Rampant crime in Taman Bunga Raya, Taman Desa Setapak & around the Wangsa Maju LRT station

Letters
by Undergraduate of Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman

I am a Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman student at the Kuala Lumpur campus in Setapak. I am writing this email to you to highlight to you on the rampant acts of crime happening in areas highly populated by students such as Taman Bunga Raya, which is located beside the Tunku Abdul Rahman College campus and the Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman campus.

On Friday, 17 April 2009, 2 of my coursemates (1 male & 1 female) became victims of snatched theft and assault. Both of them were on their way to buy their breakfast at Taman Bunga Raya when four men on two motorcycles tried to rob the female student of her handphone but failed.

However, the robbers returned and attacked the female student with a parang. She sufferred injuries on her head, shoulder and finger. Luckily, there was a Good Samaritan that help to admit her at the Tawakal Hospital in Jalan Pahang. She required some 20 stitches as a result of her injuries.

Meanwhile, the robbers successfully snatched the handphone and wallet of the male student.

The crime rate in areas such as Taman Bunga Raya, Taman Desa Setapak and also around the Wangsa Maju LRT station is increasing drasitcally with these criminals targetting residents here who are mainly students college and university not only for their money or valuable belongings, but also assaulting these innocent victims. This is not the only case that happened as every now and then, we heard of snatch thefts happening in these areas.

Surely, the incident when a Tunku Abdul Rahman College student was robbed, assaulted and killed near the Wangsa Maju LRT station some 3 years ago is still fresh in everyone’s mind. Despite the promises by the authorities to curb crime in the area, the situation seems to be not improving at all.

I am concerned that the safety of the residents in these areas are at stake. I hope YB can highlight this issue to the relevant authorities or bring up the matter in Parliament with the hope that the problem is solved once and for all for the benefit of everyone.

1. #1 by monsterball on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 3:09 am

It needs lots more such cases….to get attentions.
    It needs non stop complaining to get more attention.
    Then no want complaint any more…all forgotten.
    We need to pray a victim with 20 stitches is a daughter of one of UMNO minister..or a royal family. Only then…police will go all out.
    So far..all snatch cases are suffered by the ordinary people who are clerks…students from ordinary families….not important,,.as UMNO really do not care for Malaysians…except their members…and usually it is their members children on drugs…committing such crimes.
    They will always put the blame on foreign workers…to cover up truths.

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 4:18 am

And the Police Di-Mana Malaysia spent RM 31 million on by-elections involving hundreds if not thousands of personnel.

Wasn’t there a Police public warning barely two days about Mat Rempits (sorry Mat Cemerlangs) terrorising and robbing the public all over KL? What are the men in blue doing?

Hey, what is our brand new FT Minister doing? You know, that Raja Non Chik fellow. Still settling in? What about our Dato Bandar? Wee Choo Keong? He’s been very quiet lately. Never fear, DAP is here!!

3. #3 by chengho on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 8:19 am

uncle monsterball and sherifff singh….probably u are too old to patrol Rukun Tetangga vigalante programme…do not blame others…think n act what u can do for ur country…Malaysia need u….

4. #4 by blablowbla on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 8:22 am

the fact is,the police also worry about these mat rempits n criminals;you see,they r wearing blue shirts,if they go out alone,or even couple,12- bullet is with them,but the mat rempits might be 30 -50 ppl,you thnk for yourself why they prefer to stay in balai,or if you ppl call thm,1st question thy ask is:itu penyamun ada senapang atau parang?2nd question:berapa orang,3rd question:nanti dia orang dah lari,call lagi!

5. #5 by blablowbla on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 8:38 am

i didnt mean 100% police are as such,but it would be very accureta
    to say 60%!

our ex-ex-ex IGB also quoted that ‘harap pagar,pagar pula makan padi!’

chengho,i was thinking one day you and your family go for shopping,one of your family members get robbed,and when you reach police station,you will still grab the constable hands and say:shukur,shukurlah mereka tak bunuh kami,tak payah siasatlah,i ingat mereka tak ada rezeki,sebab itu mereka rompak ,kasihan mereka!

if all of your family members get beaten-up,including you,or your daughter or wife get rape,you will still say:aiyah,ini biasa ma,hari-hari pun ada perkara macam ini berlaku!

isn’t it true,chengho?

6. #6 by Godfather on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 8:47 am

The Chinese are their own worst enemies. They shut their own front doors at the first sign of commotion outside. We have to change this mindset. Organise a group of residents to patrol the housing area, or locate them at strategic points. The population is generally student-driven, so it should not be difficult to have Rukun Tetangga in the daytime !

7. #7 by taiking on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 8:47 am

Not true. Lies. All of them. They are liers. Malaysia is safer than HK, Japan and Singapore. I dismiss all that was said about the incident. We may have several million foreign workers we are definately safe. The police should just arrest and charge them for making false report.

Yeah. Sound like cintanegara speaking aint it? As a matter of fact it does not take a lot to speak like him or them. Try it at home. Do it in front of a mirror. For sound effect you may speak want into the toilet bowl. Remember to shut the door if you want to hear the nice echo coming out of the bowl.

Me and my family can walk freely on the streets in HK and in Spore without any fearful thoughts of being mugged or of being knocked down by some mindless drivers who saw it advantageous to use the pedestrian pavement. A friend left his laptop in his car and came back hours later to find that it is still there. He was relieved but his reaction got his friends confused. They told him in Bangkok laptops in cars are not stolen – not like in malayisa.

Ask around. All of us must have either personally met such misfortune or have neighbours, friends or family members who have had such encounters with criminals. Its umno that is politicking too much and in the process roped the police and all government bodies in to their silly and stupidly enlarged politicking arena. Now that it has gone out of hand they blame the opposition for making trouble by pointing out and highlighting problems and they also blame the people for voting and supporting the opposition.

Come on. You umno guys cant be that stupid. I know that you guys are products of umno’s (-)meritocracy system but really this is super mega ultra stupid. Remember we could tell the difference between education fund allocation for schoold and election sweets hand-out. So pls dont ever think of hoodwinking the people.

And rais warned: “twist the facts and face the music”. Who would he go after?

8. #8 by OrangRojak on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 9:18 am

Taiking is right. I read recently (at The Malaysian In Cider) that you are all “hurlers of allegations, provocateurs, farmers of hatred, destroyers of peace and disregarders of law”. Furthermore, someone who has on previous occasion appeared to be capable of reasonable comment tells me you are “insulters and ridiculers of institutions, destroyers of racial identity”, and “brewers of hatred”.

I’m glad I asked the question about “His majesty’s Loyal Opposition”, it’s all perfectly clear to me now.

9. #9 by puteri pinang on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 9:55 am

IF there’s not enough police personnel to go around, how about dispensing volunteer unit or engaging private security units for the patrolling at the affected area? Of course, the authority should be paying and is accountable for all the expenses incurred. This money is nothing compared to millions spent in the by elections. Someone up there is really spending rakyat’s money like no body’s business. Shall i say at their whims and fancies???

10. #10 by boh-liao on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 10:13 am

Where got polis going after snatch thieves and Mat Rempit?

In Malaysia, polis are pandai, loyal, and protect people kacau by their girlfriends and mistresses. Polis very resourceful, will remove immigration entry record of mistress, if foreigner. Polis will also remove C4 from depot and C4 girlfriend or mistress who kacau people. No fee charged. Even die for people in the line of duty.

Good loyal polis. Ada. Two about to die soon.

Next time, want polis help, don’t say kena robbed by snatch thief or Mat Rempit. Say mistress or lover kacau you. Baru got polis help mah. Act smart lah.

11. #11 by phat on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 10:20 am

The lights at the Lrt bus stop and surrounding areas are very dim and mostly not working at all. How could images be captured clearly in cctv in dark? And worse still the wangsa maju police station doesn’t accept any crime report and we need to run to Sentul police station to make crime reports. Also lately, i see lots of foreigners loitering around wangsa maju area suspiciouly. I did noticed many times they wait at bus stop for hours without getting into any buses. The authorities should take action on this immeditely. Give us a crime free neighbourhood.

12. #12 by k1980 on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 10:28 am

From maverickysm’s blog

George was going up to bed, when his wife told him that he’d left the light on in the garden shed, which she could see from the bedroom window.

George opened the back door to go turn off the light, but saw that there were people in the shed stealing things.

He phoned the police, who asked “Is someone in your house?” He said “No.” Then they said “All patrols were busy. You should lock your doors and an officer will be along when one is available.”

George said, “Okay” He hung up the phone and counted to 30.

Then he phoned the police again. “Hello, I just called you a few seconds ago because there were people stealing things from my shed. Well, you don’t have to worry about them now because I just shot them.” and hung up.

Within five minutes, six Police Cars, a SWAT Team, a Helicopter, two Fire Trucks, a Paramedic, and an Ambulance showed up at the Phillips’ residence and caught the burglars red-handed.

One of the Policemen said to George, “I thought you said that you shot them!”

George said, “I thought you said there was nobody available!”

13. #13 by OrangRojak on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 10:30 am

how about dispensing volunteer unit or engaging private security units
    I think this is how the Mat Rempits view themselves. Once you’ve lost the support of the police, you have nothing. Attempting to do their job for them could turn out terribly, I suspect at best you’d run into an ‘arms race’.

When I was a student, I was lucky to study at a very safe University in a very safe city. Even so, the advice from the Student Union, on posters, leaflets and talks was overpowering: Don’t go out alone or in small numbers. Don’t walk at night. These students’ grim reality is that they live in a lawless area. The best they can do is to ensure they always go out in groups. Of course, then they’ll risk police harassment for public assembly, but at least the risk of parang blows should be slightly lower from the police.

14. #14 by Prasad on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 10:32 am

15. #15 by All For The Road on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 10:42 am

What actually are the men-in-blue-uniforms doing in combating crimes in the first place?

Where are they when they are most needed by the common rakyat?

16. #16 by OrangRojak on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 11:02 am

Does it cost money to go to these Universities? I have a couple of friends working on English-language programmes in Science and Technology at Thai Universities. The campuses there appear to be beautiful, peaceful places. As far as I can see, the teaching is high quality and attention to quality of student life good too. It’s only a few hours away by Air Asia, even to far northern cities like Chiang Mai, and the course fees seem very competitive.

If Malaysian Universities are on the slide and studying at one is life-threatening, why not go ‘over the border’? If it’s a question of economics, what price are you putting on being hacked with a parang? Cheap, is it?

17. #17 by puteri pinang on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 11:14 am

“how about dispensing volunteer unit or engaging private security units
    I think this is how the Mat Rempits view themselves. Once you’ve lost the support of the police, you have nothing. Attempting to do their job for them could turn out terribly, I suspect at best you’d run into an ‘arms race’.”
    That’s the problem of the authority viewing the mat rempits as part of the enforcer. We have decent Rela volunteers here and the authority should be sensible enough to make use of the available resources. Asking these students whom are temporary tenants to the taman to go for patrolling as in Rukun T/ga may not be practical.

18. #18 by tong.kin.yoong on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 11:39 am

I am rather concerned that some Internet Users are showing how law are broken in front of the police station and how police do not take action when the public throw mineral water bottles at them. I believe the police must start taking action first by catching those who break the law in front of their police station. That’s their starting point. They should learn how to crawl (catch wrong doers in front of their police station) first before they learn how to run (catch wrong doers who are 1 kilometer away from their police station)

So far, the standard of Malaysian police is that the public can spray cans of foam and throw plastic bottles at their cars see the following two videos: –
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=APnHEDsECkA
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3JycMSxqEho

and the following: –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NDXSNiheL-Q
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U84SseQ0DtA
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-8dMdyLsqc0
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Wmil2xR2cI
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vLuWcORNaEM
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kOOfUGZvdI0
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TCrnl-HJOCQ
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ably5YN5WwY

19. #19 by sabar on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 1:52 pm

Ps. Crime goes beyond races…. I am a malaysian chinese, and my neighbour is very friendly malay family. I needed to mention above in response to one of the replies…

Similar incident also happened to my neighbour at the Petronas station next to the national library in the dawn, on his way to prayer, 11 or 12 of April. He was surrounded by about 15 motorbikes, attacked and I would say that he was lucky as the bikers just pulled his pocket, swiped his wallet and freed him away.

He made a police report immediately after the incident and below are few reactions given by polices for your judgements..

Police: You said the bikers are malays, can you tell more? Example Kelantan, Terengganu or … malays.
    Victim: ????

Victim: I’ve also checked with the Petrol station and they have CCTV directly shot on the incident area…

Few days later…

Victim: I’ve called the Petrol station, and no action was taken from police since then.. can u tell me more…

Police: We are busy….. hence, no time to go to the petrol station..

Victim: ?????

Do the above make any sensible sincerely that the enforcement arms practicing ‘walk the talks’ in terms of fighting the evolving crimes or on the other hand, hold Malaysia boleh spirit of 1st world infrastructure and 3rd word mentality.

Hopefully, Mr. Kit could channel all the matters to the right person in parliament. You are always our future.

20. #20 by Godfather on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 2:41 pm

You folks still don’t get it. The Police can’t help you because they have other priorities. Their sympathy is with the mat rempits who are jobless and have to rob to buy petrol for their bikes. UMNO’s sympathy is with the mat rempits who they could mobilise for by-elections. We must understand now that personal security is in our hands – and we must mobilise as a group to ensure to protect our citizens.

Moaning about the security situation isn’t going to help. Surrounding our houses with barbed wire isn’t going to help. Do something as a group, and that’s the only way to teach the miscreants a lesson they would never forget. Can we ?

21. #21 by Godfather on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 5:58 pm

Many years ago, I lived in a condo, and was a member of the residents’ association. We volunteered our time, and we liaised with the developer to ensure that we had the best results for the service charges we paid. We received endless complaints about the service, about how high the charges were. Many of the complainants happen to be in arrears of the service charges. Some had not paid for over a year ! Those of us who paid effectively subsidised those who did not pay. Hence the nominal charges could not be brought down. Yet those who didn’t contribute had the loudest voices.

Several years later, in a housing estate, we proposed that certain roads be made one-way, with some being closed to traffic altogether so that it makes security patrols easier. Everyone said “yeah” and so we proceeded. A year went by and the security situation improved. Then the delinquencies in paying for the maintenance and security started. People became complacent and started asking why we were paying for security when the security situation was already good.

This is Bolehland. People who don’t contribute shout the loudest and demand the best.

Back to this complainant about Tmn Bunga Raya. Form your own security detail. You may be students but the organisation and the management of the situation will do wonders for your skillsets.

22. #22 by drngsc on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 6:24 pm

I am so sorry that it has happened again. I thank God that this time there were no fatality.
    If we all can remember, in 2006, a Chinese TAR college student died from an assault by what appears to be “snatch thief “. We went to investigate and submitted a report to the MCA / MOH. When we interviewed the students in the area, they told us that snatch thief there is rampant. When the victims report to the nearby police station, the police will ask them whether anyone was injured, or died. If not, they are not interested. They were told that there were so many “snatch thief ” that they have no time to investigate and there are not enough police to cover the area.
    We send our report to the then Minister of Health ( then MCA vice President ).Now two years later, we know that nothing have changed. Malaysia Boleh.

23. #23 by patnam on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 7:51 pm

Iwas once a student in TARC Setapak, Kuala Lumpur. Yes, there are several cases about snacth thieves and robbery at that areas. End up police still can’t do thing until today. We hope any Y representative will help to solve this serious problem or else there will be more victims suffering the robbery…

24. #24 by OrangRojak on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 8:09 pm

Sorry to digress…

The list of youtube videos is not very interesting, except… the “Related Video” list for the first one has a video titled “20 sebatan”. Is that video an accurate portrayal of caning?

25. #25 by UzMiNoOnist on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 9:49 pm

The Police will only act when some BN MPs or MB’s family fall victim, otherwise our Police will be too busy keeping public order during Peaceful gathering.
    Already spending millions buying new riot gears, chemicals for water canons, tear gas and C4s.
    So, small snatch thief by Mat Rempits will not get their attention.
    Also, most of the patrol cars are too preoccupied patrolling VVIPs and VIPs areas.

26. #26 by de_Enigma on Tuesday, 21 April 2009 - 1:10 am

So easy… get someone brutally killed.
    They will have all their reasons to get up on their toes.
    This is Malaysia… small problem = no problem.
    We rakyat are perceived as dumb anyways.

27. #27 by jenzl on Thursday, 23 April 2009 - 5:04 pm

i truly wonder, the Rakyat is awaken now and many voices have been heard, so why…and just why aren’t the so-called authorities start to take some serious actions?

Mat Rempits have not been a new case nor is the crime cases in Wangsa Maju. People have died and injured and yet, the Forces are still blind to them! Yes, please do correct me if I am wrong but being a student at UTAR and a resident in KL, I have seen/listened to enough crime cases. As of recent, I can see beautifully renovated police station (new stations…new vehicles…) growing like mushrooms but hey, what is the point of having beautiful working area when the personnel are not doing their duties??

Rakyat who has similar mindset as “chengho”, please wake up from your lovely dream. If Rukun Tetangga can successful in maintaining a safe neighbourhood, well, then I’d suggest that the volunteers in Rukun Tetangga to be employed as a staff of Polis DiRaja…less hassle that way, don’t you think? Why do we want to keep some redundant and potentially harmful people in a trusted force?
    We need the police because they play a role in the society and damn, they better play it well!