Third reason why Musa not fit to be IGP for another day

Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan has provided another reason to the two I gave in Parliament yesterday when moving a censure RM10 salary-cut motion against him why he is not fit to continue as the top police officer in the country for another day.

This new evidence is provided by today’s New Straits Times front-page headlines of Musa’s speech yesterday, “Top cop blasts errant politicians”, which carried front-page quotes by Musa, viz:

“Don’t be role models for criminals, says IGP” and

“Politicians should be helping to build a better society instead of destroying it. If politicians do not respect the law, then criminals would do the same.”

I do not know about other politicians but I feel deeply offended by Musa’s smug and conceited statement for two reasons:

Firstly, responsible and principled politicians never hold themselves as models for criminals, as when we break the law or are held to have broken the law, it is not for any self-gain or profit like robbing public coffers or private wealth.

Does Musa regard Gandhi has having spent his whole life to be a “role model for criminals”, and if not, he should withdraw his offensive remark and apologise to all responsible and principled politicians in the country.

Secondly, it is very clear from Musa’s statement that he has not understood or accepted the thrust of the Royal Police Commission Report – to “make compliance with prescribed laws and human rights one of the three top priorities for PDRM”.

The Royal Police Commission, headed by former Chief Justice Tun Daziddin and former Inspector-General of Police, Tun Hanif Omar, in its Report, Chapter 10, Section 2.1.1 said:

“As the police are there to protect the human rights of the individual whilst maintaining law and order, making policing in Malaysia more compliant with prescribed laws and human rights standards must clearly be a supreme priority for PDRM, along with reducing crime and eradicating corruption. The Ministry of Internal Security, the proposed IPCMC and the leadership of PDRM must continue efforts to launch a comprehensive and sustained initiative that encompasses changes to policy, legislation, codes of ethics and conduct, directives and procedures and training to substantively enhance compliance.”

It is also clear that Musa has either forgotten or ignored the Royal Police Commission’s call for “a fundamental transformation in the character of policing in Malaysia from one that is too easily persuaded to seek recourse in extraordinary emergency laws and giving itself as much space (such as through long remand periods), to one that is sensitive and respectful of the rights of individuals”.

When Musa cannot see the fundamental difference between politicians who are trying to mainstream human rights to create a better Malaysia from big-time criminals, it is time that Malaysia has a new Inspector-General of Police who can provide the leadership to create an efficient, incorruptible, human rights-sensitive, professional world-class police service which can be the pride of all Malaysians.

1. #1 by illuminati on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 1:21 pm

It is so presumptuous of the IGP to speak out as per the quote that was attributed to him in NST. In the first place, criminals will go ahead to break the law as and when they want to without waiting for “errant politicians” to set an example. How naive can this Musa be to make such remarks that insult our intelligence. Maybe he got his English all tangled up and later come out and say he was misquoted.

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 1:45 pm

In the Malaysian context, you could replace the word “politicians” with “the Police”. Consequently, the IGP’s statement could be as follows:

“The Police should be helping to build a better society instead of destroying it. If the police do not respect the law, then criminals would do the same.”

Now you might understand why there is so much lawlessness in this country where criminals rule in the wake of police ineffectiveness, double standards and incompetency, where “Bersih, Cekap dan Mesra” are not worth anything at all.

3. #3 by I Malaysian on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 2:00 pm

What the IGP did not realise is obviously he has become a politician himself and in his cause he has joined the criminal politicians of this country. That’s the reason his predecessor and the former CJ had recommended reforms in his team.

4. #4 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 2:07 pm

YB LKS says: “Third reason why Musa not fit to be IGP for another day”.

C’mon, YB, let’s get real and spill the beans. Surely there must be scores of logical reasons – cogent and unimpregnable – and hordes and hordes of moral ones too why this IGP is not fit to be the IGP.

The public has loads of questions that go a-begging:

1) Wasn’t this IGP’s tenure an accident in time, birthed under very dubious circumstances.

2) This IGP’s term of service is marked by the nadir in policing integrity and performance where criminals and murderers got away scot-free and human rights activists got scorched and scotched!

3) This IGP ‘looks’ squeaky clean in his uniform but isn’t that only mere outward dressing? In the minds and eyes of the public, well…what does the public think? Do we think this IGP otherwise? Has this IGP refuted any of those scathing allegations of him written by RPK yet? You know what they say: if it is not refuted, it could be because it is irrefutable!

I am thoroughly confused: there are politicians who are role models for criminals, and undeniably so, just as there are policemen who are role models for criminals, and verily so. Their crimes come in all sorts of shades and nuances.

5. #5 by k1980 on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 2:13 pm

PR, go all out and make the umno candidate lose his deposit

PUTRAJAYA, Dec 5 — The Election Commission has fixed Jan 17 for the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary by-election if there is a contest on the Jan 6 nomination day.

The parliamentary seat fell vacant when MP Datuk Razali Ismail, who was also Deputy Education Minister, died last Friday. The two-term MP won narrowly against Pas’ Mohamed Sabu in the March 8 general election.

6. #6 by sizzerpac on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 3:02 pm

YB Lim, i think we all can see here the sincerity in your efforts to improve standard of governance, if not the standard of living of all malaysians. Thanks for putting up these issues on the plate of these BN scoundrels. I can see this Pakatan force working on these people because THEY are doing extra work to justify their untidy work. Syabas!!

7. #7 by Cinapek on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 3:33 pm

YB, you said:

“….it is time that Malaysia has a new Inspector-General of Police who can provide the leadership to create an efficient, incorruptible, human rights-sensitive, professional world-class police service which can be the pride of all Malaysians…”

I hate to be a shit disturber or wet blanket but do you see any suitable candidate within sight for replacement? In the foreseeable future, those in line for the IGP position are cut from the same mould and would be as bad if not worse. The solution lies in making sure we put in place the proper political bosses such as the PM and Home Minister. Then hopefully these people can make the IGP toe the line and there are mechanisms to readily remove him if the steps out of line.

8. #8 by pathfinder on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 3:56 pm

Did you all realised that after being interrogated by Police Dr Chua Soi Lek’s blog had dissappeared from Malaysiakinis’ Radar recently. Did they really frightened him off and silenced him? Talking about threats like that…..it happens in the underworld.

9. #9 by chris chong on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 4:28 pm

and wasn’t he involved in fabricating evidents in anwar’s case and was sued by anwar?

btw, how to sack him and get a new IGP? is it possible???

10. #10 by k1980 on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 4:44 pm

the IGP has scared off Chua Soi Lek’s anti-ketuanan malay rhetoric by threatening to broadcast his hotel room movie on RTM

11. #11 by GilaPolitic on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 5:01 pm

Aiyah….Malaysians wish to know why IGP get involves in mega deals as well as “tikam lidah” with politicians ? It is very unprofessional and unethical for the nation Top Brass IGP to mix up his current duties with lobbying mega deals for PDRM and arguing over politics matters.

IGP priority duties in keeping the nation safe and sound forever but Musa has failed to do so based on 3 good reasons given by Uncle LKS in the Parliament and his blog. Malaysians support the removal of Musa if he continues to get involved in lobbying mega deals and talking politics. What a great shame for Musa to cause the dispute with the politicians today? Malaysians want a good respected IGP for PDRM to safe guard the nation and to bring integrity and good image of the police force in Malaysia.

It is time to change the corrupt government said Tun Dr M…yes, Malaysians agreed to change the IGP too. Dont give up ! Uncle LKS.

12. #12 by BNseedell on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 6:29 pm

Yes, Pakatan Rakyat must go all out and make the UMNO candidate lose his deposit in the forthcoming Kuala Terengganu by-election.

Dear YB Lim, please work very closely with all leaders of PR to make this CHANGE happen comes 17 January 2009. Let’s unite to shake the butts of UMNO leaders and make CHANGE possible.

13. #13 by donplaypuks on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 6:36 pm

Dear YB

Better late than never.

I have commented on the dubious shenanigans of our I Raja Polis in my blog – refer ‘Excerpts From Military Intel Reports’ 22/10/08 – based on exposes by RPK and other bloggers to which I Raja Polis has not replied or sued RPK for.

It was also exposed by RPK that Web Powers S/B which was awarded the $4.2 billion contract had engaged Israel nationals as subcon IT specialists operating from S’pore limited companies.

Whem the scandal surfaced, I Raja Polis confessed he hadn’t a clue which is again extremely suspicious when you consider he had lobbied for the project to be awarded to Web Powers.

In any event, it shows what a shambles our vetting system is when big money (billions) public contracts are involved and the security of our nation and it’s top secrets are concerned.

I think nothing short of another Royal Commision is called for to investigate I Raja Polis and possible conflict of interest actions as his son is said to be employed in companies awarded these huge
    5 billion $ helicopter and IT public contracts.

Please get DAP, Pakatan and PAS to push for it daily in Parliament. You must not let up on this. Only a persistent, dogged course of action will succeed in bringing to book these possibly corrupt dealings by public officials!!
    http://donplaypuks.blogspot.com

14. #14 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 10:34 pm

He should look at the mirror before opening his mouth!

15. #15 by chin on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 12:15 am

Royal Police Commission = Royal Police Commi$$ion

Am I Correct ?

16. #16 by sinnerconman on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 1:17 am

YB Kit. there is nothing we can do about the corrupted IGP working hand in hand with the immoral AG. The police and SG were supposed to investigate these two who framed innocent victims and you and many heavy weights MPs with legal background can only give sound arguments, sound nothing but sound. The Speakers who sold Sabah to illegal foreigners keep on suspending PR MPs to protect the government of despots building their empire with bayonets. We the rakyat want you to keep all the evidence and make the despots sit on the throne of bayonet when the PR comes to power, and put them to justice or let the thieves and robbers die in other countries with their ill gotten gains.

17. #17 by disapointed86 on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 2:33 am

thank god we got such a dumb IGP for the world to see…the way he counter criticism is no different compare to a secondary school kids….is he educated anyway..anyone can provide his education background for the world to see??..pls??

18. #18 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 9:06 am

Actually when I saw the headline, I thought for one minute that he was so brave to criticize BN politicians! Then I woke up!!!

19. #19 by comingto50 on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 11:14 am

I have a suggestion for the IGP. If he thinks that it’s a public perception that the crime is only a perceived ‘increase’. Let me suggest to him that he change his police uniform into casual dressing. Then go walk around KL, PJ, Selayang, Cheras, Pandan Indah and etc at different hours of the day and night. Don’t walk in very litted place or many people. Don’t bring your firearm or your police backups or any batons or pepperspray. Go with some disguise so people cannot easily recognise you. Walk alone because you do not need to be fearful. Do it for about 2 to 4 weeks. Then give us your report, please.

20. #20 by comingto50 on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 11:25 am

And yes please include the Home Minister as well.

21. #21 by k1980 on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 11:55 am

The IGP thinks he is living in a virtual country, acting as a virtual policeman and dealing with virtual criminals. He has been playing too much computer games such as “Grand Auto Theft” on his son’s computer. Time to wake up, Hassan

22. #22 by DingDongBell on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 11:57 am

Show Him The Door !

In a democratic society, demonstartion is a form of self expression. For an IGP who cannot diffentiate between a concerned citizen and a criminal, the only thing that I’m going to show him is my middle finger, as I don’t have the power to show him the door !
    With an IGP like that, I’m not surprised the crime in our country is skyrocketing !

23. #23 by frankyapp on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 1:34 pm

Hey guys.don’t push and blame our IGP as you guys know he’s just \ makan gagi \ or earing a salary. I remember telling you guys he and his gangs are all toothless or \no gigi \ in rojak bahasa \ Why is he toothless ?. That’s a good question?. And you guys should ask the PM or DPM who appointed Musa as our IGP. On the other hand,let’s not waste your time asking these two top guys ok. Instead just ask youself should and when you want to appoint someone to implement your plan strictly according to your agenda,who you think you will appoint?. A yes man or a yes but man . Be honest guys ok.

24. #24 by AhPek on Saturday, 6 December 2008 - 2:07 pm

Never for once think that the IGP is dumb and uneducated for he definitely is not.He is a great survivor clinging on for dear life his position and has a ‘retirement’ ricebowl to look after!!