Indictment of IGP Musa Hassan’s failure – Ah Longs beating and chaining victims like dogs in illegal prisons for months on end

Malaysians are shocked today by more evidence that Malaysia is taking on the characteristics of a failed state, when they read reports and see photos of “Loan shark’s hellhole torture for defaulters”, with men chained like dogs, beaten and forced to survive on water and bread for months on end, the horrific treatment inflicted by loan sharks on their debtors.

Ah Long cell

The discovery of such hell-hole came to light when police rescued three men who were held in an unoccupied shoplot in Seri Kembangan, near Kuala Lumpur, for two months as they could not pay their loans which ranged from RM1,500 to RM4,000.

A police party raided the shoplot yesterday afternoon and found the three men tied to the wall with heavy chains.

The victims, aged 25, 34 and 49, were abducted from Segambut, Semenyih and Gombak.

As Gombak police chief Assistant Commissioner Abdul Rahim Abdullah described it:

“The victims were very weak. They were wearing the same clothes they had on for the past two months and had been beaten regularly with sticks.

“The loan sharks contacted the victims’ families and demanded they settle the loans if they wanted to see their loved ones again.”

The families could not raise the money but did not seek police help.

Rahim said the victims were imprisoned in two makeshift six-by-seven metre cells, each with an open toilet. They were chained at their necks and feet to a wall.

Firemen used an electric chainsaw to cut through the 6kg chains.

The captives sobbed uncontrollably when they saw the rescue party.

He said they were only given five slices of bread every few days and water from a small tap connected to their cells.

“If we made noise, we would be kicked and beaten.”

How many such hellholes and dungeons are there in the country where Ah Longs illegally imprison their hostages in their own underground system of “prisons”, making an utter mockery of the police and justice systems?

Who would have thought that 52 years after Merdeka, Malaysia’s law and order system have degenerated to such a level where Ah Longs dare to institute their own system of illegal prisons and dungeons?

Instead of declaring a war against endemic crime so that Malaysia become a low-crime and a safe ground for citizens, tourist and investors, the Inspector-General of Police, Tan Sri Musa Hassan has completely lost his proper sense of bearings, preferring to play political games together with his political games in a criminal misallocation of police personnel and resources from fighting crime and criminals.

Instead, police personnel and resources were channelled to harass and detain peaceful protestors who pose no threat to law and order, just because the powers-that-be have become increasingly afraid of dissent whether in the form of wearing black, candlelight vigils, balloons to highlight people’s support for dissolution of Perak State Assembly or even singing birthday song!

The Inspector-General should immediately recall all police personnel back to the barracks and to return them to their first duty to be on the streets to fight crime and criminals and not to appease the fears and anxieties of their political masters at dissent and protests by Malaysians committed to peaceful, democratic and non-violent means of expression.

I was in Bangkok two days ago for the Asean Inter-Parliamentary Myanmar Caucus (AIPMC) meeting over Aung San Suu Kyi’s continued incarceration in Myanmar, and when I asked Thais, I was told that they go about their lives in Bangkok without any fear of snatch thiefs or snatch-thief killers, and that they are blessedly spared the menace of Mat Rempits.

The Police will never be able to convince Malaysians and investors that they are professional and world-class so long as they continue to be more “efficient” in dealing with peaceful civic-minded protestors than criminals, whether robbers, rapists, Ah Longs, snatch-thiefs or snatch-thief killers, and the criminal Mat Rempit elements.

1. #1 by Godfather on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 10:43 am

PDRM is in cahoots with the underworld elements. How else can you explain the proliferation of “reflexology and aromatherapy” places all over town ? How else can you explain the blatant displays of moneylending at the rate of 3 pct per month ? When was the last drug seizure in Bolehland ? When was the last illegal DVD prosecution ?

Instead, PDRM is monitoring all the opposition politicians – and their efficiency at breaking up peaceful gatherings is now unquestioned.

Nobody is going to be prosecuted for the incident in Seri Kembangan. The evidence has already disappeared.

2. #2 by k1980 on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 10:56 am

Thailand is free from the menace of snatch thiefs or snatch-thief killers because the Thai police gave the “A.Kogan treatment” to those they have caught. After a few such treatments have been publicized in the mass media, nobody woulds dare to become mat rempits.

3. #3 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 11:02 am

Wow … the men were rescued by the police force and also they are made to look incompetent? Mr Lim … I applaud you!

I for one have been victimised by the PDRM, seen many asking for a drink all the time but this article is pathetic. Use other examples not the one where the borrowers were rescued by the police.

Mr Lim, your frustration has blinded you this time.

4. #4 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 11:02 am

Those seeking loan shark deserved to be treated this way. Why did they turn to illegal channels for help? Did they gamble and loss the money? I suggest the 4D and all the gambling should be banned. For this reason, I support the hudud laws.

5. #5 by yhsiew on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 11:23 am

Malaysian police are so preoccupied and obsessed with politics, how could they find time to tackle crime in our society?!!

6. #6 by -ec- on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 11:30 am

why do we have to use our tax payers’ money to feed mas selamat? shouldn’t this person be deported to where he came from?

why do we have to keep a terror suspect in our country? is bn behind this? why bn wants to bomb singapore?

what kind of cabinet decision is this? whoever decided this shall resign! i feel fear.

7. #7 by -ec- on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 11:32 am

the whole cabinet shall resign!

8. #8 by Thinking Two on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 11:35 am

Because the Ah Long has paid their under-table money for renewing their activities so freely and so daring.

You would notice everywhere full of Ah Long stickers. Even TNB sent their own workers to remove all those stickers on the cabinets. Most of the shopowners got angry to find their roller shutter gate full of such stickers.

Just learn from Penanti candidate Aminah Abdullah and set up to trap the Ah Long by calling those numbers on the stickers.

The police came with 10 lorry-load of officers to catch hunger strike people!!!!!!!

9. #9 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 12:03 pm

The BN Home Minister’s source of funds for political campaign and and election campaign was coming directly from the donations and friendly contributions from Ah Long, 4-D tycoons, and school building projects contractors. I won’t be surprised to see such a private lockup to be operated underground by Ah Long in Malaysia!

10. #10 by ktteokt on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 12:46 pm

And to imagine the government is actually “SPONSORING” these Ah Longs by offering them FREE ADVERTISING SPACE! Look at all the road signs, traffic signs and other signboards meant to give directions. They have all become free signboards stuck with stickers of Ah Longs! It is simple to trace and track them down as PHONE NUMBERS are clearly printed on these stickers! Some of these signboards have been totally invaded by Ah Long stickers.

11. #11 by badak on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 1:14 pm

As long as there are gamblers, womenizers and drunkered.. There will be LOANSHARKS.
    As long as the powers that be and the police close one eye.There will be LOANSHARKS who will pray on this kind of people.At the end of the day…. The family that suffers..

12. #12 by ekin on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 1:30 pm

The reason why people resorted to Ah Long is because of the country’s economy. If business is good, who will need ah long? Business is terrible and the banks are not really responding just to protect their interest. The last resort, Ah Long lo-!

So the more people goes to Ah Long the more Ah Long syndicates lo-! The more Ah Long syndicates, the more under-tabled money lo-! In the end, who benefit? PDRM lo-! Come on, why should the PDRM act against them? If I’m a PDRM I will keep my mouth shut and continue my business. Only those Ah Long didn’t give enough will be raided and caught. So Ah Long, remember to give enough, otherwise PDRM will catch you masuk lockup!

Just imagine, 60-70 percent of the country’s generating funds are from Black Market!

13. #13 by puteri pinang on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 1:39 pm

Poli-bodyguards
    = Ah Long’s angels
    = take on civic minded protestors
    = dare not face mat rempits
    = hv no clue to arrest snatch thieves, abductors and killers

14. #14 by MGR1940 on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 2:33 pm

Not enough, they have build police ponoks with tinted glass and air-con to sleep. You cant see whats going on inside these pondoks some with women contsables. Just go around these pondoks and you can see so many crimes at their footsteps.They get free food and drinks from the next door resturants who hire illigals and occupy all the roadways with table and chairs block the roads.

15. #15 by sightseeing on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 3:06 pm

//Wow … the men were rescued by the police force and also they are made to look incompetent? Mr Lim … I applaud you!// SpeakUp
    Speak Up is the one who is being blindsided by this one case of rescue by the police and fail to see the fact that the Ah Longs have been left to operate freely with little hindrance as a direct consequence of the misallocation of police personnel and resources. Instead of fighting crime, police personnel and resources were channelled to harass and detain peaceful protestors.

16. #16 by House Victim on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 3:09 pm

Any reasons why this kind of Police \rescue\ on abuse of Loan shark suddenly turned up when thousand of Police abusing cases are covered up?

I agreed with SpeakUp that YB had fallen into PDRM \promotion\ program!!

As voiced out by other commenters in this blog, PLEASE LIST OUT ALL ABUSES BY THE POLICE along side your Blog. The case of Police, KUP, AG silent on the assault, cheating of clients in Penang….

Open a new blog and YB, you will see it will be \flooded\!

IF YOU CANNOT FIGHT THE ABUSES BY THE POLICE and other Government Agents, Can you asked your Voters to support YOU in your Grievance of Police \Raid DAP HQ\?

17. #17 by frankyapp on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 3:09 pm

I have said it before and am saying it again now that the along subject is up to dicussion.Our police from the IGP down to the rank and file cannot ,I repeat,cannot do anything against the big Along because these Alongs are well connected to most umno warlords. The IGP and most of his top officers are awared of those ” umno/warlords /Bn Along connection “.The IGP knows pretty well about the activities of those Alongs but keep a distance away because if he does not,he will lose his job. That’s all about it. ” It’s(PDRM) catches only small mice and misses the big ones ” proved this connection between Police and Along.Along is huge business and these guys make billions of ringgit each year and go scot free.What’s a few millions of contribution to some police officers,it’s just peanuts to them for such a reliable protection.

18. #18 by gofortruth on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 3:27 pm

“frankyapp Says:
    Today at 15: 09.53 (7 minutes ago)
    ………The IGP knows pretty well about the activities of those Alongs but keep a distance away because if he does not,he will lose his job……….”
    —————–
    True. But I also question if the IGP is not also “involved”?????

Gosh! This in effect will make Malaysia a dangerous place to visit and invest for foreigners!!!!

19. #19 by YK Leong on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 3:34 pm

The police are not up to the standard to get the real criminals. They are very well versed in getting innocent and timid people who stand up to voice for their rights.

20. #20 by taiking on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 6:00 pm

There is no use complaining, a friend once told me. That friend was properly licensed to carry out his trade and had complained numerous times to the authority about the presence of illegal moneylenders in the vicinity of his shop. People from the ministry would come to those illegal lenders as enforcement officers and as expected would leave as their friends. Not only are these illegal operators a nuisance to the public they also give the genuine and licensed operators a bad name and a rotten impression.

These illegal guys could grow their businesses and could carry out unlawful imprisonment of their defaulters are indications of disrespect/disregard for the law. Such attitude could arise as a result of two possibilities: (1) they have backing by politicians or even the police and hence they feel powerful and untouchable by the law; or (2) the umno politicians have shown us way to ignore and to disregard the laws and those stupid ah longs are taking on the same umno attitude towards the laws of our land.

Either way, umno is in the pic and is responsible.

21. #21 by ReformMalaysia on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 6:38 pm

Seems like the ‘Police Raja Di Malaysia’ are not really good at fighting crime or Ah Long problems – it is not the area of their expertise…..

They are SPECIALIST in catching Opposition MPs, ADUNs and leaders, detaining people participating in Peaceful demonstrations, dragging out state assembly Speakers…etc….they perform the best in arresting harmless people but perform ‘not so well’ in arresting dangerous criminals…

22. #22 by All For The Road on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 6:38 pm

When Parliament resumes its session soon, Pakatan MPs should move a motion to cut the IGP’s pay by RM10.00 for NOT performing his duties in fighting crimes in the country instead of directing his men to harass and arrest peaceful Pakatan law-makers.

What is Kerismudin so quiet about this whole affair of intimidation on poltical dissent?

23. #23 by jules on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 6:48 pm

Ah Long is MCA.

Get rid of MCA and Ah Long will perish.

24. #24 by grace on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 7:19 pm

Hey IGP,
    I think you do not have much grey matter in your head.
    Use the police force to arrest those bastards who treat humans worst than animals.
    Stop harassing people wearing black, Altanuyna Tshirts, fasting or lighting candles. Let them fast or wear blacks. They do not harm people.
    And don’t waste our resources in trying to hunt RPK who is interested in exposing evil deeds by the power that be.

25. #25 by Justitia on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 7:23 pm

Forget about asking the Police to be world-class as this is an impossible dream especially, when they have no-class. I am happy to settle for them to be professional which up to now they have failed miserably to do. What we see is an absolute failure in leadership with respect to setting priorities and expectations on fighting crime and keeping the streets safe.

26. #26 by a2a on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 7:50 pm

The Policemen now planning to catch them and ask for money from them.

Do you expect the police will protect you?

They are now planning how to make money from these in their head now.

27. #27 by cemerlang on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 8:52 pm

RTM always reports about this sort of case. The love of money is the root of all evil. Most people are not spared from being tempted by money; whether they are very religious or not at all. The wives in the end have no choice but to excommunicate their husbands. The parents have no choice but to disown their children. The boss has no choice but to fire his employee. Where there is demand, there is supply. There are news even about having no mercy at all, no second chance at all. The PDRM should eradicate all forms of illegal money business. Or rather the government should be committed to eradicating all illegal money business. The only legal way of borrowing money is from the bank. Other than that, it is the borrower’s own risk.

28. #28 by vsp on Thursday, 28 May 2009 - 10:36 pm

This Ah Long menace came into being because of one big policy blunder by the government.

The obsession to create a few giant banks and to kill off all the small and medium banks so as to compete with the big boys in the world’s banking firmament have led to untold miseries to the public. The big banks are not interested in giving loans to small time businesses but only to concentrate on speculative types of financial instruments and to enslave many by giving out credit cards indiscriminately even to those who are not qualified for it.

With speculation and credit cards being the main focus of banks nowadays, traditional functions of banking took the back seat.

In America and many advanced countries the investment banks and hedge funds were raking in obscene profits in speculative types of financial instruments. Traditional banking were salivating at the prospect of unheard of profits if they too were to involve themselves in this type of new business opportunities. So the government were pressured to liberalize the banking industry so that they can take part in all types of financial business which formerly were clearly demarcated. When everyone wants to become a Goldman Sach or a JP Morgan then trouble begin to rear its ugly head.

Our Malaysian government also wanted to be one of the big boys of banking and so the process started first with Bank Negara speculating in the currency market and got badly burnt with a RM20 billion loss. Together with this followed the consolidation of the banking industry. But luckily we were too late in this game and have not gone deeply yet. If we have started earlier our banking industry would be hit hard and be decimated.

The nature of speculative type of banking activities and credit card businesses are very risky. In the credit card business banks have to face a lot of frauds and how do they cover it? Of course they begin to charge exorbitant fees for mundane services that were considered gratuitous a few years back. Now even a request for a form letter would set you back at RM300–RM500. This never happened 15 years ago.

When small-time businesses were not being entertained by the big banks they have to turn to the Ah Long for survival. It is not a secret that many licensed money dealers are deeply involved in the Ah Long business. Even respectable banks are taking on the characteristics of a Ah Long business. This is a dog-eat-dog world of greedy politicians and business connections.

The next big financial mess will involve the credit card business. Just wait and see.

29. #29 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 29 May 2009 - 10:27 am

The evil ones will raise their urgly heads when the good does not prevail!!!

The police system is rotten to the core inside out due to many years of wrong govt policy!!! Instead of giving emphasis on arresting those who go against the laws and orders, Najis asked you not to borrow money from loan sharks!!! Who dont know that???

30. #30 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 29 May 2009 - 10:35 am

The Ah Long is only applying what they learnt from the police in the first place!!! The only difference is that we are not seeing with our own naked eyes what went on inside ISA detention camp!!! Listen to Hindraf’s leaders’ account when detained in Kamunting will make us think that this is child play!!! No wonder the police didnt think this is big deal, as they have seen even “bigger picture”!!!

31. #31 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 29 May 2009 - 10:48 am

Kerismudin is very quiet nowadays not that he wanted to but because whenever he opens his mouth, he is talking about how to use keris to kill the innocents!!! So he is keeping quiet for the time being because of many reelections are coming and on the way!!! May be he is asking Michael Chong to speak on his behalf as Michael Chong is the IGP for Malaysian Chinese and now some people say also included all other races!!! So we have 2 IGPs in Malaysia now!!! Two heads are always better than one as we are only required to pay double the taxes to feed them!!!

32. #32 by Pangait on Friday, 29 May 2009 - 8:24 pm

Ah Long, Mat Rempits, Snatch Thieves are the tell tale failure of the BN Government whose politicians are just too engrossed in pillaging the nations’ economies that they forgot to look after the low income group be they the culprits or the victims. These are everyday events that don’t seem to recede. Don’t blame the police personnel. Their trainings are mostly a leadership by example. If none of their leaders ever want to work professionally, their rank and file believe whatever they do are acceptable in their standards.
    Ah longs prey on struggling low income groups. This means that the government ministries responsible to look after such groups welfare had not done their jobs. The ministers are too busy securing business of their own.
    At the rate we are going, these social problem will not subside.