The 200 top SPM students should all be given full pre-university and university scholarships to usher in a new era of meritocracy

Yesterday, the Education Ministry released the Top 10 students and the Top 10 Schools for Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) 2009 – with only two students and three schools coming from the 20 High Performance Schools announced by the Education Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin in January this year.

But why just announce the Top 10 students and the Top 10 Schools for last year’s SPM?

I call on Muhyiddin, who is also Deputy Prime Minister and Chairman of the Cabinet Committee on Human Resources, to announce the top 200 students for SPM last year and the Top 100 Schools for SPM 2009 as well.

It will be interesting to know whether all High Performance Schools announced by Muhyiddin come within the Top 100 Schools for SPM 2009.

However, what is more important is that the government should usher a new era of meritocracy by awarding full scholarships for both pre-university and university, whether local or foreign, studies to the top 200 top SPM students, regardless of race, religion or region.

This will be a critical test whether there is going to be any major Government Transformation Programme so that the New Economic Model which the country has been promised will truly create an innovative, creative and dynamic economy by giving top priority to Malaysian human resources, regardless of race, religion or region – ending the brain drain of Malaysia’s best and brightest in each generation to benefit other countries instead of our own.

This will also be a test whether the government is really sincere about its 1Malaysia slogan and concept.

[Speech (2) at the DAP Selangor-USJ East Branch Chinese New Year Dinner at the Summit Subang USJ on Saturday, 13th March 2010 at 10 pm]

1. #1 by chengho on Saturday, 13 March 2010 - 1:38 pm

the Student waiting for PR announcement for Anwar foundation cum PR schoolarship or another NATO..

2. #2 by bennylohstocks on Saturday, 13 March 2010 - 4:00 pm

“the Student waiting for PR announcement for Anwar foundation cum PR schoolarship or another NATO”
    Why should the student wait and not grab any scholarship when they know most scholarships are also reserve for the well connected. To the poor students I would say there is not much hope of any scholarship. FU_KS!

3. #3 by DCLXVI on Saturday, 13 March 2010 - 4:22 pm

chengho: “the Student waiting for PR announcement for Anwar foundation cum PR schoolarship or another NATO..”

The question is that whether our Umno-BN administered education system now teaches our future doctors & lawyers that it is possible to try somebody for sodomy without any proof of penetration, using the ‘Sodomy 2’ case as a precedent…

4. #4 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 13 March 2010 - 4:33 pm

What does Muhyiddin know about meritocracy?

If UMNO practses meritocracy, Najib and Muhyiddin would hae never made it!

Now, Muhyiddin, spell M-E-R-I-T-O-C-R-A-C-Y.
    Remember, it is MERIT first, not being CRAZY, ok!

5. #5 by johnnypok on Saturday, 13 March 2010 - 5:26 pm

The post of Education Minister should be held by someone who is more qualified with widom, and not someone with a cow-brain.
    There are so many qualified candidates to choose from.

6. #6 by Godfather on Saturday, 13 March 2010 - 7:13 pm

Giving scholarships to the top 200 SPM students without regard to racial composition ? Oh no, it’s going to be a threat to the rights of the Malays, says Perkasa.

We all know why it is a threat to the wellbeing of the UMNOputras. It would not be an exaggeration to say that of the top 200 students, no less than 80 pct would belong to one race. And that they won’t be able to explain why 60 pct of the population can’t produce more than 20 pct of the top scorers.

7. #7 by boh-liao on Saturday, 13 March 2010 - 7:28 pm

Full scholarships 2 d top 200 SPM students – wow, want 2 pok kai d gomen what
    How can, UmnoB/BN must look after their own n their cronies’ kids first, OK

8. #8 by limkamput on Saturday, 13 March 2010 - 7:53 pm

Sdr Lim, you have to be more careful with your demand. Come next year, you may find that the composition of top students would depend on the scholarship quota the government intend to give to each community, got it? Don’t play play with their ingenuity in manipulation.

9. #9 by tanjong8 on Saturday, 13 March 2010 - 8:04 pm

Remember chengho was a eunuch.

Scholarships are only reserved for eunuchs.

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 14 March 2010 - 12:16 am

#8 – teaching grandfather how to suck eggs!

11. #11 by limkamput on Sunday, 14 March 2010 - 1:13 am

No, Jeffrey, you got it wrong again. I am just being sarcastic. But you must admit, I do have a point, am I right? I bet you can’t think like me, and what I have said earlier may just happen.

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 14 March 2010 - 8:24 am

Re: LimKamPut #11″I bet you can’t think like me”.

God forbid I don’t, and would blame my parents if I did.

13. #13 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 14 March 2010 - 8:33 am

It would have been one of the rare instances when one could actually find a moral element in acquiescing with abortion.

14. #14 by johnnypok on Sunday, 14 March 2010 - 11:42 am

….. And yet we are the world’s biggest producer of UNEMPLOYABLE graduates,

….. And, HP6 ministers are running the show,

….. And, our economy will soon collapse under the weight of corruption and NEP……

15. #15 by lopez on Sunday, 14 March 2010 - 1:16 pm

this stooge is either not as intelligent as the MOE ministry or just as foolish and stupid.

how can you motivated schooling students with monetary gains if you scored good grades at a NATIONAL LEVEL. He thinks all the schooling student are his kids or what. He may what his child to be a fool but others may defer.

You can fail an exam one time, then retain and retake the exam as a student, but if you are a minister….can you ….well sorry folks you empowered this stooge for 5 years…and he can say and do the biggest error for the nation and run away with it.

Are saying we can still accomodate more education experiments by another new minister . Already the over 20 generations of hopefools are being produced.

Do boilingland wants to loose their competitive edge forever.

Clean up the MOE first…then guru besar who got promoted during the last 22 years….these are the culprits.

16. #16 by waterfrontcoolie on Sunday, 14 March 2010 - 1:28 pm

The idea of giving scholarship to the top 200 STPM students should be done immediately. You can never find brilliant outcome based on any race/grouping. Having said that I also saddened to see the lowering of standards in the public examinations just to make the un-informed happy when in reality those As cannot stand up to a real test.If the DPM is really concerned with the long term impact on the nation, the education system must be thoroughly reformed. Failure to do so will mean we are going to get the same quality of graduates in future. If we can’t compete now, we will never compete forever. Our nation is suffering self-illusion all these years; continuing this can will only send us to Zimbabwe, well maybe this is the favourite of the Super Hero!!

17. #17 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 17 March 2010 - 12:24 am

A red carpet is permanently laid all the way to Singapore and to welcome them with open arms.

18. #18 by sA1nT_Jam3s on Wednesday, 17 March 2010 - 12:57 am

We hear students who are unable to get scholarships year in year out. Students and parents should also self help. This 1 particular site scholarshipinfo.info lists many types. Another site queste.com, a simple search by diligent students will yield many surprising results.

Students should also look out for universities which will accept them with open arms with their good results, rather than wait and beg to appear in the newspaper with some politicians to get scholarships.

Come on, if you can chase the 12As or 14 As, I believe your relatives and family will definitely be supportive and assist your search.

The internet is a wealth of information. Don’t wait for crutches and be a TONGKAT ALI forever. Go get up and find that scholarship information rather than asking others to help you get it.