Beng Hock’s bank account: It’s you, MACC, that’s broke

By Helen Ang | Oct 16, 09 5:21pm | Malaysiakini

I refer to the Malaysiakini report Ean Yong furious Teoh’s bank account revealed.

I’ve always wondered who it is that frequent five-star shopping malls like the Pavilion or browse in those posh bungalow boutiques. Now I know it’s not Teoh Beng Hock. He was a lot like me, an ordinary wage earner.

We learn from the MACC that Beng Hock had slim savings amounting to RM3,611.36. Counsel for MACC at the inquest, Abdul Razak Musa inferred this to support his contention that Beng Hock was in dire need of money to get married at short notice…to what purpose this insinuation by the authorities, I do not know.

But here is a case of Razak being unfamiliar with Chinese urban lifestyle. Of all the Chinese weddings I know of, every single one has made a profit from the reception dinner. The ‘ang pow’ collection, more often than not, generously exceeds the cost of the banquet. After paying the restaurant bill, the bride and groom hosts usually have change left over.

The mainstream media and Umno bloggers have tried hard to push the theory that Beng Hock committed suicide, and financial problems being one of the triggers. Since Malaysia has a teeming working class, then it follows (if we concur with this Umnonista line of thought) that we must be a highly suicidal country with 30-year-olds plunging out of high-rise windows every three seconds.

We’re also told that Beng Hock’s pay was RM1,800 a month. After income tax, EPF and other deductions, it’ll be certainly somewhat less. Salaries for graduates have remained stagnant while the price of things have doubled and tripled.

What Beng Hock earns puts him in the salary range of the vast majority of Malaysian households. The Household Income Survey said 27.1 percent of households fall in the income bracket of RM1,000-RM1,999 (Statistics Department preliminary findings for year 2008.)

The next biggest category is 20 percent for the RM1,999-RM2,999 bracket.

Those earning less than RM1,000 make up 8.5 percent of households. Overall, 55.6 percent of Malaysian households earn less than RM3,000 monthly. Beng Hock was very much Encik Average in terms of income class.

Beng Hock’s fiancé is a schoolteacher. It’s not a career that rakes in big money either. But they had each other. And they had the happiness of expecting a child, and soon building a home.

Never mind that the cost of a piece of Italian tile from Mohd Khir Toyo’s RM24 million ringgit mansion is likely more than Beng Hock’s monthly disposable income. Not everyone can be the chief minister of an Umno ‘developed state’.

These two young people, Beng Hock and his fiancé, looked like a loving couple in the photographs we see. They would have had their own modest dreams and hopes for the future.
Nonetheless, Generation X in Malaysia are comparatively worse off compared to their parents’ generation – a bygone era when petrol prices did not keep going boing, boing like a pogo stick.

Today, for instance, many young newlyweds would be hard-pressed to afford a honeymoon abroad because of the ringgit’s adverse currency exchange rate. That is unless they or their parents belong to the 1.1 percent of Malaysian households earning between RM10k and RM11k a month.

The rich, those earning RM10,000 and above, comprise a total of 5.2 percent populating the upper reaches of household income. Hence we can see that the BN government, through its mismanagement of our economy the past decades, has truly benefitted only about five percent of materially successful Malaysians.

Whereas more than 50 percent have trouble making ends meet on RM3,000 or less a month due to our poor purchasing power.

In power for 52 years and squandering the country’s immense oil wealth, the Barisan Nasional government clearly has not done well by its people at all. If MACC is implying – by its line of questioning witnesses in the inquest – that the deceased was depressingly cash-strapped, then half of Malaysia is in the same boat when going by salary scale.

We’re talking here about the majority of Malaysians who make an honest living. They put in long hours at the office. Do overtime. Some even take on second jobs. That’s the sad lot of the Everyman.

Pictures of Beng Hock show him as a wholesome-looking young man. It would seem he was a prudent one too. At least he put enough by to afford a car.

Many Malaysians take the bus, crowd in standing-room only LRTs and even ride the KL highways on their motorcycles. In rain, under the sun, they’re exposed to soaking or scorching elements of nature. Should a traffic accident happen, flesh and bone will mesh with mangled metal for these motorcyclists and their pillion riders.

Indeed, given the atrocious state of our public transport system, I’d say the BN government’s
Infrastructure plans were ill-thought out. This has led to Malaysian roads becoming saddled not only with the ubiquitous ‘kap cai’ (but crispy Kancils that give rise to the same ‘body-meets-mangled-metal’ scenario when cars collide.

The sad plight of our nation could well be one of the reasons that Beng Hock chose, rather optimistically, to take a job with the Pakatan Rakyat state government. He’d wanted to help bring about reform because BN rule had dismally failed the common folk.

While I’m not aware of his personal financial circumstances, I am acquainted with someone else who took a pay cut moving from the private sector to work for Pakatan. Before signing on as the YB’s aide, Beng Hock used to be a reporter (a job that pays more).

While the mainstream media such as Utusan Malaysia has gone all out to portray the Chinese community as ‘ultra kiasu’ and avaricious, young idealists like Beng Hock and my friend mentioned above dispel their malicious and fallacious ethnic stereotyping.

When Beng Hock’s child grows older, I hope its mother Ms Soh Cher Wei will tell the boy or girl that whatever it says on Beng Hock’s payslip, whatever it says in his bank balance, all right- thinking Malaysians honour and respect Papa’s idealism.

So thank you, MACC, for your revelations which serve as a timely reminder on why we need to fight for justice for Teoh Beng Hock. He was clearly Everyman – one of our own.

1. #1 by lee wee tak_ on Sunday, 18 October 2009 - 11:08 pm

To me, TBH died with RM3K in his bank account means he is a man that values justice above personal interest – a rare quality among the youth today who values instant gratification and personal enjoyment; a noble trait.

His workload and stress level are considerably higher than the other normal wage earners.

This suggestion, plus the one about the “affair with another woman” suggest the excuse-makers are reaching desparate stage.

Come on, first you say he killed himself for being guilty over RM2,400 then you say hesuffers from pre-marital stress and now having an affair without adequate money in the bank?

Nothing cooked up so far sounds believable enough while the obvious is ignored – Beng Hock died while being unreasonably held for unreasonable length of time when no specific incident of corruption has been identified let alone investigated.

It is a damning illustration of failure in implementation of NEP, producing inadequate minds to handle important tasks at hand. One wonders what did the counsel do well that earn him a datukship.

2. #2 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 18 October 2009 - 11:14 pm

lo and behold this is gona end up like the altantuya case…all eventually get away scots free!

3. #3 by monsterball on Sunday, 18 October 2009 - 11:19 pm

When investigating UMNO crooks…always..not enough evidences.
    Now..using Teoh Beng Hock’s small savings as possible evidence….it is OK to talk like that …by MACC…or by UMNO people.
    Helen Ang have shut down MACC suspicions…with her excellent defence …but that also reveal..MACC do investigate …..based on suspicions too.
    Most of these are racists…one group……one family..protecting each other….keep contradicting to expose clearly..who they are.
    All are experts to find faults with anyone opposing UMNO….with clear evidences needed to investigate UMNO crooks.
    It seems..all ministers…..past and present……all are uncorrupted people.
    It seems Malaysians are the most stupid people on earth……….keep accusing with no evidences…towards.. such holy and righteous UMNO politicians.
    It seems….we must ask God to forgive us…for being so ungrateful…so idiotic..to one who is so nice and fair to us.

4. #4 by House Victim on Sunday, 18 October 2009 - 11:22 pm

1. Should a slim saving relevant to the mysterious death?
    2. What should be the other top-priority points of investigation in this case, before possibly looking into Beng Hock’s account?
    3. Scratching things of not a itch is really showing MACC, the Police and the Court broke! Will Justice be seen or practiced? Or a show of Jokes?

5. #5 by negarawan on Sunday, 18 October 2009 - 11:23 pm

I am praying hard that Allah will hand a swift and hard punishment on all the criminals in UMNO, BN, and all their corrupted cronies including the EC and MACC. There is totally no hope for Malaysia to turn around and regain its honour until all these shameless criminals are eliminated.

6. #6 by pwcheng on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 12:30 am

There is not an inch of evidence that this guy had committed suicide. All the evidences point to an action of the MACC that had gone awfully wrong.
    Drawing preposterous inference that TBH has no money, sharing a house with a girl and her family that led him to commit suicide are proponents that can never and will never hold water.

7. #7 by johnnypok on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 3:04 am

Absolutely low standard of investigation, and very shallow thinking …. what a shame! go learn something from HK and Singapore, otherwise might as well close shop. Don’t waste public fund … gaji butak! Malaysia tak boleh, and economy will soon go burst, with unproductive idiots everywhere.

8. #8 by Jeffrey on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 6:43 am

Slim savings amounting to RM3,611.36. does not mean that there was no money to fund the wedding banquet. The last one I attended, a month ago, the bride/groom’s representatives huddled in the room in the midst of the dinner to open, calculate, record and net the angpow takings which were used to defay the cost at the end of it to the restuarant, with generous left overs to be taken back for honeymoon! Even if in TBH’s case the takings were insufficient (because guests might not have given generous tippings/angpows –understandably because they were more likely from DAP’s officials and friends than BN’s datuks and datins – TBH’s brothers and sisters could have helped the shortfall and other expenses).

The fact is in the desperate attempt to deflect fingers pointed at MACC over Teoh Beng Hock (TBH)’s death, MACC lawyer completely lost sight of bigger picture of things in his line of enquiry in inquest.

If one wants to show the deceased as having possibly commited suicide, it would be more pausible if you get evidence from independent witnesses that he had exhibited changes in personality/behaviour such as being sad, withdrawn, ccan’t concentrate on work, evincing overwhelming guilt, self-hatred, saying things like “nothing will ever change for the better”, instead of making big issue of his meagre finances. TBH had every reason to live for his fiancee was expecting. There is also no evidence at all to show that his personal relationship with fiancee was turbulent and unhappy as to pose an emotional strain on TBH from the prospect of starting a family with his fiancee!

What statistics are there to show that a man, without lots of money and otherwise not in an extremely incompatible relationship with the significant other will likely commit suicide just because his fiancee is pregnant before the actual wedding? We are reasonably entitled to assume that there is more hope than despair. On the other hand, I ask, what are the chances that a man who, even if he were thinking of suicide, would want to choose MACC’s precincts to do the jump from the 14th floor to 9 floors below on 5th floor landing of Plaza Masalam? What’s so special about MACC’s precincts for that to be chosen as the place for final exit? Compare this to the statistics of thousands of custodial deaths in the country which are mysteriously inexplicable and yet not attributable at all to the captors but always to the one in custody! This is a joke lah! The fact that the one in custody died in your precincts imposes an immediate onus on the authorities to show hgow they are not responsible for his death, and one can’t do that by coming out with fanciful and flippant innundoes like because his account was RM3,611.36, he chose to end his life than face the challenges of getting married!

Just like the other day there was this scandalous insinuation from the MACC’s counsel that TBH could have been having an affair with his housemate (just because they were renting same premises), when there’s not an iota of evidence from any witness to suggest a hint that such might have been so.

I say that MACC lawyer completely lost sight of bigger picture of things in his line of enquiry in inquest is because the TBH’s death has triggered public outrage. One does not douse public outrage by inflaming it higher by making silly approaches in such line of questioning and insinuation (without an iota of evidence to back the direction where one wants to go and establish) that only convinces the public that you are further uncallously humiliating the very victim that was perceived to have suffered and lost his life in your hands!

9. #9 by Jeffrey on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 7:00 am

As a lawyer one should never level unfair and baseless accusations and humiliation against the other side, already enjoying public sympathy, to the extent that it backlashes and ends up aggravating the accusation against one’s own client forfeiting even more public goodwill.

10. #10 by k1980 on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 7:25 am

//Beng Hock had slim savings amounting to RM3,611.36//

Then why the hell had he not been accorded NEP status, according to the 1malaysia concept? Because at expenses of RM10/= a day, his savings would had been depleted before the year is out. And yet he had been classified as a “RICH” pendatang. 1malaysia, ptui!

11. #11 by LG on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 7:29 am

From the inquest, there are only two possibilities of Teoh’s death: commit suicide or murdered. Accidental death is been ruled out.

If Teoh did not commit suicide (from his situation and circumstance and weighting the norms, it is very, very unlikely – less than 0.00001%), then the obvious – murder.

If the PM is serious in finding the real cause of Teoh’s death, then he should get an independent investigation team (foreign and local experts).

One of the investigations should be a lie detector test (and not swearing by the Koran) on all those involved MACC officers.

12. #12 by Taxidriver on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 7:42 am

Teoh Beng Hock had only RM 3’000/- in his account. He was getting married. He was in dire need of money so he took a bribe of 2,000/_ He was found out……driven by shame to commit sucide. Hey, MACC, is that what you are trying to tell us? Show us the proof or we will still say you are all murderers.

People who have fat bank accounts do not take bribes……honest? How about the 2 Rs and the RM 500,000,000.00 commission from the kapal selam deal, the 24,000,000.00 mansion built by a former dentist who became MBS …….are you not interested to probe into their account? Or you have been instructed “close one eye” because sama-sama orang UMNO?

I have only these words to describe you all: stupid, idiotic, nimcompoop, pakeiro, corrupt, murderous fools. Seven generations of your descendants will have to pay for your
    sins.

13. #13 by undertaker888 on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 7:57 am

These macc jokers are good at getting my blood boiling. A donkey would have a better IQ that these murderous bast@rds. Yeah, this is what puzzles them. How can a guy survive with 1800RM monthly salary?

This is what we called Prudence, macc! There is not one existed in your master’s house.

This is what we called Integrity, macc!! Unlike you and your master’s kind, we don’t rob the treasury and extort from the people under its care.

This is what we called Sacrifice, macc!!! We forego our luxuries for our children’s sake. Unlike you and your master’s kind, sacrificing human life for the pleasure of being in power.

Try as you might, macc, you will never find these qualities either in you as an individual or any institution erected by your master.

Teoh Beng Hock’s death will be the turning point of your master’s funeral. This is the beginning of ketuanan umno’s end.

14. #14 by Taxidriver on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 8:00 am

Taxidriver agreed 100% with Jeffrey’s views #7

In Malaysia one can easily tell between an UMNO Malay and a non-UMNO Malay. The former talk cock while the latter is more reasonable and sensible. 52 years have made them arrogant and stupid!!!!!!!!!

15. #15 by undertaker888 on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 8:41 am

…The fact that the one in custody died in your precincts imposes an immediate onus on the authorities to show hgow they are not responsible for his death, and one can’t do that by coming out with fanciful and flippant innundoes like because his account was RM3,611.36, he chose to end his life than face the challenges of getting married! …Jeff

yeah, by this stupid macc argument alone, we can also conclude that umno goons will start committing suicide in plaza masalam soon in droves. With more than one wife, mistress and many siblings to feed on government salary.
    hey, but no, they manage to do very well, fat account, live in istana with butterflies and daffodils, with macc dogs as guards and playmates.

ya, you are right taxidriver, from current plus seven generations will pay for their evil deeds. They will all suffer 10 times the pangs of Teoh and Altuntuya.

Blood is boiling more than 100 degrees C now.

16. #16 by lee wee tak_ on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 8:42 am

if MACC can produce Beng Hock’s accounts with ease, but left out the FD, can MACC produce the account balances of the repsective BN MPs, ADUNs including FD now?

MACC and their lawyer are losing the plot

17. #17 by seage on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 9:01 am

MACC and UMNO doesn’t know how the chinese culture/root brought them up to where they are today. Even with a salary of RM800 a month, they can still survive let alone RM1.8k. That aside, the question to ask is, even with RM3.6k in the bank account, why would it be that TBH’s savings is insufficient and thus will take bribe and committed suicide? By the time his bank account is retrieved without his knowledge, he would have paid whatever expenses that is required e.g. wedding photoshoot, invitation cards, dowry etc etc. I had my wedding with lesser that RM1k in my bank account and still managed to paid of everything from the ang pao collection with some extra left! We recorded all the ang paos on the day of the banquet it self to settle the bill otherwise with that kind of money, u seriously think the PDRM will protect you? What you’ll get is “Alamak, bodohlah awak! Wang banyak tu pastilah menarik perhatian perompak! Itu salah u!”… I’ve got that before… Come on MACC, if that is the best that you can come up with, God saves Malaysia!

18. #18 by taiking on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 9:20 am

And why is beng hock’s meagre saving an issue to them? The answer is because obviously they live a life of abundance. So a saving of several thousands does not seem like money to them at all.

19. #19 by artemisios on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 9:23 am

well, what do we have here?
    TBH has 3k in his account – Conclusion: He’s hard pressed for wedding cash, so he jumps off macc’s building
    MACC, are you even listening to what you’re saying?
    If, let’s just say if,.. TBH, through ‘sikit sikit, lama lama jadi bukit’ savings.. and for the sake of his wife & kid… had saved up about 13k in his account over the years.
    What are you going to say next macc?
    That he, maybe got his 13k illegally & jumps off the building because he thinks you boys are going to nail him?

Please… that’s enough.

20. #20 by sheriff singh on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 9:41 am

“Beng Hock had slim savings amounting to RM3,611.36”. So does it mean he is too ‘poor’ and cannot get married?

But if he has RM 50,000, they will probably turn around and say he is “corrupt”.

So its a “lose, lose” situation really. Either way, you lose.

But to twist and turn information and insinuate all sorts of things in a negative way is despicable. Especially to one who is not around to defend himself.

MACC has fallen to a new low. No class.

21. #21 by taiking on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 10:56 am

Many of us here are poor or in any event not in the league of toyo-the-indon. I had a case in court once. The opponent’s counsel raised precisely the same insinuation, i.e. that because my client was poor therefore my client could make away with company money if the order they sought was not issued. The judge ran him down immediately with these words: “A poor man is not a desperate man.”

22. #22 by katdog on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 11:01 am

These MACC/UMNO people probably earning nice hefty wages. They don’t realize that the MAJORITY of Malaysians earn around RM1.8k per month. Heck talk to the Indian estate workers and Malay farmers and they probably earn even less.

What a joke! If TBH is corrupt, please show the proof that he accepted bribes. Establish whether he accepted bribes or not. End of story. Why go on and on into such convulated stories?

As suspected from the beginning, this whole inquest is a sham to try and ‘prove’ that TBH committed suicide.

23. #23 by jamalmalikslumdog on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 11:33 am

Hi Helen,
    I am very ashamed at what Abdul Razak Musa (by default, the government) is trying to do. Coming up with flawed reasoning to defend the indefensible.

I am sure he doesn’t sleep well at night concocting all these lies to tarnish a person name and reputation that died in their hands.

24. #24 by donplaypuks on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 12:15 pm

Congratulations to Helen Ang for an excellent riposte to the scurrilous tactics of lead council for the MACC.

If a $3K bank balance is all the reason for someone to commit and suicide or avoid getting married, M’sia should have yet another entry ready for the Guiness Book of Ridiculous Records.

In trying to fit facts to a hypothesis, lead council to MACC has made himself and the MACC look like a horse’s ass! They seem to have become a part of a certain elite in M’sia who are totally divorced from the reality of lives that most ordinary, decent, hard working young people lead.

And their lack of compassion for the dead seems utterly incredible!

dpp
    We are all of 1 race, the Human Race

25. #25 by k1980 on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 12:31 pm

There are lots of couples who got married with less than RM3,000 in their bank accounts. They need not wait till they have a 24 million ringgit palace like the Javanese toyol before they marry.

26. #26 by drngsc on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 1:25 pm

Dear Ms Helen Ang and Encik MACC Razak,
    How much Mr Teoh has in his accounts, is non of your business. The issue is, was he murdered?. Please respect his privacy. The insinuations by revealing his accounts is pathetic. Please was he killed.

27. #27 by monsterball on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 2:41 pm

?????? NEW TWISTS????
    Poor Helen….got told off for being a good soul.

28. #28 by Winston on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 2:43 pm

The only way to a brighter future is to dump UMNO/BN.
    No more “what if they can reform?”.
    No ifs. No buts.
    Don’t fool yourselves anymore!

29. #29 by LG on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 5:11 pm

“There are lots of couples who got married with less than RM3,000 in their bank accounts. They need not wait till they have a 24 million ringgit palace like the Javanese toyol before they marry.

I agreed with k1980 as this was my real situation. I can testify before God (and also with a lie detector test for those unbelievers) when I got married I had less than RM 1,000 in my account. My parent assured me that the wedding “ang-pow” from relatives and friends could roughly cover the cost of the wedding dinner and thus I needn’t worry. In fact, after minus the ang-pow, we needed to fork out only a few hundred ringgits for the wedding dinner. We did not have any professional photographer for our wedding. My brother and my father-in-law took the liberty to take the photographs using their own cameras.

Thus to conclude that Teoh committed suicide because he had little cash @ RM 3K for the wedding, is very foolish even idiotic.

30. #30 by Hugos on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 6:08 pm

“Should a traffic accident happen, flesh and bone will mesh with mangled metal for these motorcyclists and their pillion riders.” Helen Ang

Hello ..! Ms. Ang, you don’t have to be so graphic one la. We got the point.

31. #31 by GreenBug on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 6:29 pm

RM3,000+ in TBH’s bank account is respectable. Not rich but isn’t that what most of us have, just enough for a few rainy days?

Perhaps MACC thinks we all should have as much in our bank balances like theirs?

Or perhaps like a pilot working still with MAS? Despite being convicted of a child pornography (paedophile) by an Adelaide Court, the son of MACC chief is still a pilot with MAS. Double standard.

32. #32 by GreenBug on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 6:33 pm

YB Kit, why has the opposition MPs not brought up in parliament the question of the MACC Chief’s son continued employment with MAS after his conviction in an Adelaide court for paedophile (child pornography) charges? We want to know why this is allowed whereas you and I would have been fired long ago.

33. #33 by k1980 on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 7:30 pm

//We want to know why this is allowed whereas you and I would have been fired long ago.//

The simple answer is in umno’s social contract “1malaysia, 2 castes” (First caste for tuans and Second caste for pendatangs).

34. #34 by k1980 on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 7:36 pm

The United Nations Human Rights Council’s (UNHCR) has declared discrimination based on the caste system a “human-rights abuse” – thereby acknowledging centuries of bias against the world’s estimated 200 million Dalits (untouchables).

Why is umno’s caste system not condemned?

http://www.atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/KJ20Df02.html

35. #35 by donplaypuks on Monday, 19 October 2009 - 9:30 pm

YB

A very important point to note in the TBH case is that various copies of invoices found in his laptop and in his files found their way to a website – T4TBH- after TBH’s death.

Only 1 party was in possession of these records after TBH’s death. Why did they leak it? To cast suspicions elsewhere and to bolster their cockamanie lying hypothesis that TBH committed suicide, and to draw attention away from the real culprits, perhaps?

Please ask Gobind to raise this issue in court and at the pending RCI !!

dpp
    We are all of 1 race, the Human Race

36. #36 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 12:34 am

Razak is downright despicable an contemptibly so for the horrendous innuendos and insinuations on TBH’s integrity!

MACC has not done one whit respectably to clear the air and restore a speck of sensibility and trust in the agency. Witch-huntng on such devious grounds is like stirring some evil brew in the scant hope of finding some witches’ potion or remedy for the situation.

Many have lost hope that there will ever be any justice done on behalf of TBH in Najib’s corruption-infested 1Malalysia. The whole episod will drag into an inconclusive end and the verdict, some mumbo-jumbo of sorts.

What counts for now is the hope that still beats in many breasts that UMNO and BN may see an early demise. This is the audacity of hope that took Obama to the White House and, hopefully, Pakatan Rakyat to Putrajaya.

37. #37 by Jong on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 2:16 am

Agree with #8 – Jeffrey’s comment on Lawyer Razak. The guy’s despicable, lacks moral ethics, obviously is another failed product of NEP!

38. #38 by monsterball on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 4:43 am

hi Hugos….As much as I respect your intelligence…Helen Ang wrote a beautiful message and no one needs to tell her how to write her stuffs…especially from you la.
    What you quoted…how she wrote that….do make readers see the real picture…and that matters most in writing..and that part..is not as easy to pen..as you think.
    So…encourages her…..and not judge her la.
    Judge Limkamput…which you are excellent..who have actually changed him…because of you…to our side.
    Are you not happy….Limkamput is a better person now?
    But that may not be permanent..as his moods are well known. So lets read more and observe.

39. #39 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 11:24 am

ya, you can be a liar, a paedophile, a well-dressed thief, a murderer, an @rse banger, a womanizer, a mafia, smeagol, devil, scumbags, cookie monster and as long as you worship the image of umno gods, these are all “good guilties” and your sins will be forgiven in the name of umno god.

40. #40 by Emily Pratt on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 1:56 pm

I must admit I don’t shed tear easily but somehow this piece of writing by Ms Helen Ang forced me to shed some tears.

YB Gobind, please tear asunder this piece of weak argument. Go ahead and humiliate these low-life MACC prosecutors.

Emily Pratt

41. #41 by ReformMalaysia on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 6:44 pm

In this case , I am wondering whether an offence has been committed by anyone under Banking & Financial Services Act 1989 when Teoh’s banking information being disclosed .

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
    ACT 372
    BANKING & FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS ACT 1989
    PART XIII – INFORMATION AND SECRECY

Section 97. Secrecy.

(1) No director or officer of any licensed institution, whether during his tenure of office, or during his employment, or thereafter, and no person who for any reason, has by any means access to any record, book, register, correspondence, or other document whatsoever, or material, relating to the affairs or, in particular, the account, of any particular customer of the institution, shall give, produce, divulge, reveal, publish or otherwise disclose, to any person or make a record for any person, of any information or document whatsoever relating to the affairs or account of such customer.

42. #42 by ReformMalaysia on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 6:51 pm

ACT 372
    BANKING& FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS ACT 1989
    PART XIII – INFORMATION AND SECRECY

Section 98. Disclosure for facilitating performance of functions by Bank.

(1) The provisions of section 97 shall not apply to the disclosure of any information or document-

(a) to the Bank, or to any director, officer or employee of the Bank, or to any person appointed by the Bank under section 3 (3), or to the Advisory Panel, where the disclosure is for the purpose of the exercise of powers, the performance of functions or the discharge of duties of the Bank, or of the director, officer or employee of the Bank, or of the person appointed under section 3 (3), or of the Advisory Panel; or

(b) to any person rendering professional services to the Bank in relation to any matter of law, accountancy, valuation, or any other matter requiring professional knowledge, where he is authorised in writing by the Bank to obtain the information from the licensed institution for the purpose of his services to the Bank.

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
    Section 99. Other permitted disclosures.

(1) The provisions of section 97 shall not apply to the disclosure of any information or document-

(a) which the customer, or his personal representative, has given permission in writing to disclose;

(b) in a case where the customer is declared bankrupt, or, if the customer is a corporation, the corporation is being or has been wound up, in Malaysia or in any country, territory or place outside Malaysia;

(c) where the information is required by a party to a bona fide commercial transaction, or to a prospective bona fide commercial transaction, to which the customer is also a party, to assess the creditworthiness of the customer relating to such transaction, provided that the information required is of a general nature and does not enable the details of the customer’s account of affairs to be ascertained;

(d) in the course of any civil proceedings-

(i) between a licensed institution and itscustomer or his guarantor relating to thecustomer’s transaction with the institution;or

(ii) between the licensed institution and twoor more parties making adverse claimsto money in a customer’s account wherethe licensed institution seeks relief byway of interpleader;

(e) where the licensed institution has been served a garnishee order attaching monies in the account of the customer;

(f) where the information relates solely to credit facilities given by a branch of a licensed foreign bank and the information is required by its head office;

(g) where such disclosure is required or authorised under any other provision of this Act; or

(h) where such disclosure is authorised in writing by the Bank, or where such disclosure is authorised under any Federal law to be made to a police officer investigating into an offence specified in such law, such disclosure to the police officer being, in any case, limited to the account and affairs of the person suspected of the offence.

(2) In any civil proceedings under subsection (1) (b) or (d) where any information or document is likely to be disclosed in relation to a customer’s account, such proceedings may, if the court, of its own motion, or on the application of a party to the proceedings, so orders, be held in camera and in such case, the information or document shall be secret as between the court and the parties thereto, and no such party shall disclose such information or document to any other person.

(3) Unless the court otherwise orders, no person shall publish the name, address or photograph of any parties to such civil proceedings as are referred to in subsection (2), or any information likely to lead to the identification of the parties thereto, either during the currency of the proceedings or at any time after they have been concluded.

ection 100. Disclosure under Banker’s Books (Evidence) Act 1949.

Nothing in this Part shall limit any powers conferred upon the High Court or a judge thereof by the Banker’s Books (Evidence) Act 1949 [Act 33] or to prohibit obedience to an order made under that Act.

43. #43 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 20 October 2009 - 7:54 pm

“Of all the Chinese weddings I know of, every single one has made a profit from the reception dinner. The ‘ang pow’ collection, more often than not, generously exceeds the cost of the banquet. After paying the restaurant bill, the bride and groom hosts usually have change left over.” (Helen Ang)

Absolutely agreed.

I was not born in a rich family but I managed to marry several younger brothers of mine to their respective wives with the wedding banquets which costed RM350 per table with a happy breakeven. This was because the average “ang pow” of RM50 per head in my village allowed me to collect the cash more than enough to pay off the banquet bills and the liquor bills. I could still spare some money for giving away “ang pow” to the friendly helpers in the wedding ceremony!

The government counsel is too naive about the wedding situation of the Chinese Malaysians and he should have kept his big mouth shut for something which he absolutely does not know of!

44. #44 by taiking on Wednesday, 21 October 2009 - 8:50 am

When completely illogical and absolutely and obviously stupid reason is advanced as argument you know they are out of bullets.

45. #45 by rahmanwang on Wednesday, 21 October 2009 - 10:02 am

So many young Malaysians are making a honest living.Only the BN scums are robbing Malaysians.Check the slip at the ATM machine.So many people live with little savings,some from hand to mouth.If that is the case then many more Malaysians would have committed suicide.Come on MACC please do not try to portray Teoh’s death due to financial difficulty which led him to commit suicide.If that is the case many more Malaysian would have committed suicide.

46. #46 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 21 October 2009 - 3:03 pm

due to overwhelming response, my queue number is 2145 to plaza masalam. i just checked my account balance. it is RM1657.12.

macc says come back in 3 days to commit suicide.

47. #47 by GilaPolitic on Thursday, 22 October 2009 - 11:45 pm

WHO WANT TO BECOME A WITNESS FOR MACC ?

THE MACC REWARDS ARE VERY GREAT : –

KENA SODOMY, KENA PUKUL, KENA BELASAH, KENA SIASAT AKAUN, KENA COMMIT SUICIDE.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

48. #48 by FY Lim on Saturday, 24 October 2009 - 2:36 pm

The MACC looks so desperate now that they know the truth and their conscience will finally hurt and haunt them.

So they tried fishing in all waters to test their luck and even tried using TBH’s bank account to show his financial situation.

What has bank account balance to do with the alleged corruption ? Well, they hoped to find millions in the account and then point a finger but alas they found only a mere RM 3,000 and still want to defame him.

Anyway, the account balance showed that TBH is a really responsible and honorable human being, upright in his dealings with money and prudent in spending which is consistent with his income. He earned a honest living unlike BN/UMNO politicians.

The excesses of BN run governments all over Malaysia is a clear testimony to the evil corruption permeating all levels of society in Malaysia.

PKFZ, half-crooked bridge, bailouts of Tajuddin’s MAS and Halim’s Renong and Perwaja are good examples.Billions are siphoned off at the Federal level and thousands of ringgit are disappearing at the local council level and yet no action had been taken.

For the PR state government , MACC is insinuating that because TBH did not have sufficient money for his marriage, he committed suicide.

Well, if this is the case then what about those earning less than TBH ? People like drivers, clerks and hawkers therefore need to commit suicide since they did not have sufficient money to get married !

In 1975, I had only RM 2,000 in my curent account but I did get mariied and had four beautiful children.

How ? Lived within your means and lived an honorable life and be thrifty. As the saying goes ” cut your trousers according to the cloth “.