Landslide victory or political immorality?

By Azly Rahman

Isa Samad’s second coming – into Minangkabau politics – signifies the coming of a disturbing age of loosening morality. What does a landslide victory mean? Will we see a kingdom of peace on earth that the Minangkabau people inhabited? Will this “landslide victory” of an avalanche of postal votes establish another forty years of the reign of One Malaysia?

Let us look at the semiotics of Bagan Pinang – of the sign, signifier and the signified of this by-election that is telling Malaysians something about the shape of things to come.

The Negri Sembilan people have spoken. They have voted for corruption to reign. What does the victory say about hegemony and political immorality?

Thus spake the Minangkabaus

Negri Sembilan politics is “Menang Kerbau” politics. Hence, the name Minangkabau. It’s a blood sport of Toros bullfighting, only that it is happening in a Third World country. Sometimes I do not know what all these mean – the elections, democracy, and the fierce struggle for regime change.

How must a corrupt regime be allowed to sustain itself? How must voters be allowed to continue to choose leaders that are corrupt to the bone? Political questions become philosophical musings – ultimately forces one to become an existentialist.

We are living in a world of cynicism and hopelessness. Of course, we do not expect every Malaysian to become an existentialist thinker and abandon the advancement of political will, but there must be a period in our evolution wherein we ought to step aside and think what is right and what is wrong in politics and how we address the question of meaningfulness, alienation, and revolution.

Existentialist thinkers such as Jean Paul Sartre, Franz Kafka, and Soren Kiekaargard have addressed the issue of human condition in a time of hopelessness and hegemony produced by the government of the day. In a world of big-time bullfighting – this “Menang Kerbau” and cowhead protest era – in which winning is a Machiavellian act, one is faced with an existential situation – what do all these mean?

Bagan Pinang was a game of high stakes and low stakes politics, as the anthropologist Clifford Geertz would put it, as analyzed in his work, “Deep Play: Notes on a Balinese cockfight”. It is an occasion to symbolize the arrogant return of the politics of despotism – of the decadence of that two-decade rule. In this sign of arrogance lies the symbolism of a world of money-media-machinery-mind control.

In this symbolism lies the signifier of the continuation of old school hegemony and yet another phase of its transition. In this continuum of sign, symbol, and signifier lies a representation; that the people of Bagan Pinang specifically and Negri Sembilan generally are still mesmerized by the spectacle of old school hegemony and blinded by the argument of the “technicality of corruption”.

If corruption can be turned into a technicist construct, what must other forms of expressions of dehumanization – the Internal Security Act, The University and University Colleges Act, The Official Secrets Act, etc. – be called? We will see more of the acts of rationalizing conducts that are blatantly irrational. How else can we explain police brutality, torture, religious intolerance, unexplained political murders, the rise of Malaysia’s Hitlerian youth, the nexus between politics and the underworld, and so forth?

Tsunami of political immorality

Existentialists have generally abandoned the hope for divine intervention in the resolution of deteriorating human condition. Conditions in French Algeria particularly during the Algerian War, and the aftermath of World War II gave an inspiration for philosophers and humanists like Albert Camus, Jean Paul Sartre, and Franz Kafka to lose hope in Fate to intervene.

But in our times, religion need not be an opiate for the masses, nor a ‘ganja’ for the delusional. From the experience of the liberation theologists in Latin America, South Africa, and the Philippines we can see the power of the collaboration between radical critical theorists and religious reconstructivists.

In the face of hegemony, such as in the outcome of Bagan Pinang in which landslide victories signify the march of big-time irrationality and political immorality, our own interpretation of liberation theology can be constructed between the revolutionary forces of change within the parties in the counter-hegemonic coalition.

What the rakyat want, to be part of a tsunami, is to wipe off corrupt individuals, institutions, installations, and ideologies that have become part of the landscape of even the Malaysian mind. What is needed is a reconstruction of the philosophy of counter-hegemony in this game of ‘Menang Kerbau’, or the Malaysian buffalo or cockfight so that the revolutionary and religious elements of radical change can be constructed and hence the chi or the inner harnessed energy, like in the training of the Shaolin warrior, can be harnessed and used to transform society.

As long as there is no reconstruction of this philosophy, race can still be used by the oppressors as a tool to dislodge, divide, disengage, and ultimately destroy the force of change.

Is Bagan Pinang the beginning of more landslide victories? Or is it a lull before a tsunami? As an existentialist, I would say that only time will tell, and only after there is a serious reconstruction in the philosophy of the forces of counter-hegemony.

1. #1 by Loh on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 10:02 am

BN leaders declare and believe in power sharing. BN is using the power to share the nation’s wealth among the powerful persons. BN is not using the authority to do good for the nation.

Isa showed that he was willing to share his wealth with UMNO members, and they in turn were willing to share their power with Isa by voting him. That was termed money politics, and Isa did not have strong protector at that time to bury his deeds. The voters in Bagan Pinang hoped that Isa would be able to claim disproportionate share of national resources for their benefit, directly or indirectly. They live in the dream of power sharing. Hence the landslide victory was to be expected because the people are living in Malaysian political culture. That culture allows corrupted politicians to be ever more powerful.

As long as power sharing is the way of life, corruption and BN rule will continue. That was the result of divide-and-rule which UMNO has half a century of practice to make it an art. Pakatan Rakyat has a difficult task to change the mindset of the people. Meanwhile they have problems agreeing to the vision for the country, in addition to infighting within the components.

2. #2 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 11:05 am

Let me borrow the space here to mention about MCA. Chinese politics is dirty. The people below are now praying for Ong to go, and he should. All the people below him are considred this no confidence vote of Ong as an excellent outcome, and are waiting to be promoted. That was why during Ottoman empire, the brothers always killed each other in order to become Sultan.

MCA should be dissolved and some of its members should be absorbed into UMNO. I better say that UMNO, MCA and MIC should all be dissolved to form a single political party. Race based political parties will die. It is a chance to reform.

3. #3 by a2a on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 11:40 am

Coming soon……

BIG PROBLEMs to the top 2 post of the STATE but not the PKR.

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 12:07 pm

“Landslide victory or political immorality?”

What was important was that the cat caught the mouse. Period.

5. #5 by ban ban on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 12:11 pm

Even though after GE12, it seems that democracy is going to move forward with the appearance of PR, indeed everything has not changed. The racism mentality is still very strong in Malaysians mindset.

For example, let’s take blogging as a measurement. How many Malays will go to this blog? Or the other way how many Chinese/Indians will go to Khir Toyo’s blog?

I think the blog where all races in Malaysia will go is Marina Mahathir’s blog, but mostly are those open-minded and the younger generations.

The biggest weaknesses in PR is still the racism. Still we can see mainly chinese are in DAP because Malays feared where DAP looks like MCA in BN, chinese denies PAS because of its Islamic policy where PAS looks like UMNO in BN. PKR seems the party to have gathered all races, but the supporters are highly emotional which it is so hard for Anwar to control.

It’s normal that people are tend to protect the right of his/her race, but as Malaysians are so simple-minded and unmatured in terms of logical thinking, law, politics and civil awareness, everything goes to the extreme condition after being misguided. So back to the fundamental, education is not enough, especially to those very senior citizens and those in rural areas.

It will still need 10-15 years to change the mindset of Malaysians, just as what BN has done for the past 50 years.

But, has PR come out with a 5-year plan already? Or 10-year, or 20-year plan? This is where PR will fall, if no planning is done, starting from the moment the GE 12 finished.

6. #6 by All For The Road on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 12:24 pm

Did money politics play the major role in the win for BN in Bagan Pinang? The voters were promised this and that and the world if the BN candidate was returned. Port Dickson was declared ‘Army Town’ and its developments would be accelerated and given top priority. Was the dangling of the ‘carrot’ too hard to resist?

7. #7 by Godfather on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 12:32 pm

No, Azly, I would not use the term “political immorality”. The rakyat who voted are not immoral. We can’t say that they voted for corruption. They do not know any better, that’s all. They had the wool pulled over their eyes for over 50 years, and many of them are still thinking of the good ol’ days.

We can’t call the voters immoral or stupid. They were merely naive, ill-informed and ignorant. It’s our job to educate them, inform them, and change their mindset. Pakatan must focus on this instead of internal bickering. Start with a common purpose and the rest will take care of itself.

8. #8 by Godfather on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 12:47 pm

The correct term to use would be “political immaturity”.

9. #9 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 1:01 pm

Can we stop beating the Bagan Pinang voters? I think they’ve been very sensible. They stood to gain nothing from a Pakatan Rakyat win except snarls from the MSM and strangulation by the state government. Pakatan Rakyat has nothing to offer places like Bagan Pinang in a by election.

I would like someone to tell me what a Bagan Pinang voter would have gained. Pakatan’s huge problem in states that are BN strongholds is that they offer nothing. You don’t have any money, and you’re not currently offering any attractive visions of the future. For voters who already have nothing, of what benefit is losing UMNO?

OK, so some rich guy in a Benz comes and says “You see? They give you rice cookers ah. We will give you self respec!” and you expect them to vote for that? I don’t think ‘education’ is the answer, even if it’s popular with the Communist Party and Islamists. It’s time to stop pretending and dig deep into your pockets (OK, your future pockets) and give them more money than BN can. They are not stupid. You are, if you believe they will vote for fewer rice cookers and a change of people robbing them blind.

10. #10 by Godfather on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 1:35 pm

Sheesh, olang lojak seems to suggest that we can continue to make promises – by dipping into our future pockets. So when BN promises a rice cooker, we promise bicycles ?

11. #11 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 2:09 pm

we promise bicycles
    PR can’t promise anything in a by-election, that’s the problem. No power really changes hands, does it? What change could whatisname – the guy from PAS – really have brought to Bagan Pinang between now and GE13? That’s my point – he had nothing of value to offer that they would get earlier than GE13. What self-harming mentality would cause them to vote PR, in that case?

Even if Pakatan Rakyat were to make a meaningful promise to the majority of Malaysians – who are not wealthy – they still shouldn’t expect much in the way of votes in BN strongholds before the next general election. There is simply no benefit to the voters.

We can wave our hands all we like and blame all sorts of people and issues, but the simple fact is that some voters have a choice between a little bit and nothing at all. They would have to be barking mad to vote for ‘nothing at all’ – or extremely idealistic. We could pour effort into encouraging idealism. ‘Education’ you called it, right? But that’s hard work, and if people get the slightest impression the educators are not quite as idealistic as they’re asking their pupils to be, it could be a disaster.

I don’t think decrying entrenched money politics is going to deliver the change we want in the next General Election. If we were really so convinced that money politics dominates, we would come up with a strategy that uses it to our advantage.

Giving cash to people you’re not related to is culturally problematic for some people, I understand that. The thing is, if you give RM10bn to Mukhriz or Tiong or Vellu, you won’t see a single sen. If you give RM1000 to every household in Malaysia, your local kopitiam will be very happy with the increased business, and so will the kindergartens, and so will the taxi drivers, and so will the grocery stores. Even the guy who is currently stealing your slippers might consider buying his own.

But FFS, you cannot offer bicycles. Sponsoring a ‘debt alleviation project’ is just another disappointing crony-enrichment scheme. It doesn’t solve the underlying problem that people don’t have money, don’t know what to do with it, and have no choices, only dependency and despair. GE13 is easy – you just tell everyone they’re going to get free cash, forever, and they won’t even have to kiss your ring for it.

By elections – haven’t a clue. I still think in the face of almost certain defeat, Pakatan Rakyat could try something ‘novel’ instead of just walking into a slap in the face. I think Bagan Pinang was neither victory nor immorality, just another day in Malaysia – pragmatism in the face of local rules.

12. #12 by Godfather on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 2:22 pm

I generally don’t disagree with your comments above. What would you suggest as an alternative to by-elections (or buy-elections) in BN strongholds, then ? Boycott them ?

13. #13 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 2:23 pm

What OrangRojak says here does make some sense! Political science is said to be a subject of studying who gets what in how much and when to get it!

You may give an empty promise in order to entice voters to cast their votes in favour of you but it will only makes you win once if you fails to deliver the promise later. However, if you promise nothing except for some abstract well-beings like a better future for the next generation, then you will not even win the election for the first time.

The voters are not stupid. If they are promised a rice cooker, they will get the rice cooker first. If you promise them a much better future, they will tell you off by saying that you offer a false hope to them!

I don’t encourage you Pakatan Rakyat people to learn to tell lie. However, when you promise something, that something must be something which is easily perceivable and not some abstract ideology of “Malaysians’ Malaysia” or “better future for your sons and grandsons”. The rural people simply do not understand what you are trying to say in your idealistic ideology!

14. #14 by Godfather on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 2:28 pm

By education, I don’t mean that we hold classes or ceramahs and lecture them on the merits of a clean transparent government. I mean we can continue to disseminate information in the form of flyers or posters to highlight what corruption means to future generations, and what the elimination of corruption means to their current lives.

Bagan Pinang was not a winnable seat for PR. BN would have won even if they nominated a monkey for the seat, provided that Isa and his supporters didn’t sabotage that monkey. This does not mean that we should have given them a walkover. We had to contest if it was just to keep the issues fresh in the minds of the voters nationwide.

15. #15 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 2:44 pm

disseminate information
    I don’t expect you to read my comments with the care you read Uncle Lim’s articles, but I have been pleading for the opportunity to do exactly that. With the effort we put into farking hentamming each other on this blog, we could probably make a decent and real contribution to PR’s progress – all without leaving our keyboards!

boycott them?
    I’ve written what I think PR should do at least twice – I’m sorry, my comments are bit boring and often irrelevant, maybe I’m hiding the important bits under all the rubbish.

I think Pakatan Rakyat could have put a PSM candidate into Bagan Pinang, for instance. I realise they’re not a natural match with Pakatan Rakyat, but haven’t they already had some successes on a PKR ticket? They could have put a young and/or female and/or minority candidate forward. Some Malaysians are aware they live in an extremely bigoted country, and naturally suggest quotas. PR could have salvaged some ‘supporting diversity’ accolades from Bagan Pinang. They could even have just made it a Public Relations event and signed a few local bands to play (possibly not Beyonsay), and taken the opportunity to have a party. We could have laughed in the face of defeat.

I think there were alternatives that would have made it look less like a miserable loss. When in all truth, there’s no meaningful loss realised.

16. #16 by kcb on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 3:19 pm

Is Bagan Pinang the beginning of more landslide victories?

Yes, if pro UMNO faction of PAS continues to give problems and looses all the Chinese and Indian votes.

PAS has to understand that they are voted in because voters want strong opposition parties and not because they like PAS.

17. #17 by limkamput on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 4:53 pm

OrangRojak, I agree with your #15. I think it is a good idea put a non Muslim sweet young thing there and thing may turn out different.

But I have problem understanding your suggestion about giving free money to all Malaysians even if PR can afford it. You see, giving 10 billion each to samy, mukriz and other cronies by the BN are very different from giving to everybody. Giving money to cronies is sharing and keeping the wealth within the family. Do you think PR will naturally do it when they come into power? It is a big assumption and unlikely to happen from the pragmatic point of view.

18. #18 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 5:49 pm

Bagan Pinang is gone and done with.

There might be another one in Negri soon. Very soon. BN is encouraged to sort this one out with their recent victory in Bagan.

Then there might be another one in Kelate and in Kedah too.

It might be open season soon.

19. #19 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 6:20 pm

I do not quite agree with rojakman. If BN bribes, PR should do the same? Tit for tat? How would the majority perceive PR then? Just another crook like BN? The thing to uphold now is PR’s integrity.

I tell you if the whole population of Malaysia need to me given something first monetary or otherwise before they choose who to vote, this country if already dead morally. DAP, PKR, PAS can dissolve now because there is nothing left to fight for.

Now, the people of BP are not kids but thinking adults. They chose “the get rich quick scheme” instead of steady fixed deposits which take a not more time. . And like all get rich quick scheme they will all burnt fast in the end.

This is what we need to make them understand. Not if BN gave rice cookers, PR give bicycles. We do we go from here?

20. #20 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 7:02 pm

It’s not bribery undertaker888. Bribery is corrupt. The withholding of public money unless and until votes are given is bribery. It is how Malaysia currently works, and why Pakatan Rakyat will never win in places like Bagan Pinang.

Establishing a social safety net (or whatever you want to call it) would break people’s dependence on the handouts of chieftains. From a voters point of view, voting for a party that promises five to ten thousand ringgit for their household over their first term in government looks like a far superior deal to a rice cooker. Money is the key to the votes of less well-off people in Malaysia.

This country is almost dead morally. That’s because wealthy chieftains extend their empires by deploying their wealth to affect people’s decisions. Paying public money directly back to the people will separate people from the little emperors paying bribes.

Perhaps you’ve been confused by Godfather’s bicycle scheme. The idea is not to infect people with a worse bribery, it is to inoculate them against it. If you want to kiss this country goodbye, that’s your choice, naturally. But I suspect your list of potential places to go will be long on countries with social welfare schemes and short on countries with rampant corruption and grinding poverty. Am I right?

It isn’t tit for tat because the money is not dependent on votes. Current PR states do not get money because they didn’t vote ‘wisely’. If you really want to make people ‘understand’ and vote ‘wisely’, you have to give them the freedom to do it. That means you have to break the relationship between benefit and vote. It has the coincidental appearance of a really, really massive bribe by the party who first delivers a regular, criterion free payment. We can call that the good fortune of the party that first delivers it. But it is only a way of looking at it.

Accusing them of ‘erring in not choosing the steady fixed deposits’ is just empty rhetoric, isn’t it? Pakatan Rakyat, while masters of pointing out what is wrong, currently offer precisely nothing of substance, do they? What is Pakatan Rakyat offering the individual voter, to the nearest RM5.00? I think you’re right – the voters of Bagan Pinang are thinking adults. In a by-election where they have the chance of some handouts from the local rich guy or ‘moral understanding’ from someone they’ve never heard of and doesn’t seem to have much money, they did what any thinking adult would do.

Let’s see if that majority falls again at the next election. My guess is they would vote in greater numbers for change if change was really on the table. If change is not on the table, a little money from the funny guy is not a bad second option.

21. #21 by a2a on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 7:13 pm

Maybe it is a victory to PK because one bring trouble/problems to the VVIP of the state soon.

Just wait and see.

22. #22 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 7:43 pm

Looks like the political opportunists in Malaysian Makkal Sakti Party delivered the Indian votes to Umno B

23. #23 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 7:49 pm

With this win, I thee wed
    Some PAS big shots may again woo the hands of Umno

24. #24 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 8:10 pm

<>rojak

If this is the case, giving $$ to the policeman before he gave you a summon is not considered a bribery then.

<>rojak

The last time I checked, Penang, Kedah, Kelantan, Perak, Selangor all fell like dominos plus 7 to 8 by-elections. Can I conclude there are no less well-off people in that states and connstituencies?

<>rojak

ooooo..that is below the belt rojakman. If I wanted to be treated like a second class citizen with no hope of changes, i might as well move to another country. At least i am happier there. But a white man like you living in Britain without any prejudice upon you most of your life, you may not understand what we have gone thru. Not even your wife if she is rich and chinese.

<>rojakman

Hope. That is more than RM5 is it not, rojakman?

25. #25 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 8:18 pm

sorry…seems like the something disappear:

….The withholding of public money unless and until votes are given is bribery…rojak

If this is the case, giving $$ to the policeman before he gave you a summon is not considered a bribery then.

….Money is the key to the votes of less well-off people in Malaysia….rojak

The last time I checked, Penang, Kedah, Kelantan, Perak, Selangor all fell like dominos plus 7 to 8 by-elections. Can I conclude there are no less well-off people in that states and connstituencies?

…If you want to kiss this country goodbye, that’s your choice, naturally….rojak

ooooo..that is below the belt rojakman. If I wanted to be treated like a second class citizen with no hope of changes, i might as well move to another country. At least i am happier there. But a white man like you living in Britain without any prejudice upon you most of your life, you may not understand what we have gone thru. Not even your wife if she is rich and chinese.

…What is Pakatan Rakyat offering the individual voter, to the nearest RM5.00?…rojak

Hope. That is more than RM5 is it not, rojakman?

26. #26 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 9:05 pm

below the belt
    Yeah, soz, I’m actually very busy, and failed to resist the temptation for a bit of farking and hentam. I am deeply ashamed.

The list of PR states you gave supports my argument, I think. I don’t have encyclopedia knowledge about this stuff, so I would imagine if the trickling down of public money through the pyramid of patronage were the reason why people voted the way they would, I would expect constituencies in PR states to vote increasingly PR, and constituencies in BN states to vote increasingly BN. In between General Elections, when the control of state funding is with one party or another, voting for the opposite party would risk stemming the flow. Of course, BN has a much larger flow, so I would expect a greater chance of a PR constituency falling to BN than vice-versa. We might even be able to see that in the by-election results. Is there any evidence that BN-held constituencies have become proportionally more safe than PR-held ones? Remember I would not expect them to change, unless there’s a really obvious BN channel of ‘golden wisdom’ actually in the constituency.

Bribing a policeman is corrupt because better off people can afford to break the law more. I’m not sure how it’s relevant. What we’re talking about with a ‘cost of living allowance’ is money for all Malaysians, regardless of how they vote. It would have to be a Federal matter, not a State one, in case that’s where the confusion arises. It’s not bribery because it does not depend on how a person votes. It is unmistakeably a lot of money, from the point of view of the voter. Which is a good thing, right, in light of current electoral practice?

I don’t think they can credibly offer Hope as a deliverable at the next GE! We want Hope now. What we hope for is something we can hold in our hands, or smell in our nostrils, or see in the local council offices, or read in the newspapers after the next GE.

27. #27 by katdog on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 9:37 pm

The southern peninsular states are UMNO strongholds. PAS presence is very weak to nonexistent among the southern rural Malays. PAS is strong only in the Northern Malay states.

PKR’s main voter base come from young urban Malays. Again which are in short supply in Bagan Pinang.

And DAP only has support among urban middle class chinese. Definitely not among rural chinese and Indian estate workers.

If PR parties depend only on their traditional support bases, Bagan Pinang and many other southern seats will be impossible to win from BN.

28. #28 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 9:50 pm

…We want Hope now. What we hope for is something we can hold in our hands, or smell in our nostrils, or see in the local council offices, or read in the newspapers after the next GE…rojak

OK. I give up. Give them bicycles and ice cream then.

On a serious note, my friends and I, we are not rich, but we yearn for freedom from the shackles of umno and the dacing gang.

29. #29 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 10:39 pm

If my wife was rich and chinese, I would be living in China, spending her money instead of complaining about injustice. I’m not sure where you get your information from, but I think she would be grateful to be perceived as ‘rich’!

It is interesting to consider the ramifications of an apparent landslide defeat. My point of view is that while it’s a joyous event for BN, and they’ll make much of it (Isa is already promising to take his armies through Telok Kemang and Lukut, I see), my impression is that it we should expect to see similar results in similar constituencies. LGE’s forecast was pretty good.

As for the future direction of Opposition politics and the prospect of a GE13 win, well, perhaps we need to get a better understanding of the dynamics at play. Some people may actually be well adapted to a life in Opposition politics, and fear (as Onlooker Politics suggests) the prospect of actually being voted into the hot seat. If change is to really come, I
    don’t see how it can without a change of federal government.

The states are not as independent as they might like to sometimes portray themselves. They can only go so far with change and in the present climate there’s the ever-present danger of being physically rejected by the Federal government, despite a popular mandate.

As katdog points out, there are vast swathes of BN support that will be a tough nut to crack. Is ‘education’ – when the opportunity to deliver it is actively denied – enough to convince the BN strongholds at a GE? We’ll see in the next few years.

30. #30 by monsterball on Wednesday, 14 October 2009 - 4:33 am

Azly Rahman is wise and smart enough to know the by-election of Bagan Pinang was a forgone conclusion that UMNO will win it.
    The surprise was the big majority and lets focus on that point.
    No need to be too dramatic…bringing in history of the race in Negri Sembilan….indirectly supporting race politics. All are Malaysians and why did UMNO won so big…..that is the issue.
    Isa has been proven to buy votes and win elections…proven by UMNO and supported by UMNO to ban him..3 years ago..under Abdullah Badawi.
    Najib approve Isa to stand for election..knowing UMNO will win….and needs Isa proven track record how to win elections…ignoring corruptions.
    This means…Najib and UMNO are doing following things…
    1.Make sure UMNO win…by hook or by crook.
    2.Encourage Malaysians to be corrupted…to depend on UMNO….to encourage bribery.
    3.Defying Islamic true teachings.
    4.UMNO is experts to promote half truths and apply propaganda methods..to make sure Muslims feel insecure without UMNO..to govern.
    5.Bagan Pinang small hawkers….businessmen…all needing yearly renewal licenses to be left alone. Go and find out the ” tradition” for on going method to do do peacefully. Many feel happy…as give.also got Negri simultaneously being developed…not by UMNO…but by employed experts in town and city planners….and UMNO keep taking credits for such work. Majority UMNO ministers know next to nothing…except talking and acting ..to win votes.
    Leaving UMNO famous massive corruptions to steal and rob country’s wealth…partly to fill up UMNO’s kitty bank..to buy votes and indirectly…the country….we can say..the Bagan Pinang result showed voters not awakened to the truths…do not read or know oppositions explainations against UMNO…or do so….but..ignore them. We can say….Bagan Pisang voters are very ignorant …..which mean UMNO most sinful race and religion politics plus corruptions are working….and Najib is showing…..clearly…he is such a big liar and hypocrite.
    Bagan Pisang won by UMNO…Azly Rahman is making a mole into a mountain with his usual agree to disagree style of writing.
    Now…..the main player…Isa…did predict he will win by at least 5000 votes.
    Go imagine how a corrupt man buy votes.
    He will call all his runners to tell him how many voters can he/she gets….one may say 500 and you can go and imagine…how much money to buy those votes…and on and on.till he added up…..at least 5000.
    He dares to predict………because buying votes is his expertise.
    He is popular…..because he knows how to apply good salesmanship.
    All forgot……..how rich he is personally.
    In West Malaysia..9 by elections…and 8 were lost…to PR…with total voters much much more than Bagan Pisang. One win of a small 8000 voters supporting UMNO…so many soothsayers predicting doomsday for PR…and UMNO is living in 7th heaven…..floating at cloud nine….with false dreams and hope Malaysians will all be like them…weird….corrupted….liars…and nonstop nonsense.
    If you think UMNO is so great….then look at MCA now….and what are MIC and Gerakan??
    Lets be sporty Malaysians and congratulate UMNO for a good win.
    Just look at the expert tongue twister Mahathir…now approving Isa…which he originally objected. He tried to play hero for Malaysians…and now for UMNO..to support corruption too.
    Such is the type of UMNO cunning and totally insincere government….who must survived through corruptions….race and religion politics.
    And we can conclude…….Bagan Pisang folks depends on the devils….which all must try to free them.

31. #31 by monsterball on Wednesday, 14 October 2009 - 6:29 am

I think I love bananas alot.
    It should be Bagan Pinang….not Pisang……….hahahahahahahahaha

32. #32 by monsterball on Wednesday, 14 October 2009 - 6:51 am

To complete my thoughts on Isa…UMNO needs him badly for 13th GE.
    He will be the MB of Negri again…that’s most important to UMNO..as Isa knows how to buy votes.
    Now go and think…Najib’s “I Malaysia” “People First. Performance Now”…what do they mean?……NOTHING!!….only meaningful to UMNO.
    Does anyone need a super brain to know Najib is a big liar……totally insincere and full of nonsense??
    Submarine RM500 million commission…man is feeling very secured.

33. #33 by jbozz on Wednesday, 14 October 2009 - 12:16 pm

In Singapore the minister commission is declared. But here though our minister getting low declared commission but the undeclared amount is perhaps triple compare to Singapore minister. It all depend on the rank and post within the coalition.

MONEY POLITIC is not NEW.

34. #34 by jt983 on Friday, 16 October 2009 - 12:46 pm

I totally agree that the people of bagan pinang has loose sight over the morality of isa samad and his conviction to money politic. “Melayu mudah lupa”.. just as what had happened to chua.. isa, doesnt has any moral ground to preach what is right and what is wrong… he dont deserve the seat.. he dont deserve to contest for the seat in the first place..