A Letter to Lim Kit Siang

Dear Mr. Lim Kit Siang,

I have utmost respect and admiration for your tenacity in remaining in Malaysia to champion the cause of justice and equality and fight for a Bangsa Malaysia.

My heart broke when I read about your article regarding the honest cyber cafe operator especially when he wondered if he ‘had chosen the wrong country’ to start and operate his business.

I see my situation summed up in that phrase. You have said before that the best and brightest are leaving this country. Well, I am making every preparation to leave. I have consistently scored straight As in every public exam and placed among the top 3 of my form. In university, I studied medicine and am among the top scorers. I have just graduated and scored near perfect results in a medical licensing examination that will enable me to work abroad and further my studies.

I was born a Malaysian yet I cannot see myself as a Malaysian. As a Chinese, I feel that I am being discriminated against. I feel that the government is trying its hardest to sideline me just because of my race. I look around and see this discrimination manifested in various forms. From the issue regarding religious conversion to the allocation of places in local universities, the stench of discrimination is sickening.

It was horrifying to note in my batch of medical students, there were a substantial number of malay students who actually did not apply for medicine but were sent to study it. It is disgusting to think that many STPM straight A scorers are deprived of a chance to study medicine while the government gives the places to people who are not even sure that they want to study medicine.

I have seen how racial politics sully the environment in the university and how unqualified people are in high posts at the expense of far more intelligent and qualified individuals just because they are Malay. I have heard the terrible statements made by delegates at the recent UMNO General Assembly about revoking my citizenship rights should I question their special rights.

I have seen the videos on YouTube where UMNO MPs have the audacity to ask us to ‘keluar’ of the country if we don’t like what they are doing to it. And I see the pathetic attempt by the PM to ‘discipline’ these racists. I hate the fact that Gerakan and MCA have done NOTHING to fight for my rights instead of just kow-towing to UMNO for their own gains.

Patriotism isn’t about singing the national anthem or raising the flag. It isn’t about accepting at face value everything the government says. It isn’t about attending merdeka celebrations. It is about feeling accepted as part of your nation. It is about knowing that your nation accepts you as a son or daughter. It is about realizing that being a part of a nation entails certain responsibilities. That is my definition of patriotism.

And right now, as a Malaysian, I am feeling anything BUT patriotic. 50 years of independence? So what? What has it done for me? Whoopee. I have a chance to change my life. I will change my destiny. I could not choose the country where I was born but I can very well choose the country that I will swear my allegiance to. I want a country that will recognize me as a citizen and grant me rights equal to that of all other citizens. I want a country that has the wisdom to recognize my potential and talents and reward me accordingly. I want a country where the government fears its people and conducts itself in a manner worthy of respect and honor.

This is not my nation. I am leaving. Mr. Lim, I salute you and all those like you who can find the strength and energy to fight for an ungrateful bunch of people. How many actually held mass protests, hunger strikes or rose up to defend you and your family when you or your son was imprisoned for fighting for us? How many did more than just shake their heads and move on with their petty little lives? None that I know of. Yet you continue to defend their rights.

You are an amazing man, Mr. Lim and I truly admire you for that. Unfortunately, I have a bright future ahead and I will not waste it in this country. It is not my nation.

Thank you for fighting the good fight.

(Author’s name withheld for privacy)

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 9:10 am

The honest truth is in a globalised world, Malaysian leaving mostly to Australia, Singapore, and now China and other neigbouring countries. its mostly a big loss to the country and less to do with the injustice and pain it causes. They can be made to return given the right circumstances.

The issue is they WILL NEVER return because the right circumstances for their return is for Malaysia to catch up competitively. We have pass the point where we can catch up anytime soon. The only way to change the course of event is major collapse of the country. While oil and gas revenue is available, its not going to happen anytime soon.

Because we are falling behind, its not the people like these the country have to worry about, its the bumiputras migration that have to worry about and it will get worst. It will get worst because there is not that much difference between the aspiration of bumis and non-bumis in our everyday lives. Eventually they will impose rule that forces best and brightest bumiputra to stay which will exacerbate the problem. Singapore had to do it and so will they. The problem is Singapore really was not successful which they don’t get it. Singapore solved its brain-drain NOT by forcing its people to stay but make it attractive for migrants to go there.

That is what is going to force the collapse of this country because it the UMNO/BN system is just incapable of dealing with such complex problem. It really was not meant to do it and will never be. Such issue was suppose to be solved by a matured political system where a reasonable accountable govt with checks and balance prevent such things from spiraling out of control. But UMNO/BN detroyed all that and so its just an eventuality that when luck runs out, the system will collapse when the money runs out because there is no strong insitutional foundation to keep them afloat..

2. #2 by mendela on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 9:45 am

Personally I feel that Kit reserves to win Nobel Peace Prize more than Obama did.

Kit has been fighting for a better Malaysia since almost half a century ago!

Who on earth can tolerate all the abuses and jail terms and yet stand tall for 50 long years?

Who could fight the UMNOPutras and its scumbags without fear for such a long time?

Indeed Kit is getting stronger and stronger.

Let’s nominate Kit a candidate for Nobel Peace Prize for year 2010!

3. #3 by garfunky on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 10:07 am

I wish you all the best, and I’d like to remind you of something.

If you truly admire Mr lim and want to help him and other Malaysians in any way. Go back and VOTE when he calls you!

You don’t know anyone who rose up to defend him, don’t be included in that list.

Many of my fellow Malaysian emigrates shut themselves out of Malaysia as soon as they’ve settled in a new country.

All they know is that they are being discriminated against. That itself is reason enough to abandon the country, I completely agree. But not enough reason to abandon its people.

it is our initiative, nay, our DUTY to help our fellow Malaysians who are still in Malaysia.

Go back and vote, ok? Use your gifts and talents to achieve great things! but don’t forget your brothers and sisters who suffered with you. Because if we don’t remember, who will?

4. #4 by grkumar on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 10:31 am

Dear Anonymous,

your letter is atypical of that of the majority who are misdirected and misguided in their understanding of the “problems with Malaysia” (read problems with themselves).

Your statement “I was born in Malaysia as a Malaysian, as a Chinese I feel I am being discriimnated against” sums up the ignorance of many of you and your arguments of sour grapes and thinly veiled racism.

It is not unusual though, but perhaps more importantly a reminder that straight A’s does not mean you are educated. An academic orientation perhaps but not an education.

Anak Bangsa Malaysia. There is no race and there can never be a race as Malaysian. Thats your citizenship and nationality. Your statement “being a Chinese” sums it up.

You identify with a race “Chinese” you are not willing to give up at the same time denying by implication of what you are trying to convey here that you are.

It is stark evidence of your wanton exclusion from the mainstream community you seek to build at large. A contradiciton in terms if there ever was one.

Are you Chinese, Malaysian or are you Anak Bangsa Malaysia whatever that means?

Be content you are a Malaysian of Chiense dissent. And accept that there is a policy of discriminaiton (positive) like that the advancement of women and indigenous peoples in most advanced societies practice in the west.

A continued attack on the Malays in general is of no use to your efforts to Chinesify Malaysia. It works to your detriment,

Oh by the way could you identify that mysterious mystical character of that proverbial Chinese student who scored 9 distinctions and failed Malay or was not given a place at University? we are prepared to fund her place at university if she can be found.

Gopal Raj Kumar.

5. #5 by -ec- on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 10:39 am

“Singapore solved its brain-drain NOT by forcing its people to stay but make it attractive for migrants to go there.”–bigjoe

…and we happily welcome illegal immigrants and retirees. those illegal immigrants are bringing in social challenges and those retirees are bringing in their graves!

6. #6 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 10:46 am

That was common and every body know what is happening. It was not you alone and many many stories like you have happen long long time and it will keep happening.

Malaysia as a nation will drop out the world competition and will going back to the kampong life. Sometime its goods too. Cari satu hari makan satu hari. Why so competitive? After few hours hard work, rest under the coconut tree and relax. Even the coconut will drop when it is ripe. So what should Malaysia compete with other. Just take it easy.

For people like you juts cross the bridge there will be people accepting you with an open arm.

Let Malaysian just live life as it should be. No need to regret. The government just do not want people that are too bright and too cleaver, only those are not so bright are welcome to stay, otherwise the rice will be taken away.

Let sail and sail, the further the better.

7. #7 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 10:49 am

To the author of this letter:
    It is OK for most Malaysian people who choose to stay and fight for their basic human rights despite the fact that a smart people like you will choose to leave the country. It is only those who are willing to sacrifice their personal comfort and personal career advancement opportunity in order to stay and fight for the overall good of the Malaysians will always be saluted and be paid high respect by me. I will always remember their unselfish sacrifice and their contribution for building a much better Malaysia.

I will forget about you perhaps as soon as by tomorrow because you are no longer part of the Malaysians after you have chosen not to stay with us!

Anyway, thanks for your showing appreciation to the contribution of Mr Lim Kit Siang because you have voiced out what I want to say to YB Kit for a long time but I just could not find an appropriate word to express my gratitude to a committed and persevere politician like him! Your letter have helped to express some of my sense of appreciation to YB Kit!

Onlooker

8. #8 by taiking on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 10:56 am

I can hear umnoputras clapping and chearing and counting!

9. #9 by goneaway on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 11:02 am

What took you so long. I did that long time ago. Yes, I do envy those who remain behind to fight. Unfortunately, I haven’t the heart nor the patience. I have been politically aware since I was 14 years old and I am now 48 and for those who sees us as gutless for not remaining behind, yes you are right but sometimes enough is enough.

On a separate note, it’s not only chinese or indians who are leaving in droves. The educated malays are doing the same.

10. #10 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 11:12 am

Very true.Mr.Lim Kit Siang has been fighting for everyone in Malaysia without favour or fear for more than 50 years.He is a great man in the real sense of the word.He should be saluted and commended for the tremendous contributions he and his family has done to the country.Only Umno and its affliated political scumbags are dared to deny that.

11. #11 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 11:22 am

How true is the Chinese saying: If this place does not welcome me, some place will welcome me.

12. #12 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 11:32 am

1emigration (Malays, Chinese, Indians etc) ok, Najib?

13. #13 by Godfather on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 11:40 am

And we have a person with an Indian sounding name tellling us that “we are prepared to fund her place at university if she can be found”. Wow, such generosity and such comraderie between this supposedly Indian chap with the Malays. Tears came to my eyes when I read his response.

14. #14 by cto on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 11:51 am

grkumar wrote

Oh by the way could you identify that mysterious mystical character of that proverbial Chinese student who scored 9 distinctions and failed Malay or was not given a place at University? we are prepared to fund her place at university if she can be found.

…..

If I may ask, who is “we” that is so prepared to fund …?

15. #15 by Godfather on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 11:54 am

“A continued attack on the Malays in general is of no use to your efforts to Chinesify Malaysia.”

The chap with the Indian sounding name chooses not to understand the difference between “Malays” and “BN Administration”. To illustrate, stealing is a crime and many poor Malays have been convicted for theft; however, stealing is not a crime for UMNOputras.

In his haste to rid himself of the Indian sounding name, he is desperately shoving his own nose so far up the a$$es of the UMNOputras that are leading this nation to oblivion.

16. #16 by taiking on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 12:03 pm

20-30 yrs ago the youths of small towns and kampungs left their homes to work in cities like kl, penang and jb. The youths of today leave the country to work in other countries. The reasons for doing that (whether first case or second case) are actually the same – i.e. opportunity to realise their potentials and recognition of their efforts. Cant blame them for leaving in both cases. We have only ourselves to blame for not keeping them.

Actually, in our case the problem is more complex than that. Based on their conducts and policies, it is obvious (despite their many slogans) that umno’s hidden wish and designs are to get rid of non-malays.

What is worse is the fact that a generous multiplier has been applied by umnoputras to their greed. Consequently, they see non-umnoputras as an obstacle to infinite wealth. They also see wealth as something which is capable of self-generation and perpetual re-generation. They forgot that zimbabwe’s economic pie has failed to bake itself. Mugabe made the simplistic assumption that the blacks could simply take over the economic roles undertaken / performed by the whites and the country could carry on just like that. The change would be like a change of car driver, merely.

The point is talents will continue to drain away as long as the present situation (under umno) persists; and the economy will collapse.

“Jib Jib Boleh”

17. #17 by marvin on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 12:20 pm

I hope the writer of the letter will STAY AND FIGHT THE GOOD FIGHT!!

I just had to get this off my chest and register with Uncle Lim’s blog.

Sometimes I’m just so tired of these “so called patriotic Malaysians” who finally end up moving to another country.

I have the means to seek better opportunities but I am staying put in my damn country just because I want to be part of the change.

To hell with you claiming to be a patriotic Malaysian! You make me sick.

18. #18 by greef on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 12:25 pm

>>This is not my nation. I am leaving.<<

All I can say is, screw you, Anonymous.

Run away like a refugee and feel sorry for yourself?!? What a coward you are.

As the Americans say, "FREEDOM IS NOT FREE, it is paid for with the blood of patriots". You ran away, like a coward instead of fighting for your rights with your fellow Chinese, Indian, Malay and other brothers who are still under the boot of UMNO, leaving them to fend for yourself.

Hell, you are not even VOTING. With more like you, will March 8,2008 even happen? The answer is NO.

So, I say this to you, and I hope you read it:

You talk about patriotism, you know nothing about it.

You say this is not your nation, YOU ARE DAMN RIGHT. We do not need someone like you, not because you are Chinese, but because you are a quitter. Going gets tough, and the solution is run away and cry?

Thats your right. But for me, and for my descendants, I stay. And I fight.

This nation deserves better. We deserve better.

Thanks for nothing, Anonymous.

And good riddance.

-from another Malaysian Chinese-

19. #19 by Ken G on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 12:33 pm

It is people like Gopal Raj Kumar who displays a terrible misunderstanding of nationality, race and state institutionalized discrimination . For example:

“You identify with a race “Chinese” you are not willing to give up at the same time denying by implication of what you are trying to convey here that you are.”

Pray tell, how can anybody give up their race? You can deny your origin like Mahathir for the sake of vested interest but that would be emulating the worse.

I’m sure the majority wants to be Malaysian first and ethnic origin second but the govt keeps pushing race down our throats by discriminatory policies based on ethnic origin.

To justify the racial discrimination by equating it with “the advancement of women and indigenous peoples in most advanced societies practice in the west” is moronic. If Gopal can’t tell the difference between discrimination based on race and other types of affirmative action then I have no hope of educating him. Or perhaps he is not being dense but dishonest.

A really weird reply by a person who has zero understanding of Malaysian society but tries to convince others with illogical arguments. I would say he is somebody benefiting from the present system and trying his best to maintain the status quo.

20. #20 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 12:35 pm

A story that makes you sympathize… As usual..most of the issues.. DAP champions tend to be favoring a particular ‘ethnic’….As a matter of fact, the “pain” felt by Mr Anonymous , it is also felt by 14% of the villagers in a small Kampong not far from here….

21. #21 by k1980 on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 12:56 pm

I suspect grkumar is actually Maverick Maha, the guy who burned RM100 billion of our taxpayers’ money

22. #22 by grace on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 1:04 pm

I have always admire Lim , Karpal, Chen Mah Hin and their family.
    Easily most of the DAP top guns can find permanent residence in Australia or NZ. But they choose not. Just like Candy Tay did, they choose to say back to fight for a just society for us all.
    My Highest Respect to all you folks. You are indeed the real PATRIOTS!!!

23. #23 by BoycottLocalPapers on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 1:10 pm

I wish the young doctor good luck in his new chosen country. The young doctor should migrate to USA or UK. If USA and UK have no problem accepting Somalian and Pakistani terrorists as citizens, I think they will have no problem in issuing the young doctor a green card. Unfortunately, that is not the case as USA and UK prefer to accept Somalian & Pakistanis as citizens to Chinese.

If you don’t like Western countries, then you could try Singapore. I am sure they will welcome you with open hands.

I migrated to Singapore after my STPM and I love this country as it makes me feel at home. Unfortunately, I don’t have what it takes to be accepted as citizen i.e. academic qualification or a lot of money.

P.S.

Please take note that “Gopal Raj Kumar” is not actually an Indian but an UMNO cybertrooper. It is best to ignore this poster. He keeps on signing as “Gopal Raj Kumar” to make others think that he is an Indian.

24. #24 by goldeneye on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 1:19 pm

The essence of Gopal Raj Kumar’s rant is that the letter writer is not Malaysian enough because he identifies himself as an ethnic Chinese.

But then grkumar contradicts himself by saying, “Be content you are a Malaysian of Chiense dissent. And accept that there is a policy of discriminaiton…”

So first, the letter writer is being blamed for not being Malaysian enough. Next grkumar tells him to accept the discrimination because he is of Chinese descent.

So what is this guy actually trying to say? At first he says it’s your fault for your inability to give up being Chinese (it’s moronic I know) and next he says accept being a Chinese Malaysian and discriminated against.

This sort of contradictory argument is often used by Umno politicians. I won’t be surprised if grkumar is an umnoputra masquerading under an Indian sounding name.

25. #25 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 1:28 pm

Correction:

How true is the Chinese saying: If this place does not welcome me, some OTHER place will welcome me.

26. #26 by sybreon on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 1:29 pm

I was following the story until the part where the author said that, “As a Chinese…” We cannot just blame the government for being race-minded if everyone else is also race-minded too. We have been conditioned from young to think and see things through the filters of race. If we learn to discard that filter for a minute, we will be able to see race for what it actually is – an artificial construct. Most of us hang on to a belief that is only as real as we imagine it to be.

It is very difficult to fight that conditioning in Malaysia but I believe that it is doable.

I wish the author good luck and all the best in the future. However, as some others have mentioned – leaving should not equate abandoning. Please register as a voter and then come back to vote when the time comes. Hopefully, it will help to fix the country into something that you will fall in love with and be able to once again call “home” in the future.

And I hope that wherever you go, you will be able to discard the filter of race, for it will be something quite difficult to do.

27. #27 by ekans on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 1:30 pm

I know of a M’sian who obtained an engineering PhD in the UK, came home and applied for a job at InventQJaya (Doc Maverick’s overly expensive bright idea for stopping the brain-drain), but was not successful. So, this M’sian decided not to waste anymore time and decided to take on a job offer at a R&D oriented company in a neighbouring country where one of the tasks was to help a well-known European luxury car-maker to develop its fuel-cell technology. Wouldn’t this M’sian be more useful to help develop fuel-cell technology back home for say, Proton?

28. #28 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 1:54 pm

and Malaysia continues to be a training ground for professionals and specialists for foreign countries………

29. #29 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 2:00 pm

No worry, soon more loctors will be seeking jobs outside
    Now with so many med schools, loctors are a dime a dozen
    Some of them better learn Japanese, so dat they can go 2 Japan n work as nurses
    2 look after d aged population there
    Good money, better than 2 work as maids or construction workers

30. #30 by goldeneye on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 2:07 pm

We can be Malaysian without giving up our ethnic origins and still practise our unique customs and cultures. For example, Americans, Australians, British, etc are a potpourri of different ethnic origins.

The essential difference is their govt policies do NOT discriminate based on whether they are Jewish or Caucasian or black. All citizens are entitled to the same rights.

So who is responsible for our Malaysian preoccupation with race? If you have state institutionalized discrimination based on race how not for it to be a prominent feature in our society?

Chinese and Indians in Malaysia have no more connection with their countries of origin. I’m sure we all prefer to be Malaysian first and and ethnic origin second but this govt makes it very hard. From govt forms which require your to state your race to school exams where race is coded into your student no., this govt makes sure you never forget. To drive home the point young, Malays go to Matriculation and non-Malays go to STPM. How to be proud as a Malaysian?

31. #31 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 2:08 pm

‘As a matter of fact, the “pain” felt by Mr Anonymous , it is also felt by 14% of the villagers in a small Kampong not far from here….’ (cintanegara)

cintanegara,
    Sorry to hear that you also find a lot of problems in relation to the reign of BN Federal Government under the Umnoputras.

Perhaps it should be time now for you to reconsider your political stand and decide to switch to support Pakatan Rakyat instead of vesting hope in the hopeless Barisan Nasional.

32. #32 by vp74 on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 2:12 pm

Hopefully not all fresh gratuates think like him, without recognise himself as a responsible malaysian, he run away.

Yes, there injustice here. But, for the future of our next generation, we still need to fight, not run away.

I’m Perakian and taking my vote 2 times. I took bus back to my home town Tapah to vote for PR everytimes. Though, both times PR lost. But, I will still continue.

In 308, the people of 6 states (NS which BN no more control 2/3 of DUN) have been awaken. The next should be Johor, Sabah & Sarawak.

As an ordinary Malaysian, I urge the young non-bumi malaysians not to fed up so fast, we stand a good chance in GE13 to bring down BN. Register and vote , for our future.

33. #33 by rahmanwang on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 3:00 pm

Running away will not solve the problems.The root of the problems are rampant corruption.Do you think the malays are not feeling the pinch of the rise in our cost of living,badly tarred roads and haphazard transport system?Right now we just have to wait for GE13 so that BN will be kicked out from the federal government.Or maybe not.UMNO will declare military rule.Malaysia will be a pariah country afterall.Oh what the heck,just do like what the writer wrote.Just leave!!

34. #34 by changeforum on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 3:02 pm

Sad to see another brain got drained. While I myself was tempted to leave for Silicon Valley, somehow I reminded myself not to cop out… that’s exactly what the enemy wants anyway.

If you choose to not be a victim, then nobody in the world can discriminate against you.

35. #35 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 3:56 pm

I can’t believe seeing grkurma aka Gopal Raj Kurma defending Umnoputras again and again vigorously. grkumur is a fake,an impostor indian or mamak.He should also be kassim amat,the idiot,talking nonsense.grkurma disguised as an indian,talked like an umnoputrawarlord and behaved liked mamaktail. Suggest to leave this pathetic impostor aside.

36. #36 by ai57sm on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 4:33 pm

grkumar,

Yr letter is typical of that of the majority who are misdirected and misguided in their understanding of the “problems with Malaysia” (read problems with themselves).

Sound familiar????

‘There is no race and there can never be a race as Malaysian. That’s your citizenship and nationality.’

So because of my M’sian nationality, I can’t be a Chinese M’sian? What a cock talk!

As a Anak Malaysia do I need to give up my ethnicity? What’s a better definition of a Anak Malaysia? As defined by Fed Constitutional article 160?

The last that I checked, M’sia is still a multi-racial secular state as proclaimed by the Fed Constitution of M’sia. Or is there another version of the ketuanan FC that I’m not aware of?

So pray do tell what’s wrong with ‘You identify with a race “Chinese” you are not willing to give up at the same time denying by implication of what you are trying to convey here that you are.’?

Do I need to live as a mainstream Malay M’sian (stipulated as in FC article160) in order to be able to be claimed as an M’sian & enjoys the M’sia’s plenitude, both natural & man-made? That’s cock talk #2!

‘Be content you are a Malaysian of Chinese dissent. And accept that there is a policy of discrimination (positive) like that the advancement of women and indigenous peoples in most advanced societies practice in the west.’

So just because other countries have their ‘open & challengeable’ policies of positive discrimination, does that mean yr M’sia MUST has a ‘non-open unchallengeable’ policies of discrimination for majority? Cock talk #3!

Now back to this cock talker;

How much credibility do u have when

1) u blatantly accused Badawi was the one who signed the ‘cheap’ water treaty to S’pore.

2) u accused the letter writer of trying to Chinesify Malaysia just because his claiming of Chinese-ness & yet what’s yr namesake of Gopal Raj Kumar entailed? Trying to Indianise M’sia?

3) better still u a NOT a Indian M’sian, just like one piggy singh is not a Singh. U r agent provocateur, a paid one, too. No? Pariah cyber-trooper of the nth degree!!!!

Yes one can get multitude of paper degrees by going through the educational processes. But that, indeed, doesn’t mean one has learn. Worst still there is this class of despicable human – intelligence & yet with zero principle. These r the human scums & manipulators.

37. #37 by bearded_beggar on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 6:18 pm

Instead of attacking Gopal Raj Kumar, we can all do ourselves a favour in understanding what he is trying to expound and if there is any truth to it. We do not need to completely agree with him. However, he has some valid points.

And to the detractors who are busy calling people names, focus on the content and choose to disagree, but use logic. Its quite pointless in venting your coloured views on a blog that belongs to the respected Lim Kit Siang. We should honour the man by being constructive.

To the author of the letter…If you have decided to leave and not take up the fight, then just leave. You may have perfect grades but you just don’t have the right mentality. You are certainly not the first to have such grades and you won’t be the last. What does your letter serve to tell us? That you are leaving? Or that Malaysia will miss your capabilities?

I hope that you will find that perfect country that you are looking for. I am not sure if it exist on planet earth. The US and the the UK are definitely not above practising policies that smack of racism. Have we forgotten the Palestine? In fact, aren’t the problems that plague us a legacy left behind by the British. Even the supposedly neutral Swiss have their share of problems…”Nazi loots/treasures in Swiss Bank vaults”. Maybe, any of the cold Scandinavian countries would serve you well? Or New Zealand? Didn’t New Zealand play politics and allowed the French agents to go home and serve their sentence after sinking the Rainbow Warrior? Take your pick. Choose your country.

I do agree with Gopal Kumar Raj on “the value of your education”. You seem to be ignorant of history and the very problems that plague us are also the same problems that plague the world at large. Should we do nothing about it? Certainly not. We should fight. Certainly not run, especially when the situation is not hopeless. This is not Zimbabwe!

You seem to want to make a point before leaving, some sort of a parting shot? What is your objective? You want us to know that Malaysia is a racist country that discriminates and that brilliant persons (such as yourself and others) do not have equal opportunity. Nearly everyone in Malaysia knows this. So, what is your point? That we will miss your brilliance? Or that we will miss your courage?

Malaysia will do better with one less coward. So, please leave. One day, when Malaysia becomes Utopia, you are more than welcome to return to this place, created by those less intelligent people who dared to stay and fight the good fight.

38. #38 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 6:48 pm

o well says umno. We want you to leave anyway. You guys are too smart for us to hoodwink.
    I salute you as well LKS, standing up against these tyrants. If you can send me your bank account number to my email address I would like to make regular contribution to you whenever I can.
    Guys, what say you?

39. #39 by lkt-56 on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 7:10 pm

To the writer,
    You are no doubt young and full of promise and I am sure many countries will accept and appreciate your contribution. It is a loss to our country… unfortunately. Sometimes we get so tired of it all and decide that it is enough. I can only wish that you will find your happiness wherever you have chosen to make your home.

For those who has Kit’s spirit and staying power they will no doubt soldier on and will no doubt find their due reward someday. That day may be near or far but let not worry about it now.

Let us do what needs to be done now and look forward to the next general election when we can have our say.

40. #40 by Godfather on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 8:59 pm

I could not believe today’s report that not a single operating theatre in a public hospital in Trengganu is working. No wonder royalty in Bolehland prefers to go to Singapore for treatment.

So we have facilities that can’t be used, brilliant doctors who want to emigrate, rich people who prefer to undergo medical treatment overseas. What hope is there for the medical profession ?

41. #41 by limkamput on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 9:12 pm

//This is not my nation. I am leaving. Mr. Lim, I salute you and all those like you who can find the strength and energy to fight for an ungrateful bunch of people. How many actually held mass protests, hunger strikes or rose up to defend you and your family when you or your son was imprisoned for fighting for us? //

Ya, we may be ungrateful brunch of people as you described. But I at least we are not running away. As for you, you are feeling cocky and talking big because you have the choice and the intelligence to do so. But try to think for those who are not as smart as you but they too face discrimination and marginalisation like you. You may be smart, but I think you are a lousy person. You think the world owes you a living. We shall see how successful you will be in the country of your choice.

42. #42 by limkamput on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 9:19 pm

a handicap with an indian sounding name is talking cock again.

43. #43 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 9:40 pm

I too admire Malaysians for staying on and fighting the good fight after being imprisoned, threatened and given a bad deal. It is too easy to just keluar. By keluaring, it is also to say defeat. By staying, no matter how bad it can be, it is to say that the fight is still on and there are no winner and no loser as yet. In a battle, the fighter gets hurt. As long as the battle is still on, the fighter will still get hurt. Only hurt. Not dead. But the battle is not over yet. The battle will never be over. There will be others to take over. I love Malaysia. I think she deserves the very best. That is why I am staying to see the day when the very best, the best of the best will finally be hers.

44. #44 by vsp on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 9:40 pm

The UMNOputras thinking is that if the non-Malays were to leave in droves the better it is for the Malays to live in harmony and brotherly love with a common religion. This thinking is puerile, short-sighted and ignorant. History has shown that the Malays have never live peacefully in brotherly love. Prior to the British colonialism of the Malay peninsula, there were constant wars among the Malay states. One Islamic sultan was fighting against another Islamic sultan so much so the country was plunged into the dark age. Even in modern Malaysia, the UMNOputras who have ruled the country for 50 years have never win the affection of more than 60% of the Malays. The reason why they have ruled for so long was because the non-Malays have consistently saved their bacon and prevented their defeat. Now they think that they could do well without the non-Malays.

I bet that if all the non-Malays were to leave Malaysia, the Malays will fight among themselves and also exposed themselves to the new immigrants from Indonesia and Philippines. These immigrants are hardy people and they have the support from a bigger base of compatriots nearby if anarchy were the order of the day. I hope the UMNOputras will not meet with an Armageddon of their own making.

45. #45 by 1to1 on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 9:57 pm

It is the same old story. Brilliant Malaysian decides to emigrate because of …………….

What about the rest who are not brilliant and/or do not have the resources to emigrate?

If, being a Malaysian is of less importance than one’s career opportunities etc., then it is obvious that one should emigrate and start afresh in another country.

OTOH, there are expatriates who have chosen to come to Malaysia to stay, work and they love Malaysia, warts and all.

It is undeniable that an egalitarian culture has yet to take root in Malaysia, but because of rapid globalization, the internet etc., Malaysia will have to adapt and evolve to become a more democratic and egalitarian country in the 21st Century.

That is what Lim Kit Siang and others are fighting for and Malaysians must choose wisely for the future of their children and descendants.

46. #46 by garfunky on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 10:24 pm

Now now guys, you why spit hateful words at the author?

If he chooses to leave, so be it, and if YOU choose to stay, so be it as well. Why judge him? He didn’t preach anything to you so why are you preaching to him?

If you say leaving the country does not solve anything, then you are only partly right. Sure it does not solve the country’s problem, but it sure as hell solves plenty of his own problems.

You’re not saying that given the chance, you would deny your kids a chance for a better life elsewhere?

47. #47 by AhQ on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 11:17 pm

If he chooses to leave, so be it, and if YOU choose to stay, so be it as well. Why judge him? He didn’t preach anything to you so why are you preaching to him?
    //garfunky

He didn’t preach to us? Did you read this: “Mr. Lim, I salute you and all those like you who can find the strength and energy to fight for an ungrateful bunch of people”.

Don’t forget, the medical school he attended in Malaysia (i assumed is a pubic uni) is in part subsidised by Malaysian taxpayers.

48. #48 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 11:18 pm

If you want to go, go lah. Nobody is stopping you. If you want to stay, stay lah. Nobody is forcing you to stay. Malaysia is democratic. You have a freedom of choice. If you choose to say you wanna keluar, then that is your right to your words. And others have the right to comment on what you say because if you do not want any comment, then do not post your thoughts. If we want to be racists, we can say that supposing if there are only Malays around and no Chineses, no Indians, no Ibans, no Kadazans, no other races at all; only Malays; at this moment do be reminded that you have the UMNO, you have the PAS, you have the PKR and you have other Malay parties. Which means if you are not fighting with other races, it means you are fighting among yourself. The author of this letter as I interpret it is indirectly wishing that the gomen of Malaysia can be fairer to him. Somebody once said. Nothing is fair.

49. #49 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 11:41 pm

DeaR aNonymous doctor,

We understand yr sentiments perfectly well. 99.99% of the people as fortunate as you are will feel the same disgust and move abroad. YB LKS and LGE are heroic exceptions.

I have also encourage other bright young lads and lassies like yrsleves to seek their fortunes abroad. And the large majority have done so and most of them have done exceptionally well in their new homeland, much, much more than they will ever be in this country becos of limited opportunities and a regime that is corrupted to the core of their marrow.

50. #50 by daryl on Wednesday, 6 January 2010 - 11:45 pm

This anak bangsa Malaysia is nothing but a statement for a better Malaysia. You are Malaysian and your ethnic group is either Malay, Chinese, Indian, white, black or other group. So use the word carefully because everyone need to be proud of who they are than only we can move forward.

One example that really confuse people is American is not equal to white but refer to US citizens regardless of the color of the skins. But, a lot of ethnic chinese (regardless where they are from) always refer to American as white. Are you confuse yet but what I am saying is Anak Malaysia is nothing but Malaysian. It is just a nice ring to figth against the corrupt and evil BN.

51. #51 by Winston on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 12:06 am

According to the author of this article, it seemed that even those Malays, who are not interested in medicine in the first place, are given places in medical universities. Eventually, they’ll pass the course, then what?
    Will we have half pass six doctors who by their inaptness will tend to mess up their patients more than they cure? No wonder seeing a doctor nowadays could be such a gamble! A gamble with your health!
    No wonder the Federal government has always exhorted the locals to go to local hospitals by saying that they are on par with the best in the world, while they themselves and their families consult medical practitioners overseas? Even those in Singapore seemed to be preferred?
    As for education, they would prefer to send their children overseas to English medium schools as local schools are (with very little English Language subjects?) not suitable for them! Local schools are only for the ordinary Joe!

52. #52 by House Victim on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 2:35 am

I believe the Key concern for anyone should be where to get Justice!! Or, how is the chance of getting Justice!
    The author has proven his ability to struggle through his education of medicine. Therefore, the spirit of struggle could be there, if and only if there is a chance of getting what he wish – the Justice!
    Has the 50 years of BN history provided any light of getting Justice anywhere?

Penang is in the hand of PR, but they do not even dare to help a victim who was assaulted by a lawyer who was paid but did no job and the Police/KUP/AG?PCB had been silent for close to two years!!

The guy was bullied by lawyers, judges and courts. He cannot get any reply from the High Court but was instructed by the Federal Court to appeal on “judgement” unknown!! The Chief Judge and the Chief Justice had chosen to be silent!!

That guy had chosen to stay in Malaysia to fight for the last almost 10 years!! And, so what!! Not a single Party or Politicians had replied to his voice for help!!

The Spirit of being a Malaysian, a Chinese, or, any citizenship is not the criteria to fight for a better lives. It is the spirit of wanting and giving Justice that will help the world better.

Has Malaysia trained professionals with spirit of Justice? If this cannot be found sufficiently even in the Judiciary system or the Government, where can Justice be found or practiced??

SO, GO MY SON/DAUGHTER!!
    FIND JUSTICE AND PRACTICE JUSTICE!! SHOW TO THE WORLD THAT SOMEONE FROM MALAYSIA DO LOOK FOR AND PRACTICE JUSTICE WHEN JUSTICE CAN HARDLY BE FOUND IN OR PRACTICED IN MALAYSIA!!

53. #53 by cemerlang on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 5:35 am

LKS and LGE could have joined the masses and gone overseas. The nearest would be Singapore. LKS can continue a life being a lawyer and LGE can continue a life being an accountant. But like many Malaysians, no matter what the odds are, they stay. For Malaysians who have forfeited their Malaysian citizenship, it is hard for them to fight for Malaysia because they have nothing to do with Malaysia now. They cannot even form a shadow cabinet. If they say they want to fight for Malaysia, people will say they are fighting against Malaysia and wants to conquer her. Many politicians have gone overseas and have shaken the hands of the different politicians from many other countries. They are their first ones to know the race of each and other politician. But they are not telling their own people. Why ? Anybody here still do not know the race of the present President of the United States of America ? Even our own political figures. Are they all Malays ? No. But it is because of the national race of Malaysia that is Malay and that is why wherever they go, they are branded as Malays and of the religion Islam. Or else, why do you think non Muslim countries are afraid of us ? Malaysians, the world does not identify you as a non Malay and a non Muslim. So you should fight for justice.

54. #54 by sotong on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 7:06 am

You are no coward…..leaving for a totally different environment and challenges is courage.

Leave to fight for another day.

55. #55 by taiking on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 8:56 am

Remember my friend. Wherever you may be, do keep in contact by visiting this site. And stay updated with events here too. A change will occur soon. Who knows. You may want to return sometime.

Perhaps DAP can initiate an online “global malaysians connect” thingy.

56. #56 by greef on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 10:05 am

>>You are no coward…..leaving for a totally different environment and challenges is courage.<<
    sotong

Yes he is. A BIG coward, in fact.

If people leave, who is going to fight for another May 8 2008? Where is the next generation of dynamic leaders going to come from?

Imagine if Tony Pua or Jeff Ooi had been a coward like this guy and said "screw it, I want to run away to UK or the little red dot"! Its as good as a surrender to UMNO.

This "self-described brilliant student" preaches about patriotism, but leaves his country to the dogs.

As I said, its his right to want to leave if he wants but DON'T EVER claim that he is patriotic. He does not even know the meaning of the word!

57. #57 by Godfather on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 10:51 am

Limkamput has been unnecessarily harsh with this kid. After all, he is smart and ambitious, and these characteristics are not welcomed in his own country. Yes, I tell young ambitious people not to come back after graduation. I tell them to make a name for themselves overseas, and then spend their holidays back here. In a few years, when the ringgit depreciates even more, it is cheap to come back for holidays and even to maintain a second home here.

I also tell them not to give up their right to vote – and to return at each election to help their fellow countrymen obtain whatever little justice there is through the ballot box.

58. #58 by pgsilai on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 11:29 am

Go, I wish you all the BEST kid! Yes, do well but don’t forget your Aged Parents and come back to vote. Perhaps back and retire here later. I have been struggling here and I want my kids to live and realise their dream since they can’t get it here.

59. #59 by frankyapp on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 12:08 pm

Yeh go,no venture,no gain but don’t forget your nationality. Learn,gain knowledge and wealth. Always remain a patriot,love and depend your country when it needs you. Home is always where the heart is.

60. #60 by frankyapp on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 12:23 pm

sorry….should read “defend “

61. #61 by cemerlang on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 2:07 pm

At least NZ $500,000 = RM 1000000 + for immigration to New Zealand plus other criteria or you are a refugee. It takes courage to live a new life. It also takes courage to continue to live an old life, hoping this life will change for the better.

62. #62 by taiking on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 4:35 pm

Why I think grkumar is not indian. Indians and chinese in malaysia do not support umno. That is a fact. They may if at all support BN (or more generally the gobermen), but not umno. And even then, their support almost inevitably would be limited to supporting their respective ethnic parties in BN ie mca or mic. This kumar fella is passionate about umno. Therefore he must be an umno trooper in indian saree. That is what umno is good at. Trickery. And he is one good example.

Well I could be wrong. One can never tell. It is just my guess.

63. #63 by seongnam on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 5:34 pm

you think you can find justice outside??? Go ahead..Malaysia won’t regret to loose person like you. How about this.. Take a look at the statistic of non-malay medicine student that sponsored by malaysian government that didn’t come back to serve for malaysian.. Is it fair for government to give a chance to study medicine to this kind of ungrateful people?? I think you’ll become one….

Justice huh…how about this..will the moderator publish this comment??….wait and see…

64. #64 by tanjong8 on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 11:22 pm

There are 2 alternatives for the people.

One is to stay behind and fight alongside LKS and the DAP.

The other is to throw in the towel and emigrate.

There is no 3rd alternative – remain quiet in the face of all these nonsense perpetuated by the UmnoUtusans who think they are the Tuan.
    Enough is enough

65. #65 by tanjong8 on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 11:25 pm

If the UmnoUtusans are to continue ruling the country, it will continue the slide down.

Soon it will be overtaken by Indonesia, Phillippines and Vietnam, even Cambodia or Laos or Myammar !

Rise up, man. Join LKS and DAP to fight for your future. Bury these UmnoUtusans

66. #66 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 6:31 am

Kumar may be an Indian who would soon champion the cause like the Kutty guy. He’s only waiting for some handouts.In spite of some of their outward behaviour, they’re just waiting to be ‘accepted’ and then he will act like the Ahmad guy from Penang. Talking about pride!! Like what M. Jackson used to sing” Look at the man in the mirror, Man!!!”.
    By the way, not everyone is like LKS. If all take out full time political career, then the community will be in real trouble because you don’t have PETRONAS to dig! Hence, some do have to try their luck elsewhere. In the modern environment, does big number really mean supreme overwhelming influence? just look at little Is….l! A bet of a billion to one?? It still survives!

67. #67 by garfunky on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 3:21 pm

AhQ :

He didn’t preach to us? Did you read this: “Mr. Lim, I salute you and all those like you who can find the strength and energy to fight for an ungrateful bunch of people”.
    Don’t forget, the medical school he attended in Malaysia (i assumed is a pubic uni) is in part subsidised by Malaysian taxpayers.

Oh, is this why you are upset? Is this also the reason why other commentors here are upset?

I can see why, but that does mean that you are grouping yourself under “ungrateful bunch of people” instead of being grouped under “you who can find the strength and energy to fight”.

Because lets face it, the truth is the Ungrateful Bunch outnumber the Freedom Fighters by a huge number in this country. What do you expect a kid to do in this fight?

The only thing I expect him to do is vote. He can leave the country, go be a gigolo and snort pubic hair for all I care as long as he comes back and votes.

But of course, we won’t even get that if he listens to the more harsher comments on this blog.

68. #68 by House Victim on Saturday, 9 January 2010 - 8:06 am

“Because lets face it, the truth is the Ungrateful Bunch outnumber the Freedom Fighters by a huge number in this country. What do you expect a kid to do in this fight?”

Staying in this country needed to be blinded-folded or has the tolerance of being bullied, not only by the criminals but by those being paid by the Tax payers and have the duty to protect and to enforce Justice. If Rights of Citizen or Residents are not protected, should they be obliged to act as a Citizen or Patriot?
    If one cannot be seen as a “Human” in this country with the basic Human Rights, should they be “caged” in this so called country?

The country had abandoned its People, by the Constitution as well as by the way how it has been ruled in the first place. So, it should also be abandoned by the People!!

The obligation of any Citizens or Residents is to pay Tax and be obliged by Laws. And, not to asked anyone to be Patriotic when they have to live in a “Jungle” with rules of Fists or Power!!