PKFZ scandal – why has OKT changed so much in 8 short months after becoming MCA President?

My three questions (No.94 to No. 96) on the 32nd day in the current series to Transport Minister Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat on the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal today are:

Question No. 1: Ong, who had to abscond all the way to Paris to avoid ministerial accountability to Parliament for the RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal on June 15, specially came to Parliament yesterday to repeat to reporters at the Parliament lobby that I am not qualified to challenge him to a public debate on PKFZ scandal.

What courage!

Ong, having become MCA President, now regards himself as ‘No. 1 under the skies”. His ego must have reached the skies as he has been named “World’s Most Outstanding Chinese Leader”!

Ong is undoubtedly the “World’s Most Outstanding Chinese Leader” in running away from ministerial accountability to Parliament and the electorate, running all the way to France and away from Parliamentm stubbornly refusing to take his stand in Parliament to fully account for the “mother of all scandals”, and now running away from a series of public debates to “nail the liar”.

Referring to me yesterday, Ong said:

“He asked for the inquiry and the inquiry was made. The result of the inquiry has also been shared to everyone and he was one of the first to get all the information. He also raised the same questions which were raised three years ago. He has asked and the questions have already been answered.”

Yes, I had called for a full inquiry into the PKFZ “scandal of all scandals” – in fact a Royal Commission of Inquiry. I never agreed to a PKFZ inquiry which is so narrow and restricted in scope like the PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) audit inquiry to the extent that the PwC report admitted in its own words:

“We were not asked to and we have not advised on any strategy, valuation, legal implications, tax, operational effectiveness, staff competencies or process improvement. No investigation to detect any wrongdoing or audit to form an opinion on any financial information, including any forecasts and projects, has been undertaken.”

The first question I want to ask Ong is why he had changed so much in a short period of eight months after he became MCA President last October in his stand on accountability and integrity as compared to his past two decades in politics?

Question No. 2: The second question to Ong is whether he had directed the Port Klang Authority (PKA) to stop the next drawdown of RM360 million from the government’s soft loan of RM4.6 billion to pay the PKFZ turnkey developer Kuala Dimensi Sdn. Bhd. (KDSB) for the PKFZ land and construction.

The Finance Edge had reported that PKA is also to make another drawdown of RM300 million next month to meet the next scheduled payment to KDSB.

KDSB had received a payment of RM510 million in 2007 and RM660 million last year.

Will Ong order a halt to all payments to KDSB until a full inquiry and parliamentary accountability on the PKFZ scandal is completed?

Question No. 3: Karim Raslan in his Star column “CERITALAH” giving his diagnosis as to what Umno and Barisan Nasional should do to regain support of Malaysians, said:

“Second, the administration has to come clean on issues like the Port Klang Free Zone. A zero tolerance to corruption and mismanagement is a sure vote winner, look at how Indonesian President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono has focussed on the issue.”

Because of Ong’s snowballing and sabotaging of all efforts to get to the bottom of the RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal, both Ong and the PKFZ scandal have become the symbols of the refusal of the Najib premiership to have zero tolerance to corruption and mismanagement.

Does Ong agree with Karim and what does he proposes to do about it?

(Media Conference Statement by DAP Parliamentary Leader and MP for Ipoh Timor Lim Kit Siang in Parliament on Tuesday, June 30, 2009 at 11 am)

1. #1 by cintanegara on Tuesday, 30 June 2009 - 3:32 pm

This is the same old boring song sung by LKS….

2. #2 by k1980 on Tuesday, 30 June 2009 - 3:36 pm

Even this cat is pleading for OTK to tell the truth

http://www.emmitsburg.net/humor/pictures/2009/3245_1~12.JPG

3. #3 by monsterball on Tuesday, 30 June 2009 - 3:56 pm

To cintanegara ….the MCA balls carrier…this is a boring song.
    To Malaysians….LKS have much to be admired…never give up..never lost sight…never stop….until he gets replies from OTK.
    To Malaysians….this song is not boring and a No.1 hit….not tired to hear it over and over again.
    cintanegara …wants to forget about it and move on.
    He is a real jerk.

4. #4 by rabbit on Tuesday, 30 June 2009 - 4:31 pm

Sorry cinta negara! i dont feel it is old song. unless you are not malaysian or never pay income tax or having meal in malaysia. Bro LKS is singing for malaysia, not for him self or PKR. i think u should change your cinta negara to bosan negara. never be BN tedpole.

5. #5 by rabbit on Tuesday, 30 June 2009 - 4:53 pm

monster ball, i still dont understand, why this PKFZ issue justcan’t hand over to royal comm?they are try to delay the report while try to use black magic again. the SG new press can see it everyday. but not in mal!!!

6. #6 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 30 June 2009 - 5:26 pm

What do you expect Ong Tikus to do but to run and to hide? We need a good ratcatcher.

As the days go by, he reveals more and more of his stupidity.

7. #7 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 30 June 2009 - 6:07 pm

Very soon, LKS will post his 100th question to OTK
    OTK has no time for LKS lah
    OTK has to tackle CSL
    OTK cannot fathom why CSL so popular after VCD show
    Perhaps OTK is busy plotting to release a VCD
    of tiger show starring his good self
    to gain support of the fair sex
    to revive his flaccid reputation n standing within MCA

8. #8 by intan on Tuesday, 30 June 2009 - 6:47 pm

Kata kawan, Ong Takut selalu hit and run. But if he is not clean, how far can he run?

9. #9 by taiking on Tuesday, 30 June 2009 - 6:55 pm

What would you do if you discovered that one hundred ringgit have gone missing from you wallet?
    What would you do if you discovered that a thousand ringgit have gone missing from your wallet?
    What would you do if you discovered that ten thousand ringgit have gone missing from your wallet?
    What would you do if you discovered that a million ringgit have gone missing from your wallet?
    10 million?
    20 million?
    100 million?
    1 billion?
    and so on.

Quite clearly your reaction would change accordingly depending on the amount involved.

Cintanegara and umnoputras who have all grown completely numb to large numbers of course the talk of losing 12.5b does seem kinda boring.
    Wots the big deal man. Its only 12.5b. Small matter! Commission on a submarine deal is already worth 500m.

But really. To earn the same 500m a housing developer would have to develop thousands and thousands of units over many phases, and that means over years of labour, sweat, blood, and headache.

No wonder people voted the way they did last march and indications are clear that the sentiments are not only persisting but also swelling.

10. #10 by YK Leong on Tuesday, 30 June 2009 - 7:35 pm

Cinta negara says: “This is the same old boring song sung by LKS………..” Who planted you here?

We hope that Brother Kit Siang continues to sing until we get to the bottom of the RM12.5 billion PKFZ “mother of all scandals”. The RM12.5 billion is the taxpayers’ hard-earned money. Do not let the PKFZ scandal to cool down and stored away into the cold storage. Whenever possible, I will drop a few lines with respect to the PKFZ scandal until GE13 is over. Cinta negara, do not get bore with me.

11. #11 by albert308 on Tuesday, 30 June 2009 - 8:00 pm

OTK HIGHLY EGOISTIC CHARACTER IS A FACT, NOT FALSE. A SUDDEN CHANGED IN OVERCONFIDENT PUBLIC APPEARANCE WAY SINCE HELM PRESIDENT POST AND TRANSPORT MINISTER NEVERTHELESS LACK OF TRUE CHARISMATIC LEADERSHIP.
    IN THE HISTORY OF MCA IN MALAYSIAN POLITIC, NO LEADER WORTH TO EARN RESPECT FROM CHINESE COMMUNITY. OTK FALL INTO SAME CATEGORY.

12. #12 by mendela on Tuesday, 30 June 2009 - 8:17 pm

Kit, when you’re done with OTK, pls go after the bigger evil, the UMNO!

Most of the deep shits are created by UMNO. PKFZ is just the tip of an iceberg.

Why Mahathiu until now dare not to say a word about PKFZ? Simple, he himself got a big hand in it!

13. #13 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 30 June 2009 - 8:30 pm

Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat is a very good role model for non Bumis to follow if they wish to make it to the top and get the respect from everyone.

14. #14 by Sony boy on Wednesday, 1 July 2009 - 1:34 am

Uncle Kit,

I think Ong Tee Keat is still the same as the last time.

Remember long time ago, he did not back off during the MCA Youth EGM fiasco? OTK went against Ling Liong Sik and cronies. Many of my brother’s non-chinese frens told me they were shocked that he can be so stubbornly ‘chinese nature’ to pursue a cause and somemore going against his President’s men :o

Now, my non-chinese frens tell me he is still the same. This OTK sure will be true to his nature and will be stubborn again to do what he said he will carry out.

But I cannot find material to read the history how he fought Ling’s men. Where can I find the story please? Did DAP support OTK’s action during that time? Or DAP support Ling Liong Sik at that time?

I’m so confused especially the newspapers telling OTK has done something no other minister in Malaysia history has done before, But Uncle Lim as opposition leader is trying to make OTK do more by scolding him daily to make him do more than his minister capacity allow (my brother fren said OTK so far is lucky, if he talk more, sure kena sue left & right, then PKFZ report will have nobody to champion in Najib cabinet).

Lucky I don’t have ambition to be minister, I don’t have the guts. I rather not to be scolded daily for trying to do something with PKFZ.

15. #15 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 1 July 2009 - 6:55 am

“Why has OTK changed so much in 8 short months after becoming MCA president”? – LKS

He lost his BALLS after he was elected president. Every Malaysian knows about this except you, LKS. Kenapa? Kenapa? Kenapa?

The balless president said “LKS is not qualified to debate with him”

In a sense……..yes. He is ONG ( KING ) tee kiat. But in front of his UMNO Baru masters, he keeps his ONG in his pocket. He becomes take kick. This also you dono, LKY. Kenapa? Kenapa? Kenapa?

16. #16 by the reds on Wednesday, 1 July 2009 - 10:15 am

Ong Ta Kut might be the President of MCA, but to UMNO, he is only a little boy – begging for toys and sweets!

MCA would never grow under him!

17. #17 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 1 July 2009 - 12:43 pm

Hi monsterball,this cintanegara is indeed a real jerk.He doen’t know this is an unending song and it’s top one in the country for weeks and months already and it’s still curently remains in number one spot.This patriotic song sung by YB Lim is going to stay at the number one spot ,I think for a long long time. I wonder cintanegera can sing a song,assumming he can,I think it will be a total failure,let alone is able to enter any hit chart.Cintanegera,please don’t be like sour grapes .