Ong Tee Keat and RM12.5 billion scandal – leave with a bang and not in a whimper

In yesterday’s pathetic 56th MCA Annual General Meeting attended by only 25% of the eligible MCA delegates and boycotted by the majority of the MCA Ministers, Deputy Ministers, MPs and State Assembly members, MCA President Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat suggested his present troubles were caused by his investigation of the nation’s biggest financial scandal – the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal.

For several months, I had refrained from commenting on the PKFZ scandal after putting intense pressure on Ong to “tell all” about the scandal – at one stage, posing three-questions-a-day for 36 days without pause, totaling 108 questions, to force Ong to act on the PKFZ scandal.

I wanted to give Ong a completely free hand and not to feel to be under any pressure when there were signs that some action were at last being taken to ensure proper accountability for the PKFZ scandal.

However, up to now, only four not major personalities had been charged in court for corruption and abuses of power in the PKFZ scandal before the new year, with the promise by the Attorney-General, Tan Sri Abdul Gani Othman himself that “big fishes” in the PKFZ scandal were almost ready to be brought to book and prosecuted in court.

The whole nation waited in bated breath for the arrest and prosecution of the “sharks” of the RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal, as nobody really believe that the four middling persons charged last December could be responsible wholly or even for majority part of the PKFZ scandal.

But the waiting of 27 million Malaysians have turned from day-to-day, to week-to-week and now month-to-month.

Malaysians are therefore astounded when Ong attributed his political troubles and survival as MCA President to the PKFZ scandal, when the “sharks” of the PKFZ scandal are still scotfree and not accounted for.

Let me tell Ong – go all out to bring the “sharks’ of the RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal to justice and not be content with the “small fries”, even if he has to pay the price of being a short-term MCA President and Transport Minister. If he is to leave the Cabinet and MCA leadership, do it with a bang rather than in a whimper.

[Speech (2) at the opening of the new RM800,000 Kuching DAP premises at Jalan Abang Abdul Rahim, Kuching on Monday, 8th March 2010 at 10 am]

1. #1 by monsterball on Monday, 8 March 2010 - 5:57 pm

Only IDIOTS will believe RM12.5 billion are cheated by 4 small timers.
    Yes…you can see Mongolian model murder case..also taken up by paid falls guys. What reasons have those rapists want to C4ed the victim…into pieces??
    Ong Tee Keat…wants to be MCA hero..for personal glory and benefits.
    Whether 25% or 100% turned up …MCA is useless and can only survive…carrying UMNO balls….much more than before.
    It takes all kind of people.. to make Malaysia…and those MCA members …are racists Malaysians ….feeling no shame at all.

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Monday, 8 March 2010 - 6:30 pm

“….go all out to bring the “sharks’ of the RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal to justice ….”

The sharks and whales are long gone. They have stashed their monies where you cannot find them. Hard evidence would all be gone by now.

And the investigators have all lost enthusiasm and interest by now. What’s in it for them? Why would the AG want to prosecute and step on so many, many toes? And why would they want to satisfy the Opposition anyway?

Like Khir Toyo once said on another fiasco: “We will learn a bitter lesson from this matter”. Case closed. NFA.

And OTK would, I am sure, want a peaceful retirement.

Just write off the RM 12.5b over the next 5MP. Or when the people forget. Whichever comes first.

3. #3 by Loh on Monday, 8 March 2010 - 6:59 pm

It is rule by law of the BN government that we see nothing happen to Perkasa making seditious statement. It is Najib’s AG office that decides whom to charge for consesual sodomy when both parties are punishable. It is Najib’s IGP that decides that making false report of rape by Saiful against Anwar. When the charge against Anwar was not in accordance to police report, itsn’t it proof that that police report was false? But Saiful is free from police investigation while awaiting scholarship award.

One of the MCA members known to be having close business link with the shark of PKFZ and whose tears sent signal to Najib to act indicates clearly that Najib protects the brains behind the PKFZ scandal; Najib had established the all-powerful task force to stall the case.

4. #4 by yhsiew on Monday, 8 March 2010 - 8:14 pm

///If he is to leave the Cabinet and MCA leadership, do it with a bang rather than in a whimper.///

Agree. At least Ong’s “good work” can be remembered by Malaysians for generations to come if he leaves the Cabinet and MCA leadership with a big bang.

5. #5 by ChinNA on Monday, 8 March 2010 - 8:42 pm

Is this a lost cause? There is no action or reaction.

I will just say “God is not mocked.”

6. #6 by son of perpaduan on Monday, 8 March 2010 - 9:10 pm

OTK will end up resign from MCA and politic too.

7. #7 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 8 March 2010 - 9:42 pm

Though I am not an MCA member, I just wonder how many of the bloggers here would have done what OTK did if they were in his shoe? talks are free; while real action isn’t. from apolitical view, we should give the man his dues. I admire people who act, like LKS and others; though some of you just shout from the back.

8. #8 by HJ Angus on Monday, 8 March 2010 - 11:12 pm

By not taking more drastic measures to reel in the sharks earlier, now it seems his very political survival is in jeopardy.
    Once he loses his ministerial clout, he will have to retire from politics with a whimper.
    After all even the last PM could not change and control the corrupt warlords in the BN – so how can one expect an MCA leader to do it?

9. #9 by a2a on Monday, 8 March 2010 - 11:28 pm

OTK at least is a man with guts with my respect.

10. #10 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 9 March 2010 - 1:49 am

Even without OTK telling us that he is fighting a loosing battle, most of us knows UMNO and BN will never change. Not many will believe in their GTP and I am sure many BN politicians themselves is aware that the 1Malaysia and GTP is mere rhetoric.
    Corruption is already in their blood and it can only get worse. If they can remain acutely corrupted under the eagle of PR, what more if the rakyat let them win big. Any votes for BN is like a noose hanging over our head.
    Tee Keat knows he is on his way out and as a last bite, he has indirectly told the truth and the whole truth that the BN is a very corrupted government.There is no 2 way about it.

11. #11 by monsterball on Tuesday, 9 March 2010 - 3:08 am

That is the good news..which I agree…a2a.
    The bad news is…Ong Tee Keat carry Najib’s balls…like nobody business…shaming Malaysian Chinese….that he accepts to be second class citizen..guiding Chinese to be like him.
    The good news is..Malaysian Chinese sees him…doing a stunt..to expose PKFZ..for his political ambitions.
    The bad news is..OTK…is a racist.
    The good news is..Malaysia Chinese did vote MCA out completely at 12th GE.
    The bad news is..he and other MCA politicians are dirty politicians…we all know..no change..since the time of Ling Liong Sik…no change…balls carrying UMNO for personal benefits.

12. #12 by klc on Tuesday, 9 March 2010 - 3:56 am

I don’t know how to begin. I went home to work in the construction industry late 80s for more than 10 years before made redundant about Reformasi time. Friends started laughing at me “stupid fool, couldn’t made millions, a few hundred thousand also okay mah, but now, not a single sen………. no use bugger”. Brothers and sisiters started saying “Useless, spent so much money studying, cari makan also don’t know”. They were very hurtful comments. Honestly there were very few honest men/women out there but shamed for being honest and hard working. Sick of seeing how corrupted the society became and becoming worse by the look of it. I don’t know how to end my comment or not eligible to comment because I am an oversea Malaysian.

13. #13 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 9 March 2010 - 7:53 am

monsterball, I hope that you’ve tried to do a little of what you’ve written here. Even if you did not succeed, we all will understand. But did you really do something which your conscience will say: I tried but failed! Shooting others is easy, but we all must bear part of that blame, when we allowed LLS to serve over 20 years with the Mamak. That was the time when this open culture of corruption took its root. But by the same magic, the mamak was able to keep many Chinese happy through the Bursa. In the same process , you have the Ali guy who jumped faster than any natural frog asking the nation to go back to the 50s just to ensure he has an easy life of rentier.
    Of course, he didn’t know that the world wont wait for him anymore than for the Mamak who pirated all those services needed by you and me. This kind of economic colonization is okay, Why? because those of you who played the Bursa were happily collecting the crumbs then; not realizing that finally you still have to pay as long as you live in this country! The Plus toll is an inflation machine, imagine an increase of 10% every now and then. Yes, you better wait for to save the protons, those cars wuould be given special toll rates as the majority of the owners would be also the majority of the country. Though this gonna hurt the big time BN guys who only drive German machines. Or maybe, those with a BN sticker will be exempted! Yes, we live in “interesting time”!!
    So don’t be surprised in an age of desperation.

14. #14 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 9 March 2010 - 8:22 am

YB Ong Tee Keat:

“If he is to leave the Cabinet and MCA leadership, do it with a bang rather than in a whimper.”.

Sometimes a man has to do what a man has to do to go down in the history books of antiguity as a man who has done the right thing. All the scoundrels and charlatans who defrauded their fellow men got their moment of fame and a few dollars in their pockets but they stink in thier graves and even the worms refuse to chew their remains….becos it is so toxic and beneath the worms’ dignity to take a bite of a scumbag.

YB Ong, if the public has any say at all, they would all have put you back in the MCA’s chair. But MCA is a goner, no-hoper becos good guys like you with a sincere reform agenda would have to root out those ruthless bums and scumbags. I know yr difficulties just like Anwar faced when Mahathir callled the shots in UMNO and Anwar’s reformist outlook was derailed and smothered. So too you in BN.

Tread carefully, brother. Then do what a man has to do – AND DO IT RIGHT, FOR GOD’S SAKE.

15. #15 by Bunch of Suckers on Tuesday, 9 March 2010 - 9:59 am

Convincingly, never expect BN/UMNO to flush out their Poker Cards to the general public, man!!!

Judging from cases of Mongolian beauty, TBH & etc. Enough to convince yourselves that BN/UMNO is a real mama topper and bunch of su*kers! MCA is only caring their own mama welfares! If MCA caring and representing all Chinese?
    My prediction that Bolehland is heading to chaos and hard times after BN/UMNO lose their election to oppositions! You might Chengho tucking M16 walking on the streets with his nose sticks out in the air and shouting “who want to be “Hanjin” (i.e. Chinese running dogs) like me?”…..

16. #16 by k1980 on Tuesday, 9 March 2010 - 10:26 am

The Official Secrets Act will soon be imposed on all details of the PKFZ scam

17. #17 by Yee Siew Wah on Tuesday, 9 March 2010 - 10:34 am

Those 2,378 so called “delegates from MCA who did not attend the AGM are a bunch of COWARDS, UNDIGNIFIED, SELFISH, CORRUPTED, SHAMELESS and most of all running DOGS of BN esp UMNO. These bums have no qualms about selling the chinese community for their selfish ends. Same species as that jumping greedy female handicap frog from Jelapang.
    We, the rakyat must throw them all out come GE13. Never ever give them any pity and face.
    Ong TC, at least have a bit of guts to reveal those corrupted, unethical and shameless politicians in MCA pertaining to the PKFZ scandal. And if he is really sincere and MCA not depending on Umno “crutches”, then we hope he will do one last thing before he presumably bow out: reveal everything on PKFZ. We rakyat is well aware that there is more to it than meets the eye.
    The big sharks are still lurking around enjoying their ill gotten $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$.
    If you want to be remembered well, then do what is right. NOW!!!
    That 3 musketeers C, L and W, ……. are the last persons on earth that the chinese community wanted to be their leaders.
    Just wait for GE13, they will history.

18. #18 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 9 March 2010 - 10:51 am

Although he got moniker ‘maverick’ in MCA, OTK has been exposed as a fake that still is govern by the rules of feudal relationships of BN. For him now to be a hero? He is a fake rebel, done in his own self-interest. Deep down, he is still a eunuch of UMNO and feudal lord in MCA. How can such creatures be real heros? The price he has to pay would be high – he is too well-fed and tamed now..

19. #19 by Godfather on Tuesday, 9 March 2010 - 11:44 am

He tried to expose Tiong, but Tiong had aces up his sleeve. It’s no longer possible for BN to discard Tiong as he has covered his tracks with UMNO. On PKFZ, Ong Ta Kut has reached a dead end, and there will be no further prosecutions by the AG’s Chambers. In fact, I would be surprised if the 4 persons currently charged would ever see their day in court. That was nothing more than an exercise in buying time.

20. #20 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Tuesday, 9 March 2010 - 11:50 am

M alaysia
    C rying
    A ssociation
    by Wee KS & Chew MF

1malaysia
    umnoputra didahulukan
    pencapaian wang ringgit diutamakan

21. #21 by dagen on Tuesday, 9 March 2010 - 1:44 pm

“Mother of all scandals”, LKS?

More like “Mother of all cover-ups”!