Super cover-up of RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal?

1. RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal.

The Cabinet decision last month to set up a super task force, headed by Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Mohd Sidek Hassan, to take over all investigations into the PKFZ scandal is not a demonstration of political will to get to the bottom of the “mother of all scandals” but the opposite.

I see it as a major step backwards in public accountability and good governance, as it smacks of being a super “cover up” task force for the PKFZ scandal.

What is needed is a Royal Commission of Inquiry to conduct a comprehensive and no-holds-barred investigation into the “mother of all scandals” including relevant Ministerial and Cabinet aspects of the scandal instead of trying to sweep the whole issue back under the carpet.
    In the first place, is Mohd Sidek the most appropriate person to head the super task force on the PKFZ scandal?

Before Mohd Sidek takes up this appointment, he should explain to the Malaysian public why he had failed in the past two years to carry out the Cabinet decision in July 2007 when it resolved on the RM4.6 billion bailout of PKFZ, including giving retrospective approval to the four illegal Letters of Support unlawfully given by the two previous Transport Ministers, Tun Dr. Ling Liong Sik and Tan Sri Chan Kong Choy, that the Chief Secretary should conduct an inquiry as to how the four Letters of Support could have issued unlawfully and to take the necessary disciplinary actions against the culprits who have now landed the country with a RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal.

Did Mohd Sidek carry out such an inquiry as not a single culprit had been identified, let alone penalised for the unlawful issue of the four Letters of Support in the past two years ?

Clearly, Mohd Sidek had not carried out the Cabinet instruction or there would not be today a merry-go-round of multiple investigations into the PKFZ scandal, but all without the necessary sweeping powers to get to the bottom of the scandal.
    Can Mohd Sidek succeed where he had failed in the past two years? I hope Parliament is given a specific answer to these questions in the ministerial replies.

I have always maintained that the MCA, as the party which is most implicated in the PKFA scandal as so many MCA top leaders involved whether as Transport Minister or Port Klang Authority Chairman, should take a stand to ensure that there should be no further cover-up of the PKFZ scandal and give total support in Cabinet and Parliament for a Royal Commission of Inquiry to bring to book all MCA, Umno and BN leaders implicated in the PKFZ “mother of all scandals” – but unfortunately, the PKFZ scandal is being used only as a pawn in the ongoing MCA power struggle.

2. Closure of V.K. Lingam case, as revealed by Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz that no legal action would be taken despite the recommendation of the Royal Commission of Inquiry into Lingam Tapes that action be taken.

3. The crisis of confidence in the key institutions in the country is also highlighted by Raja Petra Kamaruddin’s two days ago, viz:

“To those who walk in the corridors of power, I wish to inform you that I know you are beating up my son in the Sungai Buloh Prison. Every day he is being subjected to beatings to force him to withdraw his not guilty plea and to plead guilty to the various charges he is facing.

“I also know he is being subjected to these daily beatings to force him to withdraw his not guilty plea and instead plead guilty because there is no evidence against him and the charges are merely trumped-up charges.

“Furthermore, I know he is being threatened with six additional charges to the ones he is already facing and he is being beaten up to force him to plead guilty to these charges as well.

“My son has informed me he can no longer stand these daily beatings and he wants to plead guilty to the charges. I have advised him to do so although we both realise that this means he will be spending at least ten years or so in jail.

“My son is aware he is being subjected to this torture to induce me to surface and he is prepared to plead guilty and spend ten years in jail if that means it will save me from the powers-that-be.

“Today, Barisan Nasional is in power so it has the power of life and death over its citizens. Well, who knows, one day Barisan Nasional might be kicked out and Malaysia will see a new government.

“Those behind the effort of torturing my son with these daily beatings had better hope that Barisan Nasional stays on as the government for a long, long time to come. If not, and if Barisan Nasional falls, then rest assured it will be retribution time and all those people who are using my son to get to me will be made to pay for it.

“And, please, this is not a threat. This is a promise. And that is all I wish to say about the matter.”

4. Parliament and the nation are entitled to a full and satisfactory response to RPK’s blog.

[Speech6 in Parliament on 2010 Budget on 29.10.2009]

1. #1 by -ec- on Friday, 30 October 2009 - 3:05 pm

items 1 & 2: culprits and those acted intentionally, irresponsibly, negligently or ignorantly or lawlessly must face the music. “kill the chickens to warn the monkeys”

2. #2 by limkamput on Friday, 30 October 2009 - 3:20 pm

Sdr Lim, please allow me to post my comments on the recently announced NAP and the budget proposals here.

What competitiveness and innovation? What the government does each budget is to squeeze the people more so that it can give more protection to the cronies and vested interest groups. Just a few examples:

1. National Automobile Policy. This bl**dy stupid policy is nothing more than aiming at helping some asses to be billionaires. After such a long wait, the AP system is further extended to 2015. Tell you what; come 2015, they will extend it to 2020 to coincide with the blind vision 2020. Anybody wants to wager with me (i.e. provided BN is still in power then). PR, i wish you fellows will relentlessly apply pressure on this; I think the people will support you. Can’t you see they are treating us like kids, thinking we can be hoodwinked year after year while they grow rich beyond belief.

2. Then what about the annual inspection for all cars that are more than 15 year old. Look, I will not exchange my 15 years old marque for a locally manufactured new car and yet they want to inspect my car yearly and later scrap it. How good can the inspection be? It is another layer of bureaucracy, another opportunity to solicit bribe. The durability and the quality of a car is not dependent on the number of years one owns it, you stupid government. Beh tahan already.

3. Oh, one more thing, we can’t import used parts and components anymore. See the stupidity here. If my marque needs a windscreen or a tail-light, what is wrong with me importing the used parts and components from the original manufacturer? In what way it is unsafe and environmentally unfriendly? The original used parts are at least better than the new fake. Remember, we can’t even manufacture an automatic car window system here!

4. Imagine credit cards are taxed when they are supposed to promote efficiency in the payment system. Imagine the cost saving because of credit cards. Now imagine what if most of us refuse to use the credit cards anymore – banks, merchants, hotel, and the government would all be jammed up. So why are we taxed when we have helped to attain cost saving and efficiency. Where is the “efficiency dividend” you stupid government?

5. RPGT. Now the government want 5% of all property we own. We have taken years to own something. Now as we grow old and want to sell some of these assets, suddenly this do nothing government now wants 5% of whatever we have taken years to make. It is as if all these years we have not paid enough of other taxes for you asses to squander.

6. I have not commented on all the wasteful and good for nothing expenditures incurred by the government yet. I think we have makan sh!t people advising government on economic policies and we have sh!t people running the government. I am really pissed.

3. #3 by undertaker888 on Friday, 30 October 2009 - 3:25 pm

Limkaput,

Beautifully written. Agree with you 100%.

4. #4 by gofortruth on Friday, 30 October 2009 - 3:58 pm

Limkamput,
    Thanks for the superb analysis. We have more reasons to vote Pakatan Rakyat for change.

Najib = Prime Minister of COVER UPs!!! And monkey see monkey do, MACC is trying desperately to cover up TBH’s murder.

5. #5 by Godfather on Friday, 30 October 2009 - 4:03 pm

Limkamput:

They have already decided to extend franchise APs until 2020. They tried to masquerade this by announcing that Open APs will be terminated by 2015. Yes, by 2020, they will extend the AP system for another 5 – 10 years just to keep the money rolling on.

6. #6 by Godfather on Friday, 30 October 2009 - 4:27 pm

Franchise APs are those given to the AP Kings, to Naza and also to people like the niece of the Fat Lady, and to the son of Mamakthir.

7. #7 by limkamput on Friday, 30 October 2009 - 5:08 pm

F the AhPiah, whether francise or open. This ass must stop now, not next month, not next year, not 2015 or 2020. Would PKR and PAS do it?

8. #8 by k1980 on Friday, 30 October 2009 - 5:30 pm

//I think we have makan sh!t people advising government on economic policies and we have sh!t people running the government.//

Blimey, matey, so it took you all these years to realise this! What had you been doing all this while?

9. #9 by citizenwatch on Friday, 30 October 2009 - 7:27 pm

Raja Petra said yesterday that any of the regimes that held on to power has one common denominator helping it and that is the police and to declare war on the police. But I feel strongly, it is the mainstream media (MSM) that is helping BN to hold on to power. Why? Simple. When police, a judge, BN politician or any BN inclined civil servant had done wrong, they can still sleep well because the next day there’s no reporting of their bad deed in the MSM. Let’s declare war on the MSM! Strategize, do whatever we can. Boycott, burn the MSM newspapers, anything. That’s the way to go. Go for the jugular.

10. #10 by k1980 on Friday, 30 October 2009 - 8:41 pm

If former French president Jacques Chirac can be ordered to stand trial on embezzlement charges, why can’t Malaysia do the same?

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/world/41892-frances-chirac-to-face-embezzlement-trial

11. #11 by limkamput on Friday, 30 October 2009 - 8:50 pm

//If former French president Jacques Chirac can be ordered to stand trial on embezzlement charges, why can’t Malaysia do the same? //

Where have you been? Timbaktu?

12. #12 by monsterball on Saturday, 31 October 2009 - 5:33 am

Too much being revealed on the PKFZ scandal.
    That must be stopped.
    That’s how UMNO operates.
    PKFZ scandal stays at that level….half done…so that it will always be… not enough evidences ..this and that..that will be planned to protect crooks in court..that may spill the beans…involving so many welknown past ministers and leaders.

13. #13 by boh-liao on Saturday, 31 October 2009 - 9:55 am

What scandal? Sandal maybe
    Even if there were to be a full exposure
    So what? What me worry, so said Umnoputras
    Ask the pomp pomp stiff rod
    Did he ever have a sleepless night
    Even with the Royal Commission of Inquiry into Lingam Tapes
    No lah, not a sleepless moment
    Never heard of this fairy tale ending phrase ah: “and they lived happily ever after.”
    Get real, this is 1Malaysia, there is The ONE up there who jaga everything, magician, poof

14. #14 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 31 October 2009 - 10:06 am

SUPER? Its a cover-up all right. Its pathetic and blatant but super? You give them too much credit…

15. #15 by taiking on Saturday, 31 October 2009 - 12:51 pm

k1980 :If former French president Jacques Chirac can be ordered to stand trial on embezzlement charges, why can’t Malaysia do the same?
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/world/41892-frances-chirac-to-face-embezzlement-trial

Errr because we have angkasawan (???).

Yes. One point.

And why is the pkfz scandal being covered up?

Err because we have angkasawan and singapore doesnt!

Right again. Two points for your answer.

“Huh?” “Two points?”

“Yes” “Two points” “One point for ‘we have angkasawan’ and another for ‘singapore doesnt'”

… and the winner is onemalaysia.

… another public relation exercise by umno.

16. #16 by siapatau on Saturday, 31 October 2009 - 1:22 pm

Ini semua sandiwara UMNO/MCA untuk menutup publisiti PKFZ. Manusia adalah species yang mudah lupa.

Ingat kenyataan PM pasal juta-juta penyelewengan duit rakyat 1Msia, tidak semua akan dihadap ke undang2 Msia.

Bukankah penyelewengan itu tak kira ratusan, ribuan atau jutaan adalah salah disisi undang2? Bukankah penyelewengan merupakan kesalahan penyalahgunaan kuasa? Bukankah itu tanggungjawab MACC untuk bertindak?

Rakyat 1Msia patut memberikan kerjasama untuk membanteras
    UMNO = Undi Money Not Others.

17. #17 by monsterball on Saturday, 31 October 2009 - 4:11 pm

We are real.
    We are ready.
    It is few trying to find out ….what PR is planning…that are not realistic and reasonable.
    They know too well …PR is working under almost impossible working conditions.
    Yes..PR is no perfect. Who is?…..but PR does not hide anything.
    So…who should get real?….those MCA twisters or kopitiam fellas.

18. #18 by monsterball on Saturday, 31 October 2009 - 4:18 pm

UMNO is banging on the hope…Malaysians easily forget.
    So many cases…all must be reminded….from time to time.
    So get real and be prepared to vote for change in government…period.
    When you think “for or against”….not buts…if and why…you can read so many comments…that we know who are for …and who are against..who are sitting on the fence..and who are trying to be too smart..telling others to get real…that are actually supporting UMNO should govern forever…with MCA puppets on the strings.

19. #19 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 1 November 2009 - 10:29 pm

limkamput is very right. There are more sorry tales than there is time or space to write about them.

I see Najib as a big snake, gradually swallowing the public….and often, without them knowing. Look at all his measures so far…it’s for cronies again. While his tongue drips sweet-nothings for the Malaysians of all races, so he says repeatedly, his back hand is moving in unseen ways to enrich his cronies. I mean, this is the same guy who gave away a few hundred millions for a crony on the submarine.Does anyone think this najib fella cares about Malaysians? Does anyone honestly think he cares two hoots…even one hoot…or half a hoot. Ha, just look at him ….

20. #20 by blablowbla on Monday, 2 November 2009 - 9:24 am

we just look at MACC leaders’ crooked face,we realized that they are not going to do anything to PKFZ culprits,just like the Lingam-Video scandals,bcos the masterminds behind it are very-2 powerfull,nobody dares to touch them!

unless these mega scandals being brought to international platforms,such as US cabinet, The Hague or United Nation,otherwise these BN devils are not afraid of anyone,correct me if i m wrong!

they are thinking that if Myanmar’s gomen is untouched,Malaysia will be ‘sefeguard’ too!

I wish to remind them,maybe they have forgotten,who is saddam!

21. #21 by jamalmalikslumdog on Monday, 2 November 2009 - 2:02 pm

The sad reality is the poorer kampung folks and the uniform groups are easily swayed into voting BN.

Those with access to the internet are better informed about the ill gotten gains of the BN component parties and hence, cannot be fooled.

The challenge is to work even harder by getting the message across to the kampung folks who are the simple minded who believe the BN trickery. They hold the key to the ballet boxes.