Why Australian MPs protested the Anwar trial

By Michael Danby | The Malaysian Insider

FEB 21 — Last week saw an unusual event in Australian politics: backbench members of Parliament from both sides took a foreign affairs initiative, independent of their party leaderships.

Sixty Members and Senators — Labor, Liberal, Green and independent — signed a letter which was presented to the Malaysian High Commissioner protesting against the current trial of Opposition Leader Anwar Ibrahim on charges of “sodomy.”

The letter was signed by, among others, Laurie Ferguson, Malcolm Turnbull, Greg Hunt, Bob Brown, Nick Xenophon, Duncan Kerr, Deputy Speaker Anna Burke, Jennie George, Gary Gray and Mark Dreyfus QC.

It followed a speech which I gave in the House of Representatives on Feb 3, in which I drew the House’s attention to the 2nd Sodomy trial in Kuala Lumpur of Anwar Ibrahim.

I’m very grateful to all the Members and Senators who signed the letter. I can’t recall another backbench initiative like this in recent times.

Why should Australian Members of Parliament stick their noses into the affairs of a country like Malaysia, which is a friend and neighbour?

I would say it is precisely because Malaysia is a friend and neighbour that we care what happens there. No-one is surprised at show trials and political persecution in North Korea or Burma. When it happens in a country which is one of our region’s relative success stories, we are shocked and dismayed.

Many Australian’s have spoken for Aung San Suu Kyi, Burma’s democratically elected leader under house arrest by an authoritarian regime. In some sense these legal torments of Anwar are more egregious as they are happening in a developing democracy that says organs of the state such as the courts or police should not be used to persecute a democratic political opponent.

People-to-people contact between Australians and Malaysians has become very close in recent years, through students studying in Australia, steadily growing tourism in both directions and growing business ties.

The persecution of Anwar Ibrahim, however, does not put Malaysia in a good light.

The repeated attempts by Malaysia’s ruling party to drive Anwar out of politics by framing him up on obviously false charges is a disgraceful story which has now been running for more than ten years. Anwar was Deputy Prime Minister in 1998 when he fell out with the then Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad — no friend of Australia.

He was arrested, beaten up, tried on faked evidence and coerced testimony, then jailed for four years, before his conviction was finally overturned in 2004. Now the same charges have been laid again.

Recently the Wall Street Journal published a first-hand account of how the Malaysian Special Branch police fabricated the charges that led to Anwar’s first trial. Munawar Anees recalled how he had been starved and beaten into signing a false confession which implicated Anwar. The same things are happening again now.

It would be intolerable in any democratic country for an accuser to front at the home of the Prime Minister before he then went to the impartial Malaysian police. This is what happened to Anwar Ibrahim when has accuser was succoured by Rosmah Razak, the Prime Ministers wife, before he went to charge Anwar at the Police station.

These are the tactics which Anwar’s enemies are willing to resort to, in order to eliminate the threat he poses to those currently in power.

The reason the ruling party UMNO fears Anwar is simply that he is the first Malay politician to challenge successfully its monopoly of the Malay vote, which is the basis of its long-standing hold on power.

At the 2008 elections Anwar’s People’s Justice Party and its allies won 60 seats away from UMNO and its allies, creating a viable two-party system for the first time. UMNO fears that he will win the next election unless he is stopped, and it seems that at least some elements of UMNO and their allies in the police are willing to resort to any means to stop him.

Their nightmare scenario is for the urban, educated Malays together with Indian and Chinese minorities together with deputies from the rebellious Sabah and Sarawak provinces, uniting to form a parliamentary majority.

Malaysia , however is not like North Korea, sealed off from world opinion. The Malaysian people and the Malaysian government care about their reputation in the region and the world.

There have been demonstrations by UMNO ‘youth’ outside the Australian High Commission in Kuala Lumpur. A leading supporter of the Malaysian Prime Minister sought to deflect Malaysian opinion by responding that ‘Michael Danby, who organized the petition is a homosexual’.

Sad and pathetic though such a reaction is, the response on many blogs and new sites, by ordinary Malaysians who are outraged at the trial, repudiate such prejudice and show hope for a civic discourse as Malaysia’s democratic ethos develops.

The Malaysian media reports what is said about Malaysia in other countries. That’s why an intervention such as our bipartisan letter to the High Commissioner, politely but clearly setting out our strong protest against persecution of Anwar Ibrahim, can be effective, and why it is such an important initiative. Hopefully when Anwar is free of these torments the best answer to those who would like to keep Malaysia a one party state, will be the peaceful transition to power al la Japan, Taiwan and Korea of an Opposition Government.

When that happens, Australia’s politicians will have done more to cement genuine friendship with Malaysia than oodles of “diplomacy.” — www.thepunch.com.au

* Michael Danby is the Member for Melbourne Ports and Chair of the Parliamentary Sub-committee for Foreign Affairs.

————————————————————

Letter to the High Commissioner for Malaysia

by Members of the Australian Parliament
Thursday February 11, 2010

His Excellency Salman Bin L Ahmad
High Commissioner for Malaysia
Malaysian High Commission

7 Perth Ave
Yarralumla ACT 2600

11/02/2010

Dear High Commissioner

We write to you with regards to the trial of Anwar Ibrahim which is currently taking place in Kuala Lumpur.

We members of the Australian parliament believe Malaysia is an important country, an emerging power in our region, and a friend of Australia. However the trial of Anwar Ibrahim raises serious concerns for us.

While Australia and many other countries no longer have laws against sodomy we respect the right of Malaysia to determine what should be its laws relating to personal morality.

Of more serious concern however is the fact that this trial is taking place at all, particularly given the testimony of Munawar A. Anees in the Wall Street Journal (see attached). We understand that the US State Department has urged Malaysian authorities to resolve this matter in a manner that builds confidence in the impartial rule of law in Malaysia, and we agree with this sentiment. Many friendly observers of Malaysia find it difficult to believe that a leading opposition voice could be charged with sodomy a second time, and so soon after his party made major gains in national elections. It should be made known to the Malaysian Government, that in our opinion, global esteem for Malaysia will be affected by these charges against Mr Anwar. We hope that Malaysia’s authorities will not pursue these charges.

Signed
Members of the Australian Parliament

1. #1 by Godfather on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 10:40 am

UMNO’s evil intentions are clear for all to see. Malaysians of all races can see what is really happening. Some drop-out being able to see the prime minister – at the PM’s residence – two days before making a police report. No evidence of penetration – but with evidence of DNA inside.

We are the laughing stock worldwide, although it must have been hell to Anwar and his family to be dragged through the mud another time. Anwar is likely to go to jail, with the way the judiciary is behaving recently, but it will also spell the end of an evil regime at the next elections.

2. #2 by Jeffrey on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 11:07 am

Michael Danby advocates changes to Australian laws discriminating against gays, homosexuals and lesbians. He does so on human rights grounds that people of a certain sexual orientation should not be discriminated against unfairly. Just because of that – and his support by petition for charges against Anwar be dropped- our “leading supporter” said ‘Michael Danby, is, “birds of feather flock together” fashion a homosexual!

Did the accuser get sodomised to know this? No he said he heard only (hearsay).

This kind of below the belt aspersion reflects very badly the type and level of mentality and discourse of our countrymen.

We should be shamed and to think that they are influential and backed by even influential leaders and can influence multitudes makes all right thinking Malaysians shudder in fear of the kind of future that awaits us when their type of politics and discourse hold sway.

Nothing is sancrosanct; no logic or commen sense is needed, just goreng goreng the emotions, say whatever one pleases to vilify the other and his position that one has a motive to oppose. Shoot the messenger, don’t worry about the merits of his message, thats the way….

3. #3 by yhsiew on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 11:25 am

Sending Anwar to jail will probably spell the end of UMNO. The 2008 Tsunami was partly due to awakening among the Malays that UMNO harbored evil intention towards Anwar after the court exonerated Anwar of Sodomy crime.

With infighting going on within UMNO (Najib camp vs Muhyiddin camp) and with petrol price and highway toll hikes in sight, coupled with the soon-to-implement GST, UMNO is not expected to do well in the 13th GE. The party is expected to lose the support of many East Malaysia voters due to the “Allah” issue.

4. #4 by Kasim Amat on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 11:42 am

What’s wrong with Australia? Are they being too free with nothing better to do? I think Australia is too much in critising UMNO. What rights do they have to criticise UMNO? Anwar’s trial is a domestic affair and we should violently object to any intention of foreign countries to interfere with our own domestic affairs. They should respect that each country’s situation and background is difference. UMNO is the ruling party in Malaysia and it can deal with this matter on it’s own. It is not up to any foreigners to question what it does is right or wrong. It should leave to the Malaysian people to decide. If Australia is not happy with Anwar’s trial, so be it as it is none of their concern.

5. #5 by Godfather on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 11:45 am

“….we should violently object…..”

How about sending our submarine which cannot dive to torpedo the Sydney Opera House ? Kasim, make sure you tie the UMNO flag to the submarine masthead, and not the Malaysian flag.

6. #6 by Godfather on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 11:49 am

Kasim, should UMNO “violently object” to the US Senate Foreign Relations Committee which recently also criticised the persecution of Anwar ? What happened there ? UMNO Youth and Perkasa lost their balls when it comes to dealing with the Americans ?

7. #7 by ktteokt on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 12:28 pm

UMNO is indeed caught between a rock and a hard place this time! Since they were the ones who started this nonsensical sodomy trial, how are they going to end it? To proclaim Anwar innocent would simply be a slap on the face of the judiciary and the police while to find him guilty would mean the judiciary is CONTROLLED by UMNO! Well, let’s just sit back and watch how this drama goes, either way, UMNO is DEAD!

8. #8 by boh-liao on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 1:33 pm

Umno B n Umno Youth had oredi told d Aus: Good day n phark off. U mind your kangaroos there n we mind our kangaroo courts here. We don’t care if u tie your kangaroo down.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_D-LmRNdQiQ&feature=related

9. #9 by Thor on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 4:11 pm

Why Australian MPs protested the Anwar trial?
    That’s a very good question!
    Australian folks are caring people and they cannot withstand innocent people get bullied all the time.
    I believed that they’ll act the same to others, if they’re in Anwar’s shoe.
    In other words, it could be for humanitarian reason.
    The’re much better off than Umno Youth who protested on their very own accord without any valid reason.
    Burning effigy and posters, stepping on cow’s head, kissing and holding kris and so on.
    Question:
    Why are Umno youth so uncivilised???

10. #10 by monsterball on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 4:24 pm

This mean all elected from Australia are in full agreement….against UMNO.
    We need to compare Australian government..way of life of Australians with Malaysians.
    Are we as free as Australians?
    Miles miles apart….concerning freedom and democracy.
    NAJIB AND UMNO MINISTERS NEVER FEEL ANY SHAME AT ALL!!
    UMNO is a bunch of sick….hypocritical.. crooked people governing our country.
    Strange as it may seem…it is these crooks that invested into Australia aw their second home.
    How hypocritical and cunning …can one be.

11. #11 by artemisios on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 4:45 pm

“we should violently object…” – Kasim

Thanks Kasim for showing how you and your gang of hypocritical thieves in umno really look like. I don’t have to even give you boys any verbal slaps. You did it by yourself.

12. #12 by monsterball on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 5:05 pm

Kasim Amat is a typical brainless big mouth from UMNO BARU.
    We have read and seen so many idiots like him…that sees nothing wrong with UMNO BARU.
    This is a racist…that is training himself to be future UMNO important politician.
    The trade mark is there.
    All idiots can be millionaires..as politicians..ONLY in UMNO.
    Kasim Amat should write more…to give us the pleasure to understand how racists from UMNO think and write.
    No different from UMNO ministers and Najib.
    Why like that????
    Keep dreaming UMNO will rule forever…Kasim Amat.
    Najib needs every little help he can get…from people like Kasim….to fool young Malaysians.

13. #13 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 5:14 pm

I for one applaud the protest by the Australian MPs. But does everyone in Pakatan Rakyat think so? The PAS president begs to differ. The subsequent explanation and rationalisation sound very stretched.

14. #14 by Comrade on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 5:18 pm

What about BN’s non-Umno/Malay parliamentary members?
    Why are they still in their slumber?
    Don’t they know that it is shame
    To let foreigners try to stop Umno’s dirty game
    Whereas they should have taken the initiative
    To stop Umno achieve its evil objective
    Are some going to wait till their retirement
    Before they start criticizing the government
    They kept silent because they have something to gain
    They do not want to miss the gravy train

15. #15 by Thor on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 5:19 pm

Aussies was part of our “family” during the 50’s and 60’s so they have the right to protest for good cause.
    Umno youth protested just only to show off their “tiny” might.
    Stepping on cow’s head and burning of photos is not a way of showing might.
    Why not arm with rifles and start shooting in the air, chanting “Umno…..Gila…!!!
    That’ll prove to the world that you really have “might”.

16. #16 by Voter get Voters campaign for PR on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 5:57 pm

Dear Malaysian. Please dun just vote BN out. Just by casting your votes for PR is NEVER enough. We have to canvass more new votes for PR by initiating our own ” Voter get Voters” campaign as espoused by RPK. Do a “VOter get Voters” campaign by chain emails, words of mouths, during social gatherings. PR need to win by a massive majority so that evil BN cannot cheat by FRAUD & FROGGIES. Long Live DSAI, Long Live PR. Down with BN..evil BN..

17. #17 by monsterball on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 6:22 pm

UMNO youth or even Najib can speak as much as they like….they will mean nothing ..as when you have few negative labels on your head…and you dare not sue anyone….you are proven crooks….supported by idiots.
    The issue is…how many more blind idiots simply believe in UMNO BARU and BN.
    Looks like Najib know Chinese cannot be fooled so easily..right now.
    PS: Hate to describe Malaysians by race identity…but no choice…UMNO BARU wants to play race politics…and they are in control.

18. #18 by c730427 on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 6:35 pm

Like Nordin Top, Kasim is another home grown terrorist which supports UMNO.

19. #19 by DCLXVI on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 6:49 pm

Kasim Amat :What’s wrong with Australia?

Read about Australia’s contribution and commitment to fight communist terrorism in Malaya/Malaysia at http://www.awm.gov.au/atwar/emergency.asp

Excerpts:

One of the major military successes of the conflict was one such coordinated operation in July 1954, east of Ipoh, in Perak state. In Operation Termite, as the exercise was known, five RAAF Lincolns and six from a RAF squadron made simultaneous attacks on two communist camps, followed by paratroop drops, a ground attack, and further bombing runs ten days later. The operation destroyed 181 camps and killed 13 communists; one communist surrendered.

2nd Battalion, Royal Australian Regiment (2RAR) participated in a variety of operations, mainly in Perak, one of the main areas of communist activity. Their work consisted of extensive patrolling, watching for contacts in the rubber plantations, and mounting a perimeter guard on the New Villages, settlements which the government had established to provide infrastructure and services in outlying areas in the hope of denying the guerrillas access to their support base. Contacts were rare, however, and the battalion had a mixed record, killing two communists in an ambush on 25 June 1956 but losing three of its own troops.

2RAR left Malaya in October 1957 and was replaced by 3RAR in the same month. After six weeks of training in jungle warfare 3RAR began driving the insurgents into the jungle in Perak and Kedah, separating them from food and other supplies. Early successes for the battalion confirmed the growing ascendancy of the security forces over the communists and by April 1959 one of the main communist centres, Perak, was declared secure. By late 1959 operations against the communists were in their final phase and many communists had crossed Malaya’s northern border into Thailand. 3RAR left Malaya in October 1959 to be replaced by 1RAR. Although operating in the border region 1RAR made no contact with the enemy and was forbidden to move into Thailand, even when the presence and location of communists was known.

As the threat continued to dissipate, the Malayan government officially declared the Emergency over on 31 July 1960, though 1RAR remained in Malaya until October the following year, when 2RAR returned for a second tour. In August 1962 the battalion was committed to anti-communist operations in Perlis and Kedah, completing its tour in August 1963.

In addition to air and infantry forces, Australia also provided artillery and engineering support, and an airfield construction squadron built the main runway for the air force base at Butterworth. RAN ships also served in Malayan waters had occasion to fire on suspected communist positions in 1956 and 1957. Australian ground forces in Malaya formed part of Australia’s contribution to the Far East Strategic Reserve, which was set up in April 1955 primarily to deter external communist aggression against countries in south-east Asia, especially Malaya and Singapore.

Lasting 13 years, the Malayan Emergency was the longest continuous military commitment in Australia’s history. Thirty-nine Australian servicemen were killed in Malaya, although only 15 of these deaths occurred as a result of operations, and 27 were wounded, most of whom were in the army.

If there are Australians who are still concerned about our Malaysia when there were Australian servicemen who had bothered to put their lives on the line or had lost their lives in the line of duty to fight against the communist threat in our country, should we ask what’s wrong with them?

20. #20 by AhPek on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 7:35 pm

Tell me Kasim Amat how ‘we should violently object’ to Australia’s or any other foreign countries’ criticism of Malaysia’s conduct.The only way you UMNOPUTRAS can is to organise a group of nincompoops in front of their embassies and perhaps throw some stones at their embassies with our police force closing one eye!Tell me you don’t have a brain full of cowdung!

21. #21 by chengho on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 8:07 pm

the Australian is racist country.
    in the ’90 they have Nam bashing , now they have Indian bashing , in Sydney they have Lebanese bashing..

22. #22 by DCLXVI on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 8:27 pm

chengho :the Australian is racist country.in the ‘90 they have Nam bashing , now they have Indian bashing , in Sydney they have Lebanese bashing..

It’s unfortunate they also have their own versions of Ahmad Ismail’s, Nasir Safar’s & Abdul Rauf Yusoh’s who promote their own brand of racial supremacy & domination, and make derogatory remarks about other minority ethnic groups to incite hatred.
    But it’s fortunate that their military had helped to do their share of communist bashing on Malayan/Malaysian soil in 1950’s and the early 1960’s…

23. #23 by ekans on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 8:46 pm

Shamsul Akmar for NST wrote that the Aussie MPs should spend more time trying to get former Aussie PM John Howard charged with war crimes over his support of the Iraqi invasion in 2003. Now that John Howard is being regarded as a war criminal, I wonder why he did not stoop even lower by;

1) framing his leading political opponent from the Labour Party, Kevin Rudd, for crimes like sexual assault or even masterminding violence against the minorities, so that the Labour Party will lose the elections and John Howard & his Liberal Party will stay in power.

2) enticing Labour MPs to cross over to the Liberal Party or at least become independents who are friendly to the Liberal Party so that Howard is able to grab power from Rudd, should the Labour Party win the elections (which it actually did).

24. #24 by ekans on Monday, 22 February 2010 - 9:21 pm

chengho :the Australian is racist country.in the ‘90 they have Nam bashing , now they have Indian bashing , in Sydney they have Lebanese bashing..

Remember Pauline Hanson?
    This was from her first speech to the Australian House Of Representatives after being elected as a MP in 1996.

“Immigration and multiculturalism are issues that this government is trying to address, but for far too long ordinary Australians have been kept out of any debate by the major parties. I and most Australians want our immigration policy radically reviewed and that of multiculturalism abolished. I believe we are in danger of being swamped by Asians. Between 1984 and 1995, 40 per cent of all migrants coming into this country were of Asian origin. They have their own culture and religion, form ghettos and do not assimilate. Of course, I will be called racist but, if I can invite whom I want into my home, then I should have the right to have a say in who comes into my country. A truly multicultural country can never be strong or united. The world is full of failed and tragic examples, ranging from Ireland to Bosnia to Africa and, closer to home, Papua New Guinea. America and Great Britain are currently paying the price. Arthur Calwell was a great Australian and Labor leader, and it is a pity that there are not men of his stature sitting on the opposition benches today. Arthur Calwell said: Japan, India, Burma, Ceylon and every new African nation are fiercely anti-white and anti one another. Do we want or need any of these people here? I am one red-blooded Australian who says no and who speaks for 90% of Australians. I have no hesitation in echoing the words of Arthur Calwell.”

She later founded the One Nation party.
    ‘One Nation’… hmmm… Now why does that sound familiar?

25. #25 by monsterball on Tuesday, 23 February 2010 - 12:29 am

Chengho is back with his usual balls carrying UMNO comments…by using races being bashed up by Australians…to prove Australian government are racists too.
    I wonder what he will term… the death of Teoh Beng Hock and Kugan and Mongolian murder cases as what….racists killings?
    This low class UMNO commentator…dressed in cheongsam..never fail to defend UMNO….even being bashed up by so many here.
    His skin is as thick as any dirty UMNO buggers we can always identify with.
    He will surely do anything UMNO asked him to do…pants down…backside up..no problem…as long as Najib is happy.
    Sodomy is UMNO’s favorite past time.

26. #26 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 23 February 2010 - 1:57 am

Australia = A developed and civilised nation

Malaysia = Bodohland

27. #27 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 23 February 2010 - 6:54 am

“Remember Pauline Hanson?” (ekans) Oh that Aussie ANTI-immigration mouthpiece & advocate of white supremacy in Australian politics, who won a parliamentary seat as One Nation Party candidate – What about her? The last I hear she is packing up her bags and emigrating to UK claiming that Australia is no longer the land of opportunity. She’ll find more blacks in UK, more opportunities to espouse her pro white views! And now our ‘esteemed’ NST journalist Shamsul Akmar has attacked (in Mahathir’s picturesque description) US Deputy sheriff former Aussie PM John Howard as war criminal of the Iraqi invasion in 2003! Or some great supporter of Ketuanan attacking Michael Danby as “homosexual” since “birds of feather flock together”! Not only Aussie politicians – the whole of Australia got attacked : “the Australian is racist country…In the ‘90 they have Nam bashing , now they have Indian bashing , in Sydney they have Lebanese bashing..” (Cheng Ho). These are examples of our violently objecting to foreigners’ interference with our own domestic political affairs (ala Kassim Amat’s way)?

Has it ever occurred to our ‘patriots’ that these Australian MPs/senators mean what they say about their “sticking their noses into the affairs of a country like Malaysia precisely because Malaysia is a friend and neighbour that we care what happens there” even if our patriots didn’t know better?? Let me give you the reason(s) why these violent objectors of Aussie MPs and Australia and proponents of Ketuanan/Ruling Party don’t know better.

As Aussie MPs said, “At the 2008 elections Anwar’s People’s Justice Party and its allies won 60 seats away from UMNO and its allies, creating a viable two-party system for the first time”. They also said “It would be intolerable in any democratic country for an accuser to front at the home of the Prime Minister before he then went to the impartial Malaysian police.”

Dear friends, this is not an issue whether or not it is really true that accuser Saiful was really “succoured” by first family to implicate Anwar in Sodomy as the Aussie MPs implied. I would dare say that the issue is not even whether, in truth or otherwise, Anwar is inclined more than one way! Neither has it anything more to do with whether our Judiciary can deliver impartial justice to his trial, and certainly nothing to do with my personal opinion of Anwar whom I am not particularly an ardent supporter of.

The real issue is that our “maruah”; national esteem, image is on the line in the eyes of the world and others. That is what Aussie MPs are warning us!

In the final analysis maybe its not about the “truth” – who knows about it? – it is perception of the truth; perception is key and that is why the often repeated saying Justice must not only be done – but “seen” done.

28. #28 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 23 February 2010 - 6:58 am

(Continuing) Look at the larger picture. All over the world politicians are in contention. Ruling politicians, as always, want to stay in power. In more democratic societies they outwit their opponents by cogency of debates and policies. In the non-democratic ones they jail them (for sedition, instigating riot) and in Myanmar, Aung San Suu Kyi, she is placed under house arrest.

However are you jailing Anwar for sedition or creating riot? No. You wash dirty linen in public by lurid details (in Sodomy I) by stained mattress. Now in Sodomy II you wash further dirty linen with accuser Saiful’s testimony of the alleged indecent proposal using the “F” word! You have a trial teaching our children everything about anal sex. And you say we’re pious society!

Its after all only politics & political games, fight all you want, vanquish your political opponents by whatever means (even not democratic) but why choose that (sex and unnatural sex) which brings national shame?

One may think Anwar is a master chameleon but the fact is he is the ONLY MALAYSIAN – and, to the supporters of Ketuanan, the only Malay – to make it to the 9th on the fifth annual list of Time’s measure of the world’s most influential leaders! His detractors may think he conned the world but at least if so he did not have to gain international notoriety by saying he would shoot the Vietnamese boat people, calling another country’s PM “deputy sheriff of USA”, Hitler didn’t do that good a job in the holocaust or the American government/CIA orchestrated 9/11 attacks on its own pentagon and World Trade Centre!
    The trial is perceived deliberately bringing shame and degradation to an internationally renowned and respected Malaysian – and a Malay leader (never mind he’s on the other side of the political fence) nationally and internmationally – just because of political contention, and even if there are several factors against, the benefit of which ought to be given to Anwar the accused:-
    · 3 medical reports say there’s no evidence of penetration, the basic ingredient of the sodomy charge;
    · DNA/sperm only goes to prove who did the penetration if penetration could first be proven but cannot by itself prove penetration as it can be transported and obtained by other means;
    · The public perception (true nor otherwise) of political interference when it was publicised that accuser met the PM and must be beholden on scholarship matters;
    · The accuser and chief and only witness to the alleged offence of consensual sodomy whose every inclination in our conservative society is to tell the court and world that he was forcibly sodomised in contradiction of the basic thrust of the charge (consensual sodomy) which undermines the credibility of his own testimony different from that stated in the 377B charge!
    · Perception of victimising a political opponent twice by same charge (sodomy I and then II). Fairness means not having two bites of same cherry. This is not making a movie, first take not Ok and have second unless you are telling the world that you’re making one!
    All considered, how to convince the Court of Public Opinion especially of people who don’t want to believe it (sodomy) and the reason why they don’t believe and don’t want to believe is because it boomerangs on their own collective maruah, esteem, image and pride! There will be hell to pay if their anger turns to votes against you! The Aussies remind us of this bigger picture of our pride image at stake!

29. #29 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 23 February 2010 - 7:05 am

the Australian is racist country…In the ‘90 they have Nam bashing , now they have Indian bashing , in Sydney they have Lebanese bashing..” (Cheng Ho)

In the other (to many also racist country, Malaysia) we bash, just because of political contention, our own very best and renowned Malaysian, national and Malay leader with lurid sex scandals to entertain the world!

There are role models in our society whose death from HIV/aids was/is concealed, let alone the fact that they were gay and not even prosecuted because to do so will detract from image/esteem of race, country and so on – and the only difference is that they were not in politics. Why so serious? Its only politics.

30. #30 by chengho on Tuesday, 23 February 2010 - 7:18 am

tell the Kanggaro MPs to investigate Malaysian Consulate driver in Sydney reported kill yesterday morning by either the white trash road bully or Malaysian bashing now

31. #31 by DCLXVI on Tuesday, 23 February 2010 - 7:57 am

chengho: “tell the Kanggaro MPs to investigate Malaysian Consulate driver in Sydney reported kill yesterday morning by either the white trash road bully or Malaysian bashing now”

The victim, Mohd Shah Saemin, who was originally from Melaka, had become an Australian citizen and lived in Sydney for 3 years. The Australian police are investigating the case, and has obtained information from witnesses that the victim was attacked shortly after a traffic accident and that the attackers had fled the scene in a black car, indicating that this is likely a case of road rage.

Condolences to the family of Mohd Shah.

32. #32 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 23 February 2010 - 9:42 am

It is most stange that some proponents of Ketuanan who not only oppose Pakatan Rakyat’s “Middle Malaysia, DAP’s multi plural Malaysia but also Najib’s & ruling party’s ‘1Malaysia’ on grounds of Ketuanan being essential to instill pride so that Malays can stand tall with other races of the world, do not see the irony of their very own actions in condemning, with alacrity, Michael Danby and the other Aussies MPs’ opposition of a trial that essentially puts a prominent and internationally renowned Malay leader (one time DPM albeit now leader of Opposition) cited in Times’ list of the world’s most influential leader to public and international ridicule with details of stained mattress and sodomy just because of political differences and contention …..

33. #33 by dagen on Tuesday, 23 February 2010 - 9:59 am

Australia, a racist country someone said. Racists exist everywhere. Some aussies are racist. That makes australia a racist country? Lets look at umno malaysia. Umnoputras are racist. By the same logic is malaysia a racist country? Consider this. Umnoputras control our economy. And the civil service. And the judiciary. And the police. And the macc. And most importantly, the ruling party. And the parliament. That is why malaysia is the one of the very few countries in the world today where racism is the essence of most if not all official policies. And where umnoputras still command the right to speak in terms of kicking chinese and indians out of the country with more than impunity – they actually have the support of the umno gobermen.

Now is malaysia a racist country or is australia a racist country?

34. #34 by Comrade on Tuesday, 23 February 2010 - 10:13 am

My message at #14 is directed not only to the BN non-Malay members but also to the liberal Malay members. Hopefully that some if not all of them will wake up from their slumber, dig deep into their conscience, wise up to the evil intentions of Umno, turn over a new leaf, join PR and put their full support behind PR. Together let’s give Malaysia a better future.

35. #35 by dagen on Tuesday, 23 February 2010 - 10:14 am

Go go go. Yeah go shake your ketuanan umnoputras.

36. #36 by Lee HS on Tuesday, 23 February 2010 - 12:09 pm

Kasim are you the one that also believe that China is 20 years behind Malaysia. Malaysia sent a tourist in space. China sent taikonaut to space. China builds its own submarine. Malaysia bought submarine with 500 million commission. China puts satellite into space. Malaysia asked somebody (China possibly) to put its MEASAT into space. China has the fastest train on earth. Malaysia has one of the oldest trains on earth. China has nuclear bomb. Malaysia has C4 which is used to murder a woman instead of using it for war. What else Kassim? You are such an idiot being conned by UMNO and yet still glorifying it. Please look at the environments in the rural area. Don’t imagine that Malaysia is great. We are far far behind a lot of countires. Wake up man!

37. #37 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 23 February 2010 - 3:32 pm

Malaysia = Empty vessel but make a lot of noise. We are worst then “kiasu”. We suffer from serious inferiority complex, and we behave like uncivilised stone-age people when we protest and burn flags for no reason. We are too free with no worry, majority are behaving like leaches (NEP).

38. #38 by chengho on Tuesday, 23 February 2010 - 5:40 pm

Australian Prime Minister Kevin Rudd has said that he was worried over the stories his Asian son-in-law has told him about racism in this country, but assured the foreign students, including Indians, that his government was working hard to improve their safety.

“My son-in-law’s Chinese, from Hong Kong, I hear stories from him from time to time which make me really worried about what might be going on out there,” Rudd told ABC Television on Monday night.

39. #39 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 23 February 2010 - 6:45 pm

Racists are everywhere, it is not the average racists we are concerned with, it is the gomen machinery that is use to propagate and to apply it that is causing the problem. it is the equivalent of Hitlers that we are glorifying openly that would cause the nation to fall. As for characters like ChengHo and asmat Kassim, let them bury their heads in any sandy patch they please; as they wouldn’t any where to go to!

40. #40 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 23 February 2010 - 9:11 pm

Dumb autocrats use the army, goon squads and guns to repress the opposition. Smart autocrats use the law courts to do it. Indonesia’s Soeharto was a dumb autocrat. Singapore’s Lee Kuan Yew and Malaysia’s Mahathir Mohamad were smart autocrats.

While under Mahathir this form of legal manipulation might have been smart autocracy, in today’s world it just looks like Malaysia is playing silly buggers with its national future.

(Peter Hartcher, The Sydney Morning Herald.)

41. #41 by monsterball on Wednesday, 24 February 2010 - 4:17 am

The world is not a perfect one la…chengho.
    Tell me…is UMNO BARU perfect to you?

42. #42 by sotong on Wednesday, 24 February 2010 - 10:25 am

Consulate’s driver killed….this guy probably has an affair.

43. #43 by DCLXVI on Wednesday, 24 February 2010 - 12:38 pm

chengho :Australian Prime Minister Kevin Rudd has said that he was worried over the stories his Asian son-in-law has told him about racism in this country, but assured the foreign students, including Indians, that his government was working hard to improve their safety.
    “My son-in-law’s Chinese, from Hong Kong, I hear stories from him from time to time which make me really worried about what might be going on out there,” Rudd told ABC Television on Monday night.

As I’ve already mentioned earlier, it is unfortunate that Australia too has its own versions of Ahmad Ismail, Nasir Safar & Abdul Rauf Yusoh.

Someone here also had mentioned about Pauline Hanson whose One Nation party advocated ‘Ketuanan Orang Putih’ in Australia.