If truth be told, Najib can’t be PM

Zaid Ibrahim
Mar 18, 09

(Speech by former law minister Zaid Ibrahim at the Royal Rotary Club of Kuala Lumpur)

This is the second time I have been invited to address a Rotary Club. Thank you for the honour. Given the times we live in, perhaps it might be appropriate for me to speak about the leadership transition that has been foisted upon us Malaysians.

I say ‘foisted’ because neither me nor anyone in this room had any role or say in the choice of the person who will lead Malaysia next. We were mere bystanders in a political chess game. And yet the transition is a subject of great consequence to the nation, one I would say is of great national interest.

Leadership is definitive; the individual who assumes the mantle of leadership of this nation, whomever that may be, is one who for better or worse will leave his mark on us. His will be the hand who guides us to greater success, or possibly gut-wrenching disaster.

Save for the dawn of Merdeka, never in the history of this country has the choice of prime minister been so crucial: Malaysia is in crisis. We are facing tremendous economic challenges with unavoidably harsh socio-political consequences. Our much undermined democracy is once again being assailed by those who would prefer a more autocratic form of governance.

Our public institutions are hollowed out caricatures, unable to distinguish vested party interests from national ones, unable to offer the man in the street refuge from the powerful and connected.

Our social fabric that took us from colony to an independent nation and on through the obstacles of nation building has reached a point where it sometimes feel like we are hanging on by a thread. This is the Malaysia we live in.

PM’s resignation ill-fated

This is the Malaysia which Abdullah Ahmad Badawi leaves behind. Our prime minister will resign later this month – an ill-fated decision. I say ill-fated not because he has been a great prime minister and we would lose irreplaceable leadership, that is regrettably not the case as all things said and done, Abdullah could have done much more for Malaysia.

Rather, I say that his resignation is ill-fated because his departure will expose the country to forces which may take us down the road of perdition faster than ever. Much has been said of Pak Lah being a weak leader. However, what his critics have not adequately addressed are the consequences of replacing him as prime minister with the anticipated incoming president of Umno, Najib (Abdul) Razak.

It is an undeniable truth that the average Malaysian is anxious about the anticipated transition. Many would prefer it did not happen.

There are two reasons why this is so. The first has to do with the reasoning underlying Umno’s demand for the transition itself. The second has to do with Najib personally.

We must recall that after the 2008 general election – a great success for the nation but a fiasco for Umno – one of the chief complaints by the powers-that-be within Umno was that Abdullah’s feeble leadership led to the concept of Ketuanan Melayu being challenged and ultimately undermined.

His critics also lashed out at him for the latitude given to civil society, a move which they believed weakened a key aspect of Umno’s political leverage. It followed in Umno’s mind that in order to regain lost ground, it was necessary to reassert its ideology with greater strength.

There was nostalgia for Mahathir’s heavy-handed style of leadership and a return to the times when the party cowed many into subservience and submission.The conservatives in Umno yearned for a return to Mahathirism, hoping that it would become a cornerstone of the leadership transition plan. There has been much speculation and punditry on whether a return to the Mahathir era would be good for Malaysia.

Difference between then and now

Let me offer some of my own insight to this debate. The major difference between then and now is this: in most instances, Mahathir was harsh and dictatorial if he believed it was good for the country. But an authoritarian style of government under anyone else would be dictated by the need for self preservation and very little about the country’s interest.

The evidence is all around us. After March 8, (2008) when the prime minister ceased being the home minister, the threats of reprisal have escalated and a climate of fear re-cultivated. The detention of Raja Petra Kamarudin, Teresa Kok and Tan Hoong Cheng exemplify this turn for the worse, this appetite to use the sledgehammer.

The shameful power grab in Perak and wanton disregard for public opinion over how BN wrested control of the silver state make many people shudder at the prospect of a return to the dark days. If that was not depressing enough, we have had to bear witness to the police and the newly-minted Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) displaying their allegiance and support to the BN when all we needed and craved for were honest brokers.

It stands to reason that in the mind of the average Malaysian, having suffered a significant loss last March, Umno is on a rampage to regain what it lost by any method available and the man who is expected to lead it to victory is the man who succeeds Abdullah: Najib (Abdul) Razak.

A prime minister must have the confidence of the majority of the rakyat. In order for this to be the case, his integrity must be beyond question; not only must he be such a person character, he must be seen to be such a person. The office of prime minister is one of great trust, he who holds that office cradles the nation in his palms.

For this to be the case, there cannot be anything in the mind of the greater public that, correctly or otherwise, associates him with matters of criminality, wrongful action, improper conduct or abuses of power. In short, he must be beyond reproach in his dealings both official and private.

Without intending any accusation, it is regrettable that in the collective mind of the rakyat, Najib is not such a person. If a referendum were to be conducted on the subject or if the prime minister was to be elected directly by the rakyat, I do not think Najib would succeed. The reason for this is obvious: the rakyat has doubts, fuelled by the unanswered allegations against him and his unwillingness to confront these allegations.

It is not a mere trifle in the minds of the rakyat that despite a direct challenge from a member of parliament in the august House recently, the deputy prime minister remained silent, not even denying the implicit accusation made against him and demanding that it be repeated outside the chamber in the tried and tested method of refutation employed by parliamentarians throughout the world.

It has not assisted the cause of the incoming prime minister that the MP concerned was suspended for a year on a motion tabled by a fellow minister without the member having been afforded an opportunity to defend his position.

Evidence of SMS text-messages

Consider this. Commissions were paid to an agent for the procurement of submarines through the Defence Ministry, Najib (then) being the defence minister. It is unthinkable that he had no knowledge that the agent was his adviser and aide, Abdul Razak Baginda. The commission paid out was exceedingly large, in excess of RM400 million.

The defence minister was dutybound to direct enquiries to see if there had been any impropriety in the way the contracts were awarded when news of the commission surfaced; after all the price of the submarines would be considerably lower without the need for such commissions.

Taxpayers, you and I, have paid for those submarines at a price that in all probability factored in the commission. Taxpayers are yet to be told of an inquiry let alone the result of such an inquiry.
Consider the Altantuya Shaariibuu affair. A young woman was brutally murdered, her corpse destroyed by explosives.

These explosives are not the usual type of explosives, yet no inquiry was held to determine how they were available to these killers. Those accused of her murder are police officers serving in the Unit Tindakan Khas, a highly specialised unit who amongst other things serve as bodyguards to the prime minister and the deputy prime minister.

Amidst evidence that the accused were employed to protect the PM and the DPM, they were directed to (Abdul) Razak Baginda through the aide of the deputy prime minister. Amongst other things, we have heard of the senior investigating officer admitting that the deputy prime minister was an important witness and yet no statement was taken.

It is not unreasonable to think that this is irregular, more so when evidence of SMS text-messages from the deputy prime minister concerning material matters have surfaced. The text-messages cannot be ignored, proverbially swept under the carpet.

Even if they do not establish – or are not capable of establishing – any culpability on the part of Najib, these issues must be addressed.

The air must be cleared, it is thick with accusations and doubts which can only undermine the office of the prime minister if he were to assume it. The deputy prime minister’s cause has not been aided by the fact that charges were preferred against (Abdul) Razak Baginda only after public outcry, the manner in which the prosecution was conducted and the decision of the High Court acquitting (Abdul) Razak Baginda not having been appealed.

Power grab an unmitigated disaster

The Perak affair was an unmitigated disaster for the nation. It is no secret that Najib led the charge there and is still overseeing matters.

In the minds of Malaysians, Perak is synonymous with the deputy prime minister. They now equate him with the high-handed tactics that were employed to seize power, tactics that included the disappearances of the three crucial assemblypersons and the blockading of the legislative assembly by the police.

In doing so, they equate the DPM with the hijacking of democracy, the only persons saying otherwise being those persons who have associations with Umno. In their minds, no responsible leader would allow for the undermining of the institutions of state and the constitution of this nation.

They ask, rightly so, whether this is the kind of leadership that Malaysians can expect from Najib when he becomes the prime minister.

With all of this, and more, how are we not to feel anxious? How are we to sleep peacefully at night? I know that I cannot. The situation is desperate and the air is pregnant with tension. We need the state of affairs to be resolved in a way that is in the best interests of the nation and the rakyat.

To an extent, this is a matter for the Barisan Nasional. I urge its members to put politics aside and think things through. We all want a better future, a safer and more prosperous life for our children, all of them, a Malaysia where our children can reach for the stars with the certainty that there is nothing to stop them from being the Malaysians they want to be.

Let the king be kingmaker

I do not believe that the Barisan Nasional will do what is necessary. Politics has a tendency of making those who embrace it cynical. The answer lies elsewhere, with His Majesty the Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

In this case, His Majesty plays the role of ‘kingmaker’. The discretion to appoint the prime minister who succeeds Abdullah lies with His Majesty. Though His Majesty is required under the constitution to appoint the person who commands the confidence of the majority of the members of parliament, it is a matter for His Majesty’s judgment.
Never before has such a heavy burden being laid on His Majesty to make a brave and correct choice.

For King and country, I urge His Majesty to take into consideration the prerequisites to appointment and the concerns of the rakyat. There is no constitutional obligation on His Majesty to appoint the president of Umno as the prime minister. There are still well qualified members of parliament from Umno who can be appointed PM to bring us back from the brink.

Malaysia needs someone who the rakyat can throw their weight behind without reservation. Someone they can trust and respect. Someone who has no scandal to distract him and thereby gain respect from the international community.

These are difficult times and be prepared for worst times to visit us. Malaysia needs a leader who will unite the country in the face of the adversity. Divided, we are weak. I am loath to say it, but for the reasons I have set out am compelled to say that Najib will most certainly divide us and in doing so, will nudge us closer to the edge.

Some of you may say that all efforts to promote the national interest are at this stage an exercise in futility. If truth be told, I am tempted to slip into cynical hopelessness too. I am fighting the temptation to give up for one simple reason: Malaysia and all that it represents. This is a blessed country, a country too valuable for us to turn our backs on.

1. #1 by a-malaysian on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 8:29 pm

YB Kit,

It is very clear that a majority of the rakyat do not want najib to be the next PM.

Other than seeking the Agong to use his discretion, can we find another way?

Can Pakatan Rakyat form a team of lawyers to put a court injunction stopping him from becoming the PM until all his mysterious questions surrounding him are answered. He has to come clean before he took over the premiership.

Malaysia For All

GE 13 – No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for the past fifty one years.

2. #2 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 9:01 pm

The rakyat’s concerns, thoughts, hopes and common wish……….Zaid Ibrahim said it all in this article. Thank you Zaid from the bottom of our heart.

3. #3 by WonderPets on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 9:35 pm

I hope Zaid Ibrahim will not get into trouble after saying this speech like MP Puchong although this is a very well written article. What he said is very obvious and I hope the BN supporters will not support their leaders blindly.

4. #4 by the reds on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 10:04 pm

Zaid, I salute you! You are a brave man!

5. #5 by Godfather on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 10:24 pm

If truth be told, UMNO would have ceased to exist a long time ago, and the country could have been ahead of countries like Korea, Taiwan and Singapore. Due to the untruths propagated by Mamakthir and his cronies, Bolehland is struggling to keep up with Myanmar, Thailand, the Philippines and Vietnam.

6. #6 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 10:31 pm

Like they always say, “Tell the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth, but for god’s sake, tell only that much of the truth that will do you the most good”.

But it looks like Najis dare not even tell the bit of the “truth” that will do him the most good, except to deny everything and even go to the extent of swearing by the Koran which is totally against Islamic faith. And he wants to be PM of Malaysia, leading an Islamic nation? What a JOKE!

7. #7 by alberttye on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 10:31 pm

With people like Zaid Ibrahim, Tunku Aziz and of course LKS around, we still have some hope of a future for Malaysia.

8. #8 by badak on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 10:50 pm

2000 CORRUPTED UMNO DELEGATES GET TO VOTE WHO THEY WANT TO BE OUR PM.
    Shame on MACC..SHAME SHAME SHAME

9. #9 by chengho on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 11:09 pm

Zahid is a sour loser for Umno Kota Bharu div election BUT yet he is still Umno member why don’t he dismiss himself and set a new party or join PR
    Last GE 12 Zahid was away and becoming non voter in Melbourne
    he was what the Malay say ‘ Merajuk’ but jump and join AAB cabinet
    after one phone call by the sleepy AAB
    If Najib make one phone call to Zahid and offer him a role in Fed next month what likely happen ? you guess as good as mine , way to go Zahid ,good strategy to attract attention…

10. #10 by Godfather on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 11:14 pm

The eunuch doesn’t know that Zaid is now an independent ? You mean UMNO never tells its members why they strip important members of their membership ? Too afraid ?

11. #11 by timmyskh on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 11:18 pm

The only way Zaid idea can be done is thru unity government.
    Understand why it is not created on purpose but it is created as a product.

http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/100475

12. #12 by AhPek on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 11:53 pm

There is no difference between his mouth and his ass.o..for they are one and the same thing for this eunuch.

13. #13 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 11:54 pm

Zaid Ibrahim clearly is still sore about his own incompetence within UMNO. He renegaded to the opposition, yet we do not see him as the political martyr as he wants to portray himself. His opinions are as weak as himself.

14. #14 by wanderer on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 12:24 am

Even if the truth was not told, …is not fit to be a PM.

15. #15 by frankyapp on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 12:39 am

Zaid has said it all,Umno will ingore him,hopefully other parties in the BN can do something to avert the appointment of NR as the next PM. I hope these guys in the BN can now do something good for the rakyat and country. Yeap do it man,don’t be a yes man all the time.

16. #16 by AhPek on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 1:16 am

Anyone who has any love for this country would feel great trepidations with the impending ascendency of Najib to the highest office of the land for why wouldn’t he since the destiny of this country will lie in the palm of this man whose past has been scandal-plagued with allegation of graft surfacing throughout his career,with inciting racial hatred by his threat in 1998 that his kris would be bathed with Chinese blood and with the latest allegation of his involvement in the murder of the Mongolian girl for which he is not prepared to clear his name by charging his accuser in the court of law.The whole of Europe is now intimately familiar with the story taken up by a French investigative reporter Arnaud Dubus in the Liberation newspaper.WHY ISN’t HE SUED??
    Zaid Ibrahim,we thank you for not only contributing this article but more importantly making an appeal to the Agong not to appoint Najib as PM since he does not command the confidence of the majority.You have made an effort to make a difference in the way things are heading in this country.For that I thank you profusely.We need more people like you coming forward to try to turn things around.

17. #17 by ablastine on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 1:23 am

To borrow Zaid’s words, many of us would have lapsed into cynical hopelessness for Malaysia, had it not been for great and fearless men the likes of Mr Zaid Ibrahim, Lim Kit Siang, Ku Li, Raja Petra and perhaps even Anwar Ibrahim and Karpal Singh. Malaysia deserves better than to sink into oblivion and depravity-the very road the UMNO government is showing us. These men of principle have spoken out despite threat on their freedom, life and perhaps even family. I salute them for their sacrifices, wisedom and rigour. In them the country depends, the only hope left for our future and descendants.

18. #18 by monsterball on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 3:29 am

Almost all educated Malaysians know all these are UMNO’s hopes that…Malaysians are selfish and greedy like them….can easily forget. They are hoping Malaysians stay neutral and natural…with their ever increasing unnatural bullying tactics.
    Their usual style will be planning few so call…….good and happy news for Malaysians….slowly…constantly…..while keep on applying unfair….unjust….unbelievable clear double standards methods to increase their so call power…to govern…with such thick skin faces and mentalities.
    Yes…near 13th GE…Najib will apply his last call.
    This man is dangerous and most cunning of all.
    His selfishness and hard of stone… are his trademark.
    His reputation…totally gone. He knows that. All he have is his power which will apply only for his survival. By doing so..he will bring UMNO nearer to it’s natural extinction. Devils cannot have both ways..one must fall.
    What we need to be alert and brave…..is to see he does not go overboard and make this country into a war-like zone…giving him one reasons to stay in power…..through emergency rule.
    Few UMNO and BN… retired and current ministers are hoping Najib will succeed to bring UMNO govern forever and ever.
    No need to explain the reasons..and such is our present atmosphere in Malaysia politics…lowest ever seen…since Merdeka………and much more dangerous…as we are about to see Najib trying to out bid his late father’s style in grabbing power….just like Bush Jr. to Senior…where in the history of USA government…..not one President had a size 10 shoe thrown at one in peace time…..so shameful…yet Bush felt no shame.
    Malaysia will be going through the one and only one….PM…not elected…appointed by UMNO…to use his power…..
    No need to plan.. throwing shoes at him.
    Just use our mighty votes do the talking.

19. #19 by chengho on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 8:05 am

Malaysia need LKY style of Politic , Najib can provide that leadership . Look at the tigers economic Singapore , Korea ( south ) and Taiwan what they have in common ..LKY style of governing the affair of the state…

20. #20 by monsterball on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 8:14 am

Under UMNO….everything must have solid proof.
    Ali Rustam was proven bribing voters
    But Najib said… can still be CM of Melaka for two reasons.
    One..Najib needs to win Melaka in 13th GE..and Rustam have delivered and bragged….”UMNO will rule forever”….so clear he is confident to win Melaka again …
    That’s how sincere Najib is..to Malaysians.
    Najib supports no bribery….yet he supports wholesale bribing to win elections.
    We talked of a RM billion tender…went way up higher than usual…..and one have to prove that ridiculously high prices is corruptions and not commission.
    There are hundreds of small tenders…every year…where prices are marked up 3 times higher than normal prices…where one can buy from any retail shop. What about tender prices for huge lot?
    These are the thousands of billions cheated from Malaysians…..not bothered with…as these small tenders of RM1million….actually cost …half the price.
    Yes….UMNO who is governing have no shame at all to cheat us…and know…as long as all declared as commissions…all are legal….yet they said it is commission ….which is usually 10% ..but sometimes…prices are marked up..more than 300% over the normal price.

Malaysians are constantly being fooled by UMNO.

You can never win against UMNO BARU……as long as they are governing.
    They hold all the advantages…..to keep fooling Malaysians.

Najib is the one…that will try and disunite Malaysians more than any other PM in the past.

21. #21 by Godfather on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 8:18 am

“Malaysia need LKY style of Politic , Najib can provide that leadership . Look at the tigers economic Singapore , Korea ( south ) and Taiwan what they have in common ..LKY style of governing the affair of the state…” Eunuch chengho

Yes, Malaysia need LKY style of politics and style of integrity. LKY doesn’t steal from his country. LKY doesn’t condone the use of C4 on a foreigner.

22. #22 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 8:22 am

Based on recent events of which some were precipated by UMNO’s leaders, it is quite possible that the royal assent may not be given.
    Looking at the UMNO polls developments, Malaysians are indeed living in “interesting times”.
    Don’t expect the share market to go anywhere soon unless there is more clarity about the future leadership.

23. #23 by homeblogger on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 8:42 am

Uncle Kit… I read this on RPK’s blogpost about People Power. A reader suggested this :

============================

RPK, how about us Malaysians voicing out with a simple gesture to show our unity in NOT wanting Najib as PM? What if we wear a simple black armband until the Agong himself sees the millions who are silently united?

You are the right person to start the ball rolling because all you have to do is say the word, get the other bloggers to announce, and we will see thousands in black armbands. Surely the press and the Agong cannot turn a blind eye.

Just a small suggestion. I hope it doesn’t sound stupid. I just feel so powerless, as I watch my beloved Malaysia crumble.

==================================

Maybe it is time to show people power? We don’t have to march on the streets nor do we have to wait 3 years to speak at the ballot box. All rakyat can do something NOW.

24. #24 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 9:02 am

Hmm..He is stepping up but still not in the ring. If he does this a few more times, he is in the ring and Najib cannot ignore him. THEN it will get really interesting…

25. #25 by taiking on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 9:13 am

What would happen if the king actually uses his discretion to appoint someone other than najib to be the next pm of malaysia? Would umno not take the king to court?

Godfather mentioned LKY and singapore. True. I agree with his observation. In fact if LKY was a malaysian then we all would be an advanced nation by now and I also believe that the common Joe Ahmads would be better educated and actually enjoying better pay and quality of life. Better still. There will be no Hamba deBullys.

How is that possible? Simple. There will be no Tuan Rempit McBullys around to suck the nation dry by taking huge kickbacks and receiving astronomical commission payments. 400m commission paid out to god-knows-who for god-knows-what purpose. That sum can be research fund for a few of our universities and for those who dont know, and with some effort that can also turn our universities from teaching to research universities.

26. #26 by AhPek on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 9:18 am

For putting Najib up to the ranks of LKY,the eunuch himself has confirmed that his mouth and ass..l. are the one and the same thing!

27. #27 by kingkenny on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 9:43 am

Dark hollow creatures are what they are! Jin, toyol and najis in human form!

Haven’t they got enough of those blood money!?!

I think enough is enough, it is time to give back to the Rakyat. Especially in these hours of economic uncertainties and global warming. A politician can still be a human, have some values and proof to us that you are indeed a human being.

It is the time for the Rakyats’ affirmative action: VOTE THEM OUT!

28. #28 by limkamput on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 9:50 am

chengho aka ennuch Says: Malaysia need LKY style

Hello, eunuch, you can not survive the style of LKY. You are a complete failure in his eyes.

29. #29 by limkamput on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 10:07 am

Funny everyone in UMNO is talking about reform and change. Yet when Ali Gostan was asked to stand down, almost everyone within the UMNO hierarchy expressed sympathy. Worse still the in coming PM said he can continue as the CM of Melaka. Do they really know the right and wrong? Do they really know what reform are all about? As much as I wish there was genuine desire to change, I think they are just a brunch of reactionaries sitting and waiting for the “storm” to be over so that they can return yet again to their cosy old way again. Hello, wake up, Malaysia is not going back to the old way. We want a liberal and inclusiveness Malaysia, period. None of the UMNO party election candidate is able to articulate clearly when asked about this repeatedly during the interview. Almost all of them have continued to resort to racial and ketuanan rhetorics. Look, we may hear you, but did you fellows realize none is listening anymore.

30. #30 by michael13 on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 10:36 am

LKY style of politic – he loves and cares for his country and people; he sacrifices his whole life for the good benefits of all. Money politic is something which he can’t tolerate from the beginning. His precribed medicine for curing the disease of corruption is too bitter for some politicians to swallow. But it works wonder. He is a great leader indeed!! Singapore is fortunate to have him around for so many years.

31. #31 by strupper2003 on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 10:51 am

Call me a cynic, but there is NO way His Majesty will sidestep Najib and appoint another as PM.

There is another kingmaker and that is the people. Finish the job that and boot BN/Umno out of the political equation.

32. #32 by Loh on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 10:58 am

///Funny everyone in UMNO is talking about reform and change. Yet when Ali Gostan was asked to stand down, almost everyone within the UMNO hierarchy expressed sympathy. ///– Limkamput

Possibly they felt it. Since money politics is widely practised and Ali Gostan got the prize, those left out must have felt relieved.

The reform has to begin in the government. If the government serves the people, it will have to invite talents like what Singapore government has been doing. Those who can serve will find a place in the party, to have their name recorded in history. When government contracts are not issued through open tenders, money politics in UMNO would not stop.

33. #33 by ekans on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 11:32 am

Zaid Ibrahim was unhappy with the way ISA was abused on blogger RPK, reporter Tan Hoong Cheng & opposition MP Teresa Kok by the UMNO-BN led federal govt, that he resigned from the position of de-facto law minister.
    How could he have become an incompetent sore loser when he was disgusted & disillusioned with the actions of his former political bosses?

34. #34 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 11:34 am

If truth be told, Zaid Ibrahim too can be PM! But who cares about naked truth here? We’re more concerned about naked images of politicians on the Net. We’re economical with truth and generous with hypocrisy and falsehood.

35. #35 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 3:37 pm

Yang Dipertuan Agong (the King) is just a constitutional monarch. If there is neither parliamentary vote of no confidence against Najib for being nominated as a PM nor parliamentary vote of confidence in favour of the incumbent PM Abudullah Ahmad Badawi (AAB), the King will not be able to do much to change or overrule the decision of Najib being recommended to become the next PM by the majority of the Parliament.

Some PAS leaders disagreed with forming a unity government between BN and PR. If a unity government seems not to be a viable solution, perhaps PR MPs should give a serious thought about causing a vote of confidence in favour of AAB in the Parliament in order to endorse AAB to continue holding the PM’s office until the 13th General Election. In case AAB is no longer desirous to continue holding the PM’s office, then AAB should be persuaded by PR leaders to make an immediate request in his capacity as the incumbent PM to the Yang Dipertuan Agong in order to seek approval for dissolution of the Parliament.

It looks like an early dissolution of the Parliament is the only viable way to put a check on Najib’s using Machiavellian foul approaches to grab the political power in order to defeat Najib from fulfilling his personal political ambition by all means.

36. #36 by Toyol on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 3:56 pm

If he is PM, how is he ever going to face world leaders with a murder rap hanging over his head. Even if he can keep a straight face, he will bring shame on us all.

37. #37 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 5:33 pm

/// # chengho Says:
    Today at 08: 05.42 (9 hours ago)
    Malaysia need LKY style of Politic , Najib can provide that leadership . Look at the tigers economic Singapore , Korea ( south ) and Taiwan what they have in common ..LKY style of governing the affair of the state… ///

Yes, LKY will be go for Malaysia. But the last thing Malaysia needs is the style of politics. It is about substance, not form.

Najib can’t even hold a candle to LKY. It is his intellect. It is his foresight and vision. It is about using good people. It is about doing what is good for the country, not for oneself.

P/s – please don’t suka suka use Admiral Zheng He’s name. The only common denominator you have with the great man is that you are both Muslims. Don’t sully his name. BTW, Zheng He is Chinese – so don’t suka suka change your race like your former master.

38. #38 by chengho on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 5:48 pm

Zahid was narrow minded ..” there are still well qualified MP from Umno ” why only Umno why not the president of MCA or Gerakan or somebody from Sarawak…..Zahid made ton of money during MM heavy handed style of leadership..

39. #39 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 7:14 pm

“A prime minister must have the confidence of the majority of the rakyat” Zaid Ibrahim

That would be setting the bar higher than it really is. The PM only needs to have the confidence of the majority of Members of Parliament.

40. #40 by AhPek on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 8:01 pm

In the case of Najib his ascendency to President of UMNO’s post and eventually PM post is determined by 3000 delegates!! No wonder this country is so screwed up!

41. #41 by katdog on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 8:22 pm

“Malaysia need LKY style of Politic , Najib can provide that leadership ” – chengho

What? You mean Najib will do as LKY did? To treat all races as equally and firmly and to favor neither one?

You mean Najib will end NEP, abolish all forms of quota for the Malay’s, remove the 5% discounts for Malays, remove the requirements of being a Malay for obtaining government contract, the removal of race description on our IC’s?

Wow! I’ll fully support Najib if he promises to do these.

42. #42 by monsterball on Thursday, 19 March 2009 - 9:57 pm

chengho is a racialist idiot.

43. #43 by taiking on Friday, 20 March 2009 - 10:01 am

Dont listen to chengho. He is an umnoputra McBully under the guise of a chinese name.

Its an insult to the admiral from china for this silly McBully to adopt the name chengho here.

44. #44 by chengho on Friday, 20 March 2009 - 1:16 pm

Guys , we are color blind and no religion too just like Lennon song but still Najib is the best candidate not your Anwar PR
    only in China every citizen is chinese , in Malaysia we are malaysian…

45. #45 by winc on Friday, 20 March 2009 - 6:06 pm

zak_hammaad Says:

March 18th, 2009 (2 days ago) at 23: 54.50
    Zaid Ibrahim clearly is still sore about his own incompetence within UMNO. He renegaded to the opposition, yet we do not see him as the political martyr as he wants to portray himself. His opinions are as weak as himself.

_______

It reflects significantly that you are sore about Zaid’s comment. Why feel so bad about his comments? What is so weak of his comments as opposed to a simple explanation to the mass public in regards to a murder case? Herein, Zaid’s comments hold water which the latter appears otherwise!!

46. #46 by winc on Friday, 20 March 2009 - 6:13 pm

chengho Says:

Yesterday at 08: 05.42
    Malaysia need LKY style of Politic , Najib can provide that leadership . Look at the tigers economic Singapore , Korea ( south ) and Taiwan what they have in common ..LKY style of governing the affair of the state…

_________

Another bullet into the feet!!!

There was someone in Parliament who gone “syiok” in claiming that Singapore is not a country and therefore should not be taken into considerations with regards to TI, educational and persistently claim we are doing fine!! Now you are saying that they are the “tigers economic – thou i dont quite understand what tiger econ means” but i still take it with some pinch of erm…. tiger salt!

Wonder which feet you are going to shoot next

47. #47 by winc on Friday, 20 March 2009 - 6:14 pm

chengho Says:

Today at 13: 16.31 (4 hours ago)
    Guys , we are color blind and no religion too just like Lennon song but still Najib is the best candidate not your Anwar PR
    only in China every citizen is chinese , in Malaysia we are malaysian…

________

Chengho,

Erm…. can you tell me if Kuli qualifies?

48. #48 by winc on Friday, 20 March 2009 - 6:17 pm

chengho Says:

Yesterday at 17: 48.41
    Zahid was narrow minded ..” there are still well qualified MP from Umno ” why only Umno why not the president of MCA or Gerakan or somebody from Sarawak…..Zahid made ton of money during MM heavy handed style of leadership..

Tonnes of money? Gosh, i wonder where you picked this up? MACC is next door..

49. #49 by Godfather on Saturday, 21 March 2009 - 9:31 am

Zak Hammaad is just a foreigner recruited by Mamakthir and now Zak is pushing the Mamakthir agenda – no one is good or clean enough except for Mamakthir and his son.