Star! Oh Star! At least be a smart party hack!

Yesterday the MCA paper, the Star, gave prominent coverage to the challenge by MCA Vice President and Health Minister, Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, that I clearly state my stand on the Cabinet’s recent decision that minors follow the common religion of their parents at the time of marriage when one spouse opts to convert.

In the Star report headlined “State stand on religion ruling, DAP told”, Liow
even said that I am at odds with the DAP National Chairman Karpal Singh over the matter on the ground that Karpal had clearly stated his support for the Cabinet’s decision, implying that I had opposed the Cabinet decision.

When I replied to Liow, Star just blacked out my response.

Reason? Because Liow would be shown to be a fool who does not understand simple English as I expressed support for the Cabinet decision in several statements on my blog.

Either Liow has a big problem with the English language, in which case he should undergo a quick refresher course so as not to disgrace the government and country when he appears in the official capacity as Health Minister whether inside or outside the country, or he is downright dumb.

If he is neither, and had been misled by untrustworthy aides to issue such a challenge, then he should know what to do to salvage the situation.

My offer to give Liow a free tutorial on the English language stands.

By blacking out my statement and refusing to accord me the right to respond to the irresponsible and baseless challenge from Liow, which it had given prominent coverage, the Star has gone against all canons of responsible and professional journalism and made a mockery of the World Press Freedom Day yesterday.

The overwhelming majority of the Star journalists are honourable, professional and self-respecting men and women who do not agree with such prostitution of sacred journalistic principles.

Let me advise those responsible for the blackout of my reply to Lai – at least be a smart party hack!

1. #1 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 2:59 pm

By imposing a blackout on your reply, the Group Chief Editor of the Start, Mr Wong Chun Wai, is one more step closer to get a conferment of Tunship in the future. Wong Chun Wai is an MCA member. How do we expect him to act fairly with professionalism when MCA is just the lap dog of Umno?

2. #2 by Godfather on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 3:00 pm

Kit: Let’s not be too sensitive. After all, we know who Wong Chun Wai reports to. Just wait for another 48 hours to see what the STAR spins about the PwC report on the PKFZ scandal.

3. #3 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 3:02 pm

Sorry, Wong Chun Wai should be the Group Chief Editor of the Star, not the Start. Wong Chun Wai will never have the start to act profesionally in journalism!

4. #4 by a-malaysian on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 3:27 pm

YB Kit,

The NST has this report:

Despite the prospect of extensive press coverage, moves are afoot to prevent the much-anticipated assembly sitting from taking place.

Pakatan Rakyat leaders have been coaxing supporters to hold illegal gatherings against the sitting. They launched the “Jom Ke Ipoh, 7 Mei 2009” campaign to encourage mass attendance at opposition-organised ceramah.

They are accusing the Pakatan Rakyat leaders on this call but if I am not wrong the call is from bloggers telling the rakyat to attend the sitting and not hold illegal gatherings.

Can PR leaders confirm this report and if it is not true, sue the NST for reporting lies.

Malaysia For All

GE 13 – No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for over the past fifty one years.

5. #5 by ctc537 on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 3:47 pm

Forgive Datuk Wong Chun Wai-lah. Anybody in his position has to do what he has done or is doing. Even such famous newspaper like WSJ is also guilty of being heavily bias against the Democrats. If not for serving the interests their political master, what’s the purpose for MCA to own The Star, Umno Utusan Malaysia and MIC Tamil Nesan? The Rocket? If it is black, then the newspapers in their subtle way have to create credible stories in favour of their masters and publish them to make the opposing side looks bad.

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 3:48 pm

If BN is not kicked out in GE 13 in Perak, Perakians will never be able to hold their heads up. They might as well stamp ‘hamba’ or ‘whores’ on Perakians heads and hand over their wives and daughters for the sick pleasures of BN warlords. It does not matter what BN do over the next 3 years. It really does not. They must be kicked out even if they bring Shangrila to Perak.

You can’t gloss over fundamentals wrong like these, you just can’t. Its impossible to move on when you do. Its just a fundamental public shame of Perakians BN has gotten as far as they have. Its like being raped and rapist says he loves you, will marry you and give you everything you want. It does not matter. Rape is rape…

7. #7 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 4:18 pm

“Its like being raped and rapist says he loves you, will marry you and give you everything you want. It does not matter. Rape is rape…” (Bigjoe)

What happen if the rape victim has gotten a greedy and morally wrong father who told the victimised daughter, “Marry him lah! After all… He is so rich and you are no longer a virgin!”

What happen if you got another female kotak as the candidate and won but then her husband said, “Take the money lah! If you don’t take the money, the Ah Long Tou (Loan Shark) is going to beat me and kill me!”

What happen if Najib said, “Each and every voter who is going to vote for BN will be paid RM1,000 each?”

In order for us to totally reject a rapist, I think the basic principle of moral doctrine or religious doctrine has to be preached to the Public, educating them that Money Politics are absolutely wrong and sinful, and that we shall try our best to stay away from Money Politics so that we may store our wealth in the Heaven by our persistently and consistently clinging on cleanliness and purity!

8. #8 by ktteokt on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 4:50 pm

How can the English of these MCA guys be good when they don’t even understand Chinese! If they do, then they won’t be using these words “??” to qualify what they get for the Chinese in Malaysia! Being a component party of the ruling coalition, why should MCA “??”? Isn’t it suppose to “share powers” with the other coalition parties in BN? These two words are actually the “copyright” of the OPPOSITION and by using these two words, MCA is declaring itself as the OPPOSITION WITHIN THE RULING COALITION!

9. #9 by ktteokt on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 4:51 pm

“??” should read “zheng qu” meaning to fight for!

10. #10 by frankyapp on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 5:06 pm

Hey guys,what do we expect from Wong Chun Wai ?. He’s a tool for both MCA and Umno/BN. Don’t you guys understand what a tool is?. A hammer is a tool,right ! When you use your own hammer,how often do you hit your own thumb or hand ? Hence Datuk Wong of The STAR being a hammer/tool of MCA and Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai who carefully used him as precise as possible to get to the targetted goal. Wong and Star are the political tools own by Umno/Bn.Hence DAP/PR should not trust them.

11. #11 by MyPeoplePower on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 5:17 pm

Don’t worry.
    Nowadays most of The Star’s readers don’t trust what it reported on the country political news section!

12. #12 by grace on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 5:48 pm

Aiya, what do you expect from a newspaper that is only out to angkat UMNO!
    They don’t have principles. Don’t care about them. With internet almost everyone knows that our mainstream media are telling only lies to stay afloat

13. #13 by donplaypuks on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 6:24 pm

To have an IQ you must have brains!

But Liow and those who run the STAR were born without brains.

So what else can we expect but continuous stupidity from these sources!!??

14. #14 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 6:27 pm

All of us can read internet news Channels like Channel News Asia, Malaysiakini.com and Malaysia Insider. Why should we be bothering about whether there is any news or no news in The Star?

I know a friend of mine who lives in KL subscribing The Star regularly only for the purpose of sourcing for cheap property on auction due to court order. Besides the advertisement, I don’t see any attraction point about The Star!

15. #15 by lopez on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 7:14 pm

these buggers …literally back users…

felt no shame and uses other people backside as their face.

like that clown at the toll road at midah, so damn thick skin and it never stops them, go by the walkway at front of A&W Pj, you see some nut head advertising what a grand shade he made for the pedestrains….if he so damn good how come mppj did not do it themselves.

phes these small little deeds, and drain cleaning, cut trees are basic duties of the municipal …why are they so selective to get them done……go to the VIP domains….a phone call..and these shoeshiners rush madly ..maybe to save a kitten in a manhole.
    Of course these shoeshiners are well rewarded…

Want to write something that sells…..sorrry dont work here…anything written sure sell.
    And you see the same fellas who voted these clowns complaining why ya,,,aiya ,,,
    thats nearly you and me…

and teh tarik jom…oops sorry never again

16. #16 by TomThumb on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 7:30 pm

Bull …

17. #17 by Taxidriver on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 9:05 pm

LKS,

Giving LTL a free tutorial on the English language would be a waste of your time. There are more important matters that require your attention. Why not you let Taxidriver do the job for you? Although I must admit that my English is not superb, I think it is good enough to make him read and understand simple English.

18. #18 by chengho on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 9:27 pm

Let speak Bahasa Malaysia like OTK …..

19. #19 by Godfather on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 9:40 pm

Let speak proper Engrish like chengho.

20. #20 by Anti Corruption on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 10:06 pm

After I left school in the 80’s, I used to read NST because my uncles read them and I won’t compromise for Star. Then I switched to Star and won’t compromise for NST. Now, I don’t care whether if any of them still exist when we have the internet. As I said before some weeks ago, I only buy them for advertisements and obituary references.

21. #21 by lee wee tak_ on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 10:32 pm

When BN lose out on arguments base on facts, reason and logic, they resort to alternative methods to present their case to the extend of abandoning all sense of fair play.

If PR do win federal control next round, it would be interesting to see how Dato Wong writes then

22. #22 by Godfather on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 10:46 pm

If PR wins federal control, you can bet your bottom ringgit that Wong Chun Wai will suck up to Kit and extol the virtues of PR – it is called “survival”.

23. #23 by ekompute on Monday, 4 May 2009 - 10:50 pm

“By imposing a blackout on your reply, the Group Chief Editor of the Start, Mr Wong Chun Wai, is one more step closer to get a conferment of Tunship in the future.”

We should not only award Wong Chun Wai a Tunship but we should also give him a luxury car. Would that make it a Cartunship?

24. #24 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 5 May 2009 - 1:16 am

I don’t think anybody reads the comments ekompute. I thought it was funny.

The Star is right, LKS doesn’t know where he stands on any issue. At least, that’s what the Star says and their readers believe it. Only his blog readers know better. Many, many more people will see a copy of the Star than will read LKS’ blog. How to fix that damage? You can show Aunty the screen of your laptop, but she’ll probably just be wondering why – if that’s a TV – nobody is singing. And isn’t that LKS the confused one they talk about in the newspaper?

How restrictive are the news media laws? Could you make a DAP news-sheet and provide a free download so that young people could print it at home for coffin-dodgers? I’m sure you’d be able to find a few people willing to pay for advertising to support the cost of serving the content, though I’d imagine it would probably cost less than serving dapm…a.org

I think you could be missing a considerable number of votes just because of the medium of your message. A lot of the older / less connected folks probably never see a PC, and probably even get their newspapers days-old from their neighbours, rather than buy today’s. Would the relevant Act prevent you hosting a printable paper, or would it prevent people at home printing it and giving it to people?

25. #25 by Taxidriver on Tuesday, 5 May 2009 - 6:13 am

Why are you all still talking about Star, NST, UM, BH and all those stupid papers that have successfully retarded the thinking faculty of many Malaysians which is what UMNO/BN government want?

Not long after Mahathir became PM, I stopped buying them.! You all should do the same. Tell your friends to do it too. Why spend money reading lies? Can go to any petrol station and get a copy of SUN for free.

26. #26 by chengho on Tuesday, 5 May 2009 - 7:54 am

Inspite of swine flu ,by election , world economic slowdown
    KLCI hits new high…to close at 1,009.36…the market rally sees gainers thumping losers by 536 to 153…vote of conf to Najib leadership…
    Any taker for Bt Jambul Golf Club….

27. #27 by Taxidriver on Tuesday, 5 May 2009 - 8:23 am

chengho,

All former PMs called for snap GE to seek fresh mandate from the rakyat. When is Najib going to do that? Yes, one more thing: Don’t you ever visit Mongolia. They will skin you alive. Cheers!

28. #28 by sotong on Tuesday, 5 May 2009 - 8:23 am

They had betrayed and neglected the poor, needy and deserving Chinese for their self-interest.

The poor, needy and deserving Chinese were not given basic and proper support and assistance to ensure they could have a fair and reasonable chance in life……most were left to fend for themselves in an environment of discrimination and injustice, those survived have become stronger but many suffered.

How could these so called ” leaders ” behave in such an irresponsible and uncaring way?

29. #29 by k1980 on Tuesday, 5 May 2009 - 8:50 am

Malaysia (GNI per capita of US$6,420) falls into the World Bank’s upper middle income bracket defined as GNI per capita of between US$3,706 and US$11,455. Other countries with similar GNI per capita include Gabon (US$7,020) and Botswana (US$6,120).

Oh hell, we are even poorer than Gabon, an African nation of pygmies which became independent in 1960, 3 years after Malaysia. The brain power of pygmies surpasses those of Malaysians. Let the teaching of Maths and Science be changed from English to the pygmy language

30. #30 by taiking on Tuesday, 5 May 2009 - 9:25 am

Oh sotong, believe me they do care. Because they care therefore they dont care. Get the idea? Now that is umno’s logic.

31. #31 by cintanegara on Tuesday, 5 May 2009 - 10:05 am

LKS seems to have forgotten that his son is not smart enough to lead a state Government. A son, admiring his father, sharing his interests and concerns and wishing to please him, actively seeks a career within his father’s sphere of influence, and presents himself as the best man for the job…….

LTL on the other hand, succeeds through hard work and accumulative years of experience. Unlike DAP….. which is Synonyms for nepotism, LTL didn’t get the position through back door…did he? Moreover, he is not OTK’s son or son in law of the senior MCA leaders….

32. #32 by cintanegara on Tuesday, 5 May 2009 - 11:19 am

LKS – My offer to give Liow a free tutorial on the English language stands.

Taxidriver – Giving LTL a free tutorial on the English language would be a waste of your time. There are more important matters that require your attention. Why not you let Taxidriver do the job for you? Although I must admit that my English is not superb, I think it is good enough to make him read and understand simple English.

Apparently, LKS’s statements have been misinterpreted by Taxidriver…It is just an indirect phrase to offend LTL…. Taxidriver’s eagerness in this respect has led to some substantial discomfiture…. Nice try indeed….Taxi cabbies are our ambassador to tourists…. promote Malaysia’s tourism industry…..

33. #33 by nothingchange on Tuesday, 5 May 2009 - 12:17 pm

I hope Dato Liow know whats he is doing because he have been nothing but a source of embarassment for the chinese. The following incident highlight his incapabilities as a heatlh minister;

My brothers was having like fever on and off for the past few days and his body was getting weaker. So my parent took him to the Kajang government hospital for check-up in case he was suffering from dengue fever as his fever repeats again.

Then the staff at Kajang hospital told my parent to take him to another clinic in Kajang Utama for blood test as this is their procedure, the diagnosis at another locations and the treatment and hospitalisation at another location.

They arrive at the clinic in Kajang Utama at 2pm and there was a long queue. He was having fever, cough and also mild flu but no immidiate attention was given although currently there was an outbreak of swine flu.

His turn only come at 3pm for the blood test.Then my brothers and my parent have to wait until 4pm for the result which the doctor say she suspected of what it might be dengue fever since the plateletes low count.

My brothers was told to wait at the clinic in Kajang Utama until an ambulance to send him to the Kajang hospital which is like a 5 minutes journey by car. The staff at the clinic does not allow my parent to send him.

My brothers waited until 5:30pm before being sent to Kajang Hospital and he was send to the emergency ward before he can proceed to the patient ward.

The waiting continues from there as my brothers was warded at the emergency ward on drip from 6pm until 9:15pm for 3 hours as there is no staff from the patient ward to pick him up to be sent there.

At 8:30pm I went to ask the doctor in charge at the desk in the emergency ward, I can see obviously she have been overworked coz she look tired and the waiting of 2.5 hours also starting to wear me out. She was nice and ask one of her nurse why isn’t my brothers being transfered to the ward after so long, the nurse answer was ” I also cannot do anything as there is no staff from the patient ward to come and pick up my brothers”.

So the doctor called up the staff in charge in the ward and ask them to send someone over as my brothers has been waiting for a long time.Then the staff ask us to wait another 20 minutes. By 9pm a staff from the ward comes and transfer my brothers to the wheelchair and he was wheeled to a corner at the emergency ward to wait for another staff to send him to the patient ward.

Another 10 minutes before the staff from the patient ward to come and wheeled my brothers to the patient ward.At the patient ward, the whole ward was cramped where theres bed even between the space of 2 rows of bed meant for staff of visitors to walk and bed was squeezed to spaces at the wall. It was like war time and those patient with heart disease was placed together with the patient of dengue fever. There was no space for my brothers and he have to wait until 11pm to get a bed.

The ordeal of being admitted to the government hospital took 9 hours just because of some redtape and stupid procedures Dato Liow created. I heard some patient even cursed out “Itu cina Dato Liow punya pasal, sampai nak mati pun takde orang rawat”

Its not racist but Dato Liow as someone who represent the chinese suppose to be the pride of chinese has become an embarassment to the chinese community. He could not do the job then should quit and not capitalising the swine flu for personal popularity.At least the 2 Chua before him does not worsent the situation.

Mr Lim, you are very right coz MCA is answerable for all the dengue fever that are coming to epidemic level in this country.

The doctors and nurse at Kajang hospital aren’t that bad coz I have had experience with them before and I think they are quite OK. Juz the procedure and system created become something to kill the patient instead of helping them.

34. #34 by All For The Road on Tuesday, 5 May 2009 - 1:07 pm

Just don’t buy The Star. Boycott it. Anyway, there’s nothing much to read in the MCA-owned daily. It’s just full of advertisements and contains lots of BN filth and rubbish!

35. #35 by AhPek on Tuesday, 5 May 2009 - 1:31 pm

You know something cintanegara,you are always barking up the wrong tree.if it is not the LGE then it has got to be the little red dot.We are all tired of your playing the old record once too often.Now how about you barking at Razak’s son.Just ask him to clear his name and not take the easy way out by swearing on the holy koran cos by doing that even many Muslims would not believe
    him,not to mention non Muslims!

36. #36 by AhPek on Tuesday, 5 May 2009 - 1:45 pm

correction.”We are all tired………………playing your broken old record …………”.

37. #37 by taiking on Tuesday, 5 May 2009 - 2:08 pm

Oi AhPek the right thing to do is to ignore him. We believe in freedom of expression. So he can go on expressing himself here just like everyone else. Dont know why he is so obssessed with the red dot when what goes on there is none of his business really. Maybe a red dot girl chucked him across the causeway. And in view of all the important issues raised by LKS here he has only some trully stupid father and son thingy to offer as comments. When the MV Umno sinks, real umnoputras will surely jet themselves to safety. Only fools like him will stay on-board. The journey to the ocean floor must be impressive and captivating. But I dont think I am any different if I missed it.

38. #38 by thguan on Tuesday, 5 May 2009 - 4:58 pm

cintanegara – LTL on the other hand, succeeds through hard work and accumulative years of experience ……

I do not know why cintanegara speak so highly on LTL, we all know that these MCA leaders climb up their political ladder through kow tow to their UMNO brothers, always the “Yes Man”, “Yes Tuan” ……..

39. #39 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 6 May 2009 - 12:27 am

OTK: MCA must change or the people will change us. We must speak out LOUD on any issues without fear or favour because this is what the people want. No more doing it behind close doors. MCA must stand up to UMNO ………………..

Taxidriver: Sekarang apa ada? Asap pun tak ada!! Belakang boss act macam harimau-Wooow, garang! Bila berdepan dengan boss macam TIKUS. Tak berani jangan cakap…Nak cakap mau berani buat. Bodoh engkau…Buat malu aje