Hindraf ban – retrogressive/vindictive hampering nation-building healing process

The banning of Hindraf by the Home Minister, Datuk Seri Hamid Albar must be deplored in the strongest possible terms.

It is a retrogressive, vindictive and petty step which will hamper the nation-building healing process vital for Malaysians to feel one and united people again.

Instead of reaching out to the Malaysian Indian community to resolve the root political, socio-economic, cultural and religious causes which have made Malaysian Indians an alienated and aggrieved community as the new underclass in the country, ham-fisted measures to ban Hindraf will only aggravate the disaffection among the Indian community.

Coming in his last five months as Prime Minister, the ban on Hindraf is also testimony to the failure of Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to take nation-building to a new and more mature level.

DAP MPs will raise in Parliament the undemocratic and myopic ban on Hindraf.

After the March 8 general election, BN MPs from all the BN component parties pledged to be more outspoken to protect the rights and interests of all communiies.

I invite MPs from all the BN component parties to join with Pakatan Rakyat MPs to take a common stand – to demand that the Home Minister revoke the ban on Hindraf and to call on Abdullah to give top priority in his last five months as Prime Minister to end the polarisation process by heading an all-party parliamentary committee to address the long-standing and legitimate grievances of the Malaysian Indians.

1. #1 by kftang on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 7:40 pm

We know that it is coming! At long last, Hindraf has been declared an illegal organisation after all these months of uncertainty. So there isn’t any surprise as to the announcement by the Home Minister.

2. #2 by benny on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 7:42 pm

Dear YB,
    I just cant imagine the botak minister along with the cabinet ministers to ban HINDRAF.My foot HINDRAF is banned,i will start on MAKKAL SAKTHI.The BODOVI as usual busy accumulating wealth b4 march.The UMNO Racist party never learn anything since march 2008 and they will never learn forever.
    The PM IS A PM FOR UMNO WHO ONLY REPRESENT 3.8 MIL POPULATION WHT ABT THE REST OF THE POPULATION.The BN component partys are still whacking their tail to their master,and I AM 100% sure BN IS HEADING TO hell FOR THEIR ARROGANCE.I SWEAR TODAY AND CURSE THE BN PARTY TO FALL B4 MY DEATH.

3. #3 by lew1328 on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 7:48 pm

Greetings! Kit

They may ban their organization but not their spirits.

Now their finger pointed at Indian, later they will come to Chinese… Oh… MCA what you say…

Poor Malaysian… melodramatic… the wave comes and goes…

4. #4 by thom on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 7:49 pm

Syed Hamid should be the one BANNED from holding any posts in the Cabinet. What is he thinking?! How does banning HINDRAF solve ANYTHING?!

5. #5 by jacksojulian on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 7:52 pm

Another victim of Utusan Malaysia & TV3.
    Utusan Malaysia & TV3 must take the consequences.

6. #6 by Saint on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 7:57 pm

What is in a name?
    Indians are still living in this country.

7. #7 by jacksojulian on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 7:59 pm

Dear all HINDRAF & friends,
    Please stay calm to deal with the evil regime. Staging any street protest will make all of us fall into their trap, then we all lost. Hope PR will take over the Federal Government sooner.

8. #8 by ahpiow on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 8:04 pm

More fodder for the Opposition (the new govt-in-waiting)

9. #9 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 8:09 pm

The same Hindraf people also attended Anwar’s open house and was there any problem? None!
    Then, there must be something seriously wrong with AAB’ open house. If the authority had deemed them as illegal assembly, they could have stopped them from entering the “open house”, right?

This is the same old UMNO’s arrogant bulldozer mentality now openly seen bullying the Indians before the watching eyes of international communities and yet the other BN component parties like Gerakan & MCA still want to “wait and see” change. How childish!

This ruthless & mindless & tactless ban on Hindraf will cause BN to lose more votes come the next GE for sure!!!!!

10. #10 by malaysia born on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 8:27 pm

What type of Ministers do we have when the easy way out for them is just simply to ban anything that doesn’t agree with them?

They can’t even initiate any type of reconcilationary approaches in their own back yard. How inheaven’s anme can they do anything worthwhile on the international stage?

This country is definetely going downhill and the bottom looks rather deep!

11. #11 by Damocles on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 8:35 pm

And some Malaysians are banking on the hope that UMNO/BN will pass reforms?

12. #12 by Zaitun 68 on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 8:51 pm

This is an ill-considered decision. To neutral observers, this act will now be interpreted as oppression against a helpless, disadvantaged minority ethnic group.

13. #13 by Loh on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 8:53 pm

AAB wanted explanation from a delegate attending Gerakan meeting to explain her statement connected with race. But AAB did not ask his son-in-law to explain his statement. It is double standards.

14. #14 by Mark Foo on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 9:06 pm

There is some rebellious nature. Poor Indians, they should not be punished. Somehow we need a leader and hope there wont be another Sami. We need a voice from the Indians that can change their mindset.
    God is making movement and I would like to see…….

15. #15 by Jefus on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 9:19 pm

This is not helping at all, this will only polarize the races even more. What does it take for the government to see what is obvious to all?

The sentiment on the streets will be with the HINDRAF crowd. The government has just put another foot in its mouth.

Do the right thing Pak Lah, you are embarrassing us!

16. #16 by UzMiNoOnist on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 9:22 pm

Rakyat is now helpless

17. #17 by kevchua on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 9:24 pm

Sigh…pathetic!

The government is scared, so they do the only thing they are capable of doing – BAN since Hindraf is an organisation, thus it can’t go to ISA. Why don’t we just ban UMNO from existing because its members have caused nothing but trouble? No, you can’t ban that coz UMNO is power; it is the ruling party (MCA, MIC, Gerakan are all mere followers).

The spirit lives on! Ban all you want; the truth will prevail.

18. #18 by Vij on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 9:48 pm

Hindraf Banning = Banning Hindus From Breathing

The banning is pointless. Its like telling us “Hey you are banned…from breathing”. You know why? Because every single breath of ours says “Hin” (Inhale) “draf” (Exhale) .

So what they gonna do??? If Hindraf organize a prayers in temple, Home minister will order police to arrest them is it?? or If anybody wear orange T-Shirt with Uthaya Kumar’s photo, they will be arrested too???

So stupid and idiotic act. The BN-UMNO running country like a bunch of monkey which do not know to how to handle a flower, they don’t know how to differentiate between good and bad.

As we can’t stop world from rotating,
    As we can’t stop wind from blowing,
    As we can’t stop Sun from Shining,
    We can’t stop the spirit of Hindraf from blossoming in every heart of Indians in Malaysia.

To BN-UMNO : You have to stop our breath to stop Hindraf.

19. #19 by elvieho on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 9:49 pm

The gov is pushing Hindraf to the wall.Hindraf have been using peaceful ways to submit their grouses which is genuine.You do not want to deal with the problem at your own peril! do you want them to throw bombs at you then only you listen? may all malaysians unite
    to give support to hindraf.It is the BN gov who is illegal with criminals in the cabinet,AG chamber and the police force.

20. #20 by rider on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 9:50 pm

BN has alienated the Indians further and what has Samyvellu said about the ban..nothing!! What kind of community leader is he? umno has lost it’s mind, Hamid Albar his wits, the indians their history in this country and Samyvellu takes the cake for being the architect of the indian downslide. If PKR doesn’t take over, can’t hope for indian votes in 2013.

21. #21 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 10:00 pm

The few thousand MIC members who crossed over to PKR recently are indications that Malaysian Indians (even from within BN) are getting sick of Abdullah’s government. When are they (UMNO) going to learn?

22. #22 by StevePCH on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 10:01 pm

AIDS …. Deny and you die !!! BeEnd lost hold on Indian votes. Denying Hindraf will futher anger Indian community. Pathetic.

Makkal Sakhti is for all and we will still continue to support Hindraf no matter if it is a banned organisation. BeEnd is in shambles and yes… it’s with no head now.

23. #23 by alancheah on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 10:07 pm

Pakatan Rakyat, many of us are still waiting for you people
    to form the federal govt.. Once that is done, this country
    will only have HOPE & real REFORMASI !!!

24. #24 by Mr Smith on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 10:09 pm

Kit,
    How could he ban a nonexistant organization? it is not registered under the society’s act. so legally it is just a name. Even if the continue to use the name what action can the government take. And take action against whom.
    Hindraf is a concept, it is a struggle. Ok, it now calls itself makkal sakti.
    What is the home minster going to do.

25. #25 by budak on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 10:09 pm

UMNO-BN should be BAN too, as it kept “Orang Utan” which endangering human life…

once UMNO-BN banned, these “Orang Utan” can return to their hometown…

therefore BN can dissolve as it has no member in the party…

26. #26 by wtf2 on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 10:15 pm

wonder when they will ban dap & pkr

27. #27 by vsp on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 10:17 pm

Ban UMNO, Utusan Malaysia & TV3: these are the greatest evils in Malaysia now. It seems what is black can now become white and vice versa. UMNO has lost its moral bearing. Malays should not think that UMNO is their protector. In fact, it is their greatest enemy.

Just as during the Malacca sultanate era, the Malays were not allow to think for themselves and are suppressed and oppressed; so also now the UMNOputras are making the Malay people dumb and unable to stand for themselves.

History has shown that although Malacca was a great port, unfortunately, there were no towering Malay traders, sailors or any skilled seafarers that were able to trade with other great nations when the European colonists set foot in this country. There was a total absence of any enterprising Malays except the pirates.

Open your eyes, Malay people. The UMNOputras are rapacious, greedy and cruel rulers. Sooner, you will only become serfs serving the UMNOputras feudal rulers as did happen during the period of the great Malacca sultanate.

28. #28 by a-malaysian on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 10:22 pm

Hindraf is being declared illegal by the home minister.

So,

Home Minister Syed Hamid Albar What Are You Going To Do With Utusan???

GE 13 – No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for the past fifty one years.

29. #29 by swipenter on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 10:26 pm

Anything that Umno cannot handle they ban. Any dissenting voice they cannot handle they use the ISA to silence the person. If Umno is on the verge of losing political power I wont be surprised they declare a state of emergency in the countryto stay in power.

30. #30 by The Enforcer on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 10:44 pm

Hello Sami, what say you now ah?
    You said you represent Malaysian of the Indian race, right?
    Now Baldie has ban Hindraf and have you lost your tongue?
    Or you have turn yourself into ‘Michael Jackson’ for this case.
    Anyway, just keep quiet and sit down, the RAKYAT don’t need you!

31. #31 by pikake on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 10:49 pm

an utterly disgusting move the silence the rakyat’s power. the country is now being runned (down) by clowns, the malays are being taken for the biggest ride in the nation’s history by umno, the whole country is being cheated by these idiots!

fresh elections must be called now! makkal sakthi!

32. #32 by monsterball on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 10:52 pm

UMNO is going all out to shut up oppositions voices…be it personal….like 5 Indians….RPK..or social organizations….like..
    Hindraf….which is right now… most daring…active and very smart….exposing UMNO and their lies….through actions….not words spoken.
    UMNO cannot handle Hindraf… and UMNO is at it’s worst….in the history of governing Malaysia.
    They know….vast majority Malaysians are against them..and daily growing.
    So they will act out the balance of years…with no respect for Malaysians or the law…..doing what they like…how they like…till 13th election.
    Hope we need not wait that long….to keep tolerating …such poor loosers.

33. #33 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 10:55 pm

To a very large extent, Hamid Albar has caused the fall of Abdullah by taking unpopular actions against ordinary Malaysians and civil groups e.g arresting people under ISA for no obvious reasons, giving warnings to the press, banning of Hindraft etc. I just can’t understand why Abdullah is so foolish to allow Hamid Albar do damage to his premiership. If I were Abdullah, I would have fired Hamid Albar long ago!

How can a PM let his subordinate show off the latter’s enthusiasm and diligence in work (so as to gain political mileage) at the cost of damaging the PM’s premiership and future. Think Abdullah! Kick out those who stand in the way of reform, or you will never complete your reform in five months time.

34. #34 by kerajaan.rakyat on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 11:04 pm

::

“On February 28 1933, the Nazi Party decreed emergency laws for the ‘defence of the people and the State’. These decrees of public safety abolished most of the constitutional liberties: the freedom of the Press, the right to hold meetings, the respect for correspondence, the inviolability of the home and habeas corpus. Their effect was to deliver the German people to the tender mercies of the police, which could act without restriction or responsibility, practise secret arrests and perpetual detention without accusation, proof, public audience, or lawyer. No jurisdiction could oppose them, order a release or demand a re-examination of the files.”

That sounds very familiar.., brings to mind the draconian use of ISA, Sedition Act etc. Won’t you agree??

http://kerajaanrakyat.com/

::

35. #35 by bclee on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 11:26 pm

Free RPK free all detained under ISA
    Abolish the stupid ISA

FREE RPK FREE ALL UNDER ISA

the current government need to go …
    can’t wait even 1 min

36. #36 by katdog on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 11:29 pm

Abdullah is a real bodoh guy. He is being used as the fall guy for everything. Looks like he is being used as a front by Najib to ‘clean up’ the voices of dissent before Najib takes over smelling like roses.

First RPK, now Hindraf. All of these, works to the benefit of Najib.

37. #37 by kyototan on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 11:38 pm

May be these are the steps to revoke citizenship of certain ethnic. First they try to revoke a non malay bumiputra citizrnship in Sabah. Not much of a problem here so long as the spirit of belonging is strongly felt by Malaysian Makkal Sakthi shall keep Malaysian going.Hindraf is just a name

38. #38 by imranj78 on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 11:39 pm

While I symphatize and understand the basis of HINDRAF’s existence, some of the means used to get their message across and to promote their cause is wrong. It is one thing to have an end in mind but it does not mean you can use whatever means irrespective of whether they are right or wrong. Labelling Indians in Malaysia as being victims of genocide and trying to get their way through foreign governments are just some examples of how far things have gone wrong with HINDRAF.

Yes HINDRAF your cause is noble but the means that you have used is far too extreme for some. You have stepped on too many toes and have even shown treacherous traits in your midst. As such, you should not be surprised that you have been banned. The way you have fought your cause has split the nation; with some being supportive and many more being against you. Fight your cause the right way and you will find more supporters even from other races

And again to PR, ever so willing to get political mileage from this I see. Is there anytime at all when PR would put the nation’s interest above gaining political mileage?

39. #39 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 11:44 pm

cerpen ringkas imaginasiku bertajuk kecut
    ah..melihat mereka datang dengan deras aku terasa kecut. walaupun bilangan mereka kecil namun ku rasa jiwa mereka besar. mereka sanggup bertahan.masakan tidak sekutu kuatku di sungai bersiput tumbang di terajang.aku bimbang aku risau dengan semangat kental mereka.
    ah..aku juga tidak gentar.aku ada senjata terbilang iaitu ISA.kalau penolong ku peminat bom Si4 aku tetap dengan pilihan ku iaitu ISA.aku akan pastikan mereka terkurung tanpa perhakiman.biarkan mereka rasa aku gembira melihat kesengsaraan itu.aku berharap senjataku itu akan mempertahankan aku dan kerabat kerabat ku. melihat aku selamat, baru lah aku berani untuk tidur.aku berharap aku dibuai mimpi indah.hanya aku dengan mimpi indah.mereka? biarkan dengan mimpi jahaman…

akan bersambung..aku hendak tidur.

40. #40 by bclee on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 11:46 pm

Asolish ISA FREE RPK FREE ALL detained under ISA

41. #41 by Mark Foo on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 11:54 pm

Guys…I know everybody is angry and mad about UMNO. Freedom is everything. You have to enjoy the ride. Get to know more leaders and along the way..someone will come in and fight for us. Listen to the voice of the leaders………I am switching the light on…….

42. #42 by elvieho on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 12:17 am

ok you ban hindraf,lets change the name to MAKKAL SAKTHI and all the malays,chinese,indians ,sikh,ibans,kadasans etc unite to bring down the gov.Let us learn from the philipinos and the thais.

43. #43 by wanderer on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 12:19 am

The aim to ban Hindraf was long on the agenda of this coward administration. They saw the opportunity at the UMNO open house and created a baseless accusation of the behavior of Hindraf supporters. Who are you banning Home Minister?
    Take heart Hindraf, do it UMNO style, can’t beat them use them, name the movement by calling it Hindraf Baru. So what is the big deal?

44. #44 by maxplus on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 12:42 am

the jerks still dont get it, i dont either.

You have declared the Nov 25 illegal and caught all the 5 under ISA; you have tried to charge 100 ppl on an attempted murder, you have banned Makkal Osai for a while…

And you lost GE 12.

And yet u want to play double jeopardy

What ? Planning to lose GE 13? You ask for it; you will have it.

Can PR possibly ban UMNO from the 5 + 1 states, for fear causing racial riot and making derogatry statements.

I call PR to ban Utusan for sales in Selangor for being such a pest, Why not?

45. #45 by maxplus on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 12:46 am

The spirit of Makkal Sakti will stay; with whatever ban they can impose. You cannot ban values, universal ones, you cannot ban a person’s belief or religion.

In short no words gonna break our bones.

We call on all PR leaders to come up with declarations; post it up all over; We cannot afford to take step bacward in our quest for our freedom and democracy; i think our GE 12 victory is too precious to let go the jerks we have in our country.

46. #46 by Sagaladoola on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 1:06 am

Shit Damn-it All-bar already, Syed Hamid Albar, during your first year as Home Minister….

ISA is being used ….
    Hindraf is being declared illegal.

I do not want to imagine what will be coming our way….

47. #47 by monsterball on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 1:27 am

It is easy to put out a logical and sensible message…pointing out Hindraf is wrong.
    What these commentators totally ignore..is .we are having a government that bullies…provoke…shut up democratic rights..publish one sided news…and many many more…..that forces Malaysians..NGOs..and Malaysians at large..to think and plan….counter fights.
    If these are not done…UMNO will succeed to brainwash… con …and bullshit the public…to vote them in again.
    We need to keep opening the eyes and ears of good Malaysians….keep talking….to fight the hantus.

48. #48 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 1:49 am

Govt is very unhappy with HINDRAF’s activities, the latest ‘gate crashing’ of Hari Raya open house being final straw that broke the camel’s back, so to speak.

There is a clamour for govt to take action; UMNO Youth lodged police report…

But what action to take? It is difficult to proceed under trespass or illegal assembly because the fact that Hindraf’s supporters were allowed into PWTC Open House would negate trespass or illegal assembly!

So our Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar comes out with this action under section 5(1) of Societies Act declaring HINDRAF unlawful.

However HINDRAF, which is a political movement, has to be registered under the Societies Act in order to be a lawful society and to hold assets and conduct its activities lawfully. (A society is any association of 7 or more persons whatever the nature or object).

HINDRAF had applied and tried to procure registration as a lawful society but has been repeatedly denied registration by Registrar of Societies.

Notwityhstanding HINDRAF’s claims to being a coalition of 30 Hindu Non-Governmental organizations committed to the preservation of Hindu community rights, the fact is that HINDRAF has all along been an unlawful society, it being the case that it is unlawful for an organisation or society to conduct political activities without being registered under the Societies Act.

In fact what Hamid has done is to declare the obvious – an unlawful society as unlawful!!!!!!

Proceeding under Societies Act and declaring an organisation unlawful attracts the main effects of, firstly, to enable the vesting of all its properties and assets with the Public Trustee of official assignee (as in bankruptcy of natural persons/winding up of companies) and, secondly, to extinguish all possibilities in the future of it ever being registered as a lawful society.

However this ought not to be any itching skin on the back of HINDRAF, as it ought by now to have given up hopes of ever being registered as a lawful society.

Now as far as properties go, it is doubtful that HINDRAF being a society that is never registered as a legal entity could legally own or has legally owned properties or operated bank acounts. (These functyions are probably done by individuals ostensibly on its behalf).

So what is there that may be described as HINDRAF’s properties or monies to vest in the official assignee?

To proscribe and criminalise the activities of its organisers is, of course, not a problem.

The authorities could do that. Indeed they have already done that by invoking ISA and Sedition Act against majority of its leaders.

The Police Act will – and could – be invoked against any illegal assembly organised by HINDRAF without police permits.

So what is Hamid’s purpose of this ban and declaration of HINDRAF as an unlawful society when it has always been an unlawful society in not being registered under the Societies Act in respect of its political activities?

49. #49 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 2:01 am

If HINDRAF wants to be legal body to own properties it could consider registering a society maybe under another name (say) Makkal Sakti in another country, physically placing that body outside of the geographic or legal boundaries of
    our Societies Act here????

After all Makkal Sakti is an intangible thing, it could still organise its activities under the banner of Makkal Sakti (free of the “ban” baggage associated with the ‘brand’ name HINDRAF) and without a need for a formal organisation via Internet and SMS dissemination.

50. #50 by CSKUEH on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 7:49 am

1John 3:18 says “My children, our love should not be just words and talk; it must be true love, which shows itself in action.”
    Philippians 2:3-4 says ” Don’t do anything from self ambition or from a cheap desire to boast, but be humble towards one another, always considering others better than yourselves. And look out for one another’s interests, not just for your own.”
    Banning of Hindraf does not solve the problem. Corrective actions should be taken by the ruling gov’t for the nation-building healing process so that the people will feel one and united Malaysians again. The rights and interests of each community is to be protected. Remember, TRUE LOVE conquers ALL.

51. #51 by sj on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 8:46 am

The way I see this, this is Mahathir’s invisible hand moving Syed Hamid Albar to start a clamp down. Banning Hindraf is like banning people from coming together. Is part of a divide and conquer rule. Who is best in doing this? Heck, no one but Mahathir himself of course.

52. #52 by sj on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 8:49 am

By the way, on what grounds is Hindraf banned on? I believe the Rakyat would like to challenge Syed Hamid on constitution rights in this issue. The rakyat should not just take this sitting down. Challenge Syed Hamid to bring his case, if can sue Syed Hamid in court of law for abuse of power. Lodge police report. Make the rakyat more Constitutional literate than these idiots.

53. #53 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 9:01 am

ya allah ya tuhanku,
    berilah kekuatan dan petunjuk kepada mereka yang teraniaya
    berilah balasan api neraka kepada mereka yang menganiaya

54. #54 by taiking on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 9:08 am

Hindraf came about because of oppression.
    Because the bottom class citizens of malaysia do not have any other avenue to communicate with the umno government.
    And so they set up Hindraf.
    A self help effort to establish that missing avenue of communication.
    For otherwise, they would have none at all.
    So we can see that Hindraf is really an act of desperation by them.
    What else can they do?
    Now, even this avenue is blocked.
    If you ask me, umno is really asking for trouble big time.
    As if 308 means nothing to them.
    Perhaps the 916 non-event embolden them.
    That would be foolishness of the highest order on umno’s part.
    Mamaks make up a large proportion of umno.
    What have they got to say.
    Which side on they on?

55. #55 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 9:25 am

I think you missed more appropriate and relevant word to describe this – its foolish or stupid.

I have personally seen how the unreasonable force is used in many places and let me tell you the main ingredient for Indian-Malay relation to turn violent is already in place. If its not reversed soon, there may be no turning back. The main ingredient for these things turning violent is not power, greed, misery BUT foolishness and stupidity and its all here.

Why is this foolish?
    1) Its not workable. So what if its illegal? It makes no sense.
    2) Its not manageable. By making it illegal, it provide a justification for the crazies and the weak minded to act stupid and they have a persistent patern of doing it. Teresa Kok will give you a first hand account. There is just too many of them.

Stupidity plus passion always end up being really really bad…

56. #56 by Toyol on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 9:36 am

ALL Indians must leave MIC as a sign pf protest. Also, all Chinese must leave MCA before the shit hits the fan. Victimization of people who are merely fighting for their rights is just plain unacceptable.

57. #57 by wesuffer on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 9:44 am

what our home minister to ban hindraf is fast and solve the case.
    but this action is by orang yang tak ada otak.
    pm bodoh, choose cabinet also bodoh minister

58. #58 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 9:57 am

To argue with trapped mentality is a futile effort. Just reorganise yourself with a new identity with the same objective! By the way, the group needs new approach towards their struggle.
    From the look of things, the approach taken by the Indian Community, though basically because of poverty and desperation, needs some adjustment. Unless the Community can also address what many presume to be its inherent characteristics, it will continue to have real up-hill struggles.
    Some of these fears sold by UMNO are the demands made by some immediately after 12th GE in this blog itself! We all know such demands are just sensationalism out of euphoric feelings but UMNO has been able to sell them to the lesser informed Malays.
    And believe me, this very fears created in some of the blogs have come back even to haunt PR itself!
    Do we want to shout just to feel good or do we sincerely think that a real Malaysian society could eventually be created? To create the kind of Malaysian Society, all reasonable minds can hope for, cannot be done over-night. It takes time and certainly plenty of understanding from all sides. It certainly cannot be nurtured in such blog sites!! Angry words will be reciprocated with words of similiar emotion! To what end?
    The universal truth: you reap what you have sowed can not be denied! Of course, many of us just cannot wait to see the outcome! This we will have to leave it to the ALMIGHTY!

59. #59 by drmaharajahrk on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 10:35 am

Banning Hindraf doesnt change anything except alienating the Indians further from MIC/ BN.

Banning Hindraf doesnt change anything cos Hindraf is not registered to begin with……so it is business as usual for Hindraf……..

eg : if i am not a citizen of Malaysia, how do u revoke my citizenship……understand u bloody NEP brained Syed Hamid ?

60. #60 by zak_hammaad on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 11:26 am

It is a somber thought to know that the authorities are willing to take firm action against trouble-makers despite a climate of racial tension brought on by the double-edged “reforms” of the pathetic AAB.

61. #61 by Emily Pratt on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 12:03 pm

Let’s step back a little and restrategize:

Hindraf is banned, but then Hindraf is not a even a legitimate organization, so how could Botak Clown declare it to be illegal when it was never a legal entity.

Maybe next time, Hindraf can circumvent silly Botaks’ rule by naming yourself H1NDR4F or Hindu Draf or Makkal-Shahti.org. any other name deem fit.

All active Hindraf members or organizing members should join Pakatan or suitable legal political party that is sympathetic to their cause e.g., DAP and use that platform to continue to voice their plight.

Just tossing some ideas for you guys to think about.

62. #62 by melurian on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 1:20 pm

i din see problem with this action – hindraf (utusan quote parti haram) should be banned, the sooner the better. the “black” wave on 25 nov last year still resonates my mind, the fear how they terrorised the street, how they whacked the police, how they cause massive traffic jam, how they instiled terror in ordinary citizen, how they destroyed properties, how they shouted and hurled verbal abuses, etc ……. the gov should have banned them instead delay it until today. if only they decisively blacklisted them before 8-mar … so what if hindraf giving tuition, JI too was giving tuition, ceramah and why kena banned ….

63. #63 by Yee Siew Wah on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 1:23 pm

Here we go again. This stupid arrogant pea brain baldie toad is now desperately doing this so that he can get more nominations from those racialistic scumbags in Unmo.
    The outgoing sleepy flipflop lame duck and the mr.C4 hippo must be holding each other balls. These two bums have tons of scandalous baggages on their backs.
    These stupid bums did not reliase that they do more harm than good to ban the peace loving and people orientated Hindraf.
    They may destroy the party. But I bet they cannot destroy their spirit and courage to fight for their rights.
    These bums are exacting their revenge on Hindraf for their lost in 08 march. What sore losers and piss off bums they become.
    Keep up the fight Hindraf irrespective.

64. #64 by benny on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 1:24 pm

Uncle kit,
    The UMNO regime being racist,arrogant never given a chance to HINDRAF for a dialogue.The UMNO regime never realise its the same MIC/IPF supporters who is now in HINDRAF are dead against the govt policies.
    We Malaysian Indians are dissapointed,angry,frustrated with the UMNO Flip Flop PM who has a big ear to listen but the ear drum has perforated.We need to blame the component party of BN for the presence situation who still whacking their tail for their master.Dei BOTAK MINISTER YOU CAN BAN HINDRAF BUT NOT THEIR SPIRIT

65. #65 by wesuffer on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 2:56 pm

Ban hindraf is protect of UMNO safety, but not public safety.
    hindraf action nothing to do with public. but only to BN Umno.

66. #66 by oknyua on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 3:12 pm

Solidarity was banned. For years Lech Walesa and his Solidarity found the might of the Polish Communist supported by Kremlin. The truth of Solidarity, however, can’t be banned.

BN’s treatment of Hindraf follows the same path as the Polish Communist party, and by the same law, is at the beginning of the collapse of BN. The reason is simple: BN just does not have the means to contain an idea whose time has arrived.

On its cruelty towards its citizen (e.g. ISA), the present BN resembles the Stassi (Ministerium für Staatssicherheit) of East Germany. The last E Germany leader, Erich Honecker rose from being a Youth Communist Party leader, leaving trails of ruthlessness, murders, and deceits – please use your own imagination here. But that also marked the end of Stassi – and by the same law, it is also a signal BN’s time is up.

Let them do their worst; its time up for BN.

67. #67 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 3:24 pm

Looking back carefully at hindsight
    It was only a craft used as a draft
    To convey certain messages not in normal sight
    Examining issues that needed serious attention beyond graft

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 161008
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Thur. 16th Oct. 2008.

68. #68 by Toyol on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 3:34 pm

If HINDRAF is illegal, so is UMNO. UMNO preaches racism, nepotism, and croynism. Senior members of UMNO raises their kerises and threaten the other races with blood time and again. Isn’t this a threat to national security. Can the powers…Bar Council or PR please do something to de-register this racists party.

69. #69 by Stephenlsa on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 3:53 pm

How can a party which represent their community can be banned?It wont help the situation but make it worsen. A wise and PM of all Malaysian should have a talk with Hindraf leader to solve their problem. Have a long time Hindraf Leader are under arrest, surely their relatives and friends will worry on it and hope to celebrate the impending Hari Deepavali with them, although their coming to PM house is a little unconvenient but still can be apologized base on their hope to invite back their leader. All the people in the world wont happy with their family is not arround. The leaders of Hindraf has not do any bad thing like killing, raping… What for to catch them, to be a democratic country , Abdullah should release them before Hari Deepavali as the hope for all Indians. Chinese and Malay should all support as support our Indian Friends. They are not monster as scared by Syed Hamid, Abdullah , Najib but they aa are MALAYSIAN.

70. #70 by ahkok1982 on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 5:24 pm

If Hindraf is banned, then all of them can group under a new party called Indraf. If that is banned too, then can go under a new party called Hindraf 2. If once again banned, then can call Hindraf Baru.

Sure, go ahead and ban summore…. it is really like they do not learn at all. no capacity to learn. Firstly ban internet blog, then when it does not work, suck thumb.
    so now want to ban parties… well, pakatan, take a lesson from this. once you are in power, you can do the same thing. BAN THE DAMN UMNO AND ALL UNDER BN.

71. #71 by khairi ali on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 6:28 pm

Its another spin by our famous opposition mp. the ban is meant for stablising the situation, but not banning the cause of the Indian minority. This is because hindraf is using the unstable path to put forward their grieviences. Civility is needed not only among the hindraf, but also from their supporters, and by claiming that government is using its claws, could not solve anything. hindraf members should re-charted their civility for the sake of their struggle.

72. #72 by sj on Thursday, 16 October 2008 - 6:36 pm

People please read this article and think.
    http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/13891/84/

I find that this scenario is very plausible now that Mahathir is back in the center arena. His best work is to destroy people and in one swoop clean up dissenters and grab power.Do not give them that chance. Focus on our primary objective. Get the change of goverment. Be persistent about it. Do not let yourself be distracted by issues on racism and religion. All those issue will be taken care of once PR assumes Federal level. Be mature and control your emotion. If you want RPK, DAP, PAS and PKR to win then do not be goaded into emotion. Especially with the recent HINDRAF BANNING issue. Stay FOCUS on our goal which is WHAT RPK HAS BEEN ASKING US TO DO. STRIVE FOR CHANGE OF GOVT.

73. #73 by ahkok1982 on Friday, 17 October 2008 - 11:43 am

Is Hindraf a registered society or party? I dont think so…..
    So ban all you want…. there is nothing you can do.

74. #74 by isahbiazhar on Friday, 17 October 2008 - 3:34 pm

MIC had failed the Indians.Samy Velloo used the caste system and distinguished himself to represent the Tamils.His tactics prevailed before the election and the Indians totally got rid of him.Since MIC was routed he still echoed because of his 50 year old supporters.Hindraf represented the true Indian aspiration.They protested and made the world to kinow that the Indians in Malaysia were never accorded a respectful position they were suppossed to enjoy.Hindraf fought for all Indians.They had a good cause.Samy Velloo brushed them out but he failed to realise that now that Hindraf had been banned by the government it is as good as banning the MIC.If a secret vote is taken now only the MIC of Samy will vote for the MIC.The rest can be assured will support Hindraf,The government got the wrong advise this time from Samy.Just because they protested during the open house it deems no ban.Even Haji Hadi supported such action as Democratic.During the short period of time the Indians in Malaysia had already started to give their support and never in their mind think of MIC.Banning had showed most of the time a negative outlook.Unlike the Muslim organisation Hindraf did not bring the issue of religion but it was the economic plight of the Indians.TRhe government can bring all kind os statictics to support their statement but the Indians were never helped i when comparede to the Malays.Poverty among the Indians were deservable as they drink alcohol but poverty among the Malays is respected and given ASN.If the government had done that Indians would have been better.When the BN gave MONEY to MIC through Maika Samy Vello brought his men to squander.Look at how the situation now.His own son is there.Maika made the Indians poorer.The very Indians he was supposed to help.Pagar makan padi.The dawn of the 21st century is the era of the Asians and Indians are going to play a part.If the government is going to treat the Indians as Indians and not Malaysians it will prove in time that the people will rise.That is what HINDRAF showed.The banning was uncalled for and MIC can see its death soon.For the good of the country and for the Indians Abdullah should revoke the ban before he leaves and repalce Albar perhaps with an Indian minister who will appreciate with the inborn qualities of GHANDHI