Tri-election breaking news

Breaking news : BN winning in Batang Ai

7.50pm Batang Ai OFFICIAL RESULTS

BN’s Malcolm Mussem Lamoh (3,907 votes) has beaten PKR’s Jawah Gerang (2,053). The majority is 1,854.

Update 2
Unofficial results – at 5.50 pm., BN majority in Batang Ai widens to 1,609 votes

Already 21 streams counted out of 25 polling streams.

BN 2901
PKR 1430
Majority 1415

1. #1 by lew1328 on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 6:19 pm

Greetings! Kit

What else can we says… Poor Iban…

Perhaps only with better education able to change their new generation mindset.

DAP must stress on this in the near future.

2. #2 by raven77 on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 6:31 pm

Actually Taib does the right thing….keep them hungry and dumb….how else to kelentong and keep cahaya mata…..Yep the Dayaks are dumb….they would have been better off withe the Brookes…

3. #3 by ShiokGuy on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 6:43 pm

We already know from beginning that Batang Ai will fall into BN’s Hand! Without the indelible INK, BN will win in any election in Sarawak!

http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2009/04/clean-batang-clear-water-riggings-in.html

Now 0-1 (PR-BN)

Shiok Guy

4. #4 by monsterball on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 6:45 pm

Yes…These Malaysians are real dumb.
    Win or loose actually does not make any differences right now…at Batang Ai..a small state seat.
    It is Bukit Gantang…a parliament seat most important.
    But by loosing…at Batang .Ai…it means PR need to work harder for 13th GE…to make them understand real freedom.
    Looking at the big majority for BN…are these people nuts….no brain at all?

5. #5 by ShiokGuy on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 6:48 pm

Dear Kit,

I am from Sarawak and I know how BN does to win! At any cost.. The vast area of Sarawak plus accessibility make it the best State to rig! And Sarawak has how many MP? 30?

Not that Dayak or Iban are stupid. Just that we don’t have information and the life are simple.. and the need of the interior people are also simple…

http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2009/03/sarawak-needs-indelible-ink.html

Shiok Guy

6. #6 by ReformMalaysia on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 7:03 pm

In Sarawak, many ruler are people like Batang Ai are more or less have to vote Barisan Nasional “UNDER DURESS” . Some of the tactic used again and again are giving warning to the Village chiefs that the government would take back this ..stop giving that if thare are ‘seen ‘ to be supporting the opposition parties.. These included grants, generators etc… They would get the village chiefs to openly declaRE THEIR SUPPORT to Barisan Nasional and make sure that their picture and news appear in the newspaper ad TV .

So no doubts they can win easily.. They even provide pocket money for voters to go to vote..

The problem is many of the BN’s candidate are actually become Chief Minister’s representative instead of the People’s representatives. Less vocal candidates are chosen so that they would not ‘ask too much for their constituencies, make too much or noises’. The BN leadership want their representatives to be easy to handle and they only need to show support in the DUN or Parlament for whatever motion passed by their leaders…(no questions asked)

7. #7 by ReformMalaysia on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 7:18 pm

Typo..

In Sarawak, many rural area’s people…..

8. #8 by ReformMalaysia on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 7:22 pm

Vocal Barisan Nasional representatives like Jawah Gerang and Patau Rubis are replaced with ‘yes men’ -those who are easier to handle .

9. #9 by anna brella on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 9:00 pm

Commiseration to the Pakatan Rakyat team on this defeat.

It is bad news for Sarawak and for her still stuck in poverty populace, and really awful news for those overdammed and overlogged rainforests and the many critically endangered trees in them.

Ignorance, apathy and greed are humungous killer mountains to climb, even on their own, so I hope the PR team will not lose heart but will instead step up the ante on this East Malaysian front.

“Imagine Power To The People” John Lennon.

10. #10 by Cinapek on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 10:45 pm

Beware!!! Hell Hath No Fury Equal TWO PMs scorned.

We lifted the ban on two of your publications. We released 13 ISA detainees. We promised to review the ISA. We swap the railway land.We gave millions directly to the Chinese schools. We gave a huge sum to the Tamil schools.We announce the Kugan report to show how fair we are.

What else do you want? We tried the nice and soft approach and you still voted against us . We should have listened to the UMNO fanatics during the last AGM and wielded the big stick instead. I think thats what we will do from now on. What have we got to lose? Damned if we do and damned if we don’t anyway.

11. #11 by distantmalay on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 10:46 pm

the dayaks have not woken yet,
    their needs are too simple to risk rocking their own boat,
    wait till their lands are all taken,

12. #12 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 8 April 2009 - 12:02 am

Hey you guys out there,please don’t jump to conclusion about the mentality of our Sarawakian especially the majority of the Iban voters in Bantan Ai .These voters are pretty smart knowing PKR win could do nothing much for them.Moreover,the state general election is near the conner.They prefer to vote the BN out in the general election,meanwhile giving BN the win to soothe them into believing they{BN} would win easily comes the big war.Losing a tiny battle is nothing for Sarawakian and Sabahan. Well guys,congratulation ,especially YB Lim and YB Anwar in winning the B.Gantang and B selambau or retaining your PR’s seats.Did you guys really relax and enjoy your cup of coffee while waiting for the result. Me and dozens of friends certainly did. I would like to say it’s NR’s first taste of “waterloo” as prime minister.Watch out guys,more and bigger WATERLOOS will fall on NR as he ushers along the battle ground with his power hunger team.

13. #13 by kerishamuddinitis on Wednesday, 8 April 2009 - 1:07 am

Slime Ball is really in trouble now. He’s backed into the interior to steal a win. Based on what MAFREL posted, the win is as slimy as Slime Ball’s slimy smile. Yeah, nothing to do with our Sarawakian brothers and sisters, not when 14 ballot boxes were spirited away from everyone’s sight. What can we say, Slime Ball is SLIMY! But Bukit Gantung is where Slime Ball got hung when the courts could do fart. And Bukit Melampau is just a little too much for Slime Ball to engineer an underhanded win. Happy Ching Ming, Slime Ball.

14. #14 by OrangRojak on Wednesday, 8 April 2009 - 1:24 am

Congratulations. That was quite close in the end. It would be interesting to see the results a level playing field would bring.

15. #15 by taiking on Wednesday, 8 April 2009 - 1:11 pm

Must think of a really good way to crack the Sabah and Sarawak nut. For a start, pakatan must concentrate its fire-power on urban areas. Pakatan’s ideals would appeal more to those who are educated and they are more likely than not to be in cities and towns and not villages.

16. #16 by ekans on Wednesday, 8 April 2009 - 2:27 pm

Pakatan Rakyat should look into forging alliances with Sabah-based and Sarawak-based political parties, if it seriously wants to make any headway into Malaysian Borneo politics…