Perak power grab – PR setback in Federal Court

Newsflash

The Federal Court has just dismissed the preliminary objection and ruled that it has the authority to hear an application seeking to lift the suspension of usurper Perak Menteri Besar Zambry Abd Kadir and his exco members from the state assembly.

The suspension was made by Perak State Assembly Committee of Privileges and announced by Perak Speaker V Sivakumar after Barisan Nasional had formed the state government in February without the assembly being dissolved.

The usurper MB was suspended for 18 months and his usurper Exco members suspended for one year.

The Federal Court will now decide on the merits of the application by Zambry and his Exco.

1. #1 by Elwin Heng on Tuesday, 14 April 2009 - 11:04 am

I discussed with my wife… abt astro on demand drama… Just like, or it seems, you or me had predicted the ending of ‘these’ drama scenario… one word, ‘shame on you!’…

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

2. #2 by Godfather on Tuesday, 14 April 2009 - 11:15 am

None can be more powerful than the Federal Court. When an UMNOputra was nominated to the highest judicial position in the land, the response by most parties was muted. Even the Bar Council hailed his appointment, and we are now going to see the results of the “insurance policy” put in by UMNO.

3. #3 by ALLAN THAM on Tuesday, 14 April 2009 - 11:19 am

Justice not only to be done but seen to be done. Malaysia boleh!

Dear DPM, if you want reason why people did not vote BN this is the reason for the day. And 2morrow will give another reason.

4. #4 by ALLAN THAM on Tuesday, 14 April 2009 - 11:22 am

Let me give DPM my reason for not voting BN for yesterday. Read the Sun report on PAMPENA make you sick all day and vomited blood. Here you this was my reason for yesterday.

5. #5 by ekans on Tuesday, 14 April 2009 - 11:33 am

It’s a shame that this state assembly issue could not be deliberated in court at state level.

Is UMNO’s BN trying to flex its muscles here through its control of the federal government?

6. #6 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 14 April 2009 - 12:17 pm

It would now appear that the Federal Court is now more powerful than the other arms e.g. the Legislature and the Executive. There would now no longer be any seperation of powers if one arm can usurp another, if one arm is superior to another.

The FC can now review all decisions made by the Speakers of State Assemblies and maybe even Parliament itself. How about challenging all unfair decisions of the Speakers and Parliament by challenging all decisions in the Federal Court e.g. the suspension of Karpal, his son, LKS etc etc

Is the Judiciary now getting ambitious, exerting and expanding its powers by declaring that it has the power to review perhaps all decisions made in the Legislatures? Is the Judiciary now saying it has the final say, it is the supreme authority?

The two recent decisions have far reaching consequences and are landmark cases. It would be good to know the grounds of their decisions whether these are well grounded or whether the decisions are just baseless.

Is it proper to say you disagree with the judges’ decisions or will they cite you for contempt?

7. #7 by Thor on Tuesday, 14 April 2009 - 12:35 pm

When it comes to Federal Court, there will be no hope for the oppositon.
    Why???
    Because it solely belongs to UMNO!!!

8. #8 by BrianFong on Tuesday, 14 April 2009 - 1:04 pm

i dont know whether legally – constitutionally whether it is true they have power to hear a case that involve the Legislature but one thing is for sure they do not have the moral right to hear the case when one fler is x-umno and the other fler is a well known “contempt-of-court” dispenser fler during the ’98 saga.

if people like Ram or Tunku Aziz is involved i as a rakyat would find the ruling more palatable – whichever way it goes.

9. #9 by Prasad on Tuesday, 14 April 2009 - 1:34 pm

What was the QC verdict, UMNO seems to be very silents with this.
    Its best to for PR to find out what did QC say.

10. #10 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 14 April 2009 - 2:54 pm

In Perak today the 3 pillars of government sit on top of each other: the legislative is connected to the ground (the electorate), the judiciary stands on the legislative’s head and the Executive stands on the head of the judiciary.

So all the Executive shit will cascade on top of the judiciary whilst the legislative. especially the Speaker will be covered with the shit of the judiciary and the Executive. Fine mess. Just like the scene in Slumdog Millionaire!

Wow! Malaysia Boleh achieves Slumdog Millionaire status.

11. #11 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 14 April 2009 - 4:53 pm

“The Federal Court will now decide on the merits of the application by Zambry and his Exco.”

That’s what they want to do. Everything needs to be legitimised.

12. #12 by chris chong on Tuesday, 14 April 2009 - 4:58 pm

i think it’s good. then the opposition in parliment can challenge the kamping speaker in court!!!

what are you waiting for, YB karpal singh & YB gobind singh???
    and the rest of the YB who had been bullied by the speaker last time.
    make an application to the court now!!!

13. #13 by mumzie on Tuesday, 14 April 2009 - 5:04 pm

Federal Court – the one standing and blind folded with dacing in her hand….. well she belong to BN – corrupted. DPM shut up don’t creat problem in chinese – they are more unity than your BN!!!

14. #14 by lopez on Tuesday, 14 April 2009 - 9:08 pm

what is wrong with the judiciary , no law sources or don’t know how to interpret

or waiting for a command?…..what happen to this potato common wealth

you are part of this very nation, put your conscience mode on…
    if there is any left
    let your sense gives you guidance, get the vibrations from the streets
    get out of your cocoon

Serve the people

15. #15 by katdog on Tuesday, 14 April 2009 - 10:40 pm

If the judiciary has the power to review the decisions of the speaker then, the opposition has the right to challenge the suspension of Gobindh Singh by the speaker in the federal court and every other decision by the speaker!

The court has no power to review the decisions of the speaker. The court only has the power to review whether the speaker had acted within the powers bestowed him by the constitution. The federal court can only lift the suspension if they deem that, the state constitution gave no such powers to the Speaker and therefore he had acted unconstitutionally. This is plain and simple.

I wait earnestly now to see the highest court in the Bolehland make a laughingstock of itself.

16. #16 by KennyGan on Tuesday, 14 April 2009 - 11:07 pm

The outcome of all the suits relating to the Perak power grab is a foregone conclusion.

PR will lose all the cases. The Assembly will be convened when the 3 frogs have been cleared to attend and the suspension of the MB and exco members lifted by the court.

With their majority, BN will proceed to elect another speaker. The question now is how can PR counter this?

When the Assembly convenes, Sivarasa is still the speaker. PR must study the powers he still hold and see what can be done.

In the end, it may all be hopeless but the people will punish BN for this illegal power grab and abuse of all democratic institutions to hold on to it at the next general election.