Sabah people must fully embrace new Internet technology in the “Save Sabah, Save Malaysia” battle

Sabah people must fully embrace new Internet technology of blogs, facebook and twitter in the “Save Sabah, Save Malaysia” battle to restore justice, freedom and prosperity for all Malaysians regardless of race, religion or region

This is my first visit to Tuaran and it is historic in more senses than one.

Firstly, the coming together of Bajaus, Dusuns and Chinese in Tuaran tonight  illustrates the living 1Malaysia in Sabah and not just at the sloganeering level  of 1Malaysia since Datuk Seri Najib Razak became the sixth Prime Minister in April last year.

When I visited Kota Belud earlier today, I was told that Sabah – like the Bajau, Dusun, Iranun and Chinese in Kota Belud – had been practising 1Malaysia for decades, with the various ethnic groups  in Sabah long having a very easy, friendly and cosy relationships with each other, and their response to Najib’s 1Malaysia is whether the Prime Minister had been sleeping all these decades.

Secondly, this DAP Chinese New Year Open House going on now in Tuaran is being followed not in other parts of Sabah and Malaysia but throughout the world.
This has been made possible by the new Internet technology of blogs, facebook and twitter enabling people not only in Sabah and Malaysia but worldwide to share events, ideas and aspirations on-time and instantaneously, regardless of time and geography.

For instance, when the other leaders like the three DAP MPs, Hiew King Cheu (Kota Kinabalu), Teo Nie Ching (Serdang) and Lim Lip Eng (Segambut), the DAP’s sole State Assemblyman Jimmy Wong Sze Phing (Sri Tanjong) and Sabah DAP officials like Edward Muji (Vice Chairman) and Jeffrey Kumin (Organising Secretary) were speaking, I had sent out four tweets about Tuaran which is accessible worldwide instantaneously.

My four tweets on Tuaran a short while ago are:

• In Tuaran attend DAP CNY OH Sabah tale of horrors continue Tuaran has most unique hospital not just Msia but world – without a single bed!

• 150k ppl Tuaran have 2go2KK 4hospitalisation Big shame! 4nearly 30 yrs string of promises 2build ward w beds never met #Save Sabah/Malaysia!

• 2nd Tuaran horror Dy educ minister Fuad promised last yr work on new secondary school in Pekan Nabalu near Tuaran wld start b4 Xmas Not kept

• Horror3 – 1994 Umno/BN promised 2build bridge over Sg Damit Tuaran Promises repeated in 4 gen elections Never kept #Save Sabah/Malaysia!

I had said in my first tweet on Tuaran about “Sabah tale of horrors” because I had during my visit to Kota Belud earlier today sent out seven tweets about the deplorable infrastructure and socio-economic problem in the area, viz:

• Travelled worst n most disgraceful 8km road 4beautiful SMK Tambulion Kota Belud like mirage in desert since school opened June 2006
    Saturday, 27 February, 2010 15:49

• Some 800 students 54 teachers suffered daily arriving like orang putih covered in dust Muhyiddin shd visit school urgently shame 2MP KBelud
    Saturday, 27 February, 2010 15:56

• MPs utterly shocked at atrocious road have 2dy ministers visited school n road? We will shame BN govt in parliament Pandikar shld back us
    Saturday, 27 February, 2010 16:08

• But this not only outrage KotaBelud visited Camp Paradise military complex 2house 1800 personnel impressive highrise qtrs but totally empty
    Saturday, 27 February, 2010 16:22

• CampParadise is now Ghostland Paradise 35 personnel in complex for 1800 what gross waste public funds Don’t build any more new army complex
    Saturday, 27 February, 2010 16:38

• Visited Jelapang Padi KB last month 5300 acres of padi land 500 houses flooded under six ft water caused by bad irrigation drainage
    Saturday, 27 February, 2010 16:58

• Umno MP not going 2find it easy 2defend KotaBelud at such atrocious service record n constituency problems KB ppl complain MP mostly in KL
    Saturday, 27 February, 2010 17:04

The people of Sabah must fully embrace new Internet technology of blogs, facebook and twitter in the “Save Sabah, Save Malaysia” battle to restore justice, freedom and prosperity for all Malaysians regardless of race, religion  or region.

As I had tweeted on Feb. 23, there has been an exponential growth of twitter with 50 million tweets created per day in the world from 5,000 tweets per day in 2007, 300,000 tweets per day in 2008, 2.5 million tweets per day in early 2009 and 35 million tweets per day at the end of 2009.

Our visits to Kota Belud and Tuaran has confirmed the shocking neglect, discrimination and marginalization of the ordinary Sabahans regardless of race, religion or region by a handful of political opportunists who have waxed rich from the wealth of the state of Sabah while the people of Sabah had been reduced to the poorest in Malaysia.

The campaign “Save Sabah, Save Malaysia” must be launched without any delay so that the ordinary people of Sabah and Malaysia can fully enjoy the fruits of development and the wealth of the state and country.

[Speech at the DAP Tuaran Chinese New Year Open House in Tuaran, Sabah on Saturday, February 27, 2010 at 9 pm]

1. #1 by k1980 on Sunday, 28 February 2010 - 12:11 pm

In the beginning God created the rich land on which Malaysia stands. There was vast natural resources aplenty for everyone here.

“Why did you create such a wonderful land here but desolate deserts and wastelands elsewhere?” asked Lucifer.

“Wait. I am going to let it be governed by unmo,” answered God.

2. #2 by undertaker888 on Sunday, 28 February 2010 - 12:47 pm

umno is now united mamaks national organisation, not like before.

3. #3 by OmegaMan on Sunday, 28 February 2010 - 1:00 pm

Sarawak is not any better from the looks of things. Those self serving, no brainer and corrupt east Malaysian politicians of the ruling parties have plundered and raped the states for far too long and if the people continue to be misled from their sweet talk and broken promises and insist in re-electing them at the next election will be to their own detriment.

Pakatan Rakyat must go all out to educate them especially those in the rural areas and point out the need to change their set ways. To look forward to a new beginning and hope that will bring power back to the people and how PR will and can make that happen. We must re-take what rightfully belonged to the people of Sabah and Sarawak!!

4. #4 by SGPR on Sunday, 28 February 2010 - 1:09 pm

GE13 – Together we save Malaysia

5. #5 by Thor on Sunday, 28 February 2010 - 1:42 pm

Talking is easy than doing!
    You have two more years to try to find an effective ways to educate these people and to spread the message across.
    Sabahan are not lucky like us where most of our homes own internet and Sarawak is worst still.
    Only news that they get is thru government media and machinery.
    That’s why in every past election, BN wins big.
    Also Sabah is “infested” by illegal immigrants, who’re given “temporary rights” to vote when election comes.
    How well are you gonna tackle these?
    My advice is not to be over confidence and place high hope on them.
    No harm on trying!

6. #6 by k1980 on Sunday, 28 February 2010 - 2:26 pm

Iceland, Greece and soon Spain are going bust. Bolehland next?

Which Asian country had the biggest FX losses in 2009?”

http://www.malaysia-today.net/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=30387:45-growth-what-about-our-25-drop-in-reserves&catid=16:from-around-the-blogs&Itemid=100132

7. #7 by kpt99 on Sunday, 28 February 2010 - 2:33 pm

Perhaps the best mechanism for the opposition is to collect data and statistics of the promised government projects of every constituency during the past few years which are never fulfilled and expose them during campaigns with proofs.Set up an agency office particularly to record all the promised.The voices of the rakyat will never be recorded in YBs mind especially when they feel that they can still win even if they don’t serve the rakyat well.This is one of the factor that why there is a big gap between the West and East.Najib said there will be 90% treated water and 95% of electricity supply in rural areas of Sarawak,do you believe that?.Take a look at the recent promised RM70 million projects by BN during the By election in Batang Air in Sarawak,HOW MANY HAD BEEN COMPLETED and just couple of weeks ago,the elected ADUN said that there is no funds available when he was asked to why is the promised projects yet to kick off.They can simply announce millions ringgit of projects and non can be done ,that is BN Sarawak.

8. #8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 28 February 2010 - 2:43 pm

“…their response to Najib’s 1Malaysia is whether the Prime Minister had been sleeping all these decades…”

Oh, oh, oh….1Sleeping Prime Minister replaced by another Sleeping Prime minister! Ooh la, la.

9. #9 by yhsiew on Sunday, 28 February 2010 - 5:47 pm

///The campaign “Save Sabah, Save Malaysia” must be launched without any delay…./// (Kit)

It was reported recently in the media that some 400 Sabah youth in their 20s and 30s came to Kuala Lumpur to look for jobs. Many slept rough in the street after failing to get a job.

Sabah youth must wake up and ask themselves what has gone wrong with Sabah that they have to leave home to look for jobs in the capital.

10. #10 by frankyapp on Sunday, 28 February 2010 - 6:09 pm

The campaign “Save Sabah, Save Malaysia” must be launched without any delay so that the ordinary people of Sabah and Malaysia can fully enjoy the fruits of development and the wealth of the state and country.

[Speech at the DAP Tuaran Chinese New Year Open House in Tuaran, Sabah on Saturday, February 27, 2010 at 9 pm]

Save Sabah,save Malaysia,well sound pretty good but DAP/PR would need to have good and honest local politicians to achieve this goal.DAP/PR too must ensure this time,that they remain united to challenge BN one on one.The problem is Sabah Progressive Party of Datuk Yong Teck Lee who I think is likely to split the chinese votes. Hopefully SPP could be invited to join PR. I think if there’s no split votes,PR could win all chinese majority and most chinese/KDM mixed contituencies in Sabah. I think PR’s chances to win some malays/muslims/KDM seats if it puts some creditable candidates against BN and as for the malays/muslims majority areas,PR chances is still good,given PKR,DAP and SPP complete full support.My humble opinion is PR should give a whole hearted campaign by some most qualified speakers in these constituencies in as early as possible in order to convince the malays/muslims voters to support PR .PR needs to be vigilent and needed to respond pretty well against any UMNO/BN claims and accusations.Please also pay attention to Umno/Bn money/materials handouts in the early dawn of the polling day. I think Sabahans irrespective of race,religion and culture are looking forward to change if it’s given a good chance. I hope PR would be there standing tall to help the Sabah people to make this great and needy change in the 13th GE.

11. #11 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 28 February 2010 - 7:36 pm

LGE’s Penang has decided to give all senior citizens above 60 RM100 p.a. Wow!

Now BN and UMNO can out-LGE LGE by declaring the demise of GST, reducing petrol prices, sugar prices, flour prices, rice prices, nationalise all tolls and reduce all corporate and personal income taxes to a max. of 10%.

No half measures to win the people’s hearts. And promise not to steal taxpayers money by buying subs that cannot dive, planes that cannot fly and “Maggi mee” at 100 times their price.

12. #12 by cemerlang on Sunday, 28 February 2010 - 9:13 pm

And God said, Let us make man in our image, like us: and let him have rule over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the air and over the cattle and over all the earth and over every living thing which goes flat on the earth. God saw everything and behold, it was good.
    Sabah should be one of the richest states in Malaysia considering the tourism revenue earned from the many tourists who love Mount Kinabalu.
    What is the twin mini Putrajaya doing there ?

13. #13 by yhsiew on Sunday, 28 February 2010 - 11:19 pm

Sabah being neglected by the federal government
    ===============================
    http://malaysiadigest.blogspot.com/2008/05/sabah-being-neglected-by-federal.html

No Way For Sabah And Sarawak To Leave Malaysia
    ===============================
    http://malaysiadigest.blogspot.com/2008/09/no-way-for-sabah-and-sarawak-to-leave.html

14. #14 by boh-liao on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 12:04 am

U can tweet all abt Sabah n Sarawak, as many times as u like, n d tweets r accessible worldwide instantaneously
    So what, if ppl in Sabah n Sarawak don’t get 2 know your tweets
    So, what me worry, so said Umno B

15. #15 by monsterball on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 3:26 am

The corruptions in Sarawak and Sabah are great….but we can depend on the Malaysian voters to understand…54 years is enough under UMNO.
    UMNO depended on Sabah and Sawarak on the 12th GE.
    WHO WOKE THESE PEOPLE UP??
    It’s OPPOSITION….the PR…winning 4 States and one..that made Sabahans and Sarawakians realize how powerful they are.
    I am sure they will think of the country and people and understand true unity..totally not possible under UMNO government.
    Yes..Malaysians are basically united and ignored race and religion nonsense from UMNO.
    Weak minds and greedy selfish Malaysians are all that is left in UMNO and BN.
    If Najib is so confident that he has 62% Malaysian support…he need not ask for Chinese voters to support BN .during a Chinese New Year Speech.
    The speech itself tells you….what a big liar and a hypocrite he is.besides..many other evil things.
    Yes..13th GE..will be to free Malaysia being governed by the devils…or support it….showing majority Malaysians are devilish people?
    I don’t believe it.
    It will be having a choice of changing the government from 12th GE…to follow up…by the 13th GE…voting the devils out..completely.
    Sabahans and Sarawakians are reliable and dependable responsible citizens.
    The problem has always been UMNO..applying divide to rule…in everything.
    They should know that by now…but PR leaders and politicians should keep going to explain things..like LKS.
    There is no easy ways to success.fighting an evil government controlling all medias…applying double standards.
    Wake Sabahans and Sarawakians to the TRUTHS…as truths are so easy to explain….based on so many corruptions..incidents and events.
    That’s PR politicians job.

16. #16 by Black Arrow on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 7:21 am

Pakatan Rakyat must make a Master List in several languages of BN’s broken promises, sins, scandals and misdeeds. Photostat several hundred thousands of this Master List and distribute it around. All the points listed above must go into the Master List for Sabah. Another list for Sarawak. Example of Master List:

1) Port Klang Free Zone scandal costing RM12.5 billion

2) Missing jet-engines scandal-Dec 2009

3) Teoh Beng Hock’s mysterious death-July 2009

4) Attack on churches and mosques-Jan 2010

5) KESAS protest

and many more. Easily can come to over 100 cases.

17. #17 by chengho on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 7:24 am

Sabahan adopted 1Malaysia long long time ago
    sabahan chinese even speak with bahasa malaysia sabahan accent unlike with some people struggling to speak national language

18. #18 by fed-up on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 7:30 am

As a West Malaysian living in Sabah, 1Malaysia is definitely NOT new here. There is no racial or religious differences. Everyone treats each other with respect unlike in West Malaysia, which has been indoctrinated with divide and rule policy’s by the ruling party.
    Advise to Sabahan’s, vote wisely in the next GE. Don’t let Sabah be like what West Malaysia is now.

19. #19 by Bigjoe on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 9:13 am

Well, if internet technology can penetrate Sabah and Sarawak, UMNO/BN would be talking about suspending election or basically making a fake election. UMNO/BN may not admit it but their hold on power is partly due to people’s ignorance and entrenchement of status quo

The key is Sabahan is that they are not resistant to change because UMNO/BN is not entrenched ideologically. You need to simply to go into the villages and small towns and run online videos and show them internet pages on as many screens as you can and as many times as possible. Not just when the election come around. Tell the grassroot members to sign up for wireless broadband service or download on external drives and take their laptops with them into coffee shops, night markets, long houses, etc. Just keep playing them again and again especially people who stands out like village heads, community leaders, matrons of families. There are even portable laser projectors that will project on any surface.

Its a freaking excuse to say the internet is not available. The other power equation of internet other than accesibility is content. Its all there, just need to push it out…

20. #20 by democrate on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 12:00 pm

Can anyone explain what is one malaysia. looks like Sarawak and Sabah joined us when we were Malaya to become Malaysia and divoce us later and now rejoined us and call one malaysia ? the slogan never at all complying with what has been done to make all of us as Malaysian . the BN goman must defined What is One Malaysia dont make things like Lan PAR and PAR lan …..Sincere thru your heart and not thru your mouth …..

21. #21 by Ridzuan Aziz on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 12:24 pm

By the look of it, “Save Sabah, Save Malaysian” is another slogan to capture the people in West Malaysia. It is not easy to penetrate this BN-held states-vulnerable they seem like.

DAP, specifically PR I would say have to be more convincing in the party leadership. After all, news on its ex-MPs/members that joined UMNO reflect the weaknesses of the party.

22. #22 by frankyapp on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 12:44 pm

Since Umno/Bn has turned our be-loved country Malaysia into a mess,I think it’s the people’s patriotic duty to help PR to turn it around.

23. #23 by Bunch of Suckers on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 1:19 pm

High Speed broadband Internet is crawling like turtles’ sh*ts! How can you guys sharing, cherishing, enjoying and networking national building opinions?

This is all in line with the BN/UMNO wishes and policies of depriving your rights to accessing to real all democratic information world wide! Localy, they even blocked out your accessing to Malaysia Today! Truly, I wonder you guys have chances of watching High Definitions – Internet TV, video, Movies and YouTube in Internet with this turtle-crawling speed.

Watching and accessing to wonderful entertainments required the follow speeds:
    1) 360D needs 4Mbps (Mega bit per second); not 128Kbps (Kilo bit per second)
    2) 720HD/High Definition) requires at least 10Mbps,
    3) 1080HD must boost to 20Mbps at least!!!

Certainly, those speeds listed above must have first grade of Fiber Optical cables to achieve. What Bodohland Fiber Optical cables are all in low grade even they do exist! This is tremendous rip-offs by the national and governmental monopolized business (i.e monopoly) where the Telekom is full of incompetent engineers-mainly are UMNOputras kaki!!! What you expect from them? Those ducks can never be flied like swans even though both are genetically the same bird family!!!??? They are not even identical in shape, size and power! Piss off the Bodohland Telekom….

Presumably, your Bodonland High Speed Broadband Internet are all in “Kilo bit per second (Kbps)” zone; not in “Mega bit per second (Mbps) range at all, I think! Absolutely, there is heaps of rip-offs for paying High Speed Broadband charges/fees with provision of 128Kbps the maximum!!! This is what Bodohland business deals!

With your current PM, his promising of your Superfast Broadband Internet Speed of 100Mbps is in doubt! Look at the MSC (Mult-Media Super Corridor), and it is a totally failure, without anyone cares for it. Let it rots like sh*ts; yet Bakuthir and BN/UMNO all claimed that was tremendous success! In Bodohland, whatever start-up projects always end up in sh*ts! Never expect much from this PM without changing of totally new government, such as PR or any other, to excel, save and rescue this truly Bolehland. Otherwise, it is truly a Bodohland heading to no-where, for sure…. Good Luck, Malaysia!

24. #24 by k1980 on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 2:11 pm

Bunch of Suckers,

If Bolehland’s space tourist can be called an Astronaut,

and Bolehland’s low GDP can be called “high income”,

then it is no surprise that Bolehland’s 3 Kbps internet is claimed as High Speed broadband.

As Joseph Goebbels explained. “If you keep on repeating a lie, after a time the people will come to believe it as the truth”

25. #25 by Bunch of Suckers on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 2:33 pm

k1980

Oh My God, 3Kbps as the official top speed of Bodohland High Speed Broadband Internet??? Really??? Not even reaching up to the lowest and obsolete Modem access 64Kbps in the West? It’s hard to believe it…. With that speed, I can’t even see any of BN/UMNOputras to pull down their pants over Internet instantly, man!!! I have to wait overnight to finish off downloading all the frames….

Piss off, BN/UMNO leading government! All these su*kers need to commit Jap Hara-kiri in front of general public if it happened in the West….

26. #26 by johnnypok on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 9:06 pm

God will be sending Jesus to rescue Sabahans and to restore back the orignal status of Sabah (North Borneo).
    All the illegals and unwanted elements will be shipped to West Malaysia, and Sabahans can live happily ever after.
    Let us pray hard from today and pave the way for the coming of Jesus Christ, the Lord.

27. #27 by chengho on Monday, 1 March 2010 - 9:41 pm

Bunch of Suckers,
    go back to school and learn the technology .
    We have Metro-E, 3G , 4G , Edge ,Wap ,WiFi, Wimax and vsat operator . pick your choice .

28. #28 by DCLXVI on Tuesday, 2 March 2010 - 12:21 am

chengho: “Sabahan adopted 1Malaysia long long time ago”

The Sabahans & also the Sarawakians know very well that their racial harmony is their greatest treasure, which is why they had insisted that the 20-point & 18-point memorandums for Sabah & Sarawak respectively be accepted by the Malayan central government to safeguard that ‘treasure’ if these two Borneo states were to form Malaysia with Malaya, and not to forget Singapore.

chengho: “sabahan chinese even speak with bahasa malaysia sabahan accent unlike with some people struggling to speak national language”

There are Kelantanese Chinese who speak Malay with a Kelantanese dialect, and there are also Kedahan Chinese who speak Malay with the Kedahan dialect.

29. #29 by Bunch of Suckers on Tuesday, 2 March 2010 - 6:28 am

Chengho

A Chinese Hanjin or a disguised Chinese! Apparently, those technologies are available in the world markets. It does not mean that only available in Malaysia. Pick any one of your listed technologies with your brief explanation since you’re expert and learned those technologies.

OMG! Implicitly, you are saying those technologies do not available throughout the world! Mind your as*, the West champion those technologies when you are siting in the Rambutan tree dreaming!

Comparatively, your half-past six technologies can’t beat any of those in the West or S’pore and S Korea!!!!! As pointed out, your Bodohland High Speed Broadband Internet only top up to 3Kbps!!!! So, what is the act you try to play and bullshit?

30. #30 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 2 March 2010 - 1:02 pm

Chicken Rice Yatim promise to upgrade broadband speed to the maximum by 2020.
    Do you belief that?