Freeze on teacher-intake?

by TN
Letters

I would like to firstly thank you for your blog posts.

I do not know where to go with this but my sibling who is in a government university (UPSI) told me she will be not be getting any posting for the next 2 years after she graduates.

She said that the reason given by the university is that the economy is doing badly and no new teachers will be taken in.

I hope this issue would be investigated and higlighted to the mass media.

1. #1 by Godfather on Tuesday, 6 October 2009 - 11:37 am

The government is in dire straits. They have no money, tax revenues are coming down dramatically due to poor corporate performances, there is little or no enforcement on tax defaulters. This is a fact which the Najib administration will deny to the very end.

The situation is so desperate that even Najib is prepared to consider selling all the tollroads in Peninsular Malaysia and extending the concession periods for the private investors. Means we will be royally scr@wed for the next 50 years….

2. #2 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 6 October 2009 - 11:57 am

Can I suggest adult colleges / evening classes again? They’re extremely popular in the UK, though I suspect it might be a while before they build in popularity here, but … hey, nothing ventured, nothing gained – right?

I attended the one linked below – for Chinese classes and swimming (the swimming class was at a public pool elsewhere) – just a couple of hours per week per class. What might not be apparent at first glance is that it’s the sort of thing that people do, not just for self-improvement, but also for enjoyment and the social aspect. I have a MEng and a PhD, so I guess you could say I have enough education, but I wish I could find something similar to attend here.

Maybe it will give your sister and her fellows some idea:
    http://www.theadultcollege.org/index.asp

3. #3 by the reds on Tuesday, 6 October 2009 - 12:10 pm

TN, why don’t you direct forward your concern to our MCA Deputy Education Minister?

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 6 October 2009 - 12:18 pm

But, but, but…… Zeti and Bank Negara boasts we have about US$ 100 billion in reserves. What does this all mean? We have money or are we pokai?

And where have all the RM 67 billion stimulating money gone to? Or where did it come from, if at all, in the first place? Certainly not from that ATM man from Sarawak.

Are they all illusory book entries, you know, creative accounting plus a lot of hot air?

So we have money or don’t we? Look at all the gifts they are dishing out in the villages in Bagan Pinang. Miss Letchumy’s and Marimah’s eyes were really popping out yesterday when they received their gifts from the “good, guilty” one.

Something just don’t balance or add up.

5. #5 by monsterball on Tuesday, 6 October 2009 - 12:19 pm

This is nothing new.
    It has nothing to do with money.
    It is most probably…..all vacancies are reserved for Muslims only.
    “TN” I presume….is not a Malay.
    If education depends on government having money or no money…that said government is not fit to govern at all.
    Health care and education cannot be compromised.

6. #6 by k1980 on Tuesday, 6 October 2009 - 12:19 pm

Our MCA Deputy Education Minister is too busy fighting for his own survival in the upcoming egm to be bothered over this small matter. Hey, if that old geezer Vigra Chua wins, fatso Wee and his fellow mca ministers will have to resort to basking in Puduraya for the remainder of their useless lives.

Regarding the posting of teachers, I believe there is at present an excess of Arts and BM teachers, but Science and Maths teachers are still required.

7. #7 by -ec- on Tuesday, 6 October 2009 - 12:34 pm

no matter how poor we are, we cannot ‘poor’ education.

8. #8 by taiking on Tuesday, 6 October 2009 - 1:11 pm

Sacrificing education is the last thing the umno gobermen should consider. To najib education must be a low priority item.

Then again it is not surprising at all. You see making announcement like allocating say 1b for teacher training nationwide hasnt got that political-bang thing like 1b for F1 or for putting malaysia on the world map or for building the longest bridge in the world.

Now that I hv mentioned it, yeah really the F1 thingy should be on hold and education must be emphasised instead. WTF with the F1 programme when we have no money?

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 6 October 2009 - 2:22 pm

“…..but I wish I could find something similar to attend here.” The Rojak Man.

Hey, you sound bored.

Have you tried the “YMCA”?

10. #10 by asmehane on Tuesday, 6 October 2009 - 3:26 pm

Dear Moderator,
    Comment # 5 IS RACIST, he shouldn’t be allow to participate in this blog, my reasons as follow:
    “…. all vacancies are reserved for Muslim only ”

“TN” I presume… is not a Malay “.
    If this type of people are allow to visit and posted comments of this standard on your blog, then I do presume that u hav the same mentality as this guys (whom ever they are). When u preaching UNITY b4 the people n u still allow these type of people to wonder in your blog, these guys are sick n should be caged outom your blog

11. #11 by asmehane on Tuesday, 6 October 2009 - 3:31 pm

my last sentence should be ” these guys are sick n should be caged out of your blog. ” TQ

12. #12 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 6 October 2009 - 5:21 pm

What do you think of this 1Malaysia joke? Repeat, it is a joke from the Malaysian Mirror site.

http://www.malaysianmirror.com/homedetail/45-home/14349-ha-ha-ha-a-1malaysia-joke-for-you

Are you incensed or ROTFLYBO?

13. #13 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 6 October 2009 - 6:19 pm

Sheriff, I really enjoyed the 1 Malaysia joke! Somehow, it jives with the times.

14. #14 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 6 October 2009 - 6:24 pm

There are just too many flaws and cracks in Najib’s 1 Malaysia government.

It’s not just the teaching community that’s feeling the heat. Many other economic sectors are feeling the pinch (or punch) too.

We just have to dump Najib & gang before Malaysians, irregardless of race, colour or creed can return to pink health. UMNO’s formula is sick, stupid and sucks – you know that ONE(1)-lah

15. #15 by monsterball on Tuesday, 6 October 2009 - 8:27 pm

asmehane….UMNO is the most racialists government you can ever find on earth.
    Why are you afraid of the truths?
    Lim Kit Siang loves unity and his son went to jail protecting a Muslim.
    So I walk and talk with those opposing UMNO….MCA and MIC….are all for show…just like Najib and Muhyiddin and the bunch of UMNO cheap actors?
    Hi..asmehane….face the truths ..UMNO governs with double standards….and you better tell them to change…not to be hypocrites and keep showing to Muslims…how to insult Allah too.

16. #16 by monsterball on Tuesday, 6 October 2009 - 8:31 pm

UMNO politicians and idiotic follower like asmehane…should be caged…not me.
    I fight for freedom and fair play.
    What are you afraid of….asmehane?
    I will be going to Bagan Pisang to support PAS and talk same way….with freedom fighters.
    Are you a freedom fighter or you think Malaysia is soooooooo free under UMNO now.
    You are an idiot…buzz off!
    Go comment..and leave me alone.

17. #17 by katdog on Tuesday, 6 October 2009 - 9:28 pm

The government has no money already.

Tax revenues has dropped because local business are not doing so well due to the poor economic climate and very poor demand for exports. Less profits means less taxes.

Secondly, oil prices were very low for the year. This means less oil revenue. And oil revenue contributes half of the government budget.

These 2 factors combined means the government is running out of options to raise revenue to sustain the country’s economy.

EPF has already been milked to the limit to bail out crony companies in the last economic crisis of 1997 and have never really recovered since.

Latest news in the Star is that the government is raising taxes on tabacco in order to raise more revenue.

Malaysia under UMNO-BN is heading for an economic disaster.

18. #18 by LT on Wednesday, 7 October 2009 - 1:09 am

monsterball, we all knows that umno is very currupt n racist. But u have been making very racist remark as well. Just because asmehane call u a racist for the racist remark u made, u become all jumpy n start shooting… shame shame…

19. #19 by ekompute on Wednesday, 7 October 2009 - 4:43 am

“Muhyiddin claim that BN unites various races in Malaysia never sounded so hollow when Umno most guilty playing racial card to cling to power.”

Our fiend (no R) will say anything as long as it benefits him…

20. #20 by Joshua on Wednesday, 7 October 2009 - 4:53 am

It is not only the ILLEGAL Governments have no money as robbed by the people who run them, [money would never be enough if daylight robberies], there is a big problem as most families don’t have money to send their children to schools and so many schools can be empty or much fewer school pupils resulting in teachers are redundant.

Check the facts please on the statistics, and find out how many hundreds of thousands pupils according to the Malaysia Plans of the shortfalls in attendances.

So this is really the rotten system hiting back on the most basic item – teaching and education of the future generation. Maybe most educated and illegal leaders are corrupted even with the education attained. What a shame indeed!

Change the illegal Governments to IGGG for now.
    All concerned citizens please step forward.

pw: jeweler 3b

21. #21 by Joshua on Wednesday, 7 October 2009 - 4:57 am

If there is no money now, this is another bad news for the ‘fixed deposits’ state in this request.

In turn, Masidi requested Sabah Wildlife Department director Laurentius Ambu to prepare a position paper to be tabled before the state cabinet and to be submitted to the federal government for funding. [see below].

Joshua says it is likely a BIG dream for federal funding after the rotten system of illegal leaders [GREAT GRIEF] had destroyed Sabah since 1963 by GREED.
    How much would be needed for compensation, demarcation, operation, maintenance and regulation, especially when the wild life had declined so much for habitation destruction and
    poaching. Poaching will continue irrespective what.
    It is a bit too late to repair the damage of excessive oil palm especially when it is expected the planet X or Niburu passes by in 2012 raising
    the temperature unbearable. This planet X had been creating climate havoc in Sabah somehow
    exarcebated by the lopsided oil palm plantation.
    The other day, the illegal CM was talking of 10% of the FMU be allocated for food cultivation and
    now more land to be allocated for wildlife corridors and riparian reserves, and so would this proceed except NATO only since the day of the depletion of the natural forest reserves.
    Even in Kota Kinabalu, the Major was raising the issue of trees planting and the illegal cutting of trees for fungshiu. The cutting of trees has been happening for decades. We have seen many places in KK had been depleted of trees for development processes but never replaced after the said development works were completed.

Joshua Kong, PM for IGGG

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/114299
    Sabah to link up fragmented forests
    Joe Fernandez | Oct 6, 09 12:35pm
    Sabah’s many fragmented forests are to be linked by wildlife corridors and 100-metre wide riparian reserves with utmost urgency, before the current window of opportunity closes.

pw: $205,000,000 stayton

22. #22 by monsterball on Wednesday, 7 October 2009 - 7:07 am

LT..There are races that have no choice but to be racialists to fight for their rights and the original UMNO racialists that clearly want to divide and rule..supported by traitors of their own races…such as MCA…MIC and balless Gerakan.
    Do not forget UMNO totally changed to UMNO BARU….making Mahathir a Dictator….and did as they like…especially bailing pout is son with RM1.2 billion on tax payers money.
    Even now…not one thing done so criminally by Mahathir are being charged…showing Mahathir’s “Money is Power” works.
    Under him…and on going…corruptions is at the greatest.
    Yes….I foght for my race…but I am not a racialist per se..as my race was being so unfairly ill treated by UMNO..as if we are second class citizens. You mean you did not notice all these? How old are you?
    And when come to voting…I always voted for oppositions ..for better democracy. Is that a racialist mentality?
    Blogger Sheih of “Kickdefella” made a post concerning me …am I a racialist or not….and was proven not so..by all Muslim commentators.
    Shieh himself admits..I am no racialist too…and said his own race is the real racialists.
    With PR giving Malaysians real hope for a better government…almost all Malaysians are showing their true colours…as Malaysians Malaysia.
    It is UMNO and BN clinging to survive with race and religion politics.
    To sum up….shame on you for being so short sighted and have no sense of proportion…..jumping to wrong conclusions….on such an important issue of identity.
    Cannot win them….we fight UMNO with race issues.
    Now we are on the upper hands…we EXPOSED racialists!! Do you know the differences?

23. #23 by k1980 on Wednesday, 7 October 2009 - 8:39 am

Jib wants his 1Malaysia “philosophy” to be extended to 1Region and ultimately, 1World…

OMG, the people of the world soon is going to be divided into Boomees and Nonns, subjected to indefinite internment without trial, opaque type of government, a low per capita GDP which is merely 20% of Singapore’s, biased judiciary and police, intolerance of other ethnic groups and religions. What Alexander, Jenghiz, Hitler and Stalin failed to accomplish will be accomplished by Jibby the Great.

24. #24 by rabbit on Wednesday, 7 October 2009 - 9:17 am

Hey Monster Ball, ignore this 2 tedpole. both of them are same wire. so save your enegy to explain n concern what they said. Bro LKS eyes are not colour blind. only those colour blind people confuse what colour what they see the edu post reserve to which race they can see lah. just take a count in primary school. how many malay teacher n how many chinese n indian teacher? even is employ.. hmm i think they are allow to teach in english sub only. hahaha One Malaysia boleh.