The cries of Sabahans

[Received the following email:

“Dear YB Lim,

“Kindly please assist to post the article below on your blog, this is written by one of my friends from Sandakan, it reflects the true situation we are facing in Sabah, and East Malaysia, do hope it can be done. I wish to remain anonymous.”

I read it and felt very ashamed as a Malaysian that after 45 years of Malaysia, there is still such an ocean of ignorance among West Malaysians about Sabah and Sarawak.

Barisan Nasional is not prepared to create a truly Malaysian nation where Sabahans and Sarawakians can fully feel that they are an integral part of the nation.

This is why BN has become quite irrelevant, not only to Sabahans and Sarawakians but to all Malaysian communities, whether Malays, Chinese, Indians, Kadazan-Dusun-Muruts, Ibans, Orang Aslis.

Let Malaysians join hands as one people despite the obstacles and baggages of BN.- Kit]

As 916 (September the 16th) – the day where the change of Federal Government is rumoured could happen. I suddenly have the urge to say a few words for my beloved hometown and state – Sabah, the Land below the Wind.

I am not very good in writing, but I will try my best, to let our voices be heard throughout the world.

Many people assume that we Sabahans are a proud bunch of people, hence the name “Proud Sabahans”; I do admit, Sabahans generally do have a biased perceptions towards West Malaysians, me myself included. Although Sabah is the poorest state amongst all the 13 states in Malaysia, it’s not the fault of the peninsular people. (It’s the fault of the Federal Government), but the lack of understanding of West Malaysians towards us – East Malaysians, makes me feel ashamed of myself.

Because they – West Malaysians, they never really encountered what we as East Malaysians faced, nor do they understand the distresses we are in.

This is the story of one country, two different encounters, as fate would have it.

When I first arrived in West Malaysia, west Malaysians they asked me “Do you Sabahans really live on trees?”, while my sister was mistaken for a bumiputra although she is a Malaysian Chinese.

We are not rude; nor we still hunt; nor we still have tiger meat for food; neither do we sleep together with Orang Utans.

West Malaysians do not really quite know where do I come from, is it Sarawak? Is it Sabah? Hence they always refer us as originating from Sabah Sarawak, explanations after explanations, they still do not get it, and hence still, they assume, we are from Sabah Sarawak. But I do not refer those West Malaysians as coming from states like Kedah Kelantan; neither melakasembilan nor penangperlis.

I tried my best to introduce Sabah to my West Malaysian friends; over in Sabah we do have housing estates, markets, discos, jetties, and even Giant hypermarkets.

But in contradiction, although I live in a house with 4 walls and a roof, but we always have to face frequent blackouts, not to mention frequent water disruptions and rationing also, we do not even have a properly tarred road, compared to West Malaysia.

Once I was staying in West Malaysia, I was ticked off by my housemates for not flushing the toilet after urinating; he mentioned that it was very unhygienic of me.

When I heard of this, I was dumbfounded; do I need to flush every time after I finish using the toilet?

Then I realized, West Malaysia have endless water supply 365 days a year, 24 hours a day, 60 minutes an hour, 60 seconds per minute.

Humph!!! Well, it’s my fault, my fault for bringing all the bad habits from Sabah to West Malaysia, in my hometown – Sandakan, Sabah, we have to put up with frequent water disruptions, my mother do not allow me to flush every time after I use the toilet !! We only have water supply twice a week, which is on Monday and Thursday; this is because my house is situated on top of a hill, for other low lying areas, they only got water supply at the most 3-4 times a week, this is the policy that is practiced way back in my hometown.

When I mentioned about my house toilet, you would be better prepared, it smells and stinks like there are no tomorrow, we only flush when the urine stench is really became unbearable, looking yellowish in colour, if we were to flush every time we finish using the toilet, then there will be no more water for us to bath.

Either you want to use the water to flush every time you finish using the toilet, or use the water to bath, you decide yourself. For those who bath and wash their hair twice a day, I really envy you guys, as we are only allowed to wash our hair on Monday and Thursday, the days when there are water supply coming in.

Talking about power supply in my hometown, on average in a month, we will be in total darkness for at least 72 hours; the highest record was no power supply for 8 hours a day for 1 whole week!! If there is no power disruption in Sabah, then it’s not Sabah, even the electricity company of Sabah, SESB confirms to this, where SESB stands for SABAH EVERYDAY SURE BLACKOUT. If there were no power supply for half an hour in Kuala Lumpur, the capital of Malaysia, tomorrow it will be the top news in the media, but for us Sabahans on the other side of Malaysia, being drenched in total darkness for few hours, causing traffics to go haywire, no one even bothered about us.

I still remember the first time I took my friends to visit my hometown, on the first night there was no power supply, so we sat in front of the house, gazing at the stars and the moon on the sky. If I were to say, standing outside my house, lifting up your finger and you may be able to touch the moon, where the moon is so bright that you can see your shadow, and you can even differentiate each and every sign of the zodiac, you have to believe me, because the air in my hometown is still unpolluted, pristine and fresh.

Anyway, with regards to the frequent disruption of water and electricity supply in Sabah, we have become acquainted with it, for more that 20 years that I have been living here, its still the same, things never changed for the better, we have learn not to resist and accept it as fate would have it.

This is us, Sabahans, always the simple, pure and innocent lot; we just grin and bear with it.

Hence the reasons why the Federal Government always likes to bully us Sabahans, they took away all our vast natural resources to develop Kuala Lumpur, sold away all our valuable timber logs, in exchange for high rise buildings in West Malaysia, sucked up Sabah’s petroleum, in order to built north-south expressways in West Malaysia.

Not to mention using Sabah’s orang utan in exchange with China’s panda, and have it keep in Zoo Negara in West Malaysia.

The Federal Government is so generous in donating monies to Sichuan, but aren’t capable of building better roads for Sabahans, it’s still the same after 45 years.

Sabah’s first flyover was recently completed, after being built for 8 years more, this make us Sabahans so happy and jumping with joy. That’s us, easily contented.

Sabah is a poor neglected state; she would weep if she were able to do so, each and every time, the government promised to solve the illegal immigrants issue plaguing the state, but the matter is still unsolved up until today, like the saying, to settle a matter by leaving it unsettled.

The illegal immigrants in Sabah has overwhelmed the local population at 1.7 million versus 1.5 million, and is increasing day by day, most of these illegal immigrants are from The Philippines and Indonesia, when last year it was briefly mentioned that The Philippines is interested in claming back Sabah, if a referendum were to be held, with the help of Filipinos residing in Sabah, we will be dead for sure, Philippines will be able to take Sabah back as theirs.

Needless to say, Sabah is not only without its frequent disruption of water and electricity supply, even job opportunities are hard to come by, causing all the youngsters to seek jobs in West Malaysia and other places.

Do you know that a bottle of yogurt that costs RM3.70 in West Malaysia cost Rm5.70 in Sabah, and all the magazines and newspapers in Sabah are more expensive if compared with West Malaysia? This is because all the goods have to be flown over from West Malaysia, where the courier charges will be included in the goods prices, therefore marking it up higher, the money that we earn are taxed by the Federal Government, these taxes that we pay are taken to develop Kuala Lumpur,

In Sabah there are still people that earn a meager RM200 per month, even worse off than those toilet cleaners in West Malaysia.

Everytime I am back in Sabah, wherever I looked went and looked around; I can only manage to find mostly schooling youngsters. There is nothing much these youngsters can do for those that prefer not to leave Sabah. Last year, a few of my friends decided that after graduation, they will stay in Sabah, no matter what happens, at that time I thought that they are very naïve, West Malaysia especially Kuala Lumpur is such a nice place, what’s the reason to stay back in Sabah? They replied in jest, “If nobody is willing to stay in Sabah, how do we expect Sabah to stand up”, what they said make me realized my mistakes, but what to do, none of the jobs in Sabah are suitable for me; I have no choice but to continue working in West Malaysia.

Last month, my cousin quit his job and went back to Sabah, out of curiosity, I asked him the reason for doing so, since the wages in Sabah is so low, it’s not worth it, I told him. He retorted back, saying “West Malaysia is not my home, sooner or later I will be going back to Sabah, the place where I belong, and I surely believe there are companies willing to employ me.” I felt ashamed, as previously I planned to reside and have a family in West Malaysia, but what my cousin say woke me up, although I am now residing in West Malaysia, I should have given words of encouragement for my beloved state – Sabah.

If the land of Sabah was and is properly developed, surely it will be amongst the top states in Malaysia, but everything was trampled on, ruined and went the other way!!

Hence the reasons why those who stepped on the soil of Sabah will be given an immigration slip by the Customs department, only allowing non Sabahans to stay in Sabah for not more than 90 days.

If Sabah were not to protect herself, I dare not dread to think of the consequences that may befall us, it will be too ghastly to look at.

Up till today, for West Malaysians, Sabah is shrouded in secrecy and far away from their sight. No one is willing to come to Sabah, as if it’s a different world comprising of humans of uncivilized nature, for those youngsters who are going to be send to Sabah to undergo their National Service, they wept like there are no tomorrow, its like they are about to enter hell.

Is Sabah heaven or hell? Come and have a look for yourself, until today, only tourists from Western and other countries are willing to come to Sabah, a state once deemed to be more prosperous than Kuala Lumpur, in search of its glorious pasts.

In West Malaysians, there are only 3 major races; in Sabah, there are 32 ethnic tribes, most West Malaysians do not know of these facts.

East Malaysia is the place where all the different races and tribes, of different faiths and religions, live harmoniously; this, probably West Malaysians do not know either.

In Sabah, it’s a norm for Muslims to eat in non-Muslims eateries, to dine in Chinese seafood restaurants, without fear and prejudice of being served with non halal foods; this is the kind of respect and trusts we have for each other. I don’t think this can be seen in West Malaysia, besides Kelantan, I would say.

Recently Giant hypermarkets make their presence known in Sabah; they are trying to control the Sabah supermarket segment, indirectly trying to control Sabah’s economy, but were rejected by Sabahans.

We in Sabah have our own newspapers; our own supermarkets, we do not need others to come in and reap our fruits of labour, all to be channeled back to West Malaysia!!

The country neglected East Malaysia – Sabah and Sarawak so much so that even 16th September 1963 was not recognized as the day Malaya, Sabah and Sarawak merged to form Malaysia. And out of nothing Malaysia boasted that Mount Kinabalu is the pride of all Malaysians.

Mount Kinabalu is the pride of Sabahans; the biggest flower in the world – Rafflesia is the pride of Sabahans, orang utans are also the pride of Sabahans; but we are not proud to be Malaysians.

Last but no least, as a Sabahan, I sincerely hope and pray that after 916, Sabah can gain back what she has lost all this while, for a better tomorrow for all Sabahans.

Hopefully the coming 16th September can be declared as the day, we East Malaysia – Sabah, Sarawak tohether with Malaya formed Malaysia! Dear Federal Government, please be fair to us!!

All the best Sabah!! I wish to see you grow; in the future, in the time to come!!

A TRUE SABAHAN

1. #1 by EricOng on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 7:42 am

What a touching entry.
    I almost weep when I read through this entry.
    The water and electric supplies part are unacceptable.
    What have the Sabah & Sarawak MPs did to acknowledge this kind of situation?
    As Malaysians, we should stand united and I cannot bear to see such things happens to my fellow East Malaysians.
    The federal government and the state government to be blamed for such nuisance.

2. #2 by StevePCH on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 8:26 am

zero poverty by 2010 by BeEnd ? my foot got lah !
    Going to Sabah is like going to Indonesia or Philippines.

Sad to say, Sabah and Sarawak does not deserve this. But I do really wonder why Sarawak is much better than Sabah when both is Borneo Malaysia ? is it because of the oil royalty again ?

Pakatan Rakyat should look into developing Sabah when come into power and not disappoint Sabahans. We are Malaysians and deserve equal developments.

3. #3 by ypmeng on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 8:33 am

Whose fault is it. You ppl voted for the stupid BN, so just accept it. The UMNO and BN are such a corrupted government, what do you expect??. They will milk Sabah high and dry before they think of providing you with the basic facilities. So don’t complain. You ask for it..

Wake up lah you Sabahan be smart and vote for PKR, DAP

4. #4 by disapointed86 on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 8:36 am

magnificent and brave writing i can say..I’m from Sarawak but i realised that West Malaysian are not enlighten on the situation in Sabah/Sarawak. MPs in the state are sleeping and earning $..thats all..

5. #5 by Damocles on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 8:43 am

What is there to say?
    The voters voted for a fool who squandered away his golden opportunity in a few short years.
    It does take some doing!!
    The one and only alternative now is the PR.
    Go for it!

6. #6 by Mr Smith on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 8:48 am

Sabah and Sarawak have been the staunchest supporters of BN and the Federal Government in return for a freehand to plunder the states.
    Yes, blame BN but also blame your own leaders who sold out their people for self interests.
    In March 2008, there was an excellent chance for Sabah and Sarawak to throw out BN, but alas, they were the ones who saved BN but contrbuting to its majority in Parliament.
    Now, they still have once more chance – to cross over to Pakatan and save their states and the people from the evil clutches of thieves.
    The ball in your court, Sabahans and Sarawakians.
    The blame should not fall entirely on the Federal Government. Blame yourselves too. Blame your own leaders too.

7. #7 by taiking on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 8:50 am

There are only 27m of us malaysians.
    Not a lot really.
    And it is not as if we are large in land size like australia.
    How could that have happened?
    Neglect? Omission? Maybe.
    But I think it is more than that.
    Its disregard.
    Its marginalisation.
    Its taking sabahans for fools.

8. #8 by pizi87 on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 8:56 am

yet BN reps still get elected come each election.. its time a big tsunami hit Sabah latest next election

9. #9 by lkc57 on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 9:01 am

I had an opportunity to spend 4 months last year at Tawau. One has to endure the the stinking drains (guiess they have never been cleaned since construction) and dusty sidewalks. Water and electricity supply always were disrupted, especially after a heavy down-pour. Tap water? oo much for my stomach to stomach! I suffered from diarrhea at an average twice a month.

Their salaries are lower than west Malaysians but prices of essentials are so much higher! A glass of “teh ais” cost RM1.80!

Roads are narrow. Locals were complaining to me: West Malaysians came and bought up their land and controlled our economy.

Foreign tourists are crowding the prestine islands. Very few locals or West Malaysians, I guess it must be the extreme high costs – expensive hotel rooms, expensive boats, … But one thing which surely attracts we West Malaysians is the abundant, fresh and cheap sea food!

On the streets, foreigners can be seen everywhere.

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 9:01 am

The original idea in 16th September 1963 for Sabah (and Sarawak) to join Malaysia was to free themselves from the yoke of British colonialism and domination. It was not to exchange for something that Indonesia alleged then, a form of neo colonialism by Peninsular.

Yet Sabah, like Sarawak, has been in the backwaters for 45 years with some of the poorest and most neglected of Malaysians found there inspite of having rich natural resources.

However True Sabahan and other Sabahans should ask themselves this question: why the 8th March General Elections when BN’s popular votes dipped below 50% in the Peninsular, BN was saved from defeat by solid support of seats from Sabah and Sarawak and why on September 16 this year and even now there were no visible severance of Sabah BN component parties and MPs from the BN that Sabahans complain against?

Sahahans like Sarawakians are betrayed by their own political and corporate elites.

However betrayal is not an exceptional trait exclusive of only Sabahan politicians and business men cronies.

Almost all elites as a class will take advantage of the masses, electors and voters who are not vigilant and demanding of their rights due to one or more combination of factors like general illiteracy and poverty and lack of racial and cultural homogeneity, making it easy to divide and rule (Hope I am not generalising too much here).

That is the root cause. To ameliorate the predicament, that root cause has to be addressed.

Anwar Ibrahim much touted 9/16 project – even though it has not yet been succesful – is however successful in awakening and enlightening the masses of East Malaysians to their predicament, so that they could apply the apropriate pressure on their parliamentary representatives and politicians to do the right and fair thing for their constitutencies.

They may no longer be ignored. Puterajaya continues to do so at BN’s peril.

11. #11 by ch on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 9:11 am

Dear All,

Nothing will ever change in Sabah until and unless the Sabahan parliamentarians and the Sabahans themselves have to courage to do what they fear most i.e. vote for change. Dossiers of such appeal letters would never change the fact that Sabah is still under the rule of the same government as long as anyone could remember.

12. #12 by WOHAMI on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 9:17 am

I am so ashame to say I am a Malaysian from now on; whereby my brothers and sisters from East Malaysia is still out of reach to the basic needs (water & elctricity).

Wawasan 2020 – what is the true meaning behind this slogan? I start to pondering now.

Nevertheless to all Sabahan and Sarawakian, I and family knows what to do from now on.

Thanks for your enlightenment.

However please be ensured we, West Malaysian; will never abandon you no matter what had happen.

13. #13 by queequeg on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 9:22 am

I have been working in Sabah for the last 6 years and what the writer said abt the state is true. All of it. I came from KL and I can see the vast differences in lifestyle, income level, environment & what-have-you.

Most houses have a water tank behind or beside them in anticipation of water cuts. Rural areas frequently “enjoy” blackouts so much so that those who can afford it will rely on diesel powered generators. Politicians come & go but basic infrastructural problems remain and yet Sabahans remain “sabar”. I do believe that the Federal Govt is taking Sabahans for granted for so long now that when the Political Tsunami hits them only then they realise Sabah’s role as a “barrier” preventing them from being swept away!

Only now I see some semblance of serious development after the March 8th GE. Even then there are still instances where rural schools are without electricity, furniture and even basic infrastructure. They resemble schools in Africa. A big shame indeed. Why do politicians prefer to be reactionary when they have a choice to be proactive and seek out, solve & alleviate pressing problems of Sabahans? Simple answer: They prefer to enrich themselves first. “What’s in it for me?” is the most popular question asked whenever the govt announced new projects for the state. Yesterday I heard Sabah will receive another RM965 million for upgrading infrastructure purposes. I wonder how much of these RM will actually be used and how much will end up in the pockets of corrupt officials & politicians?

Still, I see a glimmer of hope when the new govt emerges later this year or the next. Pressing problems must be solved as quickly as possible and this is not possible with the current establishment. Only a govt that truly cares for the rakyat will succeed.

As for me, I have truly fallen in love with this state and hope to remain here till the day I retire. It’s still peaceful, tranquil and less polluted compared to West Malaysia. Sabahans are beautiful people and their diversity appeals to me in so many wonderful ways. If you want to see a truly cosmopolitan city, come to KK. No Mat Rempits here or ugly mannered Africans to annoy you. For this I truly appreciate how wonderful Sabah is and am confident that it will someday soon be the best state in Malaysia in terms of quality of life, among others.

14. #14 by kftang on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 9:46 am

It’s a real pity that after 45 years of independence with Malaysia, Sabah and Sarawak are still far lagging behind in developments and infrastructure. Even basic amenities like water and electricity are found wanting for our brethren there. To see better days ahead, there’s one very simple thing to do as citizens – VOTE for a change of government at the next General Election and you will see the results then. Good luck!

15. #15 by pakmang on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 9:50 am

It is very simple, if the BN government is still not going attend Sabah & Sarawakian problems, then the East Malaysia Rakyat have to cast your vote precisely in the next GE.

After all we have given them plenty time to improve,if they can’t serve the raykat, then we vote to change for new government. It is no harm to try on a new government after all we have been gone through all these shits in the past years.

16. #16 by PSM on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 9:52 am

Bro Kit,

If it was not for the Sarawakians & Sabahans, the BN Govt. would have been “kicked-out” in the last GE!
    Over the last few months, the amount of “allegations” against the BN Govt. coming out of East Malaysia has intensified. Don’t tell me these problems have only just occurred?
    With ALL the problems faced by them over the years, why have they been supporting the BN?!
    What gives?

17. #17 by twistedmind on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 9:55 am

It is hard to blame Sabahans who vote for BN. Most of them are uneducated, they lack vision or knowledge. RM20 in the pocket is gratitude for them to vote BN. BN is good at making promises and passing away crumbs to ‘buy’ votes.

That is why, you see in bigger towns where people are educated, BN lost. Don’t expect Sabah to change soon, as the awareness is hard to instill into these simple people. They ‘trust’ and give ‘faith’ to the leaders. It is the leaders that should be crucified! They live like gods, without guilt.

Sabah is really sad.
    I feel for them each time I travel in Sabah.

18. #18 by ctc537 on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 9:55 am

I’m really surprised that people in Sandakan and Tawau do not enjoy uninterrupted and clean water supply. Reading this, I really consider myself lucky to have lived in Penang all my life where clean, uninterrupted and cheap water supply is available all the time. Make no mistakes, I’m not praising the previous Gerakan-led state government in excess but I must admit that this is one area where they have done an excellent job.
    Sabahans, I do sympathise with the situations you are in but only you yourselves can change your fate. It’s how you cast your vote come next generation election that may change your fate. Change may come sooner if political developments see a pleasant change in favour of Sabah.
    One thing Sabahans must never forget is striving hard in your studies. If you want to change your fate, receive a good education besides choosing a government that really has your interests at heart.

19. #19 by LALILOo on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 9:55 am

Too bad, 916 came and went.

Today(as well as yesterday), Sabah and Sarawak is being run by TRAITORS of the states. These people will do anything to shortchange and sell out the people in exchange for $$$$.

All for their own interest.

They don’t mind if you don’t have constant supply of clean running water and electricity. For as long as you can bear with it, won’t revolt, love the state and continues to vote them into power in every elections, they will throw to you some breadcrumbs and you will be so happy and forgiving all again.

That is why 916 came and went. All the pledges to make Sabah and Sarawak prosper and come out of the shadows for once in their life were disregarded and pushed aside by the current rulers of the state.

For as long as they are still your rulers, your woes will continues and you will continue to get breadcrumbs……

20. #20 by FY Lim on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 10:09 am

Now you know.

The big brother from Peninsular Malaysia reaped the golden harvest from your state and give back peanuts in return. They said you must be grateful for what we give you ! Continue voting us in and we will keep you under our armpit.

From a very rich state in the 1960’s, where have your riches gone ?
    The poverty level is alarming and yet the Sabah politicians are saying we are doing well !

Well, in the not too distant future you will be having a Filipino or Indonesian new IC holder as your Chief Minister. This is a fact of life as these groups of people are now storming your shores and causing rampant crime with no clear political will to apprehend them.

You will become second class citizens whilst these new immigrants are the boss of the place. They occupy choice trading lots in the market over the locals and are the new lord of the locality.

Yet, the politicians like Pairin, Dompok, Joseph Kurup , SAPP Tan etc are silent on all these as if nothing happens. The others are happy to see this situation as it suits them perfectly well. The non-muslim bumiputras politicians are still in a slumber perhaps coma under the influence of heavy dosage of corrupted gains.

21. #21 by madmix on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 10:15 am

Sarawak and Sabah are a world apart from Malaya. When I was growing up in the 50s, Malaya was as alien to us as Thailand or the UK. Malaysia was forged into a union like the former Yugoslavia or Czezkoslovakia. To many of us, Malaysia was just a transfer of power from London to Kuala Lumpur. Perhaps those born after Malaysia will unite the nation.

22. #22 by skalsagoff on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 10:16 am

Ethical action from people especially the decision makers, the powerful controllers of society can USUALLY be expected when there are checks & transparency= especially for Asian societies where we tend to care for the neighbours opinion!!
    Of course the most influential factor is RELIGION, especially one that believes in the NEXT LIFE= where U get what U sow here!! or the religious creed that teaches Tit for Tat- U get in this life or for ur off-springs the GOOD from ur doing good & BAD luck/fate for ur doing BAD!!
    So a very important factor is TRANSPARENCY- to be visible in public eyes!!
    So with the advent of the inter-net & news web-sites, especially over-seas, eg the M’sian govt blocked RPK M’sia Today but we just got a mirror-image from over-seas!!

23. #23 by hadi on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 10:19 am

Sad and indeed very sad.
    The Federal government is definitely to be blamed for their ignorant and irresponsible.
    Sabahan and Sarawakian politicians mostly linked to BN are also the culprits. These politicians betrayed the trust of the rakyat by conspiring with the Federal government and enriching their families and cronies. The end result, the rakyat will have to suffer, and development for the state is not properly plan, job opportunities not created. Projects launched by the Fed Gom and State Gom, are more of for political mileage of the ruling party and its only peripherals, but the interior is languishing waiting to perish. The Fed Gom and the State Gom, had been conspiring on the same modus operandi for so many years.
    Who allow this to continue? Will the ordinary rakyat not only Sabahans and Sarawakians but the whole so called Malaysians, East and West continue to be a bystanders. Why do we remain silent on this inequality, the distribution of wealth, job opportunities and development.Why everything must be centred in Kuala Lumpur?
    Why and WHY?
    For my fellow brothers, sisters and friends in Sabah and Sarawak, all we need now is CHANGE. The present political leaders have no visions and most of them are selfish with only vested interest and it is time to wake them. The tyranny had gone, the sleeping king had surrendered, the remnants of the BN goons can be removed and we the people can do it. Only CHANGE can realign the nation according to the spirit of the formation by founding fathers. Over to you Pakatan Rakyat, you can do it and take the lead.

24. #24 by paganfarmer on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 10:25 am

I lived in Sabah for 4 years, and I still think it is the most beautiful and wonderful place I have ever been to (and I’ve been everywhere mind you). I do agree though that Sabahans deserve a better deal

25. #25 by melurian on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 10:29 am

this is hilarious, sure the writer is creative to come out such exaggerate events. perhaps, he/she could write a script to hollywood (or filem negara) to have another borat of sabah.

not all sabah cities like this (even some place in peninsula too are deprived from basic amenities, plus sabah is bigger than any state in peninsula). i din hear such story from my fren in kk, even kk is much like cities in peninsula. and it’s sure over exaggerated. we from kl don tease sabahans live with orang utan, sleep on trees, and obviously don believe sarawakians still practising chopping ppl head. moreover, if sabah is so deteriote, why they keep voting for bn……

26. #26 by wils0n on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 10:36 am

I’m deeply ashamed that I know so little about East Malaysia (I’m from West Malaysia). While I complained about crappy internet speed and traffic jams, Sabahans are still living through water rationing, rampant blackouts & improper roads.

Why do we know so little and they have so little? Something is very wrong or has always been very wrong. We need a new government because obviously it’s done a crappy one. If the present one can’t do the job, let someone else take over.

27. #27 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 10:49 am

1. A True Sahahan : are you a voter ? how come BN win so big there ? use petrol money to buy all the votes or give money to all who challenge BN candidate ?
    2. kisah benar lagi tragis. kemaluan yang teramat besar kepada pemimpin (tak boleh biadap kepada pemimpin kata najib) bolehland juga terutama kepada wakil rakyat dari sabah seperti dari kinabatangan. kalau lah aku ni wakil rakyat dari kinabatangan aku tak tahu nak sorok kemaluanku dari di mana ia sekarang…peduli apa nak sorok kemaluanku aku boleh ke taiwan…
    3. my cuti cuti bolehland is to sabah dan sarawak. i like sabahan dan sarawakian more than i like people like ahmad ismail. we know you are crying deep in your heart…we are “malaysian”
    4. we still want sabahan dan sarawakian to know that there are some people who are still with you…

28. #28 by MZ on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 11:06 am

Although we in the west Malaysia don’t know the real situation in Sabah, but we know it is worse ! .

What can we do for you all ?

Tell all of your friend from Sabah,

stop reading Utusan, The Sun, Sin Chew , and all those BN’s media !
    Buy The Rocket, Suara Keadilan and Harakah for them.

Stop watching RTM, TV3 !

Look at Kelantan, we no longer the poorest state in Malaysia although all the BN’s text book in school still stated Kelantan as the poorest state.

Sabahan has to help yourself b4 we can help you all.

Please vote any party beside BN !!!

29. #29 by vp on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 11:17 am

I’m from Perak. I never been to Sabah for 33+years of my life. reading the article from my dear Sabah fren, it’s really touching.
    But, why? Any Sabahan in Parlimen speak out their voice/concern on Sabah problem? So far, I didn’t see or hear. Oh! got one, SAPP.
    Let’s see the previous 20 years Sabah political situation. Since PBS of Pairin down & back to BN, there is no strong opposition party in Sabah. Additional with low education, Sabahan keep on vote for BN although they have so many problem.

So, you Sabahan have to go back to educate yr own people what happening outside. What can they do with their vote. Tell them the situation of states under PR. Example, Perak PR government give title to the REAL orang asli in the state. Yet, Abdullah promised to give title to Bidor(small town) farmer before 2008 election but not yet come true until today.

What i’m try to tell you is if BN government unable/not willing to take care of you, why not change it? You got nothing to lose since you left nothing. Educate the Sabahan, vote opposition party, then you may see change. YOU DO IT, YOU STILL HAVE CHANGES. YOU DON’T DO IT, YOUR CHANGE IS 0%.

30. #30 by ccjett on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 11:42 am

Please stop blaming Us – the Sabahan – for BN victories here!! You guys never understand so I am here to clear the air.

Firstly, do you know why so-called “Sabahan” voted for BN?? Frankly, I didn’t and over 90% of the people I know did not too!!

Now, remember the 1.7m immigrant “Sabahan” vs 1.5m true Sabahan?? who gave them IC?? it’s BN government, so can you guess all the 1.7m fake “Sabahan” would vote for who? surely BN.

Here in Sabah, ordinary people like us know clearly what is going on, you may call it conspiracy, but I can assure you that all the immigrants are muslim from both Indonesia and Philipines. Why??

I can only guess that BN government realised that Sabah is the only state with least muslim and they had to boast the muslim population here to enhance their supports. So how to boast?

31. #31 by veddy.lum74 on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 11:46 am

dear east malaysia malaysians,just look at the type of MPs (like bung mokhtar),the words they used,not surprised that easilly being bribed by UMNO …be racists,and keep quiet!

Padan muka!!!!

32. #32 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 11:48 am

1. Abdullah : i am not worried about legacy.
    2. of course lah because there is none
    3. ehh…ada. anak aku yang sampai berniaga ke luar negeri tu legacy la…peduli apa orang sabah
    4. ada lagi…menantu aku yang legacynya …legacy lah tu…peduli apa orang sabah
    5. ada lagi…bagi sikit la kat kinabatangan sebab dia cium tangan aku…legacy lah tu…diam lah sikit orang sabah
    6. ada lagi…banyak tak tertulis…tak risau lah sebab aku banyak duit peduli apa legacy…bapa rakyat sabah? pi lah orang sabah…

33. #33 by wanderer on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 11:55 am

In the past, MCA and MIC sold our souls to UMNO and leaders in Sabah and Sawarak are doing likewise. The younger generation in West Malaysia are beginning to identify the faults of the greedy component parties in BN, are now standing up and demand charges. It is also, about time, our EAST Malaysian brothers wake up and be counted… a change to a PK govt, a change for the better.

34. #34 by hvpl on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 12:01 pm

As a new arrival to Sabah, I know that the conditions described are true.

However, I shall like to say that:-
    1. Sabah do not have effective leaders, who could outplay those from the Peninsula. Total lack of exposure living in their coconut shell.
    2. Sabahans are generally to laidback to want to make a difference in their own state. Again, quietly remain within their coconut shell.
    3. The greatest mistake that the writer accepts as virtue – to bar West Malaysians from Sabah, has resulted in this situation where Westies have no inkling of Sabah or Sarawak. Is it the fault of West Malaysians, that to travel within our own country, we need to undergo the indignity of being allowed to remain for only 3 months? Unable to seek jobs or even to set up a legitimate business? Are West Malaysians aliens in our own country?

This has been put into the thinking of Sabahans for 45 years that Westies are threats to their economy. See what has happened? Sabah has become the exploitation grounds for UMNO and their friends. Free from competition, the forage without fear and damn the whole state to poverty. This is not the fault of the ordinary West Malaysian out to create mutual wealth in Sabah. It is Sabahans believing their corrupt leaders and the Federal Government, who returned only 5% of the state’s wealth to the state. Who accepted this trinket payout and Labuan? You, Sabahans, did through your very own leaders that you elected into power time and time again. And for what did you get in return? Interrupted water supply, electrical blackouts, floods, high prices of all consumer goods, potholed and untarred roads.

Yet, most of you continue to do so in the last General Election. There was no excuse since PR fielded many able candidates to you to choose.

Don’t blame others for your predicament. Do the right thing NOW and move to REFORMASI. Sabah has indeed the potential to be a shining state for eco-tourism of Malaysia.

Do it!!!!

35. #35 by ablastine on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 12:21 pm

The ratio is now 1.5 million Sabahan against 1.7 illegal muslim immigrants from Philipinnes and Indonesia made legal to boost the chance of BN maintaining their power in the next election here. Of course when the next election comes, the illegal muslim population would have swollen up to perhaps 3 to 5 million. When that happens, Sabah will be gone. It probably won’t be part of Malaysia anyway. Philippines and Indonesia will stake their claim and they will win when a referendum is called. It doesn’t matter to BN anymore by then because they know they do not stand a chance in the next election.

36. #36 by monsterball on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 12:23 pm

When I read the post…I feel so shameful to be a Malaysian.
    How on earth can the government allow such extreme difficult living conditions exists..while claiming we are ready for space age?
    This is not the first time…we read such vast contract in living enviroments….as if from two countries.
    But if you watch closely in Petaling Jaya itself…it exists right infront of our eyes….except they are all blocked out with tall trees and man made forests…along the Federal Highway.
    I have been to Sandakan in the late 70’s!! But I never knew living conditions was that bad. I guess staying in hotels….one cannot really know the real Sandakan.
    However…may the writer understand…it takes two to clap a hand.
    And this means Sandakan UMNO politicians and government servants are involved in massive corruptions.
    In short..what he wrote are first and foremost…..created by Sabah government servants and town council representatives.
    As much as Malaysians may live in much better conditions…we are being riped off..by the of billions….on each huge project…and that is why…UMNO lost 5 States to oppositions.
    BERSIH…Lawyers..Hindraf walks did it!!
    Maybe Sahahans are afraid to walk the talks…’kia se’ type?
    The fact that Sarawak and Sabah…are still supporting UMNO..means the root cause of that two States will never change..unless..voters or ministers….dare to change the government.
    Right now….the change of government is infact…hampered by Sabahans and Sarawakians…voters.
    So is it not strange…here we read….such a pathetic living condition in Sandakan..yet Sabahans voted to be.. under UMNO?
    So..focus to the root cause. It’s one hell of a corrupted Sate…in Malaysia.
    The cure is streets demonstrations for change…and ministers resign and join oppositions….to start life…all over again.

37. #37 by wizzerd on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 12:50 pm

A really touching article.
    I am very surprised that all these years,,I do not know this is happening in Sabah.
    I am going to forward this email to all my friends and colleagues.

BN you are going to hell for neglecting the Sabahan brothers and sisters

38. #38 by pangwl88 on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 1:03 pm

I really wondered all these years, with the inflow of “legalized” indonesian and filipinos….

I think “they” can each carried a spoon and take over the police stations and army camps…

or…..

When we are really, really fad up with the government.. maybe.. just maybe …. a mutiny?

39. #39 by abunsui on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 1:19 pm

The RAKYAT rather give “last and stern warning” to BN Sarawak. JOIN Pakatan NOW before State Government Dissolved! Or BN SARAWAK will be THROWN out in the next State Election 2010 0r 2011.

There are so many issues arise in Sarawak.
    Among others :
    1. NCR
    2. Penan Girls
    3. 12 Dams
    4. Nepotisme
    5. Cronisme
    6. COWARD and STUPID/Idiot Leaders
    7. 20% Oil Royalties
    8. 2nd Deputy Prime Minister
    9. “20 PERKARA”
    10. Equal region development
    11. 2nd Class or may be 3rd Class Bumiputra
    12. and many more……

SARAWAKIAN VOTERS!!!!! REMEMBER THIS : DON’T VOTE BN in the Next Sarawak State Election.

Prove Political Tsunami not only in Peninsula Malaysia but also next in Sarawak in the MPs not JOIN PR NOW!!!.

Unlce YB Kit and DSAI, please find solution with Karpal Singh on topic of “DEFECTION”. Sarawak and Sabah NEED HELP NOW!!!! Don’t wait till 2013.

40. #40 by La Pax on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 1:20 pm

LOL! I am with you. God will hear your prayer.

41. #41 by abunsui on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 1:22 pm

Correction :
    Prove Political Tsunami not only in Peninsula Malaysia but also next in Sarawak, if the MPs not JOIN PR NOW!!!.

42. #42 by melurian on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 1:25 pm

reading this is like watching borat movie where kazakhtan is depicted exaggerated 3rd world, uncivilized and large illiterate population. how can one believe half of them are illegal immigrants, let alone 1st generation malaysian (it’s like in sandakan, tawau, you randomly pick one and the odds 50/50 is illegal). why din mp especially oppos bring this case up, let the ppl know the true figure of the proportion. just like ppl always quote cina is largest taxpayer with over 90%, how far this is true without proper research. anyone can simply pluck from the air 1.7m, 2m, 5m and even 10mil……

43. #43 by WOHAMI on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 1:38 pm

Dear Melurian,

Further to your comment pertaining to this issue, I have something to share with you.

1) Sabah has 1.5 m Sabahan and 1.7 m illegal immigrants. Who said Sabahan had vote for BN?

2) Of the 1.5 m Sabahan do you know what is the percentage of it still staying in rural areas and uneducated? Please refer to the recent Penan case than you can get a clearer picture.

3) By the way may I know, has you been travelled to Sabah before? If not, please kindly read the comment given by “queequeg” and “Paganfarmer” on this issue.

I hope this does not offend you.

44. #44 by taikohtai on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 2:59 pm

Unfortunately, if you think this is bad enough, more bad news’ coming our way. The global sharemarket meltdown today is going to make things a lot worse.
    Perhaps being more agrarian might help the cause of most of the rural folks but any chance of development funds coming East Malaysia’s way is going to be just like AAB’s favorite past time – dreams.
    Sabahans need to stand up for themselves more. Follow the Pakatan Rakyat’s cause is a good start as Malaysia needs to rid itself of corruption and Big Brother mentality.
    Najis is already demanding respect…….for what, no patriotic citizen knows.
    Until and unless the MPs and Aduns are elected to work for the welfare of the rakyat, Malaysians can only hope to meander their way out of the thick jungles of Kalimantan proportion.

45. #45 by taiking on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 3:19 pm

Dear Sabahans,

A pro-umno blogger here who call himself melurian threw this challenge at you people:

“if sabah is so deteriote, why they keep voting for bn……”

He has no feelings for you guys. No sympathy. No compassion.

No water. No electricity. No this. No that. Its all bull shit to him.

What would you guys do?

Continue to vote overwhelmingly and blindly for bn?

46. #46 by humanly on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 3:24 pm

Whilst I empathise with the writer’s predicament, Sabahans are much to be blamed for the situation they are in. It’s true illegal immigrants are swarming the state but they are too parochial towards other Malaysians and proud of it.

I speak generally from my personal encounter. They are too easily impressed with outward symbols of power and success. They suck up to people of status. Give them a title such as Datukship, JP, Kapitan Cina, they will walk with a swagger. It’s still a very small town mentality.

How do you explain Sabahans of some means willing to pay good money for such titles? Despite one of the lowest literacy rate in the country, it has more Phd holders. They have Dr in front of their names but intellectually they are very shallow.

You want to have a picture of the community, read their local papers. It mirrors the local psyche and values.

47. #47 by pathfinder on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 3:34 pm

How BN govt treat Sabahans is exactly how BN treats all the non UNMO menbers in west malaysia. Yes, you got the exact treatment except for a selected few in house “dogs” who managed to receive some crumps to silence their barks. Now the dogs are now barking even louder because the crumps are get smaller and lesser.
    Just like Sabahans who need to appeal and appeal and appeal and………and appeal before you are notice. And this case is proven real life by our Yong lee hua, a naturalised citizen of malaysia, but was given PR status (What an insult to all SABAHANS). She has to go to JPN 10 times to appeal but still failed to get back her citizenship. Until UPKO, SAPP, PBS and all Sabahans etc starts “barking” (for the case of SAPP and most Sabahans “shouting” because they are not BN’s dogs anymore.). A simple and straight forward case like this have to be drag on for weeks and with excuses, reluctantly and making life difficult for Yong again asking her to fill in forms to apply for citizenship. This is really a bullshit dept. How can the dept made an error and ask the victim to apply to rectify herself. And if I am not mistaken it takes a Home Minister to rectify the error. Do you call this efficency or plain bullshit?
    And the Home Minister have to insult the Sabahans further when ask about the above issue saying ” Saya tidak tahu, mungkin, sebelum ini penduduk tidak begitu mengambil kisah tentang kewarganegaraan.” This is pure 1st class insult to Sabahans. What do you mean that. Hei Botak, that is our rights, your dept took it away and you say that we tak ambil kisah. That poor Yong have to go to JPN 10 times and still failed. Apatu..tak kisah?

48. #48 by butul on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 3:39 pm

I was born in Sandakan fifty years ago and am still here. What True Sabahan mentioned here is just a tip of the iceberg. Everything being said is true.

To west malaysians who like to blame us for putting BN to power, I don’t blame you. But you must understand that it was the federal leaders in collaboration with locals who let in the illegals and have them legalised so that they can vote BN to power. If George Bush grants me citizenship in the US like this, he can have my whole family’s votes for him for the rest of our lives, and all my generations to come too. By the way many of our illegal immigrants are second or third generation bumiputras already.

Our real locals, especially in rural areas are deprived of basic amenities and infrastructure. Without education, most of them are easily brain-washed by our so called ‘leaders’. Some still live in dilapidated wooden huts and form the majority of parliamentary seats. Perhaps a constituency consist of 4,000 voters as compared to 40,000 voters in major towns/cities.

During elections, BN will distribute construction materials such as zinc sheets,plywood, water tanks, portable toilets(I bet some of you never heard of this) and perhaps a little money in the villages. If they are lucky, the muddy road that leads to their kampung, often inaccessible during rainy days, will be graded(not upgraded. graded means maintenance only). Our kampung folks are very naive and loyal so after receiving such aids, they are ready to die for their leaders. Both the ‘legalized’ illegals and the naive kampung folks form a substantial chunk of the voters and so the explanation for the huge win in general elections.

So I hope West Malaysians will show more understanding towards true East Malaysians and perhaps not accuse us of putting BN to power when in actual fact we are being forced down our throats to accept our situation. Please be reminded that there is a huge opposition support especially in the major towns. It’s like when we being pushed into the ocean screaming for your help and you say to us “Why did you jump into the sea?”

Thanks

49. #49 by johan_my on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 3:47 pm

I hesitate to take what is written by one person as being representative of all. For one, just because some West Malaysians ask if they still live on trees, it does not imply all are equally naive. It’s the same as Americans asking if Malaysians (and not just people from Sabah) still live on trees.

However, I do know that the sentiments of the people of Sabah towards the BN is not good. If need to, they should change the state govt. After all, Sabah has had the most number of change of govts since independence.

I read that the DG of NRD in Sabah is now a local. I hope the new DG will be able to address the IC issues there.

Cheers.

50. #50 by alanzul on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 4:04 pm

I feel very disturbed by the comments being left to this letter. I am a Scotsman,married to a Kadazan and living in West Malaysia.
    I have worked in most states both in the East and West.
    I feel that there is much miss-understanding in the replies, or I am miss-understanding the situation.
    1) BN/UMMNO brought in Philipino and Indonesian Muslims, gave them IC’s, to boost the muslim population to get them elected? Which has happrened.
    2) Dato Haris was so kind to gift the Island of Labuan to DTM to become FT?
    3)For what I have seen in Labuan all Petronas senior positions are taken by West Malaysians who haven’t got a clue, to the expense of qualified Sabahans who had been in those positions for 20 years under Sabah Gas! Not to mention government positions!

Sarawak has controlled their borders and their 20 point plan far better than Sabah. Perhaps their Government was stronger but I also believe they had the oil and gas at that time.
    Anyway,as someone said. those complaints only ever come up at critical times,like now.

My conclusion is that, yes, the Sabahans were robbed but by the Government of the day and their own turn-coats, who supported the government but at that time the people were very kampong, not educated. Now is the time for all Malaysians, East or West to come together.
    You must forget the past and make good the future as Malaysians, do not let yourselves be split for whatever reason, work for your children and their children, be Malaysian!!
    Why has everyone been so quiet for 40 odd years.

51. #51 by alanzul on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 4:10 pm

Oh, and by the way, lets not talk about the English !!
    We Scots have also been there!!
    The UK has had its problems and to this day it’s not really solved.
    Thats life!!

52. #52 by shah on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 4:14 pm

glad you bring this up. I never go to Sabah & most of the view abt West Malaysian on Sabahan is true as myself is concern. But your post make me realize and I felt shame of my self.

This is an example of inbalance development happening in our country. You make us realize how Sabah has many resources but used to develop other states. You make us realize how generous Malaysian Government to other unfortunate country (donation,etc) but fail to help our own Malaysian.

I hope this view is shared to all Malaysians. I will definitely email this to all my friends. Maybe all of us should do the same.

tq for make me realize.

53. #53 by swipenter on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 4:20 pm

In the early 80s n early 90s I travelled to Sabah and Sarawak for work . I had good impression of both places.My East Malaysian colleagues didnt have that much to complain about maybe because they were townfolks and not living in rural areas. Even back then illegals both Indonesians and Filipinos were all over the place. Fake ICs were easily obtained even back then according to my colleagues.I liked Sandakan which I thought was a quaint town. Things might have changed for the worst since then. I do not know since I havent been back to Sabah for more than 15 years.

In the early 80s Sabah and Sarawak were not under Umno’s thump Perhaps this is why Sabahans and Sarawakians need to kick Umno out and regain their dignity. PR there exists a great opportunity to take both these states under your umbrella come GE13 if you work hard for them now.

54. #54 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 4:25 pm

When you truly know what’s wrong with your own state
    You now have a far better chance to determine your own fate
    Do whatever deemed necessary positively before it’s far too late
    It’ll then be most tragic if whatever sentiments of love turn to hate

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 101008
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Fri. 10th Oct. 2008.

55. #55 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 4:36 pm

pak lah, janganlah menangis keseorangan marilah menangis bersama rakyat sabah…

56. #56 by tiwasok on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 4:46 pm

I belive most of the peoples here that put the blame on Sabahan for the victory of BN have never been to Sabah or just been there for a short visit. I myself also a Sabahan and currently working here in the Peninsular. I myself have encounter the same experience. But you may asked why does Sabahan still vote for BN if we have been neglected for 45 years? Read butul comment.

to humanly,
    have you actually meet these PhD or DR holder for you to make such judgment? And I would like to know you “personal encounter” was it the real Sabahan or the “Melayu Baru@PTI” Sabahan.

to melurian,
    those number wasn’t just plucked off. Do some research before you utter such comment.

I think most of the peoples here don’t even know the history of the forming of Malaysia. That’s why some of you question why Sabah imposed such a strict rule if a Malayan (peoples of peninsular) wish to enter Sabah (that was then, now it’s not anymore). Well, we didn’t join Malaysia as a state but as a seperate Federal Government. And we didn’t join Malaysia to achive Independence because Sabah & Sarawak already gain Independence before joining Malaysia. we join because Tunku Abdul Rahman invited us. It was still ok until own Bapa Kemerdekaan Tun Fuad Stephen was killed in a plane crash after attending a meeting K.L. Then the Malayan start to suck Sabah to the bone until now. Thus we Sabahan started to dislike Malayan.

You see, frankly, we don’t trust the Malayan. That is why some of us vote for the local which ironically a BN goons. That included the oppostion because we Sabahan are tired of the Malayan People regadless of any party weather government or the opposition. In the next election, don’t be supprised if a new party or coalition from Sabah and Sarawak emerged. Maybe we Sabahan and the Sarawakian can balance the power which are more to the Peninsular@Malayan.

(when I say Malayan, tha mean all of the peninsular people, Malay, Chinese and India)

And one more thing, we Sabahan doesn’t like to refer our self with our own ethnic (e.g Dusun, Kadazan, Murut, Bajau, Chinese, Bugis etc) when the Malayan people ask “What are you?” we likely
    to answer “I’m Sabahan”.

57. #57 by melurian on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 4:47 pm

“Please stop blaming Us – the Sabahan – for BN victories here!! You guys never understand so I am here to clear the air”

typical malaysian minded. ….. instead of admitting their own folly, they tend to shift the blame to others. so how if peninsula continue to rape sabahan riches (until no more to dig). what can sabahans do other than nagging, wailing and beating chest. plus they continue put the cross mark on bn. the recent supp case is best example – that tan fella rather ditch his position in that “dying” party than abandoning bn…… if sabahans don want to help themselves, don expect others to help, and of course with the west enjoying reaping the state’s wealth…..

58. #58 by Justitia on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 5:07 pm

Thanks for sharing and enlightening folks like me. In my job I travelled quite broadly. I used to be smug in thinking that Malaysia is really ahead when compared to Africa or even many parts of China and Russia. Incidentally, China and Russia are two nuclear powered countries with Space programs. But, not any more after this article. The description is as of two very different countries and not ONE country. What is even sadder about this is places like Russia and China have made tremendous improvements in infrastructure in the last 10 years and we have not made much progress in Sabah. The good news is that things can change with the right government and policies in place. Look at the whole of Eastern Europe after the fall of the Soviet Union and China.

The key question is rather than lamenting, what can we do to help you folks throw off the yoke of BN and bring true progress to Sabah?

59. #59 by drngsc on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 5:27 pm

Saudara Sabahan,
    We empathise with you. Please, please tell your BN leaders in Sabah. Your leaders are selling you out, like our MCA / MIC here. We need a change.

60. #60 by wtf2 on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 5:30 pm

the difference between Russia and China, and Bodohland is that they are aiming for a single objective – improving the nation – not enriching a select few of a certain race.

61. #61 by yapchee on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 5:58 pm

Just to share some of my experience with you readers on Sabah.

Last year I used to travel to Lahad Datu, Sandakan, Tawau and KK.
    I took a taxi from Tawa airport to L.Datu, the road condition was bad and narrow only a 4 wheel drive will be most suited for this kind of road.

I asked the taxi driver why your road is in such a bad condition ? His reply was jovial and serious ” how can we have good road when all these wakil rakyats were so corrupted ? One thing I cannot understand how can they keep repairing the same strecth of road again over again for years -same strecth and location !
    Then I asked how come you vote them ? If they were so corrupted ?
    He said ” kawan you must understand they bribed people to vote for them – RM 100 per person and these people were so ignorant and naive but not for me when they confronted me!”

The people of Sabah are indeed very nice and friendly people and do agree KK is much much better place than KL to stay. They are just too simple and not knowing what they have been cheated by those more travelled and cunning ‘fox’ in the political parties.I can clearly understand how people like Bung Mokhtar can survive and how their arrogance been bred and cultured.

Sabah has rich natural resources – oil, gas, forests, beautiful seas, beautiful beaches, beautiful M.Kinabalu, lovely sea food, beautiful ladies and nice people.I can only feel sorry for them.

Wake up Sabahans you have many learnt and educated people!

62. #62 by butul on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 7:29 pm

I guess its no use to argue with people in the likes of melurian. They are the ones who will ask a rape victim why they allow themselves to be raped.

For your information, the Tan fellow was elected in a constituency where there is a large chunk of voters from you know which category.

Melurian, you can keep bashing the sabahans, one day I hope you will face a similar situation in your life.

63. #63 by humanly on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 7:33 pm

Tiwasok,

Yes, few years ago, quite rampant advertisements of congrats on the Phd holders. For sure some are genuine. But the majority are from dubious universities. I had met a couple of them and asked them abt their theses. They are mainly awarded by American sounding universities but can’t string a proper sentence.

Talking abt corruptions, I was told that if politicians are not corrupt they must be stupid.

So, we deserve the govt we get. Blame game will not get us anywhere. We allow the problems to creep in. Many foreigners cannot come in without the connivance of the local people.

It might hurt you the truth that Sabahans are too prone to easy life. The number who are socially conscious and pro-active are too small to form a critical mass. Anger must be converted to actions. This requires sacrifices which not many are not willing to make.

64. #64 by cinaUSJ on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 7:38 pm

I was staying in Sabah for about 10 years, starting from 1979. Every two or three years I still visit my Sabahan friends and one of my brother who married a local chinese from Tambunan and are now residing in Inanam, KK.

During my years in Sabah, I needed a passport to enter KK and had to renew my workpass yearly. I don’t mind the hassle because at that time the economy there was very good. I had a lot of local friends from different communities and use to visit their kampungs in various part of the interior during weekends, drinking tapai and really enjoying the breeze and brightly lit sky – the moon there are indeed bigger and brighter.

Illegal immigrants were not that bad then compared to what I notice a few years back. Actually these IC problems started immediately after PBS won the state from Berjaya. Sabahan dare to change and they got it – that really stunned the BN gomen!! So…legallise the illegal lah.

Before GE 12, I told my brother that BN in the West will be facing a tough battle, BUT I was rebutted by my brother, saying BN is as good as gone in Sabah because most of those that he knew are going for opposition. He was shocked when the result go the opposite……….. DUE to those illegal IC. So…… PLEASE UNDERSTAND OUR SABAHAN BROTHERS PREDICAMENT.

I bet it will be even harder now, if not impossibe for our Sabahan brothers to dump those BN goons into the drain. Expecting their MP to jump ship for the sake of Sabahan……I don’t think so; they will not kill the goose that lay the golden eggs. The IC issues had to be tackle first.

65. #65 by my on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 7:46 pm

wait a minute…. this is not worthy of my time reading at all. if you are asking for a sympathy, i could assure you that you will get NONE from me. wake up and stop blaming the 916. your communities elected the wrong leader who represents your county, as simple as that. I am not interested to hear about your toilet flushing issue and the list goes on and on( sorry I really did not bother to read the rest of the stories). before you ask for a change, CHANGE YOUR MENTALITY FIRST. stop blaming the west malaysian, because of your choice of leader, YOU MAKE THE WHOLE MALAYSIAN SUFFERED. period!

66. #66 by butul on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 7:48 pm

And one more thing melurian, Sabah will be the largest exporter of legalised illegals to west malaysia and don’t say we didn’t warn you!

67. #67 by OCSunny on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 8:15 pm

Sabah was blessed with oil and timber. Revenue from these two natural resources alone could have made the state the most advance in Malaysia. Right now I dare say Kota Kinabalu is far more impressive than Seramban, Malacca or Ipoh for that matter. But roads, water and electricity supply, and schools in the kampongs are far behind and urgently need upgrading fast.

The state was run by Sabahan, eg. Tun Mustaffa, Harris, Pairin, Musa, etc. These leaders did not have the vision to improve the state and the welfare of the people. But they all have one thing in common, ie. they are multi, multi, multi millionaires or even billionaires!!! The UMNO, MCA and MIC leaders in the mainland are also filty rich so those in Sahab just follow their examples.

High time for the people of Sabah to change their mindset and change their leaders who only think of their pockets! After 45 years, the whole of Sabah should have 24 hours water and electricity!!

The complex illegal immigrants problem which the DPM was supposed to have initiated in resolving some months ago appears to have lost its momentum. Sabah CM should not let the matter to die off but should do something for the sake of the Sabahan. Change the CM in the next election if he is not doing his job for the future of Sabah.

Sometime it is hard to blame on the Sabahan as by nature they are simple, humble and friendly people. But the power is with the people!

68. #68 by my on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 8:17 pm

let’s see what are the root causes are:

sabah has xxx million immigrants.
    who bring these immigrant to sabah? the government.
    who are the government servants? leader who won the election. who voted for their leader? answer please?…….

mostly people were uneducated.
    why are they uneducated? no enough school / money for education
    why not enough? because of the mismanagement of government.
    who are the government servants? leader who won the election. who voted for their leader? answer please?…….

I will be happy to see sabah and sarawak are as well developed as kuala lumpur. having said that, i am happy to see the people suffer due to their choice and decision made tomorrow, today, or yesteryears! decision is yours. dont blame on immigrants. did the west malaysian faced immigrant issue like the east malaysian? yes? no? why not?

69. #69 by kutlakut on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 8:28 pm

quote: ‘ypmeng Says:
    Today at 08: 33.22 (11 hours ago)

Whose fault is it. You ppl voted for the stupid BN, so just accept it. The UMNO and BN are such a corrupted government, what do you expect??. unquote.

This is a timeless truth. But there is a little complication here: it is the style of voting those whom you think is from your kampong. And There Is No Alternative. There is nothing good to choose. And any outsider will be rejected out of hand.

Do you think Sabahans will vote the DAP for instance?

So let the matter rest – prolong it until such time you know that you may vote out the BN.

Good luck with your dirty toilet and stinking shi t. I am not shedding any tears.

We are toiling under BN largely because the the large number of BN parliamentarians from under the wind.

70. #70 by tiwasok on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 8:52 pm

my,

See, that’s why we Sabahan don’t trust the Malayan because of people like you. This is not about asking for sympathy but telling the truth what is happening in Sabah to all Malaysian.

Why? Are we Sabahan not part of Malaysia? Besides, you’ve been enjoying our resource for 45 years and now you said we made the whole nation suffered? Since when did you suffered? Did you also rarely flush your toilet? or having black out every day? Do you go to school bare foot for miles having to walk in thick forest? Do you also have road problems? Like you have to use boat or 4WD vehicle to enter your ‘town’ or kampung. Do you also have to buy product like cooking oil twice the original price like us Sabahan?

Don’t used the term ‘suffered’ if you actually never felt one. We Sabahan know exactly what it means to suffered and have gone through with it for 45 years.

But as butul says, I guess it’s useless to talk to people like you, dear ‘my’.

humanly,
    I’m not merely blaming other for no reasons. Have you ever heard of PBS? PBS was for me the best party that ever ruled Sabah (but that was then, when PBS was still an opposition party, now they are useless). But what happen? The federal government during that time (Dr.M, but he denied it) hated PBS so much that they funded the “project I.C” which granted Illegal Immigrants an I.C just so they can put umNO in Sabah. And you know what, the person who responsible for making the PBS members to jump to BN (1994, we’re you, humanly, already an opposition during this time?) was Anwar himself. This ‘tragedy’ pave a way for umNO to enter Sabah and the members of umNO was these “project I.C” peoples. You see, how can we trust anyone from Malayan now? Our best bet now is someone from our own who understand the situation in Sabah. Maybe this person is from the opposition but if he is not a Sabahan, we’ll never trust him 100%.

But these are just a small bit of the whole story. If I were to write it all, this comment room alone wouldn’t enough.

71. #71 by william62 on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 9:12 pm

before 1963, Sabah and Sarawak were the colonies of British, then after 1963, we were the colonies of Malaya, that is the real story.

72. #72 by Anak Msia on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 9:24 pm

frankly, i believe we need more and more ordinally SAbahan & Sarawakian to voice out their unhappy over their living, their MP’s stand over Federal Government. Stand up on your rights, we west Malaysian will standby you to make us One Malaysian.

Let your MP know your stand.

73. #73 by humanly on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 10:10 pm

Tiwasok,

We were all impressed with PBS slaying Berjaya at that time. No doubt the state admin was under siege from Mahathir. How did Pairin run the state? His bro became more powerful than leaders elected by the people. Most if not all PBS YBs became rich and super rich. Who cheated the people? Wealth thru power, again.

Look at the rural constituencies. At best the town centres given some facelift. Most of the villages were neglected as it’s now.

Ketuas kampong as well as the native chiefs worked hand in hand with KL to settle down in Sabah.

It’s your own people who betray themselves. You think only Sabahans can help Sabahans.

If you see Malayans as threats to Sabahans, let me tell you without ’em the cost of living wld be much higher. Legal fees in Sabah are the most expensive cos of the close door policy.

At least medical fees are much cheaper than before cos of many docs from Sarawak and Malaya.

Who is controlling the street economy of Sabah? Again, it’s outsiders. Why? For simple reason of value for money. You go to whoever give you cheaper price and better service. You won’t be that prejudice if it boils down to ringgit and sen.

74. #74 by my on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 10:25 pm

tiwasok,

this clearly explains you do not get my point. why dont you ask yourself these questions you’ve just ask me a while ago.

“Why? Are we Sabahan not part of Malaysia? Besides, you’ve been enjoying our resource for 45 years and now you said we made the whole nation suffered? Since when did you suffered? Did you also rarely flush your toilet? or having black out every day? Do you go to school bare foot for miles having to walk in thick forest? Do you also have road problems? Like you have to use boat or 4WD vehicle to enter your ‘town’ or kampung. Do you also have to buy product like cooking oil twice the original price like us Sabahan?”

i’ve stated clear enough this is due to mismanagement by your own leader and i dont need to elaborate how this people can be elected as your leader. that ‘why’ should be answered by you not me, not north, south, east, west.!!!!

75. #75 by my on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 10:31 pm

tiwasok,

allow me to broaden up your perspective,

there is no use writing to the ministers, PM, opposition leader, agong, sultan, or the united nation because the changes should come from the people in sabah and sarawak first. Clearly, ‘we’ know your plight and poor condition but what choice do we have if the people themselves do not accept changes.

action speaks more than word. tq

76. #76 by humanly on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 11:13 pm

Tiwasok,

Kepayan is a mixed state constituency with the KDM forming the majority. How did MCA gain a foothold in Saabah state assembly in the previous election won by Edward Khoo? In that election, Kepayan had the national distinction of having the most number of candidates vying for the seat. Becos of split vote, Edward Khoo scrapped thru.

Penampang also saw multi corner fight with regards to the 11th General Elections.

Your people cannot unite to fight for the common good of Sabahans. You all are not serious enough, in a way encouraging opportunists to thrive in the backyard.

Why Malayans get better deal in terms of infrastructure? Becos we are more demanding of our rights. Sabahans on one hand are too docile and on the other not willing to stand up to be counted.

With regards to Project IC, aliens issued MyKad had a certain code which barred them from flying to KL. Thus, the problem is confined to Sabah only.

Be strong and united, and be open minded to win the war.

77. #77 by humanly on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 11:43 pm

We cannot misplace our sympathy. If people are not willing to help themselves, we can only do so much. Making noises without sacrifices is futile.

Sabah a colony of Malaya, it’s not with guns but a weakness of the people for easy money and clamour for social status. Let me qualify by saying it in general terms. There are many humble and simple folk who are powerless. It’s those Sabahans with above average education who could be potential leaders that let the state down.

Yes, how many Sabah MPs have spoken forcefully for Sabah in parliament? To say they have no balls is too kind. Self-interest is their guiding principle. In a sense Sabah lacks serious politicians. They might be good but they look at what can benefit themselves before considering state interests.

78. #78 by alaneth on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 11:48 pm

The BN govt is scared that if these people were given citizenship, they will vote opposition…

Let’s see this oppressing act turn-table & fall back on them when the voters of Sabah turn back against BN for PR. Then BN will have to bow out to PR…

79. #79 by yhsiew on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 11:50 pm

The Sabah people should not be squarely blamed for the plight they are in just because they voted BN. I believe that PR had not done enough ground work in Sabah and Sarawak in the past decades thus leaving BN to have an upper hand on the two states. Had PR been able to propagate and make known its political struggle and its stand on issues such as corruption, cronyism and the NEP clearly to every Sabahan, I am sure BN would not have had such a handsome gain in the 12th general election. PR must revamp its strategies and re-orientate itself so that it can effectively reach out to the Sabahans (especially the masses of poorly educated rural folks). PR must start some projects to interact with Sabahans so as to gain their trust and confidence and convey its message to them – making 916 a holiday in PR led states is a step in the right direction.

As Sabah and Sarawak will dictate whether BN or PR will form the Federal Government in the next general election, it is of prime importance that PR give double-focus on the two states and work extra hard to win the hearts and minds of the people of the two states.

80. #80 by tiwasok on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 12:36 am

my, humanly,and others who have the same opinion,

We did opt for change. If you look clearly the majority vote (pru12) for BN in Sabah is actually less than the previous election (pru11). But the main issue is you seems to blame it 100% on us, the ‘real’ Sabahan. We have stated it clearly that most of the vote for B.N came from the so called “Melayu Baru” or “project I.C” peoples. I myself along with others voted for the opposition. We share the same goal here, to get rid of the corrupt gov. But when we tried to tell you of what we are suffering, you blame us. It’s like asking a rape victim “why did you let them rape you?”. We are not asking you to shed tears just sharing to you Malaysian how we have been marginalized.

And in all my post, didn’t you noticed that I was blaming the current Malayan Government which ironically from the peninsular? You certainly not with them are you? Yes, I did blame Anwar but he was involved in putting umNO (the main culprit) in to Sabah back then when he was still an umNO. And now he’s back to undo his ‘doing’ and ask us to trust him? some maybe, but 100%? No.

And about PBS YBs became rich, it was after they became “frog”. Before that rural development wasn’t neglected (just slow) because Sabah was closely mark by Dr.M where he actually didn’t gave us any sufficient fund to develop Sabah. But the development was halt when PBS lost due to party hopping.

The project I.C had a certain code which bar them from flying to peninsular and confined in Sabah only? Haha..do you know that they are already in the peninsular? They are not confined as you think they are. I’ve actually met many of them here in the peninsular. You wouldn’t know the difference, only Sabahan, since we have to lived with them in Sabah. But what can we do since they have a ‘legal’ Mykad and the government denied this project anyway.

Like I said, we are not eying for your sympathy but merely telling the truth of how we Sabahan live compared to the peninsular. But most of you blame us, even utter hateful comment. You only sees it from your perspective, an opposition perspective toward the government. And you know what, with this kind of perspective, it makes you no different than umNO to us Sabahan.

81. #81 by my on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 12:51 am

tiwasok,

the question is not asking ‘why did you let them rape you’ but rather ‘why did you let them rape you again and again and again!!!’

it seems that these ‘melayu baru’ were the decisive factor that the BN still in power, you implying that the BN will be in power forever as long as we have ‘melayu baru’ to opt for umno. i am very disturbed from your sentence:

“Dr.M where he actually didn’t gave us any sufficient fund to develop Sabah. But the development was halt when PBS lost due to party hopping.”

were these PBS a ‘heroes’ because they sacrifice themselves for sabah to develop? please wake up. reason for them hopping to another party is to enrich themselves!! you still worship them as hero. please accept the comment with open heart instead of accusing ppl no different than umno member.

82. #82 by tiwasok on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 12:52 am

Oh, about the project Mykad peoples already in peninsular, let me give you guys a hint. One of them actually won a reality program where she won a million ringgit…you might thought she is a Sabahan, but we Sabahan know that she is not.

83. #83 by tiwasok on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 1:04 am

my,

Don’t get me wrong, I never see PBS as heroes but they were the only party that really stands for us back then (besides the early UPKO by Tun Fuad Stpehen, they were the true Sabahan leader but short lived due to a “plane crash”). And no they (PBS) are not saint either, no politician are. It’s not looking for the best but rather rejecting the worst out from the worst and PBS was the least worst compared to USNO, Berjaya and the now umNO-BN gov.

I accept your comment but not the part where you seems to blame us 100% for the BN slim victory. why not blame other state who vote for BN where they don’t have the same problems as us Sabahan?

84. #84 by thom on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 3:43 am

I’m truly, deeply moved by this letter.

Like most West Malaysian, I have been completely ignorant about Sabah till I get to know a classmate of mine from Sabah. We became best friends, and I visitted him in his hometown of Kota Kinabalu during one of my holidays. I’ve fallen hopelessly in love with the charm of KK (or Api-api, the locals’ preferred name of the city) since then.

The race relations in KK is unbelievably amazing. People here are generally so much more friendlier, regardless of their ethnicity. It makes West Malaysia looks as if it’s being populated by uncivilized barbarians. The glorious majesty of Mount Kinabalu still blows me away till now. And yes, I have the privilege to witness the construction of the 1st fly-over bridge in KK over the years of my visits to KK.

And I was shocked at the state of development in Sabah. Do you know there’s not a single highway in East Malaysia? It takes forever to travel between KK to other major cities in Sabah, and that involves going up- and downhills! The only train system they have is a centuries-old one. And here in West Malaysia we complained about the inefficiency of KTM!

It’s a gross injustice to the people of Sabah, Sarawak and Labuan, to strip them clean of their rich natural resources while hardly bring about any development in their areas. It’s totally unfair that they have to pay more for papers and magazines shipped over from West Malaysia, eventhough we all belonged under the same flag. I pray that one day, West Malaysia will be able to redeem ourselves by restoring East Malaysia to its former glory.

Thom

85. #85 by jacksojulian on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 3:50 am

Dear True Sabahan,
    I am a west malaysian who has been working in sabah a couple of years in areas called Sahabat, Kg Tonggok and etc. These areas i believe most of the sabahan like you have never been to. Our job was to build infrastructure for naive people like you.
    I agree with you sabah is facing extremely serious problem of influx of illegal immigrants, it is like cancer cells spread over a half dead body.
    Let me correct you few points that you have written:-
    1. “…Federal Government always likes to bully us Sabahans, they took away all our vast natural resources to develop Kuala Lumpur, sold away all our valuable timber logs, in exchange for high rise buildings in West Malaysia, sucked up Sabah’s petroleum, in order to built north-south expressways in West Malaysia”
    – The Sabah state government should pay 15% loyalty to Federal Government from timber concession. That all the federal government get. Sadly, the sabah forest was badly destroyed by logging companies since 2-3 decades ago and the state government turning blind eye to those illegal loggings which had done so much damage to sabah forest until beyond repair. The illegal loggings were so rampant and much much more than the legal one that suppose to pay tax. I am not pro- federal government but this is the fact. Those who reaped the fortunes from sabah forest were the greedy sabah politician and the bloody loggers (most of them have migrated especially to Australia).

2. As for the frequent disruption of water and electricity, both SESB and water department are running lost due to illegal tapping from the illegal immigrants, i think you should know better than us because Sandakan is no 1 illegal camp.

3. For the immigration policy, Sabah should abolish the restriction to West Malaysian so that more west malaysian can migrate to sabah to settle down. This can bring up economy and development to certain extend and more importantly open up mind of people like you. Giant supermarket indeed bring employment to sabahan and benefit all of you as well, why so anti-west malaysian?? West Malaysian not better than illegal immigrants????

4. As for illegal immigrants, ask your Tun Mustafa why open up doors for the illegals and why Sabahan keep quite during those days, Because most of you were busy cutting the timbers and smuggling your monies to Singapore and Hong Kong, who care? At the end rich sabahan migrated, poor sabahan remained, that is the story.

86. #86 by OCSunny on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 7:09 am

YB LKS, we do hope you or your secretary read through all the comments, do an investigation to verify the truth and finally, bring them up in parliament as soon as possible. Confront the Sabah MPs for their commitments towards the people of Sabah.

Though I am from Malacca (formely staying infront of the single storey terrace house at Sinn Garden where you and your family stayed) but have been in Sabah since 1979. I have alot of friends in Sabah (especially Sandakan and Tawau) who have been extremely nice to me.

But I fail to understand as to why the immigration department cannot grant me a work permit for employment in Sabah in 2007.

Tiwasok, maybe you can throw some light as to why suddenly I was not wanted in Sabah? I was only a planter and what security problem can I be seen to have?

87. #87 by chin on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 8:22 am

Who to blame ? That’s a good question. Let me give you an answer, Sabahan themselves are to be blame. We voted the government thinking of good faith. Now, consider this as faith testing & tolerant test. Don’t complain, you have ask for this.
    Don’t cry over a spilt milk. The leaders over here are acting pimps, business tychoons (local) are much interested in migrating with tons of money. So ! What do you expect from this piece of land. High salary ? Good life, easy going !
    Come on ! Wake up. Ponder on this ! Why should every facilities we needed (water, electricity, roads & ……) all needed to be approved by west malaysia ?
    Don’t worry about philipino over taking this piece of land, in fact they have over took, if you are still sleeping. Just have a walk in any major or even small town, use your finger and blindly point at any direction. Possibilities of 90% you have pointed at an illegal immigrant, and you say you worry about philipino over taking this piece of land.

88. #88 by hvpl on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 12:11 pm

Here, we clearly see the physical and mental divide. Westies on one side, who have never visited or know of the East. Sabahans, who continue to harbour misgivings about Westies, simply because they have never invited them to be friends.

WHY?

MAS monopolised travel between the 2 Malaysias and imposed impossibly high fares that allowed only the rich and Government to travel between the 2 regions.

Now, with liberal Air Asia, everyone can fly!

Westies, make Sabah and Sarawak your next holiday destination. See the part of our country for yourself and get to know them.

Sabahans & Sarawakians, take the opportunity to get to know Westies and see how your states should be. Do not talk of walking for miles. West Malaysia has plenty of jungle, too.

We are ONE country and if we drop immigration barriers, we will be ONE. Sabahans are welcome to build their wealth in West Malaysia. Allow West Malaysians to help develop Sabah and build their future there too.

Why allow foreigners that opportunity while denying your own fellow citizens? This is the situation now. Change it!

I am a West Malaysian married to a Sabahan. Both my sons are Sino-Kadazans. I have developed many friendships in Sabah. However, the Sabah Government still treat me WORSE than a foreigner. I cannot set up business in my own name. I cannot get a job unless my employer apply for a work permit for me. I cannot remain longer than 3 months in Sabah, without my wife coming up with a guarantee bond for me. This residential status must be RENEWED every year.

My brother, who is educating the top Sabahan students in KK, still require a yearly work permit, after 20 years in Sabah!

Something is really wrong with this immigration system. Imposed gleefully by the Federal Government, at the behest of Sabahans, who continue to view West Malaysians as foreign and a threat. Simply read all the paraniod posts, above.

89. #89 by FY Lim on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 1:10 pm

Well, what the writer said are true accounts of what is happening in the interior of Sabah where basic amenities like piped water, electricity, transport and medical facilities are virtually non-existent or deplorable. There is no political will to develop the villages deep in the interior and politicians may visit them once in every 4 years coming election time.

However, the new citizens who immigrated under project IC lived mainly near or around the towns and some had found employment in plantations and get better amenities than the true locals in the interior. These new legal immigrants are the cause of the high crime rate and bring in new diseases around the towns and cause a severe strain and compete with the locals for medical attention provided by the govt.

The Project IC was started during Dr. M’s era to increase the ” voting ” strength of certain political parties. If we look carefully at the voting pattern, some of the BN candidates won based on these new legalised immigrants. Do they really go to the voting station or the was IC used by someone else during polling day, nobody knows. Now you have 1.2 million locals vs 1.5 million new immigrant blue IC holders. How can the opposition win even if 70% of the locals voted opposition ? Pure arithemetic.

Even if you get a local bumiputra to head the NRD state dept there is no guarantee that the immigration policy will be implemented to the letter. That person is reporting to someone else and not totally independent.

Why the PBS, PBRS and other local non-muslim parties did not object when this Project IC was being implemented , no one knows ?

The situation can be one day be that even the urban constituencies who are supposedly opposition inclined seats will be lost due to these extraneous votes. This is equivalent to winning via the backdoor.

The only solution is for the PR parties to develop more local leaders in all the constituencies and assist them to cultivate new grassroot members as well as wooing some of the existing political leaders. Maybe in a few years this will bear fruit.

90. #90 by Dr.Ken on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 4:39 pm

After reading all the 90 comments , it seem like all the Westies who never been to East malaysia are one camp & those who been or live in sabah are on the same camp as sabahan. No one touch on the issue of the Honesty of the Election Commission. Remember Malaysia is corrupted country. The westies blame the Sabahan for repeatly electing the BN.

The fact is Most sabahan esp. Chinese , urbanites & non muslim bumi don’t support the BN. the ” Melayu Baru ” ( project I.C ) , Honesty of Election commision & BN dirty tactics of buying Vote ( Rm 150 per person) are factors of BN victory in Sabah.
    Sandakan have a DAP Mr. Fung Ket Wing as her MP in late 70 ‘s & 80’s. when DAP Mr. Fung was sandakan MP. The people of Sandakan get retaliated for voting DAP. All street lights in Sandakan shut off at 10pm.Crime rate shot up & Police don’t give a damn. U see , How Sabahan got oppressed by our Just & Democratic BN gov’t.

If you criticise Gov’t in Sabah , u will be arrested under ISA & the police will kick & punch u & later they serve u a glass of white drink. so How can Sabahan voice their grievences & media is under control by BN. now there are internet so they can post their Voices. Look at RPK get arrested for criticising the BN Gov’t.

Sabah Leader dare not to criticise the Fed.Gov’t for fear of ISA & losing their Jobs. esp. ( the Project I.C which under TDM)

91. #91 by kutlakut on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 5:48 pm

Quote: ‘tiwasok Says: Yesterday at 20: 52.08 my,
    See, that’s why we Sabahan don’t trust the Malayan because of people like you. This is not about asking for sympathy but telling the truth what is happening in Sabah to all Malaysian.’ unquote.

Then let me put it in a strainght forward way: your elected leaders played you out. They did nothing for Sabahans but instead chose to toe the BN line. It was entire free will. They have the colonial mentality, and took the masses along.

Btw, I worked with Sabahans who came over to the west side and I liked two out of three. The third was the subservient sort – the gomen is never wrong! Maybe there are much too many of these sorts in Sabah, and it will b e forever great to be with the gomen. So let it be.

Take them (BN Sabahan parliamentarians) to task – why are Sabahans still so poor when god had given the state a fantastic fortune! Ask yourself why your folks are still scraping the bottom of the barrel.

92. #92 by tiwasok on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 6:14 pm

OCSunny,

You’re a planter, is it palm oil you are talking about? And work permit for what work? I can’t really shed any light on this but I’ll try to explain it anyway.

Work permit started way back when Sabah join Malaya to form Malaysia. Its early purpose was to protect Sabahan from Malayan who wish to enter Sabah whenever they like. Why? Back then Sabah was still undeveloped compared to Malaya. Which mean Sabah was an easy target for outsider. Also, Sabah originally join Malaysia not as a state but with her own federal government. Thus work permit was introduced. So, basically this is a very old law. Why is it still being practice since Sabah is already been reduced to a state level? I don’t really have the answer for that.

But one thing for sure, this is all we Sabahan have left in order for us to not 100% being “neo-colonize” by some party from the Malayan. It doesn’t mean we don’t want you Malayan people to come to Sabahan and help us develop but ironically, those we want to prevent from fully “neo-colonizing” us are also from the peninsular. I think you know who I am talking about. umNO. If this permit work were to be abolished, there will be no stoping their cronies from 100% controlling Sabah. Maybe we are already in their clutch but at least we are still able to fend of some of their attack.

So, this work permit somehow work like a double edge sword. It protect us yet it also a hindrance for us to develop Sabah.

93. #93 by OCSunny on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 12:06 am

Tiwasok, thanks for your response. Do you feel that Indonesians and Fillipinos are preferred rather than west Malaysians? I am sure your are aware they have become citizens by the back doors. Now they may be a security treat to Sabah.

We should all feel and treat each other as Malaysians. Feel free to travel and work without restriction in any part of Malaysia and in this way there will be a transfer of experiences and knowledges to one another.

As it is, UMNO is in total control of Sabah – 100% ???

94. #94 by isahbiazhar on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 5:01 am

I wish Sabah and Sarawak are given autonomy so that they can decide what they want for their state.We have to hear from the Federal government as to what they have to say.

95. #95 by celmos on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 12:18 pm

A lot of the comments are on why Sabahans still voted for BN.As a Sabahan,i still remember our status as an opposition state.Coming from Sandakan,during the BERJAYA

96. #96 by celmos on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 12:53 pm

A lot of the comments are on why Sabahans still voted for BN.As a Sabahan,i still remember our status as an opposition state.Coming from Sandakan,during the BERJAYA era Sandakanites dared to vote for DAP.The then Chief Minister,Datuk Harris retaliated by shutting down our street lights & scrapping development projects.Who can forget that era,when Lim Kit Siang dared to challenge Harris & was denied entry to Sabah?When the BERJAYA govt was overthrown and PBS stepped in who can forget the state of emergency that Sabahans have to endure?When PBS famously left the BN to support the then Gagasan Rakyat with Ku Li’s Semangat 46 the impact to Sabah’s politics was decisive.What Sabahan did not know of the millions,possibly billions that was thrown in during the election campaign to dislodge PBS?What Sabahan did not know of the ‘phantom voters’ and of PTI’s suddenly becoming MYKAD holders?So,maybe our west Malaysian brothers can be forgiven if they think we love the BN.We dont.But what choice do we have?PKR is headed by someone who is not trusted by Sabahans and who holds the distinction of joining the most parties(PBS,AKAR,PBRS….so on).If DAP and PKR worked together in the last election,it would have won at least 3 more parlimentary seats.Yes,Sabahans needs a change.But if PR is so intent on forming the next government and if Sabah & Sarawak is really the key,then the PR leaders should consider setting up a real base in Sabah.Dont just visit us…stay with us!!!You have launched decades of Projek Tanjung…what about a Project to wrest control of Sabah?All Sabahans respect Lim Kit Siang.When you visited Sabah for the first time after the overthrow of the Berjaya government,i was there to hear you speak.Till then,as a Sabahan,we remain headstrong.We are so used to what the writer mentioned-blackouts,water cuts,lousy roads,PTI’s ;that it has become a way of life for us.Blackout?Get a Gen set.Water Disruption?We have water tanks lah.Lousy roads?Got 4 wheel drive lah.Corrupted politicians?Dah biasa lah.Former CM gambled millions.Existing CM’s cronies caught with millions in HK.Does ACA cares?

97. #97 by northborneo on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 10:54 pm

All that have been said is TRUE. Accept for the flushing part, I flush my toilet everytime. Anyways, the rest is still VERY true.

To the Westies, we don’t need your friggin help & sympathy, the main point for this letter is to enlighten you of the plight of our brethren in East Malaysia, so you know what’s wrong with our government.

1st, don’t friggin think the East Malaysian is a bunch of dumb and un-educated people. We are able to manage our own land, but as you know some stupid selfish politicians just made things worse since the 60’s. And I hope time will go on until they are dead and hopefully enlightened and patriotic Sabahans will replace them and fix the friggin mess they have caused since they were born.

Those who understand our situation, good, those who don’t, you can go on with your life and die when you’re 70 years old.

I am a Sabahan and I know what’s going on here, illegall aliens swarms Sabah like worms and viruses, they’re everywhere, having houses even owned NT LANDS. These people are the ‘MELAYU BARU’, guess the Malays now have new cousins from the Philippines and Indonesia, they’re given valid IC.

Yes, the fault is on the incompetent and ‘no-balls’ Sabah MP’s and leaders. We can only identify 2 -3 leaders who are really concern about the Sabah problems and dilemmas, the rest are just useless dumb dogs, selling out Sabah and its people.

Point your fingers to the Sabahans for voting BN? YOU’RE DEAD WRONG, as the other poster have said, we have 1.5 million ‘melayu baru’ in Sabah imported exclusively from the Philippines, as some would argue to balanced out the majority christian communities at that time.

As time will pass, we will make sure Sabah & its people will have a brighter future. We will fight for Sabah & its people. The day will come when Sabah will once again be a glorious prosperous land.

Bung Mokthar? He’s a big joke, melurian?? go to school la boy you lambat suda maaa!!!

Flame me if you want, and make your life miserable, I just dont give a damn.

98. #98 by LadyinBlack on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 1:09 am

All i see are the blames on Sabahans for voting BN in the elections. Can’t you guys see the fact pointed out by others that Sabah is now overrun by PTIs-turned-locals who hold Mykads? You seriously think we are that dumb to (as one person puts it) ‘let people rape us over and over again without voicing anything’?

I think we should look at another point of view in the article – the ignorance of westies. I dont blame their lack of knowledge do I am asking for any type of sympathy towards us Sabahans. But please, do not make a fool of yourself by still thinking we are living like orang utans. If you cant say anything good, please do not add salt to injury. Based on own experience, each time asked these questions ( “do you still live on tree tops’, or ‘do you go to school by boat’, ) i was given a ringgit, i would probably have few hundreds ringgit by now. just my 2 cents.