Tainted Cabinet – no Minister who dare to raise RCI in Cabinet for Najib to “clear” his name?

In his blog yesterday, former premier Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad alleged a campaign by the Western Press on the demonization of the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak.

Mahathir wrote:

1. The Western Press launched a concerted effort to demonise the new Prime Minister. From France to Britain to Australia, the articles are identical and carried the same message. The in-coming PM is said to be corrupt and involved in a murder case. The Australian writer says Malaysia is a “pariah” nation. I cannot believe that this demonisation by so many at the same time is a coincidence.

2. Included in the condemnation of the new PM is the allegation that he would bring back “Mahathirism”. By this the Western press seem to imply that the fourth PM was a dictator who detained for no reason, manipulated the judiciary, controlled the Press etc etc.

3. As the person concerned I will leave it to Malaysians to judge and to define “Mahathirism”. They are the constituents which Najib should care about. The foreign press has an agenda of their own. And their friends in Malaysia are feeding them with the anti-Najib stories as they fear Najib would put a stop to their control of the media.

4. Najib can expect to hear more of this kind of demonisation from the foreign press but it is what Malaysians think that counts. It is with them that Najib has to clear his name.

In typical Mahathirish selectivism, like his notorious case of selective amnesia when he appeared before the Royal Commission of Inquiry into the Lingam videotapes scandal in January 2008, the former premier deliberately excluded mention that the spate of articles critical of Najib, before and after he became Prime Minister, with regard to the swirling allegations haunting and hounding Najib, whether on corruption or his involvement in the Mongolian Altantuya Shaariibuu C4 murder case, appeared not only in the Western Press but also in the Asian, Asean and even African press, including India, Thailand, Philippines, Indonesia, Singapore, South Africa.

Of course, mention of these articles critical of Najib in the Asian, Asean and African press would spoil Mahathir’s case of a campaign of “demonization” against Najib by the Western Press, as he would have to amend and expand the allegation to accuse the International Press, including Asian, Asean and African press, of being part of this international campaign of “demonization” against Najib.

Does Mahathir want a full list of the spate of articles critical of Najib which have appeared in the non-Western press in Asia, Asean and Africa?

Be that as it may, Mahathir was very artful in making a public defence of his 22 years of premiership, when he said he would leave to Malaysians to judge whether they agreed that “Mahathirism” implied “that the fourth PM was a dictator who detained for no reason, manipulated the judiciary, controlled the Press etc etc”.

Malaysians do not need the Western press to define “Mahathirism” as there can be no doubt that it really meant “that the fourth PM was a dictator who detained for no reason, manipulated the judiciary, controlled the Press etc etc”.

How could Mahathir deny the undeniable and defend the indefensible about “Mahathirism”, which is trying to make a come-back in the Najib premiership?

What is most pertinent in Mahathir’s blog, however, is his advice to Najib, viz: that it is what Malaysians think that counts, and “It is with them that Najib has to clear his name”.

Up to now, Najib has not “cleared” his name with Malaysians with regard to the swirling allegations about his credibility, integrity and legitimacy to be Prime Minister in particular with regard to corruption and the Altantuya C4 murder case.

Mahathir had dismissed the former Abdullah Cabinet as a “half-past six Cabinet”. He has yet to dismiss the Najib Cabinet in similar terms although he had expressed his disappointment that it included several “unsavoury characters who had been accused of being corrupt in the previous government”.

With the Najib Cabinet tainted by “several unsavoury characters”, is there not a single one of the 28 Ministers who dare to raise in Cabinet the need for a Royal Commission of Inquiry to clear Najib’s name with regard to swirling allegations worldwide about corruption and the Altantuya C4 murder case?

1. #1 by taiking on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 11:02 am

“Mahathirism” = “fourth PM was a dictator who detained for no reason, manipulated the judiciary, controlled the Press etc etc”.

YES I AGREE TOTALLY

And I would actually add a dozen more “etcs” to the equation.

Perhaps someone should start a survey on this.

2. #2 by OrangRojak on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 11:03 am

Jews and sodomites calling the glorious history of our beloved Fatherland into question again? Round them up, put them in a hole and gas them!

3. #3 by badak on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 11:27 am

Melayu senang lupa.. That was what Tun M said. So najib is hoping that this will also be forgotten like so many other hot issues eg Lngam tape, Port Klang Free Zone and the numerous corruption issues.

4. #4 by monsterball on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 11:41 am

It takes a very thick skin corrupted racialist like Mahathir to advise Najib ignore world opinions.
    Now he treats Europeans having no brains..just talk what opposition fed them to say or print.
    He treats European journalists and respected world figures with no respect at all.
    He may not like Malaysia to be isolated…..but that will be so…as Mahathir thinks only of himself..and his party.
    He is the biggest racialist PM we ever had…disguising himself as a loving PM for all races….always trying to fool and con everyone..with his famous twists and turns that actually exposed him as not so smart….after all.
    Why then can he last 22 years….if he is that bad?
    Firstly..he made sure UMNO BARU members love the party. He made sure Malays love money .and are greedy for it and dare to be corrupted. The devil uses money to buy souls!!!!
    Secondly….Malaysians have not found a good alternative powerful opposition yet.
    When Anwar was released….Malaysians found what they hope and prayed for.
    12th GE result was actually rejecting Mahathir..as Dollah and others are pea nuts…compared to the devil himself.
    Now he is back.. we need to finish our unfinished work…in 13th GE.
    His famous non stop criticisms on USA…..for being undemocratic and barbaric..all OK. Others exposing crooks of UMNO BARU… are all liars. That’s village people politics…Mahathir is trying so hard to fool…with his .. dirty low class politics. Will it still sell?
    Yes this devil reincarnated will fight his own kind…to be the best devil in the world…making him…trully a Lucifer reincarnated.
    He feels no shame at all!!
    No wonder Samy Vellu wrote a love poem to him. It takes one onion face to hero another. Both are ..downright corrupted and they think they are Kings of their own race.
    Fortunately vast majority Malays love to be Malaysians and treat their religion….as way of life….not afraid to think for themselves…..not to be influenced by crooks…and able to see how hypocritical and totally insincere these crooks are.
    As Malaysians we put our heads down in shame witnessing how Mahathir can perform his ..\I forget\…..saying that 14 times in half hour questioned by Royal Commissioners…indirectly fooling learned people….knowing no one will accuse him telling lies as a witness..giving him face as ex PM.
    I like to see him do0 same stunt as a defender…….not as a witness.
    This man is a total disgrace to Malaysia and love to see his party…. be like him.
    In a way..Mahathir will be the architect to kill his evil UMNO BARU.

5. #5 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 11:56 am

This is just scattered bit of lightnings. It signals that thunder may or may not come. Najiv has to be smart enough to determine what to do or to switch off more lightnings that will eventually lead to big thunder storms.

6. #6 by Jan on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 12:00 pm

The people believe this cabinet have very little moral standing.

7. #7 by Prasad on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 12:20 pm

Najib on wikipedia a very interesting read
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Najib_Tun_Razak

8. #8 by Godfather on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 12:26 pm

The Mamakthir is bad news for this country, as he is seeking a return to the dark side of the force. I have written a reply in the old fox’s blog, so I shall wait to see if he is brave enough to allow it to be posted.

Before the 308 elections, I was of the opinion that he should be left alone to spend the rest of his life in peace. He obviously doesn’t want to spend the rest of his life in peace, so I now say that when PR comes to power, we must form a commission to probe into his abuse of power for 22 years.

9. #9 by Godfather on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 12:28 pm

Mamakthir is now stepping firmly on to Najib’s foot, and Najib can’t move anywhere without asking for Mamakthir’s permission. “Excuse me, sir” is all that Najib can say.

10. #10 by Jan on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 12:51 pm

Godfather said: ….when PR comes to power, we must form a commission to probe into his abuse of power for 22 years.
    ————————–
    It’s exactly for this reason the old man uses all the tricks in the book to make sure UMNO stays in power. He’ll also make sure his son makes it to the top to ensure successors in his party are friendly to what he had done in the past.

11. #11 by k1980 on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 1:09 pm

Suharto, though tainted by the murder of over 1 million people during his 1965 coup, managed to remain in power until 1998. Sudan’s President Omar Al-Bashir is also tainted by genocide but he doesn’t care a hoot. So being tainted means nothing as long as one holds tight onto the reins of power.

12. #12 by OrangRojak on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 1:09 pm

Looks like the Najib wikipedia article is going the way of the Streamyx article. Maybe it should be deleted on the basis that no reliable (that is, not controlled by Najib) source of information exists? The stupid comments on it just make all Malaysians look like idiots.

13. #13 by limkamput on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 1:09 pm

As the person concerned I will leave it to Malaysians to judge and to define “Mahathirism”. They are the constituents which Najib should care about. Mahathir

—————————————

Very good, if he really wants to know what mahathirism is all about. Well, it is the combination of all these “isms” – racism, fascism, jingoism, cronyism, nepotism, parochialism, “corruptionism”, “mega-ism”, “unreasonable-ism” and “bully-ism”.

Dear Najib, you can take your pick which one your favour most. As many have said here and elsewhere, you may follow this “has been” at your own peril. The reason why he is still influential is because UMNO – BN and also many Malaysians are stupid “left behind” people.

14. #14 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 1:28 pm

Tun Dr. Mahathir today no longer commands powerful influence over Malaysian politics. His successor Abdullah, before stepping down, said that ex-leader Tun Dr. Mahathir was irrelevant to his (Abdullah) ministry.

Abdullah’s statement was proven true when the recent by-elections showed that voters completely ignored the ‘Mahathir factor’ despite Tun Dr. Mahathir’s personal intervention in wooing voters in the by-elections.

Tun Dr. Mahathir yesterday said there was still hope in winning the Penanti by-election and was more than willing to help campaign for the election. If the EC approves the Penanti by-election, we shall see if Tun Dr. Mahathir could actually influence the outcome of the by-election.

15. #15 by k1980 on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 1:34 pm

limkamput,
    There are lots more– crooked-ism, sodom-ism, bluffo-ism, botox-ism, anti-Semiticism, and last but not least, mamak-ism.

16. #16 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 2:00 pm

Who dares,brother Lim Kit Siang,do you dare to raise this matter ? You remember aleast seven of your colleagues who only carried the poster have been arrested and charged and when found quilty all of them will serve a jail sentence of one to 5 years.This was the warming.Do you sincerely think guys like KTK,OTK,SamiMic dare to raise for a RCI and later share the same prison or fate with your poor friends.Perhaps one guy may,just maybe dare to raise this urgent and worldwide demaging issue to NR and country is TDM who thinks he’s untouchable. I hope TDM don’t beat around the bush this time,instead ,just tell it straight to NR’s tick skin face.TDM has squandered the rakyat and country for more than two decades,alteast we hope he can do this little thing for us.

17. #17 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 2:12 pm

frankyapp Says:
    Today at 14: 00.01 (7 minutes ago)

Who dares,brother Lim Kit Siang,do you dare to raise this matter ?
    =================================================

The KPI man, KTK, has failed miserably in his job.

Najis KPI scheme is only a show!!!

18. #18 by All For The Road on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 2:19 pm

“Mahathirism” shouldn’t be allowed to return at all costs. We have already “suffered” enough of 22 years of dictatorial rule. The recent victory of Pakatan Rakyat in the Parliamentary seat of Bukit Gantang in Perak clearly shows that Tun M is no more a force to be reckoned with.

19. #19 by monsterball on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 3:16 pm

hahhahahaha….limkamput finally woke up!
    Love you ..little professor.
    That chengho is traveling to Susan and Rocky and kickdefella blogs to sow his wild oats.
    He feels so nice….some pro BN guys are supporting him…with your truly gunning him down…hahahahahahaha

20. #20 by mauriyaII on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 3:17 pm

Mamakthir and his brand of democracy known as Mahathirism is so entrenched in UMNO/BN that they can only shake off its evil hold when this old, craft goat kicks the bucket.

No sooner did AAB quit as UMNO president and PM, this shameless mamak quickly rejoined UMNO. Even after resigning he is still able to hold on to his old UMNO membership number, not that it matters to other Malaysians.

After putting on a show that everything was hunky dory with AAB on the last day of the UMNO assembly, this mean mamak showed his true colours the very next day by lambasting AAB in an iterview in UK.

Now that he knows that Najis is at his mercy, he has again come up with his crooked bridge. Najis might just oblige to keep him quiet and from backstabbing him.

Mamak’s influence clearly shows when the interest rates for foreign made car loans are to be increased in favour of Proton and Perodua cars.

As it is Malaysian motorists have suffered long enough with Proton cars that are notorious for quality.

After being given preferential treatment and unfair advantage depriving Malaysians from buying more advanced and quality cars of foreign make, Malaysians are still being coerced into buying these junks (when compared to cars of other makes) by giving Proton/Perodua a lower interest rate on loans.

What is next on Mamak’s agenda?

Another ‘longest bridge’ linking Peninsular Malaysia with Sumatra?

Another Bakun Dam to generate more electricity and enrich his cronies as well as the white-haired mafia don in Sarawak?

Another tallest ‘twin towers’ to put Malaysia on the world map? Another monorail linking all the kampungs in Malaysia? As it is the monorail project in KL really sucks for its quality of service.

Would Najis succumb to mamak’s suggestion of pegging the ringgit on the dinar or the yuan as the US is badly hit by the economic recession?

To mamak and his elk, anything to bring down the US or ridicule it is scoring brownie points. Isn’t he the one who wanted to see more US soldiers in bodybags? Such a fine example of a compassionate and loving human being!!

Anything is possible in Bolehland with the reemergence of Mahathirism. Only God can save this beautiful country from this scourge.

21. #21 by drchris on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 3:19 pm

If there is one brave enough to stand up,he will never be in the cabinet.”Setuju dan sokong” is the principal requirement for becoming a cabinet member.

In short in order to be minister one has to stop thinking and using his own brains but use the brains of the “Master”

22. #22 by Godfather on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 3:39 pm

monsterball:

I knew Limkamput would have made your day. In truth, Limkamput has always been against Mahathirism. The only disagreement we had in the aftermath of the 308 elections was that I said that the old fox should be allowed to live in peace for the rest of his life, and that there was no need to make him account for the excesses of his 22 years in power. I have now changed my mind, and I think that we should make Mamakthir account for the corruption of the judiciary, the excessive cronyism during his tenure, and his interference in the investigative organs of this country.

23. #23 by Loh on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 5:46 pm

It is a pity that UMNO had to choose somebody who had to clear his name before he can be accepted as a PM. It hsows that UMNO has no other talent is the entire 2 million plus memberships that it had to rely on a sickman to lead and hoping that in the process he would get well; that is to clear his name.

The story about the new PM surfaced two years ago, and if he had intended to clear his name, he could have acted in the manner that the name would be cleared honourable through the court, assuming the court can be trusted, the AG office had done its job and the police investigations could be trusted, and the murder case can only be said to have settled if the motive for murder has been established beyond reasonble doubt. Was the then PM AAB planting seeds of distrust for not insisting that Najib was cleared before he took over?

TDM said that only the views of Malaysians about the leaders count. He was aware that the world outside did not think well of him, and that the people in the country could not be bothered to take risks for telling the truth. People are waiting for God to call his day.

24. #24 by lopez on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 9:21 pm

finger pointing and poking is the easiest thing to do and some people enjoys it….and go laughing in the toilet.

what is hard is critising yourself….so far i have not seen any yet but it is common when even suggetive and remote remarks from counterparts can becomes oversize very quickly and viciously reciprocated….thus are the sunset club ways..they are just too boring and predictable…
    so nobody says anything and …hey …it is blue sky and everything nice….who says we have differences….
    my foot and toes goes laughing….luckily i still can afford shoes to wear …

25. #25 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 9:54 pm

Below are my friendly messages which require someone’s help for forwarding to Tun Dr. Mahathir.

Tun Dr. Mahathir,

Even the present Minister of Defence, Dato Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, was detained for no reason by the former IGP Rahim Noor at Kota Kinabalu for about 7 days in September 1998 under the ISA. The former IGP Rahim Noor was your right hand man who managed to help you to crack down Anwar Ibrahim callously in 1998.

How are you going to explain off now by claiming that you never ever detained for no reason?

Come on Tun, at your current old age, please be honour to yourself and don’t you ever try to deny again about the truth of your dictatorship in the past, lest Allah will never forgive you for stiffneckedly refusing to repent on your wrong even at such a high time of about to face the divine judgement very soon!

Onlooker

26. #26 by ringthetill on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 10:29 pm

I do not know what the term Mahathirism stands for and values good values it is supposed to expound. So let us not make a fuss of this term lest this man’s ego gets bigger and thinks he has done some lasting good for this nation, which, in my humble opinion he has not.
    He has always been quick to criticise others but will not see or listen to other people’s reasoning. Indeed he has corrupted the values and principles of good nation building.
    What are super infrastructures if spiritual and good universal human value develpoment are waylaid?
    Our beloved nation is paying for the mess now simply because of his failure to lay a proper foundation for nation building during his long rule at the top.
    Guess we have enough of that one-man show and hope the current PM will be his own man.

27. #27 by Loh on Wednesday, 22 April 2009 - 11:21 pm

Mahathirism begins by pretending to be Malay when one is not. The Ism makes Malays feel that they were weak and that they were ill treated when they were not, and then he offers to be their champion. For that to be sustainable, the people in the country was divided so that voting could be managed. To make sure that such division of races are discussed in the homes of the different communities, the people of the majority race were given preferential treatment. To make sure that the beneficiaries of government policies intended for the Malays to catch up with other races would not become independent of UMNO, UMNO under TDM made the Malays believed that they had the assistance not out of need but because of their birth right. The conversion of UMNO members to behave like parasites is complete, and they offered TDM 22 years of uninterrupted rule.

Mahathirism is making Mahathir the emperor of Malaysia while the country suffers, and it is on the path of destruction.

28. #28 by sotong on Thursday, 23 April 2009 - 7:12 am

His ” leadership ‘ benefited a small group of people, the well connected and rich, the at great expense of our country.

He has left behind a big mess. The ordinary people is made to clean it up for generations to come…..there is no quick fix.