PKFZ scandal – When will Ong Tee Keat make public apology for misleading Parliament and nation in past 14 months denying that Liong Sik/Kong Choy had unlawfully issued four Letters of Support

My three questions (No.34 to No. 36 on the 12th day in the current series) to Transport Minister Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat on the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal today are:

1. Since becoming Transport Minister, Ong had misled Parliament and the nation in denying that his two predecessors as Transport Minister, Tun Dr. Ling Liong Sik and Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy had unlawfully issued four Letters of Support to Kuala Dimensi Snd. Bhd (KDSB), the PKFZ turnkey contractor – to raise RM4 billion bonds, which were regarded as government guarantees by the market.

The Transport Minister had no such powers to issue financial guarantees committing the government, as it could only be issued by the Finance Minister and only after Cabinet approval.

The first Letter of Support was issued by Liong Sik on May 28, 2003, which was Liong Sik’s last day as Transport Minister. The other three “Letters of Support” were issued by Kong Choy on 23rd April 2004, 8th December 2005 and 23rd May 2006 all of which stated that ““the MOT (Ministry of Transport) shall at all times in the future ensure that PKA is in the position to meet (and do meet on a full and timely basis) their liabilities in respect of the Repayment Amount for so long as an amount in respect of the Repayment Amount remains outstanding”.

In recognition that the four unlawful “Letters of Support” issued by Liong Sik and Kong Choy as Transport Minister had nonetheless given implicit government guarantee to the market that the Cabinet had in July 2007 to give retrospective approval for the unlawful and unauthorized four Letters of Support by the Transport Ministers in the past four years creating RM4.6 billion liability for the government in the bailout of PKFZ.

When will Ong admit that he had misled Parliament and the nation in denying that Liong Sik and Kong Choy had unlawfully issued the four Letters of Support resulting in the RM12.5 billion PKFZ burden to the Malaysian nation and people and tender a public apology for his Ministerial misconduct in the past 14 months?

2. What action Ong proposes to take against both Liong Sik and Kong Choy as well as government officials responsible for the unlawful issue of the four “Letters of Support”, resulting in the RM12.billion PKFZ burden to the people and nation?

3. Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Seri Chor Chee Heung yesterday launched the Audit and Assurance Standards Board and Ethics Standards Board at the Securities Commission yesterday.

He said “honesty, integrity, transparency and accountability” are key words in good corporate governance and hoped that the implementation of the two boards “will reinforce ongoing efforts by MIA (Malaysian Institute of Accountants) to meet stakeholders’ stringent expectations of audit quality and ethical behaviour among financial professionals”.

Doesn’t Ong find it sickening to hear such hypocritical spoutings when Chor has yet to give a full accounting of his Chairmanship of Port Klang Authority from April 2007 to March 2008,which saw the worsening of the PKFZ into a RM4.6 billion scandal, more than four times the original cost of RM1.1 billion and now set to become a RM12.5 billion monster scandal.

Why is Ong not asking Chor to resign as Deputy Finance Minister unless Chor can give proper accountability of his chairmanship of the PKA with regard to the PKFZ scandal?

1. #1 by Godfather on Wednesday, 10 June 2009 - 12:10 pm

You don’t expect Ong to implicate Nor Mohd Yakcop for issuing the letters of “clarification” to the rating agencies, do you ?

2. #2 by taiking on Wednesday, 10 June 2009 - 1:44 pm

/// He [Chor Chee Heung] said “honesty, integrity, transparency and accountability” are key words in good corporate governance and hoped that the implementation of the two boards “will reinforce ongoing efforts by MIA (Malaysian Institute of Accountants) to meet stakeholders’ stringent expectations of audit quality and ethical behaviour among financial professionals”. ///

Yeah all those are stuff that he squirted out of his rear orifice after a bad round of tummy upheaval. Wipe it off and dont forget to flush.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 10 June 2009 - 2:33 pm

The first Letter of Support was issued by Liong Sik on May 28, 2003, which was Liong Sik’s last day as Transport Minister. – Kit
    ====================================================

Replenished ‘stock’, washed hands and said bye-bye.

4. #4 by YK Leong on Wednesday, 10 June 2009 - 2:33 pm

King Ta Kut is “answering slowly, answering softly, answering quietly” to Kit Siang’s question #34 to #36.

Question #34:- The 4 letters were lost during the break-in into a friend’s car in Johore. No need to make public apology because it is a political manoeuvre.

Question #35:- No Further Action (NFA). Taught by AG & MACC how to answer your question.

In another unrelated matter, Nizar has another 10 days to file his appeal in Nizar vs. Zambry case to the Federal Court. I am wondering when can Nizar be given the written judgment since 3.30pm on 22 May 2009?

Question #36:- Aiya, how to find a replacement nowadays? MCA lost so badly in the 308 elections. Don’t you know that MCA has 2 back door listed deputy ministers.

5. #5 by Bobster on Wednesday, 10 June 2009 - 2:41 pm

OTK kept mumbling on nation tv claiming oppositions trying to stir the issue ,,, blah blah blah.

Shut up and listen up Mr Ong Tee Kiat. IF you cannot answer, just ask your formal bosses to answer to the public!

Please note that based on RM4.6B investment as of last year, out of the 26 million population of this country, each Malaysian is subsidising RM177 to PFKZ. If based on RM12.5B losses as of today, each Malaysian is paying RM481 to PFKZ for nothing!

As a Transport Minister, your are answerable to each one of us. But it seems that you guys from Transport Minister/Formal Transport Ministers/MD/GM/Chairman unable to give a simple answer straight to the point. Keep mumbling with bubbles on your big mouth trying to cover the whole issue.

Please note that people are not as dumb nowadays compare to your generation.

This case going to be the nail in your ass (BN) year after year till the collapse of the corrupted regime.

Younger generations(your kids and kids’ kids) will know one day how their forefathers siphoned the nation wealth with a mumbling Transport Minister inaction to recover the losses and no one responsible from the criminal case.

In the coming days the corrupted regime will be defeated by the younger generation.

Everything scandals will be saved in the backup cds/hardisks/servers.

We know what you did 20 years ago.

Future generations will be too ashamed to have bunch of scumbag forefathers.

Just see.

6. #6 by Godfather on Wednesday, 10 June 2009 - 2:59 pm

The letters of support were expressedly qualified to disclaim that there were guarantees. But the nature of the letters suggest that there is an ongoing obligation to keep PKA solvent. The rating agency wasn’t convinced, so they asked for a written clarification from the MOF, which they received.

Now, if the letters of support were illegal, the MOF certainly added credibility or legality to those letters. As Limkamput pointed out elsewhere, this billion ringgit scam must have been sanctioned at the highest levels in BN for several ministries to be involved.

7. #7 by limkamput on Thursday, 11 June 2009 - 7:39 am

Hi tom dumb, benci negara and asmat,
    I say let’s withdraw the pensions of Samy Vellu, Mahathir and others for causing mega inconvenience to MRR2, how about it? Incompetence is no excuse, and in Malaysia it has been used to cover up one scandal after another, got it dumb dumb?

Sdr Lim, just keep harping on PKFZ and MRR2 would be sufficient to win the next election.

8. #8 by TomThumb on Thursday, 11 June 2009 - 9:55 am

if being incompetent is a crime then you’d have to be incarcerated and dap would never win elections. gross negligence could be criminal. not ordinary negligence.

if a structure collapses why has it got to be corruption all the time and why has it got to be BN related. can’t it be negligence on the part of a body or bodies or individuals?? must every issue be politicised?

9. #9 by TomThumb on Thursday, 11 June 2009 - 10:10 am

dap has no issues to work on other than this?? is it so bankrupt of ideas that it must seize anything thrown in its way?

10. #10 by Godfather on Thursday, 11 June 2009 - 10:35 am

TomDumbo:

We work on corruption because it is for the sake of future generations. The MRR2 deal was given to UMNO cronies, just like the PKFZ deal, and the rakyat’s money is involved. You are not a taxpayer, so all you can do is try to sidetrack the real issues at hand.

UMNO doesn’t feel ashamed, and obviously you don’t feel ashamed too, judging by the frivolous comments posted on this blog.

11. #11 by Godfather on Thursday, 11 June 2009 - 10:37 am

When a structure collapses, it means that the rakyat has received no “value for money”. It means that for every ringgit spent, probably 50 sen went into UMNO’s pockets for doing nothing. That’s why we have substandard construction, and we have substandard minds like TomDumb.

12. #12 by TomThumb on Thursday, 11 June 2009 - 11:14 am

structures collapse all the time. and it has nothing to do with corruption. sometimes it does. you’re a poor cheerleader for the dap.

13. #13 by Godfather on Thursday, 11 June 2009 - 11:55 am

“it has nothing to do with corruption. sometimes it does.”

What sort of stupid comment is this ? In Bolehland almost every structure that has collapsed is due to corruption. Understand English ?

14. #14 by monsterball on Thursday, 11 June 2009 - 12:07 pm

We are not cheerleaders for DAP…you idiot!
    Are you calling us…balls carriers of DAP?
    We are supporting DAP whom incidentally……the leaders are brave enough to expose corruptions and dare to go to jail for no reasons..to save you….asshokle!
    We are supporting a free united Malaysia…not …a divide to rule..
    We totally hate huge corruptions..using tax payers money..like all belongs to UMNO.
    Your useless idiotic comments are well taken cared of by others.
    All can see so clearly..corruptions are involved. You talk like Samy Vellu….\It’s natural \ or \Act of God\
    How stupid can you be….stooping so low to carry balls.up to this level.

15. #15 by limkamput on Thursday, 11 June 2009 - 3:10 pm

Godfather, what can we expect from dumbo? When I said incompetence is used as a cover up for corruption, what the dumbo responded was incompetence is not a crime, gross negligence is.

It is obvious he is probably a paid blogger to create some distraction here. Let the dumb roam around aimlessly. The more he says, the more absurdity he creates for his masters.

16. #16 by ekin on Thursday, 11 June 2009 - 3:13 pm

MR. PATHETIC TOMTHUMB AKA ONE OF 3 STOOGES,

“# TomThumb Says:
    Today at 09: 55.46 (4 hours ago)

if being incompetent is a crime then you’d have to be incarcerated and dap would never win elections. gross negligence could be criminal. not ordinary negligence.

if a structure collapses why has it got to be corruption all the time and why has it got to be BN related. can’t it be negligence on the part of a body or bodies or individuals?? must every issue be politicised?” – ONLY REASON IS BECAUSE BN RULED.

“# TomThumb Says:
    Today at 10: 10.54 (4 hours ago)

dap has no issues to work on other than this?? is it so bankrupt of ideas that it must seize anything thrown in its way?” – DAP IS TRYING TO HIGHLIGHT FACTS, NOT IDEAS. YOU ARE SO DUMB!

“# TomThumb Says:
    Today at 11: 14.25 (3 hours ago)

structures collapse all the time. and it has nothing to do with corruption. sometimes it does. you’re a poor cheerleader for the dap.” – OH DUMBBELL, LET ME SIMPLIFIED IT FOR YOU. SIGHS…..REALLY DUMB…..STRUCTURES COLLAPSE DUE NOT TO NATURAL DISASTERS, ARE BECAUSE OF THE LACK OF PROPER MATERIALS NEEDED TO CONSTRUCT IT. THESE MATERIALS ARE EXPENSIVE. IT IS ALWAYS BECAUSE OF CORRUPTION THAT MONEY WHICH IS SUPPOSE TO PURCHASE THESE MATERIALS LESSEN OR TAKEN AWAY. SO IF A STRUCTURE DOESN’T HAVE ENOUGH PROPER MATERIALS, COLLAPSE LOR! CAN YOU UNDERSTAND IT DUMBBELL? ONE MORE THING THONG THONG DUMBBELL, WE DON’T CHEER, WE SUPPORT. WHOEVER GAVE US FREEDOM AND DEMOCRACY, WE WILL SUPPORT! IN THIS CASE, DAP DOES CAUSE THEY ARE FREEDOM FIGHTERS! YOU? JUST ANOTHER DUMB @SS.

17. #17 by miko on Thursday, 11 June 2009 - 11:11 pm

Who is this \Kuala Dimensi S/Bhd (KDSB)\ ? They must have paid a lot of taxes. It would be interesting to read more about this company and her relationship.

18. #18 by TomThumb on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 3:11 am

“As Limkamput pointed out elsewhere, this billion ringgit scam must have been sanctioned at the highest levels in BN for several ministries to be involved.” grand daddy of dap

it is not the fact that a scam is hatched with the blessings of those in power if not by those in power, but what is perplexing is the time it took for the grand daddy of dap to arrive at the conclusion.

19. #19 by ekin on Friday, 12 June 2009 - 1:31 pm

MR. PATHETIC TOMTHUMB AKA ONE OF 3 STOOGES,

“# TomThumb Says:
    Today at 03: 11.34 (10 hours ago)

“As Limkamput pointed out elsewhere, this billion ringgit scam must have been sanctioned at the highest levels in BN for several ministries to be involved.” grand daddy of dap

it is not the fact that a scam is hatched with the blessings of those in power if not by those in power, but what is perplexing is the time it took for the grand daddy of dap to arrive at the conclusion.” – WHY DIDN’T YOU QUESTION THE TIME TAKEN BY YOUR MCA IN DELIVERING THE REPORT? FURTHERMORE IT WAS NOT AN ACCOUNTABLE ONE! YOU ARE REAL DUMB!