Public Forum: Can Najib Deliver His Reform Promises?

Date: 23 April 2009 (Thursday)
Time: 8pm

Venue: Level 1, KL-Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall, Jalan Maharajalela, Kuala Lumpur.

Panellists: Ooi Kee Beng, Datuk Zaid Ibrahim, Tunku Abdul Aziz

Enquiry: Faisal Mustaffa 03-79806571 / [email protected]

(The forum is organised in conjunction with the launch of Research for Social Advancement (REFSA) [an independent non-profit organisation aimed at encouraging open discussion and input into public policy issues] latest publication, Arrested Reform: The Undoing of Abdullah Badawi by Ooi Kee Beng.)

1. #1 by yhsiew on Thursday, 23 April 2009 - 11:32 am

We have a long way to go before the rakyat can taste true democratic freedom.

Only yesterday, Malaysiakini reported that the authorities continued to confiscate “Suara Keadilan” despite promise by Najib that it will not be banned.

2. #2 by All For The Road on Thursday, 23 April 2009 - 12:09 pm

Malaysians are eagerly awaiting to see how PM Najib’s ‘1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now.’ concept will be implemented and practised to the benefit of everyone irrespective of race, culture and religion. Will his reform promises bring about social equality and a better quality of life to all Malaysians?

3. #3 by taiking on Thursday, 23 April 2009 - 12:51 pm

Najib. Look here. Your subordinates, err badawi called them little napoleons – yes those little napoleons your subordinates are disobeying you. Why dont you do something? Dont tell us that when you announced the lifting of the suspension on the two papers you actually have your fingers crossed behind you. Orr you cheater. You bluffer.

4. #4 by LG on Thursday, 23 April 2009 - 1:30 pm

This coming Nov., the PM said that he will review the performance (KPIs) of all His cabinet ministers.

However this Nov. also, many including me will also review the PM’s performance especially on His slogan 1Malaysia, People First, Performance Now.

Now we are collect the datas (KPIs) of his performance.

5. #5 by AhPek on Thursday, 23 April 2009 - 2:32 pm

Can Najib Deliver his Reform Promises? But then again isn’t it a foregone conclusion that he can’t.
    And this slogan thing about 1People,People First,Performance,isn’t this the same as ‘Cekap,Cepat dan Amanah’ and ‘Cemerlang,Gemilang dan Terbilang’ since they are all intended for Syiok Sendiri value.They are completely empty of all contents intended to pull wool over the public’s eyes in heralding the advent of a new administration that is different from the previous.

6. #6 by frankyapp on Thursday, 23 April 2009 - 4:36 pm

Well guys,Can Najib deliver his reform promises ? Wow this is a very very good question. My humble opinion is Yes and No. You see guys NR’s One Malaysia,People frist,Performance Now is a tough tough policy. He needs all round support from the rakyat.Can He gets it ? Can NR maintain his firm authority over his party Umno,especially those putras and warlords ? Can he also be able to control the civil servants especially those so-called Little Napoleans.Can NR get the vast or full support from the rakyat ?.If the answer to all the abovementioned question is YES,then he can do it but should the answer is NO,well guys,NR’s talk will remain Just talk.Right now I think we cannot judge what will happen in the end.Atleast we give NR a reasonable length of time for him to formulate his policy and plan with his cabinet members and his policy makers/advicers. However I am very skeptical that NR even if given a well policy and plan to implement his one Malaysia,People first and Performance Now,he will not have the “political will and a strong honest character to see each and everyone of his subordinates to carry out all his instruction in an up right and fair manner.Why it’s because the implementation side is pretty wide and very complex as well.If it’s like in a calm lake,it’s pretty smooth sailing,right guys ?.In NR’s case,unfortunately it’s NOT.He is like facing a long and winding rough,dangerous and unpredictable river. In the journey or procession NR has to deal with his evil Umnoputras and bloodthirsty warlords,not forgetting lots and lots of pretty nasty and narrowminded so called Napoleans.All these fellows will use whatever means it takes to prevent or coerce him to submit to their demand.Thus NR is pretty vulnerable even before he takes the river ride. Hence guys,do you think NR has the kind of character capability and strengh to steer his boat to pass the rough and cruel river and reach his dream destination to deliver to the rakyat his one malaysia,people first and performance now. I still think despite of what I said in here,we cannot be judgemental now,instead we wish him bon voyage.

7. #7 by ekompute on Thursday, 23 April 2009 - 5:40 pm

All For The Road Says: “Malaysians are eagerly awaiting to see how PM Najib’s ‘1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now.’ concept will be implemented and practised to the benefit of everyone irrespective of race, culture and religion.”

Wow, you Malaysians so advanced! Me Malaysian also, but still agonizing over what Cemerlang, Gemilang, dan Terbilang, and Islam Hadhari are all about. You mean that one, Game Over? Now new game ar? No need to wait laaaa…. same old thing will happen again, just like Bersih, Cekap dan Amanah. Cekap in sapu, and sapu hingga bersih, that’s all I know.

8. #8 by taiking on Thursday, 23 April 2009 - 5:50 pm

Aiyooh yooh ekompute.

Like dat good oredi ma. You know ah. Me still “cekap bersih dan amanah” time. Still sangkut there-ah. U know or not? Cannot erect – err keep up u know or not. Ini macam manyak susah. Manyak manyak susah.

9. #9 by dawsheng on Thursday, 23 April 2009 - 6:27 pm

Can Najib deliver? Did he order the killing of Altantuya?

10. #10 by chengho on Thursday, 23 April 2009 - 6:38 pm

Tomorrow public forum in Ipoh organise by NPC and Blogger United , no one from PR , Nga and Ngeh declined …any taker?