Najib Cabinet not “lean”, may be “mean” – announcement overshadowed by ghost of Altantuya

Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s Cabinet failed to live up to the hype of “lean” though it may be “mean”, setting a dubious Cabinet record of using the “back door of Parliament” to bring into the government the biggest crop of defeated candidates in the previous general election – namely Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon, Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil, Datin Paduka Chew Mei Fun and Datuk Dr. Awang Adek Hussin which does not speak well for the government’s commitment to accountability and democracy.

If Najib wants the Cabinet to be really “lean”, he should have slashed the 32-strong Abdullah Ministers by at least one-third!
All the blurb about downsizing Abdullah’s second 67-strong Cabinet (32 Ministers and 35 Deputy Ministers) has not really borne fruit, as Najib has produced a bigger 68-strong Cabinet with 28 Ministers and 40 Deputy Ministers although there are four Ministers less.

Najib has appointed even more Ministers and Deputy Ministers than Mahathir’s last Cabinet after the 1999 general election, when there were only 27 Ministers and 27 Deputy Ministers, together with 15 Parliamentary Secretaries.

Najib’s unveiling of his Cabinet has set another record, being the worst public relations (PR) disaster in the nation’s history.
Najib’s P.R. advisers should be sacked for it was completely overshadowed by the ghost of murdered Mongolian Altantuya Shaariibuu after the morning’s High Court conviction and death sentence for policemen Chief Inspector Azilah Hadri and Corporal Sirul Azhar Umar for her C4 murder.

The majority of those who watched Najib’s live-telecast announcement of his Cabinet were not interested in his 15-minute statement on KPI (key performance index) for his Ministers, with the Altantuya murder case uppermost in their minds, and all they wanted to know with growing impatience was his new list of Ministers.

Najib’s Cabinet cannot convince Malaysians that the country has a new Ministerial team which can be serious in the three Najib mottos of “1 Malaysia. People First. Performance Now”.

Although Najib does not want to have Ministers with political baggages, there is not only the question as to which member of his Cabinet can claim to be free from baggage, there is the even bigger question as to which Cabinet Minister has more baggage than Najib himself!

Unlike his predecessor, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, Najib failed in his highly-publicised attempt to recruit any prestigious member from the corporate sector to join his Cabinet.

The Cabinet appointment which has evoked the greatest interest is not a Minister but a Deputy Minister – the appointment of Datuk Mukriz Mahathir as Deputy Minister for International Trade and Industry and the conspicuous omission of Khairy Jamaluddin, the Umno Youth leader.

This reinforces public perception that Najib is under thumb of former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad as well as raises the question as to why Khairy, who is publicly accused by Mahathir of being corrupt, could continue as Umno Youth leader when he is not fit to be a member of the Cabinet – just like the question asked by Malaysians how Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam could continue to be Malacca Chief Minister when he was not qualified to contest for Umno deputy president because of his involvement in money-politics corruption!

In Najib’s Cabinet, Sabah is the biggest winner and Sarawak the biggest loser – as Sabah has four Ministers while Sarawak only two. Clearly, Najib does not appreciate the Batang Ai by-election victory of the Barisan Nasional on Tuesday.

1. #1 by puteri pinang on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 6:26 pm

The choice of cabinet candidates may well serve his purpose as they are mostly puppet in nature. A figure head is what the ruling party needs, nothing more.

2. #2 by Godfather on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 6:29 pm

Kit:

We really have to add another minister without portfolio to Najib’s cabinet – the Grand Minister Mamakthir. There is very little doubt now that Najib continues to be under the old man’s thumb. God help Bolehland.

3. #3 by Godfather on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 6:30 pm

cintanegara:

Can you pass a message to your master Najib that I will also stop criticising him and BN if he gives me the post of Minister for Longkang.

4. #4 by monsterball on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 6:35 pm

Me…monsterball….Minster of Tong Sampah…get it..will do same like godfather.
    Got jalan ke…cintenagera?

5. #5 by monsterball on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 6:41 pm

Seriously speaking….Najib sucks!!!
    How can he ever going to say…all those represents Malaysians wishes?
    Loosers in….winners out.
    But then….who else have UMNO got?
    The worst one can think of…is Koh Tsu Khoon in. Why not Samy Vellu? No hope to get Indian votes ah?
    Try luck on Chinese?
    Must be Mamak’s smart idea.

6. #6 by voice on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 6:48 pm

I would call this Mahathir’s cabinet, it does not represent the will of the government to reform.
    And that hishamuddin became our home minister!

7. #7 by cintanegara on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 6:49 pm

LKS…Everything seems against you…. I sometimes wonder if it’s just easier for some people to be negative rather than put effort/work into being happy/changing their life somehow? What are you up to??? Follow the footsteps of your political mentor??

BTW, Godfather is proud and gratitude that he is being offered a post of Environment and Water Resources…

8. #8 by Godfather on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 6:49 pm

monsterball as minister of Tong Sampah, me as minister for Longkang, undergrad2 as minister of entertainment, what happens to Limkamput ?

9. #9 by Godfather on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 6:50 pm

Eh, this cintanegara idiot still doesn’t get it. I don’t want Environment and Water Resources, I want Longkang. Can ah ? And I promise to stop criticism of Najib and BN.

10. #10 by UzMiNoOnist on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 7:11 pm

Hi guys this is the best the one najib can do given the split in bn’s camp.
    One consolation if any is that kera jahat is not given any post.

To me, not putting the other shit head unpopular character botak is something I want to celebrate.

At least we can make something out of nothing to make our day.

11. #11 by Outcasts on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 8:01 pm

I just notice that we have a larger Cabinet than that of US and UK. Cool huh? I think there are at least half a dozen of redundant ministries created just to meet the demand of BN component parties rather than serving the rakyat!

Obama has a headache on how to attract the brightest to join his Cabinet to overcome the current economic crisis. While Naji has a headache on how to slice the pie so that all the BN component parties (especially those in East M’sia) are satisfied to ensure that he can stay firm in power.

Please end this absurdity in the next GE.

12. #12 by Tonberry on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 8:06 pm

eh, i also want to get a minister post. If possible, can give me the post of Minister of Samseng, cintanegara? Can i ? Please tell your boss ya :)

13. #13 by ctc537 on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 8:07 pm

KTK’s lack-lustre performance while he was Penang CM. Can he perform any better as the minister entrusted with this heavy responsibility? Hope he can make the grade this time around. If he continues to be a ‘Kia-Soo-Koon’ he will not deliver like before when he was our CM.

14. #14 by Outcasts on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 8:18 pm

Here are 10 ministries that are redundant (rubbish) or overlapped (can be merged):

Energy, Green Tech and Water; Science Tech and Innovation; Natural Resources and Environment; Agriculture; Agricultural Development and Commodities; Rural Development; Federal Territories; Housing and Local Government; Sports and Youth; Women, Family and Community Development.

15. #15 by vsp on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 8:22 pm

Hey, I too wanted to be a Minister – the Minister of Ampu Bodek! Can ah, cintanegara?

16. #16 by All For The Road on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 8:29 pm

The composition of Najib’s Cabinet is a big disappointment and letdown after all the hype of bringing drastic changes to an administration that is slowing losing credibility and recognition. From the list, it is so obvious that Najib doesn’t have a free hand in selecting his Cabinet ministers. There is clearly an unseen hand that calls the shots!

What is most alarming is the fact those who had lost positions in the party heirarchy elections were given posts while those who had won were not considered at all!. Take the case of KJ who was recently elected UMNO Youth chief and yet not given a cabinet appointment. By tradition and convention of the party, he is down for a cabinet job and yet the defeated Mukhriz was being given recognition as a deputy minister in an important portfolio. At the very onset, Tun M has already given warning that KJ should not be given any government appointment at all costs, win or lose in the party elections. It is a clear case of deliberately sidelining KJ and a big slap in the face for the Youth chief! Where is logic and credibility?

17. #17 by despin on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 8:39 pm

“Najib said the cabinet reflected the government’s aim to focus on people-first paradigm”…Malaysiakini.

What paradigm shift? It is more like crony-first orthodoxy.

18. #18 by ALLAN THAM on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 8:43 pm

The hidden hand at work! This is the beginning of the “Rule behind the SARONG”, the Malaysian version of Rule Behind the Curtain, the famous last emperor of China.

The happiest man off course was the old hat as his son was included.

The biggest loser was KJ, the thorn of the old hat.

So beware; Lang Coming back!!!!

19. #19 by chengho on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 8:57 pm

Cintanegara,
    pls courier to them dvd ( original not pirated ) titled-‘a few grumpy old men’ , Najib cabinet is well balance based on meritocracy and met the expectation of Malaysian . foreign media giving a fantastic report
    the Rakyat waiting for PR shadow cabinet BUT if you are dracula you have no shadow….

20. #20 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 9:03 pm

THE PLAIN TRUTH: This is Mahahthir’s cabinet!

Pakatan Rakyat will now have their work cut out for them becos it’s easier to sink the titanic when 2 old shipwrecks (Najib & Mahathir) are inseparably locked toegther – certainly strange bedfellows…but it’s a time to rejoice at their impending and inevitable downfall.

21. #21 by Godfather on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 9:07 pm

Najib has very little choice in the matter….everyone wants more and nobody will settle for less. MCA wants more senior ministers…Gerakan wants representation at cabinet even though it is finished….Semi Value wants an extra ministerial post. Add to all these the need to satisfy the Sarawakians and the Sabahans, plus the need to satisfy the Mamakthir.

So the aggregate total of ministers and deputy ministers have actually gone up, not down. All the spin about streamlining – that refers to streamlining BN pockets. All the talk about sacrifices sounds really hollow. He kicks out tainted politicians like Azalina and Mike Tyson, but he retains tainted or incompetent politicians like Noh Omar and Koh Tsu Koon. KPI ? The cabinet doesn’t even know what this means.

Najib cabinet meeting expectation of UMNO only, not other Malaysians and certainly not the foreign media. Soon the world will realise that the game of smoke and mirrors goes on in Bolehland.

22. #22 by AhPek on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 9:16 pm

Tell me what has changed Mr. Prime Minister?It is just as shameless as most things you do!

23. #23 by Godfather on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 9:16 pm

chengho says that Mukhriz getting into the cabinet is not a sign of nepotism. Kerismuddin getting the home minister’s portfolio from his cousin is also not nepotism. Mamakthir lobbying for the failed Rais Yatim is also not a sign of favouritism. In short, this clown says that Najib did a most professional job in choosing his cabinet ministers.

Based on meritocracy ? Heck Rais Yatim helped us lose Batu Puteh didn’t he ? Noh Omar was responsible for the squatgate scandal wasn’t he ? Zahid was a staunch supporter of the late Klang emperor Zakaria wasn’t he ?
    Mukhriz lost the UMNO Youth contest didn’t he ?

Do you understand the term meritocracy ?

24. #24 by Godfather on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 9:20 pm

cintanegara and chengho:

You both may not know this, but the rest of us do: someone is grabbing Najib’s b@lls very tightly, and it isn’t Rosie.

25. #25 by puteri pinang on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 9:29 pm

How come we have a keris holder to be the home minister? A keris so highly held and chanted against certain race. Won’t there be chaos to watch out internally?

26. #26 by sotong on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 9:33 pm

If you want real change, BN must in Opposition.

27. #27 by Godfather on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 9:35 pm

How can there be meritocracy when the elected UMNO Youth leader is not given a position, whereas the loser in the election is given one ? If the reason is that the UMNO Youth leader is corrupt, then he should never have been allowed to stand for elections in the first place.

28. #28 by alberttye on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 10:00 pm

The government found out that most of the APs were given to several individuals called the AP kings.

Dr Mahathir had criticised the programme, saying he was unaware it was abused under his 22-year rule.

Was Dr M sleeping when he speaks ?

He has the cheek to say something so ludicrous.

29. #29 by monsterball on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 10:10 pm

cintanegara have convinced so many here….he is so pally with Najib….all are asking him for favours to be ministers….including me.
    If I get the post…..as Tong Sampah minister…I will be forever grateful to him and stop criticizing UMNO.
    Someone grabbing Najib’s balls?
    Who la……cintanegara.
    Limkamput balls must have shrunk out of freight…reading the 4-1 results.
    chengho is a classic example of a childish half past six idiot..produced by Mahathir…now grown up…to serve his master’s son. What loyalty….what show off…..what unbelievable messages. what an idiot he is.

30. #30 by pakualakurau on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 10:13 pm

Najib’s cabinet influent by mahati, that could be few reasons,
    1. To shut the old man’s mounth.
    2. Najib does not want himself to be like what happen to tun abdullah. So he has to compromise.
    3. To please mahati, even if mahati want to criticise the goverment he do criticise his own son, Mu kris.
    4. No body will believe that mahati does not lobby for his son to be appointed as ministry.
    5. What a poor KJ. Hello KJ, get up and fight.

31. #31 by boh-liao on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 10:15 pm

Looks like MMK and RM helped RN to set up his Cabinet.
    MM, of cos, said terima kasih to his papa MMK.
    AAB’s people are kicked away.
    Kaya raya time for people who are linked with NR, RM, and MMK.

32. #32 by Anti Corruption on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 10:34 pm

Anybody wonder why Kerismuddin was moved from Education to Home Minister?

First, he has lost his way on the Eng & Maths issue. Second, as his cousin, NR needs him to tidy up the Altantuya mess and put anyone who opposes it under ISA ‘cos the Botak is not doing a good job. Also, neither Mukhriz nor KJ are suitable to be in the cabinet. Can you imagine a person found guilty of corruption as a minister!!!! And this poor thing KTK using the back door. Frankly, can anyone enlighten me which minister really deserve his/her post based on suitability and capability ?

33. #33 by monsterball on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 10:47 pm

Few grumpy old men we are…said chengho.
    hi idiot!!….Look at the by-election results….4-1
    It looks like young voters trust old grumpy men….no?
    You think you bunch of young fut can convince young voters with your balls carrying tactics??
    Freedom Fighters..have no age limits…..and if you can ever reach my age with purpose in life….you are blessed.
    Seriously……you better not insult senior citizens….especially LKS.
    It’s disgracing your parents.

34. #34 by mendela on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 10:54 pm

Yes, main reason for Najis and Rosie to put Hisapmuddin as Home Minister is to cover their asses!

35. #35 by alberttye on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 10:57 pm

Mukiri is now a deputy minister. It is obvious that Nazib is under the influence of Dr Mahatail.

Another evidence is the exclusion of Kairy which is now Dr M’s No. 1 enemy.

All these point to the likelihood of Pakatan forming the next government comes the next general election.

DAP and PR must be prepared for the day starting from now !

36. #36 by alberttye on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 11:03 pm

Forget about the cabinet.

It is important for DAP and PR to start the organisation at the grassroot level to cement the gain in last year election and build on it to grow further so that in 4 years time, a new PR government will be formed.

Please do not disappoint the people.

Go go DAP

37. #37 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 11:40 pm

Who is this Raja Nong Chik, a full Minister of FTs?

Why is he more powerful than Mukriz who is only a Deputy Minister?

38. #38 by ringthetill on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 11:41 pm

It is time to ring the till again – ker chnnnng.
    May I quote The Star – “Former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad believes his son Datuk Mukhriz will be able to do a good job as Deputy International Trade and Industry Minister”.

He would say that wouldn’t he? Only time would tell and it is for the people to judge.

39. #39 by ringthetill on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 11:43 pm

It is all the same old story – you scrath my back and I scrath yours…….leaving the common people itchy with no one to scrath theirs.

40. #40 by zak_hammaad on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 11:47 pm

I think Pakatan know very well they have a real fight on their hands because as far as the rakyat is concerned, Najib government has thus far played the right notes and beginning to walk the talk.

By brining up unsubstantiated allegations from internet rumour-mills and sounding like a broken record, I think Pakatan is fast running out of ideas to smear the newly formed government :^)

If Pakatan spent even half the time on good governance in the states that it controls, they would have a far better chance of proving their competence and providing a viable alternative to BN. However, we all know that a ‘coalition’ that is built cosmetically and held together by super-glue, can’t be viable and neither can their varying agendas and interests.

41. #41 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 9 April 2009 - 11:48 pm

Khairy has been appointed the Manager of the UMNO Youth Football Team with immediate effect.

His KPI – not to let in as many “goals” as possible. And stay out of everybody’s way, be out of sight. Totally out.

42. #42 by Cinapek on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 12:05 am

Najib claims this Cabinet is selected from “clean and untainted” politicians.

I remembered Mohd Nor’s answer to the media why he secured the second highest number of votes to the recently completed UMNO General Assembly. He said he has 11 agencies under his ministry and so he knows many of the delegates and meets them often (or something to that effect).

Hello, isn’t this abuse of your Govt position for your private party gains? MACC, how do you define this as compared to cows and cars?

43. #43 by passerby on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 12:14 am

cintanegara.

Who wouldn’t be negative after 50 years of discrimination, corruption, abuse of power and nepotism. And now we have a government headed by one having the most baggage and in fact he has now appointed his very own cousin to help him to carry some!

44. #44 by Tonberry on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 12:19 am

Hopefully this batch of cabinet members will continue until next GE..

45. #45 by LG on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 12:33 am

Hi, can anybody advise the number of deputy ministers during Abdullah’s admin. whether 35 or 38 as reported on TV and newspaper.

46. #46 by TTDI_KL on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 12:35 am

What happens to Limkamput? Godfather
    Limkamput has become the Minister of Work and More Work!

Reforms and more reforms

More reforms they talk, the more they stay the same
    It is all just a game

Not an iota from UMNO centric
    Not an inch from goodie

All “isms” are bad – racism, chauvinism, parochialism and fascism
    A summary is called Mamakism

If that chinaman have dignity
    He should not have taken charge of national unity

If other chinamen have nobility
    They should not readily take charge of the periphery

If we care about internal security
    A Sabahan should be in charge of Home Ministry

1 Malaysia how can this be?
    Yes, it can be if we are all donkeys

47. #47 by sheriff singh on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 12:51 am

Its amazing.

Almost half (68/140, excluding the Senators) of the BN MPs are now Ministers or Deputy Ministers.

Who will be able to attend Parliament if they are all busy with their jobs? Maybe Nazri has been roped in to attend all the sessions and to jaga over the premises. Thats what he’s good for.

48. #48 by yhsiew on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 1:01 am

Now Mamakthir’s son has got a deputy minister’s post. It will be interesting to see whether Mamakthir still harps on money politics in UMNO!

49. #49 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 1:03 am

It is quite likely that Dr Mahathir will be appointed as the chairman of a proposed Economic Consultative Commitee, which will be given the political power and status more or less equivalent to a cabinet minister.

It seems that Dr. Mahathir has been betting on the right horse called Najib and Dr. M will be receiving handsome rewards for his son, Mukhriz, and he himself due to the right bet this round.

I wonder whether the good relationship between Najib and Dr. mahathir will last for more than two years from now on since the past experience tells us that it is quite difficult for Dr. M’s past old friends to maintain a long-term friendship with such a fault-finding old man! Is Dr. M going to change and make himself a much easier person to get along for the sake of Najib?

50. #50 by yhsiew on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 1:11 am

A proxy government in the making??!!

51. #51 by cto on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 1:26 am

Godfather Says:

Yesterday at 18: 49.11
    monsterball as minister of Tong Sampah, me as minister for Longkang, undergrad2 as minister of entertainment, what happens to Limkamput ?

——

Kampung Minister aka Minister for Rural Development

52. #52 by cto on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 1:31 am

Godfather Says:

Yesterday at 21: 20.21
    cintanegara and chengho:

You both may not know this, but the rest of us do: someone is grabbing Najib’s b@lls very tightly, and it isn’t Rosie.

——————–

Cintanegara might get it but Chengho wouldn’t have a clue.

53. #53 by sparrow on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 2:14 am

It is a waste of public fund to have such a fat cabinet.

54. #54 by sheriff singh on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 3:13 am

We will be stuck with big government so long as BN rules. They have to make sure all their members are “represented” to keep them all quiet.

Slightly fewer Ministers, big increase in Deputy Ministers. So in the final analysis, its still SAME, SAME. A lot of “Little Napoleons”.

Wonder what is the total annual remuneration and maintenence costs for all of them.

55. #55 by kyototan on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 3:25 am

The MCA rep. remove from the Home affairs? Citizenship or PR problem for the Sabahan & Sarawakian can be resolve faster now.

56. #56 by trublumsian on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 3:56 am

minister of unity and performance management? wtf is that??!

57. #57 by sightseeing on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 4:07 am

…//foreign media giving a fantastic report.//…chengho

Eunuch chengho,

You mean the Altantuya Shaariibuu and Najib connection report in the French Newspaper Liberation?

58. #58 by lcclck on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 4:14 am

dear friends,

Malaysia can send First Muslim to the Space with help of Russinas, why can’t Najib has the guts to appoint a minister like an opposition leader like LKS to manage all the opposition Malaysians??

Insane!!

Many of you may imagine this idea is nutty.

Cool men, just sit back and be wise.

How many people opposed BN??

49% ??

Then why ONLY ALL cabinet ministers for BN, not a single minister for OPPOSITION who had 49% of the votes??

We must look forward for National Democratic election of Ministers!!

Some of the LOSERS in the last 12th GE had been given a post which they do not even get TRUST from their own constituencies!!

So, better for democracy to be spread all over the whole nation.

Agreeable??

However, this cabinet was announced by 6th PM Mohd Najib.

I pray that all the ministers + deputy ministers will be honest, professional to serve ALL, not just their very own interests!!

I hope a post to be created for opposition affair management so that we have less street demos!!

God bless you all.

Warmest regards,

PLCC

59. #59 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 7:12 am

sad, sad, sad!

All the dropouts, failed by the people, can be readmitted into Najip’s school. The BN has back door process to take their cronies into power. Is election still needed? This government totally ignored the voice of the people

60. #60 by gyp on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 7:17 am

Everyone must remember what the tactics the UMNO used in the election campaign. They dared to cantoon the Nizar as communist.

They are no freind to CHINESE and CHINA.

They are only interested to protect their interest.

REMEMBER THAT.

61. #61 by ALLAN THAM on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 7:25 am

He lay down the kris and take up the gun now.

He hopes his son can tackle the AP issue, that was created or no eyes see by himself for the past 22 years. The old is really getting old, one have to accept the fact. Human being is not like wine it rot as age set in.

AP issue is very simple in deed. It just a way of rapping the wealth to feed the crony as simple as that. How to resolve when all those involved still believe in and hiding behind veil of NEP

62. #62 by vsp on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 7:28 am

UMNO can never and will not reform in its present deplorable state. In order for UMNO to reform, it is imperative that they be booted out of power for at least 3 terms, i.e. for 15–20 years without any break. Only through this means can UMNO be truly reformed.

There is is a cancerous spectre that has been bedevilling Malaysia for decades and this disease known as Mahatiritis has made a comeback.

We need a strong and effective vaccine like Pakatan to restore the body Malaysia to pristine health. Malaysia was a healthy bouncy teenager when it was 15 years old but it was attacked by the disease known as Mahathiritis.

63. #63 by monsterball on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 7:32 am

Lucky not lean cabinet. If so…will be very productive and dangerous.
    Being mean is their trade mark….and having a big team in the cabinet ensures…difficult to pin point who is doing a good or lousy job.
    That’s how they always say…give us proofs….preparing themselves with so many red tapes…making government servants love working for UMNO…as not only slow work….but no work done at all…just chatting away….and no one can be caught doing lousy job…..except taking bribes…..and that also let go….close both eyes or charge him/her..depending how useful to UMNO.
    Double standards in race issues…..promotions…and clearly on their own race too.
    So we can say on his own race …..it is triple standards….one for you…two for me….none for that little naughty boy….not listening to UMNO.

64. #64 by Godfather on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 8:05 am

The Grand Minister is now talking as though his son is the Minister of International Trade and Industry, not Mustapha Mohamed.

He wants his son to tackle the AP issue – which in UMNO language means that his son must build up another generation of AP Kings loyal to the Mamakthir, unlike the Fat Lady. Of course we also know that this son must now provide protection to another son who is in the business of importing luxury cars. Protecting their ricebowl – and going after those who want to take away their ricebowl – appears to be the objective of Mamakthir.

65. #65 by Godfather on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 8:10 am

With the Finance Ministry, MITI and the EPU in “friendly” hands, Mamakthir loyalists can now make a comeback and go after concessions and contracts. Watch out for new licences being issued. If I were cintanegara, I would ask Mukhriz for a licence to sell bottled clean air to all government departments.

66. #66 by monsterball on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 8:32 am

Godfather..Remember you apply for Min.of Lonkang & Potholes!!
    Not Lonkang alone. Potholes very important…so said LKS.
    If I am appointed as Tong Sampah minister….I will sapu all the useless headmasters ..teachers… University racialists chancellors and also the useless idiotic professors…replace them with imports from overseas….and clean up the mess …..as correct education is the savior of our country.
    So even Limkamput graduated….not qualified to teach in Malaysia. Maybe Timbuktu…….OK.
    You see…Tong Sampah minister have to do all the dirty jobs…no one wants to do.
    Praise me la…….hahahaahahahahaha

67. #67 by Bigjoe on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 8:35 am

I call it Najib’s 80:20 rule, 80% spin, 20% real. This is what he is good at. The rakyat expect 100 points or more changes but Najib idea is to deliver 20-50 point changes and call it victory.

The most significant appointment is Hishamuddin. Hishamuddin tenure at Education Ministry has been marked by more tolerance for vernacular schools, lots of schools being build, more programs and better teacher pay but systematically it was still the same. He is at best a competent technocrat in tough portfolio. But he is unremarkable. So expect unremarkable changes to ISA, unremarkable changes in crime but less fiasco and disasters like A Kugan etc.

Everything you see is about taking away weapons froms PR and PR need BN’s foolishness to make revolutionary changes. Its still divide and conquer strategy.

Najib is not making anything remarkable but for PR, it also mean problems and challenges if nothing unremarkable bad is available for fodder. Najib’s bet is that if PR does not make progress, they will automatically fall apart…

68. #68 by williamtan on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 8:38 am

Every time I looked at our Prime Minister I can’t help bu think of Captain America. Why? Because just like the comic book superhero, he’s got a Big ‘A’ wrriten all over his forehead!

69. #69 by taiking on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 9:01 am

The umno government always starts with a loud bang and all their projects too. Like the bang, their undertakings and endeavour will last only as long the sound waves from that bang remains within the audible range. We all know why najib had to call upon unelected jokers to join his cabinet. He is desperate. There are simply not enough quarter-decent people in umno whom he could call upon – whether elected or not. Lets be realistic. If najib ever decides to fight corruption in umno in a big way today and there will be no umno tommorrow.

Look no further than the macc and the launch of the commission not too long ago. The record books had not been opened. The commission’s report card was still emply of details then. Come on. It has only been launched then. Already, it was pronounced as a real success. And poor Daniel Li of HK ICAC was roped in for what two cents statement he could make of the macc at that early stage.

Of course typical of all bangs, the sound waves would emanate outwards from the source in expanding circles, Daniel Li’s two cents statement was immediately bloated into a statement which is worthy or millions. Fortunately, only umno members and supporters bought that. And rest of us just say: “Yeah. Yeah. Yeah. Yawn. Yawn. Yawn.”

This is my malaysia. A beautiful country blemished big time by umno.

70. #70 by monsterball on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 9:59 am

How much does it take to employ three expert groups from overseas .. to scrutinize .. interview all the teaching profession people in Malaysia?
    One for primary..another secondary and last for University.
    They must be from overseas…..and not any Malaysians..to give truthful opinions with no favouring anyone….any race.
    I have calculated…..not more than RM10 million per year. All govt. needs is 3 years..and spending 30 million….to get the most accurate information to clean up the mess.
    From there….another group of head hunters….to promote..replace or terminate local teachers…and employ as many overseas teachers to upgrade the quality of teaching.
    Loving to teach and loving to help children become worthy smart Malaysians..are two main qualifications….one must have..besides being so smart to teach and yet is a racialist or applying double standards.
    If Najib is sincere to do one last good deed before he is voted out from office…he should come out with a clear employment letter to all teaching profession career workers…..what to do and what not to do..especially brainwashing tactics…or promoting UMNO i their teaching methods.
    RM60 billions are announced to see Malaysia does not suffer from recession…..yet not one sen is focus to clean up our sickening education system.
    No matter how much UMNO want to prove they are sincere….People’s Power will never believe in them….as brainwashing…race and religion dirty politics are deeply rooted in their art to win votes….as it is in the blood…to be greedy and play dirty.
    Will Najib dare to do the right thing for once?

71. #71 by ekans on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 10:10 am

After GE12, UMNO’s BN was still able to form a federal government with a simple majority in the Parliament, thanks largely to their MPs from the Malaysian Borneo, but why are only five out 28 ministers in this new cabinet from Malaysian Borneo?

And, as everyone else is asking & wondering, why did the Pekan MP appoint to the cabinet a significant number of individuals who weren’t even elected by the people in the last GE?
    Is it a sign from the Pekan MP leadership that the rest of the elected MPs from UMNO’s BN are simply regarded as not good enough?

72. #72 by ekans on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 10:13 am

Sorry. Typing error. The last line in the 1st paragraph of my last post here should read:

‘…but why are only five out of 28 ministers in this new cabinet from the Malaysian Borneo?’

73. #73 by Ramesh Laxman on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 10:19 am

I hope that the new PM will take note that the one sided policies of the past may not be good for the economy but a good and strong economy will certainly help achieve some if not all the objectives of the one sided policies. I have attempted to put it is diplomatically as possible but I hope the new PM gets the drift.

74. #74 by boh-liao on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 10:27 am

MMK is a happy and contented man again because he and his family members have their hands in the cookie jar again (especially the cash-rich and cash-guaranteed AP magic pot). He is happy with NR and sings “Welcome to My World” to NR.

Once again, MMK rejoices in his role as the master puppeteer. His and his family’s lean time, caused by AAB and KJ, is over. He can now stop his constant barrage against AAB and KJ. However, as a fan of Jim Reeves (the one who sang “Welcome to My World” and “He’ll Have to Go”), MMK may unpredictably sing different tunes in the near future.

NR, surrounded by his capable and ambitious wife, trusted relatives like Hisap, friends, and a supportive MMK, who is less likely to run amok as during AAB’s rule, is all ready to rock. Furthermore, two brave and loyal cops are to die for the murder of AS. What a timely sweet closure of this C4 chapter, bringing great happiness to NR and RM. Happy days are here again. Light, sound, action! Rock around the clock!

75. #75 by ekans on Friday, 10 April 2009 - 1:49 pm

Understandably, there’ll be skeptics who doubt PR’s ability to govern.
    But if PR had really done such a bad job, for example, in Perak (before it got ‘kicked out’, that is), the majority of the Bukit Gantang constituents wouldn’t have given another chance to Nizar, the head of the PR state government in Perak, to become their representative in the Parliament.
    However, in the end, the people still did.

76. #76 by monsterball on Saturday, 11 April 2009 - 10:58 am

Lean..certainly not as Naif Ton Raza’s cabinet is the largest.
    Mean….they keep on trying….all sorts of ways…no one is afraid.
    PS: Naif Ton Raza is the new name given by Bernama paper……meaning…”Adorable Good for Nothing” PM.
    But Editor apologize typo mistake.
    I do not believe it. He never work..just play golf.
    That was supposed to be a way by Bernama… expressing love to PM…got backfired!!
    But I like the new name.
    Actually it was Susan Loone new discovery.