Mahathir’s coronation as eminence grise in Najib premiership

Many Malaysians must have very mixed thoughts about Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad’s appearance at the Bukit Gantang by-election hustings this morning and in particular at the 90-minute live telecast by TV1 of the entire event.

The first thought is that the Najib premiership has made no real difference with the continued unchecked and blatant abuse of government power and resources for Umno and Barisan Nasional purposes, the shocking lack of integrity in the inability of those in power to make the important distinctions among government, party and self which is the root cause of rampant corruption and abuses of power in a government dominated by Umno hegemony.

How can a government channel, TV1, give a live telecast to what is clearly a by-election campaigning by Umno/Barisan Nasional? TV1 is no different from RTM1, what it was known previously, which I had described as Radio/Television Mahathir in the 22-year Mahathir administration.

However, what must have occurred to many who happened to watch the live telecast was that they were not just watching Mahathir campaigning for Umno/BN in Bukit Gantang by-election after rejoining Umno, but a “coronation” of Mahathir as the eminence grise in the Najib premiership and the formal burial of the Abdullah legacy in Umno and Barisan Nasional!

These events happened quickly within 10 days of Najib taking over as the Umno President from Abdullah.

In his farewell winding-up speech as Umno President on the last day of the recent Umno General Assembly, Abdullah announced that he will see the Yang di Pertuan Agong to submit his resignation as Prime Minister.

On the 5th day, Abdullah had his last Cabinet meeting.

On the 6th day, Abdullah submitted his resignation as Prime Minister to the Yang di Pertuan Agong.

On the 7th day, Datuk Seri Najib Razak was sworn in as the sixth Prime Minister.

On the 8th day, Najib had a two-hour meeting with Mahathir who rejoined Umno.

On the 10th day this morning, Mahathir was “crowned” as the eminence grise of the Najib premiership, marking the return of both Mahathir and Mahathirism, with the former Prime Minister taking his position as the most powerful adviser and decision-maker who operates unofficially!

This morning’s event at Simpang in Bukit Gantang parliamentary constituency also marks the formal burial of whatever there is left of the Abdullah legacy in Umno and Barisan Nasional!

This was why Mahathir’s “coronation” as the eminence grise of the Najib premiership was given such importance, not only telecast live for 90 minutes, but attended by heavy-weight Cabinet Ministers, including the Deputy Prime Minister-in-waiting, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, and Najib’s right-hand man, Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi who scored the highest votes as Umno Vice President in the recent Umno party elections.

With Zahid standing next to Mahathir on the stage throughout Mahathir’s speech, leading the applause and clappings, who would have believed that it was none other than Zahid who had led the revolt against Mahathir a decade ago in the June 1998 Umno Youth General Assembly where Zahid used his position as Umno Youth leader to denounce Mahathir for KKN – corruption, cronyism and nepotism.

This shook up Mahathir as the KKN slogan had caused the downfall of President Suharto of Indonesia and the emergence of Indonesia reformasi.

Zahid’s denunciation of KKN was seen as an attempt to use the slogan to trigger the toppling of Mahathir as Prime Minister – which led to the sacking from office and persecution of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, the kangaroo trials and subsequent incarceration in Sungei Buloh Prison.

Zahid was detained for a week under the Internal Security Act but was completely “turned over” to become today one of the high priests for the return of Mahathirism in Malaysian government and politics.

Sad and pathetic that the Abdullah memory and legacy have been so summarily kicked aside for the “coronation” marking the triumphant return of Mahathir and Mahathirism in ten days of Najib premiership.

1. #1 by OrangRojak on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 3:21 pm

Blimey the things you learn at LKS blog. That French phrase ‘Éminence grise’ is a powerful advisor or decision-maker who operates secretly or unofficially. This phrase originally referred to François Leclerc du Tremblay, the right-hand man of Cardinal Richelieu.

Without the Internet, how would I keep up with Lim Kit Siang?

2. #2 by k1980 on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 3:34 pm

François Leclerc du Tremblay and Cardinal Richelieu? More like Caesare Borgia and Comrade Duch.

3. #3 by cintanegara on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 3:49 pm

Rest assured that there will be no mentor minister, senor minister, senior advisor, super advisor etc in the present and ‘to be’ cabinet. No father & son pair up for MP positions….No one is building a dynasty by promoting his own son ….Umno is not a power-crazy party like DAP…..

4. #4 by cintanegara on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 3:54 pm

TDM’s legacy is the role model he has created. A role model of strong, religious, modern, dynamic leadership crucial for peace and prosperity….Long Live the National Hero….

5. #5 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 4:24 pm

/// cintanegara Says:
    Today at 15: 49.30 (28 minutes ago)
    Rest assured that there will be no mentor minister ///

Yes, you are right of course cinta. There wasn’t a mentor minister during AAB’s administration. But there was a Minister Tormentor – an ex-ex-PM who kept tormenting the poor ex-PM.

BTW, it should be Minister Mentor and not the other way round.

Again cinta, don’t forget about your obsession with the little red dot for this obsession again. At least the politicians down there are upfront and official about it. Minister Mentor is part of the SG cabinet. OTOH, we have an eminence grise who has no official role, but more powerful than the PM.

6. #6 by voice on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 4:34 pm

YB Kit, there’s another issue happening at Bukit Selambau’s poll, the election commision is printing the ballot sheets in an un-usual way, they removed the candidate number which I see the PKR is using the number in the posters, sure a lot of older people will get confused with this trick from EC when they vote, and I see they are printing the BN’s box on the absolute middle of the sheet, if you see the photograph in the chinese version of Malaysiakini, can PR do anything before tomorrow?
    This is important

7. #7 by voice on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 4:37 pm

Just ignore cintanegara, he’s a fool from umno, or mca?
    We have to admit the reality that in science there’s one thing called IQ, and we DO have quite a number of low intelligence/IQ people here in Malaysia.

8. #8 by taiking on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 4:41 pm

You umno’s cybertroppers here are a bunch of stupid people. You people are sent here for a purpose which must be to convert our views from anti to pro-umno. You idiots cant possibly achieve that by agitation and condemnation. Stupid. For a start why dont you fellas try to see our point of view and work your minds and your comments consistently along our line of thoughts. But be careful there. You might just get converted from pro to anti umno. Dont tell me I didnt warn you. You are welcome anyway. Its good to have some real umno people (albeit with a nickname) to hammer and kick about.

9. #9 by monsterball on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 4:43 pm

How else can you expect UMNO to keep brainwashing…..keep playing dirty and succeed…..if they do not have TV ad newspapers keep churning out news to make sure your brain is under their control?
    Remember how a magician picks up an audience…hypnotizes him/her to do what he wishes?
    It the same idea. That’s why so many Malays are half past sixes…as we all know. Mahathir is smart enough to say many Malays are half past sixes….first …so that..no one will accuses him…producing half past sixes in his 22 years as PM.
    That’s the genius of Mahathir we all know.
    But now….minds are much stronger…and once there is no trust on the magician….he cannot hypnotize any unwilling person.
    That’s why…..listening to both sides….we voted for stronger oppositions in 12th election.
    And after that…UMNO have been not working…because they are desperate to win big on 13th GE…and they must win the 3 by-elections….as 2 powerful ones…lost to PR.
    But is UMNO playing fair?
    Is UMNO sincere?
    Najib said…”Please trust me” sums up all. A person.. who knows at the back of his mind… that he cannot be trusted usually ask people to trust him.

10. #10 by voice on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 4:43 pm

And YB Kit, not only TV1, they are also openly threatening the chinese community at Kampung Baru Simpang, Taiping, they announced RM1.8million to be channeled to SRJK Sin Min, but only RM1million given to the school yesterday and according to that muhidin, the remaining fund will only be released IF and ONLY IF bn/umno win the by-election, this is reported in the mandarin news in TV1 last night and it is clearly PERAS UGUT! nobody noticed it?
    The Ministry of Education is a tool of umno in election campaign now, ong tee keat and wee ka siong are stupid enough.
    And where’s MACC??

11. #11 by ReformMalaysia on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 5:01 pm

Another example of abuse of power -Mahathir ‘s campaign on TV1…. They don’t even live-telecast the Malaysia Grand Prix (Formula 1 ) last Sunday….. but Mahathir’s speech live-tele-casted?

During Mahathir’e Era, he promised Sabah’s people that the chief minister’s post would be rotated- to attract non-Malay voters(so some frogs jumped ship from PBS, to be BN allied.) After UMNO root has grown ,SABAH they stopped the rotation and reserved the CM post for UMNO……See-how honest is Mahathir? The Sabah people was “KELENTONG’ed by Mahathir. If he was really sincere that time, he could have offered the Prime Minister’s post to be ROTATED among the Chinese, Indian, Kadazan and Iban instead of exclusively reserved for the Malay…

12. #12 by jt84 on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 5:06 pm

04.07.09 will a be a day to vote “4” “7” principles:

1. Vote for righteousness & justice.
    2. Vote for democracy & human rights.
    3. Vote for our future & economy.
    4. Vote against oppressive dictartorship.
    5. Vote against corrupt practices.
    6. Vote against arrogant leaders.
    7. Vote to defend the Federal Constituition!

Choose wisely!

Below are some videos of the campaign methods employed by BN and PR. By judging on the videos, what kind of leaders do you prefer to lead Malaysia?

BARISAN NASIONAL CAMPAIGN

PAKATAN RAKYAT CAMPAIGN

13. #14 by yhsiew on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 5:12 pm

There is a real danger that Najis will become Tun M puppet, especially the latter promised that he could be Najis unofficial advisor!

14. #15 by helpless on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 5:24 pm

Remember the the rules of “Correct, correct, correct “, ” look like me but not me”

15. #16 by cintanegara on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 5:27 pm

Voice, AhPek,

If you disagree with someone…… on some aspects….please do not resort to name calling or personal attacks…..Personal attacks will not help you make a solid point to justify your views…..Now we know who does have a low IQ…..furthermore the ideas you generate is a very important to increase your creativity and intelligence…. despite our differences, I have a high regard for Ekans and Onlooker Politics who posted their ideas in a respectable manner…..

16. #17 by boh-liao on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 5:51 pm

As usual, MMK displays his ‘no principle’ trait to the fullest.

He used to condemn NR and the recent illegal take over of Perak engineered by NR.

But today, everything about NR is good. Zombie is OK and the rightful MB of Perak.

Here is a guy that still peddles his yesterday-not-OK but today-OK lies. The only constant about MMK is his usual changing unprincipled behavior!

17. #18 by ekans on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 6:02 pm

On 6th April 2009 at 17:27.04, cintanegara said:

… despite our differences, I have a high regard for Ekans and Onlooker Politics who posted their ideas in a respectable manner…..

cintanegara,
    Thanks for the kind words. I just try my best to practise ‘netiquette’. After all, I don’t pay or get paid to post my comments here as I believe that this is a good place to exercise my right to freedom of speech in (what’s left of) this nation’s democracy, whether you believe me or not. If we’re fated to agree to disagree, so be it.

18. #19 by sheriff singh on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 6:03 pm

Mahathir had, in the past, called Najib a “weak” leader, unable to make decisve decisions or to take action. That’s why Najib was so subservient to Pak Lah.

Now as PM, he remains weak, and is fast coming under the thumb of Mahathir and Rosmah. Dare Najib be his own man, to stand on his own?

Frightening it is for Malaysia as Najib the PM is now “Pesuruh Mahathir”. Good boy, Najib, good boy. Now go fetch.

19. #20 by sheriff singh on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 6:22 pm

Senior Minister? No, no, Mahathir says, he won’t accept.

Maybe Senior Prime Minister. Yes, that about right.

The people are not stupid. They know where the real power is. Gawd! Those people in Proton must be shaking.

20. #21 by OCSunny on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 6:24 pm

ReformMalaysia should also remember that about 30 years ago, the ratio of Kadazan, Malays and Chinese was 40:40:20. It has changed over the years and (correct me if I am wrong) it is now 55:33:12. So the balance of political power is in favour of UMNO and they will forever control the State of Sabah. The combination of Kadazan and Chinese is no longer a force to be reckon.

Ask the Sabahans, they can tell you how that came about. The Kadazan and the Chinese have themselves to blame. Do you think this situation came about naturally?? PBS leaders especially Pairin eventually also succumbed to the UNNO pressure!!! A lot of Indonesians/Fillipinos have become Malaysians!?!?! That seems to be the logical answer to the unexpected boom in the Sabah’s population!!

21. #22 by ekans on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 6:25 pm

How can a government channel, TV1, give a live telecast to what is clearly a by-election campaigning by Umno/Barisan Nasional? TV1 is no different from RTM1, what it was known previously, which I had described as Radio/Television Mahathir in the 22-year Mahathir administration.

It’s no surprise that UMNO’s BN has been using the mass media resources of the federal government, of which it has already controlled for decades, to its advantage, especially when it comes to elections.
    During UMNO’s AGM, not only did TV1 give a live coverage; that privately TV station, TV3, also broadcasted the same thing simultaneously.
    As for newspapers, NST devoted somewhere between a third to half of its pages each day to news on the UMNO AGM.
    So, it’s no surprise that the government approved & licensed mainstream media like TV1, TV3 and NST would give more positive coverage on UMNO’s BN while accentuating the negative about PR.

22. #23 by monsterball on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 6:59 pm

cintanegara is trying new art…that is…if you cannot beat them….be nice to them.
    He has been attacking and insulting…now advise “voice” and “Ah Pek”..to have high IQ like “ekans”
    Ghost month is making ghost riders…..say nice things.

23. #24 by ctc537 on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 7:09 pm

cintanegara,

How do you know what TDM is up to and Umno not a power-crazy party? The ultimate goal of any political party is to gain the mandate to rule.. UMNO is the same. See how the political game in Perak being played out. Remember how TDM scoffed at LKS’s Projects Tanjung? His moment came, with the help of DSAI. So never look down on LKS, my CM LGE, or any politician for that matter. Agree, cintanegara, chengho, etc?

He is not an ideal adviser since he is of advanced age and anything can happen. How will PM Najib pick up the pieces should TDM mess up things for UMNO and BN again? There will be trouble if he can’t have his way as can be seen from how he scolded Pak Lah? The world and Malaysia of today is so different from the 80s and having TDM as adviser may not be a wise decision.
    TDM’ reminder to the Malays that they would lose their political power to the non-Malays if they re not united is very irresponsible and unbecoming of a person who’s a former PM. Although they were used to garner votes for his son in UMNO elections, a good and formidable politician does not need to resort to such cheap political capital to win. Isn’t TDM aware how much the Malay population has increased since his “Malay Dilemma’ days? A Chinese politician cannot become PM without the backing of sufficient number of Malay MPs. The only way we can do is to throw our support behind a more moderate Malay leadership. UMNO and BN would naturally lose Chinese support if they are perceived as more racist than other Malay-based political parties.

24. #25 by HJ Angus on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 7:27 pm

No need for any official post, lah.
    With all the bowing and scraping and grovelling one by the top leaders, he does not need any official status.
    It only shows the lack of leadership in UMNO.

25. #26 by wanderer on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 7:40 pm

AhPek, you hit the nail on the head! hahaha
    Cintanegara, go and suck more marbles with your IQ…at least, be more selective, choose the younger ones not an old f#rt!

26. #27 by chengho on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 7:52 pm

Tun M is my man. A visionary leader loves by all Malaysian. Is it true what i heard a grumble old man, Tunku Aziz will be made senator rep for Penang?? I do not think Tunku Aziz, is as strong as uncle monsterball, who is 70 yrs old guy, puffing 7 cigars / day ( Cohiba or some cigar from Shahidan kassim garden ? ). You see guy, DAP always has double standard for the old guy.

For the Malay bigot like Nizar, can some one gives him a book titled ‘ Recount’ , a true account of USA Presidential election year 2000.

With the leadership of Najib, OTK will be our choice as a leader and LGE “the reason of voice” from Pakatan should join hand with OTK , do it for the country.

27. #28 by ALLAN THAM on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 8:27 pm

Once he criticism that the Perak Coup was illegal now the old balls telling the Bk Ganatang that he has forgotten that he has say so and the government is belong to BN. So can you trust this old balls, who can twist and turn his words. Yes folks you can just ignore what he say, this old balls is very smart indeed and he can achieve what he wanted by just using his eyes and twist with his usual scarcity smile, then you are finish. the old balls is the most danger man now.

28. #29 by bennylohstocks on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 9:26 pm

29. #30 by chiakchua on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 9:33 pm

TDM had his 22 years in office as PM. He was the one who had made Malaysia in such a chaos in inter-racial relationship. He was the one who charted the ‘divide and rule’ strategy so that UMNO will forever rule the country with iron fist. How can we trust him anymore?

Malaysia had developed during his tenure, so what? Neighboring countries are also developing. Please don’t forget we are developing with very high cost because some chunk of the fund went somewhere. We could be enjoying better health services and many other social benefits if the country’s vast wealth had been spent wisely.

30. #31 by alberttye on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 9:46 pm

Mahatail will be the Umno emperor dowager, ruling from behind the curtain, reducing Nazib to a mere puppet !

This is part 1 of the new interesting story in Umno politics.

Guess what will become of Mahatail and Nazib ? In no time, they will become enemy for sure.

Mahatail can never work with anybody! You have to listen to him or like what George Bush said, either you are with him or against him !

31. #32 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 10:17 pm

Thinking of an appropriate description for MM’s return to UMNo’s fold, I thought of “The ****** has returned to his vomit”.

I think both Najib and MM both share the same cesspool politics.

If Malaysians vote for BN in the 2 bukits and 1 batang, then Malaysia is certainly and irredeemably doomed! However, I think PKR should win handsomely as MM is nothing but an ancient relic and has-been. Any objective man-on-the-bus or train will tell you MM and Najib are hated persons today. So MM will not be able to swing votes atr all. All that drama and live telecast is merely BN planting their cabal for propagandeering. Plain and simple.

32. #33 by Godfather on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 10:30 pm

cintanegara and eunuch chengho: Do you know why Allah keeps Mamakthir alive for so long ? So that the old Mamakthir can see with his own eyes the mess he has created for Bolehland.

Do you know that Allah will keep Mamakthir alive till after 2013 ? That’s the day of reckoning for Bolehland, when UMNO becomes an Opposition party. Then Mamakthir will have time to write his memoirs where he will (as usual) blame Bodohwi and Najis and their corruption for causing the collapse of Barang Naik coalition.

33. #34 by fairvoice on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 10:34 pm

cintanegara, whatever it is, tomorrow night some bigtimer kutty is going to have shock and h……… a.. and going for good at last. No more messing around with any party. God has enough of all his nonsence and everthing has to come to an end one day and tomorrow is the perfect day. Big celebration is expected from all rayaat except u ofcourse.Ha …ha …heee

34. #35 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 10:34 pm

This is going to be a bombshell for MM and Najib when BN loses the 3 by-elections and lose it by a mile. It will show that the Malaysian population is sick and disgusted with them and their immoraklityy and gutter politics. It will be the final nails in their political coffins.

35. #36 by merdekablog on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 10:41 pm

36. #37 by mpsoong on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 10:56 pm

YBLim, If Mahathir has the strength, he would have carried Najib to the throne just like what Empress Dowager had done a few centuries ago. Anyway, Mahathir has request to be the ‘unofficial advisor’ of Najib Administration, meaning he would replace Khairy Jamalludin on the 4th Floor of Seri Perdana. The unseen hand behind all that is going to happen will be coming from Mahathir and sons and they would be called the fourth floor ‘old man’ and defeated ‘boys of UMNO Youth’.

37. #38 by gyp on Monday, 6 April 2009 - 11:19 pm

In USA or UK, both of men already lock up in Jail for their crimes of corruption.

They are highly corrupted, cheated and robbed millions people money with political power.

38. #39 by MyPeoplePower on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 12:26 am

Kepada Penyokong Pakatan Rakyat,

Sila pesan pengundi-pengundi di Bukit Gantang/Bukit Selambau/Batang Ai yang kamu kenal keluar mengundi seawal-awalnya untuk mengelakkan ‘Pengundi Hantu’ mengambil alih undi mereka.

Dan ramalan cuaca meramalkan hujan akan turun di Bukit Gantang/Bukit Selambau dari pukul 12tengahari hingga petang.

Polis Trafik juga akan membuat RoadBlock di banyak tempat dan ini akan menyebabkan jalanraya sesak dan pengundi mungkin terkurung dalam traffic jam dan tak dapat sampai ke tempat mengundi dalam masa.

Jadi, sila pesan pengundi-pengundi supaya keluar mengundi di sessi pagi.

Terima Kasih.

———————————–

Dear All Pakatan Rakyat Supporters,

Pls request all the voters in Bukit Gantang/Bukit Selambau/Batang Ai that you know to go to cast their vote earlier to avoid ‘Pengundi Hantu’ taken their place.

Besides, the wheather forecast show there will be rainy day in Bukit Gantang and Bukit Selambau from afternoon onwards.

Furthermore, the Police will imposed Roadblock on many main roads and this may cause voters caught in the traffic jam and unable to reach the polling station on time.
    Therefore, pls tell the voters to cast their vote in the morning session.

Thank You.

39. #40 by cazz on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 12:38 am

Mahathir will tear UMNO apart.
    Najib will be the most painful PM ever, but I will not pity him a single bit.
    Muhyiddin will get to reap tertius gaudens benefit though, but that will be nearing the end of UMNO.

40. #41 by splim on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 12:41 am

Eminence grise? I’m not as refined as Uncle Lim. The words that come to my mind, ‘Empress Dowager’.

41. #42 by monsterball on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 1:00 am

Yip yip Godfather!
    One is kept alive and living like a vegetable….kept being alive with expensive drugs and medicines ….only super duper rich can afford. Expert in acting to hide all pains and aches..for the love of living unnaturally….under so much pain and sufferings is not human at all…..simply totally selfish and will not let go.
    Just like those past Emperors of China…many are zombies.
    There is also the power of the devil reincarnated into his body…to use him for all sins. Strange enough… the power of the everlasting truths over lies will also keep alive…..let all witness \TRUTHS\ When the last of his evil deeds…is done..closing his eyes…knowing his did not succeed with his evil deeds at all……will go off…with an unhappy…unwillingness…mentality…with eyes wide open.
    One needs to go ..one must go.
    So lets hope he have a long long life to do the devil’s work…….before his adopted son receives all the power from the Lord of all evils…Lucifer.
    Religions and faiths followers….believing in the \way of life\.. living conditions are very strong amongst Malaysians.
    The devil’s influences is getting weaker and weaker.
    He can smile and pretend to be very happy.. as much as he likes.
    We will keep seeing the signs with his speeches…how the devil try to control minds and bodies….focusing on his own race…making them….half past sixes.

42. #43 by computation on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 1:05 am

“One is kept alive and living like a vegetable….kept being alive with expensive drugs and medicines ….only super duper rich can afford. Expert in acting to hide all pains and aches..for the love of living unnaturally….under so much pain and sufferings is not human at all…..simply totally selfish and will not let go.”

monsterball

erm who is being kept alive with drugs?
    i really don’t know who you mean here…

43. #44 by sjchange on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 1:20 am

New release, Horror Movies!
    Malaysia production is on screen now.
    Rejoin Of Vampire With Werewolves.
    Lose/Save Face of Dr. Mad.
    Immortal Evil Spirit.

44. #45 by ekans on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 1:40 am

chengho said on 6th April 2009 at 19:52.47 :
    Tun M is my man. A visionary leader loves by all Malaysian.

Well, the former Kubang Pasu MP, of whom is still being hero-worshipped by certain quarters, wasn’t exactly loved by Bapa Malaysia himself, the late Tunku Abdul Rahman. The Tunku wrote in one of his books that this doctor, other than asking him to resign from the post of PM after 13th May 1969, had also angered the Tunku by suggesting the replacement of the constitutional monarchy with the republic system of government, leading to the doctor’s expulsion from UMNO. One wonders how could this doctor’s actions at that time be regarded as visionary and heroic…

For the Malay bigot like Nizar, can some one gives him a book titled ‘ Recount’ , a true account of USA Presidential election year 2000.

The people from UMNO’s BN who label Nizar as ‘bigot’, ‘stooge’, ‘traitor’, etc. should also bring themselves up to speed about a true account of the 2008 US presidential election, where a Republican supporter on TV told John McCain that his politicial opponent, Barack Obama, is an Arab, and John McCain responded by telling his supporters that’s not true because Obama is an American.
    So, in Malaysia, are our politicians on either side of the political divide able to always display such maturity while on the campaign trail?

With the leadership of Najib, OTK will be our choice as a leader and LGE “the reason of voice” from Pakatan should join hand with OTK , do it for the country.

The question is whether UMNO’s BN federal government is willing to leave behind the political differences at the elections, and after the elections are over, work with the PR-governed states for the sake of the country…

45. #46 by monsterball on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 2:05 am

Computation…..for 3000 years certain herbs have kept Emperors in China..to live longer than usual.
    Now with advanced modern drugs….not easily available to many people…because thy are so expensive.
    No need to give details….go and do some research and you will know.

46. #47 by monsterball on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 3:01 am

cintanegara….Once and for all…get this very very clear.
    Lim Kit Siang is not power crazy…nor is he applying nepotism in DAP.
    The problem with DAP…is .there is no one as brave as LKS and Junior
    Closest to them..is Karpal Singh. That’s why he is Chairman.
    And new hopes for more.with Aziz speaking out bravely.
    You are very ungrateful or damn stupid.
    Without LKS exposing all the corruptions and was arrested few times.. under ISA..jailed for few years….for the love of Malaysians like you…and the country….you are still so ungrateful?
    Malaysian government is worst than Myanmar….yet your eyes are blind. The only factor tht keeps us apart to be like Myanmar is that….Malaysia is a rich country. Just because you are not reduced to poverty status…you totally ignore the actions..and signs.
    Vast majority Malaysians are brave and righteous…….but all cannot be as brave as LKS..LEG and Karpal. That’s why…we admire and respect their great sacrifices for us. …go to jail for it….not easy tio be like that. These are true Freedom Fighters.
    Strange….all love to see movies…good overcome evil…..yet some support evil in Malaysia.
    You may say…..that’s how DAP got support…by going to jail.
    You are so right…if you think like that.
    But if DAP is not saying and doing things sincerely and truthfully…no matter how many times they go to jail…no one cares.
    But the more the are being ill treated by UMNO…..the stronger DAP becomes.
    For goodness sake…do not downgrade..insult nor spread false interpretations of DAP and LKS.
    Penang voters are no bloody fools.
    Malaysian Chinese in MCA and Gerakan are so bloody hypocritical and selfish…there is not enough words to describe anyone who will sell their souls …..dignity for money…..and easy living……at the expense of their own race suffering …reduced to be second class citizens…approved by them. What scums on earth will do what MCA and Gerakan are doing to their own race?
    Previously…understood.
    Now..Space Age…..still race and religion politics………..divide and rule?
    I guess..if UMNO can create so many Malays to be …half pass sixes….it’s OK for MCA and Gerakan too.
    I really hope you can get away from the Dark Side…and see the Light….with the FORCE!!

47. #48 by monsterball on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 3:32 am

I forgot Gobind who is as brave as father…Karpal.
    Now you have few good reasons to say DAP applies nepotism……because Gobind is destined to be important in DAP.
    What a blind and ungrateful idiot you are…..cintanegara.

48. #49 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 3:43 am

TDM a role model of strong,religious,moderm,dynamic leadership crucial for peace and prosperity says someone,obviously a fan.I like to defer his opinion.TDM provided a strong,yes strong unmoputras’ creed for wealth .For 22 years,he exploited his own race through smart manipulation of Islam and ketuanan malayu for his own ,unmoputras and warlords benefits only. Sure he built a the fancy twice towers,the fantastic putra jaya,highways and airport,F1 formula race track etc etc but who benefited most ?.Again what modernity this guy is talking,when thousands of poor malays in Kg Baru for instance still live in shanty crowded houses with less than RM1000.00 income per household on average.Many are jobless,drug addicts and small time thieves.Modernity is not about only high rise buildings,mega airport,highways and mono rail but more on the quality of the literacy of the rakyat,the good income and high standard of living of the rakyat and the unity and harmony of the various races particularly in our country.For more than two decades,TDM may have succeeded providing the infra-structure but failed badly in delivering the social ,health and mentality of the rakyat,hence I say he didn’t show a dynamic leadership crucial for peace and prosperity as claimed by cintanegara.

49. #50 by clearwater on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 5:40 am

frankyapp,

You said it. TDM spent the people’s money on visible edifices to gain glory and buy a legacy for himself. He destroyed much much more, however, such the institutions which provided oversight and check and balance in government. He, in effect, bought spanking new hardware with the nation’s wealth but allowed viruses and worms to infect the software to meet his own purposes. Of course, software is not so visible and many cannot see the damage caused until someday the computer malfunctions. This old man has no remorse. He sees himself as visionary when he is in reality blindly destructive. His era should be buried and forgotten. We need to move forward as a nation.

50. #51 by sotong on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 6:43 am

Let him speak but not write………the last time he wrote a book, he was made PM.

51. #52 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 6:44 am

Beware of the real eminence grise who wields power secretly behind the throne without publicity of being “crowned”. :)

52. #53 by sotong on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 7:07 am

This guy, many others like him, is a big risk taker…….in good time is OK but in current global crisis and recession, our country and her ordinary people will pay a heavy price for bad decisions and mistakes….with the same mistakes made in the past, or half of it, we will not survive.

53. #54 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 7:32 am

In general an ‘eminence grise’ (EG) to a leader (L) is (by definition) always behind the scenes. EG either has complete confidence and trust of L, nurtured over the years or has something to hold over L for the latter to do EG’s bidding.

An EG must know L’s strength and weakness intimately.

EG plots rise of L’s political career. It does not comprise of just giving L correct advice – and direction – of what to do at crucial moment when everything hangs on the balance.

It includes conceiving deals and secret plots to displace those on top and neutralising threats of rivals either at same level or below in relation to L’s position.

EG must have this uncanny ability to sum up, respond and capitalise on changes in situation and equation as they affect L, and advise and influence correctly L on what next to do in the face of every challenge that unfolds, and how to anticipate, pre-empt and remove every conceivable obstacle or threat along the way impeding the progress of L’s climb to the top, well ahead before that obstacle and threat actually crystalises….

Most important, EG is always low profile, plotting and counselling (cajoling, sometimes even arm twisting) L mostly behind the scenes, wielding tremendous power by ability to influence on L’s decisions and course of actions.

And yet EG neither holds any formal or official position nor can EG take credit for L’s achievements or account for any wrong missteps of L!

Any benefit to which EG is entitled for playing such a crucial role to promote L’s career and ascendency is always private (a kind of accounts settled) between EG and L only to which L’s other closest associates are not privy and have no details of.

An EG is better low profile confidante than publicly identified & crowned.

Otherwise two things can happen: (1) rivals may target and neutralise EG to bring L down or (2) flatterers, collaborators and patrons will seek out and deal direct with EG, undercutting authority and influence of L and hence driving a wedge in the otherwise relationship of trust and confidence subsisting and which must subsist between EG and L.

So who is real EG???? Sometimes a person playing EG role may also have others playing an EG role to him or her.

54. #55 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 8:08 am

The imminent demise of eminence grise…

But then again, this would be a liberation, a remission of sentence as speculated by Godfather below.

/// Godfather Says:
    Yesterday at 22: 30.52
    cintanegara and eunuch chengho: Do you know why Allah keeps Mamakthir alive for so long ? So that the old Mamakthir can see with his own eyes the mess he has created for Bolehland. ///

55. #56 by monsterball on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 8:29 am

Computation….Did you read about Emperors have 1000 concubines … wine …women and song are all that they know?
    How did they get the energy and strength.?
    Magic word…strengthen the blood system…ying yang…metabolism.
    Old rich buggers can do that in modern days by consuming very every expensive herbs costing thousands of Ringgit everyday!
    Do you know….all excellent medicine are made from pure herbs…..flowers and plants…roots….certain bird saliva…lizards..cockroaches?
    You maybe confused by the discovery of penicillin..that save millions of people everyday.
    Middle class now knows..antibiotics saves all.
    But we are saying..how to live much longer…and that Computations…is what the devil is consuming everyday….which with all his savings on accumulated income…..not possible. Must have hundreds of millions….spend like no body business……….to live…cannot enjoy……..cannot eat normal food.
    Once he stops…..he is dead.
    That’s a zombie.

56. #57 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 8:30 am

I wonder who is the PM now, Tun M or Najis?

57. #58 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 8:40 am

The return of the TROUBLE-MAKER!

58. #59 by wesuffer on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 8:49 am

this old man, quit party but no one MP to follow him quit.
    son also lose in umno election.
    now want to act like most powerful man ?
    he skin thicker than rhino skin

59. #60 by ctc537 on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 9:04 am

yhsiew Says:
    I wonder who is the PM now, Tun M or Najis?

It’ only a matter of time before TDM showing his true colours for all to see.

60. #61 by taiking on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 9:20 am

The union of mahathir, najib, muyidin and zahid is uneasy one. The cowboy from the wild wild west shoots from the waist and fires in all directions.

61. #62 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 9:45 am

The truth is Dr.M cannot win new votes. His main contribution is that he does not divide UMNO. If you listen to his speech, he offers nothing to those looking for change and moving forward.

In that sense, Dr. M is dangerous because its about resistance to change – the wanting for old ways that worked for them and thoses who want their turn to feed off the old ways. That is a powerful sentiment with many. The truth is most people are afraid of change and adapting to change is painful for everyone.

He may represent the past but the past is a powerful thing with Malaysian. It can’t go far but it will drag all of us down until those who want it realise the weight is just not worth carrying and are willing to cast it aside.

62. #63 by penang308 on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 11:48 am

Why Mahathir comes back at the age of 84?

Shouldn’t he be spending his time with his grandchildren and enjoy his “long deserving PEACEFUL life”?

There must be something in his MIND that he cannot “LET GO” of!

The only thing I can think of (in his mind) is the word “FEARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR”, that’s right “FEAR”!

With all the “WEALTH” he have, what is there to “FEAR” of?

The answer is:
    (1) DS ANWAR IBRAHIM – for what he has done to him and ;
    (2) his Son (“Mukhriz) – Mahathir has to come back to help his son to win back the support of UMNO’s old guard for his son, he his worry that KJ might take the opportunity to finish off his son since Mukhriz now don’t hold any position in the youth wing.

What a selfish person Mahathir is!

63. #64 by computation on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 11:55 am

monsterball

i finally understand what you mean after your long
    explanation. heh heh heh
    :D

64. #65 by ctc537 on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 2:43 pm

Despite of what has been written by all, all Malaysians irrespective of race (I believe) would like to see a changed TDM using the remaining years of his life to right the wrongs in our country – racist politics, Bumi-non-Bumi divide, unequal treatment of the races, etc, etc…. We also would like to see a changed Najib, a changed KJ, so that all the people can look forward to a bright future. The changed and ultra rational DSAI and the ever rational LKS, LGE, etc, may not be enough to steer our country out of troubles.

65. #66 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 8 April 2009 - 2:47 am

Ctc537,I wish to agree with your good intented suggestion but I am afraid it would not work as old and bad habits die hard especially the kind of ruthless habits these unmo leaders have incurred in their heads..

66. #67 by Kabiran on Sunday, 21 June 2009 - 10:45 pm

People who went to schools in the 5os, 60s and early 70s will realise that education was joy with minimal racial intereference and then came this monster of racial discrimination in every sphere of life resulting in true Polarisation. ONE CAN BOAST OF ALMOST ZERO CORRUPTION THEN. 95% Chinese kids went to Chinese schools…speak poor Malay and very poor English including our Chinese Ministers. The Malay children underwent many filteration process to be selected to redidential school AND SEGREGATED FROM AMINSTREAM SOCIIETY and graduated schools with poor spoken English and more Indian children are now opting for Tamil schools because there is discrimination and marginalisation in the National schools. Mahathir has successfully compartmentalised our country and all his stupid slogans of vision 2020. Kepimpinan Melalui Teladan were all rubbish. Over the years corruption has become rampant and entrenched as a parallel civil service. The Police which was then a mix of all races has become a predominantly Malays employment agency and today we have these Uniformed thugs who have even beateN up a DPM, what is the fate of the common man in their hands.
    Upon graduation from schools the Chinese kid learns to interact ONLY with his own kind for he cannot speak any other language, the Malay become more ultra religious and does some work and many go wayward, the Indian child many of who have no IC is discriminated in government service and discriminately paid in private companies end up taking part time thieving to supplement his income.
    FOR 22 YEARS MAHATHIR WHO WAS JUST A DOCTOR BEFORE, UNTIL HE ENTERED POLITICS SUDDENLY BECAME A VISIONARY, STATESMAN, LEADER, TECHNOCRAT ETC BUT COULD NOT NURTURE THE COMMUNITY INTO ONE NATION WHICH TO A LARGE EXTENT WAS ALREADY THERE AFTER INDEPENDANCE IN 1957. MANY WOULD LIKE TO CALL HIM BAPA RASUAH OR BAPA PEMUSNAH.