led by the nose by the lowlifes, the orange took the low road, while the apple courageously took the high road. And in 2009 the apple’s GDP (nominal) per capita was $35,000 whilst the orange only managed to get $8,000.

26. #26 by lopez on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 12:02 pm

funny..but not so funny it is just as usual

BIG EVENT in bolihalnd …launching of what suppose to be a leap through but under the sarong.

over the few days and particularly hours before and after the so call LIES again on bolihland ‘ launching of broadpen…**….

there was a squeeze on the speed experience during surfing….
    maybe my m/c is lousy or is it the ISP pull all the juice for the grand launching to make sure NO another embrassment aroused.
    it is too much to tahan.

well must get used to it these days…what else you can find another ISP just like banking , previously many choice , now no choice, previously many many choice becos competition is healthy for business , now no choice, eat , wear, bath, sleep, pay are more or less controlled…sounds familiar…if you are different sorry lah
    oh yeah .. it called democrazy.

27. #27 by Black Arrow on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 12:03 pm

At RM149 it is too expensive. And why RM149 and not RM150? Is it a marketing gimmick?

Anyway, this is Najib’s ploy. He really doesn’t care for the poor. The Rakyat Diutamakan in 1Malaysia slogan means that the rakyat will be diutamakan when the BN govt wants money.

28. #28 by xplora on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 12:38 pm

Hi,

I would rather pleased TM to upgrade all our streamyx speed to 8mbps under our current DSL1 technology instead of implementing all these 5mbps,10mbps and 20mbps HSBB corrupted project.

These kind of speed can be even implemented under DSL2+ technology (up to 24mbps). These only can be benefited our rakyat not the government itself because it can save cost. why wasted money on something that we couldn’t offer unless TM/government really wanna offer more than 24mbps?

Enough with those triple play and no ala’carte gimmicks, it is really useless with those bundled voice and TV as we can almost doing anything with our PC and our mobile phone.

29. #29 by xplora on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 12:43 pm

just to add something –

of course all of us know that TM still failed to provide their 1mbps service. yet, they wanna do something more than 1mbps. We still see some people complaining of getting 512k in their 1mbps package, and it took about minimum of 24 hours to resolve it (provided the technician is free).

at RM149, i can get 24mbps DSL2+ in the UK with unlimited usage and + another RM50 for telephone line rental cost.

30. #30 by vyriix on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 1:26 pm

xplora :
    Hi,
    I would rather pleased TM to upgrade all our streamyx speed to 8mbps under our current DSL1 technology instead of implementing all these 5mbps,10mbps and 20mbps HSBB corrupted project.
    These kind of speed can be even implemented under DSL2+ technology (up to 24mbps). These only can be benefited our rakyat not the government itself because it can save cost. why wasted money on something that we couldn’t offer unless TM/government really wanna offer more than 24mbps?
    Enough with those triple play and no ala’carte gimmicks, it is really useless with those bundled voice and TV as we can almost doing anything with our PC and our mobile phone.

I’m more worried about the lack of contents of the triple play. TM is way too ambitious. What content do they have to offer for us with the cable tv, we have not heard of any licensing for contents, info are so scarce now on the triple play.

31. #31 by storm62 on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 2:54 pm

If Singtel can do it at that price, why can’t we?

Yet the government wants to encourage the malays to compete outwards? they want them to die kah?

32. #32 by monsterball on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 2:55 pm

When you have a corrupted government….what do you expect all those big corporations that monopolizes businesses do?….make more money to feed the powerful corrupted ones.,..or else…life will be made difficult….this or that approvals….to get things done.
    So one way…think of ideas how to earn more money..and keep that money for crooks…and not for investments for better services…better equipments.
    All these are signs…that huge corporations that monopolize any business…are supporting bribery and corruptions…to stay as so call biggest giant of the said business….with no competitors….all controlled by the government.
    “You feed me with millions….I will protect you”…kind of mentalities in Malaysia….where corruptions is at the greatest and a must…since under UMNO BARU….encouraged by the devil…Mahathir.

33. #33 by Bunch of Suckers on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 4:38 pm

Hanjin Chengho,

In past, your countered argument to me as Bolehland had whole lot of new technologies that other nations do not have, “….we have Wii, PDBX, ADSL, & etc….” My further post to you requesting for the highest Broadband speed that Bolehland currently had. However, you shunned and hided away from me without even dare to answering me…. Now, to my surprise and realize that Bolehland, under your Master (BN/UMNO) regimes over decades, don’t even have 5Mbps that you could proud of… The speed of 5Mbps is just about to start off…

Voila, you must be very proud of your BN/UMNO recently come up with the bunch of hoggy/piggy UniFi Internet Broadband plans!! Perhaps, this could be another side income for you to do campaigning and advertising the hoggy business for BN/UMNO! Those plans are formulated to rip off more money and to fool the rakyat that they responsible Party as to win hearts and souls for the coming GE!

WOW! 5Mbps for RM$149 capped with 60GB download limit, 10Mbps at RM$199 capped at 90GB and 20Mbps for RM$249 capped for 120GB!!! That’s exhaustible expensive, man!!! Only BN/UMNO dare to introduce those plans to our Bolehland without feeling shameful and hypocrite!!!

Precisely, BN/UMNO think that they’re Jacka*ses in implementing and boosting up the current crawling-turtle speeds, and worse off, they also think rakyat can be fooled moronically! Presumably, rakyat must be facing numerous nuisances and problems in their current subscribing broadband lines where the speeds are sluggish, drop-offs are frequent & etc…etc…!! Only those smart ass*s like you, doggy & Hanjin Chengho, must go for one of those plans with exhaustible monthly fees & expected poor services!!!

Hanjin Chengho, you must crawl back to your stinky hole and hide inside there permanently rather than coming up to disgrace your ancestors…. A doggy person like you, who sold off all Chinese souls and hopes to BN/UMNO, never feel shameful and disgraceful of yourself and your ancestorsssss…., right?

34. #34 by pwcheng on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 4:49 pm

That is how our Big M used to called it Corporatisation but in actual fact it is piratisation where they are thinking of ways and means how to bleed the rakyat. At the initial stage it was cleverly put by our great mamak that it was to save the rakyats money by reducing the number of civil servants which was obviously bloated at that time. But today the the civil service is still bloated and UMNO will keep on bloating it and keep on abetting them for corruption and any misdeeds as it is a “you scratch my back and I scratch yours” deal and simultaneously double up as as a reserve vote bank for UMNO.

We are all made suckers for keeping them in power for so long as they will keep on sucking us and the country until dry. If anybody can remember clearly our Mamak has once said that if you do not like what they are doing then why do we still keep voting them in? Problem is Malaysians are always “cepat lupa” and with UMNO’s present gimmicks of 1 Malaysia, GTP ,NKRA or KPI, Malaysian will soon forget their grand larceny and audacious act of felony.
    We as Malaysians are all forgiving but if you can forgive UMNO, you can forgive any crime committed unto you. God bless you if you can fall into this group.

35. #35 by xplora on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 5:00 pm

vyriix :

I’m more worried about the lack of contents of the triple play. TM is way too ambitious. What content do they have to offer for us with the cable tv, we have not heard of any licensing for contents, info are so scarce now on the triple play.

vyrixx,
    http://www.unifi.my/unifi/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=76&Itemid=206

horrible channels ever, worse than berjaya payTV (forgotten their name).

36. #36 by ktak on Saturday, 27 March 2010 - 10:23 pm

Government is subsidising RM2.4 billion in Telekom HSBB netwrok infra project (without public tender and granted monopoly to Telekom) and the rakyat had expected a reasonable cheaper rate (between RM50-RM100). Look like Telekom rate of RM149-RM249 is based on actual project cost without considering the subsidy it received from government.

Singapore goverment authority (IDA) started the HSBB project by separating the network infrastructure asset ownership and the network operating ownership. The NetCo Request-for-Proposal (RFP) was launched on 11 Dec 2007 and closed on 5 May 2008 with proposals from two consortia, namely Infinity and OpenNet.

As the selected NetCo, OpenNet will design, build and operate the passive infrastructure of the Next Gen NBN that will be capable of delivering speeds of up to 1 Gbps and beyond. The Government will provide a grant of up to S$750 million to the NetCo to support the network rollout.

OpenNet will offer attractive wholesale prices of S$15 per month per residential fibre connection and S$50 per month per non-residential fibre connection, to the Operating Companies or OpCos. Such wholesale prices are expected to bring about competitive retail prices in the ultra-high speed broadband market.

source:
    Singapore’s Next Generation National Broadband Network To Be Nationwide by 2012
    – 26 Sep 2008
    http://www.ida.gov.sg/News%20and%20Events/20080926174755.aspx?getPagetype=20

37. #37 by johnnypok on Sunday, 28 March 2010 - 5:25 am

Sabah and Sarawak must kick BN/UMNO out or pull out and join Singapore.

38. #38 by elmoworld on Sunday, 28 March 2010 - 3:28 pm

wow. memang istimewa & special for ONLY maysians, why? because they all think that we all rakyat are that stupid, listen to their lies, watching their own-made dramas…

i still dont understand Sabah & Sarawak still NOT dettach from this Malay Land. what benefits they have, food stuffs & evrything are more expensiv than west malaysia, but the income not higher, even lower or same…

u all should make urself independant land…

all the best