RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal – no need for MCA to campaign in KT if OTK continues to hide the truth

“Nothing to hide” – this was the front-page headline of Sun yesterday on Transport Minister, Datuk Seri Ong Tee Kiat’s “tell-all” press conference on Sunday on the RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal – which told absolutely nothing!

Although Ong adopted the stance that he had “nothing to hide”, in actual fact he had hidden the most important fact in his “chronology of events” on the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal – the RM4.6 billion retrospective approval given by the Cabinet in June 2007 to bail-out the four unlawful “Letters of Support” which gave implicit government guarantees issued by the two previous MCA Transport Ministers to the money market for the RM4.6 billion bonds for the PKFZ project.

Both the two previous MCA Transport Ministers had acted unlawfully, as they had no powers to issue financial guarantees committing the government, which could only be issued by the Finance Minister and only after Cabinet approval.

However, the Malaysian Government would have created a major crisis of confidence in the international money market if the Cabinet had not bailed out the two MCA Transport Ministers and given retrospective approval to the four Letters of Support which gave implicit government guarantees to the RM4.6 billion bonds issued by Kuala Dimensi Sdn. Bhd (KDSB), the PKFZ turnkey contractor, for the PKFZ project.

Can Ong explain why he had deliberately omitted this important fact in his “chronology of events”, which need not have to depend on the outcome of the Pricewaterhouse Cooper audit report? Or is he denying that Cabinet had given such retrospective approval?

I am still waiting for Ong to answer the five questions about the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal which I had posed to him nine months ago, particularly about the history of impropriety in land transactions, illegal issue of Letters of Support, Cabinet bailouts and retrospective ratification of illegal decisions by the two previous MCA Transport Ministers, Tun Liong Liong Sik and Datuk Seri Chong Kong Choy.

Let Ong publicly furnish the answers to the five questions about the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal or there is no need for MCA to help in the Barisan Nasional campaign for the Kuala Terengganu by-election next month.

1. #1 by ismailhakim on Tuesday, 23 December 2008 - 12:54 pm

Should the Pakatan Rakyat candidate be given the vote in the K.Trenggany byelection this 17 Ja, 2009?

Because it is a PAS candidate, one strong pro Pakatan Rakyat blogger says NO.

Read here his reasons:

http://malaysianunplug.blogspot.com/2008/12/kuala-trengganu-by-election-on-17.html

2. #2 by computation on Tuesday, 23 December 2008 - 12:57 pm

typical mca “leaders”
    bull shitting all the time.
    they look ugly too!

3. #3 by Sony boy on Tuesday, 23 December 2008 - 12:59 pm

Uncle Kit,

I suggest we wait for the Price Waterhouse Coopers (PWC) report as earlier Ong Tee Keat as said he will present the PKFZ findings in 2 parts (chronology and PWC report).

Since he has honoured the 1st part, let’s wait for the 2nd part.

Better not jump the gun.

Thanks.

4. #4 by izrafeil on Tuesday, 23 December 2008 - 2:14 pm

as an aside on the above….
    (a) premugari terlampau BEBAS
    (b) anwar ibrahim – likely SANGKUT
    bravo M’sian Judiciary!!

5. #5 by jedyoong on Tuesday, 23 December 2008 - 2:33 pm

OTK, Tiong Lai, etc only like to “model” for photographers.
    Anyway what groundbreaking revelation did OTK make about PKFZ that we didn’t already know from Mkini, blogs, etc.
    Anyway it’s good they go and “campaign” ‘cos everyone likes a beach holiday?
    Also I think many ppl accept that Barisan is unlawful and corrupt…
    Some maybe even like it ‘cos they can operate illegal farms, mines, etc….
    Hopefully MCA brings some celebrities, maybe from HK/Taiwan, so we can also watch free concert!
    ;)

6. #6 by luking on Tuesday, 23 December 2008 - 3:10 pm

My relatives feedback in kt.As long as mca stays in,they are committed to vot for the opposition or stay home.i told them right,bcos here i voted for pas in the last ge and they r doing great here.don’t worry about hudut as their partners must agree to that first.

7. #7 by hadi on Tuesday, 23 December 2008 - 3:33 pm

All right my buddies in KT, don’t worry about hudud as it is not meant for non muslim. Hudud is only for Muslim if it has to be implemented. And you have the choice that YB Kit and gang must make sure if you don’t like it and we can’t rely on MCA the lapdog of UMNO and hypocrites.
    Vote for PAS and show the BN the way out. Pakatan Rakyat must take over KT, God willing.

8. #8 by Yee Siew Wah on Tuesday, 23 December 2008 - 3:56 pm

AS i have already mentioned, MCA is no longer relevant in representing the chinese. Most of them are only interested in their own pockets and well being. Since when they are sincere in helping their community?? Maybe only during election time. They are all goners as far as rakyat is concerned.
    I have some respect for that OTK before he became president. Now I view him as TKO (talk co_k only). His actions of late proved that they care more of themselves than the community. The PKFZ and the IJN cases are the proof. Even that bum who control the Health Ministry dare not utter anything when those Umno greedy bums wanted to take over IJN. What hearts they have?? Or have they???
    Real sickening. 51+ years is enough.
    Hope rakyat will support PKR and whack these bums properly.

9. #9 by clearwater on Tuesday, 23 December 2008 - 4:05 pm

The whole PKFZ issue stinks of a cover-up. Some of our elected representatives have ripped us off and others are covering for them. This matter cannot be allowed to rest until the truth is uncovered and the perpetrators punished and forced to regurgitate their ill gotten gains.

10. #10 by alikim on Tuesday, 23 December 2008 - 5:51 pm

Before OTK showed his report, I thought this time he would have something to show he is different from his predecessors. However, after reading what he said from the papers, he shows himself as another one with no ‘balls’ of a bigger cannon.

11. #11 by luking on Tuesday, 23 December 2008 - 6:23 pm

What do we expect of him to answer and he knows he has to lie, toe the line OR be told to get out and lost.Do we trust that party to represent us and for our future generation.

12. #12 by monsterball on Tuesday, 23 December 2008 - 7:32 pm

When they say…nothing to hide…they are hiding plenty.
    When they say they are telling the truth….it is the half truth…they want you to hear….for the other half will expose them as liars.
    When they announce some goodies to please Malaysians…becareful. It’s votes capturing tactics….never sincerely for all Malaysians.
    It is usually to divert our attentions from more important exposures of their lies and deceits.
    Such are the characters of UMNO leaders…and MCA have to toe the line.
    Falling out of favour from UMNO means disasters to MCA.
    Right now…internal quarreling started …just days after their party election.
    Yes…Yee Siew Wah is right…MCA is gone case…..no more important.
    Their only hope is keep trying to fool Malaysian Chinese to trust them..as their savior and defender ……being.. second class citizen…live happily at the pleasure of UMNO..which .MCA accepts as their master and Lord.
    Indians have exposed and be done with MIC and biggest UMNO balls carrier……Samy Vellu….useless bugger.
    Malaysian Chinese are yearning for a united Malaysia for Malaysians……..totally free from race and religion politics……for the futures of their children. …..since Anwar Ibrahim came back…team up with DAP….giving Malaysians the real hope.
    Great to see Lim Kit Siang……..ever exposing all these things..for Malaysians to know…which cannot get from newspapers.
    When you tell the truths…..one need not go on a defensive.
    When one keeps defending himself….even to the extend to swear by the Koran…considered as unquestionable truth..it is insulting our intelligence. OTK..is learning fast…how to bullshit.

13. #13 by Ramesh Laxman on Tuesday, 23 December 2008 - 8:24 pm

I think that is now time for us to study the history of countries such as Zimbabwe, and many more states that are now on all fours when addressing the current global financial crisis.

Malaysians must have a sense of history if they want to go foward.Our passpotrts have been repeatedly abused since 2000 and it is only now that a statement has been made on the matter. Even that was only after Interpol humiliated us at the recent conference in Russia.

Our leader both in government and opposition must wake up before it is too late.

14. #14 by juno on Tuesday, 23 December 2008 - 8:42 pm

OTK has been having a field day ever since the ribbons were cut . In time they will say the Swiss banks refuse to give us any records as the money has all dried up . The financial crises has now become the the wool to cover all the wrong doings. As its happening in KT now– with that guy Wan going in for a senatorship for such a short time as mentioned http://sjsandteam.wordpress.com/
    Seems like this govt is on a spree to do what it pleases with the cover ups running to billions and mesmerize the poor voter by carrying his child for MSM photos to depict care for the downtrodden. When will all this evil end?

15. #15 by sinnerconman on Tuesday, 23 December 2008 - 9:16 pm

OTK telling lies and more lies directly to the face of Malaysians and then blowing his own trumpet.

Rm.4.6 billions flowing down the drain.

And if only they had stolen Rm.100 million and save the country Rm.4.5 billions.

16. #16 by wanderer on Tuesday, 23 December 2008 - 10:49 pm

This revealed MCA a political party which is just a shell, not supported even by the Chinese community is unwilling to leave the rotten UMNO-BN administration…goodies come first before serving the nation.
    Don’t expect OKT to reveal all, the answer is very obvious…..

17. #17 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 23 December 2008 - 11:01 pm

Let’s put the ‘RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal’ to one side for the moment and discuss the huge cracks that are beginning to emerge within the cosmetically super-glued Pakatan coalition. Ideologies that are diametrically opposed to each other can never succeed under the same political banner, no matter how hollow it has become.

PAS is the lynchpin within Pakatan and if the latter wants to have a chance at wrestling government at the next GE, personal interests will need to be re-aligned and new partnerships forged.

18. #18 by AhPek on Tuesday, 23 December 2008 - 11:11 pm

Just watching this son……. twisting and twitching as he lied thro his teeth in front of the camera is a real pain in the a—.

19. #19 by ongong on Tuesday, 23 December 2008 - 11:29 pm

OTK was once my political idol. Now, no more. Shameful and disgrace.

20. #20 by mendela on Wednesday, 24 December 2008 - 7:06 am

Just side track a bit, why in such economy meltdowns Bodowi needs to visit Iran and to anger the West? Why can’t he visit our top investors or our top trading partners instead?

Also, have you guys heard earlier what our stupid foreign minister said about the shoe throwing incident during Bush press conference?

We have a bunch of silly airhead leaders!

21. #21 by Godfather on Wednesday, 24 December 2008 - 8:40 am

What is Ong Tee Keat to do ? Implicate his UMNO masters ? Tell the country that the PKFTZ was an UMNO venture cooked up to finance the March 8 elections ? Drag the UMNO treasurer and the then Selangor MB to account for their role in the scandal ?

Nah, OTK has to remain mute, and try to deflect attention to the real issues at hand. The moment he tells the complete story, he is out of a job.

If the government had no bailed out the bondholders, it would have been sued, and everything will come out into the open. By bailing out the bondholders, the rakyat has to fork out billions, and the perpetrators of this daylight robbery get away scot-free. This is the story of Bolehland.

22. #22 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 24 December 2008 - 9:09 am

Its really funny the way these senior politician behave like well pathetic dinosaurs when they get into these situation. They grit their teeth, put on a brave stubborn face and insist on a passable story and they think the public is stupid enough to buy it just because they hold a high office. Its like those old kings desperately holding on to power and a past that is losing its relevance i.e. like Mugabe in Zimbabwe and our own Samy Vellu. They self-covince themselves they are fighting for something that is still important when in reality all they are doing is committing evil.

23. #23 by wanderer on Wednesday, 24 December 2008 - 9:18 am

No Godfather, this is what we call, Transparency and Accountability,
    resulting in good governance. The rakyat are crying for a change and change we must have. Unprincipled politicians have no place in the new Rakyat Malaysia.
    Throw this bunch of racist, corrupt and lying coalition out for good. The younger voters are here to do the job, let’s hope the old boys have learned their lesson.

24. #24 by trublumsian on Wednesday, 24 December 2008 - 9:54 am

zak_hammaad, why do you want to put the ‘RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal’ to one side?? what, 4.6 big fat billions going poofff has muted u?

25. #25 by Godfather on Wednesday, 24 December 2008 - 9:55 am

Transparency and Accountability ? These are just buzzwords for the vultures, the thieves. There are simply too many Malaysians who either don’t care or don’t know what this PKFTZ scandal is all about.

26. #26 by singma on Wednesday, 24 December 2008 - 10:08 am

OTK = Ong Ta Kut ?

What “tell all” is he trumpeting about?

Dare he tell all if he want to remain as Minister!!!

27. #27 by shortie kiasu on Wednesday, 24 December 2008 - 11:22 am

MCA ministers are all the same like the rest in the cabinet, they all work ‘hands in glove’ together with other ministers in the BN.

The people do not expect any truth from any of them. The only way to tell them is to booth them out of Parliament or state assemblies the next general election.

Although the people has to wait for another 5 years, but that is the quality of our ministers.

You see, now Najib, even before he ascends the throne, has started showing his ‘true’ colour, by saying that Perak Government cannot issue freehold land titles to the poor people of the State for their residential houses!!

But Najib and cohorts could issue hundred of thousands of land titles to the super-rich and the corporate figures at a dirt cheap price. The people will not know the truth because all are under wrap.

One classic example is the PKFZ land now in controversies.

The truth is out there. The people will judge all the corrupted people in the BN, and in UMNO especially.

Let the people of KT show them the truth on 17/01/09.

28. #28 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 24 December 2008 - 12:25 pm

How can BN people tell the truth as the truth hurts the Rakyat and their future chances of making more money for themselves by being elected in the next GE???
    Of course they will try all means to hide and cover up as long as they can before it is being discovered!!!
    BN is daring enough to do the dirty things without shame infront of the Rakyat, it is up to our imagination what they dare to do behind the Rakyat!!!

29. #29 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 24 December 2008 - 12:38 pm

Future PM thinks that it is ok to give RM500 million to his best friend who knows nuts about submarine maintenance, do you think he wont give another RM5 Billion to his other best friends who know screws about nuclear plants maintenance???
    Malaysia is going into the drain sooner than later with those power crazy & greedy BN who are good for nothing except hiding the truth!!!

30. #30 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 24 December 2008 - 12:54 pm

It is very very easy to make money in Malaysia if you have the “lubang”. Eg if you know that BN govt is going to develop a certain land eg building a new airport, seaport, free trade zone etc, you just buy up all the land there with low price or just “transfer” the land title from the govt to your name or your relative’s name and once govt announces that it is going to build the airport/seaport/free trade zone on your land, you will be a billionaire in no time!!! of course you need the connection in order to have the first hand insider information before other BN vultures!!! The condition is you must be a BN elite before you are able to get all the insider information!!! – A secret recipe of becoming a billionaire in Malaysia

31. #31 by k1980 on Wednesday, 24 December 2008 - 1:27 pm

32. #32 by Bobster on Wednesday, 24 December 2008 - 2:42 pm

When Ong was elected as MCA new President, thought there was still some hope in the association to turn things around and clean up the mess.

Barely 2 months on board as new MCA President, we noted that Ong has failed in his task as a Transport Minister as well as MCA President. He is carrying the same old ‘fatt’ from his predecessor playing internal politics of Team A and B as well as cover up all the wrong doings of the past presidents.

Ong has failed rakyat Malaysians generally and Malaysian Chinese particularly to turn this country away from corruption and self serving leaders.

Ong, SHAME ON YOU! Get ready to let the whole MCA KICK out in the next election!

33. #33 by Bobster on Wednesday, 24 December 2008 - 2:56 pm

YA, Tell all in KT people to vote for PAS … we in Perak have no regrets and we have done our best … ;)

Hudud law? Great! So be it! Good for those robbers and thiefs sitting at the high chairs that have robbed the nations for 51 yrs.

SUPPORT PAS ALL THE WAY.

p.s: I have just donated to Tony Pua service centre after gotten my bonus… just in case you think am from the other side. Keep up your good work Tony.

34. #34 by Bobster on Wednesday, 24 December 2008 - 6:15 pm

BY the way, if PAS need $$ for KT election, just let us know. Me as Malaysian Chinese and Christian will donate without a single doubt.

Merry Christmas & Peace to all!

35. #35 by son of perpaduan on Wednesday, 24 December 2008 - 9:26 pm

All MCA leaders are same as ‘white horse dark cock.’

36. #36 by veddy.lum74 on Thursday, 25 December 2008 - 7:45 pm

so finally, do you think datuk chua soi lek is better?

all the same?

i see,MCA= main con association!

thy are the perfect match with UMNO,right?

have you watched the MCA youth leaders went to PAS HQ to handover the protest letter?i almost fell off my chair!thy are just like a group of cats trying to ‘protest’ infront of a tiger!so tamed and yet so polite!

MCA is hopeless!!!

37. #37 by isahbiazhar on Sunday, 28 December 2008 - 6:22 am

Nobody wanted this election.It is of no use to anybody.It is a waste of government fund.If only we had a clause saying that in an event of death of an elected person the next on the list who got the highest vote could replace him we could have saved the time and the money of a byelection.This is not so.Harping on the Chinese vote to capture the Parliamentary seat is a political gimmick.The Chinese in this case is not the factor.Out of the 9000, about 2000 will not return to vote.2000 of them will never come out to vote.1000 diehard support the PAS.That means about 4000 people will come out if they are coaxed.If the BN and the PAS were to give each RM1000 it will be RM4000 000; a paltry sum to both the parties.Recently the UMNO/BN had thrown enough money for the Chinese to make them vote but it will not be the case.Chinese voters in Terengganu have changed since the last election and it will be a difficult task for any party to please them.In a Malay dominated area the Chinese will be suspicious of the Malays after winning the election so the best will be the opposition. In reality the election will be more of the Malay voters who will be the deciding factor.The 80 000 voters are equally divided with about 10 000 fence sitters.They will decide the election outcome rather than the Chinese.The problems facing the Malay voters are many.Some of them are:
    a) Unemployment

b) Drug addicts and kampong security

c) Distribution of Wang Ehasan(more towards the UMNO people)

d) Public transport at the worst in the city and the neighbourhood.

e) Kampong prostitution due to high divorce rate.

f) State jobs going to UMNO related cronies and their connections.

g) Not abolishing municipality taxes(which can be subsidised by the oil royalty than going to individuals who are connected).

h)Very badly constructed new roads indicating high corruption so that further roadworks can benefit other cronies.

i)Allocation of shoplots by the state government to all their supporters.

j)Parks only maintained in areas where it is controlled by UMNO(very glaring is the Kuala Ibai area where the floating mosque area is developed while the East side is left in disarray with not even a wakaf for people to take shelter during rain; many people use this area for their walks. the roads are neglected.

k) an international 6 star hotel ,a grand show during the last election but not even started after land had been acquired from the poor kampong folks who were poorly compensated along the Chendering area)
    l) Schools not fully furnished even though wang ehsan is ample (cannot depend on the Federal government)

m) Million dollar library building with age old books on display;underestimating the Trengganu people’s ability to read.

n)State scholarships going only to those connected with UMNO and the others are asked to apply to the Federal government.

o)Not spending enough money to buy equipment for hospitals and expensive drugs which are needed by the poor(Federal funds are insufficient).

p)Poor maintenance of roads in the Kampongs.

The list will go on to show the poor record of the state government not forgetting the lavish spending on horses and untold buildings which could go to the wellbeing of the rakyat.

The MCA and the DAP can be around to see the fun but the rakyat will decide the election.PAS must change and be humble.UMNO has not channged after the election but it changes during an election.This attitude must change.Nobody once elected must forget the people because they are there because of them.