Why has Najib shied away from seeking a confidence motion in the House?

With every passing day, public confidence in the credibility, integrity and legitimacy of the Prime Minister has worsened, as illustrated by the two following indicators:

• In an opinion poll conducted by opinion research firm Merdeka Centre in his second month as Prime Minister from May 6-15 on 1,067 registered voters, Najib could only secure 45% popularity.
  • In poll on the blog of the MCA President, Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat, 78% of those polled wanted MCA to get out of Barisan Nasional.

Now Malaysians have even more reasons why they have no confidence, the credibility integrity and legitimacy of Najib as Prime Minister – the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal; galloping crime in the country with Malaysians, tourists and investors losing their fundamental rights to be free from crime and the fear of crime; worsening of the crisis of confidence in independence of the judiciary.

This was why I had called on Najib to seek a vote of confidence when Parliament reconvened on June 15.

This was what Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi did when he became the fifth Prime Minister in 2003, with Parliament passing a motion of confidence in him in his first week in office. This was also what Datuk Hussein Onn did when he took over as Prime Minister in 1976 when Tun Razak died of leukaemia in London, convening an emergency meeting of Parliament to secure a motion of confidence in him in his first fortnight in office.

But Najib has shied away from seeking a confidence motion in the House. Is Najib afraid that he would not be able to get the solid and united support for such a confidence motion from the BN MPs, who still constitute a comfortable majority although the BN has lost its two-thirds parliamentary majority?

[Speech by DAP Parliamentary Leader and MP for Ipoh Timor Lim Kit Siang on Tuesday, 23rd June 2009 in Parliament on the Finance Minister’s motion to reallot 2009 Budget among the various Ministries following the 10th April 2009 Cabinet reshuffle.]

1. #1 by albert308 on Tuesday, 23 June 2009 - 10:04 pm

BN until today still dominated by one single party, that is UMNO though in reality its position weaken in view of last GE result. Unity Government rhetoric is UMNO issue not BN issue and this is racial issue in the context of Malay unity agenda. Najis headed and make it sensation with certain PAS leaders as fans. This is again racial politics with negotiation detailed co-operation between Pas and Umno for safeguard Malay interest.
    One the other hand, Najis ‘sandiwara’ with 1Malaysia blur concept.
    Nation financial resources under control by Umno, this fall into their advantage to allocate large fund in East Malaysia states, forever political development.
    With unity government dissipated for the time being, Najis quickly call for new round of liberalisation policy. For what reason? Put the blame on PAS for weaken the Malay privallege? This is the leadership style of Najis.

2. #2 by the reds on Tuesday, 23 June 2009 - 10:09 pm

Given the uncertain political situation, Najib has no choice but to act like coward to secure his premiership.

3. #3 by -ec- on Tuesday, 23 June 2009 - 10:29 pm

yb, you should not ask the speaker, you should not ask the house, you should not ask nr himself.

you should ask his real boss. i bet you know who. :P

4. #4 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 24 June 2009 - 12:26 am

I do not see how Najib could be popular because his most cherished 1Malaysia concept was rejected by Tun Dr. M. (one of Malaysia’s most influential ex-PMs) who claimed he did not know what 1Malaysia is.

5. #5 by wanderer on Wednesday, 24 June 2009 - 12:38 am

Who will really give a damn to an UMNO PM…except eunchs and marble players!!!
    This unworthy man is clinching to power shielded by the ‘super corrupts’ in this country…ask Mr kerala.

6. #6 by newchief on Wednesday, 24 June 2009 - 10:19 am

datuk Lim…i’m very very happy that parliament didn’t seek MP’s vote of no confidence through . have u forget about abdullah’s case?? suddenly, all bn mps sits near him sokong him lah. same thing will be for najib case!!!

if u insist base on surveys done on the rakyat, its probably true they want a change but don’t forget that this survey is done only at west and NOT EAST. E malaysia is the only two states that hold bn in power because they are always given sweet promises and gula gula during elections time…that’s why they deserve to be lack behind though these 2 states give federal huge funds from especially fuel and oil palms!!!

unless pkr,dap or pas under pk wings has the magic wand to wake up these ‘stupid people’s brains’ to vote for a change, PK WILL GO NOWHERE!!!

if really want to convey voting via parliament, all i can say is u will make najib from BEING ZERO TO HERO and u from HERO TO ZERO….just like big-mouthing bn members crossing over to pk last year!!!

wake up datuk lim…. focus on how to woo e.malaysia bn voters to jump ship and how to defend anwar’s case which i understand, has taken for the worst since the dna has been hastily passed through.

i have suggestion for dna….get copy of saiful’s penetrator’s dna ON INKED FIRST before demanding anwar to do his dna so that can see whether they match !!!

also, for pk to form federal, must NOW insist anwar to appoint a successor in case his case flops. hopefully it is either nizar or the lawyer defector!!! we must admit other races cannot become pm because we are in malaysia and not USA so has to get along to play as 2nd fiddle as always….

just target to form the next government with e.malaysia help and let the rest go one step at a time.

7. #7 by Mist on Wednesday, 24 June 2009 - 10:34 am

Could PR move a no-confidence motion ? If yes why wasn’t this done ?

8. #8 by YK Leong on Wednesday, 24 June 2009 - 10:35 am

With such an uncertainity hanging on Najib’s head, Najib will not dare to take the risk to seek a confidence motion in Parliament.

9. #9 by RichardLion on Wednesday, 24 June 2009 - 10:57 am

YB LKS,

instead of calling BN MP to vote for no confident vote to their boss, which we knew the result, may i suggest ur gd office to prepare a Najib KPI report card include all scope of subjects need to perform being Prime Minister, forward to all Malaysia citizen via cyber or media to reach out to as much citizens if possible and let them grade Najib performance. let this KPI result be distribute thr’ internet or newspaper and let repeat the process every 3 months. Let the result be the judge and fair to all.

10. #10 by taiking on Wednesday, 24 June 2009 - 12:12 pm

“It would be waste of time and money.” Najib will say. And btw, there will be no GE13. Same reason – waste of money. Instead he should pass a law to allow umno to allocate seats in parliament directly to anyone. All malaysians who are interested in becoming parliamentarian may apply and must undergo a pre-selection direct negotiation with mahathir.

11. #11 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 24 June 2009 - 12:17 pm

Hi newchief,hold on your horses,be polite and don’t conderm us Sabahan voters as”stupid people’s brains “.You guys in P.malaysia have allowed Umno/Bn rule for more than half a century,aren’t you all are even more “stupid people’s brains than us,sabahan voters.We have changed three state governments since we joined Malaysia in 1963 .Did you guys ever change any ?.

12. #12 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 24 June 2009 - 12:58 pm

YB Lim asked “why has Najib shied away from seeking a confidence motion in the House “.Najib has no confidence in himself because he’s filup with lots and lots of shxts(liken to a chinese saying “whole body full of shxts”.Even his wife does not trust him (Atan’case),let alone all those Umno/Bn MPs especially those from East Malaysia.I think he is struggling,not enjoying the power he has now.Howerer,never underestimate him as he’s a very cunning politician.Time is his greatest enemy.He’s using a shortest possible time to consolidate his power and position through controlling the PDRM(IGP) JD(JC),MACC,EC and the AF(armed forces) and Umno/Bn. Once done,I think he will call for snap GE before 2012. PR,please never let your guard down,a snap GE would be likely any time sooner than later.

13. #13 by monsterball on Wednesday, 24 June 2009 - 3:24 pm

Frankyapp….Guys here have less balls than Sabahans!!
    I never knew in Sabah…you have changed 3 State government.
    That speaks well for democracy.
    Here….we have lots of prayer houses…to keep UMNO and PAS muslims happy…just put an “x”…no need to think and leave it to Allah and the defenders of their race.
    This is how far…we have advanced since Merdeka…and those idiots who voted for UMNO will the ones that will suffer most
    They know it….and their conclusion..still cling to UMNO for survival.
    That’s how idiotic racialists … they are.
    But it is getting lesser and lesser…with minds open to think and understand.
    GREAT .. TO SEE YOU.. FARK THEM UP……RIGHT AND PROPER!! .

14. #14 by vp74 on Wednesday, 24 June 2009 - 3:53 pm

YB Lim ask Najib to seeking a confidence motion in House is just like asking Najib to put shit on his own face.

As all previous PM will sure having 2/3 of 222 voted, Najib confirmed himself do not have 2/3 of 222 votes. The YB Lim again will shoot him as the worst PM in Malaysia.

More worse, some BN component party may take this chance to demand more power/money??? from him in order to ensure najib will get 112 votes. Giving more power/money??? to other Bn component parties means taking away the power/money??? from UNMO. Who can he do such action which will effect his current status in UNMO.

In this situation, how can Najib seek confidence motion. Najib prefer to become turtle who put it’s head inside it’s body, rather than put tshit on his own face.

15. #15 by imranj78 on Wednesday, 24 June 2009 - 4:33 pm

LKS,
    Why oh why waste time on a motion that we all know what the outcome would be? I suggest you focus on much better things that create actual value for the people rather then focussing only on your political ambitions. Care to share what have you actually done for the rakyat this week as an MP that has improved our lives?

16. #16 by TomThumb on Wednesday, 24 June 2009 - 8:57 pm

uncle lim sticks to the script. he’s not the kind of actor who goes off script. if there is a teleprompter he will use the teleprompter.