Release of ISA 13, including Hindraf 3 – why not today?

Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein’s announcement of the release of 13 Internal Security Act detainees, including the three Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) leaders, P Uthayakumar, M Manoharan, T Vasanthakumar, is most welcome.

However, why is Hishammuddin unable to release them immediately today instead of the “next two or three days”.

If the police can effect arrests with immediate effect, why can’t they effect releases when such a decision is taken?

Is Hishammuddin aware that one of the three mottos of the new Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak, is “Performance Now”?

It does not speak well for the competence and efficiency either of the Home Minister or the Special Branch if they cannot release all the 13 by today, instead of having to wait the “next two or three days”.

If there is no way to effect the immediate release of the 13 today, then the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department in charge of KPIs for Ministers, Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon should take note, as the KPI of Hishammuddin should be downgraded for disregard of Najib’s “Performance Now” motto.

1. #1 by -ec- on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 4:24 pm

it is an apparent dirty trick of bn to divert the public attention from what had happened yesterday by releasing some ‘good news'(* there is nothing good about it as they should not be detained without trial in the first place). ISA should be abolished!

yes, bn knows very well, malaysians forget easily.

2. #2 by One4All4One on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 4:52 pm

BN-UMNO treat other people as “other human forms”.

They do as they please (perhaps arising from their “ketuanan” mental reserves?) – without any consideration for the dignity, honor, humanity or respect for other people.

If you differ with them on whatever that they think concerns them and their interests, they would train their unwarranted and unfounded anger, ill-will, suspicion, and all that’s negative on you.

Such is the ills and sickness of the brow-beaters!

3. #3 by Dr. W on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 5:15 pm

My heart ached when I watched the clips inside and outside of the assembly house.

I doubt if anyone could ever forget, not to say forgive.

Let us put up a good show in next general election.

These people have to be punished. They should be shown who is the boss and who are the dogs.

4. #4 by ekans on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 5:26 pm

However, why is Hishammuddin unable to release them immediately today instead of the “next two or three days”.

Most probably, they need time to put in place their ‘agents/spies’ who’ll be monitoring those who are about to be released.
    They may also need time to draw up ‘special terms and conditions’ for the release of certain detainees, where upon their release, they have to abide to ‘certain rules’.

The Pekan MP & his cousin want to make themselves appear as the so-called ‘good guys’ to the people, but they will still want to impose ‘certain measures’ against any dissent which can threaten their present hold on power…

5. #5 by somaris on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 5:29 pm

To all the people of PERAK Remember this blake day. We will throw BN-UMNO out of PERAK. We want PKR<DAP<PAS for our PERAK .
    MAY GOD BLESS OUR SPEAKER SIVAKUMAR.
    LONG LIVE PERAK

6. #6 by Loh on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 5:33 pm

It is taken as good news because UMNO can step on anyone with impunity. When they lift their feet and others feel relieved then thanks are said to the master. They will repeat the evil act again. They have many detainees in their hold, and they choose to release a few at a time so that they can spread “good news’ over a long period of time. Malaysian voters allow UMNO to act as they like. That is the evil of racist politics.

7. #7 by taiking on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 6:02 pm

Yes Loh is right. Umno has the habit of collecting good news by detaining people for isa protection as and when they saw fit and then, as further good news, releasing them. Waaah lau-eh in one and the same stroke they can churn out two pieces of good news. I am impressed.

Stupid. Can you use paper to wrap fire? Wot happened in perak is more than a fire. It is more like an explosion and then an inferno. This time the fire and the explosion will surely burn and blast The MV UMNO to bits and pieces. “Rise my child.” “Rise my beloved child.” Commanded Mother Gobi. “May all the pieces of you come together.”

8. #8 by ReformMalaysia on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 6:33 pm

Why not released today?

And why announced today? – This has something to do with the Perak’s DUN 7/5/09 incident which has generated ‘volcanic heat’ – so Najib & Hishamuddin are trying to cool down the temperature generated by BN/UMNO sin in Perak DUN.. by announcing the release of 3 Hindraf ISA detainees and 10 others.

The illegal DUN sittings, removal of legitimate DUN speaker the ‘gangsters-like group of people hired by UMNO’ and replace him with illegal speaker……

Now Perak have 2 MBs, 2 DUN speakers, 2 team of state ‘s EXCOs, 2 governments….

Luckily still no 2 Sultans yet……

9. #9 by dawsheng on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 6:48 pm

Indians should kneel down and worship Najib and his cousin now. Indians, are you happy now?

10. #10 by dawsheng on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 6:51 pm

Thank you Say Vellu and MIC.

11. #11 by wanderer on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 7:36 pm

After the disgraceful display of ONO celaka gangsterism in Perak State Assembly to grab power from Pakatan, these low beings, are trying to cone the public again by making themselves seen as a humane govt…bulls!!
    A few decades, this priveleged lover boy, now the PM, has learned nothing…. only, how to deceive the nation and put into practise his evil indeas stored in his balding head.
    Malaysians’ weaknesses are, we are too tolerant, too forgiving and have short memory…if we do not change to confront this evil regime, we will be shackled for another 50 years!

12. #12 by ctc537 on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 8:00 pm

Let’ have confidence that Home Minister Hishammuddin would be as good as his words. I’m happy for the soon-to-be freed ISA detainees and their families. Happy becaue their mental sufferings and anxieties are coming to the end.
    By the way, dawsheng, Samy Velu said ‘thank you’ for what?

13. #13 by Loh on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 8:12 pm

Sorry off-topic
    From CheDet.co.cc

THE INDICES
    By
    Dr. Mahathir Mohamad
    on May 8, 2009 9:40 AM | Permalink | Comments (0) | TrackBacks (0)

(This is the conclusion to the series on the trends that led to the present financial crisis)

///1. I have listed and explained a little on five schemes for making money out of non-business. The amounts of money involved in these money make money schemes are huge. The hedge funds alone handle 620 trillion dollars. The trade in currency involves 20 times the value of total world trade.

2. These money make money schemes are huge and the earnings of those who manage and invest in these schemes are equally huge.

3. They are not business because they produce nothing and they supply no services. They also create hardly any employment, nor spin off other productive business. ///– TDM

It is certainly not true that money make money ‘non-business’ do not provide employment, or that they have contributed nothing to the activities such as those for which the reasons why stock market and commodities future were established in the first place. The Russian MPS system used in their compilation of GDP until she moved over to SNA in 1990s would not have recognized services. Russia moved to SNA after compiling ‘productive GDP’ for seven decades.

///4. Yet the money they generate is real because they can be used to buy goods and services from the real business world.

5. The earners of this money i.e. the fund managers, the bankers and the investors are truly rich and they live the life of the wealthy.

6. Quite naturally the players, i.e. the fund managers, the investors and the banks and bankers make large sums of money. And their earnings must contribute to the national wealth.

7. Since we have developed indices for the wealth of countries, the Per Capita Income and GDP of the countries where these money make money games are played must be high.///– TDM

The same is true in almost all countries except perhaps Myanmar and Zimbabwe.

///8. But if we deduct the wealth from these schemes from the computation of the Per Capita and GDP, obviously the figures would not be as big as claimed.

9. The bubble has now burst and the true Per Capita and GDP can now be seen. And they must be much lower.

10. So the real Per Capita Income and GDP of the rich countries are really not so high compared to the poor countries whose Per Capita and GDP are based on real business.///– TDM

The bubble has now burst and the countries which are in recession are talking about minus 5% growth in GDP, or even minus10%. At 90% of what they had, Singapore, USA, Japan and many others having per capita five times more than that of Malaysia are still having four and half times more after the bubble has burst. That would be the magnitude comparing entirely on ‘real business’.

///11. The people in the rich countries who are furiously trying to regain their statistical wealth should not be in denial. You will never be able to recover to your pre-crisis self no matter how many trillions you spend on bailouts.

12. If you accept this fact than you may be able to end the slide to national bankruptcy.///– TDM

Conspiracy theories abound, but it is definitely incorrect to blame the statistical agencies of the countries responsible for compiling GDP statistics for being motivated to prove that the countries concerned were richer than others. They follow standards, not double standards, which are established by the United Nations Statistical Commission.

It is true that the claim for the right to intellectual property offers the developed countries more and easier income when the developing countries have to pay through their nose. But then when Malaysia had the potential to catch up in knowledge based economy, the people who were responsible for national policies were more concerned about their perpetual tenure to the development of the nation. The advent of NEP has sent over two million employable Malaysians abroad to become foreign nationals. The racist discriminatory policies in university enrolment and scholarship awards have prevented Malaysians of the wrong racial origins from fulfilling their potential, and hence Malaysia’s achievement in attaining high income earning capability.

One can wish that the west would never recover from the current crisis. But it might be more realistic for country to pursue proper race-blind policies so that in time the country could catch up with the west. But then it was always easier to be member of the rich countries through migration for those who had made huge profit such as in government or government services.

14. #14 by chengho on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 8:21 pm

Hisham,
    way to go ..performance now…
    uncle Kit,
    what is ur performance..if any??

15. #15 by TomThumb on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 8:39 pm

“If the police can effect arrests with immediate effect, why can’t they effect releases when such a decision is taken?”

They need time to think of other offences and how to have re-arrested immediately they are released.

16. #16 by anna brella on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 9:03 pm

To the Malaysian Home Minister, Mr Hishammuddin Hussein:

When are you going to release Mat Shah bin Mat Satray?

And also all the other ISA detainess?

I am sure that you KNOW that neither you nor the Government had/have any constitutional, legal or moral right to hold them under the ISA, and therefore, not for one second longer.

Your fellow Malaysians and other decent human beings in the free world are now watching YOU and your performance in that public service role with interest. So, please be warned!

“Imagine Power To The People” John Lennon.

17. #17 by limkamput on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 9:08 pm

Why not release them today?

Well Sdr Lim, you are slow. I am sure the KPI of Home Minister and the Prime Minister must include:
    1. the government is working very hard,
    2. the government has plenty to do,
    3. the government must create anxious moments (by making you wait) so that those affected will show more appreciation,
    4. the government must create situations to make people think about their freedom – it is the grace and gift from the Federal Government,
    5. the government want all citizens to be grateful of the “freedom” they are enjoying now.
    Honestly, if these detainees are released without any pomp and glory, who is going to know the power of the Home Minister. Who is going to feel eternally gratefully to the mercy and grace of the government? So wise up……

18. #18 by Fairmaiden33 on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 9:38 pm

God bless these to be released ISA detainees and I wish them a good rest and quality times with their family and friends when they are finally home. Then they can better contribute to the fight for the review and correct implementation of the ISA (if it is not to be repealed). BN better be prepared for their doom’s day during the next election. The power that be will become the power that was. Change will indeed come. Kudos to those who sacrifice so much for justice and for a better future and suffer so much in the hands of the tyrants.

19. #19 by katdog on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 9:48 pm

UMNO is now announcing the release of HINDRAF leaders in an attempt to sidetrack the focus on the whole Perak episode and the huge amounts of arrests made on that day.

Either that or the HINDRAF leaders finally agreed to some compromise with the government.

20. #20 by nckeat on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 10:36 pm

I think LKS is being rude and idiotic. When gov promise to release, he is still not satisfy,

21. #21 by TomThumb on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 10:38 pm

“Who is going to feel eternally gratefully to the mercy and grace of the government?” limkamput

You??

22. #22 by mauriyaII on Friday, 8 May 2009 - 11:05 pm

Hishamuddin and his cousin from Pekan can release not just the Hindraf 3 and a few more or the whole lot of detainees in Kamunting but it is not going to earn them any brownie points.
    Why? Well, all of them were not charged in a court of law in the first place. They were not given a fair trial. They were just locked away under the whims and fancies of an idiotic home minister.

Anyway the ISA and the Kamunting detention centre has become a mockery in a democratic system of government. It is not going to last long. UMNO will make it to disappear when they find that they cannot win anymore elections and they might be the next occupants of Kamunting.

Not that democracy is practised in Malaysia. Mamakthir practised guided democracy thinking he is the only educated and wise one in the land. He corrupted and compromised all institution of governance to further his evil designs. He is the devil that made Malaysia a laughing stock of the democratic world. Now Najib is practising UMNO democracy with the guidance of Mamakthir.

Whatever the UMNOputras do to cover up their dirty tricks in taking over Perak and whatever part the royalty played will be remembered by all right thinking people.

What took place on 070509 in Perak would be the foundation for the complete wipeout of the UMNO/BN in the next general election.
    Najib and UMNO/BN dug their own graves with the blessing of the Perak royalty.

UMNO/BN can’t hope to win over Perakians even if they give amnesty to all the thieves, murderers and mat rempits in jails throughout the country to vote for them.

Najib as the DPM did anything and everything to fulfill his destiny of becoming the PM. Now he is still continuing the dictates of Makakthir and his coterie of goons in the UMNO to consolidate his position. All these will come to naught. He is destined to be the shortest reigning PM of Malaysia.

All the sandiwara that has taken place in Perak is going to hound him out of Putrajaya.

23. #23 by passerby on Saturday, 9 May 2009 - 12:01 am

People will never forget and forgive the two keris waving extremists threatening to draw the blood from the chinese. There is no sincerity in the release because they are still under monitored for rearrest.

Question is why should they be arrested in the first place if you have nothing to charge them?

24. #24 by Tonberry on Saturday, 9 May 2009 - 1:02 am

nckeat Says:
    I think LKS is being rude and idiotic. When gov promise to release, he is still not satisfy,

You a really stupid idiot, bcoz the “release” was done not in good faith. Tell me, why you they be arrested in the first place?

25. #25 by yhsiew on Saturday, 9 May 2009 - 1:14 am

How dare Koh Tsu Koon downgrade the KPI of UMNO heavyweight Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein!

Will Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein be submissive to Koh Tsu Koon?

26. #26 by Tonberry on Saturday, 9 May 2009 - 1:20 am

Koh Tsu Koon cannot even take any action against super-racist Ahmad Ismail, what can he do to Hishamuddin? The kerisman will wave a keris before him and that eunuch Ah Koon will start to pee in pants oredi unless he got a pair of stainless steel balls…

27. #27 by ekans on Saturday, 9 May 2009 - 2:04 am

On 8th May 2009 at 20:21.31, chengho said:
    Hisham,
    way to go ..performance now…

Yep, he’s real quick on drawing out the keris…

On 8th May 2009 at 20:21.31, chengho said:
    uncle Kit,
    what is ur performance..if any??

First, you need to vote Pakatan Rakyat into power during the next GE, and then we’ll see…

28. #28 by monsterball on Saturday, 9 May 2009 - 2:19 am

For arrests……so fast.
    To release….so many paper work…so many red tapes.
    To pay off small time suppliers….especially non Muslims…also plenty red tapes….showing race preferences… so clearly.
    Yes ….all those illegal arrests are side shows to irritate PR…trying so hard to get Anwar to respond…”an eye for an eye”…a Muslim duty to fellow Muslims….told by Prophet Mohammad.
    Mahatma Gandhi said he was a Muslim… Christian and a Hindu…..also said…”An eye for an eye…makes the whole world blind”….proving what was said 1500 years ago….some cannot be valid in modern days.
    Yes…so glad to see Hindraf…PR…all listen to Gandhigi…..non violence with total disobedience..without fear.
    Seeing those got arrested smiling and not resisting…telling the message….UMNO is finished!
    Everywhere I go talking to Muslims…all are shocked and feeling so disgraceful to be linked up with UMNO as the same race.

29. #29 by monsterball on Saturday, 9 May 2009 - 2:42 am

Go read at Malaysiakini….
    Beside all that were arrested recently been released ..so many under ISA will be released too.
    Why….so kind ah?
    Their side shows did not work.
    Do not ever doubt….all those arrests are designed to benefit UMNO…not protecting the country and people…like what you hear them saying.
    Leave it to UMNO smart plans and management skills.
    They have tons of record showing failures.
    Country is under auto pilot.
    If all fail..last resort..Emergency Rule!!
    Signs are all there.
    Just do not fall into those traps…they will fail..come 13th GE…..if ever 13th GE will ever come.
    We must all give them no reasons to postpone this or that….especially 13th GE.

30. #30 by boh-liao on Saturday, 9 May 2009 - 11:41 am

Don’t worry, delay lah, ISA 13 will be released on May 13 to remind us of GE 13!!

31. #31 by kerishamuddinitis on Saturday, 9 May 2009 - 5:10 pm

nckeat,
    kerishamuddin slow, you also slow…hmm, birdbrains flock together

if Koh, the slow ex-CM has now become Minister in-charge of KPIs, then, no wonder ‘slow’ is accepted as a KPI. Peletup Mongolia also slow cos he picked a non-performer to oversee performance… hmm, birdbrains flock together

NAJIS won Perak battle by force but lost the war for Malaysian hearts…and Perak is STILL is a legal mess. Dumbry is the illegimate MB born out of a rape of the State Constitution…he is now MB of a state still in crisis…hmm, birdbrains flock together

Peletup Mongolia wants to crush dissent and resistance to his will in Perak with Dumbry as his proxy…and his cousin Kerishamuddin wants to curry favour with the slow-motion release. But RAKYAT not as slow as these 3 clowns. We can see through the sandiwara. So Peletup Mongolia uses Dumbry to pound Perak while Kerishamuddin hangs up his keris to offer a blade of lalang as tease to garner support for his new position and his cousin…hmm, birdbrains flock together.

Praise be to Allah that the Rakyat no longer as slow as before Tsunami 1 on 308…except for a few slow individuals like you.