Have no fear, Christians will not retaliate

COMMENT
By Thomas Lee

Following the cowardly, contemptuous and condemnable attacks on several churches in the Klang Valley by some obviously fanatically and foolhardy persons, Police Tan Sri Musa Hasan has ordered all state police chiefs to organise patrols to monitor mosques and churches as “we do not want any untoward incidents happening at the mosques or churches.”

It is certainly commendable of the IGP to order the beefing-up of security around the places of worship in view of the perceived and real threats of such detestable and destablising by persons of deranged and destructive character and conduct.

However, I can say behalf of my fellow Christian believers that none of us will take any violent revenge or retaliatory action on people who abuse or prosecute us unreasonably without any just and fair causes.

As Christians, we are to honour God with our righteous character and morally correct conduct, which include adhering to the principles of love, peace and good neighbourliness, even to peoples whose faiths are different from ours. We will never resort to violent actions to promote, propagate or protect our faith as we believe that we are created in the image of God who is holy, loving, kind, compassionate, merciful and forgiving.

We also believe the governing authorities are appointed by God as part of his soevreign design to ensure the proper operation and functioning of the civil society.

We have been taught to submit ourselves to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established (Romans 13:1). Hence, we expect the authorities, to whom we pay tax (Matthew 22:21), to be just, fair, transparent, accountable, and be held responsible for our well-being.

The injunction to submit to the authorities, however, is not just a blind blanket acceptance of everything imposed upon us by the government. As believers in God, we assess, evaluate and measure every piece of legislation, policy, programme and project in accordance what is instructed in the Word of God. We reserve our God-given fundamental right to oppose and protest against unjust and oppressive laws such as the Internal Security Act (ISA). Ultimately, “We must obey God rather than men!” as the apostle Peter tells us in Acts 5:29.

But whatever we do to protect our rights in the country, as believers in the God who has imbued in us the fruit of the Spirit — love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control (Galatians 5:22-23), WE WILL NEVER RESORT TO ARSON, RIOTS and VIOLENCE!

The principle which govern our life and lifestyle are those that the Lord Jesus Christ gave us in his Sermon on the Mount (Matthew 5:3-12:

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

“Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.

“Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth.

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.

“Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy.

“Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God.

“Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called sons of God.

“Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

“Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me. Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.”

So the IGP, and the government, can rest assured that no Christian groups will around launching counter-attacks on those we believe to be responsible for causing damage to our church building.

There are only four actions we Christians will take in the face of such calamities. The first is to pray, because as true believers in the true God, we know he will take care of us. Secondly, we will use constitutional and legal means to seek redress in the courts for the injustice caused to us. Thirdly, there are times when we are forced to resort to civil non-violence protests such as hunger strikes, silent boycott of certain things and events to register our unhappiness. Finally, we will use the ballot box to bring about the redemption of our rights as citizens.

NOTE: Thomas Lee, who retired as a deputy editor in The Star in June 2009, has been a socio-political analyst since he returned from studies in Australia in 1975.

1. #1 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 9 January 2010 - 11:31 am

Mr Thomas Lee,
    You forgot to mention that Chritians understand that Malaysia Federal Government is also subject to the scrutiny and supervision by another authority which is also appointed by God, that is, the United Nations Human Rights Council, on the compliance in accordance with the Human Rights Charter of the United Nations!

2. #2 by taiking on Saturday, 9 January 2010 - 11:45 am

Err but umno god goes by BTN and the rule on ketuanan which may be summed-up as “no one messes with our rights as tuan mcbully”. This rule is infinitely elastic. It may be stretched by umnoputras to cover any situation.

3. #3 by grace on Saturday, 9 January 2010 - 12:46 pm

As a Christian, I am very proud of the ways this crisis is handled. There is no hatred of Churches’ leaders to others even when part of the building were burnt. There was no cry of revenge. As mentioned in one of the blogs, a pastor even forgave the arsonists.
    Such is the love of Christians for others. No one is the enemy of Christ except satans.
    I am sure all Christians would concur with the author that it is not Christian ways for reply a tooth for a tooth. Instead let us all pray for the well being of those who demonstrated or burnt the churches. Show the world Christians are different peace loving people

4. #4 by chowkw on Saturday, 9 January 2010 - 1:22 pm

Malaysians- let us all arise and be decisive. Be an agent for positive change. how do we do it? Just do it at the next general election through the ballot box, Good Luck

5. #5 by tanjong8 on Saturday, 9 January 2010 - 1:27 pm

Before this incidence, the cow-head demon was white-washed. Who was at the press conference with these bigots ?

What were written day in day out in Utusan and Berita Harian ?

Who incited these young thugs ?

As Tengku Razaliegh and Zaid Ibrahim said, UmnoUtusans must take responsibilities of all these happenings

6. #6 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 9 January 2010 - 1:36 pm

“Instead let us all pray for the well being of those who demonstrated or burnt the churches.” (Grace)

Grace,
    Please get your religious principles right first before you try to proclaim the love of God to the World. The acceptable principle of Christianity should be “to hate the sin but to still love the sinner!”

Arson is a devilish act which has to be condemned by every righteous person. We should not tolerate the wrongful behaviour of setting fire on other people’s property. We should rebuke the arson criminals and not to forgive them so easily, lest we my fall ourselves into the trap of Pacifism. Do you know that during World War II, the Christian Organisations in the Germany adopted the pacifist attitude towards the belligerent Nazi militant forces? As a result of which, million of Jews were killed in Nazi camps, with some of them being poisoned with gas!

Rebuting and condemning the sinful act is the must-do thing in the priority list of Christians. However, we should also ask God to intercede and get the arson criminals arrested by the Police and be punished by the Judicial Court, even though meanwhile we are supposed to pray for the repentance of the arson sinners and ask Lord Jesus to turn them into the better person by making them to know Jesus and follow Jesus!

7. #7 by tanjong8 on Saturday, 9 January 2010 - 1:44 pm

What’s next after church attacks in Malaysia? UmnoUtusans ?
    This is the question asked, not only by Malaysians but also internationally, UmnoUtusans

8. #8 by gofortruth on Saturday, 9 January 2010 - 3:15 pm

The arsonists here are just some hired hands to fulfil UMNO’s agenda in the hope that :-
    1) all Malays may henceforth be united under the banner of Islam
    2) Non Malays will not vote for PAS, an Islamic party.

All Malays should feel angry with UMNO, Prime Minister & the Home Minister in particular for manipulating Islam to gain popularity.

All non Malays should also feel angry with UMNO for carelessly putting their life in danger.

This must be reflected in the next GE.
    Go get all our friends & relatives registered as voters. Get their friends & relatives to do the same too.

9. #9 by grace on Saturday, 9 January 2010 - 3:19 pm

Dear Onlooker Politickers,
    Thanks very much for correcting me.
    Let us hope those sinners can repent for their sins.
    I sincerely pray that peace prevails in our beloved country

10. #10 by ekans on Saturday, 9 January 2010 - 3:59 pm

Every Malaysian, regardless of ethnic origin and faith, has been asked to follow the Rukun Negara, which is,

1. Belief in God.

2. Loyalty to King and Country.

3. Uphold the Constitution.

4. The Rule of Law.

5. Courtesy and Good Conduct.

Unfortunately, those irresponsible & extremist elements yesterday had this twisted thought that they were already doing 1, 2 & 3 a favour, and so, 4 & 5 were of no consequence.

11. #11 by boh-liao on Saturday, 9 January 2010 - 7:13 pm

Have no fear, Christians will not retaliate
    They will still continue 2 pay taxes
    Offer d other cheek too

12. #12 by boh-liao on Saturday, 9 January 2010 - 7:18 pm

Heard abt this?
    First they came for the communists, and I did not speak out—because I was not a communist;
    Then they came for the trade unionists, and I did not speak out—because I was not a trade unionist;
    Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—because I was not a Jew;
    Then they came for the Catholiics, and I did not speak out—because I was not a Catholic;
    Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak out.

13. #13 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 9 January 2010 - 9:13 pm

Malaysia Insider reported on 9 Jan 2010:
    //Inspector General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan today urged all churches to beef up security on their own because with its limited manpower the police cannot ensure security at all houses of worship.

When asked he (IGP) said today’s attacks appeared not to have been perpetrated by those behind yesterday’s attacks.

“Different group, because the modus operandi was different,” he said.//

It is important for the Church to obey the instruction of the IGP, who no matter we like or don’t like, is still the authority being appointed by God. Therefore, besides pray hard, the Church must also beef up the security of the Church building and Church compound, especially during the hours from 10:00 pm till 7:00 am next morning. Shall all the pastors and Church Seniors please be acting as a responsible Church Administrator!

God is sometimes seen as a flare of the revolving consuming fire! Better watch up for the wrath of God if we deliberately choose to adopt a “don’t care” attitude towards the Church security!

14. #14 by nkeng11 on Saturday, 9 January 2010 - 9:36 pm

Thomas…

Stop writing rubbish.

IGP has encourage Christians to effectively becoming vigilantes. Can we have guns also?

15. #15 by boh-liao on Saturday, 9 January 2010 - 9:56 pm

Maybe d Pope will fly d the Swiss Guard over
    One Catholic church gutted in Desa Melawati
    It has ignited news that spread like wildfire digitally 2 all parts of d world
    D Catholic network is activated, thank g od/a llah
    Action begets reaction – Isaac Newton

16. #16 by Rocky on Saturday, 9 January 2010 - 10:34 pm

“”This is a sincere contribution from the government in the bid to maintain a harmonious society,” he said.

He also read a prepared statement to the press, quoting Quranic verses to stress that Islam forbids Muslims from insulting other religions and the desecration of places of worship.”

you guys insulted and made the situation worse and were sincerely trying to make the situation tense and now you sincerely give a donation. Please reject the donation cos their are the culprits who started it all with the ban and then flaming the situation after the court ruling!!!

also maybe we should boycott mamak restaurant cos Kimma leader was threatening to bring in one million of Kimma members…for what and does he have one million members?

17. #17 by johnnypok on Saturday, 9 January 2010 - 11:41 pm

Jesus taught us to love our enemies, and if someone slap you on your right cheek, turn the left cheek for him to slap you again.
    God is always very forgiving, so are the Christians.
    Only uncivilised people behave in such manner. They will do it to themselves … bad culture. How to progress ?

18. #18 by Winston on Saturday, 9 January 2010 - 11:44 pm

“http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/49053-churches-must-step-up-security-themselves-says-igp”

Well, Mr Thomas Lee, please read the above which was copied from the Malaysian Insider today.

19. #19 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 10 January 2010 - 12:59 am

Mr Thomas Lee,
    Didn’t you realize that our God is also a consuming fire, a jealous God? Just ask ourselves: Besides Jehovah, do we also serve the God of Mammon or the God of Ketuanan Melayu? Do you know that why God is jealous? God is jealous over our serving two gods!

Deuteronomy 4:24 “For the LORD your God is a consuming fire, a jealous God.
    ————————————–
    Deuteronomy 9:3 “Know therefore today that it is the LORD your God who is crossing over before you as a consuming fire. He will destroy them and He will subdue them before you, so that you may drive them out and destroy them quickly, just as the LORD has spoken to you.
    ————————————–
    Isaiah 33:14 Sinners in Zion are terrified; Trembling has seized the godless. “Who among us can live with the consuming fire? Who among us can live with continual burning?”

20. #20 by yhsiew on Sunday, 10 January 2010 - 9:25 am

Romans:12:19: Dearly beloved, avenge not yourselves, but rather give place unto wrath: for it is written, Vengeance is mine; I will repay, saith the Lord.

21. #21 by ctm999 on Sunday, 10 January 2010 - 1:29 pm

I’m glad that opposition leaders have called Christians not to retaliate. We have already established that UMNO is a godless organization hiding behind religion. If they think it will serve their purpose to maintain their power they will stoop so very low including burning their own mosque and blame it on Christians. They are godless so they are not afraid of retributions of hell in the afterlife. They are more concern with the here and now.

22. #22 by tanjong8 on Sunday, 10 January 2010 - 2:11 pm

Of course Christians would not retaliate. In fact, no good Malaysians will retaliate.

We know who are the ones responsible, not the common people of all races, not even the arsonists who are just misled !!!

The real culprits are the UmnoUtusans who had been fanning hatred all this while with impunity !!!

Nazi and Krishamemudin gave a tacit approval before the incidents. Isn’t that clear enough that they are responsible ?

23. #23 by kiki111900 on Sunday, 10 January 2010 - 8:22 pm

Good grief! Malaysia has no religious conflicts before in my living memory. Please do remember that there are larger minorities of non christians who love to live in peace in this wonderful country. One do not hear Buddhists, Hindu, Sikhs aggressively preaching their religions to others. Please dont use malaysia as your battle ground. If you want to show your peace loving nature, please do it in the ways like help others when they are in trouble. Soup kitchen, free clinic, help in natural disaster, donate to build school or even more profound thingy, whatever. If you fall for religious trap, you risk dragging the rest of the malaysians into a conflict which we are unwilling to enter into. In your victory dont gloat. Also dont bring this mentality of christian persecution to malaysia. I dont see persecution of christians in this country, my humble opinion. You involve other christian in the west, and they involve muslims in the other part of the world and we will all be in big trouble. Also dont tarnish all muslim with one stroke. The ordinary malays are just as much victim of the current corrupt UMNO and BN(MCA MIC etc). The corruption and victimization affects all malaysians. We have been used and used thoroughly by the BN. If anything, we malaysian should show leadership and keep our malaysian way of religious harmony. Make sure we do not carry baggages from the crusade or jihad to malaysia. The current battle is politics not religious. The best means available to us now in politics is through ballot box. And also, if you look at singapore, LKY or LHL takes no hostage. Religion dont mix with politics. Singapore will nab religious organization’s move into politics in the bud. Najib has fumbled and he will pay big time for this. Next, who ever orchestrated these will be losing support among the mainstream malays. In politics who wants to be associated with losers? The winners are PAS and all sensible malaysians. All the UMNO warlords are interested in maximizing their individual interest they will not be the first to stick their neck out to be noticed. Have you not noticed why umno people are so quiet nowaday? Next, electricity rate hike, petrol price, GST, are all coming like avalanche. How to tahan? Where can the polticians hide? Now is the time for us to get more organized. Register, and vote.
    Together we will win. Separate we lose. The malays and muslims are part of us. Our common enemy is BN and UMNOPUTRA. Dont be stupid.

24. #24 by Bigjoe on Monday, 11 January 2010 - 8:26 am

Yes. The Christians won’t retaliate. BUT the Indians, Dayaks, Ibans and grassroots Chinese will at some point. This will quiet down a bit for now but it will flare up again. Only way to stop it is for Najib to plan to step aside and back someone else who is willing to take on the ultras. The problem is he has no guts for that either..

25. #25 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Monday, 11 January 2010 - 12:41 pm

Pray for the attackers as well as all Malaysians so that they will be converted into Christianity and be the followers of Jesus Christ.