Gobind to be suspended as MP without pay for one year from Monday

The UMNO/Barisan Nasional government is moving against the DAP MP for Puchong Gobind Singh Deo and will abuse their parliamentary majority, against all parliamentary convention, tradition and practices, to summarily suspend Gobind as Member of Parliament without pay for one year with instant effect from Monday.

The following is the motion which has been placed on Monday’s Order Paper as the first item of business after question-time:

ATURAN URUSAN MESYUARAT DAN USUL-USUL

1. Menteri di Jabatan Perdana Menteri akan mencadangkan:

BAHAWA pada 12 Mac 2009, Yang Berhormat Tuan Gobind Singh Deo, Ahli Parlimen kawasan Puchong semasa perbahasan peringkat Jawatankuasa Rang Undang-undang Perbekalan Tambahan (2009) 2009 telah mengeluarkan kenyataan-kenyataan yang mendakwa YAB. Timbalan Perdana Menteri, Ahli Parlimen Kawasan Pekan terlibat dalam kes pembunuhan.

BAHAWA Yang Berhormat Ahli Parlimen Kawasan Puchong juga telah mengeluarkan kenyataan-kenyataan yang menghina Timbalan Yang di-Pertua Dewan Rakyat setelah diperintah keluar Dewan.

DAN BAHAWA kenyataan-kenyataan yang dibuat oleh Yang Berhormat Ahli Parlimen Kawasan Puchong adalah merupakan satu dakwaan yang sangat serius dan menyalahi hak dan keistimewaan sebagai Ahli Parlimen serta merupakan satu penghinaan kepada Dewan ini.

MAKA INILAH DIPERSETUJUI BAHAWA Yang Berhormat Ahli Parlimen Kawasan Puchong hendaklah digantung tugas dari jawatannya sebagai Ahli Parlimen selama dua belas (12) bulan dari tarikh keputusan usul ini diluluskan. Dalam masa penggantungan ini Yang Berhormat Ahli Parlimen Kawasan Puchong tidak akan dibayar kesemua bayaran elaun dan kemudahan sebagai seorang Ahli Parlimen.

The right and proper thing will be to refer Gobind to the Committee of Privileges instead of using the UMNO/BN brute majority to summarily punish Gobind by suspending him as an MP without pay and privileges.

DAP MP for Batu Gajah, Fong Po Kuan, was victim of such parliamentary injustice in December 2001 when she was summarily suspended as an MP for six months without pay for speaking up on the CLP exam scandal.

It is most shocking that Parliament refused to invoke its powers to deal summarily with violations of parliamentary privileges like the obstruction and menacing by UMNO Youth goons of DAP MP for Bukit Gelugor Karpal Singh from carrying out his parliamentary duties in the parliamentary precincts last month (Feb. 26), when this is very clearly provided for under the Act 347 – Houses of Parliament (Privileges and Powers) Act 1952, especially when such an offence is punishable with a seven-year jail sentence under Section 124 of the Penal Code.

However, in Gobind’s case, Parliament is being asked to invoke its summary powers of punishment when such a case occurring during the proceeding of Parliament should be referred first to the Committee of Privileges.

With parliamentary majority temporarily in the hands of UMNO/BN, the motion to suspend Gobind for one year without pay and privileges is likely to be passed – but it will enter into Malaysian parliamentary annals as another black-lettered day!

1. #1 by vchi on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 6:30 pm

This is an ABSOLUTE DISGRACE!

Pakatan must fight this draconian attempt to silence the ‘Tiger of Puchong’!

2. #2 by yhsiew on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 6:39 pm

UMNO/BN action is not justifiable if Gobind’s allegation against Najis turns out to be true.

3. #3 by Tonberry on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 6:50 pm

Since Zambry can sought a court declaration to make Speaker V. Sivakumar’s suspension of him illegal, i dont see why Gobind cant..

4. #4 by ekans on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 7:14 pm

In his defence, Gobind should get a copy of that French publication which had recently printed those allegations against ‘Mr. & Mrs. Stimulus’ and ask why they had not taken any legal action against it if those allegations are not true.

5. #5 by KennyGan on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 7:15 pm

Bring the matter to court. Whatever the judge rules in Perak must be applied to Gobind as we follow the law of precedence. If Gobind’s case goes first and the court throws it out as non-justiciable then it must be applied to Perak as well.

6. #6 by Godfather on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 7:22 pm

I suggest that PR reps all stay away from Parliament for a certain period of time, and let the BN thieves party away (with women and booze) at Parliament House.

7. #7 by limkamput on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 7:23 pm

I don’t know, this is not straight forward. I have said before some opposition MP upstarts are too gung-ho. There are many ways to skin a cat. MPs (even covered by parliamentary privileges) are not RPK. Whether the statement is true or otherwise, you can’t simply say things that you can’t substantiate. To me the accusation is serious when I first read it. Frankly the MP for Puchong has to mend his way. Because of his impatience and poor judgement, PR now loses a representation for one year.

I think the opposition can learn a thing or two from DPM. When the accusation was thrown at him, he stayed cool and never uttered a word. I think he knows how to carry oneself. People with real power don’t have to shout or point fingers.

I respect the Puchong MP for his idealism, but I can not agree with the way he behaved. He is in the fringe of kurang ajar already.

8. #8 by GreenBug on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 7:26 pm

This will only make Malaysians vote the abuser of parliamentary rules OUT in the next elections. We don’t forget that easily anymore….

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 7:29 pm

As we approach the final stretch towards the UMNO polls, candidates are trying to look good and unfortunate souls might find themselves being sabotaged (according to Toyo), hauled up before the MACC or charged in court. So beware.

Which particular Minister in the PM’s department is going to present the proposal come Monday? Will it be the infamous Nazri Aziz, the Parliament monitor?

Incidentally, a look-alike has been impersonating him in some compromising pictures these past few days. Just google his name and pictures scandal and you will find this imposter. Or is he the real thing?

10. #10 by All For The Road on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 7:49 pm

It will be a very sad day for parliamentary democracy in Malaysia if the BN MPs use their brute parliamentary majority in the Dewan Rakyat to suspend and punish Gobind, the MP for Puchong, for a year in the wilderness without any allowances and perks. Should they have their way all the time? It’s really disgusting and unbelievable to resort to such high-handed and bullying stance to a fellow MP who is only doing his duty as an elected representative of the people!

11. #11 by splim on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 7:51 pm

I will be very upset with Gobind if he is my MP. Doesn’t he has better things to say than to accuse Najib of being a murderer. I’ve voted for DAP ever since I was eligible to vote. But I think what Gobind did was an abuse of parliamentary privilege. I’m really disappointed. You can’t blame BN. If PR controls Parliament, won’t they do the same thing if a BN MP accuses DSAI of being a sodomite.

We sent you guys to Parliament to debate policies and laws that affect all of us. Not throwing accusation, using vulgar language and picking a fight at every opportunity.

I have only this to say if Gobind is suspended. Serves him right. After 8 March 2008, the rakyat deserves better MPs.

12. #12 by homeblogger on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 8:00 pm

Maybe I’m naive, but frankly, I think Gobind was stupid. You don’t fight fire with more fire. Unless this is a clever plot, I wonder what it got us – one man down and loads of news for the main stream media to twist and serve to the public. In the eyes of the general public, Gobind will be made out to look no less a hooligan than the UMNO idiots who confronted his father.

Come on lah… I know I am just an ordinary joe – not a learned professional like Gobind – but I know that if you want to catch your enemy with their pants down, you don’t go after them screaming and with guns blazing – especially if the enemy is wily, powerful and so used to playing political dodge ball. After all, look at all that goes on with our leaders and you see that they are well versed in the art of stabbing in the back.

Okay, so Gobind is convinced that our incoming PM is guilty. Half of Malaysia is convinced. So what do we get if half of Malaysia goes around screaming bloody hell like Gobind? We will have half of Malaysia locked up in Kamunting.

13. #13 by boh-liao on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 8:07 pm

There must a order from someone that the name Altantuya must never be brought up in the Parliament. Whoever dared to mention it must be punished!

Our MPs must remember that they are not in the Thai Parliament where MPs can move a motion of no confidence against the PM.

14. #14 by kevchua on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 8:52 pm

While I support the opposition, particularly Mr Gobind for being truly outspoken to eradicate injustice, I do not agree to an MP being overly outspoken. As we know, the consequences of doing so is unthinkable. See what happens to Mr Gobind now? NO PAY for ONE YEAR!!!

At the same time, we can’t sit and let the BN guys step on our heads, continue hiding facts and dark secrets, and expect the opposition to say “Yes, sir. You’re right, sir. Definitely, sir.”

In the Malaysian Parliament, I notice that no one is free to ask anything. Whether it’s a corruption case or a murder case that involves the Administration, the right to speak freely in Parliament is hampered by man-made rules. Rules that benefit only one party. To make things worse, our ministers only know how to yell, deny, scold (this goes to opposition ministers too).

Ya, like what “homeblogger” has said, you cannot fight fire with fire. Now that Mr Gobind is out of job (temporarily), who is going to care for his constituency? A temporary by-election?

15. #15 by distantmalay on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 9:08 pm

make police report also cannot, report MACC also no hope, what else ? bring up in parliament lah !

now that also cannot.

a book “50 Dalil….” with unsubstantiated allegations by an unknown author was used to convict Dato Seri Anwar,

but investigative journalism by the Liberation was simply brushed aside…

16. #16 by DAP man on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 9:09 pm

Those who accuse Gobind must ask, “Why did he do it”?

I would think it is the result of utter frustrations when you find yourself unable to so anything in the face of blatant abuse of the rule of law, a biased judiciary, a corrupted police force/ MACC and a dictatorial UMNO government which IS the LAW.

If this is a democratic government where fairplay and the rule of law reign supreme, then Gobind wouldn’t have to do what he did.
    He sacrificed himself to convey a point and he did it well.

17. #17 by catharsis on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 9:27 pm

LEST WE FORGET FOR OUR GOD IS JUST AND GREAT………………

18. #18 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 9:30 pm

The revival of Mahathirism already happens. It happens too soon and too hastily that PR people may not be ready for it yet. Gobind may be just the first one among those many victims of political persecution as a consequence of the revival of Mahathirism.

Some political analysts already predicted that the Perak State Legislative Assembly would be dissolved after May 2009. It is predicted that the Secretary of State Government would be instructed by the Sultan of Perak to announce dissolution of the State Legislative Assembly after May 2009 due to the lapse of six months since the date of having the last recognized sitting in the State Assembly.

Najib is most likely not going to stop the dissolution of the Perak State Assembly even after he has become the new PM. The reason is simple. He has no patience to wait for the happening of immediate disappearance of all cronies of AAB from the Perak State Assembly after he has become the president of Umno. All he wants is POWER, POWER AND POWER. Zambry may be an unlucky ones because he is the choice of AAB but not a choice of Najib for the post of MB!

It is also predicted that after the state-wide election in Perak, there will be another Op Lallang in the making. Mahathirism looks too real now, even before Umno has completed its 2009 party election.

PR folks please be very careful of what you say and what you do from now on. The promise of AAB for not invoking the ISA on anybody will most likely be invalidated after March 2009. No one will be safe under the rule of someone who believes in Machiavellianism.

19. #19 by Saint on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 10:05 pm

# Tonberry Says:
    Today at 18: 50.32 (3 hours ago)

Since Zambry can sought a court declaration to make Speaker V. Sivakumar’s suspension of him illegal, i dont see why Gobind cant..

Dear LKS, This is serious and the above comment is absuletely correct. Test it out – Gobind Singh has nothing to loose, but much to gain for these jokers.

20. #20 by OrangRojak on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 10:08 pm

Seems like only yesterday Gobind was being called a pussy for backing Anwar as head of Pakatan Rakyat when Karpal was complaining. I think being an Opposition politician in Malaysia, particularly if you care about politics, justice or being a public role model, must be an abysmal experience.

Is it him or his seat that will be suspended? Can he resign to allow a by-election?

21. #21 by KennyGan on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 10:10 pm

At least there will be some debate over the Altantuya affair in Parliament which has previously been blocked by the Speaker. Opposition MPs should make the most of it. A golden opportunity to question and embarrass Najib although Gobind has to pay a high price for it.

22. #22 by monsterball on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 10:48 pm

I year suspension without pay….for bringing out what ALL Malaysians want to hear Najib’s reply and on recent developments of the Mongolian murder case. Why so jittery?
    Keep on finding ways and means to jail Anwar again.
    UMNO given the power to govern keeps on governing ..only for UMNO’s benefits….and in recent years…we are seeing…..the real UMNO BARU revealed.

23. #23 by badak on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 10:50 pm

Another thing to add .How come no opposition MPs take any action on Najib,When he approve RM200 MILLION on an NGO headed by his wife just 3 days after becoming the finance minister.It was reported in all main stream media afew months ago.It was clearly a misuse of power.
    How stupid can MACC get,It want to investigate Azalina on mis use of power. Just because she gave a dinner to some UMNO delegates.Are this deligates so cheap, that their votes can be bought with just a dinner.
    MACC please get your priorities straight. There tons of evidence againts Khir toyo. Why no action lah.

24. #24 by chengho on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 10:58 pm

The best way for Govind is to repeat his allegation outside parliment and resign from Puchong MP let have by election…go to peoples court..

25. #25 by mendela on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 11:17 pm

This is the total death of democracy!

UMNO and Najis will need to pay for it!

If Najis is innocent, why can’t he sue Gobind or Anwar over their allegations in court?

Down with UMNO and Najis!

26. #26 by UzMiNoOnist on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 11:28 pm

The only way is to kick these morons out from parliament come next GE.

27. #27 by hiro on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 11:42 pm

Can someone please post the Parliamentary standing orders online? I’d really like to have a look at them. Thanks.

28. #28 by badak on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 11:43 pm

AS they say \\ behind every great man there is a women \\ BEHIND NAJIB THERE IS ROSMAH \\ I rest my case your honour….

29. #29 by bclee on Friday, 13 March 2009 - 11:58 pm

Gobind represent RPK in Atantuya case in court. I can feel his frustration on this event.
    LKS all Pakatan Rakyat should ask further on this case and see can Bee N sent all Pakatan Rakyat out of paliament seen we already try all avenue the only way i think will be here in paliament.
    Malaysia law seem only valid for ordinary rakyat and opposition party but not umno/BN members. shame..angry ..powerless …i feel now

30. #30 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 12:00 am

“There are many ways to skin a cat” Limkaput

I never knew you’ve taken to pussies to make a point.

31. #31 by Tonberry on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 12:01 am

chengho Says:
    The best way for Govind is to repeat his allegation outside parliment and resign from Puchong MP let have by election…go to peoples court..

haha. Then you should ask your hero Najib Altantuya to resign too if he wants to clear his name..or if possible, call for a fresh mandate :)

32. #32 by mendela on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 12:05 am

If they were indeed innocent, why should Najis and Rosie remain silent on following serious allegations by the oppositions? Why don’t they sue?

1. The 17 Rolex watches scandal
    2. All those extravagant overseas shopping sprees by Rosie
    3. The scolding of the King by Rosie
    4. Illegal commissions gained from purchase of weapons
    5. Atlantuya murder case
    6. The disapperance of Bala and family
    7. and many other allegations

33. #33 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 12:11 am

“Is it him or his seat that will be suspended? Can he resign to allow a by-election?” (OrangRojak)

The parliamentary suspension shall apply to Gobind personally in his capacity as a Member of Parliament. Gobind, when suspended, will be prohibited to enter the Parliament and to carry out his duty in the Parliamentary session such as getting himself involved in a debate, tabling a motion, casting a vote, or raising question to the Minister. Nevertheless, Gobind will still be the MP of Puchong until the dissolution of the Parliament or until his resignation.

Of course, Gobind can resign from the MP anything he likes but this does not serve any good purpose. Once an MP resign, he will be prohibited to stand as a contestant in the by-election for 5 years in accordance with Malaysia’s election law.

34. #34 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 12:18 am

“1. The 17 Rolex watches scandal
    2. All those extravagant overseas shopping sprees by Rosie
    3. The scolding of the King by Rosie” (mendela)

Based on mendela’s information, Rosie will be acquitted.
    No one will be able to set out a strong legal case against Rosie. She will have strong support from a psyche doctor to prove that she is not guilty.

35. #35 by boh-liao on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 12:25 am

This is BN’s rule and law of the jungle.
    Any noise from the non-Umno partners in the BN? Am-Si-Eh? Am-i-Si? Gelakan?

36. #36 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 12:28 am

“The best way for Govind is to repeat his allegation outside parliment and resign from Puchong MP let have by election…go to peoples court..” (Chengho)

There is no peoples court in Malaysia but there are plenty of peoples court in mainland China. Basically, Malaysia only has these four courts:
    1. Respectable Judiciary Court
    2. Interventionist Royal Court
    3. Despicable Kangaroo Court
    4. Relaxable Basket Ball Court or Badminton Court.

I think what Chengho meant by “Peoples court” is the third option “Despicable Kangaroo Court”.

37. #37 by dawsheng on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 12:35 am

What is one year suspension for asking Najib the right question in parliament? Puchong should be proud they have this guy as their MP.

38. #38 by shamshul anuar on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 1:25 am

DEar LImkamput,

Yes you are spot on. Gobind sorry to say is rude. In Malay it is called “kurang Ajar” . Just like his father. Both of them utter words without thinking. Of course they got the coverage but not the respect.

Karpal said “Pemuda UMNO celaka”. Now imagine if someone says that to his face. What if someone says “Sudah tua atas kerusi roda dah nak mampus…” to him.

Be firm, not rude. Dr Mahathir often give cutting remarks but I never see him being rude. That shows character.

Gobind screamed to Najib saying he is a murderer. Does Gobind has a proof? Why suddenly no concrete evidence is needed here when in Anwar’s cases even with evidences Gobind can accept him.

I dread to think the disaster to take place if Gobind has the power. Obviously, hatred has consumed him.

Mannerism maketh a man. Obviously , Gobind is wanting in that aspect. And very glaringly too. What a tragedy.

39. #39 by bclee on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 1:28 am

40. #40 by frankyapp on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 1:29 am

Come on PR,plan your political strategies well,attach only when your enemy is unawared. Govind should not have attacked the BN knowing pretty well the enemy has set up trap to counter attack him or PR ,thus capturing him.Let’s hope PR next attack against BN ending in a fruitful way.One’s bitten twice shy.

41. #41 by shamshul anuar on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 1:37 am

Dear Distantmalay,

No. You are wrong. The book ” 50 Dalil..” was not used to convict Anwar. Anwar made the police report. As it involved the DPM, police gave high priority on the case.

Dr Mahathir personally met several men who admitted to have relationship with Anwar. One of them even consulted Baling MP, Taib , who was then Imam Masjid Negara.

Thousand of Muslims performed prayers seeking divine inspiration in this matter. As per Muslim believe, an ill maligned person’s prayers will receive divine help. Those who slandered him ( he accused Dr Mahathir) as per Islamic belief will receive divine punishment.

The truth shall prevail at the end of the day.

42. #42 by bclee on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 1:58 am

Najib should sue Arnaud Dubus the France journalist, French Liberation news paper and The nation post Thailand to clear his name if he is no in this murder case.
    clear and simple like ABC

43. #43 by bclee on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 2:01 am

if no he is no fit to be our PM

44. #44 by sean on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 3:18 am

They might suspend more PR Mp’s when Najib ‘s time to take over as PM since a vote of confidence may be needed to select the incoming PM.So PR better not let this happens…every Mp’s votes are crucial when the time comes.

45. #45 by Loyal Malaysian on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 3:35 am

It’s as good as done.
    It’s so frustrating to see how weak PR really is.
    You guys are overpowered at every turn.

46. #46 by monsterball on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 5:59 am

Apology to godfather.
    I think chengho is a racialist disguised as a goodie goodie.

47. #47 by singma on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 8:15 am

Seriously, I think Gobind deserve this.

Where is the professionalism? We vote PR for a better party than BN, certainly we don’t expect this abuse of parliament immunity!

UMNO can abuse , no problem with that, cause I dun support them. But DAP, how can you turn so unprofessional after the bib tsunami.

I suggest take that one year suspension as a good lesson and part of learning curve.

If insist that BN is too harsh, I really don’t what to say of PR as an alternative to BN.

48. #48 by gyp on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 8:59 am

Chicken can not have any revolusion.

You should respect his courage on these.

Do not chicken on your stand against injustice, corruption else there is no way to beat it.

49. #49 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 9:07 am

Isn’t this subverting the power of Parliament and unconstitutional? This is only further proof that UMNO/BN is a subversive movement and technically an ENEMY OF THE STATE..

50. #50 by passerby on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 9:17 am

Maybe PR should use reversed psychology and ask when will Najib going to sue the Bangkok newspaper and the French reporter for publishing the news.

If Najib refuses to do so, can the PR sue that paper and the reporter and force them to show proof of their allegation?

I am sure Najib will appreciate PR’s good intention!

51. #51 by OCSunny on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 9:46 am

IN PARLIAMENT, IF YOU WANT TO BE HEARD YOU HAVE TO ACT TOUGH OTHERWISE THE BN MPs WILL SWALLOW YOU UP. GOBIND YOU YOU DID RIGHTLY UNDER THE CIRCUMSTANCES.

PR HAS ANWAR WITH SODOMY AND BN HAS NAJIB WITH MURDER/CORRUPTION. BOTH MUST CLEAR THEIR REPUTATIONS OR RESIGN IMMEDIATELY!?!

52. #52 by limkamput on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 10:15 am

53. #53 by Black Arrow on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 10:44 am

Gobind is brave but what he did was unwise. No use being angry and charging headlong like an ox. This is not the way.

I urge all PR MPs to be very careful with their words.

54. #54 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 11:27 am

This motion by Nazri – to suspend Gobind Singh Deo for 1 year without pay – opens the issues on scope of parliamentary privilege versus parliamentary contempt.

On one side of the scale is parliamentary privilege. What MP Gobind says in parliament, no matter how intemperate or even defamatory, enjoys immunity from prosecution/civil suits. The privilege is to provide maximum opportunity for MPs to raise matters of genuine public interest and concern without fear of reprisals. It cannot be disputed that Altantuya matter is an issue of overriding public interest. There is no greater public interest than the issue of effective governance of a State or country as affected by the baggage of an incoming PM and his ability to dissociate from the taint of allegations of the French Liberation newspaper recently published.

There are constitutionally only two exceptions to parliamentary privilege: the seditious questioning of (a) sovereignty of kings and sultans and (b) Special Malay privileges. The questioning of Altantuya matter does not come within ambit of either (a) or (b).

On the other side of the scale to be weighed is parliamentary contempt. Parliamentary contempt covers situations where a MP acts or says things, the effect of which, is extraneous and obstrusive to and impeding of orderly conduct of parliamentary business of the day. Here it is argued here against Gobind that he refused to stand down when Speaker ordered him to desist inveigling and heckling the DPM/Pekan MP over Altantuya issue that was extraneous to and derailing of the mini budget under debate.

So is freedom of speech in Parliament protected by parliamentary privilege absolute? I(n the weighing of scales, when does Parliamentary privilege end and Parliamentary contempt begin?

Whilst it is true that a breach of Parliamentary privilege may, as what YB Kit said, be a matter appropriately to be referred first to the Parliament’s Committee of Privileges – here I don’t think the outcome would be any different since the Committee of Priveges is itself chaired and dominated by BN’s representatives –
    in a case of Parliamentary contempt (if Gobind’s actions indeed fit the bill), it is likely that Parliament could summarily invoke its inherent powers of punishment as sought by Nazri’s motion.

Here a subtle distinction is sought to be drawn between acts constituting breach of Parliamentary privilege and acts constituting contempt of Parliament, with the latter a notch more severe a partliamentary offence.

However whether the proposed one year without pay satisfies the criterion of proportionality of punishment to the offence is anyone’s guess. One can asks why not 2 months or even 20 years?????

If the intent of invoking the punishment is to deter Gobind from raising the Altantuya issue in Parliament, Gobind would have achieved this objective when the motion of his suspension and with it, the corollary issues of Parliamentary Privilege versus Parliamentary Contempt are debated in Parliament, no matter that it is likely to be carried with the BN majority in Parliament.

55. #55 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 11:47 am

If there is a debate on Altantuya’s issue in the Parliament, more and more insider informations can be disclosed in the Parliament. I wonder whether those insider informations can be reported by the mainstream news media in Malaysia. I am sure Najib will not be able to get a court injunction for imposing restriction on the reporting of those matters being discussed or debated in Parliamentary Session.

56. #56 by limkamput on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 11:57 am

I never knew you’ve taken to pussies to make a point.
    undergrad2

A cat is a cat. Why pussies, unless you are thinking of something else.

57. #57 by Evenmind on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 12:04 pm

The fact is Altantuya’s family would never see the light of th day in malaysia, threwould be no justice, gobiond was screaming for justice , If you want further proof of this , the verdict would be NOT GUILTY as well for the remaining two police officers charged.
    THE WHOLE TRAIL IS A FARCE, BECAUSE BN’S JUDICIARY RULES IN MALAYSIA., FCUK NAJIS AND ALL HIS MERRY MEN .

58. #58 by badak on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 1:35 pm

I can see our law books and rule thrown out of the window went Najib becomes our PM. I don,t see any one strong enough to stand in his way .
    Will there be another OPERATION LALANG in the near future. I for one think so.

59. #59 by whc on Saturday, 14 March 2009 - 2:03 pm

Gobind, i salute you for your guts.not many dare to to ask DPM about the murder case or else they will be missing just like Bala.you are indeed an aggressive fighter but i do think if you will just control a little bit of your anger and it will just be fantastic.

60. #60 by boh-liao on Sunday, 15 March 2009 - 10:01 am

Sunday Star, 15.3.09: Adnan, Azalina hit out at Gobind
    Several Umno leaders have lambasted Puchong MP Gobind Singh Deo for alleging that Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak was involved in a murder case.

Now, the blood hounds are out in pack shuffling to declare their undying love to their in-coming boss and to score brownie points.

They are already shouting: The PM is dead. Long live the PM.

61. #61 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 15 March 2009 - 10:57 am

Maybe he should be taken out to the public square to be flogged and stoned to death?

62. #62 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 March 2009 - 1:03 pm

Maybe he should be taken out to the public square to be flogged and stoned to death? old undergrad

who are you referring to, you?

63. #63 by shamshul anuar on Sunday, 15 March 2009 - 11:34 pm

Dear GYP,

Yes. Stand against corruption, injustice. But the insult and rudeness against another human.

By all means, please bring all evidences to implicate Najib. Who are so certain Najib is involved? RPK and of course Anwar? Can not it be politically motivated?

As for Western media reporting , we should not take it too seriously. Our previous leader , Dr Mahathir was a much maligned leader during his tenure. Nothing he did was correct from the eyes of Western media which still maintains colonial attitude.

As for Gobind, what is there to be afraid of if he can substantiate his accusation against Najib. Do not hide behind Parliamentary Imunity and accused a person. Do it outside the august Dewan.

64. #64 by All For The Road on Monday, 16 March 2009 - 1:23 pm

LATEST (as at 1.15pm) : Gobind Singh Deo, the DAP MP for Puchong, has been suspended for a year from the Dewan Rakyat. The brute majority of the BN in the Dewan Rakyat, as expected, rears its ugly head today in suspending YB Gobind without any pay and allowances for a year. This is a real case of bullying by the BN! If it is not, then what is?

65. #65 by citizen on Tuesday, 17 March 2009 - 12:03 pm

This is what happen when you underestimate your opponents.
    But I think it is a stupid and a smart move. Stupid because you’ve just lost your income, and of course your voice in the dewan rakyat. Smart because you’ve just earned the oppositions some points for the next GE.