Time For MCA To Ask Najib To Step In – Hishammuddin

KLUANG, Nov 7 (Bernama) — The time has come for MCA to ask Barisan Nasional (BN) chairman Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak to step in to resolve the crisis the party is facing, said Umno vice president Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein.

Hishammuddin said he believed the Prime Minister would not hesitate to assist MCA in trying to resolve its problems as the BN was also affected by what was happening in the party.

“I do not want to interfere in MCA’s internal matters but I am concerned about our (Umno’s) friends. If previously the BN chairman only gave advice, now it is time he stepped in to help out.

“I feel the public also feels the same way. Umno is also not happy with the turn of events in MCA. The people in the end will become bored with us (BN component parties) and look elsewhere for leadership, which will not only be a loss for MCA but the BN overall,” he told reporters after attending a youth carnival here on Saturday.

Hishammuddin, who is also Home Minister and the MP for Sembrong, said all MCA leaders need to be concerned about the overall interests of the party and the BN and not act according to emotions.

The MCA, which is the second largest party in the BN coalition, has been embroiled in a leadership crisis for over a year now. An extrordinary general meeting was held by the party on Oct 10 to resolve the impasse but the feuds amongst the warring factions took numerous twists and turns since then and have only caused it to be mired in deeper trouble.

— BERNAMA

1. #1 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 7 November 2009 - 10:16 pm

Look at the communist China. The MCA politics is like the communist China where a leader may rise and fall for unknown reasons. Look at Deng Xiaoping, and Zhao Ziyang as examples. No one can read the Chinese game of politics because bad tactics are used all the time. Power struggle and power hungry

2. #2 by mendela on Saturday, 7 November 2009 - 10:28 pm

UMNO will need to decide who to lead MCA as a “wrong leader” like OTK might bring dooms to all UMNO leaders if he further digs out the PKFZ shits!

3. #3 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 7 November 2009 - 10:36 pm

“I do not want to interfere in MCA’s internal matters but I am concerned about our (Umno’s) friends. If previously the BN chairman only gave advice, now it is time he stepped in to help out.” (Dato Seri Hishammuddin Hussein)

Didn’t Hisham know that his cousin Najib had already been appointed the de facto MCA National President and the greater unity plan of MCA had received wishful blessing from Najib? What else does Hisham want now? Does he want Liow Tiong Lai to kowtow to Najib and says outloud, “Bang Sai, Emperor Najib!”?

If Hisham really wants to please all the MCA bratty kids, why doesn’t he offer to vacant his post of Home Minister for a replacement by Dr Chua Soi Lek, who seems to be so harded up for a Cabinet Minister’s post? That is the best solution Najib and Hisham can offer in order to make all MCA bratty kids happy and unite in the name of MCA or BN and for MCA Party’s sake!

No matter what, whether MCA bratty kids will unite or not is irrelevant now! The majority Malaysian people would just hope that DAP, PKR and PAS could unite among themselve in order to prepare themselves to lay path for taking over the Federal Government by GE13!

4. #4 by a-malaysian on Saturday, 7 November 2009 - 11:05 pm

“I feel the public also feels the same way. Umno is also not happy with the turn of events in MCA. The people in the end will become bored with us (BN component parties) and look elsewhere for leadership, which will not only be a loss for MCA but the BN overall,” he told reporters after attending a youth carnival here on Saturday.

Sorry kerismoodin, we the public do not share the same feelings. We are very happy with the turmoil in mca and umno and that umno/bn will fall very soon.

Kudos To Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop, Tasting Your Own Medicine Now!

5. #5 by tenaciousB on Saturday, 7 November 2009 - 11:12 pm

Time to ask for Najib to step in…what bullocks? Come on some of us aren’t dumb and ignorant you know!?!!

It was so freakin obvious when Mr.OTK went away after the 1st EGM for obvious reasons to consult Mamakthir and Najis for advice and then with their enlightening ideas the decision was made.

The home ministry Hisapmuddin reinstated the pornstar for obvious reasons apart from the literally obvious reasons..get it. anyways, they may have an opening for him since BN favours anything ala sodomy. CSL’s currently head of rebranding MCA, hopefully nothing too lewd. lol

MCA is a mess like they call it now the Major Calamity Association. It was a major failure last year and i doubt many chinese still support this irrelevant party.

If UMNO was not dumb they would have studied the cause of the lack of voting for MCA and suggested the formation of a new party with the opposing chinese community just like what has happened to the indians whereby the relevant party for the indians is unofficially Makhal Sakhthi and MIC is irrelevant and awaiting to undergo a ‘supernova’ very soon.

UMNO has two wounded and nonviable parties. Ideally one would cut their loses and in this case get rid of these unproductive useless scandalous parties if you really want to have a significant contention in the coming elections. otherwise kiss your initials u.m.n.o goodbye. i pity the fools!lol

6. #6 by ringthetill on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 12:03 am

I think in order for all in BN to survive well into the next century Sham should convince Ah Keat , Najib and Veloo to disolve all parties and form a new one…maybe called 1Malaysia, with membership open to all citizens regardless of race. How about that Sham? Otherwise, every 20 years or so we have a crisis in MCA.

7. #7 by Jong on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 2:02 am

Why is Kishammuddin so disturbed? It all boils down to PKFZ isn’t it and btw which one is UMNO’s candidate?

8. #8 by yhsiew on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 3:57 am

MCA is so obsessed with power struggle that it makes one wonder whether it is a party for the people or a party for a few power-wrangling warlords? To many MCA is merely a anachronistic party which bears no relevance to contemporary Malaysian society.

9. #9 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 4:16 am

By the way, how can such a juicy news be real? Do you think Saudi price can have so much money to give away? How much would that box be? She should not have taken this kind of ‘kickback.’ This was really fishy

Rosmah uses Saudi prince’s RM7mil present for charity

10. #10 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 7:24 am

This is too funny! If Hishamuddin wants to be PM, he got to know when NOT to open his mouth even though his limited brain tells him to.

As screwed up as MCA is, not a single person in MCA think Najib is worth a freaking anything to fix MCA unless he is willing to give a whole lot to MCA. In other words, the truth is MCA leaders thing all UMNO and Najib is good for is giving stuff to them – power, money.. They in fact think UMNO are all worst leaders then them, just that they have it much easier then MCA.

What can Najib do for them? Freaking nothing without causing a lot of pain to some people and that is no solution acceptable to of the parties. If Najib is asked to intefer, a whole bunch will jump to PR because a big group will realise that the largesse and givings from UMNO is begining to be too little to share and they won’t have much anymore – the only reason they are still part of BN and MCA. So if there is not much more to gain, why stay?

It is freaking funny that these UMNO prodigal sons are so full of themselves…

11. #11 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 7:26 am

Hishammuddin’s suggestion doesn’t really help Najib’s/BN’s agenda. Najib’s/BN’s agenda is to win back their traditional support to face confidently the next election.

To win back Malay’s support, the ruling coalition has to show its commitment to tackle corruption and abuse of power. Harping on NEP will not help when its perceived by many Malays as mere pretext enriching only UMNOputras. Harping on Religion, it cannot outcompete & outdo PAS and in fact would alienate Non-Malays/Muslims further!

If Non Malays were actually king makers in mixed constitutencies of a plural society whose support is indispensable (esp when in Bagan Pinang Non maly support there at least turn in favour of BN), then its better for ruling party, desirous of perpetuating power, to heed the wise “basics” of what Tunku Aziz said in thread “1Malaysia: A victim of Mental Fatique” ie: “For true national unity to emerge, we must go back to basics, revisiting the freedoms and rights guaranteed for all Malaysians. The NEP must be applied to all who need support”; “we need to put great store by equal opportunity in education in particular because to me it is immoral and ethically unacceptable to discriminate against the innocent and vulnerable young by depriving them of their rights to higher education;” and “system of governance based on best universal practice that, by implication, is free from corruption ie abuse of entrusted power for private gain”. BN will trimph only if it could on these principles re-galvanise national unity under its banner. For that UMNO has got to tackle and do away with racist and feudal/patronage mindsets and habits of its own party warlords, officials and members….

How does asking BN Chairman, who has so far given only advice to MCA contending factions, to step in further to arbiter the continuing strife (due to futher calls for EGMs) help the UMNO/BN’s agenda?

The premise of such a call is that, if MCA continues divided, BN’s interest at the polls will be jeopardised by MCA’s inability to deliver Chinese votes in next election; maybe one of MCA’s faction marginalised by the other faction holding the reins to party control will be alienated sufficiently to either sabotage MCA’s candidate at the next polls, or like Chuah Jui Meng join Pakatan Rakyat (PR) outright.

This is a questionable premise. Before MCA was thrown into present strife, it was already roundly deserted by its traditional supporters in 2008 March General Election for its image of playing second fiddle to big bully UMNO!

How does MCA being united under UMNO’s auspices/ BN’s Chairman’s intervention translate to the return of traditional support when traditional support was withdrawn in the past in part precisely due to UMNO’s many inerventions??

The support steadily eroded since the days of Tan Koon Swan/Neo Yee Pan’s power struggle, when Koon Swan called for EGM, EGM outcome challenged in court by Neo, UMNO stepped in, first time to stop the court wrangle, second time when Ghafar Bab mediated.

If the grouse and withdrawal of MCA’s traditional support is that MCA were UMNO’s stooge, how does intervention by UMNO to end MCA’s internal power squabbles and restore MCA’s unity help when it suggests only the re-emergence of a united stooge to UMNO, especially when the stooge, albeit then united in March 2008, has equally proven inept and unable to deliver Chinese votes ?

In the premises, Hishammuddin’s advice then that BN/UMNO interferes further from advice to direct mediation of MCA affairs is more likely to be counter productive to the Najib’s/BN’s agenda and help PR’s cause in next election instead!

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 7:45 am

Its not so simple just to say “unity” in the case of BN’s component party is by itself a good thing as opposed to disunity and being fractionalized, hence unable to fight competently the next election.

The paramount question is “”Unity” for what ?

Unity is desirous only if it means unity could help better representation of the legitimate interest of the community it is supposed to represent and improve within the BN’s communal political firmament.

If unity stands for unity to be a stooge, then it is arguable that it better not be united.

Due to historical strife within MCA and interventions by UMNO to restore unity, MCA’s unity also sponsorship by UMNO has acquired a bad image. It does not help and has not proven to help BN’s cause vis-a-vis support of MCA by chinese community. Best leave MCA alone to sort out their own problems than interfere as in the past.

Those who do not learn from history are destined to repeat their mistakes.

13. #13 by limkamput on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 8:33 am

It is blatantly clear that events unfolding in MCA are leaders fighting to preserve their own positions, privileges and power and they have nothing to do with protecting or sustaining the interest of the community and the nation at large. Suddenly unity for what? Only idiots can’t see this. It is beyond me how can these leaders who behave so unashamedly can ever be the guardian of conscience, decency and good governance of Malaysia. They are worse than tong sampah people. How can we ever depend on them to identify issues and make decisions on behalf of the government and the community? When I see them making speeches or officiating functions and being treated like statemen, I have goose pimples all over my body. Our “leaders” and politicians in general are becoming ridiculous.

Politicians not only treat government positions as their private properties, but now with government positions uncertain, they are clinging on to their party posts as their personal properties. There must be still lots of money and assets in MCA, MIC and Gerakan.

14. #14 by lkt-56 on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 10:43 am

They are worse than tong sampah people.
    Got to be careful here as you do not want to give the impression that you look down upon “tong sampah” (garbage collectors) workers.

The MCA fight is indeed about preserving personal positions. If the CC is serious about respecting the CC’s decisions taken in the EGM, the honourable action to take would be for the entire CC to resign and pave the way for fresh elections.

It goes to show that our politicians have no grounding in any ideology that can bind them together in times like this. What we have are just loose groupings each with their own selfish agenda.

Rather than post this article to mock MCA for being unable to solve their own problem. PR should take this as a lesson to look at themselves and avoid similar pitfalls in future.

15. #15 by limkamput on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 10:49 am

//Got to be careful here as you do not want to give the impression that you look down upon “tong sampah” (garbage collectors) workers.//

Not a bit i look down on grabage collectors. I only look down prostitutes in three piece suits, not even real prositutes (hope you get i what mean). Tong Sampah people here means people who values are like garbage, not garbage collectors.

16. #16 by lkt-56 on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 11:09 am

I know what you mean…

As people who work hard and pay taxes, we deserve better than what we are getting and our hopes lie in the future generation.

A change in direction from the current poor state of affairs in the country can only be brought about by those who are in power. If they are not doing it we either get into politics to get ourselves heard or if we do not have the stomach for politics, we can still do our part to ensure that we impart the correct values to our children and those who are younger and less experienced in life.

I believe in staying grounded and I have faith that we are heading in the right direction despite the rough patches we are going throug in this journey…

17. #17 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 11:27 am

PKR should be ridden of PAS, they are such a burden to the contemporary malays. PKR should opt for a single multiracial party that adheres to the needs of every single race with the fundamentals of meritocracy.

In order for UMNO to survive as a significant contender in the coming elections, it needs to terminate MCA and MIC as component parties. This should not be difficult as both these parties suffered loses, has ongoing infighting,scandals and technically have votes of no confidence by the rakyat. Having done that, they may well rename themselves as 1Malaysia party. The muslim fundamentals in UMNO are less extreme than that of PAS and therefore most nonmalays would prefer the former.

All said and done, one can only hope we have a better future in this country and if there is still the sense of impending doom then it’s better to join in on the brain drain. i pity the fools.LOL

18. #18 by boh-liao on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 11:34 am

B4 we forget, MCA = Chinese Malaysians
    Without MCA in the BN gomen, no one will look after the future of Chinese M’sians
    Be happy, grateful that there r ppl like OTK, CSL, LTL prepared 2 kill each other 2 represent Chinese M’sians in the BN gomen
    Nevermind they keep some money 4 themselves
    A bit of crumbs better than nothing
    Now, Umno also concerned abt Chinese M’sians
    Wants NR 2 step in 2 ensure MCA 2 b strong 2 serve Chinese M’sians
    Aiyooh, so nice n touching, kow taou lah, tock tock

19. #19 by lkt-56 on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 11:44 am

Among the three parties constituting PR I see PAS as the party most guided by a party ideology, followed by DAP, and then only PKR which is really such a young party.

I have been following PAS’s seminar and I think the leadership and delegates are all in agreement that PR is the platform to take for us to take Malaysia towards the new dawn (rising sun logo of PR). There may be extremist elements and also elements with communal ideology but I think they are in the minority and do not carry much influence.

It is not impossible for PR to metamorphose into a strong and credible alternative front to counter the BN. As far as I can see the PR leadership of PR know what needs to be done and are trying to correct their shortcomings. I think we should pray that Anwar Ibrahim has the mental strength to withstand the persecution he is facing and soldier on…

The way I see it:
    Anwar – The unifying force between the three major races.
    Kit Siang – The conscience of social justice and denocracy.
    Nik Aziz – The guiding light to morality of the nation.

We have never had a better combination. Let us look forward with optimism.

20. #20 by lkt-56 on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 11:57 am

Barisan National still largely the same:

Najib – Represent Malay Interests
    Tee Kiat – Represent Chinese Interests
    Samy Vellu – Represent Indian Interests

Combined together we have 1Malaysia.

Let us march on to GE13 see who prevails.

21. #21 by monsterball on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 12:09 pm

MCA is such a low class racist party…yet have no guts to defend the Chinese rights…is clearly consisting selfish..cunning corrupted individuals..out to always agree with UMNO..for personal benefits.
    MCA have a track record …teams…fighting for power…and the so cal truce for unity is such low class undignified side show….again for personal benefits.
    Stooped so low..had the late Gaffar Baba step in to settle matters…now same suggestion..by an UMNO minister..known to have a big mouth…good for nothing.
    If a good for nothing can even suggest good for something…you can bet that good for something is for UMNO and MCA…never for Malaysians.
    To me….MCA is shaming..Malaysian Chinese ….just as UMNO is shaming Muslims.
    That’s why they can click as one.
    Both love race and religion dirty politics.
    Mosques and special treatment to Malays…by UMNO..temples and Chinese schools by MCA…for decades.
    Now some cans of worms are opened for he public to know…..and everyone knows…PKFZ RM12.4 billion real master minds….don’t we.
    Yet you get this hypocrites and compulsive liar.. Najib to behave so surprised.

22. #22 by boh-liao on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 12:20 pm

Comedy of errors
    An Umno chief who raised keris n yelled for blood of nonBumi
    Is now asking another Umno chief, his relative, who also raised keris n yelled for blood of nonBumi
    To step (stab?) in

23. #23 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 1:03 pm

///I have been following PAS’s seminar and I think the leadership and delegates are all in agreement that PR is the platform to take for us to take Malaysia towards the new dawn (rising sun logo of PR)/// #17 by lkt-56.

We are sanguine, at peril of great disappointment, to expect PAS will use PR as the platform to take Malaysia towards the new dawn, new dawn meaning greater progress, prosperity and inclusivist politics.

Look closely at PAS president Abdul Hadi Awang’s speech at PAS’s special party seminar. He emphasized that the political reality in a plural society was such that PAS should build on the support of the non-Muslims. Nothing he said suggested commitment in principle to plurality or inclusivistic politics. Basically he reaffirmed PAS’s standing by PR (“we’re all for Pakatan”) and not flirt with UMNO based on pragmatic considerations that sticking with PR still represented the more hopeful option of reaching Putrajaya and controlling the nation’s affairs having to manage the duplicities of UMNO accustomed to being in charge. Besides he wouldn’t at this juncture desire a showdown with the venerated but ailing Tok Guru, Nik Aziz, so a step backward would help in later two steps forward.

It is telling that his commitment to work with and for PR is not so much in line with Tunku Aziz‘s new dawn of “everyone has a place under the Malaysian Sun” basis. The new dawn is the achievement of the theocratic Islamic state.

Now it was pure strategy: (to quote) “We should be reminded that we need to know our limitations on ‘tahaluf’ (political coorperation) and ‘walak’ (loyalty) to the Islamic government,” Hadi said. He is never far from commitment to his ideology. Malaysiakini reported his caveat that “despite reassuring the party’s commitment to Pakatan, Abdul Hadi slipped a reminder to the delegates that PAS must always uphold its Islamic principles despite working with multi-racial PKR and secularist DAP.”

Malaysiakini also reported “a frail-looking Nik Aziz left the stage mid-way through Abdul Hadi’s speech. The much-respected party’s spiritual leader was admitted in the National Heart Institute two days ago after suffering from fatigue. He has just been discharged from the institute.” Did he leave ½ way because of physical strain or something else?

The Tok Guru has been a dominant figure in the party for almost three decades, where his words and actions are revered by party faithful. “But at a special party seminar today, meant to resolve protracted policy issues, it was Nik Aziz who came under the microscope of party delegates and showed he was not all infallible.” Some of the delegates questioned his authority. Negeri Sembilan delegate Mohamad Khairil Anuar Wafa asked delegates to consider who should be the captain of PAS’ ship. (Source – Malaysiakini). This questioning of Nik Aziz’s authority is unprecedented.

Abdul Aziz Bari says ‘Nik Aziz bites like a Komodo’ . But the Komodo is frail. Its opponent recoils like a cobra to abide for the right time to strike again. It is afterall good political strategy.

24. #24 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 1:04 pm

Correction in capitals: “…reaching Putrajaya and controlling the nation’s affairs THAN having to manage the duplicities of UMNO…”

25. #25 by k1980 on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 1:12 pm

I sincerely believe the Chinese community will hold nationwide celebrations the moment the entire mca leadership is shot dead, the way Crown Prince Dipendra disposed of the Nepalese royal family. The same goes for the mic, gerakan, ppp…

26. #26 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 1:19 pm

the Chinese community will hold nationwide celebrations
    Is it time for a Venn diagram?

27. #27 by lkt-56 on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 1:21 pm

Jeff,
    You may be right. But nobody can be sure what’s in a person’s mind…
    Dare to believe that we can make it together and it WILL happen. We will break free from BN’s rule. This is what we aspire for and we WILL it to happen, not withstanding the many doubting Thomas es…

28. #28 by lkt-56 on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 1:29 pm

Is it time for a Venn diagram?
    It is now or … ( I wouldn’t like to say never) ;)

29. #29 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 1:36 pm

k1980 :
    I sincerely believe the Chinese community will hold nationwide celebrations the moment the entire mca leadership is shot dead, the way Crown Prince Dipendra disposed of the Nepalese royal family. The same goes for the mic, gerakan, ppp…

It’s a barbaric way of eliminating a government that has indeed saddened many veterans and citizens of this nation but not what malaysian’s would resort to. We are peace loving, friendly people unlike the americans who deem so but on the contrary wage war on anything that poses the slightest threat to them.

Furthermore, to eliminate in such way discredible parties such as UMNO as such done in ulu countries like nepal is unwarranted for. The best method is to humiliate these sort of scoundrels by voting them out of office and then dismantle their very existence and ideologies and to publicly make available facts and figures embezled by them to be scrutinized by the nation.

Humiliate these so called leaders by broadcasting their incriminating court cases to the public and let that be an implicit example to other leaders to come.

When all the above has occured, only then our nation will be ridden of a corrupt judiciary system and the potential of a real democracy.

30. #30 by undertaker888 on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 1:49 pm

that’s what you get for NEP-produced ministers instead of meritocracy.
    Even their excuses are so lame that even a hungry street dog would spit it out.

They are not even fit to be ADUNs of Kampuchea let alone ministers.

31. #31 by k1980 on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 2:04 pm

There are some 6 million Chinese in this country. For the mca with less than 100,000 members to claim that it represents the community is a big bad joke.

32. #32 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 2:24 pm

Just like MIC that claims to represent the 2 million indians in this country. It only has less than 5000 party members and currently(rumours) no indians support them, most of the previous supporters have joined makhal sakhti.
    lol lol lol

33. #33 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 2:46 pm

“There are some 6 million Chinese in this country”
    Really? That’s a lot of foreigners! When are they going home then?

There aren’t any Chinese in Malaysia who are staying here longer than a few months without special visas. The reason the MCA is failing is that Malaysians have realised that bigoted self-preservation societies don’t actually work in any community’s interest, in the long-run. I think Pakatan Rakyat’s ends would be better served by not perpetuating the problem.

34. #34 by pwcheng on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 3:16 pm

It is hilarious to hear from Hishammuddin that he is now concerned about our (Umno’s) friends. MCA will be a fool to hear his advice as he is one of the cause that leads to the downfall of MCA, drawing out his keris and yelling like a baboon.
    MCA just remember, if you yield to Hishammuddin’s rhetoric, you are in trouble as you should know what is the cause of your disastrous outings in the 12th gen election. ” the cry of “a vote for MCA is a vote for UMNO” will surely ring a bell for you guys . Whatever happen to MCA, just stand on your own 2 feet and resolve it by yourself. NEVER LET UMNO GET THEMSELVES INTO IT, ELSE YOU ARE ASKING FOR MORE TROUBLE”

35. #35 by limkamput on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 3:24 pm

For 50 years, MCA is a party to the conspiracy to subvert this country from becoming a full-fledged multiracial, progressive and modern nation. It is time to let it die a lingering death. I think the present MCA leaders know about this. That is why they have no shame left – to scoop whatever that is still available on the table and under the table. If one has read the traumatic years of Malaya and Malaysia form 1957 to 1965, I don’t think any Chinese Malaysian would ever forgive MCA. MCA represents the worst of Chinese race. All thinking Malaysians must facilitate the demise of MCA as quickly as possible and in the similar vein, MIC, PPP and Gerakan too. This is the only way to force UMNO to either to go alone or seek new partners or go multiracial and multicultural.

36. #36 by pwcheng on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 3:35 pm

It is hilarious to hear from Hishammuddin that he is now concerned about our (Umno’s) friends. MCA will be a fool to hear his advice as he is one of the causes that leads to the downfall of MCA, drawing out his keris and yelling like a baboon.
    MCA just remember, if you yield to Hishammuddin’s rhetoric, you are in trouble as you should know what is the cause of your disastrous outings in the 12th gen election. The cry of “a vote for MCA is a vote for UMNO” will surely ring a bell for you guys . Whatever happen to MCA, just stand on your own 2 feet and resolve it by yourself. NEVER LET UMNO GET THEMSELVES INTO IT, ELSE YOU ARE ASKING FOR MORE TROUBLE”

37. #37 by limkamput on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 3:42 pm

pwcheng, I think you are wrong. You don’t blame others for your own inadequacy. It is not UMNO making use of MCA. It is MCA wanting to be used and abused – like a prostitute.

Rojak, 6 million Chinese refer to Chinese Malaysians, not those from China recently, whether legal or illegal.

38. #38 by somaris on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 3:55 pm

Hishammuddin hahaha you are the one who leads to the down fall of MCA. REMEMBER.?
    MCA you dont need outsides to interfer into ur party. Kick this UMNO OUT.

39. #39 by Dap man on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 3:57 pm

MCA is the eunuch is UMNO’s court. It has to dance to UMNO’s tune and be enslaved as long as it wants to crawl around the court and feed on the crumbs

40. #40 by aiD_kamikuP on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 4:04 pm

“Do not interrupt your enemies when they are making a mistake” said Napoleon.

Do not bother Ho Moh minister and Ker Rhyme minister too.

41. #41 by monsterball on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 4:14 pm

Then Gerakan with 300 members attending …their AGM…with reporters asking no questions…meaning non existing party…..yet Koh feels so proud…because his godfather Najib…loves him.
    Suppose to be “the third force” in BN…the conscience of the people..with no conscience and dignity to close shop and leave BN.

42. #42 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 4:20 pm

Chinese Malaysians
    Is there really any such thing, limkamput? ‘New Labour’ started this nonsense in the UK, around about the time John “Two Jags” Prescott visited Badawi to exchange ideas about “multi-culturalism”. Actually I think they started a little earlier – it might be unfair to blame the Malaysians. Suddenly after generations of some British people being much richer in melanin than other Brits, we had “British Asians”, and then the country really slid down the bowl into their segregated toilets.

Unity is vital for a nation – that’s why categories like “British” and “Malaysian” are so powerful and why it’s so vital not to p!ss about with them. You are British the day you get your registration certificate. Nationality should be purely a matter of documentation. Nobody should feel forced to support anything. Despite what Tunku Abdul Aziz says about “fairweather Malaysians”, they are demonstrating self-determination and choice in the face of oppression. If their nation doesn’t value their contribution, why not take up some other nationality that will?

What is a Chinese Malaysian limkamput? Can you give a definition that’s superior to the one that caused Marina (the Sarawakian girl in the recent “you’re no bumi” article)? I doubt you can – not because you’re less able than any other, but because it’s a fool’s enterprise. If you read other Malaysian blogs and news sites, you’ll see a new article every day by a Malaysian who might have a Chinese ancestor or several, but who feels that “Chinese” or “Chinese Malaysian” doesn’t do them justice as an individual.

I think we have to put away the old thinking habits sooner or later. You don’t seriously have no friends and no neighbours, nor never had a colleague who had ancestors from different countries or continents, do you? On what tortuous grounds are they accepted or rejected as “Chinese Malaysian”? The effects of migration and mobility are not going to be les in the future, they’re going to be greater. Anyone attempting to set themselves up as an authority on racial purity is going to have an increasingly hard time recruiting followers, let alone ensuring the racial purity of their own descendants!

43. #43 by k1980 on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 4:50 pm

Rojakman, there is no running away from race in Bolehland. Even if you were to convert and take the name of Rojak MacDollah ( translated from ben Abdulloh), you will still be required to enter your race as lan-lain in official forms.

44. #44 by limkamput on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 4:59 pm

Rojak, I will try my best to answer your questions. If you find inadequate, I think our resident sage may be able to give you a more comprehensive answer.

First, you said if a nation doesn’t value the contribution of some its citizens, why not take up some other nationality that will. Well this is easier said than done, especially among Asians. Besides, many are not sufficiently qualified for migration to other countries.

Now the more difficult part. A Chinese Malaysian, what is it? Well, as far as I know, a Chinese Malaysian is differnet from a Malaysian Chinese. For most descendents of migrants they have been fighting from day one to be Malaysian first. That is why when Singapore was part of Malaysia (1963-65), Lee Kuan Yew has never failed to fight for Malaysian Malaysia. For most descendents of migrants, they essentially want to be Malaysian first, i.e Chinese Malaysians and Indian Malaysians, a status that will hopefully enable them to enjoy equal and full citizenship of this country. As for “Malaysian Chinese”, I think this is a wrong approach to go. You don’t want stay in Malaysia and still want to emphasize on your “Chineseness”.

I think no body is disagreeing with you – that Malaysians, irrespective of their origin, should be treated alike. The problem is we are NOT. That is why there is this constant need to emphasize one identify – that I am a Malaysian first, Chinese or Indian second or third.

AS for Malays and the natives in Sarawak and Borneo, they are technically more Malaysians than Chinese or Indian Malaysians because they enjoy privileges which are not available to other Malaysians. In the case of Marina, one of her parent is a Chinese and therefore, although Malaysian, she is now a descendent of migrant race.

You may not understand. That is because for you the moment you hold a British passport, you enjoy equal rights and shoulder equal responsibilities as any other British. For Malaysians, holding a Malaysian passport only indicates that you are a citizen of Malaysia. You may have to shoulder equal responsibilities, but you may not enjoy equal privileges.

45. #45 by lkt-56 on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 5:23 pm

Rojakman, there is no running away from race in Bolehland.
    … Until the old order of racial bargaining represented by BN is removed.
    Send a clear message: Malaysians reject institutionalised racism.
    Once we have the dinosaur out of the way, nation building begins.

46. #46 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 5:38 pm

I understand the issue of constitutionally defined ‘special’ Malaysians, but how did that give rise to the pervasive racial categorisation of today? When the Constitution made special provisions for some Malaysians, wouldn’t that naturally have given rise to only two kinds of Malaysians: “special” and “not special”? At what point did “not special” get it’s extra divisions? There’s nothing in law that treats the subdivisions of “not special” differently, is there? Sorry – that might be a digression, it only just occurred to me.

Regardless of historical race-based policies, it ought to be clear to most Malaysians that it hasn’t worked in Malaysia. They would not be surprised if they looked overseas and saw the same pattern in every other nation that has attempted an apartheid system. But when we’re talking about the future, about principle and about what we expect from politicians, what is the value in preserving the confounding attitudes?

One doesn’t have to have Chinese ancestors to feel disappointed, frustrated or even betrayed by the MCA. At this stage in world history, it would take a particularly backwards outlook to even be surprised that they’ve failed.

Even if it was once appropriate to claim allegiance to a specific (but essentially irrelevant) race on the grounds of being rejected from another, it would be short-sighted to continue to appeal to supporters on this basis. If the transformation of Malaysia into a nation for all Malaysians is brought about, on what basis would a party who had campaigned on a race ticket retain their support? I think it’s important to establish a platform on lasting values, rather than ephemeral ones. If we suspect that a party is in politics for the long-term, and is also backing racist ideas and policies, then we have to suspect they are intending to preserve the racist status quo, don’t we?

47. #47 by limkamput on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 8:17 pm

Some years ago, one smart Alec Malaysian minister advised Indonesia to have affirmative action in Indonesia just like in Malaysia. Subsume in this advice was of course the “success” of NEP in Malaysia.

Of course the minister was stupid; 5% non-bumi Indonesians simply cannot support a privilege system for 95% bumi Indonesians. For Malaysia it has worked for a while because the number of bumi and non bumi was about 50-50, so the privileges accorded to one group at the expense of another was working. However, besides the abuse of NEP, the situation now is different. The percentage of bumi has increased significantly when compared to non bumi. With 70-75% bumi population, I think it would be very difficult to continue the patronage and privilege system. First the non bumi would feel the burden increasingly heavy. Second, the “queue” for the privileges that the bumi are enjoying now will be getting longer. One example: Just look at the number of class F contractors. Although the number of contracts has increased, the queue among the class F contractors is getting longer. So also are other queues like scholarships and jobs in the civil service and GLC.

Not only the queues are getting longer among the bumi wanting to enjoy these privileges, the Malaysia economy is also likely to get more inefficient because now we have more and more inefficient people “running” the economy (I am making an assumption that those who secure the contract based on privileges can not be as efficient as those who got it on merit).

48. #48 by vsp on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 8:49 pm

Hands off? you moron Hishapmuddin. When UMNO was in crises, and there were many in its history, it dragged the whole country into the mud and resulted in many draconian laws being drafted in order to repair and protect UMNO standing and hegemony. Nobody interfered in their bloody business then. Now one of its coalition partners is in a minor crisis and it wants to interfere.

Let’s see what UMNO crises had done to the country:

1) When the UMNO founder, Hussein Onn wanted to unite the country and opened the party to all races, the warlords protested and forced the president out of the party. Thus began the racist makeup of the country.

2) When Tunku Abdul Rahman was inclusive for all races, those racists staged a coup d’etat and forced out Tunku through the May 13 incident. The ISA was given a lift on the pretext of fighting Communism but in actual fact it was to protect UMNO’s interests.

3) The ascendancy of the Mahathir’s obnoxious regime led to the emasculation of the judiciary; the raiding of the Constitution to be replaced by many draconian laws such as the Police Act, the Printing Act, the elevation of a Minister’s decision over the oversight of the Judiciary; the radicalisation of the Civil Service by making it lopsided to the detriment of race relations. Prior to the ascendancy of Mahathir the Civil Service was well-balanced and respected but with Mahathir’s policy the Civil Service became a one-eyed monster. The Police became a mafia organisation tasked to serve only the interests of UMNO.

4) The Constitutional crises between UMNO and the rulers led to the emasculation of the principle of the monarchy.

Thus it can be seen that UMNO is the real enemy of Malaysia. It is the embodiment of the old Communists which sucks the vitality of its people and leaves them impotent and defenceless. Now UMNO being led by incompetents and reckless desperadoes, the country is at its nadir. Until the people open their eyes and weaned themselves off the “1Malaysia” jingoistic UMNO opiate, the country would surely joined the ranks of Zimbabwe, Burma and North Korea.

49. #49 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 10:24 pm

i couldn’t agree more vsp. The real enemy of the state is UMNO – undisputed mockery nearing obituary!

50. #50 by albert308 on Sunday, 8 November 2009 - 11:17 pm

ROS decisions to reinstate Chua SL as deputy president is the instruction of PM without doubt. Technically, Najib already step in MCA’s affairs under OTK’s Master Unity Plan. The power game in MCA is reshuffling with more interesting struggle among warlords.
    Ong TK might retain his position but it will not last longer after the end of tenure. He had lost repect and credibility, currently depend on Najib to survive as president. However, he will be the puppet to Chua SL and Umno from now.

51. #51 by vsp on Monday, 9 November 2009 - 12:43 am

Sorry, founder of UMNO is Dato’ Onn Ja’afar

52. #52 by monsterball on Monday, 9 November 2009 - 2:57 am

Whose son is Hussien Onn…our ex PM….and Hishamuddin is his good for nothing grandson.

53. #53 by tenaciousB on Monday, 9 November 2009 - 4:22 am

The problem with these people are they expect to descend onto the throne of their forefathers.

Hishammudin thinks just like Najib whose dad razak was pm and so it shall be his turn and eventually he got the post, and now hisamuddin believes he’s entitled to the throne next.

Therefore it’s a baseless, herridatory scheme plotted since mamakthir’s time. cronism and nepotism are their middle names. LOL

54. #54 by taiking on Monday, 9 November 2009 - 8:55 am

“The MCA, which is the second largest party in the BN coalition, has been embroiled in a leadership crisis for over a year now. ”

Wot? Its more like since Ong Ka Ting’s time.

55. #55 by taiking on Monday, 9 November 2009 - 12:44 pm

Now that is odd. Najib the bully could step into mca anytime and stomp on anyone’s foot. Why doesnt he? Instead he got his cousin to initiate a request by mca for some foot stomping by najib. Bottom line jib, dont wayang. It will not undo umno’s bully culture and attitude.

56. #56 by LG on Monday, 9 November 2009 - 1:46 pm

Who is Hishammudin? He behaves as if he is the waiting PM. He is the No. 2 in UMNO/BN (and not our DPM the old foolish Muhyiddin ) after Najib. Pricking MCA. Pricking the Chinese Malaysia when he said that Teoh committed suicide when investigation is only just began. Pricking the Indian on the cow-head incident. He has pricked so many people and groups like Bar Council, Perak people, PAS, Malaysian concerning the ISA, etc.

One day if he become the PM, he will wield the UMNO keris that he is now keeping. Much blood will be shed as he previously declared.

57. #57 by k1980 on Monday, 9 November 2009 - 3:50 pm

Time For MCA To Ask Najib To Step In, says Hishammuddin

Wonder what would happen if OTK says
    “Time For MCA To Ask Najib To Step DOWN“?

58. #58 by ktteokt on Monday, 9 November 2009 - 10:59 pm

Are we trying to create a “dynasty” for the sons of ex-PMs? I thought dynasties were out since the end of the feudal system?