Najib’s great analysis about failings of BN leaders with himself as foremost example

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak has made a great analysis about Barisan Nasional (BN) leaders too obsessed with positions and failing to “learn and change” after the political tsunami electoral defeat last year – except he did not realise he was describing himself as such a foremost BN leader.

Speaking at the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) annual assembly opening yesterday, Najib scolded BN leaders who were too obsessed with party posts, saying they should focus on the people and regain support for the ruling federal government coalition after its dismal Election 2008 results.

This is the Malaysian Insider report of Najib’s speech yesterday:

Najib said the fight for posts was a problem within the Barisan, which has been in power for so long and has not realised that “nostalgia, sentiment and even kindness” can be forgotten.

Instead, Barisan must “feel the pulse of the people” and “not think it is business as usual.

“When will we learn and change? Losing two-thirds of parliament and four states should be lesson enough,” Najib said, adding that Barisan parties must accept the reality that it was the ruling coalition’s worse ever performance in its 52 years in power.

He added that a “tsunami” was an accurate description for the last general elections as “it is a phenomenon where you do not see the waves until it is too late.”

“Do not underestimate the Malaysian public, who can smile and shake your hand but inside they say wait until elections and I will show my power,” he warned.

It is a great irony that Najib is not aware or conscious that he is most guilty of the malady among the Barisan Nasional leaders he diagnosed yesterday.

It is also an indictment of the “business-as-usual” mindset of the Barisan Nasional leaders, who have failed to “feel the pulse of the people”, that there is not a single Barisan Nasional leader, whether from Umno, MCA, Gerakan or MIC, who dare to point out to Najib his own great failure to “learn and change”!

If Najib had followed his own edict to constantly “feel the pulse of the people”, he would have realized that the biggest Achilles heel in the credibility, integrity and legitimacy of his premiership is the unethical, undemocratic, illegal and unconstitutional power grab in Perak.

As Najib himself warned, “Do not underestimate the Malaysian public, who can smile and shake your hand but inside they say wait until elections and I will show my power”.

This is precisely the current thinking of voters, not only in Perak but throughout the country, waiting for the next 13th general election to teach Najib and Barisan Nasional a lesson for the illegal coup de’tat in Perak.

It is not too late for Najib to make amends for his greatest political blunder on becoming the sixth Prime Minister – orchestrating the unethical, undemocratic, illegal and unconstitutional power grab in Perak – by dissolving the Perak State Assembly and returning the mandate to the Perakians to elect the government of their choice in a state-wide general election.

Is Najib prepared to practise what he preached at the PPP annual assembly yesterday – not to “underestimate” the voters of Perak and Malaysia?

1. #1 by Joshua on Monday, 8 June 2009 - 8:01 am

The scourge of the socalled self fulfilled prophecy “RAHMAN” must end now that N is accomplished prematurely when the 5th one reluctantly pushed away.

So what are so special about our past PMs?

There is a famous saying the ‘fish rots at the head’ and you know it when we eat the fish when the fish is slightly starting to rot.

We need IGGG.

2. #2 by rainstorm on Monday, 8 June 2009 - 8:10 am

Barisan must “feel the pulse of the people” and “not think it is business as usual. “When will we learn and change? Losing two-thirds of parliament and four states should be lesson enough,” Najib said…

Well… some of them stil in “la-la land” & some still in denial and think that Malaysians are stupid. Let’s hope in next general election, we show the BN the exit door for good !

3. #3 by the reds on Monday, 8 June 2009 - 9:31 am

Najib is no different from his predecessor!!! Sembang kosong and gila kuasa…..

4. #4 by passerby on Monday, 8 June 2009 - 10:04 am

This is all talk only. You already made your pile but the next one waiting in line patiently is not going to forgo his chance for the corruption money. His children and his descendants will curse for changing the rules just when he is about to lay his hands on the money.

5. #5 by Thinking Two on Monday, 8 June 2009 - 10:06 am

The King said “The rise and fall of the country is decided by the RAKYAT”.

6. #6 by taiking on Monday, 8 June 2009 - 10:24 am

[deleted] But the damned chinese in perak would soak you real good politically. Tell ya wot. In fact they will soak you with a smile and a handshake. Yeah. With a smile and a handshake. And maybe take some money from ya pocket too man. And guess wot? All malaysians would like to do dat too. And tell ya wot. Indians and malays have learned the skill too man. Now dats real bad news for ya man. Smile, handshake and then soak. Aww man. Dats great stuff man. Good fun. Yeah great to S.H.S. you people. Dat is it. To SHS you guys. And dont you people try to feel for their pulse. Coz they have none man. Nothin man. Uh ah. Nothin left man. No feelin for you guys man. Coz why? Coz you people robbed dem of their damned pulse man.

7. #7 by Bigjoe on Monday, 8 June 2009 - 10:34 am

Its actually a curious thing that is happening.

Traditionally BN do not interfere with the workings on its component party because the component parties have very strong hold on their constituent. But over the years the component parties hold on their constituent have lessen. At this stage BN President can interfer without too much consequence to it. Ling Liong Sik was ousted because Dr. M advised it and there was no great damage.

So its possible for Najib to intefer in PPP and settle the matter especially given he is strong hold over UMNO and there would be no strong consequences against BN/UMNO. Najib could have tacitly tell Kavyeas that he wants open election with Murugiah eligible to contest and it would have ended there. But it seems he is still afraid of the backlash that could happen if he interfered. He want it to play it out regardless of the damage to BN or he think that by having this played out, it strengthens his influence on PPP when it will matter more in the 13th GE but its not for certain this conventional thinking.

Najib really have too much on his plate and if problems keep dragging out, the messasage in 13th GE will be that he just don’t have ‘the right stuff’ i.e., just not good enough. His stimulus package did not work. Perak is a disaster already and will never recover enough. 1Malaysia a joke already.

If he keep thinking he does not have to really step up to the plate when the going get tough, he is going to find out the even his own BN component members and UMNO members will tell him otherwise…

8. #8 by YK Leong on Monday, 8 June 2009 - 10:40 am

Najib, do you know what is “how sui tua kor char” (in Cantonese means saliva is more than tea)? Return Perak to the Perakians to decide once and for all, if you really mean what you said. Perak is insured by the people of Perak. You hit us, we hit you back.

9. #9 by SpeakUp on Monday, 8 June 2009 - 10:48 am

UMNO will always be big brother in BN, this is to preserve everyone’s best interest and ensure that all are taken care off. Simple political strategy. Will they change? No la … as all are selfish. Even DAP/PKR/PAS have the same problem but albeit at a smaller percentage only. I say let BN rot and go to hell, let their Maker sort them out, we can only use that little right we have that we

In the meantime Mr LKS as usual is only good at pointing fingers. What are your views on PAS fanning their love flames for UMNO or when PKR blew your son away ever so rudely in Penang? Why do we not read articles by you on such events? You are a true politician.

Anyways, its ugly and unprofessional when partners lay their dirty linen in public in such a manner. Please do not say its the idealogy of agreeing to disagree. I would love to see that in a plane that has 3 pilots who want to go different ways ok.

Mr LKS, clean up your own house so that BN will not use it against PR. You are one sad case …

10. #10 by Dr. W on Monday, 8 June 2009 - 11:35 am

The PM is right this time. Perak people are waiting at the edges of their chairs to stir-fry BN in the next GE, I am happy to be among the angry crowds.

He may be too busy to feel our pulses in Perak, too busy to realize we really hate Zambry as much as they hate him. But PR does not seed hatred in us, they don’t have to, the enemy has dug his own grave. And we ain’t 3-year-old lolipop suckers who can be easily painted? We hate them because we genuinely feel so, for they did.

The PM should have listened to Matthias Chang: Return Perak or lose the federal. How true is that. And so, we wait.

11. #11 by danieltcc on Monday, 8 June 2009 - 12:00 pm

YB Lim, it is sad to see the true colours of the coalition member party of PKR when they jostled for the power post of Council President. I believe that DAP is on a collision course with PKR because of the appointment. It seems that PM Najib also sees the same with BN, the same is happening in PR with the focus on position and posts rather than the pure and perhaps idealistic approach of serving the people which CM Lim Guan Eng is sincerely proving. I salute CM Lim Guan Eng for approaching the issue with sincere heart and mindful of the people’s needs to serve and better our quality of life. Sadly, the promise of posts and position is likely the theme of the coalition party PKR. Perhaps Aminah spoke from her heart when she exposed the scheme and lamented on the outlook of PKR, that those in there and therein are more concerned of party positions, state posts and elected office, for the betterment of their ownself. PR as a coalition needs to address this unbecoming trend of self-motivation and self-centredness and go back to the roots of trying to fight for a better Malaysia. I only see DAP fighting for the students for scholarships. Its quite silent on the PKR front perhaps they are all in the back, bickering about party posts and offices and which is the most ‘rewarding’ of them all. Sad state of affair. Perhaps PM Najib was alluding to PR’s woes as well.

12. #12 by monsterball on Monday, 8 June 2009 - 12:19 pm

He reminds me so much ….like Mahathir…with limited brainwaves.. to understand….but never admit he is supporting or leading…all the sins he know are happening.
    Limited….because he is not smart to tell lies right into your face…like mamak…master of all… in dirty politics.
    It seems police force likes him more than Abdullah.

13. #13 by johnnypok on Monday, 8 June 2009 - 1:44 pm

He was madly obsessed with the dream of becoming the PM during TDM’s time, and was so sure that he would be the DPM after Anwar was sacked, that he had an early celebration the night before Badawi was appointed. [deleted] Without natural talent, a person cannot go far, and he will not last long. He already failed his initially 100 days, and the next 200 days will seal his fate.

14. #14 by Loh on Monday, 8 June 2009 - 4:21 pm

///“Do not underestimate the Malaysian public, who can smile and shake your hand but inside they say wait until elections and I will show my power,” he warned.///– Najib

The non-Malays have been conditioned over the past 52 years to smile to BN but decide to vote against it. The tsunami came about because the Malays knows that whatever UMNO said that they did for Malays, such as providing more places for education, encouraging them to have large families are actually killing them slowly with ‘nice song’. These were all actions to ensure that UMNOputras continue to enjoy the ill gotten gains for generations to come, when ordinary Malays reaped immediate benefits but suffer in due course. Malays have come to their senses that the reason Mamak claims to be Malay was more for personal interest rather than for the race. In fact Malays realise now that one has to jog or walk himself to gain health benefit and similarly wealth in the hands of other people of the same race means nothing to the one not having it. The concept of collective wealth of the community is a convenient lie used by politicians who masquerade as champions for the community to ensure that the race does not disappear under Malaysian sun. But they were the first to enjoy the benefits such concept brings. Indeed, they make ordinary Malays believe that they become rich for the sake of the community. The collective 30% corporate ownership of share capital is a relevant example. AP scheme was created to work towards that objective, and Malays and others pay more in instalments so that some Malays can be rich.

Big families have more lively living with people bustling with noise and excitement. Grown up children in big number serve as insurance against poverty in old age too, provided the grown ups are not dependent on the aged. Family planning was advocated not so much because the earth cannot support food and needs of the people; that was a macro policy issue for the governments. It was introduced to break the vicious circle among the poor who tend to have more children. In growing up, more children will have less share of whatever earnings the parents bring.

After giving special assistance to Malays over the past 50 years, the government still claims that there are poor Malays. If Malays still depend on government service to feed the large family, then poverty would not go away. It is said that a policeman gets less than 1,000 ringgit a month. If the wife brings in 1,000 ringgit, they might be able to manage if they limit themselves to producing two children. But to Malay families, six children is norm. Policeman in Malaysia have special extra-earning ability, but others not in the enforcement service might not be so lucky. UMNO knows this but they believe that Malay families serve their interest if they continue with its racist policies. Malays should wake up to the fact that the racist policies might satisfy their sadist desire, if that was innate, that non-Malays suffer at their decision to support UMNO, they pay more individually in life. There was a Malay Vice Chancellor who was concerned that her incumbency of her post might be viewed as anything except her capability. That too applies to other Malays holding high position who harbour doubts whether they were in their positions because of NEP. Politicians such as TDM always said that Malays were not grateful to him. It is as though Malays who had succeeded had not put in their efforts. But even with those efforts, people tend to view their achievement with suspect because of the peculiar way the government says that they implement meritocracy.

Malays who suffer the indignity know the pain of how NEP casts aspersion, but they are torn with the misconceived idea that they might be term ungrateful should they support the removal of the unfair policy. Zaid Ibrahim had been said as much. They should consider this: if UMNO leaders say they care for the welfare of Malays why would they criticise Malay on personal matter for holding a different political views from that of UMNO?

The demographic condition in Malaysia demands that only Malays can mould their life, away from the dictate of UMNOputras. Some PAS leaders who might feel that they should make good of what is left of their natural life to enjoy what politics brought to UMNO, are moving in with UMNO for unity government. Those who do not want their children to suffer the fate that despite their efforts, their achievements remain suspect should act now.

15. #15 by dap_jen on Monday, 8 June 2009 - 9:22 pm

Najib should step down…….his track record thus far as malaysia’s 6th PM is an utter shame…..his actions and idealogy just do not jive…..as a PM, he should remove those in BN he sees are power hungry…..what is the value of words when he cannot even lead and inspire his own ministers?

sarawakians & sabahans, do your bit and oust BN from their comfortable seats once and for all in the next GE! open your eyes, the BN whom U have supported has pillaged your states……just book yourself a cheap flight to West Malaysia and see how backwards the capital states in Sarawak and Sabah are

16. #16 by kerishamuddinitis on Monday, 8 June 2009 - 11:43 pm

Interesting account from LOH. ‘…only Malays can mould their life…’ I recently spoke with my Malay friend who revealed he came from a very poor background, having to study by candlelight. Today, he is quite, quite comfortable doing what he enjoys – without any assistance from the gomen. Then, he says to me…’Chinese are all very well off while a Malay graduate (whom he knows) goes home to his kampung and whiles away his time strumming his guitar…’ It is sad having to see my friend miss entirely the point of his own efforts in making him what he is today while he excuses the behaviour of one who, given the opportunity my friend did not have, chooses to retreat from the urban rat-race. My friend did not need the race-based privileges over the last 40 years but he could not also conclude that those same privileges cursed that guitarist to self-exile from the rat-race. All he saw was the disparity between the ‘rich Chinese’ and the ‘poor Malay.’ A sad, sad legacy of BN and UMNO.

17. #17 by ekans on Tuesday, 9 June 2009 - 1:43 am

“Do not underestimate the Malaysian public, who can smile and shake your hand but inside they say wait until elections and I will show my power,” he warned.

On the flipside, the Pekan MP could also be hinting something like this…

“Do not underestimate me as the Malaysian PM, who can smile and shake your hand in public, but if I know that you are against me, I will show my power (like ISA, etc, etc…),” he warned.

18. #18 by blablowbla on Tuesday, 9 June 2009 - 8:45 am

king crab gave a stern warning to his small crabs:my dear crabs,do not walk parallel,walk straight,show your kindness,colour bilnd n 1Malaysianship to Rakyat!

he has forgotten he is walking sliding-way too,WAT A JOKE! LOL!!!

19. #19 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 9 June 2009 - 12:54 pm

We have successfully created a handicapped society through a brilliant idea call “NEP”.
    We are in the process of creating a “Bodoh” society by compromising the use of English language.

20. #20 by TomThumb on Wednesday, 10 June 2009 - 6:36 am

these people get to go to universities, get better jobs, earn better pay. you call that handicapped? i don’t mind being handicapped then.

21. #21 by ekin on Wednesday, 10 June 2009 - 7:57 pm

MR. PATHETIC TOMTHUMB AKA ONE OF 3 STOOGES,

“# TomThumb Says:
    Today at 06: 36.11 (13 hours ago)

these people get to go to universities, get better jobs, earn better pay. you call that handicapped? i don’t mind being handicapped then.” – YOU ARE HANDICAPPED AND PATHETIC. YOU HAD ALWAYS FAILED TO ADDRESS THE MAIN ISSUE. INSTEAD OF CRITICIZING, WHY NOT CONTRIBUTE? YOU ARE UNTEACHABLE! AND A LAUGHING STOCK! AND A CLOWN! HA HA HA

22. #22 by Loh on Thursday, 11 June 2009 - 2:05 pm

The choice is between pride and greed. The late Tun Dr Ismail siad that out of pride, they would give up what could be considered as greed.

One who knows no pride, knows no shame. He is not better than animal which acts on instinct. A shameless person takes advantage of others too.

23. #23 by johnnypok on Thursday, 11 June 2009 - 9:28 pm

By 2020 majority will still depend on crutches to move around, and the number of unemployable graduates continue to multiply, while the standard of education is at the bottom, and we will still be chasing our dream of becoming a developed nation. We might as well say that we will become the most UNDEVELOPED NATION in the world by 2020 or a BANKRUPT NATION !