Medical Graduates Unemployed!

(Now that Datuk Liow Tiong Lai has secured the second highest votes and elected as MCA Vice President, it is time that he returns quickly and diligently to his duties as Health Minister which he had considerably neglected of late.

As a result, Malaysians face many grave medical and health problems whether the dengue epidemic which has so have claimed at least 78 lives or the first major outbreak of chikungunya in the country, or the continued bumbling in the administration of the Health Ministry.

Correct me if I am wrong, but I remember when Datuk Dr. Chua Soi Lek was the Health Minister, he promised to end the long-standing hassle of new doctors having to wait for months on end to get their first posting after their graduation – which is criminal negligence when there is acute shortage of doctors in the public service.

Liow Tiong Lai has been sleeping on his job as seen from the following complaint emailed to me. Time for the Health Minister to wake up! I expect him to explain in Parliament this deplorable state of affairs)

I am a fresh medical graduate who is not satisfied with the way the MOH is working.

I have sent and went through all the necessary processes required to apply to work with the ministry. It was about 3 months ago and until now i have no reply from the ministry.

I tried calling the ministry and was told to refer to their Bahagian Latihan and i did as told and after countless time calling (with them refusing to pick up the phone); they finally took my call and the reply I got was that they themselves don’t know when the “kursus induksi” will start!!

I am now lost since I can do nothing for the past three months; just content to staying at home waiting for the letter everyday for the past three months from the ministry.

I can’t go on a holiday or find a part time job since i don’t really know when the letter will arrive and when i will be called up by the ministry.

I think I have wasted a lot of time when i can do a lot more worthy things but instead I am stuck in this situation together with all my other batch mates. We have been stuck in this situation for the past three months and we hope that the ministry will have a more convincing answer as to when our induksi will begin, so that we dont have to keep on staying at home everyday, waiting for the letter; hence not being able to do other things.

This blog will shed some light on our situation.

Excerpts from the above-mentioned blog:

It is now the 15th of October. None of my friends (except the few who registered in early or mid of July) have started work.

We are all waiting for our induction letters. Many have tried calling the MOH and asking about the induction course. Here are some of the responses they got:

-call back in November

-you should be getting your letter anytime soon

-no budget for induction course this year

-it will be at the end of November

-we are waiting for the top people to ‘luluskan’ the induction course

-we don’t know

-the application has not been processed yet

It’s been 3 months since I’ve got back. I have been jobless for 3 months. How long more do I have to wait? I thought that Malaysia has a shortage of doctors. Is this how they choose to handle the problem? By making us sit at home and do nothing?

1. #1 by Godfather on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 8:35 am

Sabar lah. We are too busy worrying about politics to address your problem. Our priority is to put people under the ISA so that we can send a message to the rakyat that we will not tolerate dissent.

If you persist with airing your grievances through Opposition blogs, you may become an ISA candidate. We may send someone to follow you from now on. Your problem is not our problem – unless you choose to make it so.

2. #2 by Kathy on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 8:38 am

Sorry to say that the MOH has not improved with the appointment of the current Health Minister (would rather have Dr Chua Soi Lek back as the Health Minister!!!),

Not only the employment of the newly graduated medical students are left in the lurch, to me the red tape of using the government hospital also have worsen.

Sorry to digress from the above topic but I cannot believe that different government hospital works differently and worse of all, we need to go to a Klinik Kesihatan before we can make an appointment to see a doctor at the Government hospital (not even the specialist yet!!).

If we want to be referred to the specialist, only the doctor that have attended to us at the entry point can / may do so. Why so long winded??? No wonder most of us rather buy insurance (pay a hefty premium) and go to a private hospital.

3. #3 by Kathy on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 8:39 am

Godfather, ain’t we all potential ISA candidates if we voice out our concerns for our beloved country and fellow countrymen?

4. #4 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 8:48 am

cerpen ringkas imaginasiku bertajuk doktor
    ah…aku bukannya memerlukan seorang doktor sekarang. aku lebih memerlukan seorang tukang baju untuk memastikan poket poket baju dan seluarku dibuat dari bahan yang tidak mudah koyak agar duitku yang banyak tidak tercicir. aku lebih memerlukan tukang tulis untuk menulis berkenaan aku yang baik baik belaka kerana rakanku telah meninggalkan aku. aku lebih memerlukan menantuku yang lelaki kerana dia mampu memimpinku di masa aku bersara kelak. aku harap dia tidak akan meningggalkan aku. aku lebih memerlukan senjata ISA ku untuk mengurung mereka mereka yang berani mencabarku. aku rasa ISA lebih merana dari Si4 kerana mereka akan terseksa perlahan lahan. ah, banyak lagi yang aku perlukan kini dari seorang doktor…

5. #5 by Thinking Two on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 8:50 am

They are in for personal interest ONLY.

Do you think they are do all the donkey work for the Rakyat?

Dream longer lah!

6. #6 by taiking on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 8:51 am

Godfather is absolutely correct. Then MCA MPs just need to beg when doing their job. Now MCA members promised to voice their stand as well.

Umno has been pampered by all these beggings for too long. So long that they are brave enough to call themselves tuan and claim for themselves all sorts of privileges even though they knew for a fact that 90% of them are pendatang / penumpang like the rest of us non-malays.

So begging they must continue because of umno’s attitude plus standing up they too must for have blabbed it as a part of their effort to renew and revitalise MCA.

Dont know how they can do them both at the same time. That is perhaps why our MOH is all bogged down now trying to hatch new ideas and ways to beg and stand up.

I have a suggestion, if they were begging on their knees in the past maybe they could now beg on their feet – you know, in upright position – stand up position – erect position. That could be a nice middle road to take.

7. #7 by ahkok1982 on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 9:03 am

Sorry, if you dont pay $$$ you cant get anything done here in this land.

You want your application processed? pay $$$
    You want your application approved? pay $$$
    You want status information? pay $$$
    You want to know when the course will start? pay $$$
    You want to know if there is even a course? pay $$$

If no $$$, they are not free… sorry la, busy scratch something and shaking leg

8. #8 by bclee on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 9:26 am

hello where got time to look after this.
    i am busy with my MCA election mah!
    Money, power, position. this is all i am looking for.

9. #9 by bystander on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 9:40 am

Who are you? “we have our politics to worry about”. you are all not important to them

10. #10 by Freddy on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 9:47 am

We are seeing the WORST health minister in Malaysia. The melamine issue, Liow not only showed that he’s incapable and incompetent in handling this crisis but he lied through his teeth.

Guess the opposition MPs are just too busy to demand an answer from him.

In Taiwan, the blunders made by its ex-health minister Lin Fang-yu led to his 24-hour resignation!

In Malaysia, I guess both the gomen and opposition are just too busy ‘playing catching’.

Look around us, what are the both of them doing except for playing politics while neglecting the rakyat? Don’t you think the rakyat has enough of bulls**t?

11. #11 by Bobster on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 10:03 am

Am not surprise how this Liow Tiong Lai will perform in the coming days. Similar to Ng Yen Yen, Azalina etc. Their similar character:- Prefer self-promoting putting their faces every where from advertisement boards to tvs, showing that as if their were working. But produce no result. 2-3 weeks after Singapore AVA banned produces with trace of melamine exceed legal limit, only then our KKM issued the same instruction. Come jokers, so slow, boat already left reaching holland the way you guys carry out your duty.

Highest respect for people like Chua Soi Lek and Ibrahim Zaid, though whatever people say abt the formal. Dare to put their head on the chopping board and take responsible for their believes and action.

12. #12 by The Old Man By The Sea on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 10:38 am

Liow Tiong Lai sounds like a Minister of Health, looks like a Minister of Health but he is not a Minister of Health. Hew pretends to be one. He doesn not have the qualification or the capabilites to be one. In other word, he doesn not have the brain to be one.

This is the problem with Malaysia. Look at the Cabinet, compare with Singapore. What can you see? A group of clownish and down trodden guys and gals in Malaysia whereas a highly intelligent guys and gals in Singapore. The Ministers and Deputies are chosen soley of their positions in thier respective parties not because of their intellect and expertise. With such people (most not fit to be an executive officer in any small office or factory or kindergarten teachers) being the so called Minister or deputy minister, no wonder this country is going to the dogs. Even the Cabinet members of the Indonesian Government is better. I should not dulge into Thailand, Loas or Vietnam as ours don’t stand a chance. Maybe our Cabinet members and the deputy ministers can give a tough fight to the Myanmar Cabinet but don’t be suprise in 2 or 3 years we will be behind them although thiers are a military junta.

As long as we select our Ministers and deputy ministers based on thier popularities in thier own political parties, this country cannot survive and lose completely her competitiveness in ASEAN region. In another 10 years ahead, this nation will looks like Indonesia during Suharto’s time.

Liow Tiong Lai is not fit in all respect to be in MOH or any other ministry.

13. #13 by observer_T on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 10:50 am

i agree with Kathy, i rather have Chua Soi Lek as health minister. and i strongly agree that, a health minister should be a doctor. and not a Lawyer or whatever ….must be a doctor. Liow Tiong Lai must look for other ministry to be incharge of, but not Health Ministry.

14. #14 by Godfather on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 10:51 am

Yes, Kathy, we are all potential ISA candidates. If you voice your concerns, you are a threat to national security. If, God forbid, you voice your concerns through a foreign mouthpiece, then you are a traitor. If you voice your concerns too loudly, then you are a terrorist.

That is the doctrine of the “visionary” known as Mamakthir, which will be followed by Najis and his goons.

15. #15 by pathfinder on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 10:57 am

Aiya, after Dr Chua left the MOH is in a mess. we have chikungunya, patients died line up for medical care, slow action to ban those melamine contaminated products, now doctors don’t know when they can report to work. Huh….This is a joke man. How can they turn MOH into a joke. Dr Chua should be back in charge of the MOH, there he kick backside of those who don’t work. He practically screwed those who need to be screwed and he got the video to prove it and stick his neck out to be chopped. The present minister and I can safely declared that the whole cabinet don’t have such credentials and experience. Please don’t laugh I am serious.

16. #16 by Emily Pratt on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 11:43 am

Arrgggghhhh!

To the person who said that Minister of Health (MisoH) must be a MD, please be more open minded.

In the grander scheme of things, a doctor is not the only person who is a health worker and neither they are the most important person in a health care system.

A pharmacist, a radiographer, a laboratory technician,a nurse are just important to the smooth running of a health care system.

I for one do not see why a Health Minister cannot be a Nurse, a pharmacist or any of those allied health care worker.

Liow Tiong Lai is not doing a good job because he is too busy politic’ing and neglected his ministerial duties. And not because he is a non-MD. There is a different.

17. #17 by raven77 on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 12:16 pm

Chua Soi Lek…..the porn star as Minister again!!??……kids in Malaysia associate CSL with pornography……..have Malaysians lost all principles and morals that we have to follow the road of the MCA. Liow is a lousy Health Minister….but he can be a better one if he first gets rid off the dimwit Director General and ball carrier..Ismail Merican. Liow should be firmer and ensure that he has proper managers at the Health Ministry……but since UMNO has already told MCA to go to hell……this Ministry is doomed as even a cursory look at its top management reveals a group of misfits….It’s better MCA returns this Ministry to UMNO, MIC or whoever…….the bunch of civil servants running the MOH have drove it so deep into the ground that only God can help it revive it…………..

18. #18 by teacher on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 12:36 pm

Chuah should be reappointed Health Minister and we will be able to see improvements. Lets leave his private life alone. Who has not sinned in this world?. ‘Let him who feels that he is free of sin cast the first stone.’

19. #19 by Emily Pratt on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 12:49 pm

Chua Soi Lek committed extra-marital affair. It is not a illegal thing in Malaysia (as defined by our Penal code). It is a private matter between him, family and conscience. (Pls correct me if I am wrong)

To the rest of us, let’s judge him by his capability, not his private affairs.

20. #20 by jonathan89 on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 1:28 pm

im not too informed on these issues but sounds like just because you’re a medical graduate you expect to get employed just like that?
    the government is doin a favour by employing you guys but they bite back at the hands that feed them. If they’re good enough, they’ll get a job at a private clinic no problem.

21. #21 by Emily Pratt on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 1:38 pm

jonathan89 said: “im not too informed on these issues but sounds like just because you’re a medical graduate you expect to get employed just like that?
    the government is doin a favour by employing you guys but they bite back at the hands that feed them. If they’re good enough, they’ll get a job at a private clinic no problem.”
    ===============================================

For a Medical Degree Graduate, they need to serve/bonded/enslaved by the government for 1+3 years before getting their professional license to work independently or in the private sector.

22. #22 by observer_T on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 1:50 pm

Emily Pratt Says:

In the grander scheme of things, a doctor is not the only person who is a health worker and neither they are the most important person in a health care system.

A pharmacist, a radiographer, a laboratory technician,a nurse are just important to the smooth running of a health care system.

I for one do not see why a Health Minister cannot be a Nurse, a pharmacist or any of those allied health care worker.

Liow Tiong Lai is not doing a good job because he is too busy politic’ing and neglected his ministerial duties. And not because he is a non-MD. There is a different.

yes.. i do agree with you maam, cheers……

23. #23 by kftang on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 1:51 pm

If it is a sick person, waiting for 6 months or so to get treatment at the clinic, he would be ‘six feet underground’ by now! So what is the MOH doing?

24. #24 by observer_T on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 1:54 pm

teacher says ‘Chuah should be reappointed Health Minister and we will be able to see improvements. Lets leave his private life alone. Who has not sinned in this world?. ‘Let him who feels that he is free of sin cast the first stone.’’
    ==================================================

yes..
    the previous Health Minister had done a lot better….in the Health Industry….he should be given chance…..

25. #25 by Swarnabumi on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 2:00 pm

Well Mr or Ms Fresh Graduate ,

You see , our country has too many “over qualified” medical doctors. Like those who give the wrong injection, wrong medicine, wrong blood , destroy a little girl future by cutting off her hand or a baby’s finger, convert innocent patients into AIDs patient( via blood transfusion) and many other “malaysian medical wonders”. They may need not sincere and dedicated MOs like you because many in service may not be able to match your ability .

The problem is we don’t have good administrators/managers to manage the resources to deliver results to the rakyat.As a young man, I wanted to become an agriculture scientist to increase food production BUT what I got was a store clerk. I fought back the odds , become a manager and graduated with an MBA from overseas.
    Young People out there , Don’t give up. Have faith and keep fighting. Do what I did, go to the ministers’ office every alternate day and bug the minister clowns. Go in group. Tell him, we will see you during GE13 ! In the learning process you shall understand real life and become a leader.

26. #26 by raven77 on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 2:05 pm

Wow…looks like LKS’s website is overwhemingly infected by the porn star’s cybertroopers…Tee Kiat….you are a goner.

27. #27 by Damocles on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 2:09 pm

# Emily Pratt Says:
    Today at 12: 49.01 (41 minutes ago)

“Chua Soi Lek committed extra-marital affair. It is not a illegal thing in Malaysia (as defined by our Penal code). It is a private matter between him, family and conscience. (Pls correct me if I am wrong)

To the rest of us, let’s judge him by his capability, not his private affairs.”

I think that you got it completely wrong!
    As a minister, the matter is not just between him and his family!
    He is not an ordinary Joe! He has the destiny of the country in his hands!! What he does will affect the lives of all Malaysians!!
    Laxity of morals in one area can lead to moral laxity in other areas.
    Sex scandals can also lead to blackmail by foreign spies if they latched on to the matter!
    Also, are we so lacking in good people to run the country that we have to accept one that is less than a shiny example to our people?
    I’ve been reading a lot of postings in blogs and I am convinced that Malaysians are still very naive!!!

28. #28 by Emily Pratt on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 2:49 pm

Damocles,

I am no fan of CSL. Let this be very clear. I am not defending him.

I want to separate what is private with what is public, lest we be a nation of nosy busy-body.

If what you say is true, then all criminals should never be given opportunity to repent or rehabilitate nor are they allowed to be back into society, but to be branded and become social outcast for the rest of their lives?

Not being naive sir, being humanistic.

29. #29 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 4:24 pm

I think CSL has paid for his misdeed.
    Remember Bill Clinton?
    Leaving medical graduates unused for any number of weeks is a serious oversight but surely the MoH does not need the Health Minister to arrange such programs?
    This is after all not the first intake and we should get to the bottom of things – not CSL’s bottom!

30. #30 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 4:26 pm

just another point about foreign spies blackmailing ministers.
    What is there to blackmail when the matter is public knowledge?
    It is only those with (dinosaur) skeletons hidden that can be blackmailed.

31. #31 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 4:35 pm

So … is someone going to bring the criminal negligence case? I guess you need someone to die, be horrifically scarred or traumatised beyond repair first, as a direct result of a lack of doctors? Or does it have to be so personal? Is it enough to do some sort of statistical analysis that shows so many % of deaths, scarrings, trauma-cases could have been avoided with higher staffing levels?

If someone doesn’t bring the criminal negligence case, wouldn’t that make anybody who believes a crime is being committed (much less writes in public) morally negligent? Just asking, you know me! I’m not sure I would have been so quick to announce a crime was taking place unless I actually planned to do something about it.

I note from the blog linked in the article that medical students are expected to wait by the postbox for 3 months, and then attend at short notice (days) when their assignment arrives. I don’t recognise the esteem with which medical graduates are held in Malaysia. Could it be that they really are deserving of contempt? Like parasites? After so much money is invested in them, you consolidate their gratitude by treating them like conscripts?

Getting a good quality degree is not an easy ride, and these people are valuable human resources. The least an induction letter could do is to treat them like equals and invite them to arrange a mutually acceptable start-time so that they can have some control over their lives in the interim. 3 months ‘ready to leave’ is 3 months wasted.

“Correct me if I’m wrong…” OK, not wrong, perhaps inconsistent. According to wikipedia, Chua Soi Lek was Minister of Health from 2004 to 2008. He promised for 4 years? I don’t think you treat similar examples of ministerial performance so generously.

32. #32 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 4:48 pm

What is private should have been kept private! you can only make what is private public when you are a proclaimed phono-star! Whether a phono-star should be judged by the public will depend on his/her popularity based on the sales of the DVD; whether original or pirated.
    In the case of public servant or leader, things meant to be private but shown to the public will necessarily allow public to judge him/her based on that person’s perception of morality. No one can force me to judge him with his pants on! As I will always see him without his pants! That impression can not be erased easily; no matter what is said.
    In the case of MOH, it is a shame that he has neglected his job! Whether a person should be a doctor to be MOH is debatable. Not every accountant will run a good corporate company! Some are just bean counters!

33. #33 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 5:48 pm

“….private should have been kept private…” yes but did he purposely make public that which should be private? No- some scoundrel -whom if caught would be jailed – violated his privacy and made it public for him! Would it be different if someone with hidden camera took clips of him and his wife and made it public via youtube – would you still feel ashamed of him as minister (I mean, minister of health, not minister of church)???

Did he have sex with underaged girl or any girl without her consent ? – No.

Did he victimise any girl? No he and his partner were victims : why are we rerwarding the victimisers by giving them exactly what they wanted and designed – destruction of their victim’s political career???

Did he abuse public resources or facilities for his tyrsts? – No!

Does his extra marital affair or his penchant for opposite sex has anything to do with his intelligence, character and integrity or diligence in discharge of his public duties? Show me the nexus!

Did he lie when caught and try to absolve himself ? – No!

Did he engage in “inappropriate behaviour” with women other than his wife? Yes, but his wife has forgiven him and supported his political career so what is our beef?

The fact of the matter is that we would rather not see such private sexual romps thrown up so closely at our face. Rather, they would think of our leader as a virtuous person, easily capable of assuming the heavy and important responsibilities placed upon him and yet not susceptible to human weakness or foibles.

This is because we feel vicarious shame and reason for that is that we are ashamed of such a basic thing as the the sex act to the extent that it is Ok to do it like rabbits (the natural biological act) in private and in the closet as long as no one explicitly knows about it in the sense of perceiving it directly with 5 senses but otherwise any knowledge by logical deduction from common knowledge and inference of mankind is OK!

If we think like that (refuse to confront face and accept our own biological imperative), I don’t know who needs more help – he or us!

If you treasure your liberty, try not to be so illiberal to others. Otherwise it is the first step towards a society of moral police prowling the parks to catch and harrass courting unmarried couples and putting them in jail for immorality and public indecency.

I am sure that you know of liberal societies where individual freedom is held dear where known homosexuals and gays are even knighted, and in Australia even hold public office…..

If Chua Soi Lek’s act were so despicable by malaysian standards as distinct from Western standards, explain how come he had enough supporters to win MCA’s Deputy President Post over his other contenders?

Who would we otherwise like to have as Health Minister – any from the present crop of fellas from BN whose extra marital trysts have not yet been exposed, if not buried by exercise of power?

34. #34 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 6:50 pm

I’m sorry about my previous post, I thought this was about unemployed medical graduates.

I’m confused by the support for Chua Soi Lek. Jeffrey’s right, he didn’t do any of those terrible (or perfectly normal, depending on your open-mindedness) things, but what kind of argument is that? He was a state employee, in a position of great trust, and he was caught in breach of a contract that’s in the public domain.

What’s so difficult to understand? Think of his marriage contract as a parking fine. The public would have less faith in a public servant if they discovered he hadn’t paid his parking fines. What expectation can someone have that their trust is well-placed if the person they’ve placed it in has breached any contract?

All that the episode reveals is something not terribly interesting about one man. That he is on video while others are not, or have yet to have their videos made available to the masses is his very own misfortune. Of course it is natural to prefer a politician whose marital trysts have not yet been exposed. They at least have the veneer of respectability.

“explain how come”
    Maybe MCA members don’t know how to access porn on the Internet and want to see more? I can’t think what kind of answer you’re expecting! Does his win say something good about him, or bad about the other contenders?

That’s an appallingly poor set of arguments Jeffrey, are you feeling all right?

35. #35 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 7:05 pm

His “win” suggests a sub set of supporters who would not hold what happened – which is definitely not within domain of public contracts breached or fines unpaid or other illegal acts – against his eligibility to contest, win and hold public office. After all we are also talking about Malaysian standards vs other standards, aren’t we? :)

36. #36 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 7:25 pm

Marital laws may be public laws but marital relations and infidelities, and whether spouse forgives or condones are private relations not within public domain. It is a strange to view breach of marriage contract as sharing public domain and concern as non payment of a parking fine or breach of other public contracts or duties….

Would pople here be more forgiving if there was no breach of marriage contract and he was caught on VCD (disseminated) having sex with his spouse? I don’t think so!

37. #37 by teacher on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 8:08 pm

Hello guys,
    Lets step back and consider for a while. What CSL did was not illegal.The only sin which was not his doing because some bloke for reasons known to him and here I don’t want to speculate taped him and produced a dvd. There are so many more who have had tryst but no one knows of it so these guys can go on in govt holding high post.
    We must not judge CSL according to our norms. The mca delegates gave him their vote over Ong and Ong Sdn Bhd.
    Let CSL go back to the Health Ministry and complete his mission of making life better for us. Lets not judge him for lets leave judging to the Almighty.How many of us can stand infront of a mirror, look at ourself and say WE ARE FREE OF SIN. As long as we are human beings we are all sinners. SO DO NOT JUDGE YOUR NEIGHBOUR and leave this for the ALMIGHTY!!!!!@@@@@

38. #38 by tuanlokong on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 8:17 pm

Many Location have no Doctors what is MOH doing? Maybe tunggu all those Graduates masuk MCA members baru dapat kerja? Just guessing

39. #39 by lopez on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 9:06 pm

M see hair deserves a clinical burial, these losers do not deserve mention in this blog, a bunch of idiots who has benefitted from alms of their mentors and now it is pay back time.
    They have no choice shoe shinners and crumps pickers, a low esteem lot in pretentious motions and talk.

All this while they never know they dress in white in their gatherings like kkk of some sort by lacks substances and allegiance tot he people their claimed to represent and sold.

the ancestors will part them to the deepest hell and reborn as lowest creatures of the living world, if they get pass the 18 immortals of hell.

40. #40 by sudokuku on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 9:37 pm

MOH is waiting for about 1000 to 2000 people to died before coming in with a heroic rescue, then they say ” see, I did the miracle , now reward me”.

41. #41 by Godfather on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 9:50 pm

Jeffrey:

CSL won not because there is overwhelming support for his proven sexual prowess. He won because the majority did not want a continuation of the Ong dynasty. It was a case of a choice between two rotten apples – and the delegates chose what they thought was a lesser evil.

To answer your question as to whether a DVD made of a politician having sex with his wife would be less damaging than a DVD made of that person having extra-marital sex, the answer would be YES. In both cases, the politician would be seen at best as being stupid.

42. #42 by Godfather on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 9:55 pm

Just imagine the scenarios of CSL retaining his old portfolio as Health Minister and (1) promoting safe sex (2) family planning (3) discussing the annual Durex findings on Asian men’s libido.

CSL has no moral fibre to lead a ministry, or to lead the MCA, or to lead the country. If you want to be a leader, then the scrutiny of your personal life is fair game.

43. #43 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 10:43 pm

“more forgiving if … caught on VCD ([!]) having sex with his spouse?”
    Now I feel very foreign. Jeffrey, you believe that Malaysians wouldn’t view a subject of voyeurism / gross invasion of privacy / unwittingly made into the star of the type of movie I strongly suspect is illegal in Malaysia any differently, whether the subject was with their spouse or having an extra marital affair? Malaysians! Makes no difference to you?

The purpose of comparing his marriage contract to a parking fine was to separate his marriage from any “higher purpose”. I believe his breach of marital contract is a small matter, in the great scheme of things. He appears to have been penalised (interruption of career), and that should be it, where he’s concerned.

@teacher:
    “we are free of sin”. I’m free of sin, and you have the benefit of my doubt! I’m tiada agama, they tell me – we don’t have sin. So far as I, or anybody else knows, I have committed no crimes for which I have not already been publicly punished. Well okay, maybe I broke the speed limit … a lot … when I was in my twenties, and only got fined once, but I do regret it, and I am sorry. Anyway, the point is, I believe we must all judge, within our limited power to do so – voting is judgement, of a kind. You’re right – he did nothing illegal, and he was the victim of other crimes. But he has done something that weakened trust in him and upset his associates. Voters aren’t attracted to that, and his “holiday” from office shows that his associates don’t like it. He’s been in the doghouse and come back. All’s well that ends well, don’t you think? I think we can probably wipe his slate clean on this account. Judge for yourself ;)

Does anyone want to discuss unemployed med grads now?

44. #44 by Lim Koo on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 11:38 pm

With due respect, why didn’t Jeffery mention about the other “victim”, the woman caught in the video with CSL? If Jeffery’s argument is “morally right”, what if she happens to be the wife or sister or daughter of a certain MCA delegate who unwittingly voted him in? Will this poor guy forgives his wife and CSL the way CSL’s wife forgave them?

I don’t mean to hurt the feeling of anybody. But I do suggest that those MCA members who voted CSL in and find extramarital affairs as nothing wrong to go back and do some “housekeeping”.

45. #45 by Lim Koo on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 11:40 pm

Typo error: Jeffrey, not Jeffery.

46. #46 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 22 October 2008 - 8:51 am

/// Damocles Says:
    Yesterday at 14: 09.33
    Sex scandals can also lead to blackmail by foreign spies if they latched on to the matter! ///

Damocles,

That will only be true if the misdeed is still unexposed. But in CSL’s case, it was already out in the open and so it has no blackmail value. If the scandal is still known only to a select few, then the threat of exposure will hang like Damocle’s Sword (sorry, can’t resist this!) and CSL would then be subject to blackmail, either by foreign spies (heck, even local spies) or someone out to make a fast buck.

47. #47 by izzi on Wednesday, 22 October 2008 - 10:35 am

I am also waiting for Induksi course.
    We are expected to be called in somewhere near end of August.
    We were told that September is bulan puasa.
    If they start in end August, it will Clash with the Puasa Month.
    So August Induksi is not possible.
    Then September is the Puasa Month Itself. So again it is not possible to hold any Induksi.
    Now it is 22th October and i have not received anything yet.
    I suppose it is the Deepavali coming so nothing can be held?
    Maybe Christmas and New Year and Chinese New Year in line….

48. #48 by shortie kiasu on Wednesday, 22 October 2008 - 11:22 am

Besides inefficiency of government servants and ministers, one can only assume that the racial issue is at play again in this recruitment of graduate doctors, unless the degrees are not recognised or coming from an institution not acceptable by the ministry of health or the public service dept/commission.

It can be most frustrating after spending hundred of thousands of ringgit of your own money or your parent money, now with a medical degree, one cannot be accpeted into the government hospital, and one cannot go anywhere because the law here says one has to work compulsorily for government for 3 years plus 1 year of housemanship, unless one leave the country to work elsewhere where regulations are different.

The good thing is this matter had been brought into the parliament yesterday by YB LKT. One hopes but doubt the situation will improve for the benefit for the medical gradutes, especially if one is not a Malay bumiputra.

49. #49 by Lim Koo on Wednesday, 22 October 2008 - 6:59 pm

Past MCA President Dr. LLS has voiced out in support of Dr. CSL’s “naughty” behavior, which was caught in a video having sex with a woman.

With due respect, will Dr. LLS please enlighten us what would he say if the woman happened to be his wife, sister, or daughter?

I don’t mean to insult anybody. But since Dr. LLS has been a leader in the Chinese community and is still a public figure, I and many others expect him not to apply double standards as far as extramarital affairs is concerned.

I also call upon all female MCA members to boycott Dr CSL. As for male MCA members who support Dr. CSL, please ensure that your wives, sisters, or daughters are not in company with the likes of Dr. LLS and Dr. CSL.

50. #50 by ccl on Sunday, 14 December 2008 - 1:22 pm

I am conducting a research for my thesis as part of the requirement for my Bachelor of Economics (Human Resource Economics). The title of this thesis is “Unemployment Among Graduates”.

In my research, the respondents will include graduates who are not working yet, 3 months after their convocation.

Any of your friend not working yet, 3 months after their convocation? If yes, can u give me their email address or email their mail address to me ([email protected]) Cos I need their help to be my respondent in filling up the questionnaire.

Currently, I faced a severe problem. I can’t get any respondent who are not working yet, 3 months after their convocation. Hopefully you can help me.

Your co-operation is much appreciated. Your response will be use for the preparation of thesis only and the information will be kept confidential. Thanks…