Bumburing Calls On Health Ministry To Expedite Upgrading Work On Tuaran Hospital

TUARAN, March 5 (Bernama) — Former Sabah deputy chief minister Datuk Wilfred Bumburing has called on the Health Ministry to expedite the upgrading of the Tuaran hospital to cater for the health care needs of about 120,000 people living in the area.

He said the hospital was in dire need of upgrading and it was sad that a hospital for a large district like Tuaran, with a population of 120,000, had no bed at all.

“I was also told that the hospital had been downgraded to a clinic in the past. In my speech in Parliment last year to debate the 2010 budget I have outlined all the reasons and rationale as to why the construction of the hospital is most urgently needed,” he told reporters here on Friday.

However the member of Parliment for Tuaran denied DAP advisor Lim Kit Siang’s recent allegation that the BN government had not done anything to develop Tuaran.

Bumburing said the Health Ministry had assured him that the second phase construction of the hospital would start this year.

“While appreciating Kit Siang’s concern, I have to mention that we in the Barisan Nasional have carried our duty and responsibility in bringing up to the relevant authorities matters that are of urgent public interest,” he said.

On the construction of the Sungai Damit bridge, he said he had already submitted an application and had discussed the matter with the Minister of Rural Development, who had assured him that it would be looked at positively this year.

1. #1 by k1980 on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 3:00 pm

Hey Bumburing, umno no got money to expedite the upgrading of the Tuaran hospital. All the money has been earmarked to buy over frogs from PR. Each one costs over RM25 million! Which is more important, 2/3 majority in Parliament or the Tuaran hospital?

2. #2 by frankyapp on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 4:08 pm

Bumburing and the MOH/Central government must know how to differentiate between building or having big hospital and the ability to provide facilities to the hospital being built.Take for example,large hospitals built in Sipitang,Kudat and Kunak but one always finds there’s shortage of doctors,nurses and services let alone finding any resident specialists in these places .All major surgery still not to be transfered to Kota Kinabalu. Some cases of unfortunate death had occurred because of the distance between the hospitals and Kota Kinabalu. I think Bumburing should ask for quality hospital rather than big hospital and the MOH also should not just build big hospital for the sake of window dressing or showing of especially when they could not provide with enough number of doctors and specialists,nurses and other personnels to run an efficient hospital.

3. #3 by frankyapp on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 4:11 pm

Sorry it should read ” All major surgery still need to be transfered to Kota Kinabalu “

4. #4 by DCLXVI on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 4:27 pm

The ex-Sabah DCM admitted that he was told that the Tuaran hospital was downgraded to a clinic in the past.
    How could this ‘downgrade’ be allowed to happen?
    Is it because the Umno-BN controlled Sabah state government is unable to sustain or upgrade the state’s medical care facilities for the Sabahan people?
    Is it because of this ‘downgrade’, the Tuaran hospital does not have any beds?
    Ironically, it is because of the votes from the people of Sabah (& also Sarawak) during GE12 that allowed Umno-BN to retain its majority in the Parliament…

5. #5 by yhsiew on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 4:31 pm

///it was sad that a hospital for a large district like Tuaran, with a population of 120,000, had no bed at all.///

This is the first time in my life to hear about hospital with no bed. Hospital with no bed is not hospital at all!

Why does Najib’s government keep boasting about Vision 2020 and high income country when it can’t even provide beds for a hospital?

6. #6 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 4:46 pm

Health Minister too busy and occupied in his quest to move up the ladder.

How about you refer this to that Bungkus fellow who said recently “Many KDMs hold key posts” in the government? Maybe they can help put things right.

7. #7 by Comrade on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 5:01 pm

A bedless hospital? Unbelievable!
    The Ministry Of Health is responsible
    To upgrade the said hospital
    Hopefully as soon as possible
    For the benefit of the Tuaran people

8. #8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 5:38 pm

C’mon Bumburing, don’t be a bumbling fool. It’s clear BN has failed the people of Tuaran. Why spend billions on submarines that can’t dive when the sick and aged are denied basic health care in Tuaran and dozens of other districts in the country!!!!!!!

Hello, Clarence Bongkos malaukun, time to remove yr blinkers

9. #9 by monsterball on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 6:27 pm

Notice all things done by BN are not permanent or lasting?
    Be it equipments…buildings or furnishings…all are charged much higher than usual prices…won by so call tenders…that favors bribery and commission reserved for “someone”.
    Everyday….we read and note sub-standards…inferior materials…and equipments gave way and let out the truths of it all.
    What is so sad..that even hospital and schools have suffered such kind of downgrading..that involves the sick and need and school children.
    These corrupted and greedy crooks have no conscience nor feelings for others…when money is available to take…so call legally…through overpriced tenders.
    What have been exposed is just one of the many hundreds of cases we keep reading.
    YET…Najib want to teach Malaysians truthfullness and togetherness?
    How long must we wait for will some Malaysians voting to wake up..and stop being racists …selfish and start being true Malaysians..thinking of the country and young generations….not loyal to any party…that is evil…racists and corrupted?
    It is already a laughing matter that UMNO keep protecting the majority from the minority…who are true Malaysians and harmless.
    UMNO love to create tensions..program weak minds…with race and religion out-dated politics.
    Sabahans must wake up to the TRUTHS…if they are sincere Christians and Buddhists….to fight the evils of UMNO’s Malays that are not Muslims at all.
    Will money also buy up Sabah by UMNO?

10. #10 by monsterball on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 6:39 pm

Great to read Zuklifi Nordin have been sacked by keDAILan.
    This man wants to keep playing race and religion within PR.

11. #11 by dagen on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 7:01 pm

That umno trojan horse, zul nordin, is sacked! A little late but still it is wonderful news.

12. #12 by dagen on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 7:09 pm

Penang restores local election!

So err the important question is: will perkumnoputras protest the decision? Huh, will they?

May be local council election is against their religion ie Islam-jenis-umno; or perhaps somehow local council election challenges their ketuanan (something like – well I dont know, like say – too small, too short, skinny, crooked – I’ll leave that to your imagination).

13. #13 by monsterball on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 7:59 pm

Better late than never …dagen.
    In UMNO BARU…always never ever change for the better.
    It is always acting…side shows…fooling Malaysians with half truths..always talking politics…never work..as all are unqualified ministers..with big mouths to talk cock and bull.

14. #14 by dagen on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 9:01 pm

Yes indeed monsterball. Indeed. Actually the delay is due (I suppose) in a large part to pakatan’s more modern and liberal (unlike umno’s surpressive) style.

MT reports:

“(The Star) KUALA LUMPUR: The Al-Islam magazine has apologised to the Roman Catholic Church and Christians for publishing a special report which involved the desecration of a religious rite.

The apology was posted on the website of its publisher, Utusan Karya.”

Boys. No cheers pls. And no applause pls. No necessity for such response. Just a simple “thank you” and “we accept your apology” will do.

15. #15 by lopez on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 10:01 pm

no time lah, Latuk is busy , he need to save his position in his night club. he need to show his master he has the mandate of his clubbers.

Hey no need worry so much lah, after all, sabah aredi under controlled, later we throw a sarapan pagi with their local cheafs…it will be okay.

maybe free vitamin A jabs to go with it too, or a blood donation drive to show how caring to them locals.

16. #16 by k1980 on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 10:07 pm

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/PixIndepend/pix_top_03067

Jibby boy, look, he’s showing 2Malaysias with his fingers. He won’t be following your 1malaysia nonsense should you accept him into unmo

17. #17 by cemerlang on Saturday, 6 March 2010 - 11:06 pm

Is the deputy minister of health not from Sabah ? Some more UMNO member even. Why like this also cannot pull strings ? Can start 1 Malaysia clinic there. Sabahans really support UMNO. So many Sabahan politicians in Putrajaya and yet cannot do a simple thing. So sad for Sabah people. They are just too nice to their politicians.

18. #18 by raven77 on Sunday, 7 March 2010 - 12:12 am

Better collect donations and build charity but efficient hospital in Tuaran rather then let MOH/UMNO build giant bedless hospital that will eventually end up as nursing home with no doctors, no nurses and only attendants or relatives looking after patients…..

Please LKS…dont give ideas to MOH/UMNO to waste this country’s money again….Better give it to some church/temple/etc to build a charity/missionary hospital that is properly managed. We dont want another useless government hospital that gives a 101 excuses about shortage of everything….

19. #19 by johnnypok on Sunday, 7 March 2010 - 5:14 am

Dear Malukun,
    It is so clear that BN/KL has ignored Sabah, and is treating Sabahans like prostitutes. Yet you are so dumb, due to money and cheap position, and dare not speak out for your own people.
    Maybe you will only wake up when your money is finished, and when you are no longer of service to BN.
    If you don’t do some soul-searching now, it will be too late when all the money and natural resources are sucked dry by KL.

20. #20 by Black Arrow on Sunday, 7 March 2010 - 8:13 am

UMNO/BN has deceived and cheated the Sabahans and Sarawakians big time. It is time for Sabahans and Sarawakians to stop voting and supporting UMNO/BN. If they continue to vote in these crooks, they will continue to be in this sad and pitiful condition.

21. #21 by yhsiew on Sunday, 7 March 2010 - 9:25 am

Liow Tiong Lai, where are you – still not finished with MCA president dream yet?

22. #22 by kpt99 on Sunday, 7 March 2010 - 10:07 am

Sarawak state election is round the corner,what are the early preparations by PR to encounter BN especially in rural areas,Any disputes over the issue of candidates will be just an advantage to BN.There are several consitituencies that PR stand good chance of winning

23. #23 by son of perpaduan on Sunday, 7 March 2010 - 10:20 am

Our monies wastefully channel to only person who betray us. I strongly convinced our country treasury has been dry out by BN crooks who only care for their own self. Therefore, lately so many special draw from Number Forecast Agency company relentless cashing public money to support Umno for their fights against democratic power. Stop BETTING 4 DIGIT.

24. #24 by k1980 on Sunday, 7 March 2010 - 11:06 am

I suggest the mca be split up into 3 parties, each under their own president, viz—
    (1) MCA Zina under Viagra Chua
    (2) MCA umno under LTL
    (3) MCA freeloader under OTK

Note: The ‘C’ in MCA must stand for ‘Conmen’

25. #25 by voice2009 on Sunday, 7 March 2010 - 11:43 am

MCA sound like a Malaysia Carnival Association.

It is so fun to play in MCA.

Chew Me
    I’m Fun.

at Malaysia Carnival Association.

26. #26 by pwcheng on Sunday, 7 March 2010 - 3:17 pm

There is nothing left to our imagination that the police is biased to the hilt. The rakyat must rise up and do something as we are the one that is paying them their salary and perks and not their corrupted masters. These idiots has got all their bearings wrong and it is high time that all right thinking rakyat must stand up and tell them affirmatively where their pot of rice comes from. Of course we will do our part during the next GE but meanwhile we must stop such despotic acts by an institution that is suppose to uphold the law. They had blatantly being selective in their enforcement and acting high handedly towards anyone that is against UMNO.