UMNO top leadership opposing Abdullah’s reform bills for anti-corruption and judiciary?

With the end of the 31-day debate on the 2009 Budget last Thursday, the focus of the last six sittings of the current budget meeting ending on December 18 will be on two of the three reform measures which the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, had promised to accomplish before he steps down from office next March.

These are the Bills to establish the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MCAC), reputedly patterned after Hong Kong’s Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) and the Judicial Appointments Commission.

As I have not sighted either of the bills, I am unable to comment intelligently on them.

However, it is evident that both these “reform” bills have evoked considerable opposition in UMNO circles, reaching to very high evels of the Umno leadership.

It would appear that there are powerful Umno circles who are uncomfortable with any measures to create a more independent agency with a bit more bite to fight corruption, especially as the ongoing Umno party elections is mired in the worst money politics and corruption in the party history.

I understand that among powerful UMNO personalities who are strongly opposed to Parliament enacting reform legislation on anti-corruption and the judiciary, and the four-day extension of Parliament to Dec. 18 to debate and approve these bills, are those who are contesting for high Umno posts next March, including candidates for Umno Supreme Council, UMNO Vice Presidents and Deputy President.

I call on the Prime Minister-designate Datuk Seri Najib Razak, who has won the Umno President’s post uncontested, as well as all UMNO candidates for the top party posts, particularly those contesting for the positions of UMNO Deputy President and Vice Presidents to immediately and publicly declare whether they give full support to the reform legislation for anti-corruption and the judiciary, and in particular whether they are fully behind Abdullah with regard to the bills for judicial and anti-corruption reforms to be tabled in Parliament next week.

(Speech at the 2008 DAPSY Congress at Federal Hotel, Kuala Lumpur on Saturday, 6th December 2008)

1. #1 by Mr Smith on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 7:36 pm

Didn’t Zaid tell us that everytime a reform is intended the UMNO warlords will ask, “How will it benefit Malays and UMNO.”
    It is always their interests. The country can go to hell.

2. #2 by w2008 on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 7:52 pm

I agreed with Mr. Smith.

Malaysian are their hostage and loan guarantors for their loan from the world bank, more money for them to use as ‘develop or upgrade’ for corruption/rob.

Yeah, tt is always their interests. The country can go to hell.

3. #3 by monsterball on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 7:59 pm

No ….UMNO can go to hell.
    The country will be saved by Malaysians…that are not hypocrites.
    Millions of Muslims will listen to the Prophet who said…..’Kill the munafiks…..before you kill the enemies”
    In this case…”kill” means.. vote them out completeLy to also gEt rid of ISA.
    My message is inspired by RPK’s speech.

4. #4 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 8:09 pm

To talk about reforming judiciary and ending corruption is good – up to a point – to canvass for popularity but that’s about it.

To actually do it – Why would anyone want to hit his own rice bowl?

Majority enter politics for self aggrandisement from the power that public office brings. It is these 90% that give the 10% not so motivated, a bad name.

5. #5 by Richardqed on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 8:14 pm

“KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 6 – As thousands of residents trudged down the thick jungle trail of Bukit Antarabangsa following an evacuation order, some with their belongings wrapped in plastic bags, the prime minister lamented how Malaysians never learned from history.

“Malaysians never learn. Always a tidak apa (never mind) attitude. We only want to make money,” he said.

His remarks came as the country pondered another hillslope disaster. In the incident which happened at 3am, at least three people were killed while scores are still missing after landslide reduced their homes to concrete rubble.

Abdullah said the latest incident happened because developers only wanted to make money and home owners wanted to live in such locations.
    “Enough is enough. I hope we do not need a third lesson,” he added. — malaysianinsider.com

Do not expect the joker Bodowi to be able to push any reforms through. He cannot even comment correctly on the Bkt Antarabangsa landslide. He is only blaming the developers and blaming the home owners, but not his own corrupt Umno-led government who approved so many dubious housing projects through the years.

He says “enough is enough”, but all the money in the world is ever enough for him and his “korek, korek, korek” party.

The only landslide that Malaysians need from now is a landslide victory for PR to wipe out the good-for-nothing BN in GE13 once and for all. If Malaysians are not smart enough to vote them out, they can expect more housing landslides.

6. #6 by AhPek on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 8:31 pm

‘The only landslide that malaysians need from now is a landslide victory for PR to wipe out the good-for-nothing BN in GE13…………….’ Richardqed.

Definitely if there is only hope for change to happen in this country this must eventuate! Otherwise is talk,talk,talk and more talk.

7. #7 by AhPek on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 8:33 pm

Otherwise there is talk……….and more talk.

8. #8 by Loh on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 9:07 pm

AAB should have put through all the reforms before the March 08 election. He would still be pushed out of the Presidency of UMNO, but then he would have the results to show for posterity. Now that he is out, why would the UMNO warlords want to listen to somebody who is a non-entity in UMNO politics?

When AAB had the authority as President, he chose to maintian elegant silence. When he is out, he will be just dumb. I suppose he can tell the world that he tried. Perhaps he planned all this to justify a three-month extended use of his Airbus 320.

9. #9 by simon041155 on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 9:19 pm

I agree with Loh, but as they say, “Better late than never.” I guess AAB did want to do it earlier but then again, he got his Khairy who is very “aggressive” in acquiring properties and assets and he is a Mr Nice Guy who doesn’t like to rock the boat.

But the reaction of UMNO top-level tells us one thing: They are really, really corrupted! Malays must wake up now and tell them to get lost once and for all.

10. #10 by taiking on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 9:28 pm

These clowns may be products of (-)meritocracy but they still have some self-preservation instincts.

11. #11 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 9:55 pm

Reforms?? Talk about reforms is about winning elections. Elections have come and gone. The next is still years away and the time to visit the issues is then and not now.

Why rock the boat? Let’s make hay while the sunshine still shines.

12. #12 by zak_hammaad on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 10:37 pm

AAB’s “reforms” are being opposed because he is a lame duck PM. In fact it is safe to say that he never had any leadership qualities or the political will to implement these reforms at the beginning of his premiership. Instead of trying to sqeeze the last possible political mileage out of his weak and incompetent leadership, Pakatan would be well advised to prepare for a much tougher time during Najib’s tenure.

I also believe that AAB is trying to place mechanisms to ensure that his influence (as if) remains after his departure.

13. #13 by Godfather on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 10:40 pm

The Mamakthir makes the most ridiculous comment in his blog that he suspects Badawi of wanting to hang on to the PM’s post even after Najis becomes the president of UMNO. This is Mahathirism at its ugliest – divert, distract, disguise, deceive and then depose.

Has anyone heard any of the UMNO candidates talk about transparency and integrity ? Did any candidate suggest that open tenders will be the norm going forward ?

Nah, Mamakthir is warning all those who try to “reform” UMNO that there is only one way or it will be the highway. The only hope is to consign them all to the opposition benches. Thieves will never reform themselves.

14. #14 by Godfather on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 10:52 pm

“Why rock the boat? Let’s make hay while the sunshine still shines.” Undergrad2

The real problem is that the sun isn’t shining anymore. The stock market is going downhill, and next year will be a worse year for the world. Commodity prices will keep falling as the world gets into the worst recession in living memory. Tax revenues will plunge as more and more businesses get into the red or are forced into bankruptcy.

The avenues to steal are getting smaller and smaller. Of course it won’t stop the thieves from trying.

15. #15 by Keris Muda on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 11:57 pm

Uncle Lim:

How about the recent land slide incidents at Bukit Antara Bangsa? Isn’t that one of the obvious signs of corruption? DPM just announced that there will not be any more permit for hill side projects, but how about projects that are being approved previously and are in progress now? Any effort to re-examine these projects and to stop them if they are found not following the proper safety procedures?

We have heard about the calls to stop dangerous hillside projects since the Highland Towers incidents in 1993, but alas, since then we kept hearing one horror story after another of lives being lost in that same area due to landslide tragedy … when will this end?

I remember not long ago in one of your previous posting you mentioned about Taman Melawati. Well, things have not changed much since then. There are at least 2 major hillside projects being carried out in this area currently. The residents opposed them strongly, but amount to nothing…They kept seeing more trees being chopped down and more hillside slopes being cultivated. Even after 308 the new government cannot do anything about these projects since they claimed that these were approved by the previous government before the GE.

The point is whether these projects were being approved according to proper procedures or not? If not are we going to see more lives being lost again? We strongly advise people to be very careful about buying houses in these areas…

For further details, please refer to:
    http://www.savetamanmelawatihill.com/

Also, please read:
    http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/15752/84/

16. #16 by homeblogger on Sunday, 7 December 2008 - 12:50 am

AhPek Says:
    Yesterday at 20: 33.03
    Otherwise there is talk……….and more talk.

=======================

Agree. But I cannot help but think. If Pakatan takes over the government, will they be just like BN? After all, the network, machinery and mechanisms for corruption has already taken root and functioning like a well oiled machine for 51 years under thousands of guises. Would Pakatan leaders be able to withstand the tempations of money, sex and power that have become the hallmark of BN?

BN people aren’t so stupid. In the event Pakatan does take over, crossing over would just be like changing clothes. After all, if we’ve learnt anything over the past few years is that Malaysian politicians are agile chameleons who bend with the wind and speak with forked tongues. They may sport a different look under a different banner and even spout the right rhetoric, but the heart and mind is still the same – trapped in the vice grip of lust for more. And as they (BN crossovers) contaminate the naive Pakatan members and erode whatever semblance of hope Pakatan presents, will we after another 51 years lament the hopelessness of a government still stuck in the swill of money, sex and power?

17. #17 by kcb on Sunday, 7 December 2008 - 12:57 am

Are “Corruption” and “Money Politic” haram? Anyone of you would like to comment, Kassim Ahmat, Shamsul Anuar or cintanegara?

18. #18 by disapointed86 on Sunday, 7 December 2008 - 3:55 am

guys..let see whether what im saying make sense or not..Even if badawi knew that there are money politics and corruption going on..and it actually affect majority of the BN MPS’..which is his own party..do u think he can actually do something about it..if he does..the party will collapse for sure..
    Personally i think badawi is a nice person..no doubt he is weak..i think he is being make used by certain quarter in the party itself to achieve their own agenda..
    just imagine what will each of us will be doing if we were to be in his situation/condition/position…

19. #19 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 7 December 2008 - 4:00 am

Jeffrey says: “To actually do it – Why would anyone want to hit his own rice bowl?”

Have you ever heard of mice setting mouse-traps? Anyone?

Well, UMNO’s setting up an independent ACA or a reformed judicary will only mean putting hordes and hordes of UMNOristas under investigations and not a few prominent names behind bars, wouldn’t it? Look at all those scandals – it’s an endless cascade, week after week, month after month, year after year and we haven’t even finished covering all those BN-governed states yet! I think all that is left of Pak Lah’s wish is only a pipe dream. He is what one would pragmatically call a dame luck. And a lame duck can hardly take care of himself let alone the country. It is so tragic for him; he could have made such a difference to Malaysia in 2003. It’s simply too late to cry over spilt milk now. Pak LAh should just content himself to ride slowly into the susnset, a forgotten miserable failure – without mincing any word.

UMNO warlords that rape, plunder and abuse will continue to hold sway till BN bites the dust in the GE13. So, like UNdergrad2 says, they will make hay while their ‘sun’ still shines.

20. #20 by frankyapp on Sunday, 7 December 2008 - 4:42 am

With out a shadow of doubt,.these UMNO putras and warlords will oppose any form of corruption and judicial reform.Who would not especially when you are sharing the same shoes with these crooks.Liked I said before,many times in this blog,these crooks will never want ,let alone allow such reforms to catch them while they are sucking most of the country or rakysts’ wealth happily. To kcb,I and any non-muslim can answer your questions that corruption and money politic is 100% haram and you or anyone of us don’t need these so-called muslims such as those you mentioned ie Kassim Ahmat,S anuar or veiled guy cintanegara to answer. AAB ,to these crooks is a lame duck,a failure, and a nothing,thus all AAB’s reforms are being treated like a cold turkey.Besides,AAB I think is just want to save his face,trying to implement these two important reforms ie corruption and judicial when he was forced to retire in march next year.Frankly if he is indeed think he is strong and capable,he should have done that in his first term as PM. Sorry for you AAB,time now is your worst enimy/foe.

21. #21 by monsterball on Sunday, 7 December 2008 - 5:07 am

Just vote UMNO and BN out…and all these nonsense of corruptions…acting…and smart logics of UMNO…and ISA.. all will be gone.
    Minds are confused…that’s what they love most..at this present time with Anwar Ibrahim…and Lim Kit Siang..hot on their toes.
    Previously..only LKS. One talk too much…into ISA..you go.
    RPK said ISA was supported by all oppositions..to combat communists.
    It takes the ever cunning snake….Mahathir to twist it….to shut oppositions and he ruled for 22 years.
    LKS went tom ISA twice …under Mahathir…and son jailed too.
    You want to get rid of corruptions and ISA…UMNO must be voted out..so said RPK….and I fully agree.
    Otherwise….live with it
    A slight majority Malaysians asked for it…and they got what they want. Lets see…they will open their eyes and start being Malaysians….not this race or that race.
    Our hope lies on the 2 million educated new voters.
    I hope they quickly register themselves….and not wait till last minute.
    Duties to the country…is foremost…duty to your family future.
    Hope they think like that.

22. #22 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 7 December 2008 - 8:41 am

It is in the nature of the “beast” ie politics that one needs money to campaign for votes.

Even in the so-called bastion of Democracy, the US, where large contributions are canvased by candidates and obtained from groups and individuals (lobbyists) that unduly influence who wins elections for promotion of their respective interests.

The 2008 presidential race was the costliest in history. The candidates, political parties, and interest groups spent a record 5.3 billion!

So too in Malaysia, our politicians need to raise moneys, in part for political purposes of winning elections and staying in power and in part to fill and line their own pockets.

It is human nature generally (no less helped by the highest norms of Capitalism) to be greedy and unable to resist temptation to gain unfair advantage over others, especially in the making of money, when in position to leverage on power.

That is why money politics and concomitant corruption are inevitable part of the poltical process.

It is just that here we don’t have so well refined rules and regulations defining what is legal fund raising (“legal corruption”) and what is not so! [There was actually a proposal recently (from an UMNO politician who saw the “light”) to follow the American system of legitimising to an extent and within clear limits fund raising, often a euphemism for covert corruption].

Here also not les thanks to the feudal culture prevailing amongst both those who govern and those who are governed and the lack of institutions like Ombudsmen, Judiciary, Free Press to expose and counter political corruption, local politicians tend towards excess.

So whereas the ‘mark up’ in public contracts in other places may be (say) 20%, here could rise to 300%!

23. #23 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 7 December 2008 - 8:44 am

To respond to homeblogger’s question yesterday at 20: 33.03 then – whether “if Pakatan takes over the government, will they be just like BN?”, well in light of money being an integral part of the so called democratic political process based on ballot box, it is hard to imagine that political corruption will end with Pakatan Rakyat removing the BN…..

Perhaps Pakatan Rakyat’s politicians will then be able to refine the process of corruption a notch better so that it would appear not so blatant as the display by BN’s politicians. That all. [Which is why our RPK says he is not joining any political faction and would remain a watch dog over PR if and when it comes to power.]

The BN is different in the other sense that its component parties could, until March 8th, accept unreservedly UMNO’s hegemony to unite and be cohesive for common purpose of maintaining power and making money.

Pakatan Rakyat has a bigger problem in uniting in the first place before this common purpose of maintaining power and making money can even kick in!

There is always a tension within Pakatan Rakyat whether DAP, and to an extent PKR, could share ideology let alone submit to hegemony of the theocratic state of PAS.

The ideologies are simply too diametrically opposed to bridge and compromise.

It is a ‘marriage of convenience’ the success rate for a lasting union is, I would say, as good as that of marital union in which a marital partner is trying to have oral sex with the other, a shark!

The only overarching factor uniting the disparate Pakatan Rakyat groups is for now the common enemy, BN, and the need to displace it!

Once this is achieved the simmering tension will explode out in the open when nitty gritty of sharing power is embarked upon….

24. #24 by homeblogger on Sunday, 7 December 2008 - 11:15 am

Jeffrey said :

The only overarching factor uniting the disparate Pakatan Rakyat groups is for now the common enemy, BN, and the need to displace it!

Once this is achieved the simmering tension will explode out in the open when nitty gritty of sharing power is embarked upon….

===========================================

Exactly. Right now, everything is foccused on ending BN’s corrupt stranglehold. The nation’s loathing of BN WILL reach boiling point where they finally give Pakatan a chance at running the show.

What then?

As all eyes are on DAP, Pas and PKR slugging it out in the political and ideological arenas, nobody will be watching the back doors where the demons of lust and greed lurk.

Perhaps in 20 years, it’s Pakatan who will be fighting for it’s right to maintain it’s own version of the ISA to protect its own machinery of corruption. Even with all his seemingly good intentions, DSAI still brings with him a heavy load of baggage that keeps people viewing him (and Pakatan) with suspicion.

It’s this common enemy (BN) and DSAI that is keeping Pakatan together. What happens when he is no longer in the picture?

25. #25 by simon041155 on Sunday, 7 December 2008 - 11:17 am

Good analysis, Jeffrey!

26. #26 by AhPek on Sunday, 7 December 2008 - 12:21 pm

It is probably true to say that the coalition in Pakatan Rakyat still holds is due in no small measure to the presence of that man Datuk Nik Aziz Nik Mat,the menteri besar of Kelantan,and whilst it lasts,we the rakyat had better make use of the window of opportunity to ensure the booting out of BN if we desire for that flicker of hope to effect a change for a better Malaysia.No amount of talk from anyone of you,experts or pseudo-expects would amount to anything if BN is still sitting pretty up there!

27. #27 by w2008 on Sunday, 7 December 2008 - 1:32 pm

Yeah, things will not be changed if you just talk.

Take your courage to explain/talk to the people you know to vote the BN out.

Do not just talk, take action.

28. #28 by simon041155 on Sunday, 7 December 2008 - 1:49 pm

Hahaha, does that last comment make Ah Pek the expert?

29. #29 by AhPek on Sunday, 7 December 2008 - 2:30 pm

simon041155,
    you sound more like a prick who wants to pick up a fight!

30. #30 by simon041155 on Sunday, 7 December 2008 - 3:52 pm

Ah Pek, I was just asking a question when you call other “pseudo-experts” [sic]. I didn’t say you are one, neither did I say you are not one. Only you know who you are.

31. #31 by AhPek on Monday, 8 December 2008 - 1:05 am

simon041155,
    When I used the phrase experts and pseudo-experts it is same as saying Bumiputras and non Bumiputras, no special reference to anyone and therefore I don’t see the necessity in making any inference.The whole gist of my posting is easily understood,and if you have any objection you are free to make your case here ie say to me I am mistaken in my opinion that nothing can be done as long as BN is in power.That’s my stand and if you don’t agree let everybody know.Just don’t be a prick!