Of the opposition, obstacles, opportunity and oblivion!

By Martin Jalleh

The public has increasingly perceived the fledging PR to be a “fragile”, “feuding”, “fraying” and “faltering” coalition – one that was “not on a firm footing”.

Last year saw the end of the euphoria that enveloped the whole country after the political tsunami of March 2008. It was a year during which the Opposition coalition, Pakatan Rakyat (PR), was brought down to earth and forced to face the enormity of the challenge to deliver what it had promised during the elections.

It was also a year when the public increasingly perceived the fledging PR to be a “fragile”, “feuding”, “fraying” and “faltering” coalition — one that was “not on a firm footing”. In light of this scenario, the PR was hard pressed to convince the public that they could form the next federal government.

One would have thought that the PR, after having lost Perak to the BN in February 2009, would come to its senses about the need to be united.

But it continued with its petty and puerile public inter and intra-party squabbles, spats and skirmishes, much to the surprise and scorn of the public and the satisfaction of Umno!

Meanwhile, the great hope which the apolitical Hindraf gave to the Indians and in fact to Bolehland came to a halt.

Its high-browed leaders haggled over its future, hurled accusations at one another and accused PR of hypocrisy. By year’s end, Hindraf appeared headless, helpless, hopeless and headed for oblivion!

Coming back to the PR, in contrast to those disappointed, disillusioned and even disgusted over what they felt was the coalition’s failure to deliver and to stop its disunity, there were the PR die-hards who felt that it was too early to dismiss PR altogether or to write its death sentence.

It deserved more time and trust to prove itself.

The opposition coalition was only less than two years old as compared to the BN of more than 50 years.
The PR was made up of many first-timers with divergent ideologies and inclinations and like any coalition, has varying kinds of leaders/members such as the enlightened, the erratic, the eccentric and the egocentric!

Further, the PR in fact had ruled well in their states. The Auditor-General (AG) gave the highest rating to Selangor and Penang in terms of good governance since March 2008, which compared very favourably against BN-ruled states.

The AG also gave a commendable rating to the PR’s performance during its 11-month rule in Perak.

In 2009, PR also contributed significantly to Parliament in the form of better participation and stronger arguments during Question Time and debates.

In July, the PR formed parliamentary committees in tandem with 25 government ministries to help its MPs deliberate important bills and issues including the Budget.

Even in terms of by-elections, the PR fared well.

There was a time when it was a foregone conclusion that the BN would be the winner in any by-election. But in 2009 (a year of by-elections), the PR and the BN faced off seven times, with the opposition pact winning five times to BN’s two.

The PR successes in 2009, however, were overshadowed by its many shortcomings. In August 2009, Anwar conceded that his party PKR was the “weakest link” in PR and that “there is a flaw in our vetting system. We rushed to choose candidates to contest in the last general elections but I promise that this will be improved.”

In October 2009, the PR was humbled in the Bagan Pinang by-election. There were a host of lessons to be learned. Anwar did not hesitate to admit that the defeat was due to the “weaknesses and shortcomings” in PR. Some PR supporters even heaved a sigh of relief that the PR had lost! It was a heaven-sent harsh wake-up call.

In the same month, an exasperated Lim Kit Siang warned: “Pakatan Rakyat had been suffering a prolonged and unceasing bout of loss of public confidence… to convince the Malaysian electorate in its credibility, cohesion, integrity and common sense of purpose.” PR may be only a “one-term miracle”, he prodded them.

Lethargy set in as the year went by. If not for the political lassitude of 20 missing PR MPs in Parliament, the BN’s Budget Bill (in mid-December 2009) could have been voted out and the PR could have won a vote of no-confidence against the BN government.

PR appeared to be resting on its laurels. How long would it last?

In 2009, Karpal Singh slammed Anwar for “creating enough trouble” and asked him to quit. Raja Petra said Anwar was in a “self-destruct mode”.

Umno shamelessly labelled the PR chief a “chameleon” (which Umno politician is not?) and a High Court ordered him to stand trial for sodomy charges! But Anwar soldiered on.

Umno spent the year systematically sabotaging the PR-ruled states by abusing varous institutions of democracy.
The PR was portrayed as weak, wavering and wobbling and Umno as having bounced back stronger to stamp its “supremacy”. Najib was back in the saddle (taking the country for a ride) with his slogans!

The PR’s successes were downplayed. Umno’s scandals were diverted. Federal funds were denied or delayed or distributed discriminately.

PR leaders were demonised and Umno portrayed as the champion of Islam and the Malay race, and the defender of the royalty. Umno was bent on destabilising and destroying PR!

The PR was undaunted by the task ahead. In December 2009, Pas MP Dzulkefly Ahmad introduced the PR’s Common Policy Framework as a “Dawn of a New Awakening” — a daring framework of common goals and grounds derived out of debate and dissent among the three parties, determined to deliver the “revolution of a political culture”.

The road to Putrajaya requires stomach, stamina, solidarity and the sacrifice of personal agendas and parochial party issues for the the larger national agenda. Sloganeering will not do.

The 1,500 delegates at PR’s first national convention were reminded of the dictum “Perform or Perish”.

1. #1 by Cinapek on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 4:02 pm

If anything I think it is PR’s naivety about the venom of the BN attacks after the March 08 tsunami. Is it a coincidence that the frogs in Perak and now the latest defection of the former Penang DPM were all subsequent to corruption investigations? All of them are, or will be conveniently let off the hook and is this also a coincidence?

It is interesting to note also the MPs that accompanied Nazri to the US recently. Such trips takes time to plan as there are plane tickets and hotels to book, transport to arrange etc. So the names must have been decided quite a while back. Long before those same MPs who attacked LGE are also coincidentally in the delegation.

2. #2 by Godfather on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 4:11 pm

It’s a blessing in disguise to have all the frogs show their true colours. Don’t worry about maintaining the two-thirds majority in Parliament at this time. Start canvassing for more committed and reliable candidates. I recall that during the March 2008 elections, a number of candidates were actually “reluctant” candidates while some were known opportunists.

The voters will deal with these frogs at the next elections. They won’t be so forgiving to Pakatan if you persist in making these mistakes the next time around.

3. #3 by StPeter on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 4:28 pm

Chicken, fish, eggs, vegetable….etc, all the prices have gone up a lot lately, but when i went to Perak and Penang, i found out that the only price has gone down cheap cheap cheap is The Frog, it is damn cheap now The Frogs! if you guy dun trust me, pls ring up our Consumer Minister.

4. #4 by Winston on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 5:27 pm

The PR must have a one track mind on capturing Putrajaya.
    Go all out for it!
    As for the UMNO/BN sabotaging of the PR, they are entitled to it; let them keep wasting their time on such useless activities because nobody will really give a damn what they say.

5. #5 by ekompute on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 6:03 pm

Pakatan Rakyat comprises 3 political parties which has three irreconcilable ideologies. So also are Barisan Nasional component parties. The only reason why BN seems to have a semblance of unity is because all its component parties have no ideologies and are therefore are willing to be subservient to UMNO for personal benefits.

The way I see it is that Pakatan Rakyat can only survive if they can agree to disagree. Any attempt to have a common ideology will fail. If Pakatan Rakyat can agree on a formula whereby the 2 parties with the least representation in each state be subservient to the one with more representation (even by a majority of just one representative), then the chance of success can be drastically improved. DAP should also make sure that it has bumiputera representation in each state, although not necessarily Malay so that the problem that it faced in Perak does not happen again. At the Federal level, the Pakatan Rakyat government, if ever it succeeds to form the government, should decentralize its powers and let each state has more autonomy, rather than centralize it.

Internal squabbling will only jeopardize Pakatan Rakyat’s chance of forming the next government. With the latest action taken by 76 NGOs to protest against 1Malaysia, we can say that Najib is facing a dilemma that could possibly spelt the end for UMNO. If Pakatan Rakyat does not win the next election, it has only itself to blame and no one else.

6. #6 by ekompute on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 6:08 pm

Winston :
    As for the UMNO/BN sabotaging of the PR, they are entitled to it; let them keep wasting their time on such useless activities because nobody will really give a damn what they say.

Shouldn’t underestimate what UMNO can do with its wealth. For all you know, some MPs in Pakatan Rakyat are actually UMNO members, LOL. But this is politics and Pakatan Rakyat must come out with a strategy to counter it. Don’t expect honesty and fair play from UMNO. We have seen how far they are prepared to go just to win. And this is only the tip of the iceberg.

7. #7 by Thor on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 7:10 pm

Seem that Najib’s “kiss” have turned many pakatan members into frogs.
    No need to worry about two third majority anymore because even if you deny them the two third, they can still act the same.
    You need the full majority to propel yourselves to Putrajaya now and it won’t be long.
    Two years is not hard to wait ‘cos you can use the time now for “house cleaning” and preparation.
    Kick out every suspected “frog” that you can find in every corners and rid them even if they’re not willing to jump.
    These “froggies” are a real nuisance and the longer you keep them, the longer they would spread “parasites”, that might infect others.
    As for Umno, which is the main culprit, let them boast and celebrate for their action ‘cos it’ll be a very heavy price that they would have to bear later.
    We rakyat are the sole decision makers and we will judge every single move that BN makes.

8. #8 by HJ Angus on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 8:14 pm

It is better for PR to lose these unreliable and unprincipled politicians before the next elections.
    The situation would be worse if PR was voted into the next federal government and then we get such undesirable elements selling their souls to the highest bidder.
    Allah help us all to pick worthy leaders.

9. #9 by cemerlang on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 8:27 pm

The foundation has to be strong because you have to be equally strong. Someone once said that a strong opposition is needed in the government. Then for people observing the political game, sometimes they choose to follow the norms in order to be accepted, rather than being abnormal and rejected. Always remind yourself that Singapore and Malaysia are different. The people are different even though they look the same. So what can be done in Singapore cannot be done in Malaysia. Then of course, there is that ego reason. Penang and other Malaysian islands have so much potentials. You only have to ask the tourists and they will tell you what they like in these islands. And what they like in Singapore.

10. #10 by johnnypok on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 8:41 pm

All the jumping frogs are well-paid. Anifah should realise by now that jumping frogs are more lucrative than DPM post.
    When they need more cash, just jump back to PR, stay for a while, show some unhappiness, then put up a “For Sale” sign, and Najib will kiss your ass again.

11. #11 by Yee Siew Wah on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 9:27 pm

Another two apportunistic, cunning and corrupted ex-PKR members resigned. Good riddance is all the rakyat said. These 2 bums contradict themselves the moment they opened their stinking mouths.
    Caring for the rakyat?????? My foot. Filling up their pockets with $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ should be a better way to put it.
    If they still have any dignity left and care for the rakyat, they should give up their seats NOW, I REPEAT NOW and stand for election again. And not hide behind their BN/UMNO masters for protection.
    I can guarantee 100% the rakyat will throw these 2 bums out in no time.
    WILL ALL THOSE IN PKR OF THE SAME FEATHERS PLEASE, I REPEAT PLEASSSSSSSSSSSS…RESIGN NOW. JOIN BN/UMNO AND STAND FOR RE-ELECTION IF YOUY GUYS GOT ANY DIGNITY LEFT!!

12. #12 by chengho on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 9:48 pm

PKR-only fighting for Anwar
    Dap- only fighting for chinese
    Pas-only fighting for Malays
    no common ground , 3 diff ideologies
    rule by 3 autocratic , Anwar, Kit and Nik
    the best way forward for Dap to join BN.
    Muhibbah….

13. #13 by limkamput on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 10:35 pm

Martin Jalleh,
    The problem faced by PR is not due to lack of unity of purpose. The problem with PR is they have too many scumbag politicians who were elected as MPs or ADUN. Some are tempted to jump ship out of personal ambition or vendetta. Some are caught for corruption, so they have to compromise to save their own skin. Even if some of them seemingly disagree on principles, I believe they are governed mainly by their own personal idiosyncrasy and agenda. These scumbags talked about their personal conviction and belief as if party ideology and group objective are unimportant at all. That being so, ask them why they have joined a political party in the first place. Ask them to stand as independents (yes Zul Noordin you should do it) and we shall see how many choose to vote for them. Yes, Zul Noordin, unless you subscribe to the group objective and PR ideology, you can get lost too.

To all PR leaders, please hand on tough. If we want steak, we shall wait. If we want burger, we can have it now. It sound like an old cliché, money is not everything. We shall all die, including sultans, kings and emperors. Please do one thing good for humanity.

14. #14 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 11:02 pm

chengho,
    Tell us what is so good for DAP to join BN!
    What are the price tags like for Karpal Singh, Lim Kit Siang, and Lim Guan Eng?
    Does Umno still have money to offer to the frogs? Najib couldn’t even sell enough of 1Malaysia unit trust to the Malays. Where does he get the money to buy frogs?

MACC should start an investigation on the money source for buying frogs so that the MACC Chief Commissioner can get a better bargain for salary upward adjustment!

15. #15 by DCLXVI on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 11:26 pm

chengho: “PKR-only fighting for Anwar
    Dap- only fighting for chinese
    Pas-only fighting for Malays
    no common ground , 3 diff ideologies
    rule by 3 autocratic , Anwar, Kit and Nik
    the best way forward for Dap to join BN.
    Muhibbah….”

PKR fights for justice.
    DAP fights for democracy.
    PAS fights for the truth.
    Umno fights for the rakyat’s money.
    MCA, MIC, Gerakan & other BN component parties fight for the ‘table scraps’ from the rakyat’s money by being subservient to Umno.

16. #16 by ekompute on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 11:30 pm

DCLXVI :

MCA, MIC, Gerakan & other BN component parties fight for the ‘table scraps’ from the rakyat’s money by being subservient to Umno.

Right, right, right! But those bones are still worth billions! Otherwise, how do you account for a politician son who can buy two public companies worth more than a billion?

It’s a big game, all right. No wonder they are prepared to kill even, if need be.

17. #17 by vsp on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 11:37 pm

Anwar blames Najib, Rosmah for latest PKR resignations
    ———————————————

The person who should take the responsibility for the fiasco is Anwar Ibrahim himself. After a remarkable performance of beating a formidable BN, Anwar became overconfident and he made one silly mistake after another in succession, thinking that his oratory skill would always carry the day.

From the biggest party in terms of electoral victories within the Pakatan coalition, the PKR began to show its feet of clay as it was discovered that many from its ranks of party representatives were actually trojan horses planted by BN. The worse disaster is that Anwar has been pussyfooting around the question of disciplining and purging all these undesirables at the earliest opportunity available. While the house of PKR was burning, Anwar was fiddling around the world chasing after a different audience. Problems that needed his attention were conveniently swept under the carpet. Now the chickens have come home to roost.

So Anwar, why blame Najib and Rosmah for the problems that you have ignored for so long?

18. #18 by Black Arrow on Tuesday, 2 March 2010 - 12:02 am

Forget about the frogs. It is better for them to leave now. It is good riddance to bad rubbish.

PKR must act fast to put its own house in order. And all parties in Pakatan must start looking for credible candidates to stand for election in GE13. Do not look for candidates at the last minute as bad choices are made due to lack of time.

All the Pakatan strategists must plan now. No time to lose as time is running short.

Pakatan must also bring up the topic of the lousy economy as BN keeps singing the tune that the economy has recovered. Also the GST topic should be used by Pakatan to garner votes.

19. #19 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 2 March 2010 - 1:32 am

A frog is a frog. You can’t keep it still. It’s better to it jumps into the crocodile’s mouth.All these political frogs want is wealth and power,as Umno/Bn could offer them a much bigger pie,hence they simply jumped ship.These frogs are short-sighted and would not live long.They all would die before the next general election.

20. #20 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 2 March 2010 - 7:52 am

If you look at it more objectively, what are the problems of PR fundamentally? 1) Legacy and 2)Resources. The biggest difference between PR and BN are that fundamentally PR coalition is fundamentally in agreement about most of the immediate plans and issues whereas BN as a coalition are largely surpressed agreement.

PR problems are practical problems – they are big but they are not insurmountable. BN problems are surpressed – most of the members are not happy with the directions of BN and UMNO. Within UMNO itself there are fundamental difference about how to move forward like Perkasa and the religious nuts. The only thing they agree on is they want to stay in power and be able to get rich from it.
    BN problems are insurmountable.

Within a given period yes, BN can stay ahead of PR and deal a demoralising blows break PR apart. BUT IF that does not happen, and it looks like it does not, the more time is available the more it favours PR.

Those who could vote PR, many want less problems and faster progress. But those who are most critical minded understand that if PR just keep making gains, its real achievement and it will take only a good idea or some luck or both and PR will be in Putrajaya. What PR cannot afford is to make assumption of what it will take to get there.

What PR is accepting as a challenge is no less than political entreprenurialism. Its not enough to use tried and tested ways to move forward the way BN is doing. PR must try different things and encourage ideas and look for big ideas that will move them forward. There is a way, we live in interesting times and whether its a curse or good luck depends on how good PR people are.

21. #21 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 2 March 2010 - 8:01 am

yay! The big purge has begun. It is more of umno doing than PKR. Well thank you for doing PR a favor. Of all places it happened in permatang pauh, anwar stronghold. Umno think by doing this there, the rakyat will think that PKR had lost support.
    Well, dumno, you ingat kita bodohkah? It only tells us BN now has 70 more thieves in its fold. You think we will vote for thieves and turncoats?

Thank you, dumno for showing us who they are. Thank you dumno for exposing all these Trojans. Thank you dumno for doing this for PKR. Without BN, I think politics will not be so comical. Thank you as well for the laughter you gave us many times a while.

22. #22 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 2 March 2010 - 8:14 am

It is a good sign that the “frogs” are leaving PR. The sooner they leave the better lest they rock the boat and jeopardize PR’s chance of taking on the federal government in the 13th GE.

I guess many of these “frogs” are opportunists. After they failed to get what they wanted in PR, they would play up some issues and gave excuses to leave the party. However, one must not rule out that some left PR because UMNO had promised them cash and benefits.

PR should warn those who intend to join the party that if they want positions, contracts and money, they have come to the wrong party.

23. #23 by dagen on Tuesday, 2 March 2010 - 9:08 am

Having noisy component parties is certainly something which is alien and unacceptable to umno. And for decades we were conditioned by umno gobermen to believe in this stupid and senseless idealogy. Dirty laundry must not be cleaned in public. They say. But how else can it be cleaned? Inside the house? And let the dirty water stain the floor instead? Oh yeah umnoputras would then just lick the smelly and murky water off the floor and swallow them up. So ISA, OSA, printing presses Act and etc etc are being used by umno to ensure that silence is golden to them. There is also the constant threats by umno of restarting what they did on one may 13 decades ago. And in case the threats did not sink in the keris was unsheathed to the roar and wild ecstasy of umnoputras. And in case the rest of us should forget, reminder of our presence and status as “pendatang” was made repeatedly by umno. And not to mention fear of seefour and beng hock and kugan. And for efficacy, their control over the police, the macc and the judiciary and the msm.

The bottom line is umno wants us to see and treat freedom/right to express as a dirty word. But I can see a definite change in people’s attitude (away from the way umno has always wanted us to behave). Malaysians are no longer afraid to express their views despite the draconian laws employed by umno, the threats of may 13 and the keris and the mysterious deaths of altan and beng hock and kugan and the partial police, macc and judiciary.

Contrary to what umno wants us to believe, our country will not collapse simply because of differences of opinion voiced openly. The country will collapse only if there are abuse, gross mismanagement and corruption. In other words, that also means our country will collapse because we have umno. And that is the precise reason why umno wanted all of us to look elsewhere by teaching civil servants the art of creating imaginary foes and shadow boxing them (BTN) and by blaming the bad influence of western culture (mamak’s all-time favourite then).

Pakatan stands for freedom. So let the frogs jump. Yes the sooner the better so that the party can discover its true firm ground from which it could launch its attack come GE13. The country is in a state of political flux at the moment. Movements and changes are to be expected and are in fact taking place very rapidly. I think umno is misreading the changes and misjudging them by miles.

24. #24 by Comrade on Tuesday, 2 March 2010 - 10:00 am

Get rid of all political frogs and traitors
    Undercover ones, show your true colours
    They will be short-lived politicians
    To be voted out by right thinking Malaysians
    Choose candidates of integrity not only brain
    Hopefully this problem will not happen again

25. #25 by Dipoh Bous on Tuesday, 2 March 2010 - 10:28 am

Frogs’ meat is very expensive these days. Only the rich / wealthy people / group could indulge in such an exotic delicacy.

So, one may wonder how much money is involved to ‘buy’ the frogs.

I wish I were eligible to be a candidate come GE13 so that I could put my hopping skill to good use. LOL.

26. #26 by Ridzuan Aziz on Tuesday, 2 March 2010 - 10:28 am

I must commend PR on its achievement and the fact that PR is currently in a turbulent state by the look of it. I can conclude from this article:
    1) Majority of PR candidates are not ready to lead.
    2) PKR is “the weakest link” in the party. And Anwar is considered to bring in to the party more trouble.
    3) Umno being the culprit behind all the weaknesses and obstacles face by PR.
    4) Leaders with different ideologies and inclinations.

My question is, how would PR envision taking over Malaysia?

27. #27 by Thor on Tuesday, 2 March 2010 - 11:09 am

It’s better for these “frogs” to expose themselves personally rather than lying low in the party.
    If they’re to lie low, they will be able to gather information and sell secrets pertaining to PKR’s plan and this could jepoardise their march to Putrajaya.
    They could also sabotage the party in the last minute attempt during the GE.
    Umno is doing all the silly work at the moment and they’re not good in the “art of war”.
    As long as one becomes the president , they will take every oppurtunity to make themselves rich first.
    Once they quit, they’ll care no more for the country and the party ‘cos they’re filthy rich to enjoy life after that.
    That’s why you see a lot of infighting happening in the top level.
    Everyone is rushing to get hold of the top post to get rich.
    What they wanted are in billion and not in millions.
    That’s why they do things in a silly and a rogue way.
    They’re thinking of short term basis only ‘cos they knew very well that they’re not going to survive for long.
    Just like those froggies, for instance!
    They’re well paid in advance if they were to jump and if they’ll to lose their seats in the next GE, they can always go on with easy life, so who cares about losing after that.
    One do not own the party or the country forever so why not being selfish instead.
    Do they really care about the party or the country?
    My foot!, if they says that they do.

28. #28 by Thor on Tuesday, 2 March 2010 - 11:18 am

Just like that Hee, for instance!
    She can limp happily ever after in her entire life, even if she breaks her foot.
    As long there’s big money, who cares!!!

29. #29 by Godfather on Tuesday, 2 March 2010 - 11:56 am

Ridzuan Aziz (comment #26):

Only one of your conclusions were spot on. I leave it to you to figure which one. As to your question “How would PR envision taking over Malaysia?” the answer is simple: We will get rid of the vestiges of UMNO within PKR, we will prove to the people that we are different from the den of thieves, and we will provide a meritocratic environment for all Malaysians. The ideological differences between the PR parties will be blurred once we have a transparent, clean and efficient government in 2013.

30. #30 by DCLXVI on Tuesday, 2 March 2010 - 12:37 pm

Ridzuan Aziz: Majority of PR candidates are not ready to lead.

If Pakatan Rakyat have done well in the states which it governs, that would mean that its elected representatives have gone through some form of tough leadership training.

Ridzuan Aziz: PKR is “the weakest link” in the party. And Anwar is considered to bring in to the party more trouble.

Or is it more like because trouble is being brought in from outside PKR by, for example, Umno-BN, ‘musuh ketat’ PKR?

Ridzuan Aziz: Umno being the culprit behind all the weaknesses and obstacles face by PR.

Most likely Umno has already learnt that if it cannot make itself stronger, it tries to make its political foes weaker.

Ridzuan Aziz: Leaders with different ideologies and inclinations.

But united against a common adversary for a common goal.

Ridzuan Aziz: My question is, how would PR envision taking over Malaysia?

Well, what tricks, stunts, campaigns & sloganeering would Umno-BN envision to stay in power?

31. #31 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 2 March 2010 - 1:19 pm

Hi Godfather,getting rid of the vestiges of Umno within PKR sounded pretty simple but do you know how many still existed. Umno’s main target is PKR,hence all PKR’s elected representatives are pretty vulnerable to Umno’s temptation to fame and riches. Even PKR’s future prospective candidates are subjected to such temptation.Hence the den of thieves would continue to widen in PKR in particular and PR in general. Like I said before Umno would attempt to destroy PKR/PR at any cost whatever it takes. The exodus of three elected MPs from PKR is evident enough. I think PR must formulate a plan (a kind of security cashion) for all its candidates in the 13GE to prevent the frog culture within itself.And on the point of principle,PR should not accept frog/frogs from BN or any other political party. I think PR should start projecting itself to the rakyat that it is introducing a reformation of policies and systems to govern the country far different from the UMNO/BN’s one which is racist and corrupted. To start talking about transparency,clear and efficient government without any good and acceptable showcase/s is I think pretty naive as the rakyat are no fools. Finally I think PR should project itself as an alternative that it is capable to lead and govern the country pretty much better than BN for king,country and people.

32. #32 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 2 March 2010 - 2:15 pm

I like to reply to the question of how PR envision taking over?

Put it another way, when the other guy can’t even do the very very basic thing like punish criminals and corrupt and stay away from the stupidity of pretending to know god’s will in government, you don’t need to be smarter – you just need to be more honest and focussed on the important issues.

‘Taking over a government’ is not about running it day-to-day. Its about policies and structures that make the civil service do it. In that sense PR can’t do worst than BN even if they are dumber which is hard to imagine. All they need to be is less selfish.

33. #33 by Black Arrow on Tuesday, 2 March 2010 - 2:32 pm

Look at the state of the Malaysian economy. It is in doldrums due to BN’s corruption and unsound economic strategies.

I dare to say that Pakatan Rakyat has the better people. The top Malaysian economists who are men of integrity are in Pakatan Rakyat. Just for that reason alone, it is good enough to vote Pakatan.

34. #34 by chengho on Wednesday, 3 March 2010 - 9:19 am

BN still the best choice for Malaysia
    PKR is mama and papa party; Anwar ,Azizah & daughter , Kit &Leg&Betty , Karpal&sons and anymore?

35. #35 by Godfather on Wednesday, 3 March 2010 - 11:25 am

BN is still the crooked party – crooked bridge, crooked intentions, crooked pariahs. Daylight robbery is their strength.

36. #36 by DCLXVI on Thursday, 4 March 2010 - 2:57 am

chengho: “BN still the best choice for Malaysia
    PKR is mama and papa party; Anwar ,Azizah & daughter , Kit &Leg&Betty , Karpal&sons and anymore?”

BN is may be the best choice in Malaysia as an example to showcase about having family members in the same political party or coalition.
    Probably the best choice of example is Umno.
    Is it a papa & son party with Mahathir & Mukhriz?
    Or is it also a cousin & cousin party with Najib & Hishamuddin?
    Anymore?