Parliament 13 October 2008 – Revise 2009 Budget

1. #1 by KL Dude on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 12:53 pm

The much talked about vote of no confidence that what supposed to be raised by PR eventually didn’t take place after all rite ? Is it because on the grounds that the PM is resigning by March next year so that’s why this didn’t materilise ?

There was so much talk about 9/16 and then when that didn’t happen, it was shifted to 13/10 on the grounds that it would enable PR to take it to parliment to prove the truth behind’s DSAI’s claims. Now, even that also didn’t happen and heard that its shifted to December. Seems like a game of changing the goal post or what ?

Perhaps Uncle Lim can clarify to all PR supporters who maybe getting fed-up seeing this ‘flip’flops’ and empty promises. In our view, don’t have to boast and declare this and that but at the end cannot deliver. Just do it, as action speaks louder than words everybody knows that. If uncertain of doing it, don’t ever declare and be over confident… but at the end cannot do it. Just be prudent and remain low profile would be a much better thing to do.

The failure in seeing 9/16 become a reality after so much hype on it has only backfired PR eventually and the risk of supporters losing trust in PR, be it in PKR, DAP or PAS, cannot be taken lightly actually or underestimated.

Really hope Uncle Lim or any PR leader out there can help explain what really went wrong and perhaps defuse the situation to bring back some ray of hope to all PR supporters. With the absence of RPK now who was previously reporting about all this for the benefit of the PR supporters and Rakyat as well, many are now left in the dark and out of touch with the struggle that PR is facing now.

2. #2 by budak on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 1:38 pm

No need MP do it…

Rakyat Malaysia basically has NO CONFIDENCE on current Beruk Negara… :-)

3. #3 by kerajaan.rakyat on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 1:41 pm

KL Dude ,

“he risk of supporters losing trust in PR, be it in PKR, DAP or PAS, cannot be taken lightly”

I m fully agreed with you.

http://kerajaanrakyat.com/

4. #4 by kftang on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 1:42 pm

We must remain optimistic, steadfast and hopeful that PR will one day take over the central government and rule the country. Hopefully this will become a reality before the year ends when the political situation is calmer and everything needed to be done is resolved. On the issue of a revised 2009 Budget to be tabled in Parliament, it looks like the BN government is adamant, reluctant and not prepared to listen to the voice of the Opposition and the rakyat. Sheer arrogance has reared its ugly in this matter! It’s high time PR take over the reins of the government ……….SOON!

5. #5 by kftang on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 1:48 pm

Correction. The referred sentence should read: Sheer arrogance has reared its ugly head again in this matter! Thanks.

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 1:57 pm

It’s difficult for Uncle Lim to answer KL Dude’s question publicly.

However consider this:

Anwar first targeted Sabah and Sarawak MPs partly there is groundswell of East Malaysians’ discontent with Federal Govt for reasons amply discussed in earlier threads and partly the East malaysian “kataks” were old contacts with whom they had dealings of these sorts. In 1990s, remember the numerous defections from Parti Bersatu Sabah to BN led by TDM & Anwar?

When the gap between BN & PR is only 30+ MPs, pickings for Anwar will extend to the Peninsular itself and potential kataks from BN’s main component parties.

Even if 30+ MPs from here and there gave initial indication to cross to PR it could not be without conditions. It is naive to think otherwise….

Those conditions, you can bet, are not principally PR’s promise of better governance. They are likely (1) how much financial benefit (2) what positions within PR administration and (3) whether others would cross at the same time…..

Why these are the considerations and not principles of good governance in respect of motivation based on good governance is trite : had BN MPs and politicians placed priority on governance, instead of feudal patronage and gravy train, would the nation, whether East or West Malaysia governed by BN for 45 years be in her present deplorable state????

Now it would be difficult for Anwar to coordinate (1)(2) and (3) by self imposed seadlines (forever shifting forward). No one wants to cross – when others do not cross – and land into the deep sea of sharks without a secure landing pad!

Also there is a question in Kataks’ mind – can Anwar deliver the “goods” in exchange for the bold sacrifice of taking a risk to cross?

It is an issue of credibility. It would be affected by the equation whether Anwar fulfilled BN’s promises when the last time they crossed in 1990s over to the BN! Only Anwar knows.

On issue of financial consideration, Tun Dr Mahathir had in his blog Che Det put the matter point blank : if Anwar thinks he has financial backing whether from Middle East or US, so what others have more money? Hello, be realistic, BN/UMNO have 45 years dominion over the country’s assets and resources to raise such slush funds to compete!

7. #7 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 1:59 pm

This first day of Parliament session on 13th Oct to dramatize and attack the Govt’s absentism and slowness of responding to the Global Financial Crisis via a revised debate is basically calculated to distract PR’s supporters from remembering PR’s promised motion of no confidence of the government, that makes the earlier insistence by PR that the PM inaugurates a special parliamentary session for it hollow and hype!

If there were any substance why not attempt to move such a motion or indirectly call a poll to defeat the govt’s outdated budget as it stands, for what better time than when many govt ministers and back benchers were absent in Parliament on Parliament’ first session?

Notwithstanding many Malaysians are still hopeful and sympathetic to Anwar’s Cause (like kftang ) and regardless of the blow to his credibility are willing to overlook this important failing simply because the BN is unbearable to them/us.

Anwar should tone down his hype, like the way he said that the agenda for Oct 13 Parliamentary session was the budget not the motion of no confidence – see The MalaysiaInsider.

So his proclaiming another date – Dec 8th – (reported in the same The MalaysiaInsider) looks pretty astonishing to me, as if he never learns from past gaffes and mistakes.

8. #8 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 2:13 pm

Anwar is the lone ranger here with his take over plan by kataks.

You’d notice that no bigwigs from PAS or DAP not even YB Kit has evr come out to publicly take their reputation that what Anwar promises is credible and true.

We may wish it is true. Only Anwar is ‘gungho’ and he keeps details close to his chest. However too many rescheduling of dates from 916 to 1310 and then 812, if not happening will demolish whatever residual credbility he will have as a leader.

It is obvious if one could raise hopes that way without an iota of concern of its consequences, without concern of how hopes and confidence of supporters like KL Dude and Kerajaanrakyat may be raised up the pedestal and then crashed, never to be regained, then how could they continue to believe his other promises of better governance without corruption or religious extremism and NEP based on need and not race???

He will lose his moral authority to criticise the current PM as flip flop when Anwar himself shows no better example!

9. #9 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 2:14 pm

Correction in 2nd para from above – “….You’d notice that no bigwigs from PAS or DAP not even YB Kit has ever come out to publicly stake their reputation that what Anwar promises is credible and true….”

10. #10 by king cobra on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 2:18 pm

when the sky change will took place ? Its already a secondary matter. now most important & primary thing is to govern well the 5 states under the wings of pakatan rakyat. prove to the rakyat that under PR rule Malaysia will become a better place for all Malaysians to live in , work in , play in ………..

11. #11 by dawsonruby on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 2:20 pm

is it only me or can anyone else read what the blogger was writing?

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 2:22 pm

However Anwar cannot be blamed entirely for desperately trying, whether bull shit or otherwise notwithstanding.

For the other side does not play fair.

What do you think is in store for him when Pak Lah exits?

You think he can wait for next GE ?

Not only will that provide time for BN to reunite and undermine PR’s controlled states in which I think 75% of West Malaysia GDP is generated – but for poor Anwar, he is facing a slew of criminal charges, Sodomy II for example, staring inexorably at him….

13. #13 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 2:35 pm

Anwar is a spend ‘force’ and the sooner the opposition realises this, the sooner they can work to find an alternative leader who really does have a chance to replace BN government.

14. #14 by sham_turbo82 on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 2:57 pm

For me if PR rules it is just the lesser of two evils. I just hope when PR takes over they would prove me wrong. There is no real commitment or political will for true justice coming out of the PR really. Perhaps only DAP embodies this. Hell, i have even moved from KL to Penang in the hopes of living in a more fair and just state (actually just got job in Penang la).

malaysianagainstracism.blogspot.com

15. #15 by sham_turbo82 on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 3:03 pm

Aiyoh, although ‘Malaysia not affected by the global meltdown’, we must understand that all our ministers are very busy protecting all their overseas investments. U and i normal poor ppl got no money overseas so ‘no need worry la’ As for them obviously too busy and not in mood to attend to small matters like Parliament. “Who cares, ‘rakyat’ already vote me in wat, attend or dont attend have 4 years more. Money down the drain after 4 years not sure got like this chance make $$$ wor.” So obviously the ministers are busy so please lighten up on them a little. ;-D

16. #16 by rider on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 3:11 pm

I,as a layman with like minded people around me who consider ourselves grassroots, do not understand the intricasies and culculations which the above commentators point out for the delay of tabling the no confidence motion. We are in our 40s and 50s and we have seen enough of the BN govt’s crap for far too long and we wish for a change, a betterment of our children and grandchildrens future and trust that people like LKS,DSAI and Tok Guru to do it and more than half the nation will come behind you..! DO IT NOW.WHY WASTE TIME?? Do we have so much time that we can sit back and talk about the intrications of the littlemindedness of the MBs? Find out ways there are to motion a call for a GE now! We can’t bear to stomach the arrogance of the BN anymore!

17. #17 by Emily Pratt on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 3:11 pm

I remembered when LGE was asked about the take over plan and LGE said only DSAI has the list, I knew that the take over Putrajaya plan is a lie.

18. #18 by ahoo on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 3:11 pm

We have waited for 51 years for reforms, so what if we have to wait a little longer, maybe another 4 years ? The change must first come from us. Are we ready for such a change ? If we are all ready for a change and are passionate about it, it will transcend the barrier of fear in us. It will move us to be more vocal by standing up for our rights and not be cowed by the politics of the ‘warlords’.

The people need to be real angry with themselves first, by asking what have I contributed to ask for change ? Don’t be a silent petitioner and hide behind the closet. But be bold and courageous to face reality of living in Malaysia, for no MPs owe us a living. We can blog all we want and urged YB Kit to do this and that but the fact remains that it is business as usual for the ruling regime. So what can we as layman do ? Know the truth and share it with others. When a wrong is committed or scandal being exposed, it will normally not be published in the MSMs, so we need to be the mouth-piece. Convince the fence sitters to see that this nation can ill affords so many wastages and the plundering must be stop at all cost. Be prepare now for the next election to come.

A wrong is a wrong no matter you how we explain it for 9 rights cannot make one wrong, right. We need to win the hearts of the malay youths for a proper change to take place in Malaysia. With at least another million new voters added by next election, the challenge to capture the hearts and minds of the new voters are of upmost importance. Thus, as the saying goes: time and tide waits for no man, we better be prepare for the next election now then lamenting on why YB Anwar’s has not taken over the govt.

19. #19 by Alan-T on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 3:15 pm

DSAI requested for an emergency sitting of parliament…Badawi’s answer..BUZZ OFF. Parliament started yesterday….nothing happened. Dates keeps being postponed. ??????

20. #20 by budak on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 3:18 pm

as what Uncle Kit said, UMNO busy election shopping…

by the the time they gain UMNO seat, they will loose MP seat… :-)

basically RAKYAT do need this bunch of beruk in the Parliament…

now we’re in the crisis, the Beruk Master said “We’ll SLEEP thru the Recession” dont worry and continue to zzzZZZ….

21. #21 by Jong on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 4:27 pm

I agree with YB Kit – it’s a headless Umno-led BN government with a half empty Parliament in session!
    What an irresponsible government, look at their MPs, buta gaji arhhh?

22. #22 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 4:35 pm

“This first day of Parliament session on 13th Oct to dramatize and attack the Govt’s absentism and slowness of responding to the Global Financial Crisis via a revised debate is basically calculated to distract PR’s supporters from remembering PR’s promised motion of no confidence of the government, that makes the earlier insistence by PR that the PM inaugurates a special parliamentary session for it hollow and hype!” – Jeffrey

If we can be easily distracted then we should belong in the BN camp. A revised 2009 budget is urgent and necessary, PR is asking the BN government to respond, so to ease the burden of the Rakyat during this economy downturn. It was a right move because a revised budget is pro-rakyat and all Malaysians support it. We are at a very critical moment where the economy fundamentals must be re-examine, but threatening to take over the government by vote of no-confidence simply creates more hide and seek game from the BN government, thus prolong the Rakyat’s suffering. Should Pakatan Rakyat tabled a no confidence votes for the PM on first day of parliament, then the opposition must have lost their sense of priority.

23. #23 by k1980 on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 4:38 pm

Don’t blame PR for failing to take over the administration. The blame lies with certain retarded people who, due to their perverted way of thinking, voted into power an excess of 30 MPs in the BN camp

24. #24 by Stephenlsa on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 5:30 pm

No one should blame PR for failing to change the government. But something you not you can materialize it or not dont arrogantly announce already got enough member of parliment from BN and set a day to take over. Disappinted us is not important but it will affect our economy, the investment wont come if we have an unstable government.

25. #25 by goodtimes on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 5:43 pm

It seems to me, some feel having an oppisition party that queries the present govt is unnecessary.This provides a good check on govt activities.Let’s not bother about the crossover issue.DSAI can say what he wants , it’s his perogative to do so.Isn’t this happening in present govt as well?
    In all Democratic coutries the oppisition parties are all on “stand by mode” to replace the said govt if they don’t perform.
    DSAI has at least got them thinking that it could happen…the fall of BN..this is good..they cannot and must think that they are indespensible and need not worry about the rakyat ,i.e economic progress etc.
    So go ahead Oppisition , do your thing , as BN needs this eye opener.No more dates necessary for takeover as rakyat can see govt has been shaken and stirred. As again today, all the impt BN MPs,PM n DPM are missing from Parliament session.Baffling isn’t it?
    This just goes to show what I mean by shaken and stirred.
    Shouldn’t they be prepared for the Parliament session with answers to the oppisition queries…at least some answers….

26. #26 by goodtimes on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 5:49 pm

Sorry…opposition not oppisition…typepo error…

27. #27 by Bobster on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 6:11 pm

Why people still harping on motion of no confidence against AAB even some PR politicians? Unbelievable. Cant you see AAB made the right move by announcing his retirement early before parliament resumed after the raya long break? D-end made 2 wise decisions. 1. AAB resignation before parliament resumed 2. Delay of ummo election till March 2009.

The above moves have in a way strengthen ummo, reduce internal fight for no.1 post. Unfortunately Mr Jis the scandalous figure is now getting the highest votes. Even his closest contender Muhiddin (who appears to be a better candidate) supported him and Kuli gets zero vote.

Noted Dsai has to replan his strategy due to the recent development. As Raja Petra previously said, it is up to the rakyat whether able to see beyond all circumstances and continue to support the oppositions. Things in the opposition ruled states may be getting worst due to lack of funding from federal gomen. It is up to the rakyat wisdom to see beyond all circumstances and push for a change in the administration. So stop harping and complaining, especially if your are a leader! Show us some example please!

28. #28 by Old.observer on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 6:31 pm

Jeffrey,

In your posts today, are you suggesting DSAI gives up the fight altogether?

What about the INCREASED votes for DSAI from PP by election who wants to see a change? What about these BIGGER groups of people who wants to see a change in Government? This bigger group wants to see DSAI continuing to challenge the Government.

Are you suggesting that DSAI should completely ignore the wishes of this increased majority?

If he doesn’t give a deadline, then, what should he do instead and will this meet Rakyat’s wishes?

If he keeps quiet now, and 3 years later emerge with another deadline, isn’t this clearly worse? What do you expect DSAI to do? Just act as a reporter of the wrongs committed by BN MPs? Does the nation need another reporter or a new leader?

Success will not come easy for DSAI. If he is not persistent, he has zero chance of success.

Foreign investors left Malaysia in droves after 308. This is Rakyat’s choice. This is very obvious from the KLCI. We want a better Malaysia. So what if foreign investors leave Malaysia for a year, 2 years or 3 years, if the end result is we have a better Government for our children and next generations?

I for one believe DSAI should continue to be persistent and not give up. Otherwise, how will you get MPs to cross over then without a deadline or even without mentioning a specific date? The first change is always the hardest change.

For DSAI to keep quiet, and then try to come back 3 to 4 years later would cause a lot of people to distrust DSAI. Corruption is corruption and is wrong, must be highlighted immediately and eliminated. Mismanagement of government resources is mismanagement and must be highlighted and eliminated. It must never be kept quiet. Many mature country leaders have been booted out for crimes far less serious, and DSAI has my full support to continue to set new deadlines until we see a change in government.

Old Observer

PS. As for consolidating the 5 PR States, in my opinion, they have already managed this far better than BN in the other States. They must continue to work to change BN in all States in my opinion and not be so narrow minded to focus only on the 5 States.

29. #29 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 8:04 pm

Old.observer,

I do not suggest DSAI gives up the fight for Opposition’s or people’s cause or even his ambition to be Prime Minister.

I merely say that he should not undermine his own credibility or give government an excuse to arrest him (for causing economic instability) by repeatedly promising self imposed deadlines of take over the government that he repeatedly fails to meet and fulfill. If he has any strategy keep it quiet until it could be realised. Action speaks louder than words.

30. #30 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 8:07 pm

///If he doesn’t give a deadline, then, what should he do instead and will this meet Rakyat’s wishes?///

Do anything except give deadlines that cannot be met.

31. #31 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 11:19 pm

sabar, sabar itu sebahagian dari iman…

32. #32 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 11:22 pm

Alan-T Says:

>> Parliament started yesterday….nothing happened. Dates keeps being postponed. ??????

Anwar, true to his unstable and schizophrenic nature is simply buying time to delay his inevitable political demise. I say that you Alan have more of a chance to become PM than Anwar does!

As I said before, Pakatan better start planning for Anwar’s replacement if they want to continue to their winning streak and wrest leadership from BN.

33. #33 by mrx on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 3:07 am

Under conventional democracy, can a Premier be considered as legitimate if he is never the choice of the majority?
    See Da RAHMAN Code – Poll with Zero Vote!
    http://thexstories.blogspot.com/2008/10/da-rahman-code-poll-with-zero-vote.html
    for details.
    If not, doesn’t that mean our existing system is undemocratic and hence, illegitimate?

34. #34 by m.hwang on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 - 6:15 pm

zak,

I beg to differ. DSAI is not unstable nor is he schizo. He merely took a calculated risk. As I’ve mentioned before, should the PM take up his challenge to meet up and view the LIST, more fence sitting MPs will, due to the fear of missing the gravy train, quickly jump ship.

Since the PM after being advised not to take up the dare, refused to meet up with DSAI, the plan failed. This shows the PM does have advisers who give good advice sometimes. DSAI could have pounded on the ‘chicken’ attitude of the PM for not daring to meet up but for some reason did not. He could have taken a page from the dare to swear episode and dared the PM to meet up but he didn’t.

It’s not important if it’s 916 or 1016 or 1116. What is important is the spirit of change amongst the rakyat must be intact. There can be a change for the better. How do we know if it’s better? I don’t. But I know for a fact that all the mismanagement, abuse and corruption, racial disintegration etc. etc. has to be stopped and that’s why we need to send the message that it has to stop.

916 symbolises the Spirit of Change. DSAI is the one who gave us this hope that things can be better. Is he too impatient to be PM? Is he power hungry, unstable or schizo? SO WHAT IF HE IS IF HE CAN BRING HOPE FOR CHANGE?

zak, who have we left to fight a corrupt government if not DSAI for he is the only right now to command the support and respect of the majority. You? Me? Alan-T? I think you jest when you ridicule the effect of DSAI.