1Malaysia: A victim of mental fatigue

By Tunku Aziz

Najib’s 1Malaysia propaganda campaign, now in full swing, has taken on the uncanny appearance of a blitzkrieg that would have the Fuehrer of the Third Reich double up in the Reichstag in uncontrollable ecstasy. It really is that funny. The single-minded mindless saturation bombardment of the media, at what financial cost we will never know, has already begun to show all the tell tale signs of mental fatigue and psychological rejection. I am told that it is not unlike the metal fatigue that put a premature end to the promising start of the world’s first commercial jetliner, the Comet operated by British Overseas Airways Corporation more than four decades ago. Perhaps there is a lesson the 1Malaysia strategists could learn from history about over indulgence. There can be too much of a good thing for their own good.

I have been asking our prime minister, as indeed many others, to venture beyond sloganeering and spell out in terms that are concise and clear what he has in mind when pontificating on what appears to thinking Malaysians to be nothing more than a party dogma being shoved down their throats as part of a ploy to regain the non-Bumi electoral support. If Najib really believes that voters are going to buy his half-baked1Malaysia cake as an article of faith- that is more form than substance, he should put it to the test by going back to the country for a fresh authority or mandate to govern. His legitimacy is in serious doubt. The UMNO process of succession is open to question.

The unfortunate impression I get is that 1Malaysia is all about the pathetic charade of bonhomie and back-slapping of the ‘open house’ variety. Please do not get me wrong: I am not an unsociable sloth. I do like some people, believe it or not. My point is that if it is national unity that the admirable prime minister really wants for Malaysia’s sustainable future, then the trick is to work towards achieving smooth and seamless integration that will stand the test of time.

National unity is not a product that can be created by legislation or administrative edict or order; it is a process that requires a complete change of behaviour and attitude, a mental overhaul that can only be achieved through a dynamic social, economic and political regime that puts equality of opportunity at the very top of our national agenda. We need to put great store by equal opportunity in education in particular because to me it is immoral and ethically unacceptable to discriminate against the innocent and vulnerable young by depriving them of their rights to higher education. How, in heaven’s name can we expect them to identify themselves with the country of their birth if, in spite of their achieving more than the standards set, still fail to gain a place? A policy of exclusiveness can produce only one outcome–disaster! There is plenty of evidence to be seen in our society of the futility of pursuing this evil policy. Equal opportunity must be the cornerstone of national unity.

While I can readily understand the underlying imperatives of the New Economic Policy, I do not accept that you can justify positive discrimination except by implementing it in strict observance of its aim which is to alleviate poverty of Malaysians irrespective of ethnicity or religious leanings. But as we all know, the spirit of what was intended to be a great social leveller has from its inception been blatantly violated for the benefit of the few politically connected self-proclaimed Melayu Baru, a breed happily mired in corruption in all its manifestations.

For true national unity to emerge, we must go back to basics, revisiting the freedoms and rights guaranteed for all Malaysians. The NEP must be applied to all who need support. The draconian Internal Security Act as applied to date has no place in our society. Enact a new Anti-Terrorism Act for that specific application, and not to use it to terrorise and inflict pain and suffering on our own people. I wonder if Najib’s ideas which underpin his 1Malaysia will ever converge with the modest and legitimate expectations of our multi-cultural society.

I am inclined to believe that people should be left to their own devices, and just as water eventually finds its own level, so do people. The duty of the government is to govern in ways that put the welfare and the interests of the people above all other considerations. In effect this means a system of governance based on best universal practice that, by implication, is free from corruption which according to Transparency International is the abuse of entrusted power for private gain. Could the founding fathers of TI in 1993 have been thinking about our political leadership when they developed this formulation? I wonder.

1. #1 by k1980 on Saturday, 7 November 2009 - 11:17 am

A good ebook to read at your leisure

“The Next Front: Southeast Asia and the Road to Global Peace with Islam”

(needs Winrar to extract and Adobe Reader)

http://depositfiles.com/files/fb8ufmzx9

2. #2 by carboncopy on Saturday, 7 November 2009 - 11:22 am

Is this the source of Najib’s 1Malaysia?

‘Ein Volk, ein Reich, ein Fuhrer!’
    ‘One People, One Nation, One Leader!’

Source : http://whatalulu.blogspot.com/2009/10/lulu-shuddered-when-she-read-headline.html (got picture there)

3. #3 by k1980 on Saturday, 7 November 2009 - 11:39 am

Deng Xiaoping– “1 country, 2 systems”

Jib– “1malaysia, 2 castes (tuans and pendatangs)”

4. #4 by a-malaysian on Saturday, 7 November 2009 - 12:17 pm

The more PM Najib speaks, the more it shows his hypocrisy and stupidity. The more he talks the more it deviates from his own manufactured slogan of “1Malaysia, People First Performance Now” rhetoric.

Najib’s Statements Smacked With Hypocrisy And Stupidity

5. #5 by tenaciousB on Saturday, 7 November 2009 - 12:24 pm

Najib’s changed his speech techniques, he’s put in some artificial emotional umphh into it. brushing up on the old acting skills. earlier on you could tell he was absolutely disinterested and unpassionate about whatever he had to say. I think someone would have adviced him to change.

also his wife’s busy rounding up some good publicity for him too. the recent ‘fairy tale’ gift from a a very rich prince. lol

6. #6 by taiking on Saturday, 7 November 2009 - 12:44 pm

Quite clearly he thought racial unity can be had merely by singing a song; and for added effect by singing it over and over again.

And know wot? It works. It actually does! My eyes are already welling up this very instance at the thought of jib and his jibby 1malaysia.

I will leave my office in a moment and I have decided to head straight for khairy’s place. I want to embrace him. And I want to tell him this: “Yo Bro, kita semua satu malaysia, ya. Wot’s mine is yours. Wot’s yours is mine. Mari. Let us unite.”

“Err Jane can you find out for me if toyo is in today. He is next after khairy.” “Cheers.”

“Slam.” “Vroom.”

7. #7 by k1980 on Saturday, 7 November 2009 - 1:23 pm

//“Yo Bro, kita semua satu malaysia, ya. Wot’s mine is yours. Wot’s yours is mine. //

The Javanese toyol will say “Wot? Me punya RM24 million palace is yours? No can do. Porlah! “

8. #8 by freedom to speak on Saturday, 7 November 2009 - 2:02 pm

Sdr LKS

The idea of Najib as a “hero” is being “drilled” into the population by the government controlled media. Subtle or not it is happening and the mass population is not on the internet to read about his “underhanded antics”.
    Recent target is the poor and destitute. Media harping on his “I care for the poor”. These poor and people related see his “good deeds” and are “influenced” by this.
    The saying, “don’t bite the hand that feeds you” applies. Pakatan has not been able to reach these poor because of lack of funds. Looks like Najib beat you guys to it with his deep deep pocket of funds.
    Note: Najib’s image consultants are really pushing and forcing his “saintly” character on us daily.

What is Pakatan planning to do with all its bad publicity on the news these days?

9. #9 by taiking on Saturday, 7 November 2009 - 2:04 pm

Huh? Wot? Palace not mine? But But But jib sa.. said …

Ah hah (hi hi hi) let me work on the sons of mamak then. Yes. Yes.

10. #10 by monsterball on Saturday, 7 November 2009 - 5:18 pm

Concerning Najib…nothing to worry about.
    He is not going to fool educated Malaysians with his slogans..and the slogans are exactly to try fooling… young educated Malaysians.
    If PR cannot win the 13th GE…it will be their own doings.
    As it stands..Najib’s low class cunning personality is wellknown..not forgetting ..he is such a big liar too.
    An idiot who is compulsive liar…made to look intelligent and honest…through completely control of all medias…will also not work…in computer age.

11. #11 by tenaciousB on Saturday, 7 November 2009 - 6:44 pm

i agree, Najib can’t fool the educated malaysians, he certainly fools the uneducated lot, for example that’s how he won over the bagan pinang constituency. The poor citizens who are not so bright and easily bribed into voting for a dodgy BN is a demonstration on how they will continue to thrive.

it’s a pity the educated malaysians who are aware of this current government that never delivers, heavily corrupted and has practically stunted the growth of the economy if not sending it backwards in terms of progress.

The customized democracy practised by UMNO is something that should have been heavily criticised since the beginning of mahathir office. It has now become a cancer that is treatment refractory.

12. #12 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 7 November 2009 - 7:43 pm

Najib doesn’t need to fool the educated Malaysians. He can just wave bye-bye to them at KLIA.

13. #13 by Loh on Saturday, 7 November 2009 - 7:45 pm

Najib said that some Malays still need NEP. That means some other Malays do not need NEP.

So Najib should remove all the government rules and regulations established to implement NEP, so that the Malays who do not need NEP will not gain unfair advantage at the expense of those Malays who need NEP, and non-Malays. Identify those Malays who need NEP, and then establish new policy guidelines to help only those Malays who need help. Najib declare that 1Malaysia is for all, and certainly there are none Malays who need help just like the Malays who need help. Would the government then extend the help which it provides to the so-called needy Malays to needy non-Malays? Let the needy citizens enjoy 1Malaysia under Najib’s administration.

Since Najib mentioned that there are Malays who still need NEP. He should spelt out the parameters of those Malays who need NEP.

14. #14 by tenaciousB on Saturday, 7 November 2009 - 8:40 pm

Furthermore, the so called NEP has funded many malays overseas and currently is in a deficit of billions which are not looking too promising in terms of repayments by these so called very much ‘grateful’ malays.

i pity the fools! is what Mr.T would say. LOL

15. #15 by ReformMalaysia on Saturday, 7 November 2009 - 10:27 pm

1Malaysia?

Kononnya Satu Malaysia !!

Kononnya Rakyat didahulukan !!

Kononnya Pencapaian Diutamakan !!!

KONONNYA !!