New police crackdown in Ipoh?

From http:// twitter.com/limkitsiang

26/05/09 16:19
Have to run from Thai Parliament and the twitter of the disgraceful police episode today from Bangkok ends here as well

26/05/09 16:18
All 14 heroes and heroines walking out now to the Ipoh police hqrs gate – to close another Day of Infamy in the Perak capital.

26/05/09 16:17
Yes, Kula the 14th and last to be released, on personal bond of RM1,000 and to report back to the police station on 26/6/09

26/05/09 16:16
MP Ipoh Barat Kulasegaran – where are you?

26/05/09 16:15
Assemblywoman Lim Pek Har 13th to be released

26/05/09 16:14
Most famous Speaker in the Commonweath V. Sivakumar signed and released

26/05/09 16:11
11th – Chan Gee Keong

26/05/09 16:10
Wasu next

26/05/09 16:10
limkitsiang: Chai Sing Fatt the ninth out

26/05/09 16:09
Eighth is M. Faisal

26/05/09 16:08
Chan Ming Kai the seventh to be released

26/05/09 16:08
Then Choo Ooi Beng released

26/05/09 16:07
Vikneswary signing her bond – No. 5

26/05/09 16:07
Keshvinder Singh next to sign

26/05/09 16:06
Thomas Su Keong Siong third to sign

26/05/09 16:06
Leong Mei Ming second to sign

26/05/09 16:05
First to sign Chang Lih Kang…

26/05/09 16:04
Latest from Ipoh – one by one signing bond papers now …police told them to go out one by one.

26/05/09 15:55
Police have agreed the arrested be released on own personal bond. Should be out of police custody any time now – after 5 hrs of arrest

26/05/09 15:06
Police demand bailors for the detained while elected reps ask for release on personal bond. Police are being most unreasonable.

26/05/09 15:00
Arrested elected reps waited for more than an hour for release after giving statement. is this Najib’s “Performnce NOW”. slogan?

26/05/09 14:25
The 14 arrested enticed with food and told that they can order for better food like KFC but they are not biting. “We are fasting man!”

26, 2009 14:20
Arrested elected reps told by DSP Glenn that they are arrested under s.27 of Police Act i.e. illegal assembly and procession

26/05/09 14:17
Speaker V.Sivakumar said he is disappointed that the police arrest him when he was on his way to take his car. He is still in police custody

26/05/09 14:14
Police have finished taking statements from the detained elected reps. Why are they still being detained? Have police nothing better to do?

26/05/09 13:46
C Kraisak Chair Thai Parliament Cttee Pol Dvelpmnt shocked such police outrage can happen in Malaysia. Thot it happens only in Thailand

26/05/09 12:36
In Bangkok twittering from Thai capital. Just informed that Myanmar junta extended Aung San Suu Kyi’s 6-yr illegal detention by another 6 mths!

26/05/09 12:33
Police offering detainees food now. However, they are fasting. Thanks for their nice gestures!

26/05/09 12:28
15 arrested – 1 MP, Speaker, 6 State Assembly members, 3 PAs and four members (DAP and PKR)

26/05/09 12:26
Detainees given VIP treatment, boarded Black Maria a second time and taken with full police escort to D7 team

26/05/09 12:24
Detainees have decided to continue the fast regardless of the arrest.

26/05/09 12:15
Arrested : Keshvinder, Sivakumar, Thomas Su, LeongMeeMeng, LimPekHar, Kula, ChangLihKang, ChanMK. 7 ADUNs (5DAP, 2PKR),1MP (DAP), 6 others

26/05/09 11:05
To support PR election fund, Koon pledged RM200,000 to the PR election fund. Cheque received by Nizar and Ngeh

26/05/09 11:02
Retired engineer Koon Yew Yin speaking in support. Describe Perak power grab “eternal shame”. Fully agree with Judge NH Chan’s articles.

26/05/09 10:58
Hunger strike officially launched by Nizar and Ngeh

26/05/09 10:56
Nizar – “Hidup rakyat bubar DUN Perak!”

26/05/09 10:55
“Urges all Muslims 2show solidarity & fast together. UMNO using police 2protect them & prevent PR carry out peaceful gatherings,activities”

26/05/09 10:52
Nizar “People must come 1st.Perakians 1 fresh election. Ct cannot elect government. Basic tenet of democracy.PAS encourage all to fast 2day”

26/05/09 10:46
Nizar speaking & 2launch campaign

26/05/09 10:45
Dr. Lee Boon Chye speaking. Police blocking programmes. Govt can only function with legitimacy 72-hr hunger strike but not those with illness.

26/05/09 10:41
Ngeh: “We will continue 2fight 4rakyat even though we r facing harassments and police abuses of power. People do not want MB elected by ct.”

26/05/09 10:36
Ngeh speaking now.Thanking all present who want to defend people’s right & democracy in Perak. Many,including BN supporters,want a snap poll

26/05/09 10:35
Dissolve assembly and call fresh election is only solution 2 crisis so that all can focus on economic recession and people’s welfare.

26/05/09 10:33

Siva sad 2see latest developments Perak.In crisis, economic & social issues neglected.No investors will come with such political instability

26/05/09 10:30
limkitsiang: Nga – “We want govt elected by the people”. Speaker Sivakumar speaking now.

26/05/09 10:29
limkitsiang: PR leaders will go on hunger strike for 72 hrs 2fight 4 dissolution of assembly

26/05/09 10:29
limkitsiang: Nga Kor Ming,co-ordinator of fast,urges all 2 continue 2fight 4democracy & our beloved country. 2day another shame – police highhandedness

26/05/09 10:26
limkitsiang: PR leaders singing national anthem

26/05/09 10:25
limkitsiang: Nizar having media conference at Wisma DAP

Police illegally occupying tent for fasting
Police in control of fast site, as their personnel sit inside the tent intended for the fasters today. – Picture by Shannon Teoh | Malaysian Insider

26/05/09 09:55
Giant balloon seized by police specifically made 4 fast cost about RM2k with markings ‘Daulat Tuanku’ and ‘Bubarkan DUN’

26/05/09 09:48
Ngeh, Kula, Thomas Su and PR leaders arrived 4 the fast which is shortly to begin. What will happen with hundreds of police milling around?

26/05/09 08:35
Police preventing anyone from getting near Wisma DAP. 2 men arrested. Giant balloon for the fast confiscated. Day of Infamy Ipoh continues

26/05/09 08:32
Massed outside Wisma DAP Ipoh 2 police jeeps. 7 police trucks, 4 police cars, abt 20 FRU who have taken over the canopy put up for fast.

26/05/09 08:30
Major police crackdown in Ipoh to frustrate start of fast 11am led by Nizar and Sivakumar? Arrests have started outside Perak DAP hqrs Ipoh

1. #1 by monsterball on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 9:15 am

hahahahahaha ….Lim Kit Siang updating report here not enough…must start a Lim Kit Sianglimkitsiang.
    He really have bundle of energy.
    But the more he writes…the more readers…learn the true picture of what’s happening in Malaysia.
    Poor DAP…new scapegoat for Najib.
    I will not be surprised…..Naif Ton Raza will stat Operation Lallang No2 soon.
    BRAVO LKS!!

[admin – the double name before the posting is the case of copy and paste from twitter site, amended.]

2. #2 by Common Citizen on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 9:20 am

O Dear, what pathetic polis. They are arresting workers of event company. What a shame! What can the lay people do? Tsk..tsk..tsk..

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 9:44 am

Its has become abundantly clear that Najib methodology is just a more sophisticated version of Mahathir. On one hand, doing something progressive like economic liberalisation, freeing ISA detainees, friendlier ties with Singapore/foreigners, non-bumis language and cultural rights BUT on the other hand coming down hard on critics, control of media, push spending and programs.

On coming down hard on critics, its primarily focussed on destroying the opposition parties starting with the DAP with whatever means legal or not. The iron glove is pretty much there but not just against anybody or everybody. Only those that can really threaten him. If Hindraf goes far enough, it will land on them too again. The key against Najib strategy ultimately will be to work with Hindraf and get them to raise their voice ever louder but systematically so as push him to do ‘a Perak’ and lose whatever credibility he has as a political liberal. Its why his plans with Hindraf is to fragment them. But if Hindraf can keep the momentum going, Najib plans to come down hard on opposition will fall apart.

Another front is to get East Malaysian, to do a Hindraf, in KL itself and we can then see Najib fail to paint himself as acceptable politically and expose his program for what it is – just sophistication of what has gone on for 40 years…

4. #4 by k1980 on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 9:48 am

He’s having nightmares that this might happen in the 13 GE. Then he would be extradicted to Mongolia to stand trial.

Mongolia’s opposition party candidate has won the presidential election.
    —http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/asia-pacific/8065608.stm

5. #5 by ctc537 on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 10:29 am

The police is acting so swiftly because it is attracting much international media attention.
    Finding an amicable settlement by holding fresh elections is the only solution. After the state elections, everybody leaves this unhappy chapter of Malaysian politics behind and concentrate on the economy and people’s livelihood.
    BN is afraid to face the voters. For ho long can PM Najib and BN escape from the voters? Remember, by-elections will happen.

6. #6 by frustrated doctor on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 10:34 am

If Martin Luther King or Gandhi were alive, they will be arrested too. Has Najib forgotten that a cornerstone of true democracy is the right of silent protest. We know Malaysia won’t tolerate mass protest since they branded Hindraf as terrorists but can’t there be any dissent even in the form of a fast? Guess Najib wants everyone to eat well.

7. #7 by Joshua on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 10:38 am

Was a police permit applied ?

Was it approved or not?

Would a police permit be ever approved?

What do we think this will lead to?

What is harmful about fasting?

Maybe we do it on the less prominent and in private?

8. #8 by k1980 on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 10:39 am

Will the 1 billion people, including the King of Saudi Arabia, fasting during the fasting month be arrested too?

9. #9 by mauriyaII on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 11:09 am

Why is the UMNO/BN scared of people fasting? Anyway whose harebrained idea was this? Are the cousins so scared that they would even resort to denying ordinary citizens to show their frustration and disappoitment by holding a fast? Holding a fast is a very silent, peaceful way as shown by Mahatma Gandhi.

The zombie zambri claims to be a mahatma but he gets his blue boys to do what Gandhi would have abhorred.

This is one of the latest in the aberrant ways of Najib, Hisamuddin and the PDRM. Sure way to dig the grave for UMNO/BN in all bye-elections and the 13th GE.

10. #10 by Godfather on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 11:14 am

Seeing ghosts at every corner…..Najib seeing Mongolian ghosts….Ong Ta Kut seeing PKFZ ghosts….Pangkor Pele seeing ghosts in Perak state secretariat…..how not to be paranoid ? Sometimes we have to pity these people….

11. #11 by YK Leong on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 11:38 am

I am so stupid that I do not know that FASTING is a crime now. Kerisman, please stop the rots in the “head hunters” without any further delay.

What I know is:- FASTING is carried out by one to cleanse his/her soul from sins committed.

12. #12 by biri-biri on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 11:41 am

Read from The Star Online that there are 10 truckloads of policemen and FRU members at the hunger strike venue. Wow! those YB there must be terribly dangerous, more dangerous than any criminal. At least to the BN idiots!

13. #13 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 11:46 am

Its really funny … this is a real funny state of affairs. The police will say the event has no permit. This is creating an illegal gathering because there will be a political speech etc etc etc. I wonder who is handling the police now. I do not think its the PM, this is not in line with the PM’s PR campaign to look good.

This must be the doing of that Mamak Zambry. He is losing face … this incident is wonderful … this will only reinforce the fact that things have all gone awry in Perak.

Time to stop all this Drama Minggu Ini … time to serve the constituency and work towards GE13 ok … In Malaysia, we are willing to kill our own, just like Tienanmen Square. Stop all the melodramatic stuff la …

I wonder why hardly anyone came for the event … where are the throngs of supporters? Hmmmm …

14. #14 by YK Leong on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 11:50 am

These “head hunters” are creating and instilling “fears factor” in the people. The people do not fear this so-called “fears factor”. The people will fear ghostly figures when they do bad things.

15. #15 by ALLAN THAM on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 11:50 am

SIMPLY IDIOTS AND DOGS

16. #16 by ALLAN THAM on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 11:51 am

Why we paid those bunch idiots sitting on them instead on catching the snatch thieves and robbers? What an idiots and teh head has rotten from head to tail.

17. #17 by penang308 on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 11:54 am

At first, Najis used Police to Silence ALTANTUYA. Now he use the police dog to silence the Rakyat!

18. #18 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 12:01 pm

“Desperado – by the Eagles

Desperado, why don’t you come to your senses?
    You been out ridin’ fences for so long now
    Oh, you’re a hard one
    I know that you got your reasons
    These things that are pleasin’ you
    Can hurt you somehow

Don’t you draw the queen of diamonds, boy
    She’ll beat you if she’s able
    You know the queen of hearts is always your best bet

Now it seems to me, some fine things
    Have been laid upon your table
    But you only want the ones that you can’t get

Desperado, oh, you ain’t gettin no younger
    Your pain and your hunger, they’re drivin’ you home
    And freedom, oh freedom well, that’s just some people talkin’
    Your prison is walking through this world all alone

Don’t your feet get cold in the winter time?
    The sky won’t snow and the sun won’t shine
    Its hard to tell the night time from the day
    You’re loosin’ all your highs and lows
    Aint it funny how the feeling goes away?

Desperado, why dont you come to your senses?
    Come down from your fences, open the gate
    It may be rainin’, but there’s a rainbow above you
    You better let somebody love you, before its too late”

19. #19 by YK Leong on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 12:06 pm

Tochew says, “The head hunters are LA PU”.

Hakka says, “The head hunters are LAN SI LAN YONG”.

Hokkien says, “The head hunters are LAN SAI”.

Cantonese says, “The head hunters are LAN SI LAN YANG”.

Take a look at the photograph

20. #20 by lee wee tak_ on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 12:24 pm

when Mambau Branch Secretary Mr. Lee Kong Hing tried to order a cup of tea to drink in Ipoh, kena arrested

Now more people dun wan to eat,also kena arrested.

What’s next, pergi jamban pun kena arrested?

so far, cannot have teddy bear, birthday cake, candles, black shirt, drink tea, not eat …. aiyah, how can I remember all this thing!?

move over Singapore! a \FINE\ city

21. #21 by mui kuai fa on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 12:39 pm

those idiots are supposed to be on duty so should stand as they are on duty. Instead look at their lazy and bad attitude having a good time and don’t care…………….sickening police paid by our tax money!

22. #22 by k1980 on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 1:11 pm

Videotape all these and show them to the Penanti voters and PR will win 99% of the votes. The remainder 1% shared by the 3 independents.

23. #23 by biri-biri on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 1:23 pm

There are so many police personel around. Aren’t they gathering illegally? And they are just hanging around doing nothing. Is it just an excuse not to do their normal job, which is to protect the public from criminals? I guess some criminals must be having so jolly good times breaking into someone’s house in Ipoh now!

24. #24 by MGR1940 on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 1:24 pm

k1980,
    It looks we will not be cleberating Hari Raya in Malaysia for all those who fast will be arrested. Maybe Musang and his police will celebrate as there is no one to arrest them.

25. #25 by ekin on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 1:32 pm

Don’t go out in a group as a family or friends or relatives, else you’ll be branded as illegal gatherings.

Go out alone and make sure you do not stay alert, otherwise the mat rempits will have difficulties in snatch thefting you, robbing you or raping you.

When your handbags are snatched, when you’re robbed, when you’re raped, just keep quiet because no point reporting it as all the policemen busy arresting the so called ‘illegal gatherers’ who are doing their peaceful gatherings.

When you had forgotten to buckle up your back seat belt, a traffic policeman will speed from behind chasing you with siren as if chasing a terrorist to stop you with a gun pointing at your head, ‘saya mau tulis!kasi licence dan ic!’ – If they were to use the same efficiency to chase the real criminals, I think Malaysia will be the most peaceful place on earth!

When you stop by roadside attending to a call, a policeman will come at the back and say ‘kasi licence dan ic, saya mau tulis, you ganggu perjalanan’ – This ‘tulis’ that ‘tulis’ nowonder the police force so rich that their officers always change new cars, waja perdana! Everywhere in the world, their policemen are designated to walk each an area but in our country, ‘apa mau jalan-jalan? shopping ka? pakai motor pun susah, pakai waja perdana saja la’.

Our country is a real laughing stock!

Criminals? If you report they will say ‘aiya pencuri mana pun ada. perompak mana pun ada. perogol mana pun ada. kita mana ada cukup olang pigi tangkap? lu jangan kisah la. When you ask more ‘lokap tarak tempat, penjara tarak tempat’ and then this gave them the excuse to build another 9 jails! At last when queried ‘tarak cukup olang la’ cause not many people want to be policemen. So they came out with a program ‘khidmat negara’ hoping there’ll be some idiots dragged into the force but what happened? In the ‘khidmat negara’ camp, students died, raped, molested, beaten! Yet they still put it up on tv using some students saying ‘khidmat negara bagus, seronok dan sedap!’

Peaceful gatherers, Passerby, Lawyers, Onlookers? Rakyats? Thousand of policemen will be deployed in order to make sure the gatherers don’t do anything especially ‘tak boleh pakai hitam-hitam! tak boleh cakap bukan-bukan! tak boleh makan minum! mesti tutup kedai!’. And now ‘tak boleh tak makan! cipat pigi makan!’

Next, ‘semua duluk lumah! siapa keluar kena tembak!’

26. #26 by ekans on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 1:34 pm

As usual, Pakatan Rakyat politicians get harassed all in the name of public order although those politicians were chosen by members of the public themselves during the last GE.

And while PDRM makes its heavy presence well known at Wisma DAP Ipoh, hopefully the rakyat in other parts of Ipoh, and even elsewhere in the state of Perak are not subjected to acts of violent crime like that terrible triple murder cum robbery in Taman Pinji Seni Ipoh not long ago.

Does PDRM think that fasting Pakatan Rakyat politicians can threaten the peace and public order although fasting is clearly a non-violent act?

The threat posed by fasting Pakatan Rakyat politicians is only towards the credibility of UMNO’s BN for trying to justify its Perak power-grab, especially when it is all too clear that its state government lacks the people’s mandate…

27. #27 by MGR1940 on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 1:44 pm

Hi biri-biri,
    It could be Ipoh police chief house.Only a small number are hanging around, the rest are at backlanes,contsruction sites demanding money or at warongs where there are good looking Mah cik or girls serving.

28. #28 by the reds on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 1:52 pm

Malaysia becomes so chaotic under Najib’s government. 1Malaysia shouldn’t be like this!! Pls clearly define what does 1Malaysia mean, Najib? We want a peaceful Malaysia!!!

29. #29 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 2:23 pm

Is Malaysia going to ban the traditional “Puasa Month” too?

So no more “Hari Raya Puasa”?

30. #30 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 2:28 pm

Don’t be fooled by Najib’s 1Malaysia. It is NATO. Without NEP, all the beneficiaries will be wiped out in no time!

31. #31 by k1980 on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 2:35 pm

Lesson from history:

Hitler was able to consolidate absolute power because Germans who opposed Nazism failed to unite against it. So the only way to get rid of umnoism is to be united

32. #32 by PRKaki on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 2:35 pm

Why not we launch a signature campaign at the constituents of the 3 frogs? If PR gets the majority to deep-fried the frogs, present this \mandate\ to Tuanku. We must cont’d to pressure for a state election. At least this \heat\ must cont’d till 13GE

33. #33 by PRKaki on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 2:44 pm

Perhaps, PR should go n meet KuLi n persuade him to talk to Tuanku since he is also a royalty n supportive of dissolution of state assembly

34. #34 by Godfather on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 2:48 pm

I love the picture in Malaysian Insider about two policemen shaking hands, presumably on a job well done. Believe me, Najib is shaking hands with his cousin Kerismuddin right now. We are going to make them pee in their pants.

35. #35 by ekin on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 2:49 pm

1Malaysia = One Man Show in Malaysia = No.1 Man in Malaysia = Who? You should know what that guy meant as he is no.1 man in Malaysia.

Fasting? Forget it, they’ll stuff you with food! I wondered why aren’t the many poor citizen given help when it comes to food?

So if you are:-
    Poor? = Continue to be poor or poorer!
    Average? = Eat more and don’t Fast!
    Rich? = No Fasting for you! Eat! Eat! Eat!

36. #36 by ALLAN THAM on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 2:55 pm

BN has scare shit of off their pants now. It seem every thing PR do has been No NO to them. The police also seem to scare shit for PR to govern. As seem BN has been bribed them for all these while. They have been used by BN to protect their won interest and not the interest of the people who has make their pay possible.

37. #37 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 3:32 pm

OK. This fasting thing was necessary but someone better make sure that PR has a plan on how to keep the issue fresh come the next GE instead of getting the voters tired of it.

The funny thing, it does not seem to be very hard what with the way the police over react on something like this.. The trick is to move the issue to another one and then come back again 3 years from now in a summary. People will remember then and Perak is as good as PR before the election.

38. #38 by Thinking Two on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 3:32 pm

Middle of August, there will be no more fasting month as you will be in lock-up!!!!!

39. #39 by wesuffer on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 3:34 pm

dont blame the policemen..they only obey order from high ranking officer. they also face ‘DO or DIE’ order.
    and high ranking officer is get instruction from keris minister and najis.
    if DAP want to organised any rally , please get more malay party to participate.
    police men will give little face.!

40. #40 by Thinking Two on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 4:04 pm

Of cause, they want personal bond because they are jelous of the donation RM200,000 received by Pakatan rakyat.

To all the supporters of Pakatan Rakyat, to support with Kind or Cash to Pakatan Rakyat.

41. #41 by PSM on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 4:31 pm

So we can’t hold candles & sing the Negara-ku, we can’t wear black & now we can’t fast (ayoyiii…no Hari Raya Puasa this year ah?)!
    What next?
    Wow, our Police should be given credit for this fast action…now if they can only catch the murderers, rapists, child molesters, kidnappers, snatch thieves…they would be world class!
    Kudos to our PM’s 1 Malaysia…!

42. #42 by k1980 on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 4:37 pm

And while the PM plays “arrest and release” protesters:–

The country’s economy is expected to contract below -1.0 per cent this year amid the current economic climate, Second Finance Minister Datuk Ahmad Husni Mohamad Hanadzlah said.

“I cannot tell you (the growth figure) but it will definitely be below -1.0 per cent,” he said when asked to comment on the projection by economists that the gross domestic product (GDP) will contract between -4.5 per cent and -5.0 per cent this year.

43. #43 by ekin on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 4:39 pm

Personal bond worth RM 1,000 per person. 14 detainees = RM 14,000. That made the Police Force RM 14,000 richer. I think if they continue to arrest and arrest, they are the millionaires of the country. No wonder they are so keen on arresting and some officers had plenty of properties.. “mari member dikit, share share la”. There goes our hard earned money…SHAME ON YOU PDRM!

44. #44 by Godfather on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 5:35 pm

Tonight, the spirit of Altantuya will visit Najis in his sleep. Mark my words.

45. #45 by k1980 on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 5:55 pm

Godfather, may she bring along some c4 to blow him up to the moon (and don’t come back)

46. #46 by puteri pinang on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 6:00 pm

ai..se, no hari raya puasa, am going to miss all the kuih muih and dates lah

47. #47 by puteri pinang on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 6:05 pm

but ksk said in the nst interview that people can gather together to exchange idea, no problem mah. May be pdrm do not understand well about kpi… or it’s only preliminary kpi, nothing concrete yet?

48. #48 by rubini on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 7:06 pm

Propoganda is powerful tool. Long before internet, people were fed repeated stories by the state owned/influenced media. Today almost all the major media are under the control and influence of UMNO.
    The rakyat were often told that it oppostion parties like DAP were elected to administer the state, riots were take placed. If PAS came to power , HUDUD laws will be law of the land. This true LIES scared the voters into voting for BN.
    The came the internet age, where anyone and everyone can express their view, give the actual facts and counter facts, then came rising sons against the oppresors – Hindraf.
    Hindraf marked the turning point that changed the political landscape of the nation.
    GE12 marked the change when 5 states fell to the opposition (including Perak). Clearly from the beginning, the BN led Federal government were in totall shock following the losses. They still cannot accept that they have lost. then came in the sodomy charge, the Perak state crisis, and all the Financial scandals.
    UMNIO and Bn are running scared, they know changing means giving up the corrupt manner which they are used to, keeping the status quo is untenable, so they tried to dig up any dirt on the opposition states, there was none.
    The Perak fiasco, clearly show just how manipulative UMNO/BN has become using all the state institutions to their advantage. Clearly this has worked against them, public opinion is clearly set against UMNO/BN.
    If UMNO had given up Perak, public opinion could have changed, but unfortunately, UMNO warlords are too powerfull to give up power, like a shark who will go after its prey at tiniest blod spot in the sea. All now can clearly see who is the WARLORD in BN. all this while all the component parties have kept their silence.

49. #49 by a2a on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 8:44 pm

The harder they hit the harder you stand shall win the battle.

The god is watching.

The justice is watching.

The whole world is watching.

The powerful democratic countries are watching.

The people is watching.

Make your stand.

Let the democracy and justice be the judge.

Let the people be the judge.

Do not give up as the justice is with you.

50. #50 by vsp on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 9:57 pm

When a nonviolent act that couldn’t even hurt a fly is being brutally prohibited something is terribly wrong with this country.

When we have a fake MB who claims to be an apostle of non-violence and yet allow this act of brutality to happen, this a foretaste down the road to Zimbabwe.

51. #51 by TomThumb on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 10:57 pm

what does it take to remind us that malaysia is a police state and will remain a police state. more arrests? more abuse of power?

52. #52 by TomThumb on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 11:04 pm

just listen to that janice woman speak of her lock-up experiences. they wanted to make her the next eli wong with her private parts exposed and prised open for the world to see.

53. #53 by ekans on Tuesday, 26 May 2009 - 11:15 pm

Earlier this month, NST published an interview with a Professor Rozmi Ismail, the head of psychology at the School of Psychology and Human Development at UKM who has been researching the Mat Rempit phenomenon, and a Madam Kattryn Eng, mother to a 23-year-old deaf and mute woman who was attacked by around 20 Mat Rempit at a petrol station in Subang Jaya one morning.

This interview can be seen online at http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Saturday/National/2552199/Article/index_html

The following is an interesting excerpt from the interview…

Rozmi: Yes, 20 years ago Mat Rempit did not exist. There were pelumba haram, who only raced in the rural areas like Felda. Just 10 or 20 of them and they did not disturb the public. Nowadays however, because of their sheer size, they can become very aggressive.

Kattryn: It is surprising, those numbers. It makes me just more fearful.

Rozmi: Police are also scared. When I was conducting my studies I was with them, in Ipoh, where thousands of Mat Rempit had gathered. It was a public holiday. They came from everywhere! That night the police planned to have a roadblock but nobody actually wanted to go! They were scared. It meant that these Mat Rempits were very aggressive.

Kattryn: So you see, if even the police are frightened, then they will just be kings of the streets, right? They will say: “Wah, the police are frightened of us”, and this will just give them more encouragement.

——

It can be seen here that there was at least a time in Ipoh itself, the police were too scared to conduct an operation against a large number of Mat Rempits, who are the actual menace to our society, but today, in the very same city of Ipoh, they were brave enough to act without provocation against elected Pakatan Rakyat politicians who just want to fast in a peaceful hunger strike for democracy…

54. #54 by ekin on Wednesday, 27 May 2009 - 4:49 pm

Mr Ekans,

I agreed totally. That means “the bully being bullied and bully others”. The have got no more sense of direction. That’s the last resort they could come to. You’ll see more nonsense coming up soon…

What a sad commentary in it and of itself…